GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Brick on March 14, 2014, 09:24:11 AM

Title: Quigleys walk out on Fermanagh
Post by: The Brick on March 14, 2014, 09:24:11 AM
Fermanagh forward ace Seamus Quigley has left the county panel and is not expected back.

His brothers Sean and Conor reportedly accompanied him when he left after a training ground dispute earlier this week, and all three were omitted from the Fermanagh team announced last night to play Limerick.

Corner-back Conor was replaced by Tiernan Daly and Ryan Ormsby and Brian Cox came into their attack in place of his brothers for Sunday's Division 3 trip to Limerick, which has been switched to Newcastle West.

It is not the first time that Seamus Quigley has been at odds with a Fermanagh senior manager.

When Pete McGrath took over this year he brought him back into the fold on the strength of Roslea's latest county success, but it was Quigley's first return for Fermanagh since Peter Canavan dropped him in the summer of 2012 for missing training. He had been Fermanagh's top scorer beforehand, scoring 5-43 in the 2012 National League, and the full-forward is regarded as one of the most naturally talented forwards in Ulster.

It is believed that McGrath dropped him before the recent league encounter with Sligo because he played a soccer match for Lisnaskea Rovers beforehand.

If his brother Sean does not return, he could prove to be an even bigger loss to the Erne men.

He usually lines out behind Seamus at centre-forward and is currently the second-highest scorer in the entire league, having amassed 3-18 so far.

Only Conor Sweeney's 2-22 for Division 4 leaders Tipperary is higher.

Fermanagh are already in the relegation zone, joint second- last in Division 3 with Wexford, just two points clear of winless Offaly.

Can anyone tame the Quigley brothers???
Title: Re: Quigleys walk out on Fermanagh
Post by: Jinxy on March 14, 2014, 09:37:29 AM
Are these lads basically the Fermanagh equivalent of the McGourtys?
Post by: Bingo on March 14, 2014, 09:46:06 AM
Fermanagh really need to get a proper manager in place who will be able to man manager these lads.  :o
Post by: The Brick on March 14, 2014, 09:50:57 AM
McGrath too nice for that set up. Either school team or high end county team where he would gain a bit more respect. Its not a manager they need in fermanagh its an Army drill instructor
Post by: J OGorman on March 14, 2014, 09:53:04 AM
Quote from: Bingo on March 14, 2014, 09:46:06 AM
Fermanagh really need to get a proper manager in place who will be able to man manager these lads.  :o

I'd let them run on. Fine footballers, but if they were anywhere near serious about busting themselves for their county, they wouldnt be carrying all the excess timber. Grand maybe for club / lower league divisions, but not if yer serious about promotion and competing in say div 2 or having a rattle at the Anglo Celt
Post by: The Brick on March 14, 2014, 09:53:37 AM
Fond of the sauce alright
Post by: rodney trotter on March 14, 2014, 09:57:12 AM
Sure lots of managers couldn't tame him. He walked under Malachy O Rouke,  John O Neill and then Canavan, cant seem to give a full year's commitment without going  Awol
Post by: mb80b60 on March 14, 2014, 10:01:27 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on March 14, 2014, 09:53:04 AM
Quote from: Bingo on March 14, 2014, 09:46:06 AM

I'd let them run on. Fine footballers, but if they were anywhere near serious about busting themselves for their county, they wouldnt be carrying all the excess timber. Grand maybe for club / lower league divisions, but not if yer serious about promotion and competing in say div 2 or having a rattle at the Anglo Celt

This is a common misconception.  'They' are not carrying excess timber.  Seamus probably is but Conor and Sean are not.  Conor is lean.

Outside of Fermanagh everyone seems to lump the three of them together.  Seamus leaving the panel has never affected the other two previously and I've never heard of either of Conor or Sean having disciplinary issues. 

