GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tonto1888 on June 12, 2019, 07:20:02 AM

Title: Monaghan v Armagh Sat 22nd June Clones 7pm
Post by: tonto1888 on June 12, 2019, 07:20:02 AM
May as well get it started. McGeeneys last stand??
Title: Re: Monaghan v Armagh Sat 22nd June Clones 7pm
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 12, 2019, 07:37:24 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 12, 2019, 07:20:02 AM
McGeeneys last stand??

I don't think so. Has there not already been noises that he will be there next year?
Post by: tonto1888 on June 12, 2019, 08:06:14 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 12, 2019, 07:37:24 AM
McGeeneys last stand??

I don't think so. Has there not already been noises that he will be there next year?

I know they talked about extending it before the Down game. I'm thinking more along the lines that me may call time on it himself
Post by: Cavan19 on June 12, 2019, 08:27:55 AM
Armagh should not be one bit afraid of Monaghan.

From what i have seen off both teams Armagh are playing better but maybe haven't the belief/confidence to win a tight game.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 12, 2019, 09:04:23 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 12, 2019, 08:06:14 AM
McGeeneys last stand??

I know they talked about extending it before the Down game. I'm thinking more along the lines that me may call time on it himself

Hard to see him walking away from the current squad and become the equivalent of the Two Brians for any incoming manager.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 12, 2019, 09:05:27 AM
Learn from Cavan, play without fear!
Post by: Look-Up! on June 12, 2019, 09:49:56 AM
Hard to know how this will go. Armagh are a very good team but lack killer instinct and a lot of their key players are inexperienced. A year or two too early for them plus they're coming off the back of a disappointing defeat.
Monaghan have had a terrible year since they defeated the Dubs in opening round of the league but they're up and running and might kick on now they have Fermanagh accounted for. Still a bit laboured but they have the experience and quality and don't think they have become a bad team overnight.
I'd go for a Monaghan win but think it'll be tight enough. Think they'll be nervous enough though and if Armagh have the heads right I wouldn't bet against them.   
Post by: under the bar on June 12, 2019, 01:00:26 PM
May as well get it started. McGeeneys last stand??

Hopefully not! There'll be a wake in Tyrone the day oul' buck-bake stands down!  ;D
Post by: BennyCake on June 12, 2019, 01:06:50 PM
I can see this going to ET.

God forgive it will have to be resolved by each team breakdancing, or whatever the f**k they've come up with now for deciding a winner.
Post by: tyroneman on June 12, 2019, 01:07:37 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on June 12, 2019, 09:49:56 AM
Hard to know how this will go. Armagh are a very good team but lack killer instinct and a lot of their key players are inexperienced. A year or two too early for them plus they're coming off the back of a disappointing defeat.
Monaghan have had a terrible year since they defeated the Dubs in opening round of the league but they're up and running and might kick on now they have Fermanagh accounted for. Still a bit laboured but they have the experience and quality and don't think they have become a bad team overnight.
I'd go for a Monaghan win but think it'll be tight enough. Think they'll be nervous enough though and if Armagh have the heads right I wouldn't bet against them.

Armagh are a very good team from MF-FF, they are a very average (at best) team in the HB and FB lines
Post by: Armamike on June 12, 2019, 03:18:29 PM
Monaghan have been consistently playing at a higher level than us.  If their injuries clear up they should have too much for Armagh unfortunately. We're not strong enough at the back or clinical enough with our chances.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 12, 2019, 07:11:58 PM
Quote from: Armamike on June 12, 2019, 03:18:29 PM
Monaghan have been consistently playing at a higher level than us.  If their injuries clear up they should have too much for Armagh unfortunately. We're not strong enough at the back or clinical enough with our chances.

Also giving away too many frees especially at a long range that Monaghan will pop over all day.
Post by: yellowcard on June 12, 2019, 11:27:34 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 12, 2019, 09:04:23 AM
McGeeneys last stand??

Hard to see him walking away from the current squad and become the equivalent of the Two Brians for any incoming manager.

This Armagh squad are a mile off the team the 2 Brian's left behind. That team were AI contenders for 3 years before Joe stepped in whilst the current team are a good bit off even challenging for an Ulster title. Has McGeeney taken the team forward, well the jury would be out on that one. The county board would reappoint him in the morning and there is no chance he will walk away. The clubs on the other hand will be questioning the wisdom of reappointing a manager who has won one provincial match in 5 seasons and who have yo-yo'd up and down between div 2/3 and who has never shown any real interest in the club scene. I would say he has done a decent job overall given the talent available but a bit like like Liam Kearns in Tipperary, there comes a point where the players may need a fresh approach.
Post by: seafoid on June 13, 2019, 04:46:01 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 12, 2019, 11:27:34 PM
McGeeneys last stand??

