GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Junior B on October 03, 2018, 12:13:05 PM

Title: Soccer in GAA grounds ?
Post by: Junior B on October 03, 2018, 12:13:05 PM
Hi. I log on regularly to see whats going on but new to the board as a member and had a query on the following.

Am a lifelong member of our local GAA club which is in a rural area. Our club has mushroomed in recent years and are lucky to have high playing numbers.  When you include juvenile camogie and two ladies football teams we have about 22 teams across the club. The club is the heartbeat of the community and like many other clubs there is terrific work going on in developing and promoting the games with all ages.  We recently acquired extra land to develop our facilities over the coming years. On the strenght of a pro active committee and club lotto we were able to pay for this land up front. We have drawings complete and ready to go to tender in the coming weeks  to install a full sized additional pitch with a walking track which will be of great benefit to all within our community. We hope to commence works in Feb 2019 and again we are lucky to have the guts of 110k to hand (club lotto savings and part sports captial grant which we sucessfully got last year) to pay for this job. We have not knocked on doors or ran any major fundraisers to raise all this money. We have always balanced the books year on year while maintaining our high standard of developing our individual players, teams and club as a whole.

The local National School is located beside the GAA grounds and has daily and unlimited use of the grounds (as it should). The school had a large fundraiser a number of months ago and is now applying for a grant also. The intention is to do a joint application with the GAA club and if we are lucky put in a wall ball with a astro area which will benefit all. School kids, club etc...

A major stumbling block at the moment is the request from two local soccer clubs to use the facility for training purposes for x amount of hours per week and i presume to hold organised juvenile soccer games.

There is a couple of things to bear in mind. This is not a community field. The facility will be within GAA grounds. The land is owned by the GAA. Soccer is changing to run its competitions in line with GAA calander.

There has been numerous meetings about this. All agree and want an astro area (with ball wall) which will benefit the kids and club as a whole. Alot don't want soccer in GAA grounds as there is a fear that long term it will have an impact on the GAA Club. Some cant understand what it cannot be sanctioned.

The GAA club has sought advise from Croke Park and Provincial level and they are advising against.

In a nutshell do any of ye know of any GAA Clubs who have soccer using their facilities orhave clubs opened up their doors before that have had a negative experience. Is this a non runner? Can it be done etc?

All feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.
Title: Re: Soccer in GAA grounds ?
Post by: Itchy on October 03, 2018, 12:17:56 PM
Tell them to feck off and get their own pitch or charge them rent. Too many soccer clubs in this country think they should get grounds for free.
Post by: Tatler Jack on October 03, 2018, 12:28:14 PM
Soccer clubs are well versed in portraying GAA in negative terms and using moral blackmail to get their way. Local media will usually lend them a hand.

Only rent it to them if it does not interfere with your own training and games, charge a proper rent with payment up front. 
Post by: johnnycool on October 03, 2018, 12:46:10 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on October 03, 2018, 12:28:14 PM
Soccer clubs are well versed in portraying GAA in negative terms and using moral blackmail to get their way. Local media will usually lend them a hand.

Only rent it to them if it does not interfere with your own training and games, charge a proper rent with payment up front.

As above, but they need to provide their own public liability and as your club are the ones making the massive outlay with the club ensure that the rental fee is worth the hassle.
Post by: five points on October 03, 2018, 12:49:04 PM
Quote from: Junior B on October 03, 2018, 12:13:05 PM
In a nutshell do any of ye know of any GAA Clubs who have soccer using their facilities orhave clubs opened up their doors before that have had a negative experience. Is this a non runner? Can it be done etc?

Don't under any circumstances rent it to them. If you do, Croke Park could fine your club for breaching GAA rules. All it takes is one complaint to them.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2018, 12:53:44 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 03, 2018, 12:17:56 PM
Tell them to feck off and get their own pitch or charge them rent. Too many soccer clubs in this country think they should get grounds for free.

The local GAA club where I'm from regularly use the local soccer clubs all weather pitches for training.

Too many people always quick to have a go at soccer clubs.
Post by: Ty4Sam on October 03, 2018, 12:54:18 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 03, 2018, 12:46:10 PM

As above, but they need to provide their own public liability and as your club are the ones making the massive outlay with the club ensure that the rental fee is worth the hassle.

