GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Rossfan on May 03, 2016, 12:10:50 AM

Title: Laythrum v Ros 22/5/2016
Post by: Rossfan on May 03, 2016, 12:10:50 AM
Fresh from the humiliation in the Bronx it's straight into a dogfight in Attirory ( or is it Attyfinlay) against our most annoying and hate filled neighbours.
Jasus they'll burst themselves for this one as memories of 2000 will fire them to fierce heroics altogether.
Hope it doesn't spell the end of the McStay/Fergus project.
Title: Re: Laythrum v Ros 22/5/2016
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2016, 12:45:55 AM
Who the f**k is Fergus.
Post by: moysider on May 03, 2016, 01:03:24 AM

Why so disrespectful towards Leitrim?
Post by: seafoid on May 03, 2016, 06:07:04 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 03, 2016, 12:10:50 AM
Fresh from the humiliation in the Bronx it's straight into a dogfight in Attirory ( or is it Attyfinlay) against our most annoying and hate filled neighbours.
Jasus they'll burst themselves for this one as memories of 2000 will fire them to fierce heroics altogether.
I love the way counties see the neighbours. Ros really get wound up by Mayo who are mostly oblivious, having more uaisleacht and generally moving in more refined circles . Mayo wouldn't pay much attention either to Leitrim. Galway don't pay much attention to Ros agus mar sin de 
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2016, 07:36:36 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 03, 2016, 06:07:04 AM
I love the way counties see the neighbours. Ros really get wound up by Mayo who are mostly oblivious, having more uaisleacht and generally moving in more refined circles . Mayo wouldn't pay much attention either to Leitrim. Galway don't pay much attention to Ros agus mar sin de

Galway don't pay much attention to anything that isn't rugby.
Post by: seafoid on May 03, 2016, 08:42:44 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2016, 07:36:36 AM

you may not be familiar with the Disposable heroes of Hiphoprisy, syf. I think you would like them

for Ros the 'height of mediocrity is the challenge crawling through the entrails of football imbalance"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgoTSuBZPGI

Galway  fans are more capricious and only really get going when uaisleacht is visible.

I was in Pearse in Feb. Attendance was 2,300 for the footballers in the league and 7,000 for the hurlers the week later
Post by: Rossfan on May 03, 2016, 08:57:49 AM
 Uaisleacht me arse.
Gan suimneacht bféidir....
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 03, 2016, 10:48:23 AM
Probably right there seaf, I was listening to MWR a few years ago and somd Galway man came on saying that Galway fans tend to know when there's a good team coming along, and they will follow them, whereas Mayo fans blindly go after any team, good or bad.

Now back to Leitrim v Ros ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on May 03, 2016, 11:24:28 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 03, 2016, 10:48:23 AM
Probably right there seaf, I was listening to MWR a few years ago and somd Galway man came on saying that Galway fans tend to know when there's a good team coming along, and they will follow them, whereas Mayo fans blindly go after any team, good or bad.

Now back to Leitrim v Ros ;D

That's the same with every county? The thing with Mayo is that we have stayed at a certain level for 20 years now! Good enough to be there or there abouts, but never good enough to get over the line.
Post by: seafoid on May 03, 2016, 11:59:38 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 03, 2016, 08:57:49 AM
Uaisleacht me arse.
Gan suimneacht bféidir....

Donnellan solo runs ..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIV73ywp41o
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kE_maOQWTOk
den scoth
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2016, 01:00:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 03, 2016, 08:42:44 AM

you may not be familiar with the Disposable heroes of Hiphoprisy, syf. I think you would like them

for Ros the 'height of mediocrity is the challenge crawling through the entrails of football imbalance"

Galway  fans are more capricious and only really get going when uaisleacht is visible.

I was in Pearse in Feb. Attendance was 2,300 for the footballers in the league and 7,000 for the hurlers the week later

'Fans'

Sin è.

No fight in Galway these days.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 03, 2016, 01:24:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2016, 01:00:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 03, 2016, 08:42:44 AM

'Fans'

Sin è.

No fight in Galway these days.