This Armagh squad are a mile off the team the 2 Brian's left behind. That team were AI contenders for 3 years before Joe stepped in whilst the current team are a good bit off even challenging for an Ulster title. Has McGeeney taken the team forward, well the jury would be out on that one. The county board would reappoint him in the morning and there is no chance he will walk away. The clubs on the other hand will be questioning the wisdom of reappointing a manager who has won one provincial match in 5 seasons and who have yo-yo'd up and down between div 2/3 and who has never shown any real interest in the club scene. I would say he has done a decent job overall given the talent available but a bit like like Liam Kearns in Tipperary, there comes a point where the players may need a fresh approach.

McGeeney did nothing for Armagh
Someone said that Cavan are further along the development curve
Jaysus .

He got enough time to develop the team

https://youtu.be/PVyS9JwtFoQ
Post by: Over the Bar on June 14, 2019, 07:24:52 PM
McGeeneys last stand??

You've the house on Armagh winning the AI next year then?  Do you think the 2nd tier will be up and running that quickly?  ;D
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 15, 2019, 12:03:51 AM
This Armagh squad are a mile off the team the 2 Brian's left behind. That team were AI contenders for 3 years before Joe stepped in whilst the current team are a good bit off even challenging for an Ulster title, and not any feeling that there is an All Ireland there.

You are correct, although to be fair to Owen, the sense I get is that he meant that the best days of this team are possibly in the future, just as was the case with the team that the two Brians let go of.

Has McGeeney taken the team forward, well the jury would be out on that one. The county board would reappoint him in the morning and there is no chance he will walk away. The clubs on the other hand will be questioning the wisdom of reappointing a manager who has won one provincial match in 5 seasons and who have yo-yo'd up and down between div 2/3 and who has never shown any real interest in the club scene. I would say he has done a decent job overall given the talent available but a bit like like Liam Kearns in Tipperary, there comes a point where the players may need a fresh approach.

I think there is no doubt that if Geezer had been an outside manager, then he would have been gone by now. I do think he has been given more time because of his status and standing within the County. I don't get the sense within the County, at County Executive and County Board (the Clubs) level, that there is a desire for a change of direction after this year. There is no doubt though that there is a desire for change amongst some of the support.
Post by: armaghniac on June 15, 2019, 12:45:24 AM
The Two Brians brought a team backboned by the 1992 minor finalist team to become one of the top four teams and  Big Joe got them over the line.
You could draw parallels between the 2002 team having a core of players in their late 20s and some notable newcomers, then Ronan Clarke and Steven McDonnell, with the modern team of the 2009 minor champions and the addition of Rian O'Neill and Jarly Óg. But the core team are not at as high a level.
Post by: Hound on June 15, 2019, 09:08:52 PM
Armagh are my favourite team in  Ulster at the moment, as I like McGeeney and like the way Armagh play and love Jamie Clarke. But am hearing worrying things that things have improved drastically in the Monaghan camp since the Fermanagh win. Lads are flying in training and challenge matches.

Hope I'm wrong, but my prediction is Monaghan by 6 or 7.
Post by: balladmaker on June 15, 2019, 09:10:58 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 15, 2019, 09:08:52 PM
Armagh are my favourite team in  Ulster at the moment, as I like McGeeney and like the way Armagh play and love Jamie Clarke. But am hearing worrying things that things have improved drastically in the Monaghan camp since the Fermanagh win. Lads are flying in training and challenge matches.

Have Monaghan played a challenge match since beating Fermanagh last weekend?
Post by: illdecide on June 15, 2019, 09:54:17 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on June 15, 2019, 09:10:58 PM

Have Monaghan played a challenge match since beating Fermanagh last weekend?

Yip, their A team beat their B team by 10 pts on Thursday night after they played headers and volleys
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 15, 2019, 10:54:38 PM
I expect this to be the dirtiest game of the championship by a long shot. A minimum of 5 red cards.
Post by: illdecide on June 15, 2019, 11:13:10 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 15, 2019, 10:54:38 PM
I expect this to be the dirtiest game of the championship by a long shot. A minimum of 5 red cards.

