GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Mayo => Topic started by: the bucket on November 13, 2006, 02:09:10 PM

Title: mayo hurling
Post by: the bucket on November 13, 2006, 02:09:10 PM
any news on the new management for next season did frankie  and the blind optician get back in?
Title: Re: mayo hurling
Post by: Hit the ground on November 13, 2006, 02:37:40 PM
How much work and more importantly money are the Mayo county board putting in to developing hurling in the county? I travelled down from Galway to the county final between Ballina and Ballyhaunis a couple of weeks ago in Charlestown and the divide between the teams was fairly big - a game like this might be expected in the early rounds of the championship - but in the final? - wasn't the best advert for mayo hurling or the work (or lack of) being done by the county board on promoting the game.  What are the views of players involved in hurling in Mayo?

Post by: the bucket on November 13, 2006, 03:46:05 PM
the county final was poor, but had you seen the 3 matches between toreen and ballyhaunis in the semi final you would have been very impressed, the second replay and extra time was fantastic stuff.
the clubs themselves are doing their best without any help financial or otherwise from county board, every inch of progress made by hurling is met by serious opposition by the county board and their friend from ballyhaunis called the verger
Post by: Hit the ground on November 13, 2006, 05:19:06 PM
i have no doubt that the work is being put in by the indivdual clubs and they deserve credit for it, however that work can only go so far if the county board won't meet them half way!  In the meantime keep up the good work  :) - as an aside keith higgins was superb that day
Post by: Sky Blue on November 13, 2006, 05:50:17 PM
How many clubs are hurling in Mayo? Whats the set up like? Do you get much assisantce from your neighbours?
Post by: westmayo on November 13, 2006, 05:57:10 PM
There are only four clubs playing senior hurling in the county as far as I know. Westport, Ballina, Ballyhaunis and Tooreen. (I'm open to correction on that). There a a good few underage clubs after setting up in the last few years such as Ballyvary (Pake area), Adrgoole (Lahardane/Glenhest Area) and one or two others. Alot of work seems to be put in by the dedicated few.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 13, 2006, 06:33:36 PM
I think there are 6 hurling clubs in Mayo. You forgot about Belmullet and Castlebar westmayo.
Post by: the bucket on November 14, 2006, 01:21:16 PM
yes you are correct 6 senior clubs plus 2 other clubs which are just juvenile clubs only as yet. we get no help from our neighbours in galway, less help from our own county board and coonaught  council led by the verger are out to hinder us in every way they can, other than that hurling was never in better shape in mayo than it is now
Post by: neilthemac on November 14, 2006, 01:27:38 PM
Galway hurling should go into munster or leinster as they have no interaction with Roscommon or Mayo. clubs won't play challenge matches, don't want to invite underage teams into blitzs, leagues etc. Its nearly apartheid down our way, assisted by the Galway County Bo... sorry, Connacht Council
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 14, 2006, 01:55:17 PM
Good to see Mayo hurling progressing, hopefully one or tow more club might form and join the senior sides and make the senior championship better and more competitive, its a pity about no inter action with Galway, it could be of great benefit for the underage development.
Post by: sheskin on November 14, 2006, 02:03:28 PM
And do not expect any help from Nicky Brennan, not that many years ago he stated at a meeting in our club in dublin that the GAA had to concentrate on keeping hurling strong in the traditional counties and there was no sence in spreading the resources thinly over developing counties.
He probably would deny this now and give the usual line about helping everybody etc
Post by: highking on November 14, 2006, 04:58:31 PM
Brennan didnt give a good account of himself to the hurling people when down in Mayo last year. Cant understand why he is so much against Hurling Counties like Mayo. Sean Kelly had more of a Grá for hurling than Brennan.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 14, 2006, 09:34:14 PM
Brennan didnt give a good account of himself to the hurling people when down in Mayo last year. Cant understand why he is so much against Hurling Counties like Mayo. Sean Kelly had more of a Grá for hurling than Brennan.

And therein, I bet, lies the root of the problem; Brennan is a Kilkenny man while Kelly is not from a "traditional" hurling county.
The greatest\ obstacle to hurling keeping abreast of the changing times comes from the conservatism of those in its stronghold areas.
I am not surprised at the bucket's comment that Galway won't help Mayo to develop its hurling. I'd imagine Roscommon people would say the same thing of Galway.
I generally get along well with any Wexford people I know; on the whole they are a friendly and tolerant lot but not where hurling is concerned. I mention that county in particular because I find their hurling snootiness greatly at variance with their tolerance in other matters.
Some Kilkenny people, Brennan probably included would be of the same mindset; they don't want to see mud-warriors like ourselves progressing at the game.
Post by: MacDanger on November 14, 2006, 10:47:54 PM
QuoteI am not surprised at the bucket's comment that Galway won't help Mayo to develop its hurling

In fairness if the Mayo CB are doing feck all why should Galway CB make an effort?? Changes have to start with the CB and Connacht Council
Post by: the bucket on November 15, 2006, 10:28:37 AM
we dont need any help from anybody else, all we want is to get the county board and the verger to stop hindering us. we tell that to everybody when they come to mayo but nothing is ever done.
Post by: muscles magoo on November 15, 2006, 12:33:46 PM
Pointing the finger at Galway for our hurling woes is a bit rich surely....??
Post by: neilthemac on November 15, 2006, 01:57:00 PM
if clubs in Roscommon/Mayo cannot get challenge matches vs Galwya teams, or are never invited to underage blitzs or leagues, then how are they meant to improve and progress to better level of hurling
Post by: the bucket on November 15, 2006, 02:29:44 PM
Quote from: muscles magoo on November 15, 2006, 12:33:46 PM
Pointing the finger at Galway for our hurling woes is a bit rich surely....??

we are not blaming galway for all our woes, the question was asked did galway help in any way and was answered that they never helped and its a bit rich when you hear all the galway hurling people criticising the rest of gaa for not helping them when it comes to hurling and they completely ignore everyone else in connaught" reap what you sow"
Post by: muscles magoo on November 15, 2006, 02:40:52 PM
Ultimately it's up to the Clubs & CB's in Mayo & Roscommon to drag themselves up to a level where it would be at least somewhat beneficial for a club in Galway to play these teams in challenge games, blitzes etc. At the moment this is not the case. Hammering the shite out of a team isn't necessarily going to make either side into a better one.  You may have a point on the underage scene though. Perhaps the Mayo/Roscommon clubs could be entered into the Galway Co Championship at the B or C grade and see how that goes for a few years. I'm sure the logistical problems involved would probably render that idea useless however...
Post by: highking on November 15, 2006, 04:50:40 PM
Three clubs in Mayo seeked entry into the Galway B Hurling Competitions last year. Entry was granted by the Juvenile Board in Galway. However, when the Connacht Council got wind of this, they refused to allow the Mayo teams to take part. Galway Juvenile board then refused entry to the Mayo teams. Reason for exclusion was that under GAA rules, a team cannot take part in two different Championships in two different counties. Galways Championship and League is intertwined so Mayo Clubs arent aloud take part. No by-law was introduced by Connacht Council to allow Mayo teams to take part in Galway. I wonder why?
Post by: the bucket on November 16, 2006, 10:01:26 AM
I know castlebar did take part at u12 level and under 14 level in galway this year, and competed well.
Post by: neilthemac on November 16, 2006, 10:35:18 AM
as did Four Roads from Roscommon for the last few years

very hard for clubs in roscommon to bring up the standard of hurling amongst themselves with only 6 underage clubs - essential to be playing 'unknown' superior teams to show the young players the standard that they too could reach.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 16, 2006, 10:35:35 AM
The junior league final between ballina & tooreen looks like it'll be sunday week, as ballina's u-21's are playing this sunday, no venue decided as yet
Post by: the bucket on November 16, 2006, 11:34:22 AM
did ballina beat westport by much, toreen won 4-9 to 1-3
Post by: sheskin on November 16, 2006, 12:27:40 PM
There is an increadable snobbery attached to hurling. I have been told by people from "hurling counties" that my son could never become a top class hurler because I did not come from a traditional county and did not play myself. I could understand this if i was coaching him myself but he is being coached by a former all ireland winning captain.
we have found that the besy way to improve standards and to give the lads confidence that their skills are ok is to play clubs from the strong counties. At underage there is very little between them. The problem in Dublin is that most of the better players choose football when they have to choose. The reality is that you cannot play both even at top club level.
Post by: highking on November 16, 2006, 10:50:38 PM
Westport couldnt field. Gave the game to Ballina. To be fair they were beaten in the Senior about two months ago and closed up shop for the year. Ballina (without two county players) now play Tooreen (without six county players) in the Genfitt League Final. Will probably be played in Ballyvary next Sunday week.
Post by: the bucket on November 17, 2006, 11:15:51 AM
Keith Higgins is one of the finest hurlers in the country and he is not from the elite.
How insulting of anyone to say that about your son, Dublin were one the best hurling counties in the country and seem to be on the way back so hopefully you and your son will have a chance of proving the snobs wrong.
What county were these people from who insulted your son.?
Post by: neilthemac on November 17, 2006, 02:19:12 PM
f**k them all! you play hurling for the love of it. not winning all-ireland titles

a young lad from Roscommon Gaels nearly won the Feile skills competition this year down in Cork, beaten by half a point.
Post by: the bucket on November 20, 2006, 11:00:57 AM
Any news on the management set up for 2007,?