Sunshine fans!
Post by: rosnarun on May 03, 2016, 02:18:57 PM
i think the biggest galway crowd i have seen in castle bar was the first round in 1998 . it was as though the feckers could smell something was up.
ever since I've always considered losing finals a privileged compare to a summer being cut short like those pre-backdoor seasons
Post by: ballinaman on May 03, 2016, 02:23:34 PM
This on in Pairc Sean?
Post by: Rossfan on May 03, 2016, 03:23:27 PM
Scheduled for there alright :D
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2016, 12:15:25 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 03, 2016, 03:23:27 PM
Scheduled for there alright :D

Didn't Johnno call Páirc Seán 'a fortress' back in the day when Galway were dripping with uaisleacht?

Mayo emerged from Páirc Seán in 2006 with just a few tail feathers left, and little to crow about. We recovered our plumage only to be battered from the top of the dung heap in late September. But Leitrim was a hell of a rattle. I remember watching from the grassy knoll with a few pals. Hard to believe it's been 10 years! When went down to 14 McDanger was brilliant coming deep and getting on ball. Unbelievably some people criticised him for doing this.
Dunno much about Leitrim now but if they are up for it Ros. might have a battle on their hands.

Post by: maigheo on May 04, 2016, 12:40:18 AM
I think Leitrim were missing one or two of there big guns that day. They had a big F.Forward who came on late who created havoc and probably would have won if he was fit to start.McDonald did indeed have one of his best games for Mayo that day  and it seemed to me that he took it upon himself to come out from full forward in the 2ind half to drag us over the line.I remember one great run that he made near the end when he took about 3 big hits but it hardly knocked a whiff out of him.Ros will in all likely hood win this one and if its a comprehensive victory the NY debacle will quickly be forgotten.
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2016, 10:13:33 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 03, 2016, 02:18:57 PM
i think the biggest galway crowd i have seen in castle bar was the first round in 1998 . it was as though the feckers could smell something was up.
ever since I've always considered losing finals a privileged compare to a summer being cut short like those pre-backdoor seasons
I miss the pre qualifier days as well. Following Galway agin Mayo from 95 to 98 was magical. Two fantastic teams ratcheting up the quality with every match.
Post by: Rossfan on May 04, 2016, 11:00:49 AM
I think we never lost a Championship game ibPàirc Sheàin.
Any defeats to them were in the Hyde or the old St Coman's .
Mind you we were glad to get away from Carrick with a draw in 2004.
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2016, 11:55:38 AM
The Leitrims are near as bad as the Mayos. Maybe even worse per capita. Christ a world where there was more Leitrim people. Terrible thought.
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2016, 04:59:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 04, 2016, 11:55:38 AM
The Leitrims are near as bad as the Mayos. Maybe even worse per capita. Christ a world where there was more Leitrim people. Terrible thought.
I always thought Leitrim people were dignified in defeat. And then every so often they win...
Post by: Rossfan on May 04, 2016, 05:03:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 04, 2016, 04:59:17 PM
I always thought Leitrim people were dignified in defeat. And then every so often they win...
It's how they behave before the defeat.....
" I'd rather be a Paki than a Ross" one year :(
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 04, 2016, 05:13:37 PM
A few of them sang that after losing to us in 06 too. I was wondering why sing it after losing to us.
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2016, 06:03:32 PM

Imagine Connacht v Munster in the rugby, Sea.
Post by: Rossfan on May 04, 2016, 08:44:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 04, 2016, 06:03:32 PM

? 2 lots of foreign professionals puckin each other like buck goats?
Nah! Us and the Laythrums don't stoop that low. >:(
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2016, 08:52:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 04, 2016, 08:44:06 PM

Im trying to talk to a Galway man in a langauge he'd understand..
Post by: Rossfan on May 04, 2016, 09:54:32 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 04, 2016, 08:52:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 04, 2016, 08:44:06 PM

Im trying to talk to a Galway man in a langauge he'd understand..

