GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: phpearse on April 03, 2007, 10:00:01 AM

Title: Irish News Critised for Coverage of NI Soccer
Post by: phpearse on April 03, 2007, 10:00:01 AM
Good article in todays IN from Paddy Heaney. Apparently the IN received a bit of guff from the listeners of the Steven Nolan show about failing to dedicate front and back covers of the newspaper the day after the north beat Sweden in the soccer. The editor of the IN Noel Doran was asked to come on the radio to explain the papers scant coverage of the event, despite the papaer giving a full match report and mentioning the result on both front and back covers, the unionist powers at the BBC deemed the coverage unsatisfactory. The BBC then sent TV cameras around to the IN offices to get Noel Doran to explain his papers position.

I didn't know this had happened but again gives further proof to the attitudes at the BBC for the largest spectator sport in the island. Paddy Heaney makes a very valid point that why doesn't the BBC make representations to the New Letter who refuse to carry any Gaelic Games coverage and to the Telegraph who give scant regard to GAA. The IN does a very good job in covering a large spectrum of sports, but it's sports coverage is unasshamedly focused on GAA. It's a pity that the other papers, and in particular the News Letter, wouldn't at least attempt to acknowledge Gaelic Sports.
Title: Re: Irish News Critised for Coverage of NI Soccer
Post by: never kickt a ball on April 03, 2007, 10:08:04 AM
Can anyone post this article?
Post by: aontroim on April 03, 2007, 10:31:48 AM
Clearly not radio GAA GAA

THERE was shock, anger, bewilderment and revulsion on The Stephen Nolan Radio Show last Thursday – and that was just the people who make the programme. Having watched David (okay, one more time) HEEEEEEAAAAALLLLLY beat Sweden the previous night, Nolan and his team must have went to bed dreaming of the next day's headlines. It was going to be a day of wall-to-wall Norn Iron coverage. Bliss. And, by and large, it was. Most of the newspapers went large on the Windsor Park victory. In contrast, The Irish News didn't reflect the
giddy joy of its rival titles.
A front page blurb soberly informed readers that there was a 'Double success for Irish sides'. The main story was devoted to the bidding war for a house in north Belfast. The back page provided reaction to the Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland games, leading with the latter, and there was further coverage of both matches on the inside pages. In other words, an entire back page of soccer from a paper whose readers are far more interested in the GAA.
By and large, the paper provided a balanced package of the events in Dublin and Belfast. The sports desk certainly didn't receive any complaints. However, while The Irish News readership may have been satisfied with our coverage, the good folk at  The Stephen Nolan Show didn't share your contentment. Miffed at the paper's failure to clear the decks and worship King David and Lord Lawrie, they hauled editor Noel Doran onto the show and asked him to defend the paper's scandalous coverage. Mr Doran (as we call him) duly obliged. But the BBC still weren't happy. Later that day, Newsline sent a television crew to Donegall Street to question the editor on the same topic.
The disbelief in the BBC at this newspaper's treatment of the Northern Ireland game says more about the prevailing attitudes in Ormeau Avenue than it does about The Irish News. While quick to cast judgment on this paper's coverage of Northern Ireland, the BBC seems to have no problem with the News Letter's policy of providing no coverage of Gaelic Games whatsoever. As a point of information to Stevie Nolan and his team, Gaelic football
is the most popular spectator sport in the north by a country mile. Of course, you wouldn't detect this by reading The Belfast Telegraph, which normally keeps Gaelic Games confined to the inside pages. The powers-that-be at the
Telegraph have decided their market audience want to read about the Irish League (with many games struggling to attract 300 spectators) and therefore local soccer tends to take pride of place on the back page.
At this juncture, it should be stressed that the News Letter and Belfast Telegraph are entitled to dictate their editorial content as they see fit. Both newspapers have an audience and it's their prerogative to provide the coverage they feel meets their demands. The point being made is that by questioning the Irish News's coverage of the Northern Ireland game, The Stephen Nolan Show revealed a disparity of judgement. The message they sent out was that while The Irish News has a duty to report and celebrate the exploits of the Northern Ireland soccer
team, there is no equivalent onus on rival newspapers to cover Gaelic Games, despite its massive popularity.
Here's one small example which reveals the depth of interest in Gaelic Games. While approximately 13,000 fans attended last year's cup final between Linfield and Glentoran, almost double that figure were in Croke Park for the