Willis Insurance still won't agree to it and the club will be expected to pay out of their pocket if anyone claims. There has been recent cases where claims have been made against GAA clubs regardless if another company or club has public liability ie. a bouncy castle company. See attached whereby a Longford club were fined for allowing soccer on their grounds. I'd recommend that this is a massive no-no.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/more-hypocrisy-from-the-gaa-as-longford-club-is-fined-for-hosting-jamie-carragher-soccer-school-62893
Post by: thebackbar1 on October 03, 2018, 01:09:21 PM
Quote from: Ty4Sam on October 03, 2018, 12:54:18 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 03, 2018, 12:46:10 PM

Willis Insurance still won't agree to it and the club will be expected to pay out of their pocket if anyone claims. There has been recent cases where claims have been made against GAA clubs regardless if another company or club has public liability ie. a bouncy castle company. See attached whereby a Longford club were fined for allowing soccer on their grounds. I'd recommend that this is a massive no-no.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/more-hypocrisy-from-the-gaa-as-longford-club-is-fined-for-hosting-jamie-carragher-soccer-school-62893
It's against the rules of the gaa full stop, from my reading of the situation is that you want to give a commitment that the soccer club can use the facility, you can't do this as hq can prevent you from doing this, now hq may never take an interest in this but you could be unlucky. Also you need sound legal advice re insurance
Post by: LooseCannon on October 03, 2018, 01:16:12 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 03, 2018, 12:53:44 PM

The local GAA club where I'm from regularly use the local soccer clubs all weather pitches for training.

Because most soccer clubs tend to have massive c***ts in influential positions.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2018, 01:24:39 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on October 03, 2018, 01:16:12 PM

At a local level? Really? Cop on to yourself.
Post by: Itchy on October 03, 2018, 01:35:14 PM

For Free? I doubt it.
Post by: LooseCannon on October 03, 2018, 01:39:53 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 03, 2018, 01:24:39 PM

Yeah, there's a fair amount of them. In saying that there are some that are the finest.
Post by: delgany on October 03, 2018, 01:54:05 PM
GAA grounds are wholly vested in gaa. Therefore you could not have a soccer pitch on grounds .  Could the soccer pitch not be accommodated in a stand alone  community facility devested  from gaa   with all organisation in community using it .. may mean separate access points etc.   
Post by: screenexile on October 03, 2018, 02:07:30 PM
Quote from: delgany on October 03, 2018, 01:54:05 PM
GAA grounds are wholly vested in gaa. Therefore you could not have a soccer pitch on grounds .  Could the soccer pitch not be accommodated in a stand alone  community facility devested  from gaa   with all organisation in community using it .. may mean separate access points etc.

That's the only way to get around it I think . . . create some kind of community association and let the Soccer and GAA lease off them or whatever would be my understanding of it.

Otherwise it's a complete minefield!
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2018, 02:27:29 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on October 03, 2018, 01:39:53 PM

Yeah, there's a fair amount of them. In saying that there are some that are the finest.
So now what you are saying is there is good and bad involved in soccer clubs.
So basically the same as every club and organisation up and down the country, be that soccer GAA, Basketball or fecking Tiddlywinks.

Like I said cop on to yourself.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 03, 2018, 02:33:36 PM
Why some serious worrying attitudes on this thread.

Once you take a cent of government funding you should not be allowed discriminate against another sporting organisation.
Post by: LooseCannon on October 03, 2018, 02:41:39 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 03, 2018, 02:27:29 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on October 03, 2018, 01:39:53 PM

So now what you are saying is there is good and bad involved in soccer clubs.
So basically the same as every club and organisation up and down the country, be that soccer GAA, Basketball or fecking Tiddlywinks.

Like I said cop on to yourself.

Calm down, I was only trying to wind someone up. Unfortunately, you caught the bait.😁😁
Post by: Itchy on October 03, 2018, 03:28:34 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 03, 2018, 02:33:36 PM

Once you take a cent of government funding you should not be allowed discriminate against another sporting organisation.