Are 2006 management been reappointed or have they found someone new?
Post by: sheskin on November 20, 2006, 12:56:18 PM
Bucket
The people that made those statements were from Tipp and Limerick but the attidude is widespread. One Kilkenny man that has a very good job in the financial world believes that there is no point in coaching huling skills that you are either born with the skill or not. These people are very happy to keep the game confined to a few elite counties.
Best of luck to all involved in developing hurling in Mayo but there are so many obsticles in the way.
Post by: the bucket on November 20, 2006, 02:33:48 PM
Tipp people are arrogant any way would not matter even if you were from kilkenny or cork they would still think you were not good enough as for limerick a bit of a joke when it comes to hurling nowdays all they can talk about is Mick mackay.
As for what the kilkenny man said ignore everything you hear from a kilkenny man,the biggest shower of whiner you will ever meet.
Post by: the bucket on November 21, 2006, 10:18:04 AM
any news on the frankie and the blind optician  were they reappointed for 3 years without a review ;D ;D

Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 23, 2006, 08:36:07 AM
The junior final is on saturday evening, 6.30 in aghamore under lights
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 23, 2006, 09:22:33 AM
Your right bucket, i dont know how anybody in our county can make such accusations, we are in a bad state regarding hurling, Between the soccer and Rugby, particularly Munster Rugby it is killing the gaa scene slowly.
Post by: the bucket on November 28, 2006, 11:02:46 AM
last night the mayo county board struck again and mayo hurling is today without a manager, as frank browne was told at last nights meeting that his services would not be required for the coming season.

When asked why?  this was the reply given was that they spent too much money on Hurley's a figure of €2000, cost too much to bring players back for training and they  found 15 sliothars on the sideline one day, while all this was going on the chairman(who is on the HDC) and secretary of the hurling committee sat there and said nothing.

How sad that in this day and age that people such as these can be allowed to kill off the great game of hurling in mayo and make no mistake this is their ultimate aim.

Post by: neilthemac on November 28, 2006, 12:41:13 PM
our club spends far more than that on hurleys every year!

don't even want to imagine what our bill for sliotars is...

Mayo and indeed other 2nd/3rd tier hurling counties need to get rid of the yes men at the top table, stand up for themselves and form their own seperate county board - like they have in Galway. Not just be a sub committee of the football board because they will always overule you
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 01:46:49 PM
Junior final was posponed.
Post by: slow corner back on November 28, 2006, 07:39:16 PM
I don't know a lot about mayo hurling but I thought it was going in the right direction gaining promotion to Div2 and staying there. Sacking a hurling manager for buying sliothars and sticks is a joke.
Post by: Johno07 on November 28, 2006, 07:59:45 PM
I think its clear that the main men in the 6 senior hurling clubs need to come together and form a mayo county hurling board similar to the one currently operating in Galway. Do this now or else face years of trying to talk to football men who wouldnt know a hurl from their a*rse. The same shite is happening in both football and hurling clubs throughout the country where the traditionalists in the clubs dont want to see the lesser games advancing through fear. Seperation is the answer and it needs to happen now or the wedge between the stronger hurling counties and the weaker ones will get bigger and bigger.
Post by: fingertips on November 29, 2006, 01:20:38 AM
hi folks,    im intersted to know more about  THE VERGER ?   is he for real ?
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2006, 01:57:59 AM
QuoteJunior final was posponed.

No hurleys? Sliothar?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2006, 09:56:50 AM
In interest  ;D
Post by: Blue Boy on November 29, 2006, 12:16:38 PM
Have they failed to give Frank Browne another year without actually having someone else in the pipeline? What exactly happened at the hurling board meeting last night?
Post by: the bucket on November 30, 2006, 02:35:11 PM
Quote from: fingertips on November 29, 2006, 01:20:38 AM
hi folks,    im intersted to know more about  THE VERGER ?   is he for real ?

the verger is a very real person the arch enemy of mayo hurling along with the mayo county board.
he gets his name from an actor  who plays the verger in dads army who is a dead ringer for him.
if you are from mayo or connaught then you will recognise him immediately.
Post by: Barney on November 30, 2006, 03:07:11 PM
Would the Verger be a man oft criticised on the board for his rantings against the football team as well?

I thought there was a separate hurling board? Do they not call the shots?
Post by: the bucket on November 30, 2006, 03:59:25 PM
there is no separate county board for the hurling just a sub  committee with no power and no money, the one we call the verger is a football man true and true as we welll know to our cost ,

Get a copy of dads army and you will spot him immediately, thick rimmed glasses and stupid expression on his face just like our friend
Post by: rosnarun on November 30, 2006, 04:10:29 PM
i think i saw the verger running the line with Jom from the 1989 AIF on TG4 last night. did his sons not play underage football and hurling for the county?
Post by: the bucket on November 30, 2006, 04:32:49 PM
Football yes hurling they would be disowned
Post by: fingertips on November 30, 2006, 07:42:04 PM
giving a sliotar to     THE  VERGER   is like giving holy water to the devilllll    same reaction
Post by: smelly fairy on November 30, 2006, 07:59:07 PM
If that's true about Frank Browne that's a disgrace, surely they're hoding fire until they can strike the co. board at the appropriate time?
By the way bucket- watch the Blind Optician comments, you may be slighting someone's competence, in which case one may have to fire an abacus at your good self..
Post by: fingertips on November 30, 2006, 09:27:39 PM
hurling is very much on the up in mayo.   fantastic games between tooreen and ballyhaunis   westport shudda beaten ballina       ballina shudda won the county final against ballyhaunis

signs are good for county team for 07   so county board decides to take action and put managemnt structure in turmoil.     

PRE EMPTIVE STRIKE          MORE THAN ONE   BUSH    IN THE WORLD !!!!
Post by: stephenite on November 30, 2006, 09:38:14 PM
Disgraceful carry on , I presume this Verger lad is a former referee who no longer sits on the county but on the provincial council, whilst still having the infleunce over his succesor in a way that Frank would be proud to control Bosco ???

Tried my hand at the oul hurling as a young fella at the prompting of a school mate from Crossmolina, a lot of the Crossmolina lads played hurling with the Stephenites at underage ( Paddy mac, the Nallens, Gerry etc. ) was shite at it myself but there was some real talents at that level in the county. Was always saddened at the way some were treated by both the county board and others
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 02, 2006, 08:30:40 PM
If I hadn't read the posts on this thread I wouldn't credit the way Frank Browne has been shafted by the county board.
He's been sacked for being too successful!
Really, this couldn't happen anywhere else other than Mayo;  after all Frank and his management team achieved last year , it's hard to credit that all he gets from the county board is the proverbial two-fingered salute!
What happens next?
Are the clubs planning a protest? What about the local media; has there been any reaction to the news?
Above all else, what is going to happen now?
Post by: the bucket on December 04, 2006, 09:53:29 AM
there was a whole page on the sunday star yesterday, mid west does not even know hurling exists, local papers useless,  who knows maybe we can follow cork and go on strike but would the football lads support us??
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on December 04, 2006, 09:55:10 AM
just picked this up off the bulmersfulltime sports page.

Mayo hurlers lash out at Browne treatment

03/12/2006 14:34:33
The Mayo hurlers have responded angrily to the sacking of their manager Frank Browne.

Browne was sensationally axed as team manager after county board officals felt that he had spent too much money on what was basic equipment that any serious club side would take for granted.

Browne and his selectors even bought a number of sliotars out of their own money, while some players also forked out for their own hurleys. Another beef the county board had was the fact that Browne trained the team three times a week, despite being instructed to train them only twice a week to keep costs down.

Mayo enjoyed a relatively successful year in 2006 when they reached the Division Two NHL semi-finals and won two of their four games in the Christy Ring Cup.

"We're all shocked by the decision because Frank had already put a lot of plans ready to start next year," said Mayo player Derek Walsh.

"It's hard to understand why he didn't get the job again, especially after the year we had last year. 2007 will be the most important year for Mayo hurling for a long time because with the way the league is being restructured for 2008, what grade you play in is determined by how well you do in the league this year.

"If we're left idling any longer, then we're going to be in really serious trouble," he told the Irish Daily Star Sunday.

Walsh scoffed at the county board notion that Browne had spent too much money in preparing the team this year.

"It's ridiculous for them to suggest that too much money was spent on the hurling team because we didn't even get our minimum entitlements for the year. Frank just couldn't have done the job any cheaper.

"I know some of the lads on the Mayo team who spent five or six hundred euro themselves on hurls this year because they couldn't get any off the county board."

The Mayo players hope that Browne will be reinstated in time for their upcoming Connacht League campaign.
Post by: fingertips on December 04, 2006, 01:16:20 PM
The  Holy Grail  for Mayo is to win to win the All Ireland. our U 21 team were fantastic this year and also to reach the senior final was a wonderful achievement ,so we are very very close and one more huge push from everyone hopefully will see us over that elusive line next Sept. However , the  "TO WIN AT ALL COST " mentality can be extremely dangerous because it blinkers people into seeing only one sport in our organisation and creates an athmosphere of dominance at decision level in the County Board, especially with the more elderly decision makers who still live in the past and are unwilling and unable to embrace the G.A.A. as a modern and vibrant organisation.Monies spent on county teams ,be it football or hurling at all grades, will be the subject of debate,  and so it should be, and top of list in these debates should be "  are we getting value for the money spent on our county teams." Im sure everyone who has an interest in Mayo G.A.A, matters will have their own ideas on this. A lot of wonderful progress has been achieved in hurling in Mayo in the last number of years by a vast number of dedicated people and Mayo County Board should be proud of its involvement in its promotion of our games. However ,to cut funds now will undo all the efforts of the past and will project them as of little or no value and will seriously hurt the future of hurling in Mayo. I hope this is not the hidden agenda !!! Instead of cutting funds I feel they should be added to and give Frank Browne and his selectors and players a good oppertunity to show everyone how good they are and decide then if we are getting good value for money. Any views ??
Post by: the bucket on December 04, 2006, 02:22:56 PM
There is  no hidden agenda against Mayo Hurling by the County Board, it is quite blatant out there in your face agenda against  hurling in mayo.
The problem here is that it is not costing a quarter of what they are saying it costs because they will never disclose to the hurling clubs what money they got for hurling in mayo, we know they are getting quite a considerable sum  which is not been given to the hurlers but used for football purposes
Post by: the bucket on December 04, 2006, 02:43:01 PM
Quote from: smelly fairy on November 30, 2006, 07:59:07 PM
If that's true about Frank Browne that's a disgrace, surely they're hoding fire until they can strike the co. board at the appropriate time?
By the way bucket- watch the Blind Optician comments, you may be slighting someone's competence, in which case one may have to fire an abacus at your good self..