LADIES' All-Ireland football final – and this was considered a poor turn-out. Over the years, when The Irish News marketing department has conducted readership surveys, the response has varied very little. With regard to sport, our readers want Gaelic football, Gaelic football and more Gaelic football. A few of them also like hurling, while Premiership soccer, Celtic, and boxing are also high on the list. Irish League soccer and the exploits of the Northern
Ireland team barely register on the scale. And yet, The Irish News continues to make a concerted effort to provide a comprehensive and broad-based coverage of all local sports. A reporter is sent to every meaningful Northern Ireland game and there are previews, reports and round-ups of the Irish League. The money and column inches
devoted to local soccer probably surpasses our readers' interest in it, but there is a belief that the paper has a wider responsibility, and part of this remit means all sports should be represented. Again, it must be stressed there is no obligation on any newspaper to provide cross-community sports coverage. If the News Letter wants to ignore Gaelic Games – fair enough.  And if the Belfast Telegraph want to keep the GAA largely confined to the inside pages – so be it. However, the BBC has a responsibility to provide balanced sports coverage which reflects the public interest – and this is a further reason why Noel Doran's appearance on The Stephen Nolan Show was so questionable.
Let's not forget. The Irish News had a reporter in Liechtenstein and carried reaction and reports from Windsor Park. But turn on your television and try and find the league tables for the National Football and Hurling Leagues on Ceefax. You'll find tables for the Irish League soccer and rugby's All-Ireland League, even soccer's Setanta Cup group
tables – but none for the competition which attracts much bigger crowds than either of the aforementioned competitions. BBC teletext also provides rapid score updates from ALL Irish League soccer games – but could not provide the same service for the Sigerson Cup final, which was held in Belfast and attracted an attendance of several thousand.
The Stephen Nolan Show might also consider comparing the radio and television coverage given by the BBC to Irish League soccer and that which it affords GAA matches at club, college and county level. And maybe if Stephen (a man who knows how to attract an audience) brings the subject of Gaelic Games onto his radio show, the volume of callers might make him understand where The Irish News is coming from.

Photo captions

■ KING DAVID: Northern Ireland's David Healy has been unstoppable for Lawrie Sanchez's men in their Euro 2008 qualifying campaign, scoring hat-tricks against Spain and Liechtenstein and hitting crucial goals against England and, most recently, Sweden

■ SPOT THE DIFFERENCE: Standing room only at a Fermanagh v Armagh game (right) – the same can't be said for this Linfield v Cliftonville clash (above)
Post by: illdecide on April 03, 2007, 10:41:35 AM
That article was well wrote and very true, the people buy the Irish News for their GAA coverage (mostly). That Steven Nolan is a fat fruit cake, somebody should question him about the time he bought a guy vodka and red bull all night in the M-Club in Belfast and then tried to take him home in a taxi. He then goes onto his show next morning like a saint. (fat we ****) and before yous ask it wasn't me but the guy he tried on with i worked with him, he reported it to one of the newspapers who have it on file if anyone else comes forward.
Post by: SlimShady on April 03, 2007, 10:42:53 AM
So illdecide, Stephen Nolan tried to slip you a length? you should have knocked his pan in.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 03, 2007, 10:43:08 AM
BBCNI = moronic cretins. No newspaper has anyone to answer to but its readers, i.e., as with every commercial enterprise it will live or die by its popularity, not by what some shower of self-appointed regulators determine it should print, just to suit their own narrow agenda.
Post by: Six Inch Nail on April 03, 2007, 10:45:02 AM
I just read the article.  Wouldn't pay any attention to Stephen Nolan, I didn't hear the program and therefore can't claim to know what Nolan's opinion was.  However I do know that he is a gobshite of the highest order.  Besides, only Paddy Heaney made us all aware of the issue today, all that would know about it would be Nolans 6 listeners (as far as I know 5 of these are family and 1 is in an asylum - for wanting to listen to his program).
Post by: dubnut on April 03, 2007, 10:47:46 AM
Why would they have an argument for the front page to be dedicated to the win?
Front page = news
back page = sport
Well for decent papers anyway
Post by: full back on April 03, 2007, 10:54:14 AM
As we all know the BBC are a shower of bigotted cnuts.
As for fat boy Nolan-fcuk off & stop sticking your nose where it isnt wanted (not the first time by all accounts)