What a  load of absolute horse shite
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 03, 2018, 03:41:51 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 03, 2018, 03:28:34 PM

Please explain why?
Post by: Kickham csc on October 03, 2018, 03:51:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 03, 2018, 03:41:51 PM

Please explain why?
Because GAA people pay Taxes, the GAA pays Taxes and are entitled to use public funding it a funding program is available and they qualify based on the applications merits.

Otherwise, the previous case with Shamrock Rovers and Tomas Davis should have resulted in a ground share
Post by: five points on October 03, 2018, 04:26:08 PM

Okay let's play that U14 hurling blitz on a racecourse. If they don't let us in, they're discriminating.  ::)
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on October 03, 2018, 05:53:33 PM
Where does it say the soccer clubs want free use? If they see an astro go in, they are perfectly entitled to look to rent. And the GAA club are entitled to say no. However I believe it should be up to tbe club, especially if they have a debt to pay.

And soccer is moving to summer football mirroring the LoI. The GAA did not factor in the decision.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on October 03, 2018, 05:54:30 PM
Quote from: five points on October 03, 2018, 04:26:08 PM

Okay let's play that U14 hurling blitz on a racecourse. If they don't let us in, they're discriminating.  ::)
Racing Ireland dont have a rule banning hurling though, do they?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on October 03, 2018, 05:58:04 PM
Out of interest, assuming the joint venture with the school happens,  and best of luck, what will hapoen if they decide to play soccer or rugby on it during PE?
Post by: Itchy on October 03, 2018, 06:31:52 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 03, 2018, 03:41:51 PM

Please explain why?

If you got a government grant to install some solar panels, I'm not entitled to have a shower in your house.

I think GAA clubs should be allowed decide for themselves who can and cannot play on their grounds. No one, including HQ, should be telling them otherwise. However if a club in one code is allowing another play on their pitch they should be charging rent and making sure other code knows their position on insurance
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on October 04, 2018, 10:25:27 AM
We recently acquired extra land to develop our facilities over the coming years. On the strenght of a pro active committee and club lotto we were able to pay for this land up front. We have drawings complete and ready to go to tender in the coming weeks  to install a full sized additional pitch with a walking track which will be of great benefit to all within our community.

The local National School is located beside the GAA grounds and has daily and unlimited use of the grounds (as it should). The school had a large fundraiser a number of months ago and is now applying for a grant also. The intention is to do a joint application with the GAA club and if we are lucky put in a wall ball with a astro area which will benefit all. School kids, club etc...

A major stumbling block at the moment is the request from two local soccer clubs to use the facility for training purposes for x amount of hours per week and i presume to hold organised juvenile soccer games.

There is a couple of things to bear in mind. This is not a community field. The facility will be within GAA grounds. The land is owned by the GAA. Soccer is changing to run its competitions in line with GAA calander.

Just so I'm clear in my understanding:

(1) The additional pitch, astro area, walking track (wholly club funded)
are separate from
(2) The ball wall and another astro area (the application with the school)
?
But the land for both developments are wholly owned by the club?

If you don't need the money, my initial inclination would be to tell the soccer bunch to fk off - it keeps it simple, clear and would reduce/stop drain of players away to soccer.

But if you did need the income, then setting up a non-profit holding company (whose directors are the club committee) which has a long term lease on the land for development 2 and pays the club rent would probably allow you to rent the ground out to whomever without stepping on HQ's toes. (But I'm not a lawyer.)
Post by: trailer on October 04, 2018, 10:52:37 AM
Soccer always with the hand out. Sponging off the hard work of others. Makes you wonder who are the professionals and who are the amateurs.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on October 04, 2018, 11:09:22 AM
Quote from: trailer on October 04, 2018, 10:52:37 AM
Soccer always with the hand out. Sponging off the hard work of others. Makes you wonder who are the professionals and who are the amateurs.
Asking to rent a pitch is not sponging. Its asking to rent a pitch
Post by: general_lee on October 04, 2018, 12:37:01 PM
I don't see the big deal. Presuming the soccer club is part of the same community? Presuming kids from the school are members of both gaa and soccer clubs? I know of clubs who allow the use of their facilities to other sporting organisations and guess what the world didn't end, their club didn't fold and they have a nice wee revenue earner on the back of it
Post by: five points on October 04, 2018, 01:05:02 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on October 03, 2018, 05:54:30 PM
Racing Ireland dont have a rule banning hurling though, do they?