If it was my choice I would drop Seamus but try to integrate Sean and Conor again.  as I said it's the first time I've heard of any disciplinary issues with them at this level.  Seamus obviously has had previous with numerous managers.  It will be interesting to see how Mark Harte handles him at club level this season.
Post by: theticklemister on March 14, 2014, 10:26:21 AM
The title of this thread soulds like a lovely stroll in the lake county
Post by: Gold on March 14, 2014, 10:31:48 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 14, 2014, 09:37:29 AM

Embarrassing that you even realise that and you in Meath.

In Antrim one of those boys is playing and playing well at minute but sure it would be no surprise should the same thing that happened in Fermanagh, happen here.

Must be a stinkin atmosphere. Some people saying 'please stay, we need you' others saying 'let them go they're tools'

Fat boy who'll never do anything when the sun is high in sky
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 14, 2014, 10:38:32 AM
Quigley (Seamus) is a liability and of no use to Fermanagh going forward. Fermanagh have had a few similar characters in the past. You hear more about these lads in the media than you do some premiership players. He's a talented footballer, no doubt, but he only causes disruption. McGrath should just axe him (and his brothers if they want to go too..) and get on with it. Cananvan had similar issues. If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck etc...

Post by: BennyHarp on March 14, 2014, 10:42:25 AM
He plainly doesnt want to commit to the requirements needed to play intercounty football - so he has every right to walk away. He should have done it years ago - or it should have been done for him!!
Post by: Jinxy on March 14, 2014, 12:43:05 PM
Quote from: Gold on March 14, 2014, 10:31:48 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 14, 2014, 09:37:29 AM

Embarrassing that you even realise that and you in Meath.

In Antrim one of those boys is playing and playing well at minute but sure it would be no surprise should the same thing that happened in Fermanagh, happen here.

Must be a stinkin atmosphere. Some people saying 'please stay, we need you' others saying 'let them go they're tools'

Fat boy who'll never do anything when the sun is high in sky

The legend of the McGourtys has spread far and wide.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 14, 2014, 01:59:06 PM
What says Harangeur?

He was very vocal on Cavans equivalent of the Quigleys. Should the manager be removed in this instance as Bingo said and get someone in who can manage them properly. Clearly Pete McGrath hasn't a clue.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 14, 2014, 02:49:46 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 14, 2014, 10:26:21 AM
The title of this thread soulds like a lovely stroll in the lake county

What have the Quigleys and Fermanagh got to do with walking in Westmeath?
Post by: haranguerer on March 14, 2014, 04:05:12 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 14, 2014, 01:59:06 PM
What says Harangeur?

He was very vocal on Cavans equivalent of the Quigleys. Should the manager be removed in this instance as Bingo said and get someone in who can manage them properly. Clearly Pete McGrath hasn't a clue.

I dont recall being vocal on any Cavan disciplinary issue? (Only cavan thing I've been vocal about was saying let SJ do what he wants)

Seamie is a joy to watch, but a head case. As I said before, after the soccer incident, in the past he was able to call the shots; there was noone close, and opinion was very much split when he was axed because we could ill afford to do without him, warts and all.

Now however, hes not in that position - Sean his brother has been playing better than him, and Tomas Corrigan is also an excellent forward. Its gives the manager a much stronger hand, and he dealt with the soccer incident perfectly imo, another chance, but made clear its his last. This time, noone will be backing Seamie.

Sean and Conor are seperate cases as has been said, it seems in this instance they showed solidarity, he is their brother after all, but they're different. Sean will be back, and Conor too most likely.
Post by: Syferus on March 14, 2014, 04:12:13 PM
Sure hasn't Conor been named to the bench for the Limerick game?

Sean should follow suit ASAP and not let his brother derail a very promising career.
Post by: Bingo on March 14, 2014, 04:15:34 PM
Can I add that Bingo was been tongue in cheek in his earlier reply. Thank you.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 14, 2014, 06:50:57 PM
Sean IMO the best footballer of the brothers. I feel sorry for Pete McGrath the Quigleys need to cop on.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 14, 2014, 06:55:10 PM
this must be annoying to Fermanagh supporters, that big bollix has the potential to be the best forward in Ireland from what i have seen of him, def needs to drop a stone and show some respect to his teamates instead of been a diva, there was always one of these guys at underage level in your club but u dont expect this attitude at county level. The other brothers have dropped in behind him, seamy is the problem and i wish a close friend would talk to him to see whats hes throwing away, nothing worse than pissing talent away
Post by: CD on March 14, 2014, 07:07:59 PM
Quigleys walk waddle out on Fermanagh
Post by: The Brick on March 20, 2014, 10:37:28 AM
Owens back for Ernemen as McGrath waits on two Quigleys

