GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: goldenyears on March 23, 2010, 11:30:58 PM

Title: Westmeath v Down (Mullingar) – Referee: Gearoid Ó Conamha
Post by: goldenyears on March 23, 2010, 11:30:58 PM
Let's get away from the banal Down v Armagh arguments and look forward.

Surely Down can pick up a point in Mullingar to get promotion?
Will 1 point be enough?
Westmeath showed signs of life last weekend and will not be a pushover?

Will James make changes + give some fringe players a run?
Title: Re: Westmeath v Down (Mullingar) – Referee: Gearoid Ó Conamha
Post by: western exile on March 24, 2010, 01:56:43 AM
At this stage, 2 points are still required for promotion as 2 of the chasing pack could also end up with 10 points, and it would then go down to points difference.
McCartan said in a newpaper interview a few weeks ago that he had promised the squad that they would all get game time at some point during the league. Based on that, I think there could be a few changes for this game.
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 24, 2010, 11:01:10 AM
I am not expecting too many changes for Sundays game. Promotion is the main aim now and that will not be achieved until after Sundays game. Clarke is fit and should start, no word on McComiskey as yet. If Paul isn't able to start I would like to see Laverty in from the start. Its all well and good throwing him on when teams are tiring, lets see him over the 70 minutes, he is more than able for it at this stage.
Contrary to expectations our defence has been pretty solid, conceding only 2 goals, a penalty and a defensive error that cost McVeigh his place. There is no need for any change here as yet. Midfield is solid, even without Dan. My biggest concern for Sunday is the referee, who has not been kind to Down in the past. If we can beat Kinneavy we are in Division 1, which is way more than anyone expected when wee James took over. James along with the rest of the management team have brought a new approach to Down football, our players are fighting for every ball. Gone are the days of give it to Benny, Benny like everyone else is expected to win his own ball and everyone else is allowed to shoot. Well done to all concerned, long may it continue.
Post by: T Fearon on March 24, 2010, 02:55:03 PM
Undoubtedly the pressure will get to Down when it matters, as it did last year in the Div 3 Final against Tipp and the Championship games against mighty Fermanagh and Wicklow. Flanagan's back for Westmeath and that's a big plus and Down haven't Sludden to help them this weekend, and are at the mercies of the whims of O'Conamha.

Still wouldn't rule out a Div 2 Final between Armagh and Donegal, teams who have won Ulster Championships and National Leagues in recent years, with proven abilities to deliver in the big games at the business end.
Post by: bcarrier on March 24, 2010, 02:58:06 PM
What kind of reception might the Down manager get ?
Post by: T Fearon on March 24, 2010, 03:09:37 PM
The full works, drinks on arrival, four course meal, live band etc
Post by: Maiden1 on March 24, 2010, 03:14:22 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 24, 2010, 02:55:03 PM
Undoubtedly the pressure will get to Down when it matters, as it did last year in the Div 3 Final against Tipp and the Championship games against mighty Fermanagh and Wicklow. Flanagan's back for Westmeath and that's a big plus and Down haven't Sludden to help them this weekend, and are at the mercies of the whims of O'Conamha.

Still wouldn't rule out a Div 2 Final between Armagh and Donegal, teams who have won Ulster Championships and National Leagues in recent years, with proven abilities to deliver in the big games at the business end.

I would say you would get good odds for a Donegal Armagh division 2 final at this stage considering they are both 3 points behind Down with 2 games to go and they still have to play each other.  Basically they need to draw when they play each other then hammer the teams they play in there last game and hope Down do not pick up any points against Westmeath and Laois.
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 24, 2010, 03:21:02 PM
Quote from: goldenyears on March 23, 2010, 11:30:58 PM
Let's get away from the banal Down v Armagh arguments and look forward.

Could I draw everyones attention (including the mods) to the first line of this thread. We do not want/need the bitter and caustic comments of a certain Armagh poster on this thread. Please stick to Westmesth v Down if you are going to add anything meaningful.
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on March 24, 2010, 04:49:43 PM
Can ye two not just cop on? This sort of stuff sickens my hole.

As regards that post from T.Fearon, I can't see anything wrong with it. I have other reported posts to look at, but that is a comment on the game this weekend as far as I can see.
Post by: Joe Umbrella (hey) on March 24, 2010, 04:56:43 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on March 24, 2010, 04:49:43 PM

As regards that post from T.Fearon, I can't see anything wrong with it. I have other reported posts to look at, but that is a comment on the game this weekend as far as I can see.