;D :D :D :D ;D
Post by: seafoid on May 05, 2016, 07:17:17 AM

No interest in provincial rugby syf. Ros have more exposure to the school of hard knocks I suppose.
I expect at least a qf appearance this year given the D1 status.
Post by: Rossfan on May 05, 2016, 03:33:12 PM
On the evening of 12th March a qtr final was a real live probably.
However after the 27/3, 3/4, 10/4 and 1/5 games and the performances therein playing Laythrum is the only thing on the agenda right now.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 05, 2016, 03:54:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 05, 2016, 07:17:17 AM

No interest in provincial rugby syf. Ros have more exposure to the school of hard knocks I suppose.
You are expecting too much I feel, would be a remarkable turnaround for Roscommon if they can go from a one point win against New York to reaching AI quarter final in one summer.
Post by: Syferus on May 05, 2016, 06:23:31 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 05, 2016, 03:54:57 PM

You are expecting too much I feel, would be a remarkable turnaround for Roscommon if they can go from a one point win against New York to reaching AI quarter final in one summer.

Sea has to find hope somewhere.
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2016, 12:31:43 AM

I dunno. They dodged a bullet in NY and they lost the later league games as well, but those games were against arguably the strongest teams when they had already reached their goal of staying in Div.1.
Ros. now have time to regroup, train on and set themselves up for championship. Championship will tell where they are at like it will for everybody else as well.
Post by: seafoid on May 06, 2016, 06:02:00 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2016, 12:31:43 AM

I dunno. They dodged a bullet in NY and they lost the later league games as well, but those games were against arguably the strongest teams when they had already reached their goal of staying in Div.1.
Ros. now have time to regroup, train on and set themselves up for championship. Championship will tell where they are at like it will for everybody else as well.
I thought they had a decent team.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 06, 2016, 05:16:30 PM
Seafoid is lamenting the Chokers v rhubarb rivalry in the mid to late nineties, have you forgotten your get out of jail free against the rossies in tuam and the gift goal in extra time in the replay in 1998 or the hammering in tuam in 2001 when only the new backdoor system saved yere bacon. maybe ye dont like the nightmares of being tested to the last by lesser beings and only reminisce about battles with what ye consider equals. That would be pretty much par for the course as Jim Carney of the tuam herald has shown many times in his anti rossie rants. 
Post by: Rossfan on May 06, 2016, 05:47:17 PM
And Seàn Bàn biased Gaillimheach floor as well >:(
Post by: seafoid on May 06, 2016, 05:59:11 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 06, 2016, 05:16:30 PM
Seafoid is lamenting the Chokers v rhubarb rivalry in the mid to late nineties, have you forgotten your get out of jail free against the rossies in tuam and the gift goal in extra time in the replay in 1998 or the hammering in tuam in 2001 when only the new backdoor system saved yere bacon. maybe ye dont like the nightmares of being tested to the last by lesser beings and only reminisce about battles with what ye consider equals. That would be pretty much par for the course as Jim Carney of the tuam herald has shown many times in his anti rossie rants.
The thing is they won the fn thing in both of those years.
I would love to see Ros winning the all Ireland. Why can't they ?
Post by: giveballaghback on May 11, 2016, 02:48:53 PM
Any news from Rossie camp re injuries, midfield will be a big problem Sunday week, none of our injured players seem to be making progress looking at the club lineouts and reports from last weekends club games, will have it all to do in pairc Sean by all accounts, Leitrim will be setting up ultra defensively as they did against Galway last year and Ros have problems playing against these systems especially on a tight pitch like carrick.
Now Leitrim finished second last in div 4 but how much would they have beaten Ny by if they played them.
I was in Ny and it was a terrible display, in my time watching championship football the worst display by far. Reading Mcstays interview in yesterdays indo gaa mag he is very much at odds with the display and seems very unsure of what ground we stand on. A little disconcerting so near a championship  that we have been preparing for since last October.
Some think this is all part of the greater plan, not so I say. Only good performances and decisive wins against both Leitrim and Sligo will steady the ship and give the team confidence to face a Connacht final on July 10. 
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 11, 2016, 03:19:50 PM
Talk of a Connacht final on July 10th needs to be parked for Roscommon. After what happened in New York it would be foolish to think that far ahead, leitrims lack of firepower their problem but Sligo are well capable of beating Roscommon again.
Post by: Rossfan on May 11, 2016, 04:11:01 PM
Let's just show a biteen of respect and play Leitrim first.
After NY all the carried away guff should be put to bed.
Post by: Syferus on May 11, 2016, 06:03:52 PM
Only the totally mad people in the county would be look is beyond Leitrim. Even Sligo aren't on the radar, let alone a Connacht final.
Post by: seafoid on May 11, 2016, 08:14:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 11, 2016, 06:03:52 PM
Only the totally mad people in the county would be look is beyond Leitrim. Even Sligo aren't on the radar, let alone a Connacht final.
I don't believe that you are drinking g the Kool Aid syf
Post by: giveballaghback on May 11, 2016, 10:32:47 PM
I have total respect for both Leitrim and Sligo, an upset is always a possibility, if either side beats us then the Ny form will have been rubber stamped and we are right back where we started before the new management team took over.
So if we dont qualify for the Connacht final then we are not a top 16 team never mind a top 8 team.
We have survived the warning in Ny. The next 2 games will tell us for once and for all where this group of players are, I believe they will come up trumps and reach a Connacht final for the first time since 2011.
Keep yere knickers on lads, if stating the obvious hexes the team then maybe they are not the team most ros supporters think they are.
We will reach a Connacht final, unless Mayo have gone back considerably we will lose the final but I would hope that we can reach a quarter final, that would be progress for this season. Losing to Leitrim or Sligo would be a major step back. No disrespect to those 2 teams but thems the facts. Now shout and fart all ye like ;D
Post by: sligoman2 on May 11, 2016, 10:53:18 PM
Remember that Sligo's best performance comes when we are severe underdogs.