Fermanagh have been boosted by the return to training of Barry Owens and manager Peter McGrath continues to hope that the Quigley brothers Sean and Conor will return to the squad.
McGrath has confirmed that the other Quigley brother Seamus will not be returning to the squad following a training-ground row last week.
But the manager has left the door open for Sean and Conor Quigley.
McGrath is looking for clarity on their intentions before the end of this week.
Sean and Conor Quigley left Fermanagh training on the evening of 11 March following the disagreement involving their brother.
"Contact has been made and it is up to them," McGrath told the Irish News.
"But having said that we're not going to keep this as an open-ended issue.
"We can't be operating on a will-they-be-back scenario and the players can't be either. So it needs to be sorted out before the end of this week."
However, McGrath has made clear that their will be no route back to the squad for Seamus Quigley.
Owens had indicated that he would return to the squad at some stage during the Spring after family commitments ruled him out for the early stages of the Football League.
Eamonn Maguire has also resumed training with McGrath's squad after being unavailable because of work commitments.
Despite being without the three Quigleys, Fermanagh eased their Division 3 relegation worries with a nine-point win over Limerick at Newcastle West last weekend.
However, the Ernemen will need at least one win from their remaining two homes games against Wexford and Offaly to secure their Division 3 status for next year.
Post by: yellowcard on March 20, 2014, 11:11:59 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 14, 2014, 06:55:10 PM
this must be annoying to Fermanagh supporters, that big bollix has the potential to be the best forward in Ireland from what i have seen of him, def needs to drop a stone and show some respect to his teamates instead of been a diva, there was always one of these guys at underage level in your club but u dont expect this attitude at county level. The other brothers have dropped in behind him, seamy is the problem and i wish a close friend would talk to him to see whats hes throwing away, nothing worse than pissing talent away

Your surely having a laugh. Quigley will always be one of these 'he could have been.....' type of players. A talented player alright but a few good matches in McKenna Cup games and division 3/4 league matches doesn't constitute the potential to be the best forward in Ireland!
Post by: The Brick on March 20, 2014, 11:15:45 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 20, 2014, 11:11:59 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 14, 2014, 06:55:10 PM

Your surely having a laugh. Quigley will always be one of these 'he could have been.....' type of players. A talented player alright but a few good matches in McKenna Cup games and division 3/4 league matches doesn't constitute the potential to be the best forward in Ireland!

Very true. IMO does not have potential to best best forward in ulster never mind the country.

Would be great to see Barry Owens back again. Class full back to watch
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2014, 02:07:09 PM
Go into any pub in the country at the weekend and you'll find plenty of lads who had great 'potential'.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 22, 2014, 08:42:03 AM
To be the best or one of the best you need the right attitude. All the great players have attitude and a willingness to learn and develop. This Quigley lad might have good basic skill and strength (which I consider to be at best 50% of what makes a great player) but his attitude stinks so he'll probably never even amount to the best player in Fermanagh never mind Ireland.
Post by: haranguerer on March 22, 2014, 10:40:12 AM
Ach he definitely won't be. He won't be in the top 100, noone is under any illusions about that. The point is he has the most talent out of any footballer I've ever seen I think, and while you're entirely correct to say that its only part of it, generally its the part thats hardest to find, and its usually the part thats easiest to watch. Add to that his sheer audacity and showmanship, and hes a massive loss to the county scene.

