McKenna Cup 2024

Started by never kickt a ball, December 30, 2006, 02:22:48 AM

Quote from: red hander on January 27, 2013, 12:47:38 AM
Jaysus, this east Tyrone boy didnnt mean to start a row with youse westies!!! The guy's a legend east or west!!!!!

No worries, Fuzzman well knows that I know that he (and Stevie) are a good mountain or two away from Strabane's river valley!  ;)

I sure do. Yis kicked him & Dooher enough around  yer valley pitch.  ;D Is Rory McIlroy from the 'head of the town now as well? Lol             

Yeah it all sounds good at the moment with so many 'promising' young lads coming through, Coney & Ronan O'Neill there from last year or two, big Sean & Stevie showing they can still turn it on, Justy & Colm two big men still to come back it all looks very bright. However, the Gaelic instinct in us stops some us getting too carried away. As we saw last year, if you're not strong, super fit and prepared to lay your body on the line for the team then having a bunch of talent won't be enough. Our midfield strategy still seems to be one of forget winning clean ball there and play two guys that can run all day & take scores. Has the defence tightened up or have we just not been really tested so far? We can no longer put Block on people like Gooch and expect miracles but of course I know sweepers & defensive strategies will be used instead which have served us well in the past. In Mickey we trust. I think rebuilding is going well

Quote from: Fuzzman on January 27, 2013, 08:56:33 AM
I sure do. Yis kicked him & Dooher enough around  yer valley pitch.  ;D Is Rory McIlroy from the 'head of the town now as well? Lol             

Don't be so ridiculous... everyone knows that Holywood (Co. Down) is Ballycolman, not Head of the Town!  :P  ;)

You grossly underestimate the spread of suburban Strabane (when it suits) Fuzzman:)

upmonaghansayswe

I haven't had the time to post since the game on Saturday night.

All in all, a useful McKenna Cup run out over the past few weeks with a few good additions to the panel for the league but not many positives to take from the final accept to acknowledge the gap that exists between the top tier and ourselves. But still, a promising league should set us up nicely for a run in Ulster in the summer.

The game itself was a done deal by just after half time, not that Tyrone were exceptional in the first half but the nature of the two goals before half time and the sending off in-between finished it at as a contest. In that respect of that I'd like to comment on the nature of a startling percentage of Tyrone supporters in relation to their conduct throughout the entire game but most alarmingly the second half.

First of all, the McKenna cup is a competition that attracts only those fans who really wish to get the intercounty scene going as early as possible. No bandwagon starts in January so it's fair to say that those in attendance last Saturday night are the "hardcore" county support. And given the weather conditions they must be applauded for doing so. (Think I heard the announcer say 5/6 thousand were in attendance and judging by the support around me in the stand Id conservatively say 70% were of Tyrone support). But that by no way makes up for the tone and general attitude of some of these supporters that has made me post this.

Quite simply, I have never heard language and abuse (directed at a referee) of this nature at a McKenna Cup game. I accept that the refereeing performance was not of the highest quality or consistency and many dubious free/decisions were awarded in the first half, many in favour of Monaghan. Tyrone weren't playing great in the first half and two defensive errors lead to the goals, so by half time (despite being 2-7 to 1-4 down), the game wasn't completely finished. So on that point ill pardon some of the vented anger that was on show.   

The second half though is where emotion and anger could not be defended and can only be described as abuse. Again to put into context, this sort of behaviour is par for the course during championship when so much is at stake and blow-ins arrive on the terraces and tarnish the good name of the real supporter. We all have them, and we all see it, but a pre-season final in January does not merit the same tone as high summer. The game was over within 5 min of the second half with Tyrone scoring 1-1. 9 points up against a Div 3 team with 14 men and 30 minutes to play, well most fans would sit back start talking about the local scandal!. But oh no, still every contact with any of their players resulted in an awful outcry of injustice, and profanities hurled at the ref. I won't even quote examples, but there were many and from all around me, and being from Derry didn't help the man in black. And from talking to other fans around the ground, my experience wasn't an isolated one. In general there was a siege mentality in that stand (or my side of it) at a level that I have never witnessed before at the McKenna Cup.

I'm not wishing to tar all Tyrone supporters with same brush. Living and working on the border I would normally have nothing but praise for the Tyrone football people in my area but whatever was in the air last Saturday night was not something I ever associated with the O`Neill county. Maybe it was just blowing off winter cobwebs but it wasn't a pretty sight.

Anyway here's hoping for a fruitful league for the Farney in the coming weeks and months!.

The Trap

Im from Tyrone and i cannot stand beside a lot of Tyrone supporters! You will find though that they are generally people who have never played the game, dont have any affiliation to clubs, dont do anything for the GAA in general apart from pay club membership (in order to have a chance of a ticket if Tyrone get to all ireland!!). In short they dont understand the GAA so they behave like soccer supporters as that is what they see on tv!!!

