Started by Oakleafer93, June 03, 2009, 01:17:25 PM

Quote from: NAG1 on May 08, 2015, 01:51:25 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 12:37:43 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 08, 2015, 12:25:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 10:52:01 PM
Going to Cuba in 4 weeks. Can't wait!
What way are you flying?  We looked at it but we only had a week spare, and couldn't find a good enough two-centre holiday for a week, and to fly without going through a holiday company was a bit dear (flying through Toronto was cheapest option). 

Ps on the hire car - booked through arguscarhire.com for car rental from Geneva in July so didn't know who I was booking with til we'd paid - ended up getting Sixt  ;D

Aye, Dublin-Toronto-Havana. Minimal stopovers.

Sure soon enough you could fly to the states and get the ferry lol

The idea is to get there before the yanks ruin it!

50fiftyball

Looking at Vegas seriously this year..

Always wanted to do vegas but could never get it enough time off with work, July/August would be too extreme heat by the looks of it, any opinions on best time of year to go? Looking at October/November.. Want weather to still be warm enough to get a colour!  ;D

Flights aren't too bad from Dublin, can get them for under £400. As regards hotels I'll probably have to go for the MGM, "when in Rome", or New York New York. Couldn't afford Bellagio or Encore at Wynn etc but would be a dream! Likely head out to Grand Canyon for a few days and maybe a helicopter tour over it.

Mikhailov

Quote from: 50fiftyball on May 15, 2015, 11:53:50 AM

Always wanted to do vegas but could never get it enough time off with work, July/August would be too extreme heat by the looks of it, any opinions on best time of year to go? Looking at October/November.. Want weather to still be warm enough to get a colour!  ;D

Flights aren't too bad from Dublin, can get them for under £400. As regards hotels I'll probably have to go for the MGM, "when in Rome", or New York New York. Couldn't afford Bellagio or Encore at Wynn etc but would be a dream! Likely head out to Grand Canyon for a few days and maybe a helicopter tour over it.

LV is some spot but all of the hotels are good so don't worry about that, both the MGM and NY-NY are very good options. They are at one end of the strip so there will be plenty of walking to do but you will do that anyway irrespective of where you stay.. The Mirage and Treasure Island are first class hotels but slightly cheaper than the high end ones as is Caesers Palace which is centrally located. You will enjoy it for sure. If going to the Canyon, take some warm clothes as it can get chilly out there. I have been at various times of the year but September/October would be the best if you want warm weather but not too hot. There are plenty of pools about to keep you cool....

Quote from: Mikhailov on May 15, 2015, 12:38:40 PM
Quote from: 50fiftyball on May 15, 2015, 11:53:50 AM

LV is some spot but all of the hotels are good so don't worry about that, both the MGM and NY-NY are very good options. They are at one end of the strip so there will be plenty of walking to do but you will do that anyway irrespective of where you stay.. The Mirage and Treasure Island are first class hotels but slightly cheaper than the high end ones as is Caesers Palace which is centrally located. You will enjoy it for sure. If going to the Canyon, take some warm clothes as it can get chilly out there. I have been at various times of the year but September/October would be the best if you want warm weather but not too hot. There are plenty of pools about to keep you cool....

you'll have a blast 50fifty. We stayed in the NYNY hotel a couple of years ago. Went for a week. Had planned to take a helicopter ride to the nearest part of the Grand Canyon but ended up changing our plans as there was so much craic being had in Vegas. As Mikhailov said, NYNY and MGM are down near the bottom of the strip. There is a fair bit of walking (we mostly walked), but if the beers are in and the energy levels are low, there's buses, taxi's and limo's, so no biggy. In saying that, looks like we're heading again next year and will be looking to stay more centre strip. Harrahs has been recommended by a couple of Vegas veterans. Middle strip but around the same price as the lower strip hotels..maybe worth checking out. No miss out on the old town. We spent a night in the Golden Nugget casino, some value

PS: we traveled in Feb, flying out of Dublin via Heathrow with BA (direct flight). Weather was good enough, shorts and t-shirts during the day . No pool parties though which was a shame

In or around Ballys hotel is the centre of the strip. A hotel anywhere around there will be fine. As previous posters have said very few if any bad hotels in or around the strip despite what you read on the various forums.

A great place to walk and wander around. Don't think you can really do that in the desert heat of the summer.

One tip is to bring plenty of t shirts etc with you as there is no smoking ban in LV and your clothes will stink of cigarettes pretty much after every day.