Look to play on their track and you'll soon find they do.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on October 04, 2018, 01:38:56 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on October 04, 2018, 10:25:27 AM
We recently acquired extra land to develop our facilities over the coming years. On the strenght of a pro active committee and club lotto we were able to pay for this land up front. We have drawings complete and ready to go to tender in the coming weeks  to install a full sized additional pitch with a walking track which will be of great benefit to all within our community.

Just so I'm clear in my understanding:

(1) The additional pitch, astro area, walking track (wholly club funded)
are separate from
(2) The ball wall and another astro area (the application with the school)
?
But the land for both developments are wholly owned by the club?

If you don't need the money, my initial inclination would be to tell the soccer bunch to fk off - it keeps it simple, clear and would reduce/stop drain of players away to soccer.

But if you did need the income, then setting up a non-profit holding company (whose directors are the club committee) which has a long term lease on the land for development 2 and pays the club rent would probably allow you to rent the ground out to whomever without stepping on HQ's toes. (But I'm not a lawyer.)

This is exactly right. Another way to approach this, especially when applying for government grants who have no interest in giving money to the GAA solely, is to develop an official community group. Chairperson,committee, meetings, and official entity.

To gain maximum exposure to grant aid, set up that the GAA club lease said land to the community group for an agreed number of years. This then allows the use of Gaelic grounds for other sports and allows the club to benefit from grants and rental income. All to the betterment of the community.

Hope this is of some help.
Post by: Junior B on October 04, 2018, 03:25:29 PM
Many thanks for the replies. It really is a minefield. To be clear and more to the point, when we go to commence works on our new full sized playing pitch and walking track we will be doing so loan free and as mentioned have 110k to hand to fun the cost of the next stage of the project which will come in around 160k (club lotto over the year will more or less pay for it so we will be in a very healthy position. The club all along were hoping to go down the route of a ball wall with a Astro area off it for drills etc. Aside from that a new club house and parking area over the following years would be what we have in mind.

An Astro committee was set up by other members of the community years ago to raise funds to put in a Astro some where in the community. They have raised funds over the years and held other fundraisers without no home for this Astro. Sites here and there did not work out. Hence there joint approach to the Gaa club. Naturally there is a lot who feel our hand is forced as the words 'kids, community and what harm have been bandied about at several meetings now.

What is being proposed is that the school and gaa club apply for the extra funding together. The land is in the gaa club grounds is their grounds and situated alongside the local school. Basically Get it done and allow the  soccer club  use it for x hours for training.

It has been a draining process so far. Soccer moving to summer hours is a big one for me. A small number of players could be lost to Gaa. Soccer going on in Gaa grounds while Gaa games are taking place and soccer training being put on before or after juvenile training which might leave the window open to allow some kids just go to one. We are being told that they will have insurance in place, but is this enough?

Any clubs currently doing this.

Post by: thebackbar1 on October 04, 2018, 03:43:25 PM
It feels like you have to go down the route of leasing the land for the astro to a community group otherwise you run the risk of taking the money raised for the astro and at a future date not be able to honour your commitment to let soccer use it.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on October 04, 2018, 05:32:56 PM
Quote from: Junior B on October 04, 2018, 03:25:29 PM
Many thanks for the replies. It really is a minefield. To be clear and more to the point, when we go to commence works on our new full sized playing pitch and walking track we will be doing so loan free and as mentioned have 110k to hand to fun the cost of the next stage of the project which will come in around 160k (club lotto over the year will more or less pay for it so we will be in a very healthy position. The club all along were hoping to go down the route of a ball wall with a Astro area off it for drills etc. Aside from that a new club house and parking area over the following years would be what we have in mind.

An Astro committee was set up by other members of the community years ago to raise funds to put in a Astro some where in the community. They have raised funds over the years and held other fundraisers without no home for this Astro. Sites here and there did not work out. Hence there joint approach to the Gaa club. Naturally there is a lot who feel our hand is forced as the words 'kids, community and what harm have been bandied about at several meetings now.