- Leitrim will be big favorites when we play them.   ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: weareros on May 12, 2016, 12:18:00 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 11, 2016, 08:14:16 PM

Kook Aid? With 10 mins to go we were no longer drinking cold beer in the Bronx.
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 07:25:19 AM
Quote from: weareros on May 12, 2016, 12:18:00 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 11, 2016, 08:14:16 PM

Kook Aid? With 10 mins to go we were no longer drinking cold beer in the Bronx.
Those matches are always tricky. the thing is to get past them
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 09:45:09 AM
I see McHale telling www.gaa.ie that Enda Smith and Ian Kilbride won't be in contention for this game.
Cian Connolly has to have an operation on his jaw as for the second year in a row a Ros player's jaw has been broken by " our exiles".
Sounds like Cathal Shine won't be ready either while Conor Daly is heading to the U.S. for the Summer.
Hopefully we'll have 21 players anyway.
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 02:27:50 PM
If Ros do get bet it will be a big shock
Post by: Blowitupref on May 12, 2016, 03:14:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 02:27:50 PM
Will be less of a shock now with a dozen injuries and only falling over the line against New York.
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 03:27:51 PM
We'll be fragile enough but hopefully can pull through with a higher work rate than seemed to be the case in NY.
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 03:56:44 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 12, 2016, 03:14:09 PM
Will be less of a shock now with a dozen injuries and only falling over the line against New York.
Division 1 and losing to Leitrim?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 12, 2016, 04:09:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 03:56:44 PM
Has happened before when division 1 Roscommon lost to Leitrim in 2000.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 12, 2016, 04:20:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 09:45:09 AM
I see McHale telling www.gaa.ie that Enda Smith and Ian Kilbride won't be in contention for this game.
Cian Connolly has to have an operation on his jaw as for the second year in a row a Ros player's jaw has been broken by " our exiles".
Sounds like Cathal Shine won't be ready either while Conor Daly is heading to the U.S. for the Summer.
Hopefully we'll have 21 players anyway.
Saw that. Why have Ros so many injuries?
Post by: Rudi on May 12, 2016, 04:31:51 PM
Good question, why year in year out have we so many injuries?. We are short 7 first choice midfielders due to injury or lack of match fitness due to injury.

Kevin Higgins, Cathal Shine, Donie Shine, Ian Kilbride, Cathal Compton, Thomas Corcoran and Enda Smith.