Why?
Post by: Over the Bar on June 15, 2019, 11:17:27 PM
Armagh are my favourite team in  Ulster at the moment, as I like McGeeney and like the way Armagh play and love Jamie Clarke.

Did you hone that narrative style reading letters in Jackie and Smash Hits? ;D ;)
Post by: BennyCake on June 15, 2019, 11:22:08 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 15, 2019, 11:13:10 PM

Why?

He clearly doesn't like Ulster football. Plus, he knows Armagh are a threat to his 5 in a row!

We're coming for you, SDB!
Post by: Main Street on June 15, 2019, 11:42:34 PM

You are wrong, Monaghan by 3 or 4 and no worries.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 16, 2019, 04:03:48 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 15, 2019, 12:03:51 AM
This Armagh squad are a mile off the team the 2 Brian's left behind. That team were AI contenders for 3 years before Joe stepped in whilst the current team are a good bit off even challenging for an Ulster title, and not any feeling that there is an All Ireland there.

You are correct, although to be fair to Owen, the sense I get is that he meant that the best days of this team are possibly in the future, just as was the case with the team that the two Brians let go of.

Thanks Rufus. My point was that no matter what you think about McGeeney's work over five years, he could well believe that he is about to turn the corner and that a new manager coming in would add an extra factor which could bring even an Ulster championship without being a better manager. 

2 Brians took more than their fair share of criticism but they added a lot to the squad that was not always appreciated when a 'luckier' manager came in and won the AI. Lucky in that the younger additions turned out to be so important and that the things that seemed to run against the Brians didn't happen with JK. The fact that the same squad did not take one or two more AI showed that the new manager was not hugely better than his predecessors even as the squad matured into possibly the best group assembled by the county.

Apart from some combination of the former Cross management teams there is no obvious replacement for McGeeney, no enthusiasm among the decision makers to take a step in that direction and, outside the county, there just appears to be a merry go-round of managers with none outstanding.
Post by: Schkite on June 16, 2019, 05:12:53 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 15, 2019, 11:13:10 PM

Why?

Look at his posting history. Clear troll who hates Ulster and Monaghan in particular for some reason.
Post by: smelmoth on June 16, 2019, 07:41:57 PM
Can we defer the McGeeney contract discussion until after our season is over?

Not trying to shut down debate. It's a legitimate debate and one that should be had in full but I don't see the point of discussing it on this thread before the game.

Ultimately we are not going to win the All Ireland so our season will end at some point in defeat. That's the time for the debate
Post by: smelmoth on June 16, 2019, 07:49:43 PM
On the game we have work to do but it's there to be won.
Post by: naka on June 17, 2019, 10:14:37 AM
good for you.
Post by: RandyDupree on June 18, 2019, 10:11:00 PM
I see Clarke has secured a transfer from crossmaglen to a London club
Post by: general_lee on June 19, 2019, 11:51:58 AM
Quote from: RandyDupree on June 18, 2019, 10:11:00 PM
Time to just let him go! He's overrated anyway and has been for some time!
Post by: Main Street on June 19, 2019, 02:31:31 PM
I see Ciaran Branagan from Down is the ref, As refs go I think he's good, though you wouldn't need much of a ref to spot the fouls in the Armagh tackling.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on June 19, 2019, 02:34:59 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 19, 2019, 11:51:58 AM

He can still play for Armagh presumably - he's went to London for his career.
Post by: general_lee on June 19, 2019, 03:25:59 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on June 19, 2019, 02:34:59 PM

I'm sure he can. Not sure management will be happy with him clearing off. He obviously sees a short summer with Armagh
Post by: skeog on June 19, 2019, 03:36:06 PM
What does Jamie do for a living?.
Post by: Over the Bar on June 19, 2019, 03:42:33 PM
Quote from: skeog on June 19, 2019, 03:36:06 PM

*Never* ask that question of a man from Crossmaglen! ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 19, 2019, 04:10:23 PM
He may be transferring but at this minute in time he is not registered in London,  he will see out his season with Armagh and then parachute in to Neasden whenever
Post by: GetOverTheBar on June 19, 2019, 04:52:45 PM
Quote from: skeog on June 19, 2019, 03:36:06 PM

Fashion Designer I believe. Open to correction on the actual title.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 19, 2019, 06:49:42 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 19, 2019, 03:25:59 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on June 19, 2019, 02:34:59 PM