God14

I accept your comments 'upmonaghansayswe' & unfortunately, like all counties, we do indeed have a nasty element amongst our hard core support.

However I'd like to point out that this particular referee has history with Tyrone. He's a fairly young & inexperiened ref - however he getting bigger & bigger games this past couple of years ~ firstly McRory Finals there about 2yrs ago, and now onto the intercounty stage

In particular - he effectively dediced the outcome of the Ulster U21 final last year, which I attented. His performance that night was a truely shocking performance of refereeing.

Indeed he needed an escort to get out of McHale park in Mayo last year, as he ballsed that match up as well. Conor Mortimor had plenty to say about him on twitter.

And guess what - he's down to referee Tyrone V Down on Saturday night.

Redhand Santa

It was a shocking performance from the ref and a ten point win and sending off 2 Monaghan players (one he had no choice as linesman made the call) didn't hide his clear bias. And this was not a one off with Tyrone. I think that explains why the crowd were angry despite the result. Its ridiculous he's been given this Saturdays game as well. However, I would agree that some of the abuse was over the top and not justified. All counties have unreasonable loud supporters and we seem to have our fair share.

I would disagree however that the majority of Tyrone supporters their aren't true gaa fans or are linked to clubs. Tyrone probably has one of the largest group of hard core fans in Ireland and I'd imagine most are linked to clubs.

upmonaghansayswe

Quote from: God14 on January 29, 2013, 12:55:59 PM
I accept your comments 'upmonaghansayswe' & unfortunately, like all counties, we do indeed have a nasty element amongst our hard core support.

However I'd like to point out that this particular referee has history with Tyrone. He's a fairly young & inexperiened ref - however he getting bigger & bigger games this past couple of years ~ firstly McRory Finals there about 2yrs ago, and now onto the intercounty stage

In particular - he effectively dediced the outcome of the Ulster U21 final last year, which I attented. His performance that night was a truely shocking performance of refereeing.

Indeed he needed an escort to get out of McHale park in Mayo last year, as he ballsed that match up as well. Conor Mortimor had plenty to say about him on twitter.

Fair enough, I cant comment on any of the above. But while these previous performances may have shortened the fuse of some of your supporters I would be of the opinion that it was a "mob mentality" case among alot of them. Either that, or they all have as good a memory as yourself!.. So Down in my accumulator for the weekend then?  ;D

Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on January 29, 2013, 05:31:27 PM
Quote from: God14 on January 29, 2013, 12:55:59 PM

Fair enough, I cant comment on any of the above.
I can comment on the above, it's a load of empty vessel crap  ;D
A Tyrone defender bear hugs a Cavan forward in the penalty area and the ref awards the stonewall penalty.

Fortunately I listened to the Mon vTyrone game on Northern Sound who are savvy enough to protect the listeners from the sound of rattling of the empty Tyrone vessels, with some heavy duty sound insulation. Kept the pain to tolerable levels.

charlie linkbox

I'm not surprised you've raised this issue upmonaghansayswe.

I have to say the temperature of my blood rose steadily throughout the game and was at boiling point come the end, and not because of the scoreline or Monaghan's performance. From the moment the third goal went in I had reconciled myself to defeat, so by the time the final whistle went I had made my peace with that. It was the Tyrone support that had me fuming.

I was considering posting on this matter after the game but thought it more prudent to give myself a few days to gather my thoughts. However even three days later, looking back rationally, I can honestly say that I have never witnessed such vile, vulgar, rude, aggressive, abusive, whinging, yapping behaviour from so-called "proper" supporters (those who attend McKenna Cup and league games) in my life. And this when they were coasting to victory in 2nd gear!!! What was there to get worked up about? It was a stroll for them. Imagine the vitriol if the game had been close!!! Imagine the behaviour if the game was close in a game that really mattered!!!

It was only some of the support, granted. However, usually this behaviour is excused as being the antics of one or two morons who are dragging down the name of everyone else. This was not the case last Saturday night. This was an undercurrent of aggression that seemed inherent in the Tyrone support, and the abuse was hurled by many different voices. It cannot be merely passed off and dismissed as the misbehaviour of a few individuals either. For whatever reason it is endemic in the psyche of the "Tyronie" (witness the carry on during Tyrone club games for example; the county is infamous for its squabbling and fighting).

I have the utmost respect and admiration for Mickey Harte and the Tyrone team and what they have achieved, often in very trying circumstances. If only their support could act with even a modicum of the same class.......

AFS

Has it really only dawned on some people that Tyronies are the greatest shower of hallions going?

Those grapes are sour in south Ulster. Considering they're so regular, You'd think you would take your beatings and slide on with your tail between your legs.

Tommo2

Quote from: omagh_gael on January 29, 2013, 09:37:46 PM
Those grapes are sour in south Ulster. Considering they're so regular, You'd think you would take your beatings and slide on with your tail between your legs.

Don't think it is sour grapes. the behaviour of Tyrone supporters can be very embarrassing. Don't really win with an humility.