Started by lurganblue, January 23, 2020, 09:52:32 AM

Quote from: smelmoth on March 15, 2020, 07:52:22 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 15, 2020, 01:20:58 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on March 14, 2020, 09:10:03 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 14, 2020, 04:57:06 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on March 14, 2020, 04:48:35 PM
The Dutch have discovered an antibody that works apparently but it has to be properly tested and mass produced which will take the guts of a year, byt which time this pandemic will have run its course. Herd immunity will happen by that stage, that where 80% of the population will have got the virus and there bodies will have dealt with it and given them immunity from future infection. However that means there will be a lot more deaths to come Im afraid.

Sound. You might just tells what evidence there is to support this herd immunity theory and any real world examples where it worked before.
Does it not work for measles, mumps, Etc, as well as small pox in the past?
Herd immunity does not mean no one gets it, just that enough people are immune to stop it spreading rapidly.

Herd immunity is a thing in that it exists once 80-90% of the population have immunity and therefore there are less people through which the disease can be transmitted. The ones you mention though are artificially created by the use of vaccines. I'm not aware of any instances where this has naturally occurred without the intervention of vaccines; open to correction on that though

Off all the comments on herd immunity this is the closest to the truth. I don't the figure is 80-90%. Typically it's 60-70% but we don't yet know if CoVid19 is going to be typical.

There is no vaccine yet. There doesn't like there will be one for 18 months and we don't know yet if we will be entering the world of seasonal mutations, developing further new vaccines and revaccination.

We don't yet know what will work and without sounding wishing to sound alarmist every course of action looks risky.

At least we are not being told to wear face masks. It's not an airborne virus so unless you are trying to reduce the amount of your own face you touch with your own hand a face mask is as much good as a cotton bud in your left sock

I was using 80-90% based on what was previously reported during the measles outbreaks last year although maybe that's higher because measles is more contagious?

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2019/1205/1097125-measles-samoa/

This is a long read but it has some interesting /scary numbers based on what has happened to date in China and what we can expect:

https://medium.com/@tomaspueyo/coronavirus-act-today-or-people-will-die-f4d3d9cd99ca

Quote from: LeoMc on March 15, 2020, 09:22:33 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 15, 2020, 01:20:58 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on March 14, 2020, 09:10:03 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 14, 2020, 04:57:06 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on March 14, 2020, 04:48:35 PM
The Dutch have discovered an antibody that works apparently but it has to be properly tested and mass produced which will take the guts of a year, byt which time this pandemic will have run its course. Herd immunity will happen by that stage, that where 80% of the population will have got the virus and there bodies will have dealt with it and given them immunity from future infection. However that means there will be a lot more deaths to come Im afraid.

Sound. You might just tells what evidence there is to support this herd immunity theory and any real world examples where it worked before.
Does it not work for measles, mumps, Etc, as well as small pox in the past?
Herd immunity does not mean no one gets it, just that enough people are immune to stop it spreading rapidly.

Herd immunity is a thing in that it exists once 80-90% of the population have immunity and therefore there are less people through which the disease can be transmitted. The ones you mention though are artificially created by the use of vaccines. I'm not aware of any instances where this has naturally occurred without the intervention of vaccines; open to correction on that though
Good point. I was not differentiating between natural and induced. As there is no vaccine I should have been excluding induced immunity.

Is there such thing as natural herd immunity? Say smallpox, it was around for years but no herd immunity developed

Dubh driocht

The herd immunity theory is complex and partly based on conjecture. I think it would be useful if all of us on here could persuade people to avoid excessive drinking in public on St Patrick's day. While it may be a challenge, particularly for younger people,  the evidence for the risk of spreading the virus through close contact is clear and proven. All of us will know friends, relatives and club-mates who are planning to go on the lash on Tuesday. The most constructive thing we could do at this point is to minimise the risk and avoid crowds where close contact takes place.

The more you read from doctors and specialists from areas that have been hit badly ie northern Italy the More I cannot fathom why we are not all in favour of a lockdown, it will lessen the hit surely .

Dr Guaraldi said: "Initially people do not really understand the message. We closed the schools but still people were gathering with one another.

"We had to take extreme measures, for example now you cannot walk near another person, they stop you and tell you, you need to stay at home.

"We need to be clear, the only way to protect against the spread of the epidemic is stay at home and try not to meet other people.

We've put our parents on lockdown, no visitors trying at least to minimise things but we all had testing kits then we'd know where everyone stands

AFM

Full lockdown is no one visits, leave food and medication ar door, completely impossible for folk with acute issues.

Cristiano Ronaldo will turn his chain of hotels in Portugal into hospitals to treat people with underlying health conditions who have Coronavirus.

All of their treatment will be FREE as Cristiano himself will be paying for everything including the salaries of the doctors and nurses.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 15, 2020, 11:34:15 AM
Cristiano Ronaldo will turn his chain of hotels in Portugal into hospitals to treat people with underlying health conditions who have Coronavirus.

All of their treatment will be FREE as Cristiano himself will be paying for everything including the salaries of the doctors and nurses.
I think this has since been removed from the original site so presumably it's not true. Although I wouldn't have been surprised if it was.

Seems to be true he seems to have become a lot more dead on since he left the theatre of wankers fair play!!

As if things in the US couldn't become more farcical Trump has pulled something from Father Ted. . .

"Is there anything to be said for another mass??"

Trump declares Sunday a National Day of Prayer amid coronavirus crisis

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/trump-sunday-national-day-of-prayer

Quote from: screenexile on March 15, 2020, 11:37:03 AM

Seems to be true he seems to have become a lot more dead on since he left the theatre of wankers fair play!!

That comes with maturity, and will come for you ;)

Randox in Crumlin are producing these kits. No doubt making a tidy profit

6th sam

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 15, 2020, 11:53:23 AM
Randox in Crumlin are producing these kits. No doubt making a tidy profit

In the midst of this , it's a positive that an Irish company is at the coal face of technology trying to combat the virus

whitegoodman

If a country goes into lockdown what does this mean ?  All bars, restaurants and hotels will close but what other industries ?  Shops and chemists will stay open but they will need logistic companies to stay open to deliver supplies.  The logistic companies will need commercial premises to stay open to service and repair their vehicles.  Packaging companies will need to stay open to package the supplies going to the shops and chemists.  The whole supply chain in itself is huge.

If a chemist has a leak will the be able to ask a plumber to come and look at it ?  A joiner to fix a door ?

Where is the line drawn as to who does and doesn't go to work ?  I don't think its just a matter of shutting down the country.