GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 20, 2017, 09:49:20 PM

Title: Leinster Senior Club Football Championship 2017
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 20, 2017, 09:49:20 PM
Here are the draws for the Leinster Senior Club Football Championship for 2017

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFH_No_XsAA31iY.jpg)

Draws for all other grades are on this link:

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/20/draws-made-leinster-club-championships/
Title: Re: Leinster Senior Club Football Championship 2017
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on July 27, 2017, 11:52:37 PM
They're all on one side of the draw there. Laois, Offaly, Kildare & Dublin.

Meath champs do nothing in the club championship.
Post by: SCFC on October 20, 2017, 07:28:35 AM
Think Rhode and Portlaoise are both a bit behind where they were a few years ago. Kinda started off fancying Rhode but I've swung back to Portlaoise. Whoever wins plays Moorefield.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 20, 2017, 06:51:52 PM
Portlaoise always seem to improve in Leinster and 2 years ago they should have drawn against the All Ireland Champions (who won the final pulling up). 
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 23, 2017, 02:48:08 PM
Incredibly tough draw on our side of the championship. If Portlaoise are to even get over Rhode they have to improve, I feel they will improve though. By all accounts they were back training hard a couple of nights after the final.

I'm eagerly awaiting as to how the fresh faces on this Portlaoise team deal with Leinster, Rhode are a huge step on anything in Laois.

Portlaoise so badly want another Leinster title but I just don't see it in them this year.
Post by: High Fielder on October 24, 2017, 10:32:37 AM
I'd agree with you there PK. In fairness, the two Dublin sides are probably Division 2/3 at county level in terms of standard. Your lads have a system and a togetherness that should be replicated in the Laois set up. At this very early stage, I'd have faith in Portlaoise to get us out of Division 4, purely because they have a system and a plan. I haven't seen that in Laois for years.
Post by: Don Draper on October 24, 2017, 10:37:55 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on October 24, 2017, 10:32:37 AM
I'd agree with you there PK. In fairness, the two Dublin sides are probably Division 2/3 at county level in terms of standard. Your lads have a system and a togetherness that should be replicated in the Laois set up. At this very early stage, I'd have faith in Portlaoise to get us out of Division 4, purely because they have a system and a plan. I haven't seen that in Laois for years.
Debating whether Portlaoise would be better than Laois. We're definitely in post season.
Post by: High Fielder on October 24, 2017, 10:40:32 AM
That wasn't my point. My point was that Portlaoise are better drilled, have a system in place and are a more together bunch. But take from it what you will.
Post by: Don Draper on October 24, 2017, 10:50:32 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on October 24, 2017, 10:40:32 AM
That wasn't my point. My point was that Portlaoise are better drilled, have a system in place and are a more together bunch. But take from it what you will.
Of course they are better drilled, they're a club team with a manager in situ for the past 3 years. The Laois seniors are a shambolic outfit with no discernible system due to lack of a decent manager for about 5 or 6 years. They're a more together bunch because they're a club team whose players have a history in recent years of committing to their club team rather than the county side. Also Portlaoise players get to play for a team thats dominant in their competition, Laois players get to train their bolloxes off for shite managers and the pleasure of being run roughshod over inevitably by Dublin. Its a ridiculous comparison. Lets take Portlaoise and drop them in Division 2 of the NFL for a few years and see how they fare. Wait, thats ridiculous.
Post by: High Fielder on October 24, 2017, 02:02:15 PM
Good answer in fairness. Hard to disagree with a lot of that. In fairness to Portlaoise though, they've played that way for a  long time. They've tweaked the system in recent years to suit modern trends, but there's a consistency to what they do. They are comfortable with the ball in their hand first and foremost. I used to be disappointed at Portlaoise players not playing with Laois, and I accept your point that they are big fish in a small pond, bbut maybe it's that familiarity and sense of togetherness that makes it a better proposition.
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 24, 2017, 07:18:09 PM
To say that Portlaoise would get us out of division 4 is a bit of a wild statement. They are the best of a very poor bunch in the Laois club championship so let's not fool ourselves again.Just sayin
Post by: clonadmad on October 24, 2017, 07:24:43 PM
I must have missed out on the bit where Portlaoise won a couple of club all Irelands recently.

Completely disrespectful to the other Div4 teams to say this,You'd swear we had a history of success and had recently fallen on hard times to come out with something as arrogant as this.

Mark my words getting out of Division 4 will take everything we have and more.

