How many players have your club lost in recent years due to recession?

Started by 3000 miles away, November 27, 2009, 08:25:54 PM

3000 miles away

Just give a brief insight into the players that have left your club and has it adversly affected your clubs chances of silverware in the last few years, and where seems to be the popular places for exiles to go?

We'll have one for a few months at least next year. Just when we got to a county final this year.  :(

Schkite

Lost none permanently so far thankfully, a few lads have went out to Oz over the last couple of years but all returned. Funny enough, it was the 90's when we had a big emigration problem, with a good few players leaving for America and Austrailia, most of which didn't return.

Quote from: Schkite on November 27, 2009, 10:12:54 PM
Lost none permanently so far thankfully, a few lads have went out to Oz over the last couple of years but all returned. Funny enough, it was the 90's when we had a big emigration problem, with a good few players leaving for America and Austrailia, most of which didn't return.

Would I be right in saying that youse lost 3/4 county players?

McShane and Rory Mone come to mind

Schkite

Quote from: thebandit on November 27, 2009, 10:48:30 PM
Quote from: Schkite on November 27, 2009, 10:12:54 PM

Would I be right in saying that youse lost 3/4 county players?

McShane and Rory Mone come to mind

Yeah the McShanes and Rory Mone would have been the biggest losses to us, young players with alot of promise, not only a loss to us but the county too. Then you had a good few who went off for a year or so, sometimes more, to Austrailia. Even in this decade theres the likes of Damien McKenna and Anthony Rooney who left. Rooney is only back this year after a few years away, and for the first time in a long while we've a full pick of players, who would still be in their prime. I suppose you don't know what will happen in time with the recession, but for the time being we're lucky in that respect.

None, half the feckers in our club never worked and woudn't do so in a fit :o

QuoteNone, half the feckers in our club never worked and woudn't do so in a fit

boojangles

2 to Boston,1 to New York,1 to Chile and another on the way. 4 of them would be big losses.