What is being proposed is that the school and gaa club apply for the extra funding together. The land is in the gaa club grounds is their grounds and situated alongside the local school. Basically Get it done and allow the  soccer club  use it for x hours for training.

It has been a draining process so far. Soccer moving to summer hours is a big one for me. A small number of players could be lost to Gaa. Soccer going on in Gaa grounds while Gaa games are taking place and soccer training being put on before or after juvenile training which might leave the window open to allow some kids just go to one. We are being told that they will have insurance in place, but is this enough?

Any clubs currently doing this.

Hold up. Regardless of where they train, they train. If anything training wont overlap if you rent to them.

The above is less clear. Is the pitch going on gaa or school land?
Post by: Junior B on October 04, 2018, 08:57:35 PM
The proposed Astro area will be going on Gaa ground within the club grounds(about 30 yards from the school gate). Club only every intended putting in a ball wall with an Astro area off the wall etc. school and Astro committee have about 50k. Proposing school and Gaa jointly apply for grant to fund a bigger one but only on the condition that local soccer team uses it.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on October 05, 2018, 10:53:34 AM
Quote from: Junior B on October 04, 2018, 08:57:35 PMProposing school and Gaa jointly apply for grant to fund a bigger one but only on the condition that local soccer team uses it.

?

Condition of who? The grant authority?
Post by: Junior B on October 05, 2018, 11:18:49 AM
School and this Astro committee have x amount. They are offering us the opportunity to apply for a grant jointly (school and Gaa) to use they funds along with grant money if lucky to put in wall ball and Astro return area which we would have hoped to do anyway. Before the application is processed agreement has to be reached on letting soccer club use it for training. (If not they will look at alternatives) Gaa club within the community will look bad etc. What might start as an hour or two per week could lead to free reign if there is a change of officers etc in future years.
Post by: thebackbar1 on October 05, 2018, 01:22:53 PM
You need to explain to the local community that this is not a decision it can make, its croke Park that is dictating who can use the facility. I presume the local club is against the idea of renting the land to a community group that would develop the facilities?
Post by: Itchy on October 05, 2018, 01:37:35 PM
Lad, I think you are in a load of dodgy territory here. Firstly if you are talking sports capital grant I dont think you can apply as a joint group. The people who own the land or have a long term lease on the property may only apply. Second as already pointed out, one call from anyone to croke park and your club will be in bother for breaking GAA rules. If I were you I would consider the following...

- Set up a community group, with rules that say a GAA, Soccer and whoever must be on board
- Sell land or long term lease land, owned by the GAA, to the community group
- Community group apply for a grant - GAA club can donate money if they want to this.
- Build your astro facility, everyone who uses it pays rent to the community group. Community obviously is just there to cover costs.

Everyone is happy this way.

I think if you go ahead the way you are thinking you will end up knee deep in some serious shit down the line
Post by: five points on October 05, 2018, 02:15:22 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 05, 2018, 01:37:35 PM

Won't work. Any land sale by a club requires County Board and Croke Park approval, in writing.  Otherwise there'd be all sorts of skulduggery going on to enrich individuals.
Post by: Itchy on October 05, 2018, 03:04:13 PM
Long term lease then?
Post by: five points on October 05, 2018, 03:08:30 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 05, 2018, 03:04:13 PM
Long term lease then?
Dunno, but I'd guess they've that covered too as you can do the divil and all with 999 year leases and the likes.
Post by: thebackbar1 on October 05, 2018, 06:35:03 PM
Quote from: five points on October 05, 2018, 02:15:22 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 05, 2018, 01:37:35 PM