What the f@ck are they at in training it can't be all bad luck.

Compare us to Mayo, where would they be going without the 2 bears, Parsons, Moran etc.

With all these injuries we have not a hope of making a meaningful impact on the championship. :'(
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 04:33:39 PM
League Championship chalk cheese
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2016, 05:24:47 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 04:33:39 PM

Ian Senan
Post by: muppet on May 12, 2016, 05:41:34 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 12, 2016, 04:31:51 PM
Good question, why year in year out have we so many injuries?. We are short 7 first choice midfielders due to injury or lack of match fitness due to injury.

Kevin Higgins, Cathal Shine, Donie Shine, Ian Kilbride, Cathal Compton, Thomas Corcoran and Enda Smith.

Compare us to Mayo, where would they be going without the 2 bears, Parsons, Moran etc.

With all these injuries we have not a hope of making a meaningful impact on the championship. :'(

How can a team have 7 first choice midfielders at any given time?
Post by: giveballaghback on May 12, 2016, 07:10:14 PM
Were you a barrister in a previous life muppet? you ask very awkward questions. ;D
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 07:52:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 04:33:39 PM
Best team since early 00s so have to make a mark surely. Won't be coming around again for 15 years...
Post by: Itchy on May 12, 2016, 09:05:47 PM
Look lads, Roscommon will easily dispose of Leitrim and Sligo. They could win both by 6 points minimum
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 12, 2016, 09:25:26 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 12, 2016, 04:31:51 PM

Cripes! I've heard of packed defenses but this is a completely new one on me.  ;D
Packed midfield, who else would have thought of that. I tell ye, McStay and yer man are more than just pretty faces.
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 01:06:08 PM
The psychology of the Ros fans is fascinating and there is easily enough in it for a PhD by the looks of things.
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2016, 01:15:50 PM
Looking forward to next weekend. Hard to call it the real start to the championship after the last day but it feels like it. Lots of questions to be answered.
Post by: Tubberman on May 13, 2016, 01:49:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 01:06:08 PM
The psychology of the Ros fans is fascinating and there is easily enough in it for a PhD by the looks of things.

At least there are Ros fans to practice your amateur psychology on, you'd be hard pressed to find enthusiastic Galway supporters.
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2016, 05:05:53 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 13, 2016, 01:49:33 PM
, you'd be hard pressed to find Galway supporters.
That's what you really meant wasn't it? ;D
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 05:20:42 PM
There are very few supporters of any description on this site these days
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on May 13, 2016, 05:24:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2016, 05:05:53 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 13, 2016, 01:49:33 PM
, you'd be hard pressed to find Galway supporters.
That's what you really meant wasn't it? ;D
Ye are a barrel of laughs lads🙄
Post by: Jinxy on May 14, 2016, 02:31:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 05:20:42 PM
There are very few supporters of any description on this site these days

Too many 'hurling men' on it, if you ask me.
Post by: Mclf on May 16, 2016, 12:40:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2016, 01:15:50 PM
Looking forward to next weekend. Hard to call it the real start to the championship after the last day but it feels like it. Lots of questions to be answered.

You are a weekend too early I think, ye are not out against London until the following weekend, I hope you didn't book flights and accommodation for wrong weekend
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2016, 11:32:23 AM
Don't know if we'll have 15 lads fit at all with all the rumours, halftruths, whispers etc that I'm hearing.
Assuming these bbucks are fit I expect to see
Claffey
Seànie Collins Mullooly
Murray Keenan McInerney
JMcD N Daly
FCregg Murtagh Devaney
Murtagh Senan CCregg
Post by: Rossfan on May 18, 2016, 11:20:37 PM
This game still on?
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2016, 09:30:27 PM
This is how you announce a motherfûckin team:

http://wordpress-1-1635781927.eu-west-1.elb.amazonaws.com/roscommongaa/squad/4557442/
Post by: Rossfan on May 20, 2016, 10:52:49 PM
No need to be so coarse Syfín >:(
Aye that sort of thing will show the Laythrum alright.
Ros Gaels bias coming through and how is that Clann buck one of our 26 best.
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2016, 10:55:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 20, 2016, 10:52:49 PM
No need to be so coarse Syfín >:(
Aye that sort of thing will show the Laythrum alright.
Ros Gaels bias coming through and how is that Clann buck one of our 26 best.