we have moved on from  the abacus and bye the way it was not his competence as an optician i was calling into place ;D
Post by: fingertips on December 04, 2006, 05:03:33 PM
was there a hurling board  A.G.M.  yet ?  Would the officers of the hurling board be brave enough to demand a copy of all financial dealings by the county board i.e. income and expenditure  ?  I wonder can they legally withhold this information. would make very interestiny reading ! Heard through the grapevine that the  vergers  club has the same attitude towards its timber swinging members.  Treat them like mushrooms...........keep them in the dark and feed them with shi....  and then eat them for breakfast ha! ha! ha! What is needed is a hurling NELSON MANDELA !!!!!!!!!
Title: A mayo shaft
Post by: reiteoir on December 04, 2006, 05:05:21 PM
Lads, just reading of how Frank Browne was shafted ny the MCB. What happened was an absolute disgrace. How can you expect to develop hurling when your own county board are promoting a very clear anti-hurling agenda? Totally disgusting.
Post by: smelly fairy on December 04, 2006, 05:39:59 PM

we have moved on from  the abacus and bye the way it was not his competence as an optician i was calling into place 
Posted on: Today at 02:22:56 PMPosted by: the bucket 

Exactly Bucket, Exactly. That is exactly the point I'm trying to make........  :o
Post by: rosnarun on December 05, 2006, 12:46:24 PM
this is getting pathetic . what hes basicly saying is that there is a perfectly good reason that every knows about for sacking mr browne but I cant tell you what it is. and doesnt even give a reason for not telling. what a w**ker

QuoteClash Of The Ash

Edwin McGreal

MAYO GAA Board Secretary Seán Feeney has slammed a report in a Sunday newspaper which accused the County Board of sacking Mayo senior hurling manager Frank Browne last week for financial reasons.
Browne was told by the County Board that his services were no longer required at a meeting early last week but Feeney has angrily denied a report in the Irish Daily Star Sunday headlined: 'Sacked for buying hurleys'.
The report claimed that Browne had been sacked because of expenses that were being accrued from a 'penny pinching board'. However, Feeney says two reasons outside of money were behind the decision.
"That report was totally inaccurate," he told The Mayo News. "There are two crucial reasons why Frank Browne isn't being kept on and they can't be published. I can definitely state that the issue is not over the costs of hurleys and sliothars as stated in a newspaper."
However, the Mayo GAA Board Secretary did admit that while not being the decisive reason for Browne's departure, expenses accrued during the year were a continuous problem.
"We made agreements with Frank during the year concerning the number of training sessions and he exceeded that. At one stage the number of training sessions exceeded the amount the footballers were doing. There is a cost there in terms of expenses and they made no effort whatsoever to curb it. Three lads might come from the one area and they would bring three cars.
"It'll be there for people to judge themselves when they see the figures at the County Convention and they can make their own minds up on it. Over the course of the year hurling cost the County Board €138,000, most of which was from the senior side.
"People might be saying we are mean and penny pinching but the costs are there and there is the issues with the other two reasons. Frank Browne knows what they are and the hurling fraternity knows what they are," Feeney added.
Mayo hurling captain Derek Walsh was critical of the move. "We are all shocked by the decision because Frank had already got a lot of plans ready to start training for next year," he said on Sunday. "2007 will be the most important year for Mayo hurling for a long time because with the way the league is being restructured for 2008, what grade you play at is determined by how well you do in the league this year," Walsh told Star Sunday.
Feeney, together with County Board Chairman James Waldron and Treasurer JP Lambe, spoke with Frank Browne along with County Hurling Board Chairman Luke Fitzmaurice and Hurling Board Secretary Johnny Hopkins ten days ago.
Fitzmaurice was unwilling to reveal too much of what was said but gave his support to the County Board decision. "I made my own thoughts known at the meeting. I can't say anymore than that. I'm aware of the two reasons given. I have to stand by the collective decision of the Board," Fitzmaurice stated.
Both Feeney and Fitzmaurice added that a new appointment was imminent. "I'd be confident that the appointment would be made this week," said Fitzmaurice. "A person is lined up. I don't think Frank will be coming back. The new man in usually brings his own men with him." The prospective candidate is believed to be from within the county.
Seán Feeney was also keen to stress that the Mayo GAA Board are as committed as ever to the game of hurling. "Hurling will not stagnate in Mayo. A lot of money has been spent on coaching, Gerry Spellman was here doing great work, Frank was just here one year... There are plenty of people doing work in the county, people like Adrian Hession, and the lads will get on with it."
Frank Browne could not be contacted for comment by The Mayo News on Monday.
Post by: dodo on December 05, 2006, 01:26:42 PM
I've heard it all now. The hurlers are punished for too much training. As much as saying, lads we'll pay a few expenses but don't get too serious about that hurling craic.

"That report was totally inaccurate," he told The Mayo News. "There are two crucial reasons why Frank Browne isn't being kept on and they can't be published. I can definitely state that the issue is not over the costs of hurleys and sliothars as stated in a newspaper."

.......I have to stand by the collective decision of the Board," Fitzmaurice stated.

.......Frank Browne could not be contacted for comment by The Mayo News on Monday.

Feeney and co are at these clandestine operations again. Firstly not revealing what transpired between themselves and Micky Moran, and now not revealing why Frank Browne got shown the gate. Micky Moran went away with an agreed statement and said no more, Browne has said nothing thus far. Luke Fitzmaurice ( my reading between the lines ) seems to be saying that he has to accept the mafia decision.

Another quote from Feeney in the above article was
QuoteAt one stage the number of training sessions exceeded the amount the footballers were doing.

What's the problem with this ?  ::)
Post by: rosnarun on December 05, 2006, 01:50:19 PM
when you agree to the mafia decisions you become part of the problem. which is more important the future of mayo hurling or the future of mayos hurling chairman . We know what Luke thinks
Post by: the bucket on December 05, 2006, 02:34:49 PM
something you would hear from a teenager "I know but I'm not telling you"

This istotal rubbish what a clown and they think sam maguire will come back next year and the likes of him in charge
Post by: MacDanger on December 05, 2006, 10:13:14 PM
Sounds like more bollixing around from the county board.

They're probably not strong enough but if possible, the hurling clubs should set up a separate hurling county board as they're not getting a fair crack of the whip at the moment.
Post by: the bucket on December 06, 2006, 09:48:51 AM
I have it from a reliable source  that the two reasons that they cant publish are as follows
(1) That they played an under 16 player in the u21 final but were only informed of this 20 minutes before the throw by the county board officials who indicated they were not sure whether he could play or not.
(2) and wait for it this one is definitely a sackable offence on an away trip the manager and selectors did not travel back on the bus.
Post by: GY Joe on December 06, 2006, 01:24:22 PM
Even though I'm from Galway and am almost immune to stupid County Board decisions at this stage, but I am astonished at the blatant antagonism shown towards hurling by your county board.  >:( It makes me angry...

Is there enough gumption and financial backing from the senior clubs and others who love hurling to tell the MCB to go fu-ck themselves and start a hurling board.

Post by: highking on December 06, 2006, 06:12:56 PM
GY Joe - There is, but the County Board wont allow that to happen as it looks bad on them and anyway, they are making a nice bit out of the hurling with all thats coming in from Croke Park/Guinness/Allianz/Christy Ring/SportsCouncil. Thes figures are never disclosed but all involved in hurling know what it amounts to.
Post by: stephenite on December 06, 2006, 10:28:27 PM
Quote from: the bucket on December 06, 2006, 09:48:51 AM
I have it from a reliable source  that the two reasons that they cant publish are as follows
(1) That they played an under 16 player in the u21 final but were only informed of this 20 minutes before the throw by the county board officials who indicated they were not sure whether he could play or not.
(2) and wait for it this one is definitely a sackable offence on an away trip the manager and selectors did not travel back on the bus.

Sweet mother of God, wouldn't it be great if it was a hurling issue that came up the arse of Feeney and bumped the hateful little f**ker out on his hole. I mean why would you bother playing hurling for Mayo ??
I cannot tell why they sacked him? Is this p***k for real
Post by: belleaqua on December 06, 2006, 10:40:22 PM
Just a Galway perspective here lads...

first of all its a disgrace that the Galway Hurling Board doesnt do more for the game in the province, but when they cant sort themselves out tis hardly surprising they cant help any one else.

From what iv read the excuses given by the Mayo Co. Board and the success of last years team (playing a final without their best hurler) it is actually beyond belief that this man got sacked (there is no other term for it).

Is there no internal move for a seperate Co. Board to promote and look after hurling?
Post by: highking on December 06, 2006, 11:28:43 PM
Now that Brennan has been officially appointed, does anyone know what quality of selectors/coaches he has with him?
Post by: fingertips on December 07, 2006, 03:16:04 AM
Stephenite      MIND YOUR LANGUAGE !!     
Post by: stephenite on December 07, 2006, 03:25:02 AM
Fingertips - NO I WON'T!! The swearing gives amplification to my frustrations and enhance the point I am trying to get across, I feel.
Post by: muppet on December 07, 2006, 04:26:21 AM
QuoteStephenite      MIND YOUR LANGUAGE !!   

