Traditional Irish Food

Started by Lecale2, October 20, 2009, 09:01:59 PM

Caid

Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 10:19:22 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2009, 10:06:27 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 20, 2009, 10:00:26 PM
Potato pudding - a halloween favorite.   You don't see it much outside of parts of West Tyrone and Galway

you see it in Ardboe - our mam used to make it every Halloween - fecking rank

The only woman I knew who made that was also from Ardboe.

Preddy pudding is prevalent around Fermanagh/South Tyrone between Halloween and Christmas time as well.  Was never that big a fan
When my country takes her place among the nations of the earth...then may my epitaph be written

redhugh

Calf's liver with bacon and onions,champ and buttered cabbage.

I love it the way everyone says "champ, bacon, Denny sausages and a big glass of milk mmmm" in these threads yet they probably reach for the supernoodles and a bottle of BPM when the hunger is on..........

redhugh

Quote from: Minder on October 20, 2009, 10:28:04 PM
I love it the way everyone says "champ, bacon, Denny sausages and a big glass of milk mmmm" in these threads yet they probably reach for the supernoodles and a bottle of BPM when the hunger is on..........

Speak for yourself :P

mournerambler

Hard to beat a couple of herring beat up in a cup :P

Quote from: redhugh on October 20, 2009, 10:31:09 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 20, 2009, 10:28:04 PM

Speak for yourself :P
You'd be lucky to get a packet of supernoodles off Minder. What is BPM by the way?

Quote from: Gnevin on October 20, 2009, 10:33:37 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:56:49 PM
What's that?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coddle

An Irish Breakfast is your only man...forget this Ulster Fry shit where they have beans and insipid sausages...them denny yokes... :'(

Hairy bacon, Clonakilty puddin, free range Lispole eggs, good quality beef ispini, the only  concession to the Ulster Fry would be slims...and plenty of them....ar doigh 8)

Quote from: Caid on October 20, 2009, 10:23:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 10:19:22 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2009, 10:06:27 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 20, 2009, 10:00:26 PM
Potato pudding - a halloween favorite.   You don't see it much outside of parts of West Tyrone and Galway

you see it in Ardboe - our mam used to make it every Halloween - fecking rank

The only woman I knew who made that was also from Ardboe.

Preddy pudding is prevalent around Fermanagh/South Tyrone between Halloween and Christmas time as well.  Was never that big a fan

Awww lads i've been looking forward to this since last Halloween. Great stuff altogether. Just wouldn't be the healthest feed when you've added on your kilo of melted butter!!

Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 20, 2009, 10:09:31 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 10:06:21 PM
Jesus not another of these threads. Usually started by some hungry hoor.

What was the top ten on Ultimate Ulster then? No doubt it was the 6 county fry?

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

Since when was Chinese curry and Italian food.. traditiona irish food?

windyshepardhenderson

Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 11:00:16 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

bearing in mind this is coming from people who think ulster is a country
lavey's finest

Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 11:00:16 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

Thread title is misleading. The show was Ulster's Favourite Dish. Chinese Curry was actually 3rd.

Bod Mor

Quote from: rosnarun on October 20, 2009, 10:20:32 PM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

Also: Bacon, turnips and spuds
Bacon and cabbage...and spuds
Mackerel cooked on the tongs with a feed of spuds and a raw onion
Gorra bui (beastings from a cow boiled up)
Cally with spring onions cut up (Ya know the summer is on the way when ya have this!)

And of course beef and Guinness pie :) This Aussie wan was asking me the other day did we eat beef and Guinness pie all the time in Ireland so I told her the truth....the recipe died out with the last Leprachaun!
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

boojangles

Boxty bread will kill ya dead,Oaten meal will do ya no harm!
Boxty is still very common in Cavan.Long may it last-savage stuff ;D

Colcannon is also a particular favourite of mine.Beautiful.
When my mother made Colcannon in the little skillet pot-Oh ya did,so ya did,so did she and so did I and the more I think about it sure it makes me want to cry!

Ya can't beat Cabbage and Turnips either.

I never heard of Beef and Guinness pie until I was in an O Neills Irish pub in Liverpool.Not very traditional is it?