This time last year,lads were expecting to climb out of division 3.
Post by: High Fielder on October 25, 2017, 09:45:36 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on October 24, 2017, 07:18:09 PM
To say that Portlaoise would get us out of division 4 is a bit of a wild statement. They are the best of a very poor bunch in the Laois club championship so let's not fool ourselves again.Just sayin

I didn't say that. I said at this early stage, because they are better drilled, I'd fancy them more to do it. I didn't say they would
Post by: High Fielder on October 25, 2017, 09:47:24 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 24, 2017, 07:24:43 PM
I must have missed out on the bit where Portlaoise won a couple of club all Irelands recently.

Completely disrespectful to the other Div4 teams to say this,You'd swear we had a history of success and had recently fallen on hard times to come out with something as arrogant as this.

Mark my words getting out of Division 4 will take everything we have and more.

This time last year,lads were expecting to climb out of division 3.

You've gone to another level there.
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 25, 2017, 10:00:20 AM
Clonadmad I'd totally agree with you. Surely after what has happened over the last couple of years people should be expecting the unexpected. Not getting out of division 4 is a possibility the way things have being going. Like if we didn't have Kingston we would probably not win a match in division 4 .
Post by: Don Draper on October 25, 2017, 10:10:29 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on October 25, 2017, 10:00:20 AM
expecting the unexpected
Perhaps, but I can't see us getting relegated out of Division 4, but no harm to be on alert for it all the same.
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 25, 2017, 10:39:23 AM
Exactly Don no harm we don't want to be in division 5
Post by: Unison on October 29, 2017, 04:03:41 PM
Well done to Emo and Portlaoise. Good weekend for Laois football.
Post by: High Fielder on October 29, 2017, 07:41:58 PM
Good test for Portlaoise today. Rhode never gave up but they lacked a bit of quality. The pitch was like a meadow and the referee ignored a lot of stuff that Rhode got up to. Portlaoise can expect more of the same the next day. Dillon seems to be improving all the time
Post by: Unlaoised on October 30, 2017, 02:59:08 AM
Well done Portlaoise did well to roll up the sleeves on what was a poor pitch

Is Graham Brody injured ?
Post by: on the hop on October 30, 2017, 09:40:00 AM
Are you fishing😀, not injured
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 30, 2017, 11:15:33 AM
No Brody was dropped for drinking apparently 😳
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 30, 2017, 02:15:48 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on October 30, 2017, 11:15:33 AM
No Brody was dropped for drinking apparently 😳

Seriously? That not be very out of character?
Post by: town1980 on October 30, 2017, 02:58:02 PM
Very happy to get threw yesterday something like the graigcullen game if you ask me in terms of wat happened,, Dillon and Bruno were very good,, Malachy has to be complemented for dropping brody but the senior players are sick of his antics I'm hearing and he could have let down the whole panel,, he was also out Saturday night and he is my clubman but ide stick with Mickey a super deputy with a great attitude,, delighted with the young bucks and I have to say I think mal is  doing a super job I was critical I no but he has come into his own this yr without any infleunces so a job well done
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 30, 2017, 03:06:14 PM
Quote from: town1980 on October 30, 2017, 02:58:02 PM
I have to say I think mal is  doing a super job I was critical I no but he has come into his own this yr without any infleunces so a job well done

Was there someone in the background with a big say in previous years?
Post by: Laois fan on October 30, 2017, 11:59:36 PM
To make a statement like that about your fellow club mates private life is  bad form and should be removed
Post by: merman on October 31, 2017, 12:16:03 AM
I wouldn't see Portlaoise enough to judge this fairly perhaps, but I thought Nolan's kickouts were excellent on Sunday. Long and direct; set up quite a few chances for Portlaoise.

I think Portlaoise's midfield looks better than it has for a couple of years now.
Post by: Don Draper on October 31, 2017, 08:21:34 AM
Quote from: Laois fan on October 30, 2017, 11:59:36 PM
To make a statement like that about your fellow club mates private life is  bad form and should be removed
That **** is no town man. The shit he spouted against Mal earlier in the year proved that.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 31, 2017, 09:12:32 AM
I think Malachy McNulty has done an outstanding job with Portlaoise,  Rhode are prob 2nd best team in Leinster and he has beaten them being very much his own man, while also rejuvenating this team and with discipline.  Very much the envy of the rest of us.  It has been an outstanding job and this team is very much a mirror image of him as a player.  I am sure Brody will be back but he will now realise who is the boss which is no bad thing for him Portlaoise or Laois.  In fairness from what I see Malachy has built at team that is a credit to Portlaoise.