Same team as Harrison from down
I'm sure he can. Not sure management will be happy with him clearing off. He obviously sees a short summer with Armagh
Post by: naka on June 20, 2019, 12:57:48 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 19, 2019, 02:31:31 PM
I see Ciaran Branagan from Down is the ref, As refs go I think he's good, though you wouldn't need much of a ref to spot the fouls in the Armagh tackling.
tbf Main Street Monaghan are privy to the old sneaky fouling as well.
Brannigan is fine as a Ref though he should spot both sides at the dark arts.
Post by: Main Street on June 20, 2019, 03:02:56 PM
Quote from: naka on June 20, 2019, 12:57:48 PM
I'm more talking about blatant bad tackling rather than a foul tackle or the tackle from the dark side.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 20, 2019, 04:23:32 PM
I fear this is where Armagh's championship campaign will end this summer. Monaghan have got two kicks up the arse from Fermanagh,Cavan and with the mini break and home advantage they should be winning this game. The three games and two extra times has taken a lot out of Armagh and manner of the fade out v Cavan for the last quarter of the replay was not a good sign for supposedly fit team.

Post by: Armamike on June 20, 2019, 04:43:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 20, 2019, 03:02:56 PM
I'm more talking about blatant bad tackling rather than a foul tackle or the tackle from the dark side.

Monaghan are much better at fouling than us. 
Post by: Imposerous on June 20, 2019, 05:02:18 PM
Quote from: Armamike on June 20, 2019, 04:43:44 PM

Monaghan are much better at appearing to be fouled than us.
Post by: Main Street on June 20, 2019, 08:33:01 PM

Better at tackling.
Some of Armagh's tackling in the first game v Down was very undisciplined and costly, I thought this was well noted at the time by Armagh supporters. 
Post by: keeperlit on June 20, 2019, 09:55:52 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 20, 2019, 04:23:32 PM
I fear this is where Armagh's championship campaign will end this summer. Monaghan have got two kicks up the arse from Fermanagh,Cavan and with the mini break and home advantage they should be winning this game. The three games and two extra times has taken a lot out of Armagh and manner of the fade out v Cavan for the last quarter of the replay was not a good sign for supposedly fit team.

Supposedly fit is right. It is obvious from watching Armagh throughout the year that their conditioning and fitness is nowhere near that of the top teams. This is at the end of end of a five year 'transitional' period. Whatever about having limited quality regarding players (which you often hear as an excuse for the regression of the counties fortunes) with the investment that has been expended by the county on senior team preparation there is, in my opinion, absolutely no excuse for the team not having the required conditioning.
Post by: dec on June 20, 2019, 10:09:45 PM
Quote from: keeperlit on June 20, 2019, 09:55:52 PM

Supposedly fit is right. It is obvious from watching Armagh throughout the year that their conditioning and fitness is nowhere near that of the top teams. This is at the end of end of a five year 'transitional' period. Whatever about having limited quality regarding players (which you often hear as an excuse for the regression of the counties fortunes) with the investment that has been expended by the county on senior team preparation there is, in my opinion, absolutely no excuse for the team not having the required conditioning.

I think they look like they are unfit at the end of games, not because they are unfit or nor conditioned, but because poor tactics and bad decision making mean that they have had to do more unproductive running during the earlier part of the games.
Post by: keeperlit on June 20, 2019, 10:25:55 PM
Possibly. But did the down players make more intelligent decisions so they could conserve energy during the first game and this is why they looked fitter in last ten of normal time or were they just better conditioned?
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2019, 11:00:56 PM
Quote from: keeperlit on June 20, 2019, 09:55:52 PM

Sure i was lead to believe that KMcG had them training 8 nights a week and doing MLA and sh1t...Surely they'd be fit as f**k?
Post by: keeperlit on June 20, 2019, 11:20:36 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2019, 11:00:56 PM

Sure i was lead to believe that KMcG had them training 8 nights a week and doing MLA and sh1t...Surely they'd be fit as f**k?

Freudian slip there- overpaid and underperforming!
Post by: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 08:31:10 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 20, 2019, 08:33:01 PM

Better at tackling.
Some of Armagh's tackling in the first game v Down was very undisciplined and costly, I thought this was well noted at the time by Armagh supporters.

