GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rosnarun on February 19, 2020, 09:59:23 AM

Poll
Question: as per Stars demand Should the GAABOARD Shut Down
Option 1: YES votes: 16
Option 2: NO votes: 23
Option 3: no but we sold get Central council /Donaghy's permission for each Post votes: 10
Option 4: Did you see I have a basketball camp coming up? votes: 16
Title: Should the GAABOARD Shut Down
Post by: rosnarun on February 19, 2020, 09:59:23 AM
Former Kerry Footballer reckons you're all full of crap and has kindly asked for people to desist
should we?
Title: Re: Should the GAABOARD Shut Down
Post by: Saffrongael on February 19, 2020, 10:34:02 AM
Donaghy is a pain in the arse
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on February 19, 2020, 10:50:27 AM
Quote from: Kieran Donaghy
If the GAA was to do one thing, I'd shut down everyone one of those forums

If the GAA can figure out how to and then successfully police the Internet, well - forget about just the amateur sporting context - we will truly have the greatest organisation in the world.

Quote from: rosnarun on February 19, 2020, 09:59:23 AM
Former Kerry Footballer reckons you're all full of crap

In all fairness to Kieran though, I can't argue against a Kerryman being able to spot someone who is full of crap, aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile
Post by: Taylor on February 19, 2020, 11:53:46 AM
Where is this taken from?
Post by: angermanagement on February 19, 2020, 11:55:55 AM
https://www.the42.ie/kieran-donaghy-online-trolls-gaa-5012310-Feb2020/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook
Post by: Taylor on February 19, 2020, 12:03:26 PM
Cheers
Post by: BennyCake on February 19, 2020, 12:18:59 PM
Shut down forums but social media is ok? Aye dead on
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on February 19, 2020, 12:30:54 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 19, 2020, 09:59:23 AM
Former Kerry Footballer reckons you're all full of crap and has kindly asked for people to desist
should we?

Aye - yez are all a shower of c**ts  ;D 8)
Post by: seafoid on February 19, 2020, 12:41:58 PM
How many online trolls are there on this site?
Isn't it more of a reference site for journalists rather than a GAA version of 4chan?
Post by: magpie seanie on February 19, 2020, 12:52:36 PM
I read the article. He is mostly correct except the GAA can't really do much. Perhaps it could ask Hoganstand to shut down their forums (mostly toxic and of no use) and clubs/counties but an independent forum like this?

To be honest when I started here it was really informative, very witty and bullshit intolerant. If you came in acting the maggot you got a few slaps to knock the corners off you and on we went. It's still the best place I've found if you're looking for information but the bullshit has largely taken over.

Ultimately I don't know what the answer is. I'm still here I suppose.
Post by: caprea on February 19, 2020, 12:59:34 PM
Star's other brainwave was that AFL clubs should compensate clubs for taking their players. Another thing that was completely unenforceable.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 19, 2020, 02:21:22 PM
A insult to the hard working moderators whom filter out the trolls at best they can on here. Ziggysego must be furious with those Kieran Donaghy remarks
Post by: imtommygunn on February 19, 2020, 02:24:40 PM
I think in general it's fine though I do find some of the bile directed towards Mickey Harte (by a select few Tyrone people) a bit much and don't know why the perpetrators haven't been banned. That aside there's a bit of slabbering and maybe the odd liverpool man united thing goes a bit far but that's about it.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on February 19, 2020, 02:42:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 19, 2020, 12:52:36 PM
To be honest when I started here it was really informative, very witty and bullshit intolerant. If you came in acting the maggot you got a few slaps to knock the corners off you and on we went. It's still the best place I've found if you're looking for information but the bullshit has largely taken over.

That's my sense of it too, although I'm never quite sure if it's also a reflection of me getting older and becoming less tolerant of the BS.

Either way, I'm still here too, so I usually just stay seated with my mouth shut!!   :-X
Post by: Million on February 19, 2020, 02:49:59 PM
No.

