107 (46.5%)
I don't have a vote but would vote "No" if I did
26 (11.3%)
I don't have a vote and haven't decided how I would vote if I did
9 (3.9%)

Total Members Voted: 230

Quote from: topcuppla on May 04, 2015, 09:10:15 AM
As for Sidney he is obviously just a cub obsessed with watching porn from what he is posting.

Have you really got kids? Feck me!

God made Daddy for Mammy,not Daddy for Paddy

Quote from: armaghniac on May 04, 2015, 07:35:39 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 03, 2015, 11:57:34 PM
Okay then. Let's hear your empirical evidence that shows that having same-sex parents is harmful.

"Harmful" is pejorative, I didn't make a claim that have same sex parents was bad, only that different sex parents on balance were preferable.

You are the people seeking to change the constitution, you should be producing the evidence beyond reasonable doubt, not me. The constitution should not be changed in trivial way, but only if the evidence is clear, but all we get are these samples of one and spurious statements about equality.  At the very minimum the whole thing is being conducted with undue haste.

There is a lot of evidence that there problems with non biological parents than arise less with biological ones, the so called Cinderella Effect. Now I realise that this is not entirely clear, but the very least that we should expect is the collection of a proper amount of data to clarify things before changing constitutions and the like.

This referendum has nothing to do with same-sex parenting

Quote from: topcuppla on May 03, 2015, 11:12:50 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 03, 2015, 10:55:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 03, 2015, 10:26:14 PM
I am not obsessed with it (repulsed would be a better word).I just cannot see who any child raised in an unnatural environment could turn out to be normal.
So if a man does his wife up the jacksie, is that unnatural?

Yes -do you or Sidney think differently?
Don't knock it til ya try it  ;D

topcuppla

Quote from: macdanger2 on May 04, 2015, 10:06:48 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 04, 2015, 07:35:39 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 03, 2015, 11:57:34 PM
Okay then. Let's hear your empirical evidence that shows that having same-sex parents is harmful.

"Harmful" is pejorative, I didn't make a claim that have same sex parents was bad, only that different sex parents on balance were preferable.

You are the people seeking to change the constitution, you should be producing the evidence beyond reasonable doubt, not me. The constitution should not be changed in trivial way, but only if the evidence is clear, but all we get are these samples of one and spurious statements about equality.  At the very minimum the whole thing is being conducted with undue haste.

There is a lot of evidence that there problems with non biological parents than arise less with biological ones, the so called Cinderella Effect. Now I realise that this is not entirely clear, but the very least that we should expect is the collection of a proper amount of data to clarify things before changing constitutions and the like.

A yes vote will completely open the door to it.

topcuppla

Quote from: BennyHarp on May 04, 2015, 09:17:32 AM
Quote from: topcuppla on May 04, 2015, 09:10:15 AM
As for Sidney he is obviously just a cub obsessed with watching porn from what he is posting.

Have you really got kids? Feck me!

Yeah I married a woman and let nature take it's course.  Have you kids? 

Quote from: topcuppla on May 04, 2015, 09:09:38 AM
I say again anyone of the internet warriors here would shit a brick if their son / daughter told them they were gay, irrespective of what shite they spout here.  To say you would not be disappointed is a complete lie. 

Not being funny here but you might want to address this within yourself. You should have unconditional love for your children. It's disappointing that some people feel the way you do in 2015.

Quote from: macdanger2

This is the thread on the marriage referendum, either you are referring to the presidential age referendum or you are think we are eejits.

Sidney

Quote from: armaghniac on May 04, 2015, 12:32:36 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 link=topic=25487.msg1464021#msg1464021

/quote]

This is the thread on the marriage referendum, either you are referring to the presidential age referendum or you are think se are eejits.

You're obviously not familiar with what's being voted on here. MacDanger is correct.

I say again anyone of the internet warriors here would shit a brick if their son / daughter told them they were gay, irrespective of what shite they spout here.  To say you would not be disappointed is a complete lie.  In primary school party invites come home most weeks and it appears all girls invite all girls and all boys invite all boys, I drop my youngest who is 5 off at a house or soft ball area and collect a few hours later.  If my youngest came home with a party invite from a child who's parents were Barry and Paddy they certainly wouldn't be dropped off to that party and I bet it would not be alone with reservations.  Also if it is OK for two men to adopt I take it that extends to a man who has went under surgery and got a few breasts, so a transexual and a gay male partner could also adopt, seriously what sort of message is that sending to a young child, it is wrong and society should be ashamed and taken to task for allowing this to occur.

Your rage seems to be focused on gay men. Lesbians are ok by you, are they? ;D

And you should stop projecting your own prejudice and rage onto others. Besides,  even if one' s initial reaction were one of private disappointment,  most decent people (unless youre like Tony and it's really all about the affront to YOU) would (and do) accept it and support their child. Things have changed in recent years and there is much less need to be fearful for a gay child.

My remaining parent is past pension age, and never batted an eyelid when a gay friend officiated at myself and my wife's wedding. Even people raised in 40s- 60s Ireland aren't necessarily consumed with fear and loathing for homosexuality.

Thankfully society is leaving men such as yourself whose hang-up with gays extends to even stopping a kid going to a bloody birthday party behind.

topcuppla

So for all the parents who think homosexuality is a natural normal trait can I ask one question.  When teaching your child about the facts of life, do you also include homosexual teaching, or is this only something you address when you child "comes out" as it where. 

Quote from: topcuppla on May 04, 2015, 01:34:33 PM
So for all the parents who think homosexuality is a natural normal trait can I ask one question.  When teaching your child about the facts of life, do you also include homosexual teaching, or is this only something you address when you child "comes out" as it where.

We have gay friends who are married with whom our kids regularly interact. Even if we didn't,  we would still be teaching our kids that it's normal, just like different races, accents and right/left handedness.

Sidney

I say again anyone of the internet warriors here would shit a brick if their son / daughter told them they were gay, irrespective of what shite they spout here.  To say you would not be disappointed is a complete lie.  In primary school party invites come home most weeks and it appears all girls invite all girls and all boys invite all boys, I drop my youngest who is 5 off at a house or soft ball area and collect a few hours later.  If my youngest came home with a party invite from a child who's parents were Barry and Paddy they certainly wouldn't be dropped off to that party and I bet it would not be alone with reservations.  Also if it is OK for two men to adopt I take it that extends to a man who has went under surgery and got a few breasts, so a transexual and a gay male partner could also adopt, seriously what sort of message is that sending to a young child, it is wrong and society should be ashamed and taken to task for allowing this to occur.
That's a recipe for making your children mentally ill there if ever I saw one.