illdecide-good on you for knocking back Nolan (if only he had bought you buckfast all night he would have had a chance-eh ;))
Post by: Deal_Me_In on April 03, 2007, 10:57:42 AM
Is the Nolan Show available anywhere online? Its typical of the attitude toward the GAA Community
Post by: behind the wire on April 03, 2007, 11:00:34 AM
dont think thats fair at all, IN will only report on things that are going to keep people reading their paper. i think the IN is one of the best all round sports papers, it carrys first class gaa reporting as well as decent rugby coverage, good boxing coverage as well as a very good section on junior soccer ie dunmurry league etc. just shows the bbc for what they are.
Post by: illdecide on April 03, 2007, 11:01:14 AM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 03, 2007, 10:42:53 AM
So illdecide, Stephen Nolan tried to slip you a length? you should have knocked his pan in.

Well lads at least i had a laugh there but i was never in the M-Club so that rules me out (to old for that shit). Guinness is my drink full back that Bucky is brutal, dunno how anyone can drink that shit.
Post by: Estimator on April 03, 2007, 11:02:19 AM
Done some research, slow day at the office  ;D

You can download daily podcasts from this address

http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/radioulster/stephen_nolan/
Post by: full back on April 03, 2007, 11:05:22 AM
Sorry illdecide, was taking you as a stereotypical Lurganite
But, what you are saying is IF you ran into fat boy Nolan & he bought you Guinness all night he would have a chance

Wonder can we crash the pr1cks site?
Post by: illdecide on April 03, 2007, 11:19:03 AM
Quote from: full back on April 03, 2007, 11:05:22 AM
But, what you are saying is IF you ran into fat boy Nolan & he bought you Guinness all night he would have a chance

Don't knock it to you try it. :D. As for the Lurganite (buckfast brigade) don't tar everyone with the same brush although i know where your coming from.

Thats actually a good idea, we should get onto his site and take the middle him. if everyone on the board posted on the BBC site for nolan that would keep them busy for a while ;)
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 03, 2007, 11:27:33 AM
Quote from: illdecide on April 03, 2007, 11:19:03 AM

Don't knock it to you try it. :D. As for the Lurganite (buckfast brigade) don't tar everyone with the same brush although i know where your coming from.

Thats actually a good idea, we should get onto his site and take the middle him. if everyone on the board posted on the BBC site for nolan that would keep them busy for a while ;)

He offered you his middle and you turned him down!! 2nd thoughts maybe ;D ;D 8) ;) ;)
Post by: illdecide on April 03, 2007, 11:37:32 AM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on April 03, 2007, 11:27:33 AM
Quote from: illdecide on April 03, 2007, 11:19:03 AM

He offered you his middle and you turned him down!! 2nd thoughts maybe ;D ;D 8) ;) ;)

:D :D :D. I see you changed your loggo Spirit, whats that about?
Post by: Donagh on April 03, 2007, 11:37:36 AM
I sent a text to his show the same morning (before Curran was on) saying something to the effect of there being two international soccer teams supported in the north. They rang back within seconds looking me on the show though it was obvious from the questions the researcher was asking that they were trying to goad me into running down the north's win. I declined their request to go on the air but not before I got to inform him that far from being "the biggest show in the country" they are running a poor second to D'Arcy on TodayFM.
Post by: illdecide on April 03, 2007, 12:35:32 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 03, 2007, 11:37:36 AM
I sent a text to his show the same morning (before Curran was on) saying something to the effect of there being two international soccer teams supported in the north. They rang back within seconds looking me on the show though it was obvious from the questions the researcher was asking that they were trying to goad me into running down the north's win. I declined their request to go on the air but not before I got to inform him that far from being "the biggest show in the country" they are running a poor second to D'Arcy on TodayFM.