Social media abuse is a wider societal problem. 'Board abuse' (of which I don't see that much of) will only transfer to other media forms.

The year 2020 - people are so sensitive, just let it fly over your head OR if it's really bothering you go speak to a professional on how to deal with fame and the praise/ criticism that comes along with it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 19, 2020, 04:23:05 PM
I read the article. He is mostly correct except the GAA can't really do much. Perhaps it could ask Hoganstand to shut down their forums (mostly toxic and of no use) and clubs/counties but an independent forum like this?

I find this place mostly informative. It's just a shame some threads degenerate into handbag stuff. If two contributors are having a ding-dong there should be a rule that it can't go on for more than three replies; it gets fierce tedious wading through page after page of it.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 19, 2020, 04:28:02 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 19, 2020, 04:23:05 PM

I find this place mostly informative. It's just a shame some threads degenerate into handbag stuff. If two contributors are having a ding-dong there should be a rule that it can't go on for more than three replies; it gets fierce tedious wading through page after page of it.

Hmmm... strangely enuff I'd struggle to find a worse culprit than yourself for that carry-on
Post by: whitey on February 19, 2020, 04:32:17 PM
Following that logic RTE should also be shut down

Pundits with an axe to grind admitting to influencing how an AIF is refereed is much more harmful to the game than an online forum that's read by a very small percentage of the population
Post by: J70 on February 19, 2020, 04:38:49 PM
Donaghy has a completely valid wider point, but his solution is ridiculously ill-informed. The GAA obviously has no authority to shut down this or any other website or social media platform. Its up to the members here and the moderators to keep the standards up by cracking down on trolls and abuse on a couple of fronts. There are the arseholes who post inflammatory shite just to get a reaction; the ones who offer no substantial discussion beyond personal attacks. And then, the stuff Donaghy is on about, the ridiculous and over the top personal attacks on players, managers and referees who are doing their very best at an amateur sport and are not here to defend themselves. The stuff on the referees, in particular, gets very sickening, especially when its geniuses who have had the opportunity to study a replay in hi-def, slowed-down footage from all angles before making their "criticism".
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 19, 2020, 06:39:13 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 19, 2020, 04:28:02 PM

Hmmm... strangely enuff I'd struggle to find a worse culprit than yourself for that carry-on

No you don't.
Post by: Gmac on February 19, 2020, 06:58:54 PM
Quote from: Million on February 19, 2020, 02:49:59 PM
No.

Social media abuse is a wider societal problem. 'Board abuse' (of which I don't see that much of) will only transfer to other media forms.

The year 2020 - people are so sensitive, just let it fly over your head OR if it's really bothering you go speak to a professional on how to deal with fame and the praise/ criticism that comes along with it.
donaghy and most pundits like to use Twitter especially to promote themselves and products , events they are partnered with , if it wasn't for social media not many people would hear from them.
Post by: weareros on February 19, 2020, 07:14:10 PM
Foolish thinking by Donaghy. Where there will always be plenty of scutter written, conversations about GAA are a big part of the lifeblood of the GAA. You kill that (not that it is possible anyway), and you kill a lot of free and more authentic marketing of the games. As everyone knows, the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about. Not everyone can get to the pub to have a chat about the match and the fellas in the pub might not even go to matches, whereas online you will hear the informed views of people who go to county and club games. Would be mad to stifle that.
Post by: BennyCake on February 19, 2020, 07:33:07 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 19, 2020, 07:14:10 PM
Foolish thinking by Donaghy. Where there will always be plenty of scutter written, conversations about GAA are a big part of the lifeblood of the GAA. You kill that (not that it is possible anyway), and you kill a lot of free and more authentic marketing of the games. As everyone knows, the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about. Not everyone can get to the pub to have a chat about the match and the fellas in the pub might not even go to matches, whereas online you will hear the informed views of people who go to county and club games. Would be mad to stifle that.

Yes, good points there. You can't stop this forum any more than you could stop the men in the work van talking about the weekends match, or a group of men meeting outside the chapel of a Sunday morning.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 19, 2020, 07:38:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 19, 2020, 06:39:13 PM

No you don't.