Mind your language, I may have to report you!
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on March 24, 2010, 05:28:44 PM
Quote from: Joe Umbrella (hey) on March 24, 2010, 04:56:43 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on March 24, 2010, 04:49:43 PM

Mind your language, I may have to report you!
Apologies :)
Post by: bennydorano on March 24, 2010, 07:10:48 PM
Westmeath have been hugely unlucky since the pasting they got from Armagh, beaten by the minimum in their last 2/3? games.  ~Kinneavey down rite cheated Armagh out of 2 points against Meath, I would agree that he is probably Down's biggest obstacle this weekend, top of a long list of woeful refs.
Post by: Ceart agus Cóir on March 25, 2010, 09:51:58 AM
Despite Westmeath being on course for the wooden spoon...i wouldnt be suprised the down men take the eyes off the ball this weekend! they done it against Tipp few weeks ago, and after weekend of partying and possibly changes with the easing of pressure i think down will be run close! Hope im wrong! But Down are certs either way i see them picking up 2 points for promotion- dont make silly bets about Donegal V Armagh final-not gonna happen!

Goalkeeper-shouldnt be a dilemma. Mc Veigh's the best keeper in Down, and personally i feel the best in Ulster! Alders solid enough, but McVeigh pulls off the spectacular and over the past years i feel he's been Down's unsung hero!
Lavery- been critical of him myself and still think he's not starting material...but proved me wrong against Armagh- good impact sub! Down need players like him to liven the forward line up against tired defences!

Touch wood Donegal dont join us in the league final....4 meetings even before our championship match-not ideal!
Post by: dodgy umpire on March 25, 2010, 10:12:34 AM
Laverty has done  enough to show he is worthy of a starting place on sunday. He is constantly alert and his lack of size is more than compensated for by his pace and intelligent play. It wouldn't be fair on him to have him labelled as an impact sub
Title: Dia Domhnaigh
Post by: drici on March 25, 2010, 02:01:40 PM
28-03-10 (Sunday)
National Hurling League Roinn II
Round 5
An Iarmhí V Aontroim
Time: 4-15 PM, Venue: Cusack Park, Mullingar
Referee: Eamonn Hassen
Title: Re: Dia Domhnaigh
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 25, 2010, 02:05:59 PM
Quote from: drici on March 25, 2010, 02:01:40 PM
28-03-10 (Sunday)
Round 5
An Iarmhí V Aontroim

Was wondering which game they'd change, we'll be doing well to take anything from either of them, it's been a good while since both codes were at such a low ebb, thank Christ for the U21s...
Post by: Leo on March 25, 2010, 11:30:00 PM
I agree that Keavney is the worst draw of a referee for Down - over the past couple of seasons we have been on the receiving end of scandalous crass decisions from him that someone less fairminded than me would have called utterly biased.
But as with Tipp we should be beyond depending on fair referees against this opposition by just going out and doing it ourselves.
I think wee James will have instilled this in his men. Down by at least 5 against "the informers".

As for the team I dont think McVeigh has been at all bad this last few years but a bit of comprtition will do him no harm and I personally think Alder is a more commanding goalie and I would stick with him.
Post by: western exile on March 26, 2010, 08:08:45 AM
28-03-10 (Sunday)
Round 5
An Iarmhí V Aontroim
Nice. We get a double header.  I will stick around for the hurling too.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 26, 2010, 09:10:24 AM
Quote from: western exile on March 26, 2010, 08:08:45 AM
28-03-10 (Sunday)
Round 5
An Iarmhí V Aontroim

You're not too bad the puns at all!
Post by: western exile on March 26, 2010, 09:18:25 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 26, 2010, 09:10:24 AM
Quote from: western exile on March 26, 2010, 08:08:45 AM
28-03-10 (Sunday)
Round 5
An Iarmhí V Aontroim

You're not too bad the puns at all!
:D :D
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 26, 2010, 12:23:55 PM
Accprding to the Down website, Martin Clarke is out with bruised ribs and will be replaced by Ronan Murtagh. There are no other changes from the starting line-up against Armagh. Murtagh deserves a run, although Maginn is unlucky to lose out after a fine game when he took over from Clarke last Saturday.