Won't work. Any land sale by a club requires County Board and Croke Park approval, in writing.  Otherwise there'd be all sorts of skulduggery going on to enrich individuals.
If the club haven't adopted the gaa constitution this may not be the case.
Post by: Junior B on October 08, 2018, 02:58:28 PM
Have explored this a good bit and as expected am struggling to find a Gaa club that are allowing a local soccer club use there grounds (Astro) to train, play and promote they sport. Meeting on this again tomorrow night. If anybody know any different please let me know here. Thanks for all the replies to date.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on October 08, 2018, 05:19:48 PM
Quote from: Junior B on October 08, 2018, 02:58:28 PM
Have explored this a good bit and as expected am struggling to find a Gaa club that are allowing a local soccer club use there grounds (Astro) to train, play and promote they sport. Meeting on this again tomorrow night. If anybody know any different please let me know here. Thanks for all the replies to date.
Of course you are, the rules forbid it. It happens, but happens on the down low.
Post by: Itchy on October 08, 2018, 05:48:25 PM
You'd be taking an awful risk doing what you planned. I also think strong possibility sports capital grant people, knowing GAA rules, would not offer you funding.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 08, 2018, 06:22:18 PM
GAA rules won't allow soccer on your grounds. If I had my way that rule would be relaxed so GAA clubs could rent out to soccer if they have availability. The soccer people are going to play their game anyway, we might as well make a bit of money from it instead of having idle field time.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2018, 08:17:14 PM
They should have it stand alone and it should be for the community to use for whatever sports that can be done on a pitch site, hockey, basketball, hurling, football soccer and rugby..

if the club is well organised then they won't lose too many kids to the other sports, plus it's better having transferable skills from other sports which actually benefit the GAA teams

There is a council run 4g pitch in Belfast which has a soccer game on it at 2pm every Saturday and Gaelic games before it and afterwards.. so is it ok for GAA to rent a pitch that is used regularly for soccer?

Post by: armaghniac on October 08, 2018, 09:17:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2018, 08:17:14 PM
There is a council run 4g pitch in Belfast which has a soccer game on it at 2pm every Saturday and Gaelic games before it and afterwards.. so is it ok for GAA to rent a pitch that is used regularly for soccer?

It is appropriate for a council to provide a pitch for different sports. Arguably the GAA should only be promoting GAA.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2018, 09:21:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 08, 2018, 09:17:42 PM

It is appropriate for a council to provide a pitch for different sports. Arguably the GAA should only be promoting GAA.

I didn't say it wasn't, my point is, if it's ok to play GAA games on a 'soccer' pitch then....
Post by: Itchy on October 08, 2018, 09:56:11 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2018, 09:21:39 PM

I didn't say it wasn't, my point is, if it's ok to play GAA games on a 'soccer' pitch then....

It's irrelevant. The OP is saying he has GAA grounds and whether we like it or not rules are there. Best they could do is lease the ground to a community group who in turn put the astro in place and rent to whoever but even then that might not be allowed.
Post by: spuds on October 08, 2018, 10:06:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2018, 09:21:39 PM

This may be a bit too complicated for you  ;D.
Post by: five points on October 09, 2018, 10:02:18 AM
You might be better thanked doing nothing. This geezer's local club did nothing wrong and he's left them with High Court costs to pay.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-who-sued-over-injury-he-suffered-on-gaa-astroturf-pitch-withdraws-his-claim-37388882.html
Post by: rosnarun on October 09, 2018, 12:03:07 PM
are the Soccer club/ Authorities willing or able to put any money into this or are they more usual bunch of freeloader utd .s soccer club?
if you have 22 teams and are joined in the school  then you should be well entitled to Grants on your own steam  and allowing other clubs to use it would cause severe over usage problem and shorten the life of the facilities.
in tullamore there was a proposal to build new community pitches every sport was approached  only camogie GAA and LGFA  were willing to support them when Actual fundraising and actual money was raised.
Post by: Junior B on October 14, 2018, 02:56:08 AM
Just to update you all. The Gaa club had letters from Crowe park and
provincial level stating that we would be breaking rules if allowing soccer
on this Astro. We had similiar correspondence from Willis Inaurance and a long
list of examples of club who suffered claims etc. It was agreed by all to go ahead with the joint application between school and Gaa club to apply for a grant jointly. The Astro committee have
accepted that soccer can't be played but have agreed to donate the funds that they raised to erect
a wall ball an Astro which will be enjoyed by all school kids and Gaa teams. it is a huge relief to move this on and to eventually get their support.
Post by: thebackbar1 on November 27, 2018, 01:55:22 PM
how are the connacht council circumventing the rules on allowing other sports ? http://connachtgaa.ie/news/connacht-gaa-granted-e2-1-million-development-new-state-art-indoor-facility/