Ah yes, because that is the issue at hand .
Post by: rosnarun on December 07, 2006, 10:55:12 AM
QuoteThes figures are never disclosed but all involved in hurling know what it amounts to
Whats with all this secrecy in hurling . no one knows who you are here spit it out man.

I reckon though the real reason the hurling people are so beholden to the County board is financial and what ever money is raised within the county is from football. most of the monry they get from croker for hurling is for the promotion of the gsme not for the senior team and would have to be explained back to HQ. and i dont think hq would be impressed if it was all spent on meals training ect for rhe county team
Post by: Pietas on December 07, 2006, 11:23:48 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 06, 2006, 10:28:27 PM
Quote from: the bucket on December 06, 2006, 09:48:51 AM

Sweet mother of God, wouldn't it be great if it was a hurling issue that came up the arse of Feeney and bumped the hateful little f**ker out on his hole. I mean why would you bother playing hurling for Mayo ??
I cannot tell why they sacked him? Is this p***k for real

Solution is establishment of some form of independent fundraising for Mayo hurling.  County Board pays lip service to hurling because it's primary concern must be football.
Post by: the bucket on December 07, 2006, 01:49:56 PM
yes the problem is that the hurling people have no money every penny that comes in for hurling is lumped in with football money and used for football purposes.

I will give an example helmets and Hurley scheme 1/3 of what they got was given back to the clubs where did other 2/3 go. Mayo this year got more than €80,000 from croke park for hurling from what we know from other sources, take sponsorship in consideration and mayo hurling as probably making a profit but according to our friends in the Ku Klux Klan(mayo co board) we cost €140,000???  how can you win
Post by: AbbeySider on December 07, 2006, 02:29:34 PM
Mayo appoint new hurling boss
07 December 2006

Westport's Martin Brennan has been named as the new Mayo hurling manager in succession to Frank Browne, who was sacked in controversial circumstances last week.

Brennan served as a selector under Browne, who was critical of the county board's support for the hurlers. A former dual player with club and county, Brennan was a star footballer with St. Jarlath's College, Tuam and was also a national boxing champion in his youth.

Brennan will hope to build on the progress made in recent seasons with Mayo reaching the National League Division 2 semi-final earlier this year.
Post by: Pietas on December 07, 2006, 02:41:50 PM
I knew him long ago.  Good guy.  Great boxer
Post by: neilthemac on December 07, 2006, 02:43:54 PM
for the scant money spent on the mayo hurling last year they got very good value for money in comparison to the football imo

the hurlers up there need to stand up for themselves and not take any more sh1te
Post by: Tubberman on December 07, 2006, 02:47:10 PM
Well, one thing is for certain - Mayo hurling has never had a higher profile!  :D
And no harm either
Post by: the bucket on December 12, 2006, 10:17:14 AM
county agm tonight in midfield cant wait to hear captain mainwaring report should keep us laughing for at least a week
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 19, 2009, 08:14:56 PM
I had a good chuckle a few days back in reading through this thread. I didn't want to revive it, but fair play hatchetfield for bringing Mayo hurling back into the limelight again! :D
Post by: highking on May 22, 2009, 01:22:00 AM
Smart punters made a killing on the Mayo-Westmeath game last weekend. Mayo were 9/2, and many people in the know had a good few euro on them. they wont be as short a price this weekend. The element of surprise is now gone.
Post by: Plastic Paddy on May 22, 2009, 01:57:57 AM
Quote from: highking on May 22, 2009, 01:22:00 AM
Smart punters made a killing on the Mayo-Westmeath game last weekend. Mayo were 9/2, and many people in the know had a good few euro on them. they wont be as short a price this weekend. The element of surprise is now gone.
Is Derek walsh still hurling for you
Post by: highking on May 27, 2009, 06:28:32 PM
Sat 6th June
Semi Final: Down V Mayo
Pairc Esler, Newry, Time:3 30 pm,
Ref:Anthony Stapleton (Laois)
(E.T. if Necessary)
Post by: Tubberman on May 28, 2009, 08:35:38 AM
Sat 6th June
Semi Final: Down V Mayo
Pairc Esler, Newry, Time:3 30 pm,
Ref:Anthony Stapleton (Laois)
(E.T. if Necessary)

It's in Newry?? I thought the semi's were to be in a neutral venue this year (I know we had home advantage v Carlow last year).
It's going to be very tough for Mayo to win up in Newry
Post by: johnneycool on May 28, 2009, 08:48:54 AM
Newry is a neutral venue as the the Down hurlers only play on it twice a year and maybe train on it half a dozen times a year when they are allowed.
Post by: mckieran on June 02, 2009, 01:07:29 PM
QuoteNewry is a neutral venue as the the Down hurlers only play on it twice a year and maybe train on it half a dozen times a year when they are allowed.

Well, a neutral venue should be approximately the same distance from both counties. As Mayo will have a much longer journey, Down immediately have an advantage.
Post by: highking on June 04, 2009, 12:45:24 AM
Mayo team announced.
Micheal Walsh
Kieran McGrath
Aidan Connolly
Paul Hunt
Brian Higgins
Paddy Barrett
Conor Ryan
Keith Higgins
Pierse Higgins
Eoin Madigan
Derek McDonnell
David Dowling
Adrian Freeman
Derek McConn
Cathal Freeman
Post by: spectator on June 07, 2009, 09:25:16 PM
I see Carracastle's Caiseal Gaels under-age hurling club is now up and running. It started with the introduction of hurling to the village  national school there, from which the under-age club has now been formed. Highking - were you involved in this?

(1)   http://www.scoiliosacarracastle.com/our_county_story.html

(2)   http://www.scoiliosacarracastle.com/hurling_club.html

(3)   http://www.carracastle.com/caiseal-gaels,-carracastle-juvenile-hurling-club-211.html

(4)   http://www.carracastle.com/hurling,-caiseal-gaels-play-their-first-game-219.html

(5)   http://www.carracastle.com/index.php?pid=224&page=0

The Community Park in Ballagh is facilitating their training sessions.

Isn't it great really, to think that a community park developed by the people of Ballagh specifically to cater for non-GAA sports, is being generously offered to help out the fledgeling hurling club. Particularly when bearing in mind the demands on the park by the Ballagh soccer and cricket clubs for example, and not forgetting the GAA's ban on other sports using their fields either.

It reflects the true spirit in which sports should be played, imo. Fair play to all on getting this hurling club up and running in what is traditionally a football area.
Btw Ballagh won a couple of county hurling titles back in the early fifties, but hurling was short lived in the area and disappeared again shortly afterwards.
Post by: mannix on June 08, 2009, 11:56:56 AM
oh dear, that was a severe trouncing. nothing much to be said except please get up and dust yourselves off and wait for some new faces to appear in the jersey, well done anyway in getting this far.
Post by: muppet on June 09, 2009, 07:54:31 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 28, 2009, 08:48:54 AM
Newry is a neutral venue as the the Down hurlers only play on it twice a year and maybe train on it half a dozen times a year when they are allowed.

By that logic Inisturk would be neutral. Might be something in that.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 18, 2010, 10:26:59 PM
And the journey into the unknown begins again this Sunday. Mayo hurlers played no part in the Kehoe Cup because of costs I believe. Disgraceful. Best of luck to the team on Sunday v Armagh in Crossmaglen.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 18, 2010, 11:44:14 PM
how the f*ck can we hope to develop hurling in the county if we can't even cover the costs of entering the Kehoe cup?

Mayo hurlers have done (relatively) well in the past few seasons, it's a disgrace that the CB won't give them any support.
Post by: Plastic Paddy on February 23, 2010, 12:38:32 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 18, 2010, 11:44:14 PM
how the f*ck can we hope to develop hurling in the county if we can't even cover the costs of entering the Kehoe cup?

Mayo hurlers have done (relatively) well in the past few seasons, it's a disgrace that the CB won't give them any support.

We played Mayo in an All Ireland 1/4 final in 2003. They beat us handy enough but in fairness we were a club side with 14 players from 1 club. In the few years since Mayo have stepped a whole level from a good junior county to a good intermediate one. If the board don't back you they deserve every bit of bad luck the footballers get.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2010, 07:15:31 PM
Quote from: Plastic Paddy on February 23, 2010, 12:38:32 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 18, 2010, 11:44:14 PM

We played Mayo in an All Ireland 1/4 final in 2003. They beat us handy enough but in fairness we were a club side with 14 players from 1 club. In the few years since Mayo have stepped a whole level from a good junior county to a good intermediate one. If the board don't back you they deserve every bit of bad luck the footballers get.

I hope you mean the County board Paddy!
Post by: mrhardyannual on February 24, 2010, 10:20:13 PM
I don't think that the team were pulled from Kehoe Cup because of costs. Management made the decision as they felt no value got from the comp. A lot of travelling.  Too many players with colleges teams. Opted to play challenges closer to home. Best of luck for season ahead
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 28, 2010, 08:06:39 PM
Lost by a point 2-14 to 1-18 today.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 01, 2010, 09:35:18 PM
Quote from: the bucket on November 13, 2006, 03:46:05 PM
the county final was poor, but had you seen the 3 matches between toreen and ballyhaunis in the semi final you would have been very impressed, the second replay and extra time was fantastic stuff.
the clubs themselves are doing their best without any help financial or otherwise from county board, every inch of progress made by hurling is met by serious opposition by the county board and their friend from ballyhaunis called the verger

The verger has joined us it seems!!! ;D
Post by: highking on March 03, 2010, 01:36:23 AM
Im just wondering - did anybody who is a McHale Park season ticket holder - get a ticket/free pass in the post for the NHL game v Kerry. Im a season ticket holder, but had to pay Eur10 at the gate to get into the hurling. I didnt go to the Mayo-Galway football game last month, and tried to use that pass to get into the hurling - but it was refused.