O Conamha usually produces a stop-start match, which might prevent us from developing our normal rhythm, but a bigger concern would be the loss of concentration against Tipperary. However, we have a decent bench and completing back to back promotions is a huge incentive.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 26, 2010, 12:30:00 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 24, 2010, 07:10:48 PM
Westmeath have been hugely unlucky since the pasting they got from Armagh, beaten by the minimum in their last 2/3? games.  ~Kinneavey down rite cheated Armagh out of 2 points against Meath, I would agree that he is probably Down's biggest obstacle this weekend, top of a long list of woeful refs.

Agree with you there the inconsistency is appalling in general. Kinneavy though is poor bordering on anti Ulster.
Post by: western exile on March 26, 2010, 12:35:46 PM
Down Panel For Sunday;

1.           Declan Alder (Carryduff)                           Deaglán Alder (Ceathrú Aodha Dhuibh)
2.                Daniel McCartan (Burren)                         Dónal Mac Artáin (Boireann)
3.                Brendan McArdle (Annaclone)                   Breandán Mac Árdghail (Eanach Chluáin)
4.                Damien Rafferty (Newry Shamrocks)         Damien Ó Raifeartaigh (Seamrogaí an Íuir)
5.                Kevin McKernan (Burren)                          Caoimhín Mac Thiarnáin (Boireann)
6.                James Colgan (An Ríocht)                         Seamás Mac Colgan (An Ríocht)
7.                Conor Garvey (Mayobridge)                      Conchúr Ó Gairbhith (Droichead Mhaigh Éo)
8.                Ambrose Rodgers (Longstone)                  Ambrós Mac Ruairí (Cloch Fhada)
9.                Kalum King (Bryansford)                           Colm Ó Cionga (Áth Bhriain)
10.               Daniel Hughes (Saval)        Dónall Ó hAodha
11.               Mark Poland (Longstone)                          Marcas Mac Póilín  (Cloch Fhada)
12.               Stephen Kearney (Saval)                           Stíofán Ó Cearnaigh (Sabhaill)
13.               Ronan Murtagh (Ballyholland)        Rónán Mac Muireartaigh (Baile Cholmáin)
14.               John Clarke (An Ríocht)                             Seán Ó Cléirigh (An Ríocht)
15.               Brendan Coulter (Mayobridge)                 Breandán Ó Coltáir (Droichead Mhaigh Éo)

subs
16.               Brendan McVeigh (An Ríocht)                  Breandán Mac an Bheatha (An Ríocht)
17.               Kevin Duffin (Castlewellan)      Caoimhín Ó Duifinn (Caisleann An Mhuilinn)     
18.               Paul McComiskey (Dundrum)                    Pól Mac Cumascaigh (Dún Droma)
19.               Aidan Brannigan (Kilcoo)                         Aodhán Ó Branagáin (Cill Chua)
20.               Peter Fitzpatrick (Ballymartin)                  Peadar Mac Giolla Phádraig (Baile Mhairtín)
21.               James Mc Govern (Burren)                       Séamas Mag Shamhráin (Boireann)
Post by: Mid Down Gael on March 26, 2010, 02:59:40 PM
Down Panel For Sunday;

