Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

The Golden Years

Quote from: HalfBack7 on January 07, 2020, 05:24:57 PM
I see on the Castlederg facebook they have appointed Kevin McCrystal (Carrickmore) as manager, with Damien McCafferty (Errigal Ciaran) as trainer and Niall Owens (Beragh) involved also.

Not sure I've heard their names before. Have they been involved with any other clubs previously??

Is this a joke?  If not, surely Castlederg are not paying for this set-up?

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: Mikhailov on January 08, 2020, 10:33:33 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on January 08, 2020, 09:17:09 AM
Quote from: trailer on January 07, 2020, 07:20:31 PM
Who's over Edendork this year? What is Barton (a specialist in failure) up to?

Turned down Ballinderry by all accounts. Must be taking a year off.

Wouldn't say Barton is a specialist in failure. His list of clubs has some of the biggest teams in Ulster - Burren, Ballinderry, Loup, Slaughtneil plus UUJ and Derry. Not every team wins but surely he must be decent if he has coached all them calibre of teams. I totally agree that if success is measured on medals then he has failed but has he left the clubs in a better place than when he arrived - that is the key of a good manager.
If you don't take into account the 5 starred games which realistic Edendork would struggle to win w/o their county men then they are playing for a total of 20 points. Tough to stay in Div 1 when you need to get 10/12 points out of 20 in which you are competitive in. Got them 4 championship victories in 2 seasons which is not bad either.

Had heard he turned down 2 Div1 clubs in Tyrone also along with Ballinderry who thought they had him in the bag for the 2020 season

Gets a lot of sh*t, especially here but he's a good football man. Rarely hear a bad word about him from anyone at any club he's ever been at.

Gaagaagaa20

Quote from: GetOverTheBar on January 08, 2020, 10:37:24 AM

Wouldn't say Barton is a specialist in failure. His list of clubs has some of the biggest teams in Ulster - Burren, Ballinderry, Loup, Slaughtneil plus UUJ and Derry. Not every team wins but surely he must be decent if he has coached all them calibre of teams. I totally agree that if success is measured on medals then he has failed but has he left the clubs in a better place than when he arrived - that is the key of a good manager.
If you don't take into account the 5 starred games which realistic Edendork would struggle to win w/o their county men then they are playing for a total of 20 points. Tough to stay in Div 1 when you need to get 10/12 points out of 20 in which you are competitive in. Got them 4 championship victories in 2 seasons which is not bad either.

Had heard he turned down 2 Div1 clubs in Tyrone also along with Ballinderry who thought they had him in the bag for the 2020 season

Gets a lot of sh*t, especially here but he's a good football man. Rarely hear a bad word about him from anyone at any club he's ever been at.
Aye what a great interpretation from the pair of youse. He has taken a nice wage from Edendork and left them in a lower division than where he started. I doubt they'll be too worried about whether he is a "good football man". Just another in a long line of managers who hop from club to club seeking a small fortune. Is a laughing stock in his own county because of it

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: Gaagaagaa20 on January 08, 2020, 11:16:24 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on January 08, 2020, 10:37:24 AM

Aye what a great interpretation from the pair of youse. He has taken a nice wage from Edendork and left them in a lower division than where he started. I doubt they'll be too worried about whether he is a "good football man". Just another in a long line of managers who hop from club to club seeking a small fortune. Is a laughing stock in his own county because of it

This is where I stopped reading to be honest.

HalfBack7

Quote from: The Golden Years on January 08, 2020, 10:36:31 AM
I see on the Castlederg facebook they have appointed Kevin McCrystal (Carrickmore) as manager, with Damien McCafferty (Errigal Ciaran) as trainer and Niall Owens (Beragh) involved also.

Not sure I've heard their names before. Have they been involved with any other clubs previously??

Interesting comment coming from one of his own clubmen. Thought it a strange one myself as I have never heard tell of either of the three men in terms of managing a senior club before.
Apart from being involved with Tyrone ladies and a short stint with Derrytresk does he have any experience of managing within Carrickmore?

The Golden Years

Quote from: HalfBack7 on January 08, 2020, 12:02:14 PM

Interesting comment coming from one of his own clubmen. Thought it a strange one myself as I have never heard tell of either of the three men in terms of managing a senior club before.
Apart from being involved with Tyrone ladies and a short stint with Derrytresk does he have any experience of managing within Carrickmore?

Don't get me wrong,  Kevin is a grand fella but he can be a bit ignorant.  No doubt there will be fall outs with him involved.  Not sure on his footballing brain.  He wouldn't come to mind as someone I would have thought would be appointed to a senior club managers post in Tyrone.  His experience at this level either playing or management would be little.  Don't know who Damien McCafferty is but if the Niall Owens fella is the fella I am thinking off then I can't honestly see what he could bring to the table.  I remember him at school and his footballing knowledge would be zero.  Maybe he has learned something in the mean time. Its strange appointment to me but maybe I am the person that knows nothing. 

