GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Quarterback on September 03, 2008, 04:15:46 PM

Title: Ger Canning or Darragh Maloney??
Post by: Quarterback on September 03, 2008, 04:15:46 PM
Have to say this last while i really enjoy darragh maloney as a commentator.  Id even go as far to say id prefer him to ger canning....He never misses a thing...bit like Andy Gray on sky sports.......Is it a foregone conclusion that Canning gets the all ireland final??
Title: Re: Ger Canning or Darragh Maloney??
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 03, 2008, 04:18:40 PM
Canning is an absolute disaster - sure he can't even get the players names right half the time
Post by: heineken_on_tap on September 03, 2008, 04:19:26 PM
Would agree, Maloney is much better. Doubt Canning will do the football and hurling so maybe it will be Maloney. Then Marty might be in a sulk
Post by: Quarterback on September 03, 2008, 04:20:17 PM
Cannings a disaster but morrisy's 10 times worse.....
Post by: FL/MAYO on September 03, 2008, 04:25:12 PM
Canning seems to be going through the motions with what seems like no interest in the process, using the same old cliches game after game. Maloney is way better he brings some excitement to the game.
Post by: Jinxy on September 03, 2008, 05:14:08 PM
Maloney is a pro. Never goes off on tangents talking nonsense.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 03, 2008, 05:24:59 PM
At this stage of technology youd think RTE would copy sky and have fanzone commentary available, itd be some craic listening to the waterford kilkenny match ;D...

Waterford lad "henry would you ever f*ck off and leave the ref alone" :-\

Post by: dodo on September 04, 2008, 03:53:10 PM
Maloney every time.......Canning and his foraging between the 45s  :D
Post by: muppet on September 04, 2008, 05:07:02 PM
QuoteGer Canning or Darragh Maloney??

For what?

Big Brother?

To test new impotence pill??

Mary Harney's breakfast???
Post by: RMDrive on September 04, 2008, 07:02:05 PM
Maloney of course. Canning does my head in.
Post by: The Subbie on September 05, 2008, 08:41:34 AM
Has to be Darragh Maloney, Cannings w**k fest every time a Kerry/Cork/Jackeen touches the ball is brutal.
Canning would like to father the gooch's bastard child.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on September 05, 2008, 09:37:02 AM
Is it one of these clowns that repeatedly sais 'back once again'?
Post by: comethekingdom on September 05, 2008, 09:42:29 AM
Forget about all them RTE boys - Canning, Marty, Darragh - The great Weeshie Fogarty of Radio Kerry fame is the man!
Post by: screenexile on September 05, 2008, 09:44:19 AM
Anyone ever listened to Highland Radio? Possibly the worst commentary for a football game you are likely to ever have to listen to or see. The 2 lads sound as if they could drop dead any second and continuously get names wrong and forget what their saying all the time. Oh and stupid Donegal accents too, and they get Martin McHugh in a good bit as well... awful awful stuff!
Post by: Minder on September 05, 2008, 09:47:15 AM
The thing that sickens me is (and Maloney does not seem as guilty) is the use of nicknames, particularly "The Gooch" "Star" "The Rock" etc etc..........That isnt their name. Marty The Martian is particularly bad for this.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2008, 09:59:46 AM
By law, every time Marty Morrissey is mentioned, I have to post this picture. Sorry. (Did you see him at the Olympics doing the Beach volleyball 'feature'? Surreal).
(http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney/gaalookalikes/images/bettyboop.gif)

(http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney/gaalookalikes/images/martymorrissey.jpg)
Post by: muppet on September 06, 2008, 05:24:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 05, 2008, 09:47:15 AM
The thing that sickens me is (and Maloney does not seem as guilty) is the use of nicknames, particularly "The Gooch" "Star" "The Rock" etc etc..........That isnt their name. Marty The Martian is particularly bad for this.

Even more annoying is the use of their name and their knickname at the same time.

Tomorrow listen for Canning naming 'James Cha Fitzpatrick'. It is either James Fitzpatrick or Cha Fitzpatrick, only commentators call him James Cha Fitzpartick.
Post by: joemamas on September 06, 2008, 06:37:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 05, 2008, 09:59:46 AM
By law, every time Marty Morrissey is mentioned, I have to post this picture. Sorry. (Did you see him at the Olympics doing the Beach volleyball 'feature'? Surreal).
(http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney/gaalookalikes/images/bettyboop.gif)

(http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney/gaalookalikes/images/martymorrissey.jpg)

loved your story about his MC at the boxing years back.

is the beach vollyball bit on youtube or rte.

For whats its worth, Canning and Morrissey are both terrible. Canning is the more annoying of the two, as he is usually more incorrect re players scores. the way he change his tone makes me want to puke, for a good laugh listen to his reaction when Donnacha O Connor got sent off in drawn game.

Marty is well just Marty.

Moloney better by a mile. nobody in RTE seems to give a fcuk. Time for the GAA to get their own network, then they could dictate schedule of games to boost ratings.

I have to say I enjoyed tv3 commentary and analysis (david brady aside , he made me cringe everytime he spoke)

Post by: Carmen Stateside on September 06, 2008, 07:05:14 PM
 :D :D would love to see the beach volleyball bit!
Post by: Frank Casey on September 06, 2008, 07:32:01 PM
Do ye think Marty is more like Cousin Podge or Rodge?
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2008, 03:51:04 PM
If there is one thing worse than watching Kilkenny it is listening to Canning commentating on it.

And his first sentence had 'James Cha Fitzpatrick'. He doesn't even notice Duignan calls him 'Cha Fitzpatrick'.
Post by: Hardy on September 07, 2008, 04:16:31 PM
"Worse that watching Kilkenny?" I think they're absolutely magnificent to watch. How can you not enjoy watching the very best at their very best?