Post by: town1980 on October 31, 2017, 09:15:53 AM
what i said was the players are sick of it ,it is my club too that i support financially and if im a little pissed off this has happened well i think its ok to say it,,and again i did think mal was gona struggle that was based on the year previous but like i said i think i was completely wrong and i was been silly,he is doing a super job there very very strong at the minute and there panel is gona be stronger next year also
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 31, 2017, 10:23:00 AM
Stronger next year give me more info?😊
Post by: redsetanta on October 31, 2017, 12:11:57 PM
GOod win for Emo over the weekend aswell. Good fighting spirit and got goals to keep them in it. Home game for them now which should be a good occasion.
Post by: welcomehome on October 31, 2017, 12:45:06 PM
FOR A SO CALLED PORTLAOISE MAN..YOUR COMMENTS ABOUT GRAHAM BRODY ARE DISGRACEFUL.THAT MATTER WAS PRIVATE BETWEEN BRODY AND PORTLAOISE MANAGEMENT...HE HAS A MOTHER AND FATHER..ANND FOR THEM TO READ THIS SHITE ABOUT HIM...YOU ARE NOT A TRUE PORTLAOISE SUPPORTER TOWN 1980..
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 31, 2017, 09:38:58 PM
Quote from: welcomehome on October 31, 2017, 12:45:06 PM
FOR A SO CALLED PORTLAOISE MAN..YOUR COMMENTS ABOUT GRAHAM BRODY ARE DISGRACEFUL.THAT MATTER WAS PRIVATE BETWEEN BRODY AND PORTLAOISE MANAGEMENT...HE HAS A MOTHER AND FATHER..ANND FOR THEM TO READ THIS SHITE ABOUT HIM...YOU ARE NOT A TRUE PORTLAOISE SUPPORTER TOWN 1980..

I think this is OTT. He said he was out drinking. That was it. It seems to be true. It wasn't exactly a character assassination and it wasn't exactly a shooting offence. I can't imagine it being posted here will cause PTSD with his parents.
A young man fucked up and was taught a  lesson. The end.

Town1980 is as entitled to an opinion as anyone else, and seems to be coming a lot more moderate with his posts, and accurate with his predictions.
Post by: town1980 on October 31, 2017, 10:20:26 PM
Thanks mr size,
By stronger I mean Glynn, Healy, nurney, a fit smith and the new blooded lads will be on there second year.
Also on graham I'm sorry if some think I'm being hard on him but if facts are facts what is the problem, I'm commenting on yes my own club so what does it matter if it's Bruno Kevin fits etc ide have the same opinion
Post by: clonadmad on November 01, 2017, 10:07:04 AM

There's no need to shout,Graham,everyone can hear you
Post by: redsetanta on November 01, 2017, 10:10:54 AM
It will be a good test for Portlaoise against Moorefield who had two men sent off in their county final. Not sure if they were both straight reds!  Jack O'Connor's son is also lining out in the forwards for Moorefield and chipped in with 4 points albeit only 1 from play.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 01, 2017, 10:36:10 AM
Both got straight reds and are due to miss the Portlaoise match unless they are rescinded.

Post by: Keyser Söze on November 01, 2017, 12:14:10 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 01, 2017, 10:36:10 AM
Both got straight reds and are due to miss the Portlaoise match unless they are rescinded.

By the Kildare County Board I presume.......
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 01, 2017, 12:53:09 PM
Yes... but two striking offences might be hard to rescind.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 01, 2017, 01:29:42 PM

if I could be arsed id set up a new user/username of Brodys mammyanddaddy  ;D
Post by: Don Draper on November 01, 2017, 02:28:18 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 01, 2017, 01:29:42 PM

if I could be arsed id set up a new user/username of Brodys mammyanddaddy  ;D
I pity you fool
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 01, 2017, 06:52:53 PM
Think Rhode would be  a far sterner test than the Kildare Champions,  it's been awhile since a Kildare team were in Leinster Club Final.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 02, 2017, 04:55:11 PM
Not sure about that, I hear they are very good this year.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 06, 2017, 03:12:18 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 02, 2017, 04:55:11 PM
Not sure about that, I hear they are very good this year.

