GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on April 26, 2010, 05:14:52 PM

Title: Mayo! f**king Hell
Post by: Feckitt on April 26, 2010, 05:14:52 PM
1989 All Ireland Senior Final  Cork beat Mayo
1991 All Ireland Minor Final  Cork beat Mayo
1994 All Ireland U-21 Final  Cork beat Mayo
1995 All Ireland U-21 Final  Kerry beat Mayo
1996 All Ireland Senior Final  Meath beat Mayo
1997 All Ireland Senior Final  Kerry beat Mayo
1999 All Ireland Minor Final  Down beat Mayo
2000 All Ireland Minor Final  Cork beat Mayo
2001 National League Final  Mayo beat Galway
2001 All Ireland U-21 Final  Tyrone beat Mayo
2004 All Ireland U-21 Final  Armagh beat Mayo
2004 All Ireland Senior Final  Kerry beat Mayo
2005 All Ireland Minor Final  Down beat Mayo
2006 All Ireland U-21 Final  Mayo beat Cork
2006 All Ireland Senior Final  Kerry beat Mayo
2007 National League Final  Donegal beat Mayo
2008 All Ireland Minor Final  Tyrone beat Mayo
2009 All Ireland Minor Final  Armagh beat Mayo
2010 National League Final  Cork beat Mayo
Title: Re: Mayo! f**king Hell
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on April 26, 2010, 05:26:26 PM
I blame Hellmans, they should never went down the Mayo light road
Post by: REDCOL on April 26, 2010, 05:28:35 PM
Thanks for showing some of our recent results Feckitt:

Senior Ulster Titles : 1890, 1902, 1950, 1953, 1977, 1980, 1982, 1999, 2000  All Irelands in this period - 0

Minor Ulster Titles : 1930, 1949, 1951, 1953, 1954, 1957, 1961, 1968, 1992, 1994. All Irelands in this period - 1

Ulster U21 : 1 tiltle pre 2000

National League Titles pre 2000: 0

Lies, Damn Lies & Statistics - Armagh are a successful county
Post by: Logan on April 26, 2010, 05:40:05 PM
Where was the 2006 U21 final played?
Post by: REDCOL on April 26, 2010, 05:44:56 PM
Ennis
Post by: mannix on April 26, 2010, 07:26:29 PM

we know about the losses, can you enlighten us as to why this is the way Mayo play their finals?

Post by: Logan on April 26, 2010, 07:36:21 PM
Quote from: mannix on April 26, 2010, 07:26:29 PM

we know about the losses, can you enlighten us as to why this is the way Mayo play their finals?

1. Failure to perform in Croke Park?*
2. 'Choke' in games where silverware is at stake?
3. Standard of Football in Connacht hasn't been as good as Ulster or Munster?**

* Would all except the U21 final have been played in Croke Park - exception the League win?

** Before Mayo/Connacht people jump my back again - looking at the results it's approx 50-50 loss to Ulster/Munster teams in Championship finals - so this means that certainly before the back door the chances were that Mayo beat a Leinster team, but failed at a Munster/Ulster team? Or perhaps in the games leading to the finals (after the backdoor was introduced) those years were easier runs to the final?

Post by: muppet on April 26, 2010, 07:39:37 PM
Quote from: Logan on April 26, 2010, 07:36:21 PM

* Would all except the U21 final have been played in Croke Park - exception the League win?

** Before Mayo/Connacht people jump my back again - looking at the results it's approx 50-50 loss to Ulster/Munster teams in Championship finals - so this means that certainly before the back door the chances were that Mayo beat a Leinster team, but failed at a Munster/Ulster team? Or perhaps the finals those years were easier runs to the final?

Did you know that there was Gaa before 1991?
Did you notice some of those losses were in back to back years so therefore impossible to avoid 2 of 3 provinces?
Do you actually think about stuff?
Post by: seafoid on April 26, 2010, 07:43:51 PM
Kenneth Mortimer lost  11 all ireland finals in a row. how many did DB lose before Ballina won that club final ?

It's unfair to blame it on Connacht football. The Mayo syndrome is very special.  One day it will all be washed away ...
Post by: ross matt on April 26, 2010, 08:03:59 PM
At least they made the finals listed. In doing so they had to beat alot of good teams along the way. For some of the finals they simply were'nt good enough to win them. Yesterday was an example as was the '04 & '06 AI finals. There's no shame in that. Obviously AI's '96 (drawn & replay) were the ones that got away. In '97 they played badly against a poor Kerry side. The point is they over achieved in some cases by reaching these finals in the first place.

But if you turned the stats in the first post on their head it shows them to be a county that's mad about football and have the persistence and focus to keep bouncing back. Eventually those attributes will pay off and they'll win an AI when they've the players capable of doing so. Advancing the "final hoodoo" theory will only mean it will become a self fulfilling prophesy. I think that's what O'Mahony was trying to get across in his post match interview yesterday.
Title: Mayo: Tiocfaidh ár lá.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2010, 08:35:18 PM
And we'll f**king celebrate like mad whenever it happens.
Post by: rosnarun on April 26, 2010, 09:36:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 26, 2010, 07:43:51 PM
Kenneth Mortimer lost  11 all ireland finals in a row. how many did DB lose before Ballina won that club final ?

It's unfair to blame it on Connacht football. The Mayo syndrome is very special.  One day it will all be washed away ...