It's not good enough when season ticket holders who pay out Eur400 a year cant get into NHL league games.
Post by: the verger on March 10, 2010, 08:59:28 PM
yes Farrandeelin the verger has joined!!!  hard to get past JP without paying, next sunday home to Derry should be a good game and after last weeks great result in Armagh we should be favourites to win. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 08, 2010, 12:13:33 PM
Anybody know if Mayo will be in the Christy Ring or Nicky Rackard Cup next year given their terrible performances in the CR Cup this year? And seen as they finished bottom of Division 3A earlier on in the year, is it Div 3B or Div 4 they'll be in next Spring?
Title: Maigh Eo
Post by: drici on September 08, 2010, 12:40:26 PM
The following eight Counties shall be eligible to participate in the Christy Ring Cup in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.
Wicklow Westmeath Kildare Meath Down Derry Kerry Mayo

No automatic relegation from Christy Ring in 2010, 2011 and 2012 but a County can apply in any of these years to play in the following year's Nicky Rackard.

Mayo will be playing in Division 3B next year.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 20, 2010, 01:54:32 PM
From hoganstand.

QuoteHolders Ballyhaunis will meet neighbours and arch rivals Tooreen in the Mayo SHC final following their semi-final victories over Castlebar and Westport respectively.

Ballyhaunis remain on course for a three-in-a-row of successes after they easily disposed of Castlebar's challenge by 2-14 to 0-6. Castlebar were well in the game at half-time, only trailing by 0-3 to 0-6, but Ballyhaunis were never troubled after Jason Swords and Brian Hunt scored quick-fire goals in the 38th and 39th minutes.

The other semi-final was a much tighter affair which saw Tooreen squeeze out Westport by 2-7 to 1-7. Goals in either half from Kenny Feeney and Cathal Freeman proved crucial in Tooreen's victory. Owen Madigan got the Westport goal midway through the second half.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2010, 09:06:03 PM
Massive interest in the hurling final! :D

Ballyhaunis v Tooreen is on this Sunday I believe. Haven't a clue where or when or anything.
Post by: highking on October 07, 2010, 12:51:09 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2010, 09:06:03 PM
Massive interest in the hurling final! :D

Ballyhaunis v Tooreen is on this Sunday I believe. Haven't a clue where or when or anything.

The GAA people in the know in Mayo will know exactly when its on.... Look at the local papers... Come along on Sunday and watch the battle unfold....
---------------------------------
HURLING: The memory of Adrian Freeman will be in the minds of everyone associated with Tooreen club on county final day.

Champions and challengers to serve up another classic

Preview

THE intense rivalry between Ballyhaunis and Tooreen has few equals in Mayo sport over the past decade. And there will be no lack of passion when these two teams meet in the Mayo senior hurling final in Ballyhaunis on Sunday (3pm). The game looks set to attract a big attendance with good interest from the neighbouring parts of West Roscommon sure to add further to the crowd.

Ballyhaunis enter the game as favourites. They have been impressive in the campaign to date, defeating Tooreen en route, and also brushing aside the challenge of Castlebar in the semi-final.
They have been the dominant team of the past decade, winning six county titles during that period. It is an impressive record by any standards.
But this time they face the Tooreen challenge without dual inter-county player Keith Higgins who broke a collarbone some weeks ago. His loss cannot be overstated as he has been at the very heart of this team for some years. His silken skills will be sorely missed on this occasion. (There has been some speculation in recent days that Keith may yet play some part in Sunday's game but it could be a major gamble to risk further injury).
Still, Ballyhaunis have established a solid panel and experience is one thing they do not lack going into the final. Even without Keith, they still managed to reach the final of the Ratoath Sevens, defeating teams from the top counties down south en route. It was an achievement that raised many eyebrows.
The 'blending' process has gone well for Ballyhaunis who have drafted in a number of young players throughout the campaign. Kieran Kiely, Kieran McDermott, Damien Keadin, Luke Cribbin and Jason Swords have adapted well to the move up in ranks and are eagerly looking forward to the big day.
The addition of Donal O'Brien from Silvermines in Tipperary, a member of the teaching staff at Ballyhaunis Primary School, has been a major boost to the team too. O'Brien has hurled well in all his games since donning the Ballyhaunis jersey.
Derek McConn will captain Ballyhaunis as they go for the three-in-a-row. Pierse Higgins has been a vital cog in this team over the past decade and his reassuring presence and guidance will be required more than ever on Sunday. Adding further to the bank of experience will be such players as Tadhg Buckley, Niall Murphy, Christy McCrudden, Paul McConn, goalie Micheal Walsh, Hughie McKermitt and Paul Lynch. They are also boosted by the return of Peter Healy and Brian "Deano" Hunt after injury.
On the downside, that great servant of the club, Derek Walsh, has retired through injury, while Fergal Lyons and Liam 'Bomber' Lyons are both out with injuries. Fergal Walsh and Austin Lyons are away working in London.
The team manager this year is John Paul Coen and his mentors are Dave McConn, John Joe Hoban and Pete Higgins.
"We have prepared as well as we can. The training is done and we are looking forward to Sunday and getting on with it and hopefully coming through with a win. We have a good bond and understanding and want to go forward all the time," says John Paul.
Meanwhile, down Tooreen way, managers Tony Henry and Dom Greally, with a helping hand from Pat Ganley, are putting the final touches to their preparations to bring the TJ Tyrell Cup back to the village.
No one can be in any doubt as to the dominant factor in Tooreen hurling this year .... the tragic death of star player Adrian Freeman in a road accident in Australia. "Twink" was such an integral part of the team.
Dom Greally says the memory of Adrian will be uppermost in the minds of everyone associated with the club on county final day.
"Adrian was a jewel of a player. He was such a favourite with all the panel. We never had to deal with anything of this nature before in the club history.
"It will be an emotional day for all the club but especially for his parents Seamus and Ita, his sister Louise, and brother Cathal who has been playing so well for us since his return from injury. The word "Twink" has been emblazoned on the neck collar of all our jerseys in tribute to Adrian."
Tooreen, who will be without the services of Stephen Coyne, Stephen Leneghan, Justin Freyne and James Hunt (all in Australia), once again have a young side on duty. They were pushed all the way by Westport in the semi-final and the teams were level with just five minutes to play. All their scores on the day came from Cathal Freeman and Kenny Feeney. They are all too well aware that they need a greater spread of scorers if they are to dethrone the champions on Sunday.
Adrian Hession has had a good season as Tooreen goalie. Shane Morley, Greg Henry and Michael Morley hurled superbly against Westport with Paul Hunt, Sean Ganley and Dougie Mitchell all prominent in an impressive Tooreen defence.
Changes can be expected at midfield for Sunday's showdown. The return of Cathal Freeman is a big boost to the team and he excelled in the semi-final. Kenny Feeney was also in top form while Alan Freeman and Michael Martin were prominent too. Others like Brian Delaney, Martin Devaney, Michael Cunnane and Joey Ganley are all ready and willing to pursue the Tooreen cause.
"It is going to take a huge effort from our lads. Ballyhaunis have been the dominant team of the decade and that doesn't happen without hard work and talent to match. We have trained hard and the lads have put in a huge effort. There's a lot of support for the lads out there this year and we are hoping that they can do the business and bring the cup back to Tooreen on Sunday evening," says Dom.
Post by: highking on October 07, 2010, 01:11:02 AM
From the Mayo GAA mailing list:

TJ Tyrell Senior Hurling Championship - Sun 10/10/2010 
Tooreen v Ballyhaunis 15:00 Venue: Ballyhaunis
Ref: Charlie Collins. Line: Ciaran Byrne & Sean Granahan.
Post by: muppet on October 10, 2010, 05:59:05 PM
Ballyhaunis 0 - 14 Tooreen 0 - 11 according to clubmayo on Twitter.
Post by: highking on October 18, 2010, 05:49:51 PM

AIB CLUB INTERMEDIATE HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP
Extra Time in all games

Semi-Final           Sunday 24th October at 2.00 pm - Change of Date
Ballyhaunis v Four Roads                           Venue: Athleague

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CONNACHT CLUB U16 HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP

Semi-Final           Saturday 23rd October at 3.30 pm
Tooreen v Padraig Pearses (R)                  Venue: Tooreen

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post by: highking on October 24, 2010, 06:14:47 PM
Ballyhaunis 3-13 Four Roads 2-13
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 24, 2010, 11:08:24 PM
Quote from: highking on October 24, 2010, 06:14:47 PM
Ballyhaunis 3-13 Four Roads 2-13

Congrats to Ballyhaunis, the hurlers really do get overlooked in Mayo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2011, 01:57:23 PM
So Mayo hurlers lost their first two games in the Christy Ring Cup of 2011. Add in the defeat to Roscommon in the Division 3B league final, I'd imagine the management wouldn't be too happy.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 02, 2011, 10:56:24 PM
Last night the county Minor Hurling 'A' final between castlebar Mitchels andTooreen was abandoned due to darkness setting in early. While it was the right decision according to the man who phoned into MWR this morning, God knows the young lads could have done with the game continuing on. I thought there ws floodlights in the ground. To make matters worse, there was no PR system telling supporters that the game was called off. What a shambles. A real laughing stock. Thought this would be highlighted here before now.
Post by: muppet on September 02, 2011, 11:02:35 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 02, 2011, 10:56:24 PM
Last night the county Minor Hurling 'A' final between castlebar Mitchels andTooreen was abandoned due to darkness setting in early. While it was the right decision according to the man who phoned into MWR this morning, God knows the young lads could have done with the game continuing on. I thought there ws floodlights in the ground. To make matters worse, there was no PR system telling supporters that the game was called off. What a shambles. A real laughing stock. Thought this would be highlighted here before now.