It was and could well be a problem on Saturday night. That said I think we have a bit of a rep with referees, some players in particular, and we get penalised for stuff withers don't.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 11:12:22 AM
Or maybe, possibly,  youve a core crew of fellas playing that love to flex and demonstrate their manliness to direct opponents which more often than not results in them conceding frees. Theyve quite possibly some of the thickest guys about when it comes to tackling, concession of fouls and picking up cards in games. Its astounding how easily they give away cheap frees. Their macho bullshit comes directly from their management team.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 11:27:33 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 11:12:22 AM
Or maybe, possibly,  youve a core crew of fellas playing that love to flex and demonstrate their manliness to direct opponents which more often than not results in them conceding frees. Theyve quite possibly some of the thickest guys about when it comes to tackling, concession of fouls and picking up cards in games. Its astounding how easily they give away cheap frees. Their macho bullshit comes directly from their management team.

Explain how this macho bullshit, whatever that is, comes directly from the management team. No doubt we have a problem with our tackling but I stand by what I said having watched a lot of games the past few years
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 21, 2019, 11:36:32 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 11:27:33 AM
Explain how this macho bullshit, whatever that is, comes directly from the management team. No doubt we have a problem with our tackling but I stand by what I said having watched a lot of games the past few years

Pay no heed to Brick. That's the old Down head on him.

I've said it before that in my opinion referees - certainly the leading referees - in our County, try and let too much go, which means players can get into bad habits as regards tackling.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 11:56:56 AM
No youre right.
The constant grappling, wrestling and general off-the-ball nonsense and misdirected aggression that goes on probably has nothing at all to do with the fact that management might have introduced this group of players to the apparent virtues of MMA, Judo, Wrestling and other combat orientated activities, as part of their training regime over the last 5/6 years.

Its the refs that keep riding them.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 01:36:41 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 11:56:56 AM
No youre right.
The constant grappling, wrestling and general off-the-ball nonsense and misdirected aggression that goes on probably has nothing at all to do with the fact that management might have introduced this group of players to the apparent virtues of MMA, Judo, Wrestling and other combat orientated activities, as part of their training regime over the last 5/6 years.

Its the refs that keep riding them.

Where and when does this Armagh team do their MMA etc classes? Who teaches them? How much off the ball nonsense actually goes on? How often do you watch this Armagh team to see all this
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 01:47:46 PM
Il put it another way to you.
Can you honestly tell me that this particular group of players werent introduced to that type of 'training' by the current management or that they dont extoll the virtues of those activities on the players?

If you watch the games you can see exactly how much off-the-ball nonsense goes on.
Its probably fair to say its the rash or over-zealous 'tackles' that Armagh concede alot of scores from.

There are about 4/5 players you can be guaranteed will pick up a card of some description in Armagh'sm games.

But yeah maybe im wrong and the refs have it in for them. Thats probably more plausible.
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2019, 02:13:23 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 21, 2019, 11:36:32 AM

I've said it before that in my opinion referees - certainly the leading referees - in our County, try and let too much go, which means players can get into bad habits as regards tackling.

Indeed. The frustrating thing for Armagh supporters is that this is not MMA, Judo or anything structured at all, it is simply sloppy tackling. This has been going on for years and we needlessly concede points in every game from frees.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 04:01:24 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 01:47:46 PM
Il put it another way to you.
Can you honestly tell me that this particular group of players werent introduced to that type of 'training' by the current management or that they dont extoll the virtues of those activities on the players?

If you watch the games you can see exactly how much off-the-ball nonsense goes on.
Its probably fair to say its the rash or over-zealous 'tackles' that Armagh concede alot of scores from.

There are about 4/5 players you can be guaranteed will pick up a card of some description in Armagh'sm games.

But yeah maybe im wrong and the refs have it in for them. Thats probably more plausible.

It doesn't work like that pal. You're the on saying they have been. Where and when do they do this training? Which players are guaranteed cards every game?
Post by: Armamike on June 21, 2019, 04:44:50 PM
James Morgan, nailed on!

We do concede rash frees, often in very scoreable positions.  I don't know how we compare stats wise to other sides but that's how it looks to me.  Game after game i see experienced players dive in and give a cheap free, rather than stand the opponent up, crowd them out etc.  The likes of Monaghan are just better/cuter than us in this respect imo. When you dive in on the back of a forward, what's the ref going to do?  The thing i find a bit odd is that McGeeney as a player knew a thing about good, disciplined tackling.  The players don't seem to have learnt much from him.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 04:50:17 PM
Quote from: Armamike on June 21, 2019, 04:44:50 PM
James Morgan, nailed on!

Got booked in the drawn game with Cavan. Did he get booked in the replay or the game against down
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 04:52:53 PM
Sorry i take it all back. Youre right. They havent experienced any 'training' of that ilk before. I made it all up.

Take your pick from the following for cards and you wont be far away.
I didnt say every game but whatever you think yourself.