When you're close to tears remember
Some day it'll all be over
One day we're gonna get so high
And though it's darker than December
What's ahead is a different colour
One day we're gonna get so high

copyright -  lighthouse family
Post by: mannix on April 26, 2010, 09:51:09 PM
A
I DUNNO, ITS SOUNDS LIKE A LOT OF OVERACHIEVING.  OK, SO EVEN IF YOU SAY ITS ONLY THE LEAGUE, MAYO WON 6 OUT OF 7 PRIOR TO YESTERDAY , WOULD THAT BE OVERACHIEVING?
I AM NOT GOING TO SAY ANYMORE ABOUT IT BUT ITS HARD FOLLOWING A JEKYLL AND HYDE.
Post by: rosnarun on April 26, 2010, 10:33:14 PM
overachieving my hole . mayo have dined at the top table foe the last 15 years at this point the accusation has to be underachievement
Post by: ross4life on April 26, 2010, 11:03:38 PM
Quote from: mannix on April 26, 2010, 09:51:09 PM
A
I DUNNO, ITS SOUNDS LIKE A LOT OF OVERACHIEVING.  OK, SO EVEN IF YOU SAY ITS ONLY THE LEAGUE, MAYO WON 6 OUT OF 7 PRIOR TO YESTERDAY , WOULD THAT BE OVERACHIEVING?
I AM NOT GOING TO SAY ANYMORE ABOUT IT BUT ITS HARD FOLLOWING A JEKYLL AND HYDE.

Caps lock or are you are you shouting?
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2010, 11:20:59 PM
Quote from: ross matt on April 26, 2010, 08:03:59 PM
At least they made the finals listed. In doing so they had to beat alot of good teams along the way. For some of the finals they simply were'nt good enough to win them. Yesterday was an example as was the '04 & '06 AI finals. There's no shame in that. Obviously AI's '96 (drawn & replay) were the ones that got away. In '97 they played badly against a poor Kerry side. The point is they over achieved in some cases by reaching these finals in the first place.

But if you turned the stats in the first post on their head it shows them to be a county that's mad about football and have the persistence and focus to keep bouncing back. Eventually those attributes will pay off and they'll win an AI when they've the players capable of doing so. Advancing the "final hoodoo" theory will only mean it will become a self fulfilling prophesy. I think that's what O'Mahony was trying to get across in his post match interview yesterday.

(Jeez, I have been looking for an excuse to use that since it first began to appear on the board!) ;D
Post by: mckieran on April 27, 2010, 12:39:07 AM
QuoteAnd we'll f**king celebrate like mad whenever it happens.

Christ, theres a day I hope I never see
Post by: moysider on April 27, 2010, 01:20:07 AM
Quote from: mckieran on April 27, 2010, 12:39:07 AM
QuoteAnd we'll f**king celebrate like mad whenever it happens.

Christ, theres a day I hope I never see

Why? Don't remember anybody I know being upset when ye won.   
Post by: Pangurban on April 27, 2010, 02:09:00 AM
Very impressed with Mayo yesterday, some fine footballers, just seem to lack that little bit of grit when the game starts to against them , but they are at the top table and deservingly so, with a little help from lady luck which all teams need, success is not far off
Post by: Logan on April 27, 2010, 05:31:35 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 26, 2010, 07:39:37 PM

** Before Mayo/Connacht people jump my back again - looking at the results it's approx 50-50 loss to Ulster/Munster teams in Championship finals - so this means that certainly before the back door the chances were that Mayo beat a Leinster team, but failed at a Munster/Ulster team? Or perhaps the finals those years were easier runs to the final?

Did you notice some of those losses were in back to back years so therefore impossible to avoid 2 of 3 provinces?
You mustn't read or think much before you type yourself ...
I'll repeat myself for you - 2 reasons (a) avoided Ulster/Munster (esp pre backdoor) or (b) had easier paths to the final
Of course you'll conveniently avoid the choking tag or inability to perform in Croke Park on big day question.

But I'm sure you have the real answer and will tell us any time now ....
Post by: Chimley on April 27, 2010, 09:05:53 AM
Quote from: Logan on April 27, 2010, 05:31:35 AM

I'll repeat myself for you - 2 reasons (a) avoided Ulster/Munster (esp pre backdoor) or (b) had easier paths to the final
Of course you'll conveniently avoid the choking tag or inability to perform in Croke Park on big day question.

You were guilty of lazy analysis on the other thread and have continued the theme here.

1: Failure to perform in Croke Park.

If you get to an All-Ireland final (U21  & League Excepted) you must win at least 1 game in Croke Park and more since the backdoor was introduced. Teams that fail to perform in Croke Park will never get to a final.

2: Choke in games with silverware at stake.

This is a good point and the only pertinent one you make.

3. Standard of Football in Connacht hasn't been as good as Ulster or Munster

In general that is true. it has not stopped Galway winning senior U21 and minor all-irelands in the last decade. Roscommon have also won minor all-ireland and even mayo have won an U21. Without going too deeply into my memory banks, I can recall Mayo beating Kerry in 96 semi-final, Tyrone in 2004 to get to 2 of the senior finals and there are many more examples in underage.

Mayos failures to win these finals has nothing to do with the standard of football within the province or Croke park jitters or they would not get as far as they did.
Post by: Clarin Pearl on April 27, 2010, 10:50:05 AM
The league win against Galway was only because Galway were bigger chokers than Mayo at the time(and foot & mouth). At least Galway sorted it themselves out 6 months later.

Mayo have beaten Ulster teams often enough. certainly well able.  Its the killer attitude. There are never enough mean hoors who will bust lads to get the ball. Anytime they get out of connacht, they are playing style football.

Toughen the hell up Mayo.

Post by: mckieran on April 27, 2010, 01:14:44 PM
QuoteWhy? Don't remember anybody I know being upset when ye won.     

I remember plenty of begrudgers in the Shrule, Kilmaine, Ballinrobe, Ballindine areas!  :)

And we had the sense not to go on about it too much - Cant see that happening in Mayo!

This could be your year though...
Post by: haranguerer on April 27, 2010, 01:38:17 PM
Thought paddy powers wee build up to the nfl final was amusing; along the lines of '...mayo players generally anticipate the arrival of the bus to croker in much the same way cattle wait on the lorry to the abbatoir...'  :D
Post by: muppet on April 27, 2010, 04:10:43 PM
Quote from: Logan on April 27, 2010, 05:31:35 AM

Pre back door 3 All-Ireland Finals involved beating Tyrone, Kerry and Offaly. Hardly avoided Ulster/Munster there did we?

