McKenna Cup 2024

Started by never kickt a ball, December 30, 2006, 02:22:48 AM

LurganHoop

One thing that was quite obvious from last night, for all the talk of Armagh's training regime, Tyrone looked much bigger, fitter & stronger. I honestly believe Tyrone wanted it a lot more (maybe in clutching at straws), but doesn't bode well for Armagh in the league and a serious improvement is needed.

Still very early days in fairness so let's see what the next few months bring.

Moortown Spuds

Armagh have some players that are better than the majority of Tyrone's- S. Campbell, M.Shields, M. McKenna. McVerry looked impressive too.

Armagh will cruise Division 3.

Tyrone will have a good league, followed by a p*ss poor championship. One thing for sure though, from a Tyrone fan's perspective its great to have Armagh and Tyrone having a rivalry again. I hope it stays that way because the wans from Derry will still be sh*te in 10 years time.

I find it funny how Derry folk are rowing behind Armagh fans just to get a dig at Tyrone.

WT4E

Quote from: Agent Orange on January 22, 2015, 12:28:20 PM
Quote from: Moortown Spuds on January 22, 2015, 12:20:34 PM
Only announced after Armagh's elimination confirmed. Couldn't show the thugs on live TV before the 9.00pm watershed.

Will Cathal McCarron be playing? He normally only appears on late night TV.

I'm from Tyrone but I'm willing to give that the comment of the thread! I Lol'd!!!

God14

Quote from: Moortown Spuds on January 22, 2015, 02:02:33 PM
Armagh have some players that are better than the majority of Tyrone's- S. Campbell, M.Shields, M. McKenna. McVerry looked impressive too.

Armagh will cruise Division 3.

Tyrone will have a good league, followed by a p*ss poor championship. One thing for sure though, from a Tyrone fan's perspective its great to have Armagh and Tyrone having a rivalry again. I hope it stays that way because the wans from Derry will still be sh*te in 10 years time.

I find it funny how Derry folk are rowing behind Armagh fans just to get a dig at Tyrone.

That's being going on for a loonng time now. I remember looking behind me in Croker on AI final day 2003 to see a big banner - "Derry GAA...on tour with Armagh". Think they were from Magherafelt O'Donovan Rossa's club.
As you say anything to get a dig at Tyrone  ::)

My take on the game last night was Tyrone were better from 1 to 15 all over the pitch, Tyrone's early ball in FF line and Armagh's 20 hand passes around the 45m line was the big difference. Armagh laboured in attack which allowed Tyrone to easily disposes them, the one or two times Armagh cut through Tyrone was from runners or early ball in.
Tyrone looked sharp and much fitter that Armagh although TBH I wouldn't be too concerned about that in January, Sean Cavanagh totally destroyed B Donaghy last night and C McKeever was give the shopping trolley too by McAliskey which is easily done by a quick tricky corner forward, usually McKeever in HB line is more solid. S Campbell done rightly at times but it's hard to pick out any Armagh men as Tyrone were so dominant and could/should have won by a lot more.
I too left about 6-7 mins early to try and warm up and beat the traffic so doubt if I missed anything in the closing stages. Armagh have a lot of work to do but it will keep them on their toes and hopefully we'll be a lot more competitive if we meet again in the summer.

Agent Orange

Quote from: Moortown Spuds on January 22, 2015, 01:06:30 PM
Only announced after Armagh's elimination confirmed. Couldn't show the thugs on live TV before the 9.00pm watershed.

One rotten apple spoils the barrel.

You've only Micky Harte to blame, he took him back onto the panel.

Quote from: Agent Orange on January 22, 2015, 02:41:41 PM

And good on him. McCarron is a good footballer. I couldn't care less about anything else.

Agent Orange

Quote from: BennyHarp on January 22, 2015, 03:07:59 PM

And good on him. McCarron is a good footballer. I couldn't care less about anything else.

Would you have such a liberal attitude to gay porn, among other things, if it was one of our players?

We're talking about his football ability not his ability to tear someone a new ar*ehole. Leave the fella alone...He who never sinned cast the 1st stone (and all that)

Quote from: Agent Orange on January 22, 2015, 03:17:35 PM

Would you have such a liberal attitude to gay porn, among other things, if it was one of our players?

Absolutely, some lads have personal issues that are best left for themselves to sort out. I care little for the personal lives of any Armagh player.

No harm to ye Agent Orange but that is not 'banter',  it's well below the belt and unnecessary.  Leave the lads personal life off the agenda as he has a lot to deal with I've no doubt.

Quote from: BennyHarp on January 22, 2015, 03:41:55 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on January 22, 2015, 03:17:35 PM

Absolutely, some lads have personal issues that are best left for themselves to sort out. I care little for the personal lives of any Armagh player.

agreed. Sexual orientation aside, the man made a mistake or two. Is trying to sort himself out. Fair play to Micky and his club for helping the man out. You could need a helping hand yourself some day

If Armagh take away from last nights game that there is a lot more work to do and no room for slacking or complacency then that is a useful lesson to learn at a time in the season when there is still time to improve.

My analyses of the game is simple. Mickey harte is smart. Smarter than geezer can ever hope to be.
Hartes approach was based on the arma v donegal game last summer. Harte seeing that mcavoy was in goals decided to pressure armaghs goalie from  the throw in.  Mcavoy feeling pressured and embarrassed imediately went into "get rid of it mode" tyrones plan comes together armagh end up chasing the game trying to be kildare building through 500 handpasses and spilling the ball tyrone run at the armagh defence who are now pannicked by the headless heedless mcacoy and and foul and beat themselves..

You can hardly lay the blame for  Tyrone's emphatic domination on your keeper alone Lawnseed.  Tyrone could have had another 10-12 points never mind the early goals!