James Morgan.
Greg McCabe.
Aaron McKay.
Charlie Vernon.
Aidan Forker.
Post by: Main Street on June 21, 2019, 05:21:39 PM
Regardless of Armagh's tackling liabilities, Monaghan will still have to get their mojo back to meet the challenge.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 06:07:10 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 21, 2019, 04:52:53 PM
Sorry i take it all back. Youre right. They havent experienced any 'training' of that ilk before. I made it all up.

James Morgan.
Greg McCabe.
Aaron McKay.
Charlie Vernon.
Aidan Forker.

You're right. You didn't say every game but you did say in Armagh's games. Semantics. How often have these players been booked? And come on, you obviously think you know something about Armagh's training, why don't you just tell us where and when they do all this MMA training?
Post by: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 06:07:38 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 21, 2019, 05:21:39 PM
Regardless of Armagh's tackling liabilities, Monaghan will still have to get their mojo back to meet the challenge.

Sadly I don't think you will have too much trouble getting a win tomorrow.
Post by: Throw ball on June 21, 2019, 08:07:07 PM

100%
Post by: Throw ball on June 21, 2019, 08:12:55 PM

James Morgan.
Greg McCabe.
Aaron McKay.
Charlie Vernon.
Aidan Forker.

Morgan and McCabe can be rash. McKay a bit less so. Forker discipline has improved a terrible lot the last while. Charlie Vernon !!!
Post by: Armagh18 on June 21, 2019, 09:08:07 PM

Sure how would that effect the lads on the county panel when would they ever play club football? ;D ;D
Post by: Hound on June 21, 2019, 10:10:58 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 04:50:17 PM
James Morgan, nailed on!

Got booked in the drawn game with Cavan. Did he get booked in the replay or the game against down
Personally, thought that booking was harsh, as were a couple of other frees. His reputation precedes him (although sounds like that's deserved!)
Post by: keeperlit on June 21, 2019, 10:34:34 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on June 21, 2019, 08:12:55 PM

James Morgan.
Greg McCabe.
Aaron McKay.
Charlie Vernon.
Aidan Forker.

Morgan and McCabe can be rash. McKay a bit less so. Forker discipline has improved a terrible lot the last while. Charlie Vernon !!!

Agreed, Forker's discipline has improved massively.Think Morgan will be ok tomorrow night regarding yellow cards. Charlie is a bit of a fouling machine but don't think it is anything to do with with MMA. But don't think we are any better or worse than a lot of other teams around our level.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 22, 2019, 08:50:45 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 21, 2019, 10:10:58 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 21, 2019, 04:50:17 PM
James Morgan, nailed on!

Personally, thought that booking was harsh, as were a couple of other frees. His reputation precedes him (although sounds like that's deserved!)

I agree with you and it's what I was alluding to earlier. He can be over eager at times, not to mention silly, but he certainly seems to have a reputation
Post by: ardchieftain on June 22, 2019, 03:08:54 PM
I'm hearing that Morgan is injured. Not sure who else you could put on McManus if true. I really don't know how today will pan out. Hopefully Jamie Clarke is on fire again, it would be a huge shame if today ends up being his last game in an Armagh jersey.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 22, 2019, 03:29:18 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on June 22, 2019, 03:08:54 PM
I'm hearing that Morgan is injured. Not sure who else you could put on McManus if true. I really don't know how today will pan out. Hopefully Jamie Clarke is on fire again, it would be a huge shame if today ends up being his last game in an Armagh jersey.

Why would today be his last game in an Armagh jersey?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 22, 2019, 06:41:26 PM
Anyone have a radio link as I can't get it on BBC here in the states?
Post by: under the bar on June 22, 2019, 06:44:44 PM
This could be a potential banana skin for Monaghan. 
Post by: Hound on June 22, 2019, 06:51:18 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 22, 2019, 06:41:26 PM
Google Northern Sound

Shannonside will have at least 2nd half
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 22, 2019, 06:57:02 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 22, 2019, 06:51:18 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 22, 2019, 06:41:26 PM
Google Northern Sound