Was very good for the U21s this year.
Post by: Rossfan on May 20, 2016, 11:07:29 PM
He was alright but from nowhere to the 26............ :-\
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2016, 11:14:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 20, 2016, 11:07:29 PM
He was alright but from nowhere to the 26............ :-\

How many fit players do we have to cover the FB line? Carty, barely a wet Sunday back after half a year on the sideline? Makes sense to me in the circumstances. Lennon is someone who could develop into a starter if he shows well in training.
Post by: Jinxy on May 20, 2016, 11:42:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 20, 2016, 09:30:27 PM

http://wordpress-1-1635781927.eu-west-1.elb.amazonaws.com/roscommongaa/squad/4557442/

Look at the length of the grass.  ;D
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2016, 12:53:31 AM
Fair play to club Rossie.
I bet loads of 10 year old Rossies are interested this year and that it what it is all about at the end of the day
Post by: Beffs on May 21, 2016, 01:51:07 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 20, 2016, 11:42:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 20, 2016, 09:30:27 PM

Look at the length of the grass.  ;D

What county did they have to travel to, to take such a great photo of it.  ;D
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2016, 10:24:40 AM
Going by our subs list we must be going to make a lot of defensive changes during the game!!
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2016, 01:22:39 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/roscommon/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255462
Post by: Rossfan on May 22, 2016, 12:29:41 PM
Time to head to Carrick and join the traffic queue.
Sun, rain and wind.
Best of luck to the lads - let's get the train back on track.
Post by: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 03:35:21 PM
Leitrim 0.01  Ros 0.00
Post by: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 03:45:50 PM
Leitrim 0.01  Ros 0.04
Post by: twohands!!! on May 22, 2016, 03:47:23 PM
Ros 0-4 Leitrim 0-1 12 minutes

http://www.shannonside.ie/
Post by: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 03:53:12 PM
Leitrim 0.03  Ros 0.05
Post by: twohands!!! on May 22, 2016, 03:57:17 PM
5th wide for Roscommon.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 22, 2016, 04:00:41 PM
Leitrim 0.04  Ros 0.06
Post by: twohands!!! on May 22, 2016, 04:01:21 PM
Leitrim 0:04  Ros 1:06
Post by: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 04:10:53 PM
Leitrim 0.04  Ros 1.10 Nearly halftime
Post by: seafoid on May 22, 2016, 04:12:58 PM
Leitrim backs are poor. The béal bocht was shite.
Post by: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 04:17:27 PM
What happened to the bould Willie H today?Less entertainment but we will at least know what is happening on the pitch :)
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 22, 2016, 04:18:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 22, 2016, 04:12:58 PM
Leitrim backs are poor. The béal bocht was shite.
Never fell for it anyway.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 04:23:33 PM
Quote from: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 04:17:27 PM
What happened to the bould Willie H today?Less entertainment but we will at least know what is happening on the pitch :)

You wouldn't want him wasting his tenuous analogies on a game like this.
Much like a man using a harpoon to fish for pike.
Post by: Syferus on May 22, 2016, 04:28:53 PM
Donie winning everything inside and kicked by soke beautiful points. Murtaghs playing well too. John Mac having his best game at senior. James Mac having a very good debut so far. Seanie cleaning up a lot of ball and full of running too.

Not in a mental state where we can afford to ease off in the second half. Need to put the boot in now to get the heads straight for the next day.
Post by: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 04:45:22 PM
Leitrim 0.08  Ros 1.13
Post by: maigheo on May 22, 2016, 04:56:26 PM
Leitrim 0.10 Ros 1.15    10 to go
Post by: Syferus on May 22, 2016, 05:39:41 PM
Didn't really turn up in the second half until Leitrim lost the heads and a man. Played well at the end of both halves and that was that. Shine, John Mac and Seanie the best on day, Fintan Cregg got the man of the match nod but any of the four were worthy. Good to see Cathal Shine coming on and looking sharp. He's our one midfielder who has all the tools to compete with Mayo's Agri Show selection of bullocks in the middle. Even if we beat Sligo we won't be found out in the middle but against the top teams you need a guy you can hang your hat on to win aerial battles.