Same here chief, i just e-mailed them there telling them to read todays Irish News and they e-mailed back in minutes looking my number. them F*****s get you on there they cut you to ribbons. I declined, havent the bottle for that.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 03, 2007, 01:11:31 PM
Sure what about UTV don't even provide a text results service for GAA......!!!!  >:(
Post by: nrico2006 on April 03, 2007, 02:46:36 PM
QuoteI didn't know this had happened but again gives further proof to the attitudes at the BBC for the largest spectator sport in the island. Paddy Heaney makes a very valid point that why doesn't the BBC make representations to the New Letter who refuse to carry any Gaelic Games coverage and to the Telegraph who give scant regard to GAA. The IN does a very good job in covering a large spectrum of sports, but it's sports coverage is unasshamedly focused on GAA. It's a pity that the other papers, and in particular the News Letter, wouldn't at least attempt to acknowledge Gaelic Sports.

Very good point on News Letter.  And as DubNut said, decent papers dont carry sport headlines on the front page, unless you maybe win the world cup.  As for the actual northern ireland thing, lets put this in perspective.  The Republic also won last week, and the irish news didnt have anything on the front with regards to them, why - because its only a win in a qualifier.  Whahhh wheee, Northern Ireland beat the might of Sweden in a qualifying group match (Ireland beat them about 3-0 last year) and didnt carry any front page headlines.  Ireland are used to winning matches and its put in perspective by being put to the back page where it should be, and just because Northern Ireland win a few should this change.  As mentioned, the irish news gives good coverage on soccer, gaa and any other major stories in the general sport world.  I didnt see the Newsletter carrying a front page headline of 'Republic defeat Slovakia', and there was no crying about that.  f**king sickening thats what it is!  Nearly as annoying as (on completely irrelevant subject) the british press and their slabbering about ireland having 3 players in the cricket team not born here, yet they seem to omit the fact that pieterson is south african, dalrymple is scottish, andrew strauss isnt english and then their opening batsman is f**king Irish!
Post by: drumanee on April 03, 2007, 05:19:41 PM
just read on the derry thread that the coleraine football team were given a civic reception for reaching the all ireland final and were met with loyalists shouting abuse and only one member of the council bothered to turn up,just wonder will this feature on that fat ba*ta*d nolan show
Post by: ExiledGael on April 03, 2007, 05:48:01 PM
Mayor condemns team picketing

Loyalists who picketed a civic reception for a Gaelic Athletics Association team have been condemned.
Flag waving protesters blocked the front doors of Coleraine Borough Council offices on Monday night.
The event was held to honour the Owen Roe club who made it through to the final of the All-Ireland Intermediate Club Championship.
The Ulster Unionist mayor of the town, William King, said such actions should be left in the past.
"We were hosting a civic reception for Owen Roe on their tremendous success and we're talking about sport here," he said.
"I think for 15 protesters to turn up and stand in front of the main door of the council building and to have to bring the young team in through a side exit was certainly very, very disappointing."

The fat **** probably will bring this up on his show, it would be an ideal way to worm out of their sectarian position!
The BBC attitude to Gaelic games is a f**king disgrace and has been for years, but to stoop to criticising independant newspapers for their content is a new low, both laughable and disgusting!!!
Post by: ziggysego on April 03, 2007, 11:06:32 PM
The way I see it is, let whoever wants to huff and puff all they like. Why should I let if affect my way of going about things. In an ideal world, sure it would be different, but the North is far from being an ideal world.
Post by: winsamsoon on April 04, 2007, 12:23:44 AM
One thing that all you guys have overlooked is the fact that The Nolan show will end up winning. Why? because it will get more media attention and ultimately anyone of us who can find a radio tommorrow will be chomping at the bit to hear what is said. I'll decide if you and big stevie aka vaselino Nolan want to get it on then i am sure the Irish news would have a page just waiting for this story. I never listened to the show either but you can hardly blame the fat one unless it was actually him who brought the point up. It is the source whom we need to seek out.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 04, 2007, 10:07:40 AM
Quote from: ExiledGael on April 03, 2007, 05:48:01 PM

Loyalists who picketed a civic reception for a Gaelic Athletics Association team have been condemned.
Flag waving protesters blocked the front doors of Coleraine Borough Council offices on Monday night.
The event was held to honour the Owen Roe club who made it through to the final of the All-Ireland Intermediate Club Championship.
The Ulster Unionist mayor of the town, William King, said such actions should be left in the past.
"We were hosting a civic reception for Owen Roe on their tremendous success and we're talking about sport here," he said.
"I think for 15 protesters to turn up and stand in front of the main door of the council building and to have to bring the young team in through a side exit was certainly very, very disappointing."