Shannonside will have at least 2nd half

Thanks, have shannonside on now will check Northern Sound
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 22, 2019, 07:50:56 PM
0-11 to 0-10 ahead at small whistle. Good half from Armagh however keeping it going for 70 minutes seems to be a problem this year.
Post by: Hound on June 22, 2019, 07:51:56 PM
Listened to the last 10 minutes of the first half. Sounds like a cracker. Great commentary!
Post by: David McKeown on June 22, 2019, 08:01:16 PM
Excellent first half. Armagh were great first 25 minutes and lead 8-5. Then reverted to a defensive system and conceded 4 unanswered. Jamie Clarke having his best game in a while. Anyone's to win second half. I think Armagh have 9 scores from play and Monaghan have 5
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 22, 2019, 08:18:46 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 22, 2019, 08:01:16 PM
Excellent first half. Armagh were great first 25 minutes and lead 8-5. Then reverted to a defensive system and conceded 4 unanswered. Jamie Clarke having his best game in a while. Anyone's to win second half. I think Armagh have 9 scores from play and Monaghan have 5

But two points were from 45m conceded by Armagh and kicked over by Beggan.
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2019, 08:21:50 PM
Armagh Goal!

AH 1-14 MN  0-10
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 22, 2019, 08:22:01 PM
Armagh up by 7 with about 25minutes to go
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 22, 2019, 08:31:01 PM
Armagh second goal for O'Neill
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 22, 2019, 08:31:18 PM
Another Goal for Armagh!!
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2019, 08:32:18 PM
Cross' men do the business.
Post by: Main Street on June 22, 2019, 08:38:58 PM
Looks like a well deserved win for Armagh, they strolled through the 2nd half.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 22, 2019, 08:43:58 PM
Massive win for Armagh. Disappointing end for monaghan to a season that started with beating the dubs
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 22, 2019, 08:45:16 PM
Quote from: under the bar on June 22, 2019, 06:44:44 PM
This could be a potential banana skin for Monaghan.

Not often he is right about something!
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 22, 2019, 08:47:33 PM
Last year was Monaghan's only chance at Sam. That team is finished.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 22, 2019, 08:49:04 PM
Poor old Shannonside Radio - lost Longford, Leitrim and Monaghan from the football today!

Post by: Hound on June 22, 2019, 08:49:49 PM
Well done Armagh, well done McGeeney!

12 different Armagh scorers
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 22, 2019, 08:53:57 PM
8 point winners in Clones and could or should have won by more. Unbelievable Jeff!
Post by: Angelo on June 22, 2019, 08:57:00 PM
Welcome back Armagh.

I think Tyrone Armagh is nailed on in the next round.
Post by: David McKeown on June 22, 2019, 08:59:59 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 22, 2019, 08:57:00 PM
Welcome back Armagh.

I agree. Just hope Harte doesn't get either black card rescinded
Post by: Angelo on June 22, 2019, 09:01:33 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 22, 2019, 08:59:59 PM
Welcome back Armagh.

The black cards? Think he needs another one to incur a ban and I think it's a cert that both ones to date will be overturned if a ban does come.
Post by: Esmarelda on June 22, 2019, 09:06:52 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 22, 2019, 09:01:33 PM
Welcome back Armagh.

The black cards? Think he needs another one to incur a ban and I think it's a cert that both ones to date will be overturned if a ban does come.
Can he appeal the one against Donegal at this stage?
Post by: Angelo on June 22, 2019, 09:22:26 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on June 22, 2019, 09:06:52 PM
Welcome back Armagh.

Can he appeal the one against Donegal at this stage?

I think you can only appeal a black card once the season is over or a ban has been incurred as a result.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2019, 09:23:03 PM
Well done to Armagh a very impressive win and scoring total.  Another big news story to come out of this game is this one https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/malachy-orourke-steps-down-as-monaghan-boss-following-defeat-to-armagh-38244008.html.  Brought Monaghan to heights they probably never expected and will be hard to find a good replacement for him now.
Post by: trailer on June 22, 2019, 09:36:26 PM
Not surprised to see O'Rouke go. Monaghan have been an expert team of chokers. Today no different. Not a good team. Only McManus would be regarded as a baller.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 22, 2019, 10:05:06 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 22, 2019, 09:36:26 PM
Not surprised to see O'Rouke go. Monaghan have been an expert team of chokers. Today no different. Not a good team. Only McManus would be regarded as a baller.

Monaghan have punched above their weight for the guts of a decade. Anyone who calls this group chokers does not understand demographics and finances.
Post by: David McKeown on June 22, 2019, 10:06:55 PM
Welcome back Armagh.

I thought it was two black cards in one competition or three in a year that ended up in a ban. Then once banned you could appeal any.
Post by: Minder on June 22, 2019, 10:13:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 22, 2019, 10:05:06 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 22, 2019, 09:36:26 PM

Monaghan have punched above their weight for the guts of a decade. Anyone who calls this group chokers does not understand demographics and finances.