Seanie McDermott had his 150th appearance for Roscommon today. Incredible servant. Not many players can say they've hit that total.
Post by: Rossfan on May 22, 2016, 09:20:53 PM
Strange atmosphereless game which followed the May script of D1 team easily disposing of limited D4 team while not playing all that well.
Some great points by us from play, some awful free taking, totally unable to defend against opponents who run at us, a lot of sides in the 3rd quarter especially.
Excellent performances from Seànie, Fintan, Devaney and Ronan Daly brought a lot to the table.
Some stinkers too incl Syfín's hero.
Anyway we've progressed to the Semi Final with 2 wins under our belts while Galway and Sligo are at the same stage without kicking a ball.
Meanwhile Laythrum go into the All Ireland Qualifiers why I don't know as they won't qualify for anything.
Oh yes now I remember....
They ain't going to be put into any B or 2nd tier competition ::)
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 11:31:25 AM
I was listening to Shannonside. I forgot the pronunciation. Riscommon.
Why are they not called the Rissies?
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 11:59:25 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 22, 2016, 09:20:53 PM
Strange atmosphereless game which followed the May script of D1 team easily disposing of limited D4 team while not playing all that well.
Some great points by us from play, some awful free taking, totally unable to defend against opponents who run at us, a lot of sides in the 3rd quarter especially.
Excellent performances from Seànie, Fintan, Devaney and Ronan Daly brought a lot to the table.
Anyway we've progressed to the Semi Final with 2 wins under our belts while Galway and Sligo are at the same stage without kicking a ball.
Meanwhile Laythrum go into the All Ireland Qualifiers why I don't know as they won't qualify for anything.

All 26 are my heroes.
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2016, 12:08:13 PM
Now now Syfín - some are more heroic than others in your worldeen ;D
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 12:11:31 PM
Anyways good to see Ros performing well. It won't be a cakewalk for the rhubarbs
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 12:54:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 22, 2016, 09:20:53 PM
It's not about winning the all Ireland for most counties though. Leitrim have their own goals. What was the point of Ros or Galway taking part in the last 5 years ? 
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2016, 01:23:03 PM
Galway qualified for a couple of Quarter finals didn't they.
That should be the aim anyway of teams in the Qualifiers - to qualify.
Post by: theyellowbus on May 23, 2016, 03:26:37 PM

I seen a man from Leitrim at the game yesterday with his three young sons who were all togged out in their native colours and i felt a wee bit of admiration as well as sadness for the young lads.
Its very hard to encourage lads like that to take up football and keep at it when you see your own county performing so poorly like yesterday.
I still think that all counties should be allowed their chances in the all Ireland series as i don't agree with these so called B championships or whatever they are.
The GAA at a higher level should be doing more to promote and help nurture a higher standard in so called weaker counties as there seems to be an acceptance of results like yesterday which happen around this time of year.
I was very disappointed with the Leitrim following yesterday as in fairness to them they are usually a lot more vocal than they were yesterday and i would say that their actual support was less than half of the attendance which for a home game is poor.
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2016, 03:33:42 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on May 23, 2016, 03:26:37 PM

I seen a man from Leitrim at the game yesterday with his three young sons who were all togged out in their native colours and i felt a wee bit of admiration as well as sadness for the young lads.
Its very hard to encourage lads like that to take up football and keep at it when you see your own county performing so poorly like yesterday.
I still think that all counties should be allowed their chances in the all Ireland series as i don't agree with these so called B championships or whatever they are.
The GAA at a higher level should be doing more to promote and help nurture a higher standard in so called weaker counties as there seems to be an acceptance of results like yesterday which happen around this time of year.
I was very disappointed with the Leitrim following yesterday as in fairness to them they are usually a lot more vocal than they were yesterday and i would say that their actual support was less than half of the attendance which for a home game is poor.