Post back door we reached a final beating Tyrone (Champions) & Fermanagh to get to final. Hardly much avoiding Ulster there. 2006 we beat Laois and Dublin to get to a final.

That is 2 out of 5. Hardly a significant trend.

As for not performing in finals well we haven't in the last 3 at senior level. No one is disputing that. The choking in finals charge is just lazy like all the journalists who re-hash the same thing. These were very different teams with different players/obstacles/management etc. The only commonality was the jersey which is hardly a scientific premise for a pattern. 
Post by: Feckitt on April 27, 2010, 04:23:03 PM
Yez are shite! ;D
Post by: Main Street on April 27, 2010, 04:30:45 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 27, 2010, 04:10:43 PM

As for not performing in finals well we haven't in the last 3 at senior level. No one is disputing that. The choking in finals charge is just lazy like all the journalists who re-hash the same thing. These were very different teams with different players/obstacles/management etc. The only commonality was the jersey which is hardly a scientific premise for a pattern.
Remember Kilmurry-Ibrickane?

The jersey is indeed cursed  ;D

Post by: westmayo on April 27, 2010, 04:44:25 PM
Quote1999 All Ireland Minor Final  Down beat Mayo

The earlier mention of Kenneth Mortimer loosing in 11 All Ireland finals had me look back at the list there,  I think I'm correct in thinking Alan Dillion was involved in all these finals, and lost a couple of schools finals as well. It's a lot of loosing for a player on big occasions to take, and credit must be given to him to keep coming back for more every year.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 27, 2010, 04:44:57 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 27, 2010, 04:30:45 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 27, 2010, 04:10:43 PM

Remember Kilmurry-Ibrickane?

The jersey is indeed cursed  ;D

Like Ballina stephenites in 2005...  ???
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 27, 2010, 04:50:14 PM
Quote from: mckieran on April 27, 2010, 01:14:44 PM
QuoteWhy? Don't remember anybody I know being upset when ye won.     

I remember plenty of begrudgers in the Shrule, Kilmaine, Ballinrobe, Ballindine areas!  :)

And we had the sense not to go on about it too much - Cant see that happening in Mayo!

This could be your year though...

Ah now hey, I wouldn't mind those south Mayo towns. PS, Fearon likes to remind us all of Armagh's win in 2002. ;)
Post by: armaghniac on April 27, 2010, 05:17:42 PM
QuoteFearon likes to remind us all of Armagh's win in 2002.

That must hurt, Farrandeelin. Did that lead to your bizarre prediction that Down would win by 5 on Sunday?
Post by: Rossfan on April 27, 2010, 06:01:31 PM
I suppose ye all heard that NAMA =
N ot A nother M ayowestros A nnihilation

Anyway lads ye're day will come but methinks the Ballagh based Blueshirt is not the man to lead ye to it.
Post by: muppet on April 27, 2010, 07:13:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 27, 2010, 06:01:31 PM
I suppose ye all heard that NAMA =
N ot A nother M ayowestros A nnihilation

Anyway lads ye're day will come but methinks the Ballagh based Blueshirt is not the man to lead ye to it.

A Mayo Annihilation?

Ah this one is too easy Ross.  ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 27, 2010, 08:10:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 27, 2010, 05:17:42 PM
QuoteFearon likes to remind us all of Armagh's win in 2002.

That must hurt, Farrandeelin. Did that lead to your bizarre prediction that Down would win by 5 on Sunday?

Nope, it just reminded me to never predict anything ever again!!! :D
Post by: Beard on April 27, 2010, 10:31:13 PM
Mayo are actually not the worst.

Take ASM Clermont Auvergne who have fantastic support btw

"They have reached the French Championship final ten times (a French record), losing all of them, including seven times by less than 7 points."

and the exceptionally well supported Collingwood in the AFL,

"The 1990 premiership team, coached by Leigh Matthews and captained by Tony Shaw, had a one-sided grand final win against Essendon, the Magpies recording a 48 point victory and ending a 32 year premiership drought which included eight grand final losses and one draw."

Post by: Feckitt on May 10, 2012, 02:42:49 PM
2012 National League Final Cork beat Mayo

Another year another defeat for Mayo in Croke Park in a National Final.  Will it be just the one this year?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 10, 2012, 03:02:45 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 10, 2012, 02:42:49 PM

Another year another defeat for Mayo in Croke Park in a National Final.  Will it be just the one this year?

The above may look unsuccessful to the casual observer, but there are alot of counties that would kill to be at the Business end of the Championship year after year. There is no fun in losing finals, but hey there is even less fun in not even reaching them.
Post by: mannix on May 10, 2012, 03:39:35 PM
After the first 16 losses it got a lot easier to accept defeat, beating cork in 2011, the dubs in 2006, and Tyrone in2004 made up for the losses though. Written off all those days, especially last year by joe brilly.
Post by: rrhf on May 10, 2012, 04:19:09 PM
When I speak to my Mayo cousins I remind them that it is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all....
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 10, 2012, 04:29:33 PM
My fault. I was born in 1987.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 10, 2012, 05:10:48 PM
If you want to look at an unsuccessful period in Mayo football, then look no furter than from 1955 to 1981. In that period Mayo won just 2 Connacht titles (1967 and 1969). They won none in the 70's. Imagine a whole decade without a Provincial title. As for getting to finals, Mayo did not contest an AI final from 1951 to 1989......38 years.

Post by: ross4life on May 10, 2012, 05:37:22 PM
It's going to take me a while to get over our U-21 final defeat maybe the senior championship might take my mind off it but i can't imagine what it would feel like to lose so many finals.

As mannix said Mayo were able to beat the best on their day for whatever reason they came up short in finals.

For the record between 1989-2012 Tyrone,Kerry,Cork have cleaned up.