1.           Declan Alder (Carryduff)                           Deaglán Alder (Ceathrú Aodha Dhuibh)
2.                Daniel McCartan (Burren)                         Dónal Mac Artáin (Boireann)
3.                Brendan McArdle (Annaclone)                   Breandán Mac Árdghail (Eanach Chluáin)
4.                Damien Rafferty (Newry Shamrocks)         Damien Ó Raifeartaigh (Seamrogaí an Íuir)
5.                Kevin McKernan (Burren)                          Caoimhín Mac Thiarnáin (Boireann)
6.                James Colgan (An Ríocht)                         Seamás Mac Colgan (An Ríocht)
7.                Conor Garvey (Mayobridge)                      Conchúr Ó Gairbhith (Droichead Mhaigh Éo)
8.                Ambrose Rodgers (Longstone)                  Ambrós Mac Ruairí (Cloch Fhada)
9.                Kalum King (Bryansford)                           Colm Ó Cionga (Áth Bhriain)
10.               Daniel Hughes (Saval)        Dónall Ó hAodha
11.               Mark Poland (Longstone)                          Marcas Mac Póilín  (Cloch Fhada)
12.               Stephen Kearney (Saval)                           Stíofán Ó Cearnaigh (Sabhaill)
13.               Ronan Murtagh (Ballyholland)        Rónán Mac Muireartaigh (Baile Cholmáin)
14.               John Clarke (An Ríocht)                             Seán Ó Cléirigh (An Ríocht)
15.               Brendan Coulter (Mayobridge)                 Breandán Ó Coltáir (Droichead Mhaigh Éo)
16.               Stephen Kane (Kilcoo)                                  Stíofán o,Caithain (Cill Chua)
17.               Kevin Duffin (Castlewellan)               Caoimhín Ó Duifinn (Caisleann An Mhuilinn)     
18.               Paul McComiskey (Dundrum)                    Pól Mac Cumascaigh (Dún Droma)
19.               Aidan Brannigan (Kilcoo)                         Aodhán Ó Branagáin (Cill Chua)
20.               Peter Fitzpatrick (Ballymartin)                  Peadar Mac Giolla Phádraig (Baile Mhairtín)
21.               James Mc Govern (Burren)                       Séamas Mag Shamhráin (Boireann)
22.               Martin Clarke (An Ríocht)                         Mairtín Ó Cléirigh (An Ríocht)
23.               Conor Maginn (Bryansford)       Conchúr Mag Fhinn (Áth Bhriain)
24.              Gerard Mc Cartan (Burren)                       Geróid Mac Artáin (Boireann
Post by: Highlander3 on March 26, 2010, 10:38:31 PM
Is Laverty hurt?, as i don't see him in the squad
Post by: Mid Down Gael on March 27, 2010, 12:15:36 AM
Quote from: Highlander3 on March 26, 2010, 10:38:31 PM
Is Laverty hurt?, as i don't see him in the squad

Yeah his injury from last week is keeping him out.
Post by: Highlander3 on March 27, 2010, 01:45:49 PM
thanks for the info Mid Down Gael
Post by: extra time on March 27, 2010, 02:35:39 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on March 24, 2010, 11:01:10 AM
I am not expecting too many changes for Sundays game. Promotion is the main aim now and that will not be achieved until after Sundays game. Clarke is fit and should start, no word on McComiskey as yet. If Paul isn't able to start I would like to see Laverty in from the start. Its all well and good throwing him on when teams are tiring, lets see him over the 70 minutes, he is more than able for it at this stage.
Contrary to expectations our defence has been pretty solid, conceding only 2 goals, a penalty and a defensive error that cost McVeigh his place. There is no need for any change here as yet. Midfield is solid, even without Dan. My biggest concern for Sunday is the referee, who has not been kind to Down in the past. If we can beat Kinneavy we are in Division 1, which is way more than anyone expected when wee James took over. James along with the rest of the management team have brought a new approach to Down football, our players are fighting for every ball. Gone are the days of give it to Benny, Benny like everyone else is expected to win his own ball and everyone else is allowed to shoot. Well done to all concerned, long may it continue.
Post by: extra time on March 27, 2010, 06:22:36 PM
trevor hill you seem to imply by your post that mcveigh was at fault for the goal v tipp. this was not the case as he made a valient attempt to save it and possibily did. contrary to reports here and in the press he was not dropped  for donegal match. alder was always going to play in this game and played very well. mcveigh has been injured since,wasent on bench v armagh and not on v westmeath tomorrow, hamstring injury.
Post by: bridgegael on March 27, 2010, 06:26:09 PM
Quote from: extra time on March 27, 2010, 06:22:36 PM
trevor hill you seem to imply by your post that mcveigh was at fault for the goal v tipp. this was not the case as he made a valient attempt to save it and possibily did. contrary to reports here and in the press he was not dropped  for donegal match. alder was always going to play in this game and played very well. mcveigh has been injured since,wasent on bench v armagh and not on v westmeath tomorrow, hamstring injury.

