20 Questions

Started by Northside Dub, December 01, 2006, 02:37:53 PM

Cloc Mor

QuoteAbbey Grammer's Hogan Cup win

You obviously weren't there very long or it didn't do you much good - can't even spell the name of the school properly. ;)

bottlethrower7

Quote8. Dublin Hurling, IS there hope? *question for dubs

Did someone from reservoir dubs really ask that? I'm surprised any of them even know that theres hurling in Dublin.

1. Why your user name
County colours and first name

2. Favourite all time game
Sligo SFC final 2005, 18/9/06. Not great football but it just meant so much.

3. Favourite all time player from your county
Eamonn O'Hara. Predictable I suppose but some of the stuff he's done in a Sligo shirt defies belief.

4. Favourite other poster on gaaboard.com.
Tough one. There are many good posters hidden amidst the mountain of banality. I guess I'll go for Hardy.

5. Things you'd like to see change on the site.
Less idiots

6. Player from another county you admire.
Maurice Fitzgerald. Outrageous.

7. Dual players. Should they be allowed do both (why/ why not)
Yes, should play both. The GAA is failing by not being able to facilitate these guys and its a disgrace.

8. Dublin Hurling, IS there hope? *question for dubs
N/A

9. Best Moment of the year?
Saying cheerio to the Leitrim ignoramus behind me in Pairc Seán this year. Now I'm a bit thick at matches but this boy just took the biscuit.

10. Worst moment of the year?
Getting relegated from intermediate to junior (club).

11. Breasts or bum?
Breasts and bum.

12. Breaking ball or park live?
Breaking Ball.

13. (Situation) Cork v Meath (if from Meath Cavan V Dublin) in an All-ireland final. You have to shout for one or your head will explode. What do you do? *question for dubs
N/A

14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly
The Boy Wonder

15. What  your own county needs to do to win Sam next year?
Not going to happen

16. How do you stop (legally, Meath lads) Kieran Donaghy
Be born in Castleconnor

17. Hopes for 2007.
Connacht title for county. County titles at senior and junior for club.

18. Who will win Sam in 2007.
Tyrone

19. Who will win Liam in 2007.
Galway

20. Your Gaaboard resolution for 2007.
To post less

uselessfootballer

1. The unfortunate truth.
2. Last year's Dublin Tyrone Quarter-Final
3. Ger Cavlan, on he's day a genius
4. ONeil, usually a good mixture of knowledgeable comment and pure nonsense.
5. 3 strikes and you're out for foul, abusive or outwardly sectarian comments
6. The Gooch
7. Yes of course, but they seem to be becoming a thing of the past, with managers insisting players show commitment by choosing
8. N/A
9. My wee cub meeting Sean Cavanagh on the pitch at Casement during the presentation of the McKenna cup. Any mention of it still brings a big involuntary grin to his face
10. Standing in Healy Park in May listening to a group of young Derry gabshites simply laughing out loud at Tyrone's abject performance that day. Had to grip the rail with both hands and keep repeating to myself, don't turn round, for god's sake don't turn around.
11. Either,at my age a glimpse of either is welcome
12. Breaking Ball
13. N/A
14. DJ
15. Pray that all of last years injuries clear up (esp. Brian McGuigan), uncover some cover in relation to scoring forwards and get 1st choices established for key defensive positions (FB and CHB) and defensive/holding midfield position, early in the season.
16. Pressure up the field on delivery and double-tag with a sweeper role if FB is struggling.
17. A long championship season for Tyrone. In Tyrone for the Sigersons to perform on the big days, In Down St. Pauls to adapt to life in Div3
18. Hopefully Tyrone, sneaky feeling for the JOM fairytale in Mayo
19. Kilkenny, on route to 3-in-a-row.
20. To become more involved and post more, currently find it difficult as recently so many of the threads disolve into he-said-she-said drivel so quickly

which back and forwards are you keeping?
ok so one of those is obvious- but anyway?