Kerry Senior: Six - 97, '00, '04, '06, '07 , '09  Under 21: five - '90, '95, '96, '98, 2008 Minor one - 94 NFL titles: four - 97, 2004, 2006, 2009  Total won 16

Cork Senior: Three - 89, '90, 2010  Under 21 four - 89, '94, 2007, 2009  Minor  three- '91, '93, '00 NFL titles: five - '89, '99, 2010, 2011 Total won 15

Tyrone Senior: three - 2003, '05, '08 Under 21: Four - 1991, '92, 2000, '01 Minor Five '98, '01, '04, '08, 2010 NFL titles: Two - 2002, 2003   Total won 14

Post by: ross matt on May 10, 2012, 10:55:21 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 10, 2012, 03:02:45 PM

The above may look unsuccessful to the casual observer, but there are alot of counties that would kill to be at the Business end of the Championship year after year. There is no fun in losing finals, but hey there is even less fun in not even reaching them.

Post by: rrhf on May 10, 2012, 11:08:48 PM
It's like at some stage mayo football got the sniP sniP
Post by: moysider on May 10, 2012, 11:48:56 PM

Wow! sharp intake of breath! That s a hell of a consistent team.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2012, 09:56:37 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 10, 2012, 11:48:56 PM

Wow! sharp intake of breath! That s a hell of a consistent team.

If you throw in the fact that the club teams made the AI club final as well at least 5 times in the same period the high level of consistency in Mayo football has to be applauded, insofar as they can so close every year.
Post by: blast05 on May 11, 2012, 01:18:49 PM
6 times ...
Castlebar 93 defeat
Ballina 1 win, 1 lose (99 and ?)
Crossmolina 1 win 1 lose (01 & ?)
Knockmore (97 defeat)

Gone back wrt performance on the club stage in the last 5 or 6 years though

We also won junior All-Ireland's in 95 & 97 while i'm sure we won 1 or 2 junior club titles along the way as well (and lost the intermediate club final this year (Davitts)
Post by: Tubberman on May 11, 2012, 01:21:56 PM
Quote from: blast05 on May 11, 2012, 01:18:49 PM
6 times ...
Castlebar 93 defeat
Ballina 1 win, 1 lose (99 and ?)
Crossmolina 1 win 1 lose (01 & ?)
Knockmore (97 defeat)

Gone back wrt performance on the club stage in the last 5 or 6 years though

We also won junior All-Ireland's in 95 & 97 while i'm sure we won 1 or 2 junior club titles along the way as well (and lost the intermediate club final this year (Davitts)

2005 for Ballina' win, and I think it was 03 for Cross loss.
Post by: Feckitt on May 11, 2012, 01:46:12 PM
Yez are shite  ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 11, 2012, 01:51:52 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 11, 2012, 01:46:12 PM
Yez are shite  ;D

Whatever ::)
Post by: Tubberman on May 11, 2012, 02:30:24 PM
Yez are shite  ;D

Didn't really get the reaction you were looking for, did you? :)
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 12, 2012, 10:42:12 AM
Yez are shite  ;D

It takes wan to know wan , doesn't it?
Post by: Feckitt on September 24, 2012, 04:19:10 PM
2012 All Ireland Senior Final Donegal beat Mayo

2 wins from 21 National Finals since 1989.
Post by: Absent on September 24, 2012, 05:02:28 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 24, 2012, 04:19:10 PM

What a horrible experience for Mayo players and fans in finals over the years,they have nothing like the rewards they should have for their enormous contribution to gaelic football,I hope they win a senior AI very soon.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 24, 2012, 05:27:06 PM
Those stats amaze me every time. Is there any county with a comparable record?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 24, 2012, 05:32:39 PM
Quote from: Absent on September 24, 2012, 05:02:28 PM
1985 All Ireland Minor Final  Mayo beat Cork

3 wins from 22 National Finals since 1985.

What a horrible experience for Mayo players and fans in finals over the years,they have nothing like the rewards they should have for their enormous contribution to gaelic football,I hope they win a senior AI very soon.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 24, 2012, 05:27:06 PM

No don't think there's anybody else who even comes close in qualifying for finals. Could be worse we won just two provincal titles between 1955 and 1981. Two championship trips to Croker in 25 years!
Post by: blanketattack on September 24, 2012, 05:40:45 PM
At least they won the election and sure wasn't Charlie Haughey a Mayoman as well.

Galway lost 9 hurling finals between winning in '23 and '80.
Mayo have only lost 6 since winning in '51.

Limerick have lost their last 11 Munster football finals.
Cork lost 8 consecutive Munster football finals. (Should've been 12, GRRR!)
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2012, 05:46:34 PM
Donegal have no such problems. Two finals two wins.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2012, 05:49:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 24, 2012, 05:32:39 PM
Quote from: Absent on September 24, 2012, 05:02:28 PM
1985 All Ireland Minor Final  Mayo beat Cork

3 wins from 22 National Finals since 1985.

No don't think there's anybody else who even comes close in qualifying for finals. Could be worse we won just two provincal titles between 1955 and 1981. Two championship trips to Croker in 25 years!