I heard to opposite ...Portlaoise should win this game!
Post by: SCFC on November 12, 2017, 09:02:34 PM
A bit surprised that Portlaoise lost out today. With Emo losing yesterday too in a game I though they'd win, a bad weekend for Laois.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 12, 2017, 10:05:43 PM
A tight game, Portlaoise with hindsight will feel they should have won. 
Post by: Uisce on November 13, 2017, 08:41:19 AM
Very disappointed for Portlaoise yesterday, a few bad mistakes cost them. Leinster was wide open and there for the taking with Vincents gone. Hard to call a winner in it now!
Post by: High Fielder on November 13, 2017, 10:46:04 AM
An opportunity lost, no doubt. Moorefield were going nowhere at 11-8 and the sending off brought them into it. Portlaoise were poor in the second half, and the tempo was all wrong. The good support play in the first half just stopped and too often lads were isolated and turned over. It says a lot that your main man on the front foot is your goalkeeper, and there was a case yesterday for pushing Brody out the field and putting Nolan back in goals. Their No. 12 should have been booked early and sent off, which is partly the reason Coldrick lost control and allowed Moorefield to get a foothold. But that's clutching a little at straws. Truth be told, Portlaoise are not ruthless enough when the smell of blood is in the air, and the second half actually appears to be an issue for them.

In fairness to Portlaoise, without Glynn, Cotter and Healy, it has still been a good year. Holland, Finn, Flanagan and McEvoy have really stepped up. They hold onto the ball well but sometimes the approach play is too laboured and movement off the ball lacking. For their own sake, and Laois', it would be good if they commit to Laois. I don't believe they can improve individually or as contributors to Portlaoise by staying away from county football. Lillis and Dillon have proved that.
Post by: South Laois man on November 13, 2017, 12:07:44 PM
I would love to see all the county standard Portlaoise players commit to Laois but unfortunately it probably won't happen. God knows we need them.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 13, 2017, 12:35:19 PM
I think we are overestimating how many of these Portlaoise guys are really up to county level. They are by far the strongest team in Laois but they are meeting there match in Leinster (limping over Rhode without the Offaly fullback and losing to Moorefield yesterday minus there captain and vice captain). Like for example Gareth Dillon's pace is too much for any of the club defenders to handle in Laois and he is our player of the championship, yesterday Moorefield were above the Laois club standard intensity and pace and I noticed anytime Gareth went off on a run he was matched pace wise and then overturned at ease and was made look average and this isn't even county level. It just shows how poor the standard is in Laois . Portlaoise are in trouble when Bruno is held like yesterday and this dosent happen in the Laois championship either. Moorefield played 15 on 15 and didn't show them respect like the other Laois clubs would, this blanket defence thing is bulllshit . Really the way to beat Portlaoise is go 15 on 15 be as fit as them and drag them into a battle like Moorefield and Rhode did . Another thing in Laois Brody is just allowed walk down the field without any contact, I noticed 3 or 4 Moorefield players pouncing on him and holding him up an intensity other teams in Laois lack.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 13, 2017, 12:39:44 PM
And before anyone says anything Portlaoise could of won yesterday and have been great representatives of Laois in Leinster for ages but I'm just saying how they can be beaten and that some of the players  look better than they really are because the challenge in Laois is so poor at the moment .
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 13, 2017, 12:43:57 PM
Another thing not one of them Moorefield lads is even on the Kildare PANEL and they beat Portlaoise yet we are looking at maybe 8,9,10 Portlaoise guys maybe from what I've heard for the Laois panel? Maybe just shows where Laois football is at
Post by: High Fielder on November 13, 2017, 12:58:06 PM
Portlaoise were missing 3 quality players yesterday and haven't had them all year. Moorefield beat Athy who have at least 4 Kildare panelists. Moorefield are effective at what they do and play the match in front of them. They were a beaten docket yesterday and going nowhere, but fair play to them, they took advantage of the sending off. But Portlaoise were the classier, better drilled outfit
Post by: clonadmad on November 13, 2017, 01:04:42 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 13, 2017, 12:58:06 PM
Portlaoise were missing 3 quality players yesterday and haven't had them all year. Moorefield beat Athy who have at least 4 Kildare panelists. Moorefield are effective at what they do and play the match in front of them. They were a beaten docket yesterday and going nowhere, but fair play to them, they took advantage of the sending off. But Portlaoise were the classier, better drilled outfit

Were Moorfield missing 2 of their starters due to suspension?
Post by: High Fielder on November 13, 2017, 01:13:39 PM
They were clonad, and in that regard it was a good opportunity for Portlaoise.
Post by: Don Draper on November 13, 2017, 01:13:50 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 13, 2017, 01:04:42 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 13, 2017, 12:58:06 PM

Were Moorfield missing 2 of their starters due to suspension?
Its almost like you have the answer to this question. I'm on tenterhooks here to see how this one develops.
Post by: Tony on November 13, 2017, 01:21:49 PM
With the way the Rathnew Vincents game went, it's a real shame that Portlaoise didn't make it past moorefield. It was really there for the taking and this one will be hard to take for them.