Pearse Blue

Quote from: square_ball on January 07, 2020, 10:33:31 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on January 07, 2020, 10:28:30 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 07, 2020, 10:26:38 PM
Quote from: WT4E on January 07, 2020, 10:20:54 PM
The brother Lorcan I believe.

He was an S&C coach for some team in the past I believe cant mind who - must be into the coaching/managing too.

He was S&C coach with Slaughtneil in 2019 and I think he has been with Cavan underage teams as well in the last.

He was also S & C for TyroneU21s in 2015 when they won the All Ireland !!!

You're right so he was. Forgot about that and the Fermanagh job. Maybe he wasn't at Cavan at all. Hard to keep up sometimes with who has been where.
Was in Cavan with McGleenan. However, I don't think it matters where he has been. Edendork will struggle this year big time with Morgan, Darren and Conn with Tyrone. Edendork have a good 15 (Including the 3 county lads) but after that they are very very poor. Barely anything on the bench in the championship last year against Carrickmore and it cost them the game.

GaelTheGael

Quote from: Pearse Blue on January 08, 2020, 12:58:17 PM

He was an S&C coach for some team in the past I believe cant mind who - must be into the coaching/managing too.

He was S&C coach with Slaughtneil in 2019 and I think he has been with Cavan underage teams as well in the last.

You're right so he was. Forgot about that and the Fermanagh job. Maybe he wasn't at Cavan at all. Hard to keep up sometimes with who has been where.
Was in Cavan with McGleenan. However, I don't think it matters where he has been. Edendork will struggle this year big time with Morgan, Darren and Conn with Tyrone. Edendork have a good 15 (Including the 3 county lads) but after that they are very very poor. Barely anything on the bench in the championship last year against Carrickmore and it cost them the game.
Edendork the standout team in Intermediate this year. Will go in as favourites for both league and championship. With the exception of Eglish, they will still expect to win their starred games against anyone else in Division 2.

W.A.G. Lover

Quote from: GaelTheGael on January 08, 2020, 01:05:16 PM

Edendork the standout team in Intermediate this year. Will go in as favourites for both league and championship. With the exception of Eglish, they will still expect to win their starred games against anyone else in Division 2.

I would imagine Clogher, Owen Roes, Gortin, Moortown, Augher, Beragh, Aghyaran, Greencastle, Strabane, Stewartstown, Newtown (In order of 2019 league table) will have something to say about that. Tyrone Intermediate football is the most competitive around the province.

Pearse Blue

Their number 10 in the championship (i think it was conn kilpatricks younger brother) got wrecked and could barely walk never mind run and they still didn't make a sub. D2 can be a growling place when you start to lose games, which they will without Darren and Conn. Not to mention, they have also lost Paul Donaghy to dungannon as well. So they are down 4 key players for for a third of the season. FFS they will be pulling the Mcguckins back to play..

Surely that Donaghy transfer couldn't have went down well in the club? Any easties have knowledge?

WT4E

Quote from: The Golden Years on January 08, 2020, 12:14:03 PM
Quote from: HalfBack7 on January 08, 2020, 12:02:14 PM

Don't get me wrong,  Kevin is a grand fella but he can be a bit ignorant.  No doubt there will be fall outs with him involved.  Not sure on his footballing brain.  He wouldn't come to mind as someone I would have thought would be appointed to a senior club managers post in Tyrone.  His experience at this level either playing or management would be little.  Don't know who Damien McCafferty is but if the Niall Owens fella is the fella I am thinking off then I can't honestly see what he could bring to the table.  I remember him at school and his footballing knowledge would be zero.  Maybe he has learned something in the mean time. Its strange appointment to me but maybe I am the person that knows nothing.

Now rooting for Castlederg this year!!!! :D

WT4E

Anyone hear that the reserve leagues are changing this year?

OurKid 2.0

Quote from: W.A.G. Lover on January 08, 2020, 01:47:35 PM

I would imagine Clogher, Owen Roes, Gortin, Moortown, Augher, Beragh, Aghyaran, Greencastle, Strabane, Stewartstown, Newtown (In order of 2019 league table) will have something to say about that. Tyrone Intermediate football is the most competitive around the province.

That's a brave call predicting 11 teams who could do well this year very ballsy as they say live by the sword die by the sword

redhandefender

I would say they thought if he could handle the maturity levels of the U14's girls he might have a chance with the derg fellas

GlenMan

Quote from: Pearse Blue on January 08, 2020, 01:47:44 PM

Their number 10 in the championship (i think it was conn kilpatricks younger brother) got wrecked and could barely walk never mind run and they still didn't make a sub. D2 can be a growling place when you start to lose games, which they will without Darren and Conn. Not to mention, they have also lost Paul Donaghy to dungannon as well. So they are down 4 key players for for a third of the season. FFS they will be pulling the Mcguckins back to play..

Surely that Donaghy transfer couldn't have went down well in the club? Any easties have knowledge?

Surely that transfer hasn't actually happened yet! (If it happens at all)