Kerry,Tyrone?
Post by: Canalman on September 24, 2012, 06:04:38 PM
Dublin  senior hurlers have lost their last 6 AIFs (I think). Have also  lost their last 5 underage  hurling finals also................ here's hoping next Sunday stops the rot.
Post by: Gold on September 24, 2012, 06:20:23 PM

Antrim:

1983: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1984: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1985: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1986: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1987: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1988: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1989: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1990: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1991: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1992: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1993: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1994: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1995: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1996: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1997: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1998: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1999: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2000: Win! Semi final Defeat in Ulster
2001: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2002: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2003: Win! Semi final Defeat in Ulster
2004: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2005: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2006: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2007: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2008: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2009: 2 wins!! Final Defeat in Ulster
2010: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2011: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2012: First Round Defeat in Ulster

Consistency is Saffron
Post by: From the Bunker on September 24, 2012, 09:32:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2012, 05:46:34 PM

Lets not talk of 5 Ulster Final defeats in a row post 92!
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2012, 09:38:30 PM
Were you at all those first round defeats Gold?
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 24, 2012, 09:45:25 PM
Quote from: Gold on September 24, 2012, 06:20:23 PM

Antrim:

1983: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1984: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1985: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1986: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1987: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1988: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1989: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1990: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1991: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1992: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1993: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1994: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1995: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1996: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1997: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1998: First Round Defeat in Ulster
1999: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2000: Win! Semi final Defeat in Ulster
2001: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2002: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2003: Win! Semi final Defeat in Ulster
2004: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2005: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2006: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2007: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2008: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2009: 2 wins!! Final Defeat in Ulster
2010: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2011: First Round Defeat in Ulster
2012: First Round Defeat in Ulster

Consistency is Saffron

And it was feckin Down that let them in the door too!
Post by: imtommygunn on September 24, 2012, 09:54:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2012, 09:38:30 PM

Been to at the very least ten of them!! I would say getting beat by Antrim was probably donegal's lowest point in the last few years actually....

Thankfully have been to all the victories.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2012, 09:59:28 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 24, 2012, 09:32:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2012, 05:46:34 PM

Lets not talk of 5 Ulster Final defeats in a row post 92!

Jimmy wasn't winning matches back then.
Post by: haranguerer on September 24, 2012, 10:28:03 PM
Mayos official nickname should be '3 cheers', but fair fucks to them for getting there
Post by: Gold on September 24, 2012, 10:54:32 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2012, 09:38:30 PM

Just from 93 I think.

Have also thankfully been at all the wins!
Post by: moysider on September 25, 2012, 10:34:07 AM

Here s a thing. Apart from the 97 Senior and the 2000 Minor Finals we would have been outsiders going into all the other finals if memory serves me correctly, sometimes seriously so. We were even underdogs for the 2 we won!
Post by: blanketattack on September 25, 2012, 12:05:24 PM
I know a lad in his 30s with Currow. In his entire football career between underage and senior, he played in 24 finals and lost them all.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 25, 2012, 06:18:17 PM
I suppose Dromintee in the Armagh Senior Championship have lost five County finals in the last ten years. But what club would expect to beat Crossmaglen?
Post by: Feckitt on September 25, 2012, 07:40:15 PM
1990  All Ireland U-21 Final     Kerry beat Tyrone
1991  All Ireland U-21 Final     Tyrone beat Kerry
1992  All Ireland U-21 Final     Tyrone beat Galway

1992  National League Final    Derry beat Tyrone
1995  All Ireland Senior Final   Dublin beat Tyrone
1997  All Ireland Minor Final     Laois beat Tyrone
1998  All Ireland Minor Final     Tyrone beat Laois
2000  All Ireland U-21 Final      Tyrone beat Limerick
2001  All Ireland U-21 Final      Tyrone beat Mayo
2001  All Ireland Minor Final    Tyrone beat Dublin
2002  National League Final    Tyrone beat Cavan

2003  All Ireland Senior Final  Tyrone beat Armagh
2003  All Ireland U-21 Final     Dublin beat Tyrone
2003  National League Final    Tyrone beat Laois
2004  All Ireland Minor Final     Tyrone beat Kerry
2005  All Ireland Senior Final   Tyrone beat Kerry
2008  All Ireland Minor Final     Tyrone beat Mayo
2008  All Ireland Senior Final   Tyrone beat Kerry
2010  All Ireland Minor Final     Tyrone beat Cork

Tyrone have been in a similar number of finals to Mayo over the same period but with a remarkably different outcome.

Mayo 2 wins from 21, Tyrone 14 wins from 19.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 25, 2012, 07:46:23 PM
Go on feckit. Rub salt into the wounds... You know you want to ::)
Post by: AFS on September 25, 2012, 07:56:46 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 25, 2012, 06:18:17 PM
I suppose Dromintee in the Armagh Senior Championship have lost five County finals in the last ten years. But what club would expect to beat Crossmaglen?

Pearse Og.
Post by: Seamus on September 27, 2012, 05:14:37 PM
Kerry have lost more senior finals (4) than Mayo (3) in the last ten years. We have by far lost more finals than anybody else so there is some hope for Mayo.
Post by: moysider on September 28, 2012, 09:44:42 PM
Quote from: Seamus on September 27, 2012, 05:14:37 PM
Kerry have lost more senior finals (4) than Mayo (3) in the last ten years. We have by far lost more finals than anybody else so there is some hope for Mayo.

The dynamic is different. The difference is Seamus, that ye win the odd one ;)

Post by: From the Bunker on September 28, 2012, 11:12:34 PM

You're having a laugh, right?
Post by: Jinxy on September 29, 2012, 09:29:26 PM

That's the spirit.
Post by: Nally Stand on September 23, 2013, 11:46:14 AM
So to update it.....  :o

2013 All Ireland Minor Final  Mayo beat Tyrone
2013 All Ireland Senior Final  Dublin beat Mayo
Post by: Feckitt on September 19, 2014, 05:11:05 PM
I'm going to kind of miss Mayo not being there this year  ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on September 19, 2014, 05:22:38 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 19, 2014, 05:11:05 PM

Ah sure we'll be back there again next year! We haven't gone away you know!  ;)
Post by: seafoid on September 19, 2014, 09:12:27 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on September 23, 2013, 11:46:14 AM

We should really set up the Society for the prevention of final cruelty to Mayo
Post by: Crete Boom on September 19, 2014, 09:18:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 19, 2014, 09:12:27 PM

Having Galway as a neighbouring county is worse than any final losses we have suffered!! Get rid of county city and races would do more for Mayo , Ireland and the world to be honest than us winning 5 All Irelands in a row seafoid!! ;D ;D
Post by: moysider on September 19, 2014, 11:05:40 PM

I'm rightly pissed off.
After losing to Donegal in 2012 I predicted that we would lose 3 AIs in a row. Only a cat refereeing performance robbed me of Nostrodamus status. How is that fair?