Agreed on Canning, of course.
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2008, 04:17:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 07, 2008, 04:16:31 PM
"Worse that watching Kilkenny?" I think they're absolutely magnificent to watch. How can you not enjoy watching the very best at their very best?

Agreed on Canning, of course.

I just them.
Post by: Hardy on September 07, 2008, 04:24:17 PM
I just them too!

Seriously, though, I think it's great sport, even though so one-sided. For me it's like watching Ali, Lester or Arkle. I'd use the word awesome, except I wouldn't use that word!
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2008, 04:29:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 07, 2008, 04:24:17 PM
I just them too!

Seriously, though, I think it's great sport, even though so one-sided. For me it's like watching Ali, Lester or Arkle. I'd use the word awesome, except I wouldn't use that word!

I wouldn't use awesome either, hate was the missing word in the other post.
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 17, 2008, 11:55:57 PM
Any confirmation yet who has Sunday's big gig?
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 18, 2008, 10:03:49 AM
Canning should never have been given another gig after crediting Kerry's second goal in the 1986 final to Mikey Spillane.
Post by: joemamas on September 18, 2008, 01:40:31 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on September 18, 2008, 10:03:49 AM
Canning should never have been given another gig after crediting Kerry's second goal in the 1986 final to Mikey Spillane.

Priceless, as they say in America, he must have a photo of someone somewhere.
Post by: guy crouchback on September 18, 2008, 02:19:23 PM
 does anyone else think that Micheal o Muircheartaigh has lost it. it could be that he is  getting old but the amount of mistakes he is making recently is unreal. he regularly gets the score wrong and has taken to rambling on with stories while play is going on. he used to this only in breaks in play.
Post by: cavanmaniac on September 18, 2008, 05:12:58 PM
Maloney or Canning? Well it's hardly a poser of daddy or chips proportions, is it?

Just imagine how much less of an impact Mugsy's goal v Dublin would have had a few years back if it had been Ger 'funeral cortege' Canning or Marty 'Deise-Banner-Treaty-Breffni-Rebel county' Morrissey at the mic.

No contest.

Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 18, 2008, 06:09:54 PM
Used have no time for Canning, but I like him now. Himself and Kevin McStay are very good. Same with Duignan in the hurling. You need a good analyiser beside you who can be quick to come in, instead of others who wait to be introduced.

Morrisey is alright, but you see him everywhere, ranging from Pitchside, to RTE News, to pre match.... He is lost in the whole scheme of things.

Maloney I like, sure he will find a home someday.

If anyone needs a finger pointed at, its Lyster and Spillane. Bring Down Jerome Quinn I say.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 18, 2008, 06:17:16 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on September 18, 2008, 02:19:23 PM
does anyone else think that Micheal o Muircheartaigh has lost it. it could be that he is  getting old but the amount of mistakes he is making recently is unreal. he regularly gets the score wrong and has taken to rambling on with stories while play is going on. he used to this only in breaks in play.
I always found MOM very inaccurate for identifying players.
Obviously he gets away with it on radio.
As seen in the documentary about him, he usually has a son or daughter with him as a spotter to point out the scorer's name on the programme to help him out.
Post by: Bomber on September 18, 2008, 07:39:55 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on September 18, 2008, 05:12:58 PM
Maloney or Canning? Well it's hardly a poser of daddy or chips proportions, is it?

Just imagine how much less of an impact Mugsy's goal v Dublin would have had a few years back if it had been Ger 'funeral cortege' Canning or Marty 'Deise-Banner-Treaty-Breffni-Rebel county' Morrissey at the mic.

No contest.

Magic, MAGIC MULLIGAN!!!!!!!
Post by: blast05 on September 18, 2008, 10:42:13 PM
QuoteCanning seems to be going through the motions with what seems like no interest in the process, using the same old cliches game after game. Maloney is way better he brings some excitement to the game.

Every one seems to be agreeing along the lines of the comment above. That would be all fair comment if it was based on Canning up to a few years ago imho but in the last few years i honestly think he has really got his act together. People are highlighting certain things he says as painful or whatever, such as "James cha Fitzpatrick" but sure equally there are things about Maloney that make you wish he would shut up. I'm not suggesting he is better than Maloney, mostly down to the way he gets players names wrong every so often but 2 things - over the past few seasons he appears to have a real level of enthusiam during a good game and also, while he gets a few names wrong, it is nowhere near as many as God himself - O' Muircheartaigh
As for Marty the Muppet - it could be the game of the decade and he wouldn't raise the decibel level a single notch ..... dreaming about being back in Bejing at the beach volleyball....
Post by: Frank Casey on September 18, 2008, 10:44:08 PM
Quote from: blast05 on September 18, 2008, 10:42:13 PM
[As for Marty the Muppet - it could be the game of the decade and he wouldn't raise the decibel level a single notch ..... dreaming about being back in Bejing at the beach volleyball....

Still think his cousins in Ballydung would be better (looking!!!!!!!!!).
Post by: 5 Sams on June 04, 2017, 07:24:32 PM
Watching the game again. Canning talking about Ethan Rafferty today...said he went to St Paul's in Bessbrook...whos prinicipal is Jarlath Burns, former Down Captain!!!!!!!!
Post by: shark on June 04, 2017, 07:46:58 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 04, 2017, 07:24:32 PM
Watching the game again. Canning talking about Ethan Rafferty today...said he went to St Paul's in Bessbrook...whos prinicipal is Jarlath Burns, former Down Captain!!!!!!!!

He is awful.

First play of the game, Down midfielder wins the throw in, goes on a run before losing possession about 30m from goal. Canning says "cut out at source by the Armagh backs". What does that even mean? He ran 40m with the ball before he lost it.

Canning doesn't have to talk so much, a bit of silence is fine.