Maybe, just maybe, they'll actually enjoy playing the game?
Post by: theyellowbus on May 23, 2016, 03:50:24 PM

Yeah starting off but what happens when they come to 16/17 and they might have a chance of maybe getting into a county set up and the training/commitment is something they haven't experienced before and the enjoyment factor begins to diminish.
Its very easy for a young lad to say F**k this sure we are going to get beat anyway.
I was watching highlights from the Munster minor championship last Saturday on TG4. Kerry V Clare and Cork v Limerick.
In both games it never looked like any other outcome only Kerry and Cork wins.
Cork actually gave Limerick an awful thumping.
While the pride of wearing your county jersey supersedes any other kind of pride a young lad playing football at that age has it surely goes out the window twenty mins to go in the second half of a game you have already been beat in twice over.
I firmly believe that the GAA hierarchy in this country are not doing enough to bridge gaps like that and seem to accept it as some kind of ritual which should happen anyway.
Post by: joemamas on May 23, 2016, 04:30:55 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on May 23, 2016, 03:50:24 PM

Yeah starting off but what happens when they come to 16/17 and they might have a chance of maybe getting into a county set up and the training/commitment is something they haven't experienced before and the enjoyment factor begins to diminish.
Its very easy for a young lad to say F**k this sure we are going to get beat anyway.
I was watching highlights from the Munster minor championship last Saturday on TG4. Kerry V Clare and Cork v Limerick.
While the pride of wearing your county jersey supersedes any other kind of pride a young lad playing football at that age has it surely goes out the window twenty mins to go in the second half of a game you have already been beat in twice over.
I firmly believe that the GAA hierarchy in this country are not doing enough to bridge gaps like that and seem to accept it as some kind of ritual which should happen anyway.

Understatement of the year, why would they not do something simple like give 1-2k tickets to each county in div 3 and 4  to be given to u10 u12 u14 kids to go to the all-Ireland Q finals and or qualifier games on August bank holiday for a start. Dublin will not be playing until the following Saturday August 6th, so there will be 30-35k max on the Saturday July 30th and Sunday July 31st. It will be like a morgue.
Then no matter what the cost give the same counties 30-40 coaches, to work with all kids 8 and above. Do it on a basis of use them or lose them. If the counties don't use them for a two or three year period, then shame on them.
I don't have all the answers but given the potential divergence between the top divisions and the lower ones, this is only going to get worse.
As an aside, how the hell will the Leitrim, Derry, Antrim, wicklow, Carlow, (add probably Waterford and Limerick in next week)managers be able to keep any young fell under 22 or 23 around for another month to train to be sacrificial lambs to some other teams in the qualifiers. No insult meant to the teams named.
Post by: AQMP on May 23, 2016, 04:54:45 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 23, 2016, 04:30:55 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on May 23, 2016, 03:50:24 PM

Understatement of the year, why would they not do something simple like give 1-2k tickets to each county in div 3 and 4  to be given to u10 u12 u14 kids to go to the all-Ireland Q finals and or qualifier games on August bank holiday for a start. Dublin will not be playing until the following Saturday August 6th, so there will be 30-35k max on the Saturday July 30th and Sunday July 31st. It will be like a morgue.
Then no matter what the cost give the same counties 30-40 coaches, to work with all kids 8 and above. Do it on a basis of use them or lose them. If the counties don't use them for a two or three year period, then shame on them.
I don't have all the answers but given the potential divergence between the top divisions and the lower ones, this is only going to get worse.
As an aside, how the hell will the Leitrim, Derry, Antrim, wicklow, Carlow, (add probably Waterford and Limerick in next week)managers be able to keep any young fell under 22 or 23 around for another month to train to be sacrificial lambs to some other teams in the qualifiers. No insult meant to the teams named.

If I were a Derryman...ouch!!
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 05:15:57 PM
You know you're in dire trouble when we're hammering you in the summer.
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 10:00:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 05:15:57 PM
You know you're in dire trouble when we're hammering you in the summer.
You must be looking forward to this summer, Syf.
Ros have had a hard enough time over the last 15 years