With the likelihood of appointing a puppet management on the cards it could be some time before we re in a position to lose another final  :'(
Post by: Chimley on September 19, 2014, 11:43:23 PM
Quote from: moysider on September 19, 2014, 11:05:40 PM

I'm rightly pissed off.
After losing to Donegal in 2012 I predicted that we would lose 3 AIs in a row. Only a cat refereeing performance robbed me of Nostrodamus status. How is that fair?

With the likelihood of appointing a puppet management on the cards it could be some time before we re in a position to lose another final  :'(

Would you believe I was hovering over the quote button if we'd got to the final Moy. I remember that post well as your description of waiting for a calamity in that final struck a chord with me.
Post by: moysider on September 20, 2014, 12:24:22 AM
Quote from: Chimley on September 19, 2014, 11:43:23 PM
Quote from: moysider on September 19, 2014, 11:05:40 PM

I'm rightly pissed off.

Would you believe I was hovering over the quote button if we'd got to the final Moy. I remember that post well as your description of waiting for a calamity in that final struck a chord with me.

Ye know from a long way out how it s goin to end.
We were snared in the first 10 mins. v Donegal in 2012 final and we kept seeking out that snare again when the really big days came around after.

This new adventure looks like being condemned ( if we get the expected ordination) before it ever starts.
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2014, 06:37:19 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on September 19, 2014, 09:18:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 19, 2014, 09:12:27 PM

Having Galway as a neighbouring county is worse than any final losses we have suffered!! Get rid of county city and races would do more for Mayo , Ireland and the world to be honest than us winning 5 All Irelands in a row seafoid!! ;D ;D
It's like in family life where everyone has a defined role and you can't change it ;)
But Mayo must be able to break out of the stereotype at some stage.

Post by: Feckitt on May 02, 2016, 05:23:53 PM
2016 All Ireland U-21 Final Mayo beat Cork

That's 2 out of 3 now, could the curse be coming to an end?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 02, 2016, 05:32:51 PM
Nah, had a lad (not from Mayo) turn around to me in the Pub after the win in Ennis the last day and say....................wait for it...............Ye still can't win AI's in Croke Park!  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 05:58:09 PM
I'd heard Cormac Reilly was down at the game.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 02, 2016, 06:02:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 05:58:09 PM
I'd heard Cormac Reilly was down at the game.

Hope he enjoyed the view pitchside! A view your Cormac will have to get used to!  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 06:13:30 PM
It's a disgrace he was cut from the referees' panel.  >:(

(http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inph841459.jpg)

"Houl me back, lads!"
Post by: joemamas on May 02, 2016, 06:51:12 PM
Now why did you have to go there. >:(
Post by: joemamas on May 02, 2016, 06:52:58 PM
Maurice Deegan looks like he has a Taser in his hand, which may not have been inappropriate given the circumstances
Post by: moysider on May 03, 2016, 01:14:08 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 06:13:30 PM
It's a disgrace he was cut from the referees' panel.  >:(

(http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inph841459.jpg)

"Houl me back, lads!"

Bigger disgrace he was on any panel ever. Mind you he looks decent until that day.
Just as well the buck was held back though. The girleen would have had to spend a night in the Limerick County gaol as well. lol. I'd say half the attendance wanted to throttle the starved cnut. Wonder does he think it was still worth it licking Kerry holes?
Post by: Jinxy on May 03, 2016, 01:21:40 AM
I met him the other day and he said it was.
Post by: moysider on May 03, 2016, 01:39:45 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 03, 2016, 01:21:40 AM
I met him the other day and he said it was.

I'm sure he does. No doubt about it. McEneaney would have been proud of his capacity to f**k a team over. Always important to keep the underdogs in their place.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 03, 2016, 07:01:32 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 02, 2016, 05:32:51 PM
Nah, had a lad (not from Mayo) turn around to me in the Pub after the win in Ennis the last day and say....................wait for it...............Ye still can't win AI's in Croke Park!  ;)
To which you hopefully replied, 'actually, a good lot of these alresdy have'.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 03, 2016, 10:31:41 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 03, 2016, 07:01:32 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 02, 2016, 05:32:51 PM
To which you hopefully replied, 'actually, a good lot of these alresdy have'.
Nah, I left him in his ignorance. He'll believe what he wants to believe. I was too happy to get offended.
Post by: Feckitt on August 18, 2018, 03:41:44 PM
2016 All Ireland Senior Final  Dublin beat Mayo
2017 All Ireland Senior Final  Dublin beat Mayo
2018 All Ireland U-20 Final  Kildare beat Mayo

Even Kildare are getting in on the act now!
Post by: BennyCake on August 18, 2018, 04:16:22 PM
What about the weemin?
Post by: SkillfulBill on August 18, 2018, 07:47:19 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on August 18, 2018, 03:41:44 PM

Fcuk that that's enough to give you a nose bleed my grandfather was a Mayo man can't believe I am descended from such an unfortunate people.
Post by: Crete Boom on August 19, 2018, 12:08:19 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on August 18, 2018, 07:47:19 PM

Fcuk that that's enough to give you a nose bleed my grandfather was a Mayo man can't believe I am descended from such an unfortunate people.