'Darkness setting in early'. Wow.

Match abandoned due to unexpected change in earth's axial tilt.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 20, 2012, 10:35:15 PM
Junior Hurling League (Genfitt Shield)
Sat, 24 Mar, Venue: Drum (Belmullet), (Round 1), Belmullet V Tooreen 17:30
Sat, 24 Mar, Venue: St Muredeach's College, (Round 1), Ballina Stephenites V Castlebar Mitchels 17:30,
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 06, 2012, 09:32:44 PM
From hoganstand.com

QuoteThe Mayo Senior Hurling Championship commences this Sunday with the following games down for decision;

Westport V Castlebar Mitchels
Time: 2 00 PM , Venue: Westport
Referee: Joe Conway

Ballyhaunis V Tooreen
Time: 2 00 PM , Venue: Ballyhaunis
Referee: Ciaran Byrne

In the clash of 2011 County Finalists Westport and Castlebar both teams will be keen to get their campaigns off to a good start as a loss here could effectively end their season. Westport, under new Manager Damien Loftus, will be keen to build on their County final appearance of last year and will be looking to veterans Stephen Broderick, Aiden Connolly, Conor Ryan and up and coming star Colm Higgins for inspiration. Castlebar, under the Management of former player Pat Ryan will be keen to build on recent underage success and will look to Barry Lane, Darren McTighe and Art O'Suillebhean to get them over the line.

In the other game local rivals Ballyhaunis and Tooreen renew acquaintances with Ballyhaunis keen to overturn their recent defeat in the Genfitt Cup Final. Star players on display will include Keith and Pearse Higgins, Donal O'Brien, Brian Hunt, Kenny Feeney, Paul Hunt and rising star Ciaran Finn.

Both games should be close affairs and no one would be surprised if both games were a draw.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2012, 11:54:03 PM
Results:

Westport 0-13 Castlebar Mitchels 2-4
Ballyhaunis 1-17 Tooreen 0-8
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 09, 2012, 04:24:29 PM
SHC: Westport take points
09 July 2012

Mayo Senior Hurling Championship Round 1 - Sunday 8th July 2012

Westport 0-13
Castlebar 2-04

Westport and Castlebar lined out for the first round of the Mayo Senior
Hurling Championship in near perfect conditions at Westport.
Castlebar started with the wind at their backs but Stephen Broderick
opened the scoring with a pointed free on 2 minutes. Westport were
rocked shortly afterwards when a long delivery from a John Cotter free
rebounded into the Westport net making it Westport 0-1, Castlebar 1-0. 5
minutes gone and advantage Castlebar. In the remainder of the first half
Westport responded with five further pointed frees from the stick of
Stephen Broderick and an excellent effort from Adrian Guiney from play.
Castlebar's remaining scores came from Barry Lane (2f) and Darren
McTigue from play. This left the half-time score Westport 0-7, Castlebar
1-3 with everything to play for in the second half.

Westport started the second half very strongly and had points from
Broderick and Rory Brennan. Castlebar lost their influential full-back
Patrick Byrne to a knee injury but his replacement Liam Sweeney proved
equally capable. On 12 minutes Westport were rocked when forward Colm
Higgins was sent off for a second bookable offence. However the 14 men
of Westport rallied to the cause and had excellent scores James Walsh,
Colin Staunton, Brennan and a further pointed free from Broderick, with
the sole response from Castlebar being an excellent pointed effort by
McTigue.. On 23 minutes Castlebar midfielder Denis Egan stood over a
free on the half-way line and could hardly believe his luck when it
evaded Westport goalkeeper Vinny Burke and settled in the top corner of
the net. Westport 0-13, Castlebar 2-4, game on again. Castlebar pushed
forward looking for the equalising score in the remaining 10 minutes but
could not break through Westport's rearguard. Westport held out for
victory and put themselves in pole position for a semi-final spot.
Castlebar go into the remaining two games knowing that they must at
least win one of them to make it to the knock-out stages of this years
Championship. Best for Castlebar were Darren McTigue, Shane Horan, Barry
Lane, John Cotter, Alan Gavin and Pat Byrne. Westport's best
perfromances came from Stephen Broderick, Aiden Connolly, Stephen
Gallagher, Adrian Guiney , Rory Brennan and substitute Joe O'Malley.

Westport: 16. Vinny Burke, 2. Jamie Grimes, 3. Aiden Connolly, 4.
Kristen Sheridan, 5. James Walsh (0-1), 6. Stephen Gallagher, 7. Conor
Ryan, 8. Colin Staunton (0-1), 9. Stephen Broderick (0-8 f), 10.
Diarmuid Kelly, 11. Adrian Guiney (0-1), 12. Colm Higgins, 13. John
Connolly, 14. Rory Brennan (0-2), 15. Ronan Cullinane. Sub: 18. Joseph
O'Malley for 13. John Connolly.

Castlebar: 1. Darren Greaney, 2. Bernard Kennedy, 3. Pat Byrne, 4. Marty
Gallagher, 5. Davie Horan, 6. John Cotter (1-0), 7. Tony Sweeney, 8.
Nathan O'Malley, 9. Denis Egan (1-0), 10. Alan Gavin, 11. Shane Horan,
12. Barry Lane (0-2 f), 13. Darren McTigue (0-2), 14. Kieran Horan, 15.
Dermot Smith. Sub: 16. Liam Sweeney for 3. Pat Byrne (inj).

Referee: Joe Conway, Ballina

Taken from hoganstand.com
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 23, 2012, 01:44:38 PM
From hoganstand.com again.

Caiseal Gaels Juvenile Hurling Club reach All Ireland semi-final at Feile na nGael Dublin 2012

Caiseal Gaels Juvenile Hurling Club was founded in Carracastle in November 2008, following a public meeting where great support for establishing a hurling club was very evident amongst those present. The children in the local national school had been playing hurling for a couple of years and were eager for the chance to continue their involvement in the game. To provide this opportunity for the young people, a juvenile hurling club was formed.

The other sports clubs in the area were very welcoming to our new venture and in particular we would like to acknowledge the continued support of Ballaghaderreen, Charlestown Sarsfields and Kilmovee Shamrocks Football Clubs and the handball clubs in Ballaghaderreen and Charlestown, all of whom have done so much work through the years in encouraging gaelic games and promoting the ideals of the GAA.

The name Caiseal Gaels was chosen for the new club based on the fact that 'caiseal' is the Irish word for stone fort and there are many such forts in the areas surrounding Carracastle. These places, namely Brusna, Dernabroc and Kilmovee provide many of the players for the various Caiseal Gaels teams. Hurling is now played in the primary schools in the abovementioned areas and each of them has experienced the excitement of reaching schools' county hurling finals in the last number of years.

Caiseal Gaels played their first ever games in 2009 and won the Mayo U12 and U13 B titles that year. The highlight of the year was when our U12 team travelled to Dublin and played matches on the hallowed turf of Croke Park as part of the 'Play and Stay with the GAA' initiative.

The club continued to flourish in 2010 and 2011 with players joining from the towns of Ballaghaderreen and Charlestown and we reached A finals in U13 and U14 even though we came up short on each occasion. This year began on a successful note with our U16's winning The Eugene O' Shea Shield and our U14 team qualifying to represent Mayo in the Feile na nGael festival of hurling which was held in Dublin from July 5th-7th 2012.

Partaking in Feile has probably been the high point in the existence of our club so far. We finished top of our group, which featured two Dublin clubs, Good Counsel and St. Maur's, as well as Aodh Ruadh of Ballyshannon, but lost out in the semi-final to eventual winners, Easkey.

It was a marvellous occasion for the players and their families alike with such events as marching in the Feile Parade, behind the Artane Boys' Band from Croke Park to O'Connell Street, likely to stay in the memory for a long, long time. As the MC for the parade, legendary commentator, Micheal O' Muircheartaigh, gave a brief history of the club from the viewing podium on the nation's main thoroughfare, it illustrated the fact that Caiseal Gaels have travelled a long distance in a short period of time.

Caiseal Gaels would like to thank all our sponsors and the businesses and individuals who have generously donated to us since our inception. The club would also like to thank the other sporting organisations in the area for their great sense of co-operation and support at all times. Caiseal Gaels are very grateful to Charlestown Sarsfields and Ballaghaderren GAA Clubs for the use of their fine facilities for home matches and to Ballaghaderreen Community Park Committee on whose pitch we regularly trained when the club was first established.

We currently train in Carracastle on the Community Pitch behind Carracastle NS and we are very thankful to the Community Council there for its use. We now cater for players from U8 to U16 and new players in the areas mentioned earlier are always welcome to come along and try out the game of hurling. For further details on training times etc. contact 087-1481843.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2013, 06:02:31 PM
'Mayo Hurlers have their first competitive outing of the season with a home game to near neighbours Roscommon on Sunday next February 24th at 2 pm in Elvery's Machale Park. This is their first game under recently appointed Manager Christy Phillips who is hoping to start the League campaign with a win. Phillips and his backroom team of Ciaran Hynes (Westport), Austin Kenny (Tooreen) and Sean Malee (Kiltimagh) have been fine-tuning their preparations for the League since the first week in January, training three times a week at the 3G Connacht Centre of Excellence in Bekan and playing a number of challenge games. The hurlers received a major boost over the past few weeks with the return of Westport's Aiden Connolly to the panel. Connolly was Mayo's stand out player last season and his arrival will be a major boost to Mayo's full backline.