Cloc Mor

1. Why your user name
Well Know local land mark in Down.  A place of many battles a men struggle to reach the 'big stone.'  A very tough on to break.
College V Maghera 1988
Greg Blaney – say no more
Any fellow College man
The Gael
Alan Brogan
Why not – but too much for younger players who have too many masters to serve
N/A
Donaghy rounding Francie – the rest is history (just like Armagh)
Down V Sligo or International Rules – not sure yet
11. Breasts or bum?
Breasts
Breaking Ball
13. (Situation) Cork v Meath (if from Meath Cavan V Dublin) in an All-ireland final. You have to shout for one or your head will explode. What do you do? *question for dubs
Meath
14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly
DJ – best ever
15. What  your own county needs to do to win Sam next year?
15 new players
Pressure on the ball coming in and a full back to match him physically
17. Hopes for 2007.
Progress
Kerry
Kilkenny
Keep on posting

belleaqua

1. Why your user name

Was lookin for something random, and saw it on some Latin shit(i think twas Latin) beside me and picked that!

Galway v Kilkenny 2005, narrowly edging out the same game in 2001.

Joe Cooney - absolute class. Michael Meehan - never seen a more gifted player, won a club All-ireland on his own at 19.

Not around long enough to say but easy seperate the good from the bad, alot of the Mayo lads actually impress me.

Stupid pathetic comments by a few regular posters only looking for a row.

Tommy Walsh/Kieran McDonald

Of course they should, its amateur sport!

I hope so, have won a Leinster title in the last couple of years so fingers crossed.

Uuuhh, Potumna/Salthill All Ireland double, bad year otherwise.

Pearse Stadium v Westmeath, Blood pressure was at a very high point that evening.

11. Breasts or bum?

Breasts

Breaking Ball, captured what the GAA is about better than Park Live i think.

Cork

14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly

Eoin Kelly, bad team around him.

A midfield, if we win 50% of possession every game wel be hard stopped, backline never been better and still have the class up    front.

A sweeper looks the best option so far.

17. Hopes for 2007.

A Galway double.

Kerry or Tyrone. Hunger will be back for them and if injury free will bw a big threat. Kerry will be close because I think the best way a 2 in a row will be achieved is with a fresh approach, which they now have.

Galway, great chance now.

Not get involved in petty arguments.

muscles magoo

1. Why your user name
No idea, probably sounded funny at the time.

Connacht Final 1999. Raw.

Liam McHale

The all too reclusive Seafoid

Not a lot, it's not too bad really.

Paul Flynn

No strong feelings on this.

N/A

Conor Mortimors winning point against Galway, Connacht Final.

Driving from Dublin to Mayo on Monday 18th Sept 2006. Dreams shattered.

11. Breasts or bum?
Breasts

BB

N/A

14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly
Eoin Kelly

Get focussed & stay focussed

Get a top class full back.

17. Hopes for 2007.
Sam.

Kerry or Mayo

Galway

To avoid winding up Stephenite.

1. Why your user name
From the county badge stupid
Westmeath Vs Dublin 2004
Dessie Dolan
4. Favourite other poster on gaaboard.com
J70, purely for his avatar, gets me every time
5. Things you'd like to see change on the site
The slagging matches, the "yous started it" rants, more Lakers
6. Player from another county you admire
Canavan
Yes
Yes but they'll have to nurture the youth and get the hurling on a par with the football, years away still but these things take time
Beating Gaillimh in their own back yard when Gary Dolan goaled
Not showing up against de Biffos/Dubs in Croker (take your pick).
11. Breasts or bum?
Both
BB
Cork, no contest
14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly
Eoin Kelly
Get de lads declaring for their neighbours competing for the maroon jersey, find new backs, forwards & midfielders.
Sweeper
17. Hopes for 2007
All-Ireland Semi Final, Leinster Title in that order
18. Who will win Sam in 2007
Kerry
19. Who will win Liam in 2007
Galway
20. Your Gaaboard resolution for 2007
Stop reading threads that make me go "oh ffs"