I would say your grandfather is/was pretty happy being a Mayoman. Maybe it is a reason we fail to seal the deal but football is much bigger than an All Ireland medal for most Mayo people! It is more spiritual, probably to do with the fact the county has been ravaged by emigration! It is a reference point for all Mayo people all across the world and to this day it's special to meet up on All Ireland final day or a semi final in Dublin. My brother and sister live abroad and three of my oldest friends so it is as much about meeting up with them as Mayo people as winning Sam!! The defeats are tough but that passes and the couple of nights out with my mates and my family are top notch despite the losses!!
Post by: larryin89 on August 19, 2018, 09:29:40 AM
Exactly Crete boom. A lot people can't seem to grasp the whole Mayo GAA thing , its so much bigger than just people living in or born in Mayo .  I just wish our CB would move in a forward direction and capitalise on it , the fundraising potential is enormous . In fairness there seems to be steps albeit baby ones but the big test will be New York in May. I still haven't seen anything organised yet .
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 19, 2018, 12:07:16 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on August 19, 2018, 12:08:19 AM

I would say your grandfather is/was pretty happy being a Mayoman. Maybe it is a reason we fail to seal the deal but football is much bigger than an All Ireland medal for most Mayo people! It is more spiritual, probably to do with the fact the county has been ravaged by emigration! It is a reference point for all Mayo people all across the world and to this day it's special to meet up on All Ireland final day or a semi final in Dublin. My brother and sister live abroad and three of my oldest friends so it is as much about meeting up with them as Mayo people as winning Sam!! The defeats are tough but that passes and the couple of nights out with my mates and my family are top notch despite the losses!!
Great post Crete!
You've 100% summed up what Mayo football means to me and why I only take a peripheral interest in what's happening every time the green and red re no longer involved.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 20, 2018, 12:57:36 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 19, 2018, 12:07:16 PM

Great post Crete!
You've 100% summed up what Mayo football means to me and why I only take a peripheral interest in what's happening every time the green and red re no longer involved.

God, I love my county despite all the hardship! The gas thing is - Northern Counties give us the hardest ride on this forum. The one who know the most about Hardship. Guess thats the way it goes!
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 20, 2018, 08:05:22 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 20, 2018, 12:57:36 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 19, 2018, 12:07:16 PM

Great post Crete!

God, I love my county despite all the hardship! The gas thing is - Northern Counties give us the hardest ride on this forum. The one who know the most about Hardship. Guess thats the way it goes!

Arra they don't really. That would go to Roscommon.
Post by: Rossfan on August 20, 2018, 10:46:18 AM
Ahhhh sure we love our poor less fortunate neighbours....
Post by: Feckitt on April 01, 2019, 09:04:53 AM
2019 National League Final Mayo beat Kerry

Congratulations Mayo, now please win Sam and I can close this thread for good!
Post by: Keyser soze on April 01, 2019, 10:34:29 AM
Congratulations Mayo, you can but only admire their fortitude in keeping plugging away until they finally got a bit of success, maybe it will spur them on to capture a deserved championship. They always seem like a thoroughly decent and grounded bunch of lads, just like their Gaaboard members, mostly  ;)

Is it just me, was it the blue jerseys, or has Aidan O'Shea lost a load of weight? And playing a hell of a lot better for it too?
Post by: Hound on April 01, 2019, 11:59:56 AM
Diarmuid O'Connor play in the last 3 bolded ones above?
Anyone else?
Post by: Tubberman on April 01, 2019, 01:40:52 PM
Quote from: Hound on April 01, 2019, 11:59:56 AM
Anyone else?

Stephen Coen captained the minor & U21 teams, is part of the squad and played most league games but didn't feature yesterday.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 01, 2019, 03:47:01 PM
Anyone else?
He's a lucky charm and smart move by Horan to name him captain.
Post by: Ballaghman on April 01, 2019, 05:29:59 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 01, 2019, 01:40:52 PM
Anyone else?

Stephen Coen captained the minor & U21 teams, is part of the squad and played most league games but didn't feature yesterday.
Michael Plunkett, Conor Loftus and Eoin O'Donoghue (Not 100% about Eoin) played in minor and U21 finals and were involved this year. Only Plunkett named in the 26 though.
Matty Ruane has an U21 medal but not a minor, Carr and Boland the same.
Post by: Feckitt on April 05, 2022, 01:10:21 PM
2019 National League Final  Mayo beat Kerry
2020 All Ireland Senior Final  Dublin beat Mayo
2021 All Ireland Senior Final  Tyrone beat Mayo
2022 National League Final  Kerry beat Mayo

Don't shoot the messenger! ???
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2022, 02:13:51 PM
https://youtu.be/Hk_kZspsp1o
Post by: clarshack on April 05, 2022, 02:34:09 PM
why didn't that list start with the 1985 minor win?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 05, 2022, 10:33:57 PM
Quote from: clarshack on April 05, 2022, 02:34:09 PM
why didn't that list start with the 1985 minor win?

I wasn't born. :D :-\
Post by: whitey on April 06, 2022, 01:10:22 AM
There's also 5 Club Finals if you want to go there

I think Castlebar lost 3, Ballina 1 and Knockmore 1

(Ballina and Crossmolina also won 1 each)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 06, 2022, 01:19:28 AM
Quote from: whitey on April 06, 2022, 01:10:22 AM

Cross lost one too
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 06, 2022, 01:22:26 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 06, 2022, 01:19:28 AM

Cross lost one too

Didn't Garrymore get there in the 80s? With Billy Fitz
Post by: whitey on April 06, 2022, 01:35:44 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 06, 2022, 01:22:26 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 06, 2022, 01:19:28 AM

Cross lost one too

Didn't Garrymore get there in the 80s? With Billy Fitz

Yes-I had forgotten about that one, but that was well before the start of this current list (1989)
Post by: Gael85 on April 06, 2022, 08:08:55 AM
10 AI/League Finals Aidan O'Shea has failed to score in. 7 AI finals including a replay and 3 League Finals. He missed 2012 League Final.
Post by: whitey on April 06, 2022, 10:11:54 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on April 06, 2022, 08:08:55 AM
10 AI/League Finals Aidan O'Shea has failed to score in. 7 AI finals including a replay and 3 League Finals. He missed 2012 League Final.