For consistency under a single username you easily outstrip all your competitors
Post by: AFM on February 19, 2020, 08:32:22 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 19, 2020, 07:38:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 19, 2020, 06:39:13 PM

No you don't.

For consistency under a single username you easily outstrip all your competitors

Post by: sligoman2 on February 19, 2020, 08:36:34 PM
Mickey Harte is my hero.
Syferus is great
Mayo is great
The gaa is great.
The rules are great

Now what do I do?
Post by: charlieTully on February 19, 2020, 08:59:45 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on February 19, 2020, 08:36:34 PM
Mickey Harte is my hero.
Syferus is great
Mayo is great
The gaa is great.
The rules are great

Now what do I do?

Your sister. Everyone else has.
Post by: AFM on February 19, 2020, 09:12:33 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on February 19, 2020, 08:59:45 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on February 19, 2020, 08:36:34 PM
Mickey Harte is my hero.
Syferus is great
Mayo is great
The gaa is great.
The rules are great

Now what do I do?

Your sister. Everyone else has.

Last time I heard something like that, your sister,  your mum was in secondary school, oh and that knob Jimmy Carr.
Post by: Saffrongael on February 19, 2020, 10:18:00 PM
Quote from: Gmac on February 19, 2020, 06:58:54 PM
Quote from: Million on February 19, 2020, 02:49:59 PM
No.

donaghy and most pundits like to use Twitter especially to promote themselves and products , events they are partnered with , if it wasn't for social media not many people would hear from them.

100%
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 19, 2020, 10:41:14 PM

I find this place mostly informative. It's just a shame some PRACTICALLY ALL threads degenerate into handbag stuff. If two contributors are having a ding-dong there should be a rule that it can't go on for more than three replies; it gets fierce tedious wading through page after page of it.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 19, 2020, 10:42:53 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on February 19, 2020, 10:41:14 PM

I find this place mostly informative. It's just a shame some PRACTICALLY ALL threads degenerate into handbag stuff. If two contributors are having a ding-dong there should be a rule that it can't go on for more than three replies; it gets fierce tedious wading through page after page of it.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 19, 2020, 11:08:57 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 19, 2020, 04:38:49 PM
Donaghy has a completely valid wider point, but his solution is ridiculously ill-informed. The GAA obviously has no authority to shut down this or any other website or social media platform. Its up to the members here and the moderators to keep the standards up by cracking down on trolls and abuse on a couple of fronts. There are the arseholes who post inflammatory shite just to get a reaction; the ones who offer no substantial discussion beyond personal attacks. And then, the stuff Donaghy is on about, the ridiculous and over the top personal attacks on players, managers and referees who are doing their very best at an amateur sport and are not here to defend themselves. The stuff on the referees, in particular, gets very sickening, especially when its geniuses who have had the opportunity to study a replay in hi-def, slowed-down footage from all angles before making their "criticism".
That just about sums it up for me.
I find nothing wrong with what Donghy said about the problem but I don't think he understands the way the internet, and that included social media outlets and discussion forums , are structured.
Post by: ck on February 20, 2020, 09:29:39 AM
These former players (incl GPA) see themselves as more important than the rest of our GAA community. Donaghys remarks are just more of the same.. he was probably asked about Caroline Fleck thing in a GAA context, and instead of giving an intelligent analysis he jumps at censorship and denying the ordinary man a voice (Ridiculous and ill informed response). Only high profile people like him are worthy of comment via the media?

The issue is how people behave, not the fact that there are platforms to give the ordinary man a voice. The day these platforms are shut down will be a sad day for free speech.

Post by: rosnarun on February 20, 2020, 12:43:36 PM
Quote from: ck on February 20, 2020, 09:29:39 AM
These former players (incl GPA) see themselves as more important than the rest of our GAA community. Donaghys remarks are just more of the same.. he was probably asked about Caroline Fleck thing in a GAA context, and instead of giving an intelligent analysis he jumps at censorship and denying the ordinary man a voice (Ridiculous and ill informed response). Only high profile people like him are worthy of comment via the media?