It was always going to end in tears, I just wanted him to last long enough to play in a few high profile championship matches so a bigger audience could enjoy him. I dont think we'll ever see him play for Fermanagh again.
Post by: tyroneman on March 22, 2014, 04:08:36 PM
Quote. he has the most talent out of any footballer I've ever seen I think     

Have you never seen the Gooch? Jamie Clarke? Sean Cavanagh? The Bradleys? Joyce? Meehan? Canavan? Declan Browne? Maurice Fitz? Frank McGuigan? Jack O'Se?"........ ;)
Post by: haranguerer on March 24, 2014, 08:08:32 AM
Never saw the last two, I've seen the rest.

Its my opinion, and I doubt you've seen as much of him as I have, while I've probably saw as much of most of the others as you have. ;)
Post by: Jinxy on March 24, 2014, 09:55:08 AM
Who'd win a fight between the Quigleys and the McGourtys?
Would any of them even show up?
Post by: Orior on March 24, 2014, 01:19:13 PM
What says Harangeur?

Very poor wind-up, but just in case I will swallow the bait. I'm pretty sure that Pete has proven himself at every possible level in gaelic football.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 24, 2014, 01:48:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2014, 09:55:08 AM

Only if there was pasta afterwards. Wouldn't turn up for ham sandwiches.
Post by: haranguerer on March 24, 2014, 02:13:35 PM
Seamie wouldnt eat pasta - he uses those diet sheets coaches hand out at the start of a season as a food blacklist.
Post by: tintin25 on March 24, 2014, 05:45:16 PM
What's the story with Sean and Conor? Are they back or what?

Forward line wouldn't be too bad if we had at least Tomas Corrigan and Sean Quigley.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 24, 2014, 09:06:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 24, 2014, 01:19:13 PM
What says Harangeur?

Very poor wind-up, but just in case I will swallow the bait. I'm pretty sure that Pete has proven himself at every possible level in gaelic football.

Substitute Johnstone for Quigley, substitute Val Andrews for Pete McGrath and then re-engage your sarcasm chip.
Title: Re: Quigleys walk out on Fermanaghherald
Post by: FermGael on March 24, 2014, 10:10:36 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on March 24, 2014, 05:45:16 PM
What's the story with Sean and Conor? Are they back or what?

Forward line wouldn't be too bad if we had at least Tomas Corrigan and Sean Quigley.

Fermanagh has a long history of big fish, small pond syndrome.
This is just another case of it.

Post by: armaghniac on March 24, 2014, 10:15:50 PM
Fermanagh has some big fish alright, but big ponds too.
Post by: wanderer on March 24, 2014, 10:48:27 PM
I am glad this has happened now, well before the championship so that this circus can be put on the back burner. I would have said that McGraths handling on the soccer episode would have dented the ego and the fall out was only a matter of time

As someone else said, I would think that that is the end of the county career. It will suit better in all the stories if he never has to do it in the championship or over a sustained period. The country is full of players who will be able to tell you about how good they were, without ever having the evidence to back it up
Post by: theticklemister on March 24, 2014, 11:08:10 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 24, 2014, 01:48:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2014, 09:55:08 AM

Only if there was pasta afterwards. Wouldn't turn up for ham sandwiches.

Dunno the McGrourtys would be good at shit-talking their opponents like in the boxing. It might square the Quigley Brothers.
Post by: ExiledGael on March 25, 2014, 08:53:44 PM
Reporter website tonight:

