Come in if you Hate Christmas

Started by Itchy, December 22, 2023, 02:17:07 PM

With such nice thread in Christmas songs etc it's only fair there is a thread for people like me who hate Christmas.

I hate...

Christmas trees (assembly and disassembly)
Christmas songs
Christmas movies
Christmas weather
Elf on the f**king Shelf

Sorry but I feel much better for coming out as a Christmas hater.

Am I alone?

laceer

I enjoy the majority of Christmas but the elf needs put in the bin.

Quote from: Itchy on December 22, 2023, 02:17:07 PMWith such nice thread in Christmas songs etc it's only fair there is a thread for people like me who hate Christmas.

I hate...

Christmas trees (assembly and disassembly)
Christmas songs
Christmas movies
Christmas weather
Elf on the f**king Shelf

Sorry but I feel much better for coming out as a Christmas hater.

Am I alone?

I don't hate Christmas but the expenditure is crazy (I know we don't need to spend it). The missus spent about £250 quid on "the big shop" and it's just pure madness for a few days. So I hate:

Spending money for the sake of it.
Taking boxes down from the attic.
The smell of cats piss and dropped needles from the trees.
Shit tv.
Never had Elf on the Shelf in our house and I can see the attraction for weans, however if you are an adult who puts pictures of it on social media for attention, then you need to take a long hard look at yourself.

In the main though I enjoy the time off work as everyone else is off so no shite to come back to. And I like drinking, eating, lying in, watching shit tv, reading books and having the fire lit every day.

Eire90

Has there ever been gaa matches on st stephens day did local teams ever play challanges games against each other or something like that.

I hate the commercialism especially this year with so many people struggling because of inflation.
I really don't like turkey and vegetables boiled to death.
but it's a magical time for kids and a bit of downtime.

GTP

Derry SFC final 1993 - The final was late because of Derry's run to Sam.  Lavey had been nominated for Ulster but after beating Kingscourt, they surrendered their title to eventual winners Errigal Ciaran. With Derry's team holiday looming, the final needed to be played on St Stephen's Day. (from Derrynow)

My favourite holiday by far.

Love the decorations, the tree, the songs, the films, the presents for the kids, the whole thing. Beginning of December, stick on the Phil Spector xmas record, start decorating the house inside and out, then watch the films over the course of the month. Nothing like it...

Only thing I cannot stand is here in the US where Christmas starts at Thanksgiving but then just shudders to a complete and abrupt stop at midnight Christmas night. Lots of people back to work the day after. Pisses me off big time.

Aristo 60

I lost my dad on Christmas day, a dear aunt on St Stephen's day and a dear uncle again on St Stephen's day, all in the space of 4 years - so past events will always have a bearing on our thoughts about Christmas. The old saying "sure its for the children" always rings true with me now.

Last year of Elf on the f*cking shelf here thank Christ. Plenty that annoys me about it all but still like it/enjoy it come the time

If yous want to kick me out I'll leave quietly. Promise 😀

gawa316

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 04:09:43 PMLast year of Elf on the f*cking shelf here thank Christ.

Same here...I have to do it every night so happy days. Have you any extravagant plans to communicate this to the childer or is he just not coming back next year full stop with no explanation?

The only thing I don't like about Christmas is the usual panic attack from the wife about getting things done or bought. Happens every year and every year everything turns out just fine 

jcpen

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 04:09:43 PMLast year of Elf on the f*cking shelf here thank Christ. Plenty that annoys me about it all but still like it/enjoy it come the time

If yous want to kick me out I'll leave quietly. Promise 😀
The time will come when you wish for the days when the kids were small enough for things like Elf on a shelf.
This is one of my 3 usernames.

Jc pen I agree tbh but the Elf is a right pain in the hole that you just remember about just as yer about to head to bed

Gawa last year of Santa so only fair to tell them that the elf's a pile of balls too. A double whammy lol. Like the time the wife told the eldest about Santa and wee bit about the birds and the bees all on the one day but that's another story 🤣🤣

burdizzo

Quote from: Eire90 on December 22, 2023, 03:03:14 PMHas there ever been gaa matches on st stephens day did local teams ever play challanges games against each other or something like that.

I think a few years ago Rathdowney and Errill played the Laois Junior C football final on St. Stephen's day. They're joined up for senior hurling, and no one was taking it too seriously, although some of the football heads were giving out that it denigrated the competition.

If nothing else Christmas breaks up the winter, Winter would be such a long drag of a season without that mental & physical holiday.

It's the longest straight run for time off for me, not back till the 3rd, so for me it's the best holiday

That's about it for me

She's stressed out these last few years for stepping up and doing the wider family Xmas dinner! It's fecking nuts on Xmas day and days leading up to it.

I basically stay out of the kitchen

The amount of money spent is horrendous and would easily cover first class flights to a Sandals resort for a week!

I'd rather give the kids £500 quid and move on.

Xmas movies are generally shite and Xmas songs are shite

I only get the tree down and put it back up in the loft when it's done!

I generally put on half a stone and knowing I'll be dieting come January is shite!

That said, my kids (in their 20's)are home and that can't be a bad thing, well, supplementing their activities is a pain too