The issue is how people behave, not the fact that there are platforms to give the ordinary man a voice. The day these platforms are shut down will be a sad day for free speech.

this is all part of society coming to grip with the World where any one can publish to the whole world that they think your a **** .
Censorship as a tool is not a realistic proposition for technical and other reasons.
People are just going to have to learn to live with online Criticism . Fair or otherwise , and learn how to filter it. and Presume others can as well
Like a restaurant  on trip Advisor if it gets 1 bad review out of a 100 people have to have enough cop to know that's on the  reviewer whereas if Half the reviews are bad then its probably a shit restaurant
Post by: JoG2 on February 20, 2020, 02:12:06 PM
Quote from: ck on February 20, 2020, 09:29:39 AM

This is the bit I agree with

"I have no issue with people saying stuff if they can be held accountable for but this being able to say stuff and not be held accountable is wrong."

Abuse being hurled from an anonymous name doesn't serve any purpose. Just take a look at the Tyrone thread when this topic was mentioned, or just the Tyrone thread in general. Would these posters post with their real name attached, I highly doubt it.

I've got plenty of good info on this main board through the years and from private messaging folk, but you do have to wade through a serious amount of muck too. Needs alot more moderation
Post by: greatpoint on February 20, 2020, 02:30:43 PM
Donaghy was on OTB this morning talking further on it, but if I'm honest if anything he's made his viewpoint less clear. He doesn't want GAA forums banned now he just wants us all to have our real names and addresses attached to our accounts via our passports. He seems to use social media and forums interchangeably so I'm not sure how much he actually understands about his issue.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on February 20, 2020, 02:49:44 PM
Donaghy means well but he's effectively asking for censorship.

Some people use this place to spew all kinds of crap, it's not really something I get but it is what it is, the internet and forums/social media etc isn't really something to take serious - I think too many people take the internet as a reality.

The vast majority of things I read here are from good Gaelic people and long may it continue, I enjoy reading the discussions even when I don't agree with the points made and there are some people on here who I actively look out for their posts because they are informed and passionate about the games. I don't need to know their real names or faces to appreciate that.

There are always going to be negative people in the world, the fact they stick to or prefer the internet and on forums where you can choose not to go or indeed mute if you wish to read other posts is fine by me. Better than some drunk in Croke Park ruining the game by telling me player X is a useless so and so.
Post by: Aristo 60 on February 20, 2020, 03:38:31 PM
He should probably seek legal advice..."what ya tink about dat Joe Brolly?" would be his opening line at the first consultation.
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2020, 04:50:02 PM
The Gaaboard should get an opt-out due to average age. The tech is even older than the posters. I remenver how volatile it was in 02 in the run up to Armagh's Sam, before Tyrone won it.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 20, 2020, 07:40:58 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on February 20, 2020, 06:23:47 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on February 20, 2020, 02:30:43 PM
Donaghy was on OTB this morning talking further on it, but if I'm honest if anything he's made his viewpoint less clear. He doesn't want GAA forums banned now he just wants us all to have our real names and addresses attached to our accounts via our passports. He seems to use social media and forums interchangeably so I'm not sure how much he actually understands about his issue.

He's essentially asking for the moon on a stick.

Anyone can pretty much set up a forum like this, with anonymous usernames etc. anywhere in the world.

How would he intend to enforce such rules on sites which have discussions on GAA topics only as part of a larger community, like boards.ie?

What about those whom don't have a passport of another high level of personal ID like a driving licence?

How would such forums be able to comply with EU GDPR laws if personal data is to be stored, not to mention potential security breaches?

To the best of my knowledge, this forum here is hosted in the USA, and while even before GDPR kicked in, WHOIS info regarding gaaboard.com was obfuscated (though a little more research didn't take too much trouble to work out what county the domain owner is from ;) - no, it's not Tyrone, so stop hassling Ziggy!)