Mayo will be looking for strong performances from seasoned campaigners Donal O'Brien, Pa Connell, Shane Morley, Derek McDonnell, Kenny Feeney and Brian Hunt. Relative newcomers to the panel Ciaran Finn, David Kenny, Adrian Guiry and Colin Staunton will also be hoping to impress. The match day panel will also be bolstered by the return of All-Star Keith Higgins and footballer Cathal Freeman.

Roscommon, under Manager Seamus Qualter, should provide a very stern test for the home side. They competed in the Bord na Móna Kehoe Shield Final last Sunday losing by two points against Down despite dominating for most game. Roscommon will be looking to Gerry Fallon and All-Ireland Under-21B winner Naos Connaughton to build on their success of last year.

Mayo and Roscommon are playing in a very competitive Division 2B of the Allianz National Hurling League this year featuring 2012 Christy Ring Cup Winners London, Meath, Armagh and Down. Both Western teams will be hoping to retain their positions within the division and use it as a springboard to the Christy Ring and Nick Rackard Cups which commence on May 4th.'

Best of luck to them, but I'm not too confident about their prospects myself however.
Post by: ballinaman on February 20, 2013, 09:14:37 AM
I've yet to hear you confident about any game Farr ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2013, 10:47:23 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 20, 2013, 09:14:37 AM
I've yet to hear you confident about any game Farr ;D

Aye, a great piece on Mayo hurling and then he shot it to pieces at the end FFS!! It's great to read about Mayo hurling on here, such a difficult leauge to be in but it's the only way to improve. Good luck and keep the reports coming (bit more positive though)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 20, 2013, 04:12:26 PM
Well any time I say anything confident, it all goes up in smoke!  :-\
Post by: ballinaman on February 20, 2013, 04:25:16 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 20, 2013, 04:12:26 PM
Well any time I say anything confident, it all goes up in smoke!  :-\
It seems to go up in smoke anyways so best enjoy the build up more..:-)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 22, 2013, 07:53:00 PM
The following is the Mayo Senior Hurling Team selected to play in the Allianz National Hurling League Division 2B Round One game vs. Roscommon on Sunday 24th February at Elvery's MacHale Park, Castlebar at 2.00 pm;

1.        Donal O'Brien        Ballyhaunis
  2.        Adrian Brennan (Vice Captain) Ballyhaunis
  3.        Aiden Connolly        Westport
  4.        Shane Morley        Tooreen
  5.        Ciaran Finn        Tooreen
  6.        Padraig O'Flynn        Castlegar
  7.        Fergal Lyons        Ballyhaunis
  8.        Ciaran Charlton        Tooreen
  9.        Sean Markham        Tooreen
  10.       Adrian Guiry        Westport
  11.       Derek McDonnell (Captain) Belmullet
  12.       Keith Higgins        Ballyhaunis
  13.       Brian Hunt        Ballyhaunis
  14.       Sean Regan        Ballina-James Stephens
  15.       Kenny Feeney        Tooreen

Substitutes:

17.        Declan Gallagher Westport
  18.        Stephen Hoban        Ballyhaunis
  19.        Nathan O'Malley        Castlebar Mitchells
  20.        Luke Cribbin        Ballyhaunis
  21.        David Horan        Castlebar Mitchells
  22.        Thaigh Morley        Ballyhaunis
  23.        David Kenny        Tooreen
  24.        Michael Morley        Tooreen
  25.        Cathal Freeman        Tooreen
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2013, 07:58:45 PM
From Hoganstand.

'Mayo vs. Meath Allianz National Hurling League 2B Preview

Allianz National Hurling League 2B

Meath vs. Mayo,
Date: Sunday 10th March 2013 at 2.00 PM
Venue: Trim
Referee: Justin Heffernan, Wexford

Mayo hurlers travel to Trim next Sunday to play Meath in Round 2 of the National Hurling League Division 2B. The two teams had contrasting fortunes in round one of the competition with Mayo just earning a draw against Roscommon, in a match they should have won, and with Meath defeating title contenders Down in Newry. Meath also hosted Christy Ring Cup winners London last weekend in Round 2 and were convincing winners on a score line of 2-17 to 1-11.

Despite only drawing with Roscommon, Mayo Manager Christy Phillips was very encouraged by the intensity shown by his team on the day and singled out Ballina's Sean Regan for special mention. Regan gave Roscommon full-back Declan Leonard a torrid time in that match and was odds on to score at least one goal but for the over exuberance of referee John Keane. For the game against the Royals Phillips will be looking to stalwarts Donie O'Brien, Aiden Connolly, Kenny Feeney and Captain Derek McDonnell to secure an away victory. The team will also be bolstered by the return of inspirational centre back Pa Connell from a hand injury. All star footballer Keith Higgins will also be available for selection on Sunday, having lined out for James Horan's team the previous evening against Down in Newry.

Meath come into this game showing good early season form with Steven Clynch to the fore scoring 1-12 and 1-07 against Down and London respectively. Meath who qualified for the Division 2B final last year but lost out to Kildare will be hoping to go one better this year and get promoted to Division 2A at the second time of asking. Manager Cillian Farrell, in his 3rd year in charge, will be looking for his third win in as many weeks. He will be looking to strong performances from Clynch, Stephen Morris, James Toher, James Kelly and Peter Durnin to inspire his charges.

Looking at the recent form lines Mayo will travel to Trim more in hope than expectation but if they can prevent Meath from scoring goals and limit Clynch's influence from placed balls they have more than enough talent and experience to get both points from this fixture.'
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2013, 05:00:32 PM
Report on Meath v Mayo yesterday from hoganstand.

Meath ....... 1-19
Mayo ........ 1-11

'Meath made it three wins from as many starts in the Allianz HL Division 2B with eight points to spare over visitors Mayo at Trim on Sunday.

Cillian Farrell's charges capitalised on their strong wind advantage in the opening half to construct a 16-point interval advantage.

Eight points was as close Mayo got to Meath thereafter but they never looked like bridging the gap.

Nine different players contributed to Meath's tally as they recorded their third league win on the spin.

Stephen Clynch took scoring honours for Meath with nine points (three from play. Goalscorer Adam Gannon was the home side's top marksman from play with 1-1.

Shortly after the restart Barry Slevin had the sliotar in the Mayo net, but it was ruled out for 'square' ball. Later the Na Fianna clubman placed Gannon who blazed low and wide from close quarters.

Four different players registered for Mayo including goalkeeper Donal O'Brien. The Ballyhaunis clubman netted from a 20-metre free midway through the second-half and left Mayo 1-5 to 1-16 off the pace.

Mayo who had drawn at home with Roscommon in their only previous league outing were heavily dependent on midfielder Kenny Feeney for scores from play and placed balls.

Meath centre-half-back (and later midfielder) James Toher capped another impressive showing with the home side's final score, from a 64th minute free.

Two late Feeney scores (frees) softened the look of the scoreline from Mayo's perspective.

With wins over Down (away) and London (home) behind them and a strong wind in their sails, Meath took matters to Mayo from the off.

Within a minute of the throw-in Clynch landed a free from midfield. It was the first of eight opening period points for the Kilmessan man who accounted for almost half of Meath's first-half tally.

Adam Gannon, Barry Slevin, Peter Durnin and hard-grafting Paddy Conneely also registered for Meath in the first 35 minutes.

Mayo were unfortunate not to goal in the 7th minute when Nathan O'Malley's first time efforts struck Shane McGann's right-hand post and rebounded into the play.

Had it gone in, the scores would have been tied. By the mid-point of the half, Meath had registered seven points. In a difficult wind the Royals' wide count reached nine by half-time.

Clynch's 22nd minute pointed free from from half-way and a Barry Slevin score from the left seconds later were the pick of the flags raised in the opening half.

The opening goal arrived in the 24th minute when Gannon steered a long delivery to the Mayo net. Wexford referee Justin Heffernan consulted with his umpires before confirming the Killyon man's score.

Mayo got off the mark in the 30th minute with a Sean Regan free. Two Clynch points (one free) closed the first-half scoring. Meath looked set for their third win from as many league outings when leading by 1-14 to 0-1 at the break despite having to face the elements from the resumption.

Scorers: Meath - Stephen Clynch 0-9 (6s), Adam Gannon 1-1; Barry Slevin 0-3; Patrick Conneely 0-2; Peter Durnin, Stephen Morris, James Toher (f), Eoin Marsh 0-1 each.

Mayo - Kenny Feeney 0-8 (0-6fs); Donal O'Brien 1-0 (f); Sean Regan 0-2 (fs); Gary Nolan 0-1

Meath - Shane McGann; Willie Mahady, Damien Healy, Cormac Reilly; Stephen Morris, James Toher, Shane Brennan; Sean Heavey, Stephen Donoghue; Eoin Marsh, Peter Durnin, Paddy Conneely; Adam Gannon,Stephen Clynch, Barry Slevin. Subs - James Kelly for Conneely (45), Aaron Ennis (52), Jonathan Meyler for Donoghue (62), Neil McLoughlin for Brennan (68), David Foley for Reilly (70).

Mayo - Donal O'Brien; Adrian Brennan, Aiden Connolly, Brian Hunt; Ciaran Finn, Ciaran Charlton, Padraig O'Flynn; Gary Nolan, Kenny Feeney; Nathan O'Malley, Adrian Guiry, Sean Markham; Stephen Hoban, Derek McDonnell, Sean Regan. Subs - Darren McTigue for Guiry (41), Andrew Butler for Markham (58), Fergal Lyons for O'Malley (65), Declan Gallagher for Finn (69).