1. Why your user name
explains itself
Fermanagh v Armagh, All-Ireland quarter-final 2004, unbelievable! Still have to put the video on every so often to confirm that it wasn't all just a mad dream
Barry Owens, clearly a brilliant player and would walk into almost every other county team
Tough one. I'm only here abd getting to know the crowd, from what I see it would be easier to list posters I'm not a fan of.
Less people here just on the wind up, it just wrecks the discussion. f**k up and go to Hoganstand
Brian McGuigan, creative genius, great to watch
Yes, should play both. The GAA owe it to men with such heart and committment for our games.
Doubt it
Ciaran McDonald breaking Dub's hearts, love the underdog, sadly that was the end of the All-Ireland race though
The All-Ireland final and the International Rules, both terrible advertisements for the GAA
11. Breasts or bum?
Breasts
Wish i knew, only seen Park Live once, never Breaking Ball
N/A
14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly
DJ, for his love of the game
15. What  your own county needs to do to win Sam next year?
Find a few powerful scoring forwards
Barry Owens
17. Hopes for 2007.
Ulster title for county, even a provincial final, the draw has fucked that up though.
Tyrone
Cork
Post more and avoid being dragged into bullshit exchanges

resdubwhite

Quote from: bottlethrower7 on December 01, 2006, 04:18:48 PM
Quote8. Dublin Hurling, IS there hope? *question for dubs

Did someone from reservoir dubs really ask that? I'm surprised any of them even know that theres hurling in Dublin.
Damned if you do.

Damned if you don't.

The hurling puritans stirke another blow for Gaeldom.

Johno07

1. Why your user name. The messiah himself, and hopefully the year we find the holy grail!
2. Favourite all time game. Has to be against the Dubs this year.
3. Favourite all time player from your county. the bullet from belmullet, Willie Joe
4. Favourite other poster on gaaboard.com. Not on long but Mayo4Sam and Barney seem to know their stuff.
5. Things you'd like to see change on the site. looks alrite so far.
6. Player from another county you admire. Anthony Daly
7. Dual players. Should they be allowed do both (why/ why not) defo, and the GAA should do more to accomadate them.
8. Dublin Hurling, IS there hope? *question for dubs. If they can manage to bring the young lads onto senior they should be competitive in a few years.
9. Best Moment of the year? The Macs clincher against Dublin
10. Worst moment of the year? Coopers Goal after hitting the post firstly. That was the final nail in the coffin.
11. Breasts or bum? Breasts
12. Breaking ball or park live? Not even a contest, BB
13. (Situation) Cork v Meath (if from Meath Cavan V Dublin) in an All-ireland final. You have to shout for one or your head will explode. What do you do? *question for dubs. Cork
14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly. Both pure magic but Kelly gets it for more consistency.
15. What your own county needs to do to win Sam next year? Need to find a full back,centre back and corner back, need to beef up a bit, be more aggressive and less nice and unfortunately need more cyniscism.
16. How do you stop (legally, Meath lads) Kieran Donaghy. Big full back and a sweeper.
17. Hopes for 2007. SAM, couldnt really be anything else.
18. Who will win Sam in 2007. Mayo
19. Who will win Liam in 2007. Waterford. If the whole GerLough Ego works with Galway they'll be close too.
20. Your Gaaboard resolution for 2007. Post more
"For the highs to be high the lows have to be low!"