He's a troll on his 15th username ffs, ignore him
Post by: Main Street on June 22, 2019, 10:22:16 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 22, 2019, 09:23:03 PM
Another big news story to come out of this game is this one https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/malachy-orourke-steps-down-as-monaghan-boss-following-defeat-to-armagh-38244008.html.  Brought Monaghan to heights they probably never expected and will be hard to find a good replacement for him now.
Malachy did very well, not that those heights were expected as a right but we knew they were well within the scope of Monaghan to achieve something more with a good manager after Banty.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 22, 2019, 10:41:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 22, 2019, 10:22:16 PM
Another big news story to come out of this game is this one https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/malachy-orourke-steps-down-as-monaghan-boss-following-defeat-to-armagh-38244008.html.  Brought Monaghan to heights they probably never expected and will be hard to find a good replacement for him now.
Malachy did very well, not that those heights were expected as a right but we knew they were well within the scope of Monaghan to achieve something more with a good manager after Banty.

He has done brilliantly with that group of players but this championship they have not been able to pull it together. Perhaps a new voice is needed to start them off again but not Banty. Fresh management needed, generational shift, could do worse than looking at the Fermanagh man who has done so well with Scotstown.
Post by: Main Street on June 22, 2019, 10:46:02 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 22, 2019, 10:41:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 22, 2019, 10:22:16 PM

He has done brilliantly with that group of players but this championship they have not been able to pull it together. Perhaps a new voice is needed to start them off again but not Banty. Fresh management needed, generational shift, could do worse than looking at the Fermanagh man who has done so well with Scotstown.
That group of players are an excellent group, perhaps not enough depth in the squad, but any good manager would  achieve with them.
Post by: Angelo on June 22, 2019, 11:10:36 PM
MOR had hit a cul-de-sac with things and I think it reached a natural conclusion for him but he has done wonders for them in his time there. I was having a look last night to see when Tyrone last contested a minor final and what struck me was that Monaghan have nearly been a constant there since we last won one. They have good structures in place so they need the right man in next and hopefully for them he can keep at this level.

It's a rough draw for them this year. I really think sides from the same province should be stopped from drawing each other in the qualifiers, it's certainly been very unfair on Ulster sides in the past.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 23, 2019, 12:19:26 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 22, 2019, 10:06:55 PM
Welcome back Armagh.

I thought it was two black cards in one competition or three in a year that ended up in a ban. Then once banned you could appeal any.
The Tyrone legal team have this one covered.
Post by: befair on June 23, 2019, 01:07:09 AM
Considering their small population, Monaghan have been over-achievers for the last few years. But it seems like this team's peak has come and gone, and it's time for a rebuild. Always tough competitors, I hope they come back soon
Post by: tonto1888 on June 23, 2019, 08:11:15 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 22, 2019, 08:38:58 PM
Looks like a well deserved win for Armagh, they strolled through the 2nd half.

Monaghan didn't come out for the second half at all. It was 22 mins in before you got a score. The goal out a better reflection on it but it should never have been conceded. I don't know what happened. We played well yesterday, our defence was very good and unlike against Cavan we took our goal chances
Post by: yellowcard on June 23, 2019, 10:15:53 AM
With a good draw Armagh could now realistically hope to make the super 8s. Going forward they are as good as any side bar Dublin, Kerry and Donegal. If they shore up defensively they can hope to be a division one side in the next couple of years.

O'Rourke did a good job with Monaghan but probably stayed on a year too many they may lose a few players now that he has moved on. Maybe it's time for Dick to step up.
Post by: BennyCake on June 23, 2019, 10:54:03 AM
I wish people would stop talking about super 8's and who's going to be there. Once you're in the qualifiers, it's a lottery. Let's just see what the draw is and take it one game at a time.
Post by: smelmoth on June 23, 2019, 03:31:31 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 23, 2019, 10:54:03 AM
I wish people would stop talking about super 8's and who's going to be there. Once you're in the qualifiers, it's a lottery. Let's just see what the draw is and take it one game at a time.

Wish people would stop talking about lotteries. The qualifiers are not a lottery. The draw like USFC is a lottery but performances are not
Post by: smelmoth on June 23, 2019, 03:35:31 PM
The McGeeney our cries get deferred for another week. Thought he got a lot right yesterday. Though today's match makes me wonder what if we had pressed the Cavan kick outs in the first match.