Fermanagh manager Pete McGrath has confirmed that Conor and Sean Quigley are no longer part of his squad but Paul Ward has been added to the panel while a number of other unnamed players have also been approached.
A well documented fall out at training a fortnight ago between Seamus Quigley and McGrath led to all three of the brothers leaving the squad.
Last week, the Fermanagh manager confirmed that Seamus was no longer part of his plans but that the door remained open for the return of Conor and Sean.
However, the pair turned down an offer to talk through the issue and McGrath has stated that the management have "drawn a line in the sand under it and moved on".
"At this stage the Quigleys are gone," he said. " We offered to talk to Sean and Conor to try and resolve whatever issues they had but unfortunately they weren't prepared to talk unless there was a pre-condition that Seamie would be back in the panel, and that simply was not going to happen. We've drawn a line in the sand under it and moved on.
"It was their decision, reluctantly we have to let them go, but it is the two boys who are making the decision, not the management. We made it very clear, they know the situation regarding Seamus and at the end of the day the offer was made to have talks with them and the pre-condition which they set was simply a non-runner."
The former Down All Ireland winning manager accepts that when dealing with a squad of players there is always the chance of problems arising but he has no regrets and feels the management made the right decision.
"Any team and any team management can do without this at any time but these issues come when you are dealing with a group of players; there is always the potential for differences of opinion and there is always the potential for people to see things differently. But, I know personally that we have taken the only course of action we could have taken in the interests of the squad and the interests of Fermanagh football and I have no regrets at all. The matter is now closed."
McGrath also confirmed that Devenish defender Anthony McGuinness has left the panel as he was unable to commit but Derrygonnelly's Paul Ward has been added to the squad while he is also hopeful of another couple of players will also commit over the next ten days.
"Paul Ward joined the squad last night and a number of other players have been contacted and I'm hopeful that they will be with us maybe inside the next week or ten days, but I'm not prepared at this stage to reveal identities as it would be unfair to them."
Post by: tintin25 on March 25, 2014, 09:15:55 PM
Ach bollix. Whilst we'll prob do enough to stay up, I doubt we'll make any impact in the championship. Forward line isn't good enough without them.
Post by: FermGael on March 25, 2014, 09:25:25 PM
That's that then. 
Cannot believe that the Sean and Conor refused to talk unless Seamie was brought back onto the panel.
Pete has dealt with it as best he could. Better to have a united and committed panel.

Very silly and the only loser is Fermanagh.

All the best Mark Harte.  Only a matter of time.....
Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on March 25, 2014, 09:52:18 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 24, 2014, 09:06:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 24, 2014, 01:19:13 PM
What says Harangeur?

Substitute Johnstone for Quigley, substitute Val Andrews for Pete McGrath and then re-engage your sarcasm chip.

Myles you must be daft, how anyone could compare McGraths record to Andrews. Outside of Harte, Mc Grath is the most successful manager in Ulster at county level.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2014, 10:52:22 PM
For the love of god!

This is what haranguer had to say on seanie Johnston/Kevin cassidy. I was just wondering why his opinion is not the same on this matter....

Let him play wherever to f**k he wants. Why should any manager be able to completely stop his inter -co career - its a joke! Same goes for Kevin Cassidy, his inter co career could conceivably be finished, over some jumped up p***k of a manager trying to form omerta. why should the players be made suffer?
Post by: haranguerer on March 26, 2014, 09:26:57 AM
Christ lads, its clear that it was a tongue in cheek comment from Myles, and he wasnt comparing McGrath to anyone...

Myles, they arent similar situations. If he was told he'd wouldnt be playing for Fermanagh again and so put in for a transfer, or if he'd been a shining example of how to behave as a player but was indisciplined once in a minor way and thrown off the panel as a result, then perhaps they could be compared, but not the way things are. Hes out on his own in terms of his record for one thing.

I really thought Sean and probably Conor would be back, its a real pity they're not.

Post by: Bensars on March 26, 2014, 10:09:10 AM
Well done Pete McGrath !

Cant manage any squad and be held to ultimatums by members of the panel. Short term pain for the greater good.
Realisticaly Fermanagh were'nt going to do anything anyway, even with these buckos.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 26, 2014, 10:27:06 AM
Any word on what they actually fell out about at training?
Post by: FarneyMan on March 26, 2014, 12:31:52 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 26, 2014, 10:27:06 AM
Any word on what they actually fell out about at training?

Not sure its correct but had heard McGrath took issue with some of Quigleys bad language at training and a row developed from there.......
Post by: FermGael on May 08, 2014, 11:21:11 PM
Sean Quigley returned last night for Fermanagh playing 20 minutes in a challenge match against Wicklow.
Good to see him back. Big boost for the Antrim game.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 08, 2014, 11:42:41 PM
Quote from: FermGael on May 08, 2014, 11:21:11 PM
Sean Quigley returned last night for Fermanagh playing 20 minutes in a challenge match against Wicklow.