My own experience of Las Vegas is from several years ago (last time was 2003). I was there many, many times when I lived in Phoenix, but the one thing I've always thought is Vegas is a great spot, but only for a few days at a time. I'd have thought 4 nights max. But it sounds like others here have stayed longer.

If I was going to Vegas, I'd make sure I hired a car and did a bit of exploring around and staying in other places too. Maybe fly out of San Diego or somewhere like that and drive there and stay on the beach for a couple of days before flying back. You'll have a ball though.

foxcommander

Quote from: Canalman on May 15, 2015, 02:57:23 PM
In or around Ballys hotel is the centre of the strip. A hotel anywhere around there will be fine. As previous posters have said very few if any bad hotels in or around the strip despite what you read on the various forums.

A great place to walk and wander around. Don't think you can really do that in the desert heat of the summer.

One tip is to bring plenty of t shirts etc with you as there is no smoking ban in LV and your clothes will stink of cigarettes pretty much after every day.

I'd agree with Canalman - check out the monorail map if you plan to scoot up and down the strip. It's a case of being central to everything vs fancier hotels (and dearer)

Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

50fiftyball

Thanks lads, deadly bit of advice there on Sin City  8)

To fly to Vegas in the summer is mental dear, September not too bad think I'm going to go with it, plus it isn't as blisteringly hot by the looks of things! Can get flights & decent hotel - SLS or Harrah's/Monte Carlo for £650/700 in September for 11 nights, now that's not bad!! Flying out from dublin. I usually just use booking.com for the hotels and skyscanner for the flights, any other recommendations? They always throw up the best deals and are fool-proof to use!

Quote from: 50fiftyball on May 25, 2015, 10:22:58 AM

To fly to Vegas in the summer is mental dear, September not too bad think I'm going to go with it, plus it isn't as blisteringly hot by the looks of things! Can get flights & decent hotel - SLS or Harrah's/Monte Carlo for £650/700 in September for 11 nights, now that's not bad!! Flying out from dublin. I usually just use booking.com for the hotels and skyscanner for the flights, any other recommendations? They always throw up the best deals and are fool-proof to use!
I have stayed in the Monte Carlo before and its grand. By no means the fanciest hotel on the strip, but decent location and good pool area etc.

Pay the extra and stay in the Encore (or some of the top ones)! It's amazing! You spend a good bit of time at your hotel/resort so it's worth paying the extra couple of hundred. Amazing place.

Mikhailov

Quote from: 50fiftyball on May 25, 2015, 10:22:58 AM

are you crazy - I have been several times and love it but each time I cant wait to get out of it and that is only after 4 or 5 nights but I also know couples who stay for more than 7+ nights but everyone appears to have a great time

Was there for 6 nights and could have done more nights easily.
We stayed in the MGM Grand.

Try the Heart Attack Grill. But do your homework. You have to wear hospital gowns, the waitresses all dress as nurses and the burgers are called single bypass, double bypass etc up to octuple bypass (10,000 calories!). If you don't finish the burger the nurses spank you!

Apparently their spokesman died of a heart attack: http://lasvegassun.com/news/2013/feb/11/heart-attack-grill-spokesman-dies-heart-attack/

Ive been 5 times now. Stayed for two weeks the last time! I keep wanting to stay longer each time I go! I can't understand people when they say they can only stay for a couple of nights and they've had enough. But they could spend 2 weeks in Spain  :o

It is a crazy place though, if you go and drink the head off yourself and walk about gambling to all hours every night then I can understand why it might be enough just for a couple of days. It has so much more to offer though. My wife and I like to chill out by the pool, go see a show or get a nice meal somewhere and then step out into the madness every now and again.  If you play golf there are some unbelievable courses there as well.

The standard of hotels for the price you pay is ridiculous. When you consider the cost of a couple of nights in a mediocre hotel in Ireland and what it costs for a week in a 5*+ in vegas it is a joke!! It has some of the best shows in the world, the best restaurants and unreal shopping. I could go on all day about it haha

Just don't stay in a crap hotel to save a couple of 100 quid because 'you never spend any time in the hotel anyway'. Load of crap, the hotels are massive, you spend a large portion of time knocking about round your hotel or the pool/shops/restaurants in your hotel.

You'll have an amazing time!

50fiftyball

On the topic, have any of you ever drove down to San Diego from there? Was looking at maybe doing this in the middle of my stay, its about 4 hours which isn't too bad, have seen San Francisco & L.A.

Hear San Diego is beautiful, beach etc..