Referee - Justin Heffernan (Wexford)'
Post by: Crete Boom on May 03, 2013, 05:21:45 PM
From Hoganstand.com:

Mayo hurlers to face Lilywhites
03 May 2013

Manager Christy Phillips has named his Mayo team for tomorrow's Christy Ring Cup fixture with Kildare in Newbridge.
Belmullet's Derek McDonnell will captain the side from centre forward while dual star Keith Higgins partners Padraig O'Flynn at midfield.

Mayo (SHC V Kildare) - Donal O'Brien; Adrian Brennan, Aiden Connolly, Brian Hunt; Shane Morley, Paddy Barrett, Ciaran Charlton; Padraig O'Flynn, Keith Higgins; Kenny Feeney, Derek McDonnell, Stephen Hoban; Darren McTigue, Sean Regan, Declan Gallagher.
    Subs: Barry Lane, David Horan, Ciaran Finn, Fergal Lyons, Nathan O'Malley, Sean Markham, Paul O'Grady, Gerard McDonnell, Greg Henry, Gary Nolan, Dylan Lynskey.

Looks like Keith's hammer is cured and he'll be a huge boost in mid-field for the hurlers. If any Mayo gael is near Newbridge for this one I would highly recommend heading along to this. It might be the only chance you get to see Keith ( who is top notch) and Sean Regan (scored 2-05 from play on his league debut) from Ballina play hurling together in the Green and Red!
Post by: Crete Boom on May 04, 2013, 06:16:30 PM
 From Hoganstand.com :

Christy Ring round up
04 May 2013

There were wins for Kerry, Kildare, Derry and Meath in the opening round of the Christy Ring Cup.

Kildare scored some excellent scores to record a 1-23 to 0-15 win over Mayo at Newbridge. The home side led by 0-12 to 0-8 at half time, with Paul Divilly and Gerry Keegan both in fine point scoring form.
Sean Regan kept Mayo in touch throughout, but when Bernard Deay hit the only goal of the game in the 48th minute, it was game over as the Lilywhites cruised to an opening round victory.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 08, 2013, 12:06:38 AM
Mayo 1-15 Monaghan 0-8 in the Minor C All-Ireland played in Ballinamore. Well done to the lads.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 08, 2013, 12:19:24 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 08, 2013, 12:06:38 AM
Mayo 1-15 Monaghan 0-8 in the Minor C All-Ireland played in Ballinamore. Well done to the lads.

Two Ballyvary Lads on the team. Just wondering was there only 6 teams in the competition? Mayo Sligo ,Cavan,  Monaghan, Tyrone and Louth?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 12, 2014, 07:18:03 PM
From the old reliable hoganstand.com again.

'Mayo manager Christy Phillips is adamant that they are better prepared for this year's NHL campaign.

The Limerick native stressed that playing in the Kehoe Cup this year has allowed them to prepare better for this year's campaign compared to 2013.

Mayo lifted the Kehoe Shield last weekend when defeating Queen's in the decider and they now go into Sunday's NHL division 2B clash against Fingal with some silverware in their back pocket.

"We're in a way better position because we've seen almost every player now, and from Saturday's team you could say we were missing five who will be pushing for places so we've a bigger headache this week to pick a team to play Fingal," Phillips told the Western People.

"Challenge games are on thing but competitive games like we've had, we've had the opportunity to see almost 40 players so we're in a great position going into the first league match." '
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 17, 2014, 07:45:03 PM
Mayo 2-13
Fingal 3-9

Stephen Hoban hit 2-3 as Mayo narrowly overcame the challenge of Fingal at the Centre of Excellence in Bekan.

The Dublin side looked set to claim the two points on offer when leading by the narrowest of margins entering injury-time but there was still time for Fergal Boland to level matters and Hoban to send over the winning point.

Fingal led by 2-7 to 1-6 at the interval thanks to goals from Kevin O'Flynn and John Martin Sheridan.

A third green flag from Colm Foley put them in pole position but Mayo reeled them in to register an opening round victory.

Mayo - D O'Brien; A Brennan, A Connolly, B Hunt; K Kiely, P O'Flynn, P Barrett; G Nolan, C Charlton; F Boland (0-4), S Hoban (2-3), B Higgins; K Feeney (0-5f), D McDonnell (0-1), C Freeman. Sub: K McDermott for Nolan.

Fingal - C Harford; N Feeney, D Butterly, A Morris; N Ring, R Sheridan, A Kirwan; D Hattie (0-1), R McGarry; N Kidd (0-1), K O'Flynn (1-0), D Smyth (0-1); C Foley (1-2), A Richardson, J M Sheridan (1-4, 0-3f, 0-1'65). Subs: I Kenny for Kirwin, P Graves for Smyth, P Daly for Richardson, B Kelly for Kirwan.

Referee - J Keane.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2014, 01:22:10 PM
From hoganstand.

Mayo 0-20
Armagh 1-14

Armagh's long wait for a first ever win in the Christy Ring Cup goes on after they succumbed to Mayo at Elvery's MacHale Park.

The home side claimed a deserved three-point victory after leading for most of the game. With Kenny Feeney and Sean Regan to the fore, they led by 0-5 to 0-3 after 15 minutes, but an Armagh goal 10 minutes later had the Ulster side ahead, 1-5 to 0-7.

However, Mayo responded to lead by 0-11 to 1-5 at the break and they managed to keep their opponents at arm's length throughout the second half, despite the best efforts of Armagh's chief marksman Declan Coulter.

Mayo - D O'Brien; A Brennan, A Connolly, D Kenny; D Gallagher (0-3f), P O'Flynn, P Barrett; C Charlton, B Higgins; G Nolan (0-1), D McDonnell (0-1), F Boland (0-3); K Feeney (0-12, 7f), S Regan, B Hunt. Subs: K Keena for G Nolan, D McTigue for K Keena, S Morley for P Barrett, J Kennedy for C Charlton.

Armagh - S Doherty; C Devlin, C Clifford, M Garvey; S Reneghan, N Curry, P Gaffney; F Bradley (0-1), K McKernan (0-1); C Carvill, D Coulter (0-8, 7f), N Green; C Corvan (0-2), E McGuinness, A McGuinness (1-1). Subs: C McKee (0-1) for S Renaghan, O Curry for E McGuinness, P Hughes for K McKernan, L Woods for A McGuinness.

Referee - D O'Driscoll.

Mayo play Meath next Saturday.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 24, 2014, 04:44:51 PM
Congrats to the Mayo hurlers on defeating Wicklow in Arklow in the Quarter Final of the Christy Ring Cup this afternoon! Final score Wicklow 0-14 Mayo 1-15.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 28, 2016, 11:24:32 PM
As an 'aside' the Mayo hurlers play Armagh in Ballina on Saturday at 1.3,0. You would nearly forget that it was on, unfortunatly that's how it is.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 22, 2016, 01:20:35 PM
Well done to Mayo Hurlers. Mayo saw off the challenge of Donegal in Letterkenny 1-18 to 2-11.

Mayo and Armagh will meet in the Rackard Cup decider on June 4th in Croker!

Would love to go to final, have a wedding that day! :(

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ci_iD7FW0AADCNI.jpg:large)

Post by: Lar Naparka on June 08, 2016, 11:00:12 PM
I'm a bit puzzled at the lack of publicity the win on Sunday generated either on the main (hurling) section or here on the local forum. Are there any Mayo fans of the small ball game on Gaaboard? (Apart from me, that is.)

Sorry FTB, I didn't spot your earlier post. There are at least two of us and that's twice as good as being on your lown.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 08, 2016, 11:28:00 PM
Congrats to the hurlers, decent achievement. Am I correct in saying that we've bounced straight back up after relegation last year?

I wouldn't be a huge hurling fan having never played it but I watch it all the same. Is there much / any effort being made to develop hurling in the county??
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 09, 2016, 08:07:11 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 08, 2016, 11:28:00 PM
Congrats to the hurlers, decent achievement. Am I correct in saying that we've bounced straight back up after relegation last year?

I wouldn't be a huge hurling fan having never played it but I watch it all the same. Is there much / any effort being made to develop hurling in the county??

Mayo play Derry this Saturday in Ballinamore to gain promotion to Christy Ring.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 09, 2016, 09:50:59 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 08, 2016, 11:28:00 PM

There is a great effort being put in at underage in clubs like Westport , Castlebar , Ballina and Caiseal Gaels all fielding teams form u8 up to U16. Ballina are hoping to compete at minor level for the first time in about 5 years with the emphasis being put on sustaining the underage teams by building slowly before going full blast at senior and U21 level rather just turning out a senior team whenever they could as had happened in the past. I think Ballina had a senior team in Táin league this year after a few years absence and hopefully in about five years you will have 6 strong teams competing on the county championship which when we had this before Mayo were in a B All Ireland final and regularly in the Christy Ring Cup semi finals!!!

If Clubs like Belmullet(in the 90's) and Ballinrobe (the 80's) could be brought back to life you would have a decent club championship and in fairness to Vincent Neary since he took over as secretary he has been hugely supportive of Ballina anyway in helping grow hurling. Mayo have some superb hurlers and if you get the chance to go to the relegation playoff on Sat you will be well impressed by lads like Kenny Feeney , Sean Regan , David Kenny , The Boland brothers , Cathal Freeman and Keith Higgins.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 13, 2018, 10:36:08 PM
Awful news about the Derry hurler who was due to line out against us this weekend
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 31, 2021, 04:31:41 PM
Well done to the Mayo hurlers on winning the Nickey Rackard Cup earlier today.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2021, 05:00:01 PM
(https://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.4636123.1627745790!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_620_330/image.jpg)