But I totally agree with High Fielder - If you want to raise your standard across the board, far more players in the Town need to commit to Laois. I'm not saying 8 - 10 Portlaoise lads will make the starting 15 for Laois - of course not. But by being in contention and adding competition to the Laois Squad it can really stand to both squads in the long term. Realistically, about 7 or 8 Portlaoise lads can make a big difference to the Laois SQUAD.

Offhand, I'd say Town lads who can do well on to the Laois Squad are : Brody, Healy, Lillis, Boyle, Dillon, Cotter, Cahilane and maybe Holland, Seale, Glynn could add something too.
Post by: Nameless on November 13, 2017, 01:24:18 PM
Portlaoise had the game won until the absolutely stupid sending off. They blew it, Leinster championship was there for the taking this year. There wasn't many players that stood out as inter county standard apart from the one's we already know; Cahilane, Brody. Dillon struggled I thought, some of the backs might be worth a go. The best player on the pitch was Jack O'Connors son, is he getting the call up for Kildare?
Post by: Nameless on November 13, 2017, 01:31:39 PM
Quote from: Tony on November 13, 2017, 01:21:49 PM
With the way the Rathnew Vincents game went, it's a real shame that Portlaoise didn't make it past moorefield. It was really there for the taking and this one will be hard to take for them.

But I totally agree with High Fielder - If you want to raise your standard across the board, far more players in the Town need to commit to Laois. I'm not saying 8 - 10 Portlaoise lads will make the starting 15 for Laois - of course not. But by being in contention and adding competition to the Laois Squad it can really stand to both squads in the long term. Realistically, about 7 or 8 Portlaoise lads can make a big difference to the Laois SQUAD.

Offhand, I'd say Town lads who can do well on to the Laois Squad are : Brody, Healy, Lillis, Boyle, Dillon, Cotter, Cahilane and maybe Holland, Seale, Glynn could add something too.

Although fine footballers, I think with pace being of such importance in the modern game, a few of those you listed have been tried and just don't have it for the top level. Also a few of those listed don't have the physique for the modern game, they need a few years in the gym, something that should have begun years ago.
Post by: OTF on November 13, 2017, 02:24:01 PM
They didn't have the fitness level required for their running game, their support play which was excellent in the first half was gone half way through the second half resulting in them losing possession 3 or 4 times towards the end.

Ref was poor, a box in the face is a yellow at least, Dillon gets a yellow for pulling down a player off the ball when it should have being a black.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 13, 2017, 05:15:59 PM
Ye they were missing there captain Daryl Flynn who plays midfield and Vice captain Whyte who plays half foward
Post by: on the hop on November 13, 2017, 05:36:21 PM
realistically there is not too many worth a go on the panel and that really shows how poor a pick we have. brody, lillis and if healy commits and is fit will be there. Dillon for all the pace in the world can be clueless at times. I don't think boyle will commit as it would be a big ask for him after that there is nothing else.

Flanagan is one that should be left to develop, both himself and mc evoy have improved.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 13, 2017, 08:43:37 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 13, 2017, 12:43:57 PM
Another thing not one of them Moorefield lads is even on the Kildare PANEL and they beat Portlaoise yet we are looking at maybe 8,9,10 Portlaoise guys maybe from what I've heard for the Laois panel? Maybe just shows where Laois football is at

Moorefield might lack many names familiar to those outside Kildare but as a unit they much more than the sum of their parts. They have many of the qualities which the county team lacks (composure, steel, temperament), and that's why they regularly beat the likes of Athy, Celbridge and Johnstownbridge who are all stacked with county players.