thanks for clearing that up brendy!! :) :P
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 28, 2010, 06:51:58 PM
I must be the first home then !
Another VG performance against a team that were almost as bad as Armagh.From 1 to 20 ( or 26 as Rony Murtagh had to get a new shirt as he gave blood, as always, for the team) we were good.Hard to pick out individuals but Benny Mc Ardle was superb- read it like a book and punched forward when required, the HB line is the business , Kalum King gets better every game alongside our captain who is playing like an All-Star, all 6 forwards won their personal battles hands down but, more importantly ,play as a unit. As well as the subs , it was great to see Big Dan in the stand and what an option to bring in. Need to keep the hunger and the only question now is who do we want to avoid in the Div 2 final ?
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 28, 2010, 07:05:04 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 24, 2010, 02:55:03 PM

This comes without further comment
Post by: Mid Down Gael on March 28, 2010, 07:05:29 PM
I must be second home then. Agree with Dubh driocht, Down where superb today against a poor Westmeath team. Ambrose played some stiff with King immence in second half. The defence where brilliant again with Benny McArdle and James Colgan to the fore. All the forwards starred, Hughes superb again with Murtagh, Clarke and Benny terrorising their defence. Poland took his frees well and had the handiest off tap ins for his goal after brilliant team play between Ambrose and Murtagh. Gearoid Ó Conamha was terrible and gave Westmeath the handiest off frees. Well done to James, Brian, Jerome and Paddy on guiding the team to promotion. Be lovely to collect the title on the 25th.
Post by: AFS on March 28, 2010, 07:12:00 PM
Did Martin Clarke get any game time?
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 28, 2010, 07:16:35 PM
No- not even togged out
Post by: AFS on March 28, 2010, 07:27:07 PM
Shit. Gaelic Life prizes to be won and annoying c***ts from Poyntzpass to be kept in their place.
Post by: Joe Umbrella (hey) on March 28, 2010, 09:03:03 PM
Today was almost like a training match. I must say  I felt sorry for Westmeath today, both their senior footballers and hurlers were in action yet only a few hundred locals turned out. Down as always had a good traveling support making this game like a home tie.

As for the game itself the defence again was excellent with McArdle standing out. Ambrose was unstoppable in midfield with King continuing on from where he left off against Armagh. The forwards ran westmeath ragged with Benny, Murtagh and Poland on top form. Its very satisfying that with neither Marty, McComiskey, Lavery nor Maginn starting, Down were able to bring in Poland and Murtagh who looked the part. I was always frustrated that the previous managements played Murtagh in the half back and half forward line when he's clearly a man for the full forward line. He was very effective in the corner today and looks very fit, - another option in what has become a very strong squad.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 28, 2010, 09:07:29 PM
Good to see Murtagh getting a few scores....he has been unlucky with injuries over the last few months...some competition for places in that forward line now :o
Post by: Pangurban on March 28, 2010, 09:14:39 PM
Super performance, yes Westmeath were poor, but you can only beat what is put in front of you, and Westmeath played as well as they were allowed. Down are developing into a unit with power,pace and precision, full marks to management team, and the strength in depth, which is emerging with the battle for places, is particularly heartening as we head into the summer
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 28, 2010, 09:20:30 PM
It's hard to believe how quickly everything has fallen into place for James after another fine performance today, although we need to remember that Westmeath are the poorest side in what has turned out to be a very ordinary division. However, we kept our focus well throughout, unlike the Tipperary game, and could easily have won by a fair bit more.

The defence was largely untroubled, with McArdle really starting to look the part against admittedly limited opposition and Colgan growing into his role with confidence. Westmeath put up at least some sort of a struggle at midfield, but King eventually dominated while Ambrose was yet again outstanding going foward.

We were flying up front even without Marty, with Benny pulling all the strings and John Clarke, apart from some wayward shooting, winning every ball. Westmeath also had no answer to the pace of Hughes at any stage.

Carr came off the bench, Murphy and Doyle are apparently getting closer to fitness and we expect big Dan back before long, so there is no doubt that we have strength in depth.

We can give a few others a run against Laois before our division two final, so you have to give huge credit to our entire management team for the job they have done so far - but we will not be judged on our league form at the end of the season.
Post by: Leo on March 28, 2010, 09:37:49 PM
Quote from: Leo on March 25, 2010, 11:30:00 PM
I agree that Keavney is the worst draw of a referee for Down - over the past couple of seasons we have been on the receiving end of scandalous crass decisions from him that someone less fairminded than me would have called utterly biased.
But as with Tipp we should be beyond depending on fair referees against this opposition by just going out and doing it ourselves.