charlie linkbox

1. Why your user name. No reason - just popped into my head
2. Favourite all time game. The 2005 Div.2 league final (especially the end - you couldn't script it)
3. Favourite all time player from your county. Noel Marron - he always drew the short starw and had to mark the oppositions' best scorer
4. Favourite other poster on gaaboard.com. Don't really have one. Never kickt a ball maybe - he always seems to be logged on when I am so we've had a few conversations
5. Things you'd like to see change on the site. Get rid of the poster's who are only here to attentions seek and antagonise
6. Player from another county you admire. Declan Browne (how does he keep going?)
7. Dual players. Should they be allowed do both (why/ why not) Of course - if you're good enough and willing to put in the time and effort, why not?
8. Dublin Hurling, IS there hope? *question for dubs. There's hope to compete with the Wexfords and Offalys but never the Kilkennys or Corks.
9. Best Moment of the year? Hammering Dublin by double scores in the league game in Parnell Park. Monaghan were on fire that day
10. Worst moment of the year? Getting beat by Wexford. Mattie Ford did the damage and he shouldn't even have been playing after what he did in the Offaly game. If he was then suspended for the Fermanagh game what was he doing playing against us???
11. Breasts or bum? Breasts
12. Breaking ball or park live? Breaking Ball - hands down
13. (Situation) Cork v Meath (if from Meath Cavan V Dublin) in an All-ireland final. You have to shout for one or your head will explode. What do you do? *question for dubs. I'll take my chances with the exploding head
14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly. Eoin Kelly
15. What your own county needs to do to win Sam next year? A few rosaries and a pilgrimage to Lough Derg
16. How do you stop (legally, Meath lads) Kieran Donaghy. If you haven't a full back tall enough to compete in the air, let him fetch the ball and nail him when he comes back to earth. Corner backs have to be in position in case he breaks the ball though
17. Hopes for 2007. Get to the Ulster Final. Tyrone, Armagh and Denegal are on the other side of the draw so it's a possibility
18. Who will win Sam in 2007. Tyrone
19. Who will win Liam in 2007. Kilkenny
20. Your Gaaboard resolution for 2007. Maintain the exemplary quality of my posting

catweazle

1. Why your user name
Twas always my Internet alter ego nickname - Liked the show

All-Ireland 98 - I had almost given up hope

Ja Fallon - A class act in both play and manners

I have always admired Fearons pure doggedness - Every time I open a paper he is on it - God love his missus

Ah what can you do, its only a bulletin board

Bernard Flynn - A shining penny in that Meath Team

As long as they dont get paid they should be allowed play whatever they want - If i was good enough to play county in both I would be outraged if I was told I couldnt

8. Dublin Hurling, IS there hope?
They need more ringers

Ireland winning the Triple Crown in Twickers

Killers concert cancelled, I was on Train in Athlone when ticketmaster rings me

11. Breasts or bum?
Bum, Bum, Bum. (Girlfriend is as flat as an Ironing board)

Never watched either of them

13. (Situation) Cork v Meath (if from Meath Cavan V Dublin) in an All-ireland final. You have to shout for one or your head will explode. What do you do?
I always liked Meath in the 90's. Hard men but some class players in their midst

14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly
DJ

Steroids

He was shown up to be quite ordinary in the Aussie Rules, I will be surprised if he has have the impact he had this year, teams will adapt to him

17. Hopes for 2007.
That I dont blow my SSIA on crap

A northern Team

Galway

Maybe try and contribute a bit more, I am like Wenger.....a bit of a voyeur

1. Why your user name
Armagh Supporter as gaelige

Armagh v Kerry 2002

K McGeeney

Dunno rufus, benny and donagh are good Armagh posters. Maybe Hardy and Magpie as well.

Less people who are there to wind up others rather than put forward their own views/ support their own team

B Coulter

Of course, fair play tot hem if they're willing to put the effort in

8. Dublin Hurling, IS there hope?
Has to be. 1 million people, so much potential

GAA wise, a bit of a damp squib, at push winning Ulster I suppose.

Second half v Kerry

11. Breasts or bum?
breasts

breakin ball

13. (Situation) Cork v Meath (if from Meath Cavan V Dublin) in an All-ireland final. You have to shout for one or your head will explode. What do you do?
Meath. From an Armagh perspective if it was Tyrone v Down, probably Tyrone

14. DJ Or Eoin Kelly
DJ

Hope that age doesn't begin to catch up on McGrane and McGeeney, that McDonnell and Clarke are at their best and that the right players are picked in their best positions

Make Francie a foot taller and play McGeeney as the 'sweeper'

17. Hopes for 2007.
To win Sam, I dunno how realistic that is but anything else won't set the pulse racing.

18. Who will win Sam in 2007
Armagh (I have an awful fear of bveing the pesimistic fecker who ends up taking the falk at the end of the season when the pessism was prooved wrong!)

Galway

To try to post more though I don't really think its possible since the sites blocked at work.