Most of their side yesterday would have played county football at one point or another. Sweeney played with Kildare as far back as 2000 and is a county selector now. Dempsey, Masterson and Healy would have Leinster minor medals from the last few years. Heavey, Healy Murnaghan, Tyrrell and Eanna O'Connor were all on the Kildare senior panel in the last two years. Ryan Houlihan was starting for Kildare in 2016 and now he can't get a starting place for Moorefield.
Post by: High Fielder on November 14, 2017, 09:44:09 AM
That kind of tallies with what I thought DH. They hung in on Sunday and the breaks fell their way. I think they would struggle against a mobile and classy team, but the pitches at this time of year could be the leveller. Not inconceivable that they could win Leinster now
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 14, 2017, 10:46:39 AM
I feel Portlaoise threw it away on Sunday. To be 3 points up and in control of the situation it makes it for a hard defeat to take.

The sending off was a key incident and really lead Portlaoise into a tailspin but in saying that we had two chances to score in injury time and should have scored.

In fairness though,all credit to Moorefield as they showed great bottle to take their chances and win.

In general the year for Portlaoise has been good, to win the county back and have such an influx of new lads come in and do well has been good. Next year I expect more changes to the team and the return of Healy will be a massive boost.

Post by: High Fielder on November 14, 2017, 11:21:13 AM
A couple of posters here have questioned the quality of Portlaoise lads, but I think that's missing the point. Both Moorefield and Portlaoise showed on Sunday that the system and team work are more important than the individual. Having watched Laois closely over the last few years, there hasn't been a system. A couple of our experienced midfielders have been known to hoof the ball to Donie and stand with hands on hips. That simply won't do in modern football. As Nameless pointed out, the emphasis now is on speed and conditioning. I would add good support play into that mix. Portlaoise players are good enough. Anyone who commits, trains and buys into a system should be considered. Anyone who doesn't should be discarded. 
Post by: Giovanni on November 14, 2017, 11:47:57 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 14, 2017, 11:21:13 AM
A couple of posters here have questioned the quality of Portlaoise lads, but I think that's missing the point. Both Moorefield and Portlaoise showed on Sunday that the system and team work are more important than the individual. Having watched Laois closely over the last few years, there hasn't been a system. A couple of our experienced midfielders have been known to hoof the ball to Donie and stand with hands on hips. That simply won't do in modern football. As Nameless pointed out, the emphasis now is on speed and conditioning. I would add good support play into that mix. Portlaoise players are good enough. Anyone who commits, trains and buys into a system should be considered. Anyone who doesn't should be discarded.

Excellent post. It's easy to denigrate the quality of the players but we have really been without any kind of discernible system of play since McNulty (and that system had some serious flaws too). In addition to all the physical elements of "the system" mentioned above, there is a winning mindset that has to be developed which, I'm afraid, seems very absent from some of our better players.
Post by: OTF on November 14, 2017, 12:32:33 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on November 14, 2017, 11:47:57 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 14, 2017, 11:21:13 AM

Excellent post. It's easy to denigrate the quality of the players but we have really been without any kind of discernible system of play since McNulty (and that system had some serious flaws too). In addition to all the physical elements of "the system" mentioned above, there is a winning mindset that has to be developed which, I'm afraid, seems very absent from some of our better players.

I'd agree plenty of players good enough on Sunday. A lot of harsh comment re the quality of players  on Dillon in particular.
Some players don't have 70 minutes in them and need to be replaced earlier( no matter who they are) especially  with this running game one or two tired players and it all breaks down.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 14, 2017, 01:17:39 PM
If Portlaoise had off killed the game as they should have we would be looking at theses players differently, just because they lose doesn't make them poor players. Yes they are not as good a team as the Portlaoise team of a few years ago but IMO the lads who came in this year did very well. 

In terms of an extended Laois panel I would call up Brody, Finn, Lillis, Boyle, Seale, McEvoy, Dillon , Carroll and Cahillane.

Post by: steven seagal on November 14, 2017, 03:19:36 PM
I think the big difference between Moorefield and every other team Portlaoise met this year was that Moorefield were excellent defensively. Moorefield did a great job of slowing Portlaoise down, and they weren't at their best with the slower pace.

They also tied up Bruno, which rarely happens in Laois. It was almost comical how much freedom Rhode gave him. Rhode looked like they had no homework done on Portlaoise at all, but Moorefield looked far better prepared.

I thought Sunday was the first game this year where they really missed Healy as well, they could have done with him on Eanna O'Connor. In spite of all that, they should still have won it. That late lapse probably cost them another Leinster, because they would have been the best team left in it. A tough one to take for them but they'll probably win another three or four in a row in Laois, at least, so they'll have plenty more chances.
Post by: redsetanta on December 18, 2017, 12:47:58 PM
Lomans didn't pay enough attention to the Portlaoise v Moorefield game. Some comeback again.