The cat is out of the bag regarding online places like this. If the Great Internet Wall of China and other attempted controls by oppressive regimes, top-of-the-line hired lawyers for Hollywood studios, sports broadcast rights holders, music record labels etc. not to mention general law enforcement policing illegal online material continue to having to engage in never-ending battles to stop critical reporting or copyright theft online, then what bloody chance does something like the GAA have?

If someone nearing retirement age came out with this suggestion 15 to 20 years ago I could sort of give an allowance to them perhaps not knowing how the likes of Internet forums and message boards worked. OTOH someone like Donaghy is of an age whom would have grown up interacting with the internet and should be familiar with how it works - he has no excuse, especially in 2020.

This isn't a dismissal of how online communities like this forum behave and conduct themselves though, and to the general broad public reputation it or anything like it has. However it can only police that within its own boundaries. The one possible saving grace for those critical of forums like here is that most younger generations no longer really bother using them - most users are at least in their mid-30's and most such long running forums like this one have been seeing gradual falls in activity and new members joining up, with a large portion of those "joining" having been previously banned and attempting to rejoin under a new nom de plume. Teens and young adults OTOH tend to stick within certain social media and messaging platforms which can be quite fluid as to where they camp & decamp to.

Yeah but he did move to Kerry when he was about 7 so you'd probably have to give him a little leeway there
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2020, 09:13:14 PM
Donaghy is a wee bit tick at times, would that be the Tyrone blood kicking in?

Post by: rosnarun on February 21, 2020, 10:28:16 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on February 20, 2020, 06:23:47 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on February 20, 2020, 02:30:43 PM

He's essentially asking for the moon on a stick.

Anyone can pretty much set up a forum like this, with anonymous usernames etc. anywhere in the world.

How would he intend to enforce such rules on sites which have discussions on GAA topics only as part of a larger community, like boards.ie?

What about those whom don't have a passport of another high level of personal ID like a driving licence?

How would such forums be able to comply with EU GDPR laws if personal data is to be stored, not to mention potential security breaches?

To the best of my knowledge, this forum here is hosted in the USA, and while even before GDPR kicked in, WHOIS info regarding gaaboard.com was obfuscated (though a little more research didn't take too much trouble to work out what county the domain owner is from ;) - no, it's not Tyrone, so stop hassling Ziggy!)

The cat is out of the bag regarding online places like this. If the Great Internet Wall of China and other attempted controls by oppressive regimes, top-of-the-line hired lawyers for Hollywood studios, sports broadcast rights holders, music record labels etc. not to mention general law enforcement policing illegal online material continue to having to engage in never-ending battles to stop critical reporting or copyright theft online, then what bloody chance does something like the GAA have?

If someone nearing retirement age came out with this suggestion 15 to 20 years ago I could sort of give an allowance to them perhaps not knowing how the likes of Internet forums and message boards worked. OTOH someone like Donaghy is of an age whom would have grown up interacting with the internet and should be familiar with how it works - he has no excuse, especially in 2020.

This isn't a dismissal of how online communities like this forum behave and conduct themselves though, and to the general broad public reputation it or anything like it has. However it can only police that within its own boundaries. The one possible saving grace for those critical of forums like here is that most younger generations no longer really bother using them - most users are at least in their mid-30's and most such long running forums like this one have been seeing gradual falls in activity and new members joining up, with a large portion of those "joining" having been previously banned and attempting to rejoin under a new nom de plume. Teens and young adults OTOH tend to stick within certain social media and messaging platforms which can be quite fluid as to where they camp & decamp to.

supersized at that you were my second Guess!
any figures as to the decline of discussion board  . is boards.ie doing well as more modern media do not allow for much discussion evend media seem to be getting shorter . whats TIKTOK 15 seconds?
Any one here with knowledge how to do an app or would that just lead to even more off the cuff rermarks
Post by: Keyser soze on February 21, 2020, 04:09:03 PM
Keep er lit lads ...and  this time next year we will be getting a massive wad of funding from Croker!!!