I read this report yesterday, absolute disgrace, how many local politicans turned up????
Anyone on the board at this event - with first hand info???
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 10:38:23 AM
Quote from: winsamsoon on April 04, 2007, 12:23:44 AM
big stevie aka vaselino Nolan

It'd take some amount of vaseline....
Post by: doodaa on April 04, 2007, 02:00:57 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 04, 2007, 10:07:40 AM

I read this report yesterday, absolute disgrace, how many local politicans turned up????
Anyone on the board at this event - with first hand info???

2 local politicians, thats coming from one of the players at it, i never made it down from belfast.
Food was supposed to be good though.... ;D
Post by: winsamsoon on April 04, 2007, 02:19:51 PM
Lads i see it has worked already. Popularity has soared in the las 2 days and big stevie vaselino Nolan s now got himself back on tv tonight at 10:40, so we can all text in or if you are really outragious phone and get across you point of view.
Post by: illdecide on April 04, 2007, 04:37:49 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on April 04, 2007, 02:19:51 PM
Lads i see it has worked already. Popularity has soared in the las 2 days and big stevie vaselino Nolan s now got himself back on tv tonight at 10:40, so we can all text in or if you are really outragious phone and get across you point of view.

Winsamsoon you are either a barrister or fat hole himself (Nolan) in disguise. ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on April 04, 2007, 05:01:44 PM

"The BBC then sent TV cameras around to the IN offices to get Noel Doran to explain his papers position."

If they'd be as quick to send camera's to a game it would be more in their line.
   f**king bigoted scumbags >:(
Post by: deiseach on April 04, 2007, 05:49:04 PM

Just thought I'd take time out to applaud the mayor. We don't give The Other enough credit for this kind of gesture.
Post by: Elias on April 04, 2007, 07:48:22 PM
The chubby one is on the box at 10:40 bbc1, wonder if this issue will be discussed. Fair play to the Irish News and Paddy Heaney, every point spot on. How hyprotical of the bbc to even have an opinion on the issue.

Just wish I'd got the balls to go and speak my mind on the box  :(
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 04, 2007, 07:56:11 PM
Quote from: deiseach on April 04, 2007, 05:49:04 PM

Just thought I'd take time out to applaud the mayor. We don't give The Other enough credit for this kind of gesture.

Agreed, let's acknowledge the positives when they occur, good words from William King.
Post by: theskull1 on April 04, 2007, 10:50:03 PM
jesus he a stirrin' big cnut
Post by: tyroneboi on April 04, 2007, 11:03:08 PM
f**k that nolan must the most annoying man on the box!! a hateful wee b**tard!!
Post by: never kickt a ball on April 05, 2007, 12:35:04 AM
Did you not notice the studio was half empty. He can't even get an audience for his TV programme!!!! Never mind his rantings on Radio Belfast. If I hear once more about heavy traffic at Sandyknowes Roundabout in the morning. Who gives a dam whether Sandy knowes or not :D

As an aside. Apparently Nolan is to tackle Gaelic Life next for its poor reporting on the cricket world cup and blatant bias towards gaelic games.
Post by: winsamsoon on April 05, 2007, 09:42:49 AM
The mayor said " It was very very dissapointing" jesus christ you would say that about a bad film you went to see or something. I would give him absolutely no credit for that, that is him trying to portray a sympathetic view to our side, for the media. What he should have said was that this was an absolute disgrace, a blatant show of bigotry and hatred towards the nationalist community. If he said this i would give him praise and not until then. So you could say i am very very dissapointed in the mayor.
Post by: realredhandfan on April 05, 2007, 09:46:50 AM
Babysteps alads, ffs get off your high horses on everything.  The thugs outside where at fault and the guys who didnt turn up voted with their feet too, so lets hope their voters vote with their feet. 
Post by: winsamsoon on April 05, 2007, 03:13:25 PM
"Voting with their feet". What is it the christy brown election?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 07, 2007, 07:57:43 PM
Went onto BBC regional text today and every page on the sport section bar one was devoted to GAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!   :o

Making a point I wonder?
Post by: ziggysego on April 07, 2007, 08:01:09 PM
Ceefax is terrible for GAA news, however the digital version is even worst. An individual game for each local soccer game, but no reference to the GAA at all.