He played really well in some of those games and was fouled incessantly, especially in the Dublin games

Take a look at Cillians free count in some of those games-AOS won a lot of them
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 06, 2022, 12:06:51 PM
Maybe if Mayo played Aidan O'Shea in his proper position of Midfield past 10years you may have won. one of those. He's not a forward. Mayo had 3good midfielders and to fit them in, I have played Seamus O'Shea at No. 6 with Aidan O'Shea and Tom Parsons at Midfield. Now he only good for 15mins off the bench around the middle.
Post by: Rudi on April 06, 2022, 02:06:37 PM
Pat Spillanes tweet.

Met the Mayo team in the Croke Park hotel having a meal after the game. They have a huge squad of 35 players, 8 All Ireland medals between us ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on April 06, 2022, 04:02:26 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 06, 2022, 02:06:37 PM
Pat Spillanes tweet.

Met the Mayo team in the Croke Park hotel having a meal after the game. They have a huge squad of 35 players, 8 All Ireland medals between us ;D

That's a parody account!

He could have been with the Kerry squad and there'd be fcuk all extra medals!
Post by: seafoid on April 06, 2022, 07:31:56 PM
The GAA should sort this out and attract the sisters of scoring forwards from other counties to Mayo with grants, jobs , clothes vouchers, fruit vodka supplies  and social media influencer encouragement.
They need at least 20. Ms Clifford, Ms Murphy, Ms Sludden, Ms Kilkenny etc and a few hotel sponsorships and just sit back and wait 2 decades.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2022, 09:55:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 06, 2022, 07:31:56 PM
The GAA should sort this out and attract the sisters of scoring forwards from other counties to Mayo with grants, jobs , clothes vouchers, fruit vodka supplies  and social media influencer encouragement.
They need at least 20. Ms Clifford, Ms Murphy, Ms Sludden, Ms Kilkenny etc and a few hotel sponsorships and just sit back and wait 2 decades.

I don't know if we can wait two decades to get the right mixture.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 06, 2022, 11:18:20 PM

Thanks for trying to find a solution to our problems. Do you have any solutions for your own county or have you given up?
Post by: seafoid on April 07, 2022, 11:34:23 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 06, 2022, 11:18:20 PM

Thanks for trying to find a solution to our problems. Do you have any solutions for your own county or have you given up?
We are waiting for Donnellan 4.0.
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2022, 10:50:57 PM
Since 1985:

Mayo in All Ireland senior and minor finals -

Played 19.

Won 1
Lost 18

What's up?
Post by: joemamas on July 08, 2022, 11:02:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 08, 2022, 10:50:57 PM
Since 1985:

Played 19.

Won 1
Lost 18

What's up?

Best team won today. Bottom line.
A tad crazy that that Galway lost three times in Connacht this year, but deservingly winners today
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 08, 2022, 11:31:50 PM
Since 1985:

Played 19.

Won 1
Lost 18

What's up?
They would have lost U21 finals as well during that period. 2005 against Armagh for a start
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2022, 12:28:58 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 08, 2022, 11:31:50 PM
Since 1985:

Played 19.

Won 1
Lost 18

What's up?
They would have lost U21 finals as well during that period. 2005 against Armagh for a start

2004 to Armagh,2001 to Tyrone,94 and 95 to Kerry and Cork.  Won the U21 AI finals against Cork in 2006 and 2016 and lost the U20 AI final to Kildare in 2018
Post by: Feckitt on July 09, 2022, 12:43:47 PM
2019 National League Final  Mayo beat Kerry
2020 All Ireland Senior Final  Dublin beat Mayo
2021 All Ireland Senior Final  Tyrone beat Mayo
2022 National League Final  Kerry beat Mayo
2022 All Ireland Minor Final  Galway bate Mayo

Galway bating Mayo now for the first time in a National Final
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2022, 01:02:26 PM
5/32
Post by: snoopdog on July 09, 2022, 03:12:50 PM
30 AI finals at all grades since 1989 is a very impressive stat. Regardless of the win ratio 
Post by: TheMistro on July 09, 2022, 03:17:52 PM
Mayo won club All Ireland in the noughties . How many clubs finals lose in that period?
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2022, 03:19:04 PM
Why don't you a thread about every final Armagh didn't make?
Post by: Feckitt on July 09, 2022, 04:01:59 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 09, 2022, 03:19:04 PM

Ok,

1992  All Ireland Minor Final  Meath beat Armagh
1994  National League Final  Meath beat Armagh
2002  All Ireland Senior Final  Armagh beat Kerry
2003  All Ireland Senior Final   Tyrone beat Armagh
2004  All Ireland U-21 Final  Armagh beat Mayo
2005  National League Final  Armagh beat Wexford
2009  All Ireland Minor Final  Armagh beat Mayo

As a much smaller county within a much tougher province, Armagh have obviously not qualified for anywhere near as many National Finals as Mayo over the same time period.  But have managed the full house of a Senior, U-21, Minor and National League.  They have won 4 out of 7 Finals, Mayo have won 5 out of 32
Post by: armaghniac on July 09, 2022, 05:01:51 PM
Mind you the Armagh team 20 years ago should have been in 4 or 5 finals.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 09, 2022, 05:07:27 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on July 09, 2022, 04:01:59 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 09, 2022, 03:19:04 PM

Ok,

1992  All Ireland Minor Final  Meath beat Armagh
1994  National League Final  Meath beat Armagh
2002  All Ireland Senior Final  Armagh beat Kerry
2003  All Ireland Senior Final   Tyrone beat Armagh
2004  All Ireland U-21 Final  Armagh beat Mayo
2005  National League Final  Armagh beat Wexford
2009  All Ireland Minor Final  Armagh beat Mayo

As a much smaller county within a much tougher province, Armagh have obviously not qualified for anywhere near as many National Finals as Mayo over the same time period.  But have managed the full house of a Senior, U-21, Minor and National League.  They have won 4 out of 7 Finals, Mayo have won 5 out of 32

Don't forget 1997, 99, 2000, 2006, 2011,2012.... ;)