McKenna Cup 2024

Started by never kickt a ball, December 30, 2006, 02:22:48 AM

AFS

Even the old 'only the McKenna Cup' can't excuse that shite from Armagh. To get a trimming like that from what amounted to a Tyrone D team, a team that have had two tanking themselves in the last week or so, is nothing short of pathetic.

FB line devoid of any pace. A bunch of midfielders that can't field. HBs and HFs that haven't the first notion about breaking ball. And a FF line with only one fella looking like he was really bothering himself. No discernible game plan, no real effort, no wonder we were stuffed.

Gareth Swift aside, no positives to take from tonight.

And only 10 days til Dublin  :-\

barelegs

Can any of the Armagh lads tell me who played well for St Mary's?

Jeepers lads do you not think ye're hitting the panic button a wee bit early?

Its like not even Feb and ye've played 3 games in the new year.
If ye can't experiment a bit now and try new things at this stage then ye never will.

I wouldn't put too much emphasis on the Dubs game as I fear the Dubs are at a different stage of their life cycle. I read an article today in the Dublin paper the Evening herald and the dubs are focusing on winning every game they can and getting 50K+ at all their games and building that winning mentality from day 1 for players and fans alike.

I don't think too many teams are gonna be up to 70% fitness maybe bar the Dubs with their new early morning training scheme.

OK back to my wine. Its been a long hard day

I can't be too critical of Armagh's performance as I was in work until late and didn't muster up the enthusiasm to head down the road from Belfast but its depressing to read the reports. We badly need the Crossmaglen contingent back, by sounds of things young Morgan may be pitched straight into the fray. Corner back is a specialist position and we must utilise specialist corner backs. Serious improvement is needed or our return to Division 1 could be an embarrasment.

I'm all for experimenting but you have to draw the line somewhere. McCullagh wasn't bad in that he couldn't have been any worse than Calamity James aka McEvoy has been. Vincy Martin is not a corner back, so why play him there? Decky McKenna has shown glimpes but will probably need to drop back to the 'development squad' for another year or so. James Lavery looked crap though I know he is better than what he showed tonight, same for CV. Sorry to say Johnny Murtagh has little to offer and I'm beginning to think the same of Watters. I know Swift got 2-1 tonight but don't fancy him in FF, think he's more effective out the field - How times were pointless high balls played into ff, the Ranch goalie gobbled everything up. Stevie Mc had one to forget and overall I'm pissed off that I spent £10 to go and freeze my goolies off to watch thon!

Edit to say: Fair play to the Ranch, played some great football and despite Armagh being physically superior they brought the game to them. Score of the match also way out on the RHS in the second half.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

O'Neill and PJ Quinn didn't start as advertised. Match in Brewster was poor enough farefor the most part. Tyrone were lucky enough to go in level at the break. Stephen McNally slotted in well the half back role making some good runs forward and playing confidently, but didn't have the same impact in 2nd. It was all fairly even, with plenty of errors everywhere until midway through the second when Tyrone kicked it up a gear and never looked back. Cavanagh and Penrose were MOTM contenders with McCarron putting in another solid showing at full back. Cassidy came in at FF for Donnelly at half time but didn't make an impact. McGinley did a lot better at FF when Caasidy went to MF. Him and Hub started winning more ball then. Vast majority of Penrose's scores were from dead ball Inc as good a peno as your likely to see anywhere. Tyrone won comfortably in the end. But it wasn't always comfortable viewing.  McEnaney certainly made Tyrone work hard for frees
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Anyone got the St Marys line up and the counties represented?

How did Kieran Toner do for Armagh - is he living up to his billing as the best full-back in Ireland or is he playing in the middle?

Quote from: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 08:13:41 PM
Quote from: drici on January 26, 2011, 08:08:27 PM
Monaghan 0-04  Cavan 1-09

Half Time
Obviously with the squad and the results Monaghan aren't taking this very seriously, but I wonder if MeEneaney is actually getting anything out of this.

::) :D Do you think Cavan are?

AFS

Quote from: nrico2006 on January 27, 2011, 08:28:18 AM
Anyone got the St Marys line up and the counties represented?

How did Kieran Toner do for Armagh - is he living up to his billing as the best full-back in Ireland or is he playing in the middle?

Not gonna bother trying to remember names, but county representation was something like Derry - 1, Down - 1, Armagh - 1, Tyrone - 12. Some amount of PE teachers knocking about Tyrone.

ST MARYS: N Morgan (0-2), C OHara, P Martin, O McArdle, C Campbell, B Canavan, B Doyle, C Doyle, M McKenna, B Herron (0-1), K Mossey (0-4), P Harte (1-2), G Teague (0-1), K Mossey (0-2), K Connelly (0-2), R Keenan (0-2). Subs: O Mac Iomhair for Teague (49 mins), R McAnenly for Morgan, (66 mins).

drici

Some disappointment with Armagh's performance last night.

http://twitter.com/CiaranMcKeever

whiskeysteve

Quote from: drici on January 27, 2011, 01:19:02 PM
Some disappointment with Armagh's performance last night.

http://twitter.com/CiaranMcKeever

Put into context by the death of Richard Keys I see. He may console himself with a pack of jammy dodgers
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

Quote from: haranguerer on January 27, 2011, 09:01:48 AM

Half Time
Obviously with the squad and the results Monaghan aren't taking this very seriously, but I wonder if MeEneaney is actually getting anything out of this.

It's my stalker!

As well as their long-time keeper, and Pearson also being a familiar name, the following players in bold started last year's championship game against Fermanagh:
J Reilly; P Cahill, E Smith (0-1), S Jordan; D O'Dowd, A Clarke, D O'Reilly; T Corr (0-1), P O'Reilly (0-1); K Fannin (0-4), A O'Reilly, R Flanagan (0-1); B Fitzpatrick, M Brennan (1-1), C Mackey (0-4, 2f). Subs: M McKeever for O'Dowd, R Cullivan for A Reilly, C Galligan for Corr, G Pearson for Brennan, D Sheridan for E Smith.

Clerkin and Finlay are the only two Monaghan regulars who were playing.

Derry also had a more familiar team than Monaghan.

Quote from: Maguire01 on January 27, 2011, 06:33:06 PM

Half Time

It's my stalker!

As well as their long-time keeper, and Pearson also being a familiar name, the following players in bold started last year's championship game against Fermanagh:
J Reilly; P Cahill, E Smith (0-1), S Jordan; D O'Dowd, A Clarke, D O'Reilly; T Corr (0-1), P O'Reilly (0-1); K Fannin (0-4), A O'Reilly, R Flanagan (0-1); B Fitzpatrick, M Brennan (1-1), C Mackey (0-4, 2f). Subs: M McKeever for O'Dowd, R Cullivan for A Reilly, C Galligan for Corr, G Pearson for Brennan, D Sheridan for E Smith.

Pauric Cahill of Killygarry has never played even National League football for Cavan as far as i know Maguire.
You would be thinking of Martin Cahill of Denn.

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on January 27, 2011, 07:11:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 27, 2011, 06:33:06 PM

Half Time

It's my stalker!

Pauric Cahill of Killygarry has never played even National League football for Cavan as far as i know Maguire.
You would be thinking of Martin Cahill of Denn.
Possibly Ballyhaiseman - I was working from surnames.