Don't really like saying "I told you so" but I told you so. While the ref drew derisory laughs and scorn from the crowd this really is no lauughing matter and the bias was so blatant as to warrant an official complaint from Down. The video would be worth some analysis. We should not field with this guy in the middle ever again.
Post by: goldenyears on March 28, 2010, 11:34:50 PM
Paul Murphy has been fully fit for 3 weeks + can't seem to get into 24

Surely he worth a place?!

Post by: andunabu on March 29, 2010, 07:52:02 AM
A great run in this division!  The management must be congratulated for their efforts!!  Well  done to all concerned!!
Post by: nrico2006 on March 29, 2010, 08:35:56 AM
Who is the captain playing like an All-Star?
Post by: dundrumite on March 29, 2010, 11:52:06 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 29, 2010, 08:35:56 AM
Who is the captain playing like an All-Star?

Ambrose
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2010, 01:31:51 PM
Another poor performance from Westmeath, not one game in this division have we managed to score 10 points, that tells its own story. Ref wasn't great for either team but I've seen him give much worse performances. The linesman fell hook, line and sinker for the Down no. 5 going down like a sack of spuds to get his man sent off though. Made a fool of himself with the game well won.

We're gonna have to build towards next year and look to do what Down have done in their last two campaigns. It was only 2 years ago that they were in a similar place...
Post by: AZOffaly on March 29, 2010, 02:21:30 PM
See ye again next year so Croí. Those Division 1 versus Division 4 jibes in 2008 seem a long long time ago now :D At least ye have the under 21s.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2010, 02:31:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 29, 2010, 02:21:30 PM
See ye again next year so Croí. Those Division 1 versus Division 4 jibes in 2008 seem a long long time ago now :D At least ye have the under 21s.
:'( Those were good days alright, at least we'll have new pastures to venture to in the league next year. There was f**k all from Westmeath in Cusack Park yesterday, I hope they were saving their shillings for Parnell Park on Sunday, a strong show of support could make all the difference...
Post by: bridgegael on March 29, 2010, 05:50:40 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2010, 01:31:51 PM
Another poor performance from Westmeath, not one game in this division have we managed to score 10 points, that tells its own story. Ref wasn't great for either team but I've seen him give much worse performances. The linesman fell hook, line and sinker for the Down no. 5 going down like a sack of spuds to get his man sent off though. Made a fool of himself with the game well won.
We're gonna have to build towards next year and look to do what Down have done in their last two campaigns. It was only 2 years ago that they were in a similar place...

ah come on now,  mckernan was definately punched by hart,  it was as clear cut straight red as youl'll see this year!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2010, 07:35:54 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on March 29, 2010, 05:50:40 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2010, 01:31:51 PM

ah come on now,  mckernan was definately punched by hart,  it was as clear cut straight red as youl'll see this year!

It was no punch, both of them were pushing the other, the usual handbags, then the minute Harte's hands came up near his face, down he went. Not a bother on him either once the cards were displayed. Sick of this lying on the ground to influence the referee/linesman, Tommy Walsh's reaction to getting a hurl in the head in the AIF last year is an example to anyone, a man's man!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 29, 2010, 07:37:37 PM
Was that Doran Harte? Wouldn't you think he'd have learned his lesson up in Omagh that time when he gave Dooher a dig and he got the red card.

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice....
Post by: turk on March 29, 2010, 08:13:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 29, 2010, 07:37:37 PM
Was that Doran Harte? Wouldn't you think he'd have learned his lesson up in Omagh that time when he gave Dooher a dig and he got the red card.

You can't get fooled again!!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 29, 2010, 08:15:14 PM
I'll tip my hat to the new constitution
Take a bow for the new revolution
Smile and grin at the change all around me
Pick up my guitar and play
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 30, 2010, 11:26:01 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 29, 2010, 07:37:37 PM

The very man. To be fair to him there were no digs involved, just a bout of pushing where both sets of hands ended up around the throats. If your man hadn't have gone down like a sack of spuds it would probably have been 2 yellows. I thought Doran learned his lesson from that day but maybe he needs to be even cuter when dealing with nordies, they're awful unsteady on their feet...

tbh, I don't think we have enough Doran Harte's, able to mix it, always gives 100% and never backs down. Now if he had Flanagans ability...