Recent posts

General discussion / Re: Death Notices
Last post by Jell 0 Biafra - Today at 02:03:03 AM
Arsenal's title hopes.
GAA Discussion / Re: GAA moneybags and Sean Cav...
Last post by onefineday - Today at 01:52:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 14, 2024, 12:55:07 PMNo need to be tarnishing a mans business ffs!

If he's not great at being a pundit, that's grand, but lots of lads behind the computer putting a mans and his families business down is out of order
I didn't see the comments, but cavanagh's firm is doing very well by the looks of it with 4 or 5 offices now open and about 50 staff including many qualified professionals - so I doubt the comments on here would have too much impact on its future. Fair play to him.
Last post by Truthsayer - Today at 01:48:38 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on Today at 12:11:57 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on Today at 12:01:14 AMIt is GAA elite's attempts to carve up our national games and privatise and sell off the profitable, prestige games. Our best and most high profile games should be available to all grass roots GAA members via our national broadcaster. Jarlath's efforts to play the man and not the ball in this debate betrays the weakness of his argument.

Only the high profile games, so half the counties would never appear? Is that the GAA you want?
That is some interpretation on what I said! 😆 whatever games are covered should be free to air but they are selling off the profitable high prestige games. Its not that complicated!
Last post by onefineday - Today at 01:45:00 AM
Don't see much wrong with cavanagh's comments in that the gaa has huge cash reserves and is undoubtedly cherry picking attractive games to try and drive subscriptions to gaago.
I recall this being denied by rte/gaa last year, but seriously....

Interesting to hear burns now state that he wants gaago to be a major revenue generator for the association, it'd be great to know how the numbers are looking in that regard?
What was the revenue generated for 2023 like, was there a profit generated?
Only when we see the first few years of numbers will we know if this is a failed vanity project, which has caused tremendous harm to the goodwill of gaa and promotion of our games or a crucial revenue generating stream that's here to stay.
I know which scenario my money is on anyway!!

I do think there's a market for a gaa streaming service, but it should be for games that won't be shown on TV otherwise and it should include the various club championships which are currently on a myriad of different platforms.
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 4 -...
Last post by joemamas - Today at 01:08:30 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 14, 2024, 11:13:03 PMI've a feeling Louth and especially Monaghan will cause Kerry loads of problems.

Well given your Kerry connections  ;D  ;D  ;D, you would surely know that.
Time to move to your next alias
General discussion / Re: Death Notices
Last post by quit yo jibbajabba - Today at 12:34:09 AM
Supergran. That's my week ruined. Nite all
Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by tbrick18 - Today at 12:32:03 AM
Quote from: Silver hill on May 14, 2024, 11:09:13 PMI hope I'm wrong but hearing that we've a long line of injured players at the minute including Rodgers, Conor Doc, and mcevoy. Big blow if that is correct. Will need everyone to win in Galway.

Been hearing similar plus another one.
Hadn't hear about Conor though.
General discussion / Re: Things that make you go Wh...
Last post by Rebel84 - Today at 12:32:00 AM
The portait of King Charlie
Last post by armaghniac - Today at 12:11:57 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on Today at 12:01:14 AMIt is GAA elite's attempts to carve up our national games and privatise and sell off the profitable, prestige games. Our best and most high profile games should be available to all grass roots GAA members via our national broadcaster. Jarlath's efforts to play the man and not the ball in this debate betrays the weakness of his argument.

Only the high profile games, so half the counties would never appear? Is that the GAA you want?
General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by screenexile - Today at 12:05:06 AM
I don't care if City win it's not that big a deal and I won't have to listen too much.

The way Arsenal fans I know have been slabbering all year I'm more than happy for them to come up short.