The Antrim game & beyond.
Pete McGrath has a CV dotted with trophies.
Post by: Under Lights on May 09, 2014, 07:50:51 AM
Quote from: FermGael on May 08, 2014, 11:21:11 PM

Great to hear.
Post by: Jimmyjimson on May 09, 2014, 10:42:05 AM
Mark Murphy back as well. He's been out of the country for at least 5 years or so.
Post by: FermGael on May 09, 2014, 11:45:33 AM
Good to see Murphy back as well.
Adds a bit of depth to the panel but i would assume it would take him a bit of time to get back up to speed as he has been in Australia since 2009.
Things seem to be shaping up well for the Antrim game.
Lot of young players blooded in the league and they did well.  Discipline issues sorted.
I wonder will McCabe be asked back now his soccer committments are over with Glentoran?

In Pete we trust.
Post by: WT4E on August 08, 2014, 01:01:18 PM
Poor ould Seamie - having a rough year of it!
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 08, 2014, 01:34:50 PM
Sickening from the Mirror, to pick on a lad that plays an amateur sport and put him headline news is uncalled for. The GAA bashing goes on. im not condoning his actions either, i think drugs are the bane of our society.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 01:38:39 PM
Never understodd the rationale behind the attitude that a player shouldn't be ridiculed if he plays an amateur sport in comparison with the attitude that its fine if he gets paid to play sport.  Its either ok or its not irrelevant of the financial perks.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2014, 01:39:24 PM
It's a common thing among young lads, I just hope he hasn't a problem with it, or with anything else. Either way a sc**bag action from a sc**bag paper. Would 'Joe the Plumber' be headline news like that?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2014, 01:41:16 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 01:38:39 PM
Never understodd the rationale behind the attitude that a player shouldn't be ridiculed if he plays an amateur sport in comparison with the attitude that its fine if he gets paid to play sport.  Its either ok or its not irrelevant of the financial perks.

You don't understand that a person's private life is not food for the media, and if he is an amateur then they have even less right to broadcast it on the front page? If you don't understand that, then there's not much hope for you.

Professional sportsmen's private lives shouldn't be front page new either, but at least in their case it could be said to have a direct bearing on their job. This isn't a job for GAA players, it's a hobby.
Post by: Tabloid Tim on August 08, 2014, 01:42:33 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on August 08, 2014, 01:34:50 PM
Sickening from the Mirror, to pick on a lad that plays an amateur sport and put him headline news is uncalled for. The GAA bashing goes on. im not condoning his actions either, i think drugs are the bane of our society.

Poor form from the Mirror but unfortunately a lot of people would have lifted the rag this morning because of the front page. Society loves gossip. Very much a recreational drug and common enough among young people- the fact that he used to play for a county team means he is plastered on the front of a paper- if the same video was released with some ordinary Joe doing it there wouldn't be a eye batted.
Post by: Orior on August 08, 2014, 02:00:00 PM
Quote from: Tabloid Tim on August 08, 2014, 01:42:33 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on August 08, 2014, 01:34:50 PM

Poor form from the Mirror but unfortunately a lot of people would have lifted the rag this morning because of the front page. Society loves gossip. Very much a recreational drug and common enough among young people- the fact that he used to play for a county team means he is plastered on the front of a paper- if the same video was realised with some ordinary Joe doing it there wouldn't be a eye batted at it.

Are you Seamie?
Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 02:39:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 08, 2014, 01:41:16 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 01:38:39 PM

You don't understand that a person's private life is not food for the media, and if he is an amateur then they have even less right to broadcast it on the front page? If you don't understand that, then there's not much hope for you.

Professional sportsmen's private lives shouldn't be front page new either, but at least in their case it could be said to have a direct bearing on their job. This isn't a job for GAA players, it's a hobby.

My point is that there shouldn't be any differentiation between a paid and non paid sportsman having their private life plastered on the front page of a paper.  My personal view is that nobodies business should be public knowledge via a newspaper, but to say its ok for a Premiership footballer to be tabloid fodder and not ok for a County footballer is pure hypocrisy.