They'll be toasting Billy O'Loughlin in Newbridge and burning his effigy in Mullingar.

His bravado kicking the ball away gave the Moorefield kicker the yards he needed to put it over.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 18, 2017, 02:56:49 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on December 18, 2017, 12:47:58 PM

They'll be toasting Billy O'Loughlin in Newbridge and burning his effigy in Mullingar.

His bravado kicking the ball away gave the Moorefield kicker the yards he needed to put it over.

While I agree Billy was one of the players at fault he wasn't the only one, for me Sharry getting sent off after a second yellow turned the game on it's head. Loman's should have brought everyone back at that stage to secure victory. But Luke bringing on his relation to give him a run on an historic day and what he did kicking the ball back and adding another minute to the game was pure madness. O'Loughlin was always a bit of a clown on the field but this is one mistake he won't forget for a long time.
Post by: Don Draper on December 18, 2017, 03:00:43 PM
Pretty harsh on Billy lads. All he did was roll a ball away. And O Connor didn't even kick the free. It fell to a lad on the edge of the square all on his own. At the last kick of the game, an opposition player was left all on his own on the edge of the square! Lomans has collectively shit the pot long before that. No ones even mentioned the number 6 who abdicated responsibility for the past 10 minutes, or Heslin's no show during the same period. Luke brought on a player who has management experience to try see a game out. At the end of the day, its simply down to one thing. Lomans saw the finish line, and pissed themselves. An awful shame for them. This will be a tough week.
Post by: redsetanta on December 18, 2017, 03:17:29 PM
FAir enough it didn't go straight over but he got to take it from the 45 as opposed 55 or 60 metres out. Great leap from Sweeny to knock it back and they got the bit of luck.
Post by: Don Draper on December 18, 2017, 03:28:57 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on December 18, 2017, 03:17:29 PM
FAir enough it didn't go straight over but he got to take it from the 45 as opposed 55 or 60 metres out. Great leap from Sweeny to knock it back and they got the bit of luck.
That luck being, a player left standing entirely on his own on the edge of the square in the 6th minute of injury time in a Leinster Final, with the scores tied. There's luck and there's abdication of responsibility. It was brought up 10 yards, 55 to 45. I'm sure had it landed on the 21, Lomans would still have managed to make a balls of it, given the way they had collectively collapsed. Sad to see, but thats what happened.
Post by: redsetanta on December 18, 2017, 03:30:33 PM
Depends which side of the fence you're on!
Post by: Don Draper on December 18, 2017, 03:31:17 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on December 18, 2017, 03:30:33 PM
Depends which side of the fence you're on!
Even Moorefield would admit they were f**king steeped to get back into that game.
Post by: redsetanta on December 18, 2017, 03:46:57 PM
They thought they were home and hosed and they had started the time wasting, cynical fouling (black card and a sending off) etc After switching off like that it's wasn't possible switch back on as Moorefield were like men possessed.

The centre backs run to win that ball that led to the goal was one of those where he went through the gap without fear of de-capitation. Got possession and fired it into the square.

There'll be a song written about it no doubt!
Post by: Don Draper on December 18, 2017, 03:51:25 PM
I'd say they're definitely singing today anyway
Post by: Heshs Umpire on December 18, 2017, 09:19:22 PM
Thought it was surprising to see O'Loughlin come on for Lomans. He never really made it with Killeen so to see him come in at such a pivotal moment shocked me.
Post by: redsetanta on December 19, 2017, 09:56:35 AM
Even Dempsey was thinking about the post match celebrations!
Post by: Unlaoised on December 20, 2017, 05:30:56 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on December 18, 2017, 09:19:22 PM
Thought it was surprising to see O'Loughlin come on for Lomans. He never really made it with Killeen so to see him come in at such a pivotal moment shocked me.

It was a token jesture that back fired big time....I'd say not many in St Lomans could believe he came on either......

As the next poster said it was a case of Luke Dempsey thinking of the celebrations
Post by: Don Draper on December 20, 2017, 06:01:07 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on December 20, 2017, 05:30:56 PM

It was a token jesture that back fired big time....I'd say not many in St Lomans could believe he came on either......

As the next poster said it was a case of Luke Dempsey thinking of the celebrations
Anyone got the appearance list for BOL with SL this season?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 20, 2017, 08:02:44 PM

A case of Luke Dempsey looking after the relations....
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 27, 2017, 12:35:57 AM
It's starting to look like there is a certain well connected group of people who Don doesn't like being criticised!!
Post by: Don Draper on December 27, 2017, 08:49:36 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 27, 2017, 12:35:57 AM
It's starting to look like there is a certain well connected group of people who Don doesn't like being criticised!!
Draw up a list there for posterity.
Post by: SCFC on December 27, 2017, 04:43:04 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 20, 2017, 06:01:07 PM

He was brought on in injury time in any game they had a decent lead in. Didn't start games.
Post by: Don Draper on December 27, 2017, 06:37:42 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 27, 2017, 04:43:04 PM

He was brought on in injury time in any game they had a decent lead in. Didn't start games.
Yes, brought on to see games out. Not his fault on this occasion those around him completely shit the pot.
Post by: SCFC on December 27, 2017, 08:42:58 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 27, 2017, 06:37:42 PM

Yes, brought on to see games out. Not his fault on this occasion those around him completely shit the pot.
;D ;D ;D
Post by: Don Draper on December 27, 2017, 10:37:22 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 27, 2017, 08:42:58 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 27, 2017, 06:37:42 PM

;D ;D ;D
Laugh all you like, but watch the last 5 minutes of that game, and in particular the Centre back, full back and midfield and explain to me how Billy is to blame. This is mere bitterness here. The Centre back alone should be shot with balls of his own shit.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2017, 01:35:10 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 27, 2017, 08:49:36 AM

So far I have Dick Miller and the O' Loughlins!  ;D
As Detective Frank Drebin once said, "the truth hurts, maybe not as much as jumping on a bicycle with the seat missing, but it hurts!".

I'm goading! Happy new year!
Post by: Don Draper on December 28, 2017, 05:20:32 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2017, 01:35:10 AM

As Detective Frank Drebin once said, "the truth hurts, maybe not as much as jumping on a bicycle with the seat missing, but it hurts!".

Howld on there now, I'd be no fan of the O Loughlins, I just said the defeat wasn't Billy's fault. He wasn't even responsible for a score!

Dick was the second greatest administrator this county ever saw.

Many Happy Returns!
Post by: SCFC on December 28, 2017, 05:35:48 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 28, 2017, 05:20:32 PM

Howld on there now, I'd be no fan of the O Loughlins, I just said the defeat wasn't Billy's fault. He wasn't even responsible for a score!

Many Happy Returns!
I never said the defeat was Billy's fault either. I'd still say he felt fairly shite after the game though.
Post by: Don Draper on December 28, 2017, 05:41:48 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 28, 2017, 05:35:48 PM

Many Happy Returns!
I never said the defeat was Billy's fault either. I'd still say he felt fairly shite after the game though.
Ah don't worry, a spin in here would have cheered him right up.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2017, 07:04:51 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 28, 2017, 05:41:48 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 28, 2017, 05:35:48 PM

Many Happy Returns!
Ah don't worry, a spin in here would have cheered him right up.

In fairness, I agree with the above. Nobody playing an amateur game deserves to have the finger pointed at him like that on a forum!
Post by: From the Terrace on December 28, 2017, 09:56:21 PM
What's the point having a forum If you can't give your opinion. Every lomans player on the field for the last 10 mins was at fault, how someone can pick out 1/2/3 is ridiculous.
Title: Why
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 29, 2017, 11:37:04 AM
Completely disagree with the above,  the whole point of a forum is to have different view points.  Why should being amateur insulate you from criticised, you are saying by the very fact that you do not receive payment should mean that you cannot be criticised.  By the very fact we have analysis there should also be criticism the level of which may be open to debate. 
Title: Re: Why
Post by: SCFC on December 29, 2017, 11:55:47 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on December 29, 2017, 11:37:04 AM
Completely disagree with the above,  the whole point of a forum is to have different view points.  Why should being amateur insulate you from criticised, you are saying by the very fact that you do not receive payment should mean that you cannot be criticised.  By the very fact we have analysis there should also be criticism the level of which may be open to debate.

Bang on. It's all about differing viewpoints at the end of the day. If I think Billyo is a top class footballer, that's my opinion. No more, no less.
Post by: Don Draper on December 29, 2017, 12:38:56 PM
No issue pouting a finger, I'm just observing that some on here were only pointing it in one direction.