GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 05:20:19 PM

Title: Tyrone v Kerry The Easter Relegator, how the mighty have fallen..
Post by: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 05:20:19 PM
Well it looks like it comes down to this.
Title: Re: Tyrone v Kerry The Easter Relegator, how the mighty have fallen..
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 29, 2015, 05:31:27 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 05:20:19 PM
Well it looks like it comes down to this.

Indeed! Fairly meh campaigns by both sides to date.

Where's good for a few pints in Omagh of a Saturday night? Might have to actually go to this, now it will mean something.
Post by: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 05:44:45 PM
Omagh has a decent set up for a Saturday night I believe. A pedestrian pub area called main street.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 29, 2015, 05:56:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 05:44:45 PM
Omagh has a decent set up for a Saturday night I believe. A pedestrian pub area called main street.

That, is the kind of response I'd expect from some smart arse from Killarney..not from the normally very hospitable Tyrone folk..
Post by: yellowcard on March 29, 2015, 06:04:55 PM
This game will have a championship feel to it now that the loser will face relegation. Tyrone have a big advantage playing at home but I think they are simply not good enough. Mickey Harte said during the week that it would be a disaster if Tyrone were relegated but I'd say that is simply an indication of the level of footballer they currently have. The League table never lies and the loser can have no complaints. Very surprised to see Kerry in this position, it begs the question as to how they would do if they actually had some competitive c'ship games to play before the quarter final stage. I'd be less concerned about their c'ship prospects though as they have a few quality players still to come back in. Tyrone don't have the same luxury. If they are relegated I reckon Mickey Hartes time could well be coming to an end in Tyrone this year.
Post by: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 06:06:31 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 29, 2015, 05:56:01 PM

That, is the kind of response I'd expect from some smart arse from Killarney..not from the normally very hospitable Tyrone folk..
swear to god man Google main street omagh.i near fell of my tractor laughing at that one.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 29, 2015, 06:12:35 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 06:06:31 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 29, 2015, 05:56:01 PM

swear to god man Google main street omagh.i near fell of my tractor laughing at that one.

(http://s2.quickmeme.com/img/b2/b27659fed9b4166aafe0d6b9d5e2f0f0f6f1d85448a07398dad91783ff8f79da.jpg)

Well, I'll be able to find my way to the Diamond and take it from there anyway!
Post by: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 06:23:09 PM
Www.mainstreetomagh.com
Post by: Agent Orange on March 29, 2015, 06:36:16 PM
(https://viaviewfiles.files.wordpress.com/2014/09/nelson-laughing.jpg)
Post by: Over the Bar on March 29, 2015, 06:51:16 PM
Deep in injury time Tyrone are one 1 point to the good against the kingdom.   Last kick of the game and they win a free 60 meters out.  Morgan steps up, steels himself and crowd go silent fearing the worst.  Morgan's kick is hard and true sailing perfectly over the black spot to rapturous cheers.    Joe McQuillan puts the whistle to his lips and ends the game and at the same time calls a wide ball!
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 29, 2015, 07:01:12 PM
Has to be on TG4's radar.
Post by: BennyCake on March 29, 2015, 07:27:43 PM
As much as I'd liked Tyrone relegated, I'd love a crack at Kerry in Div 2.
Post by: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 08:06:07 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 29, 2015, 06:51:16 PM
Deep in injury time Tyrone are one 1 point to the good against the kingdom.   Last kick of the game and they win a free 60 meters out.  Morgan steps up, steels himself and crowd go silent fearing the worst.  Morgan's kick is hard and true sailing perfectly over the black spot to rapturous cheers.    Joe McQuillan puts the whistle to his lips and ends the game and at the same time calls a wide ball!
hawkeye er te frig.  Seriously though will we get a look at galvin in this game.
Post by: Bo Man on March 29, 2015, 09:41:22 PM
don't see us coming within the ten points of Kerry who need to win this. last game for harte and horse in division 1? maybe last league game in charge of tyrone?
Post by: rrhf on March 29, 2015, 10:50:43 PM
Could be alright..  But I hope we give a great performance deserving of the man and go down fighting.
Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2015, 11:03:21 PM
Mickey has a knack of reacting well to bad days.

When were Kerry last not in the top division?
Post by: Seamus on March 29, 2015, 11:44:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 29, 2015, 11:03:21 PM
Mickey has a knack of reacting well to bad days.

When were Kerry last not in the top division?

2002, also Gooch's senior debut.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 29, 2015, 11:56:22 PM
Am I right in saying if Tyrone win by 2 points or more means Kerry are relegated? What if it is a 1 point victory for Tyrone and point difference is level between the 2?
Post by: J70 on March 30, 2015, 04:06:47 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on March 29, 2015, 11:56:22 PM
Am I right in saying if Tyrone win by 2 points or more means Kerry are relegated? What if it is a 1 point victory for Tyrone and point difference is level between the 2?

Barring an outlandish result in the Mayo v Donegal game, yes, 2 point Tyrone win relegates Kerry.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 30, 2015, 09:09:57 AM
Have I missed something or why are so many of ye saying MAYBE this is Mickey's last year?
I thought his term is up this year and I can't see him being offered a new contract.
I'm not being harsh or disrespectful but is that not the current view or are we not allowed to actually say it?

I have not seen/read any of the game yesterday but I have been impressed how well Mickey has them playing against Dublin and Cork. I think we've been the third best team in Ulster for a few years now and I really can't see that changing this year. I do however expect a good run in the qualifiers and if we fan avoid Cork/Kerry then a quarterfinal place.
Sadly I think Kerry will beat us in this game unless we really raise our game
Post by: blanketattack on March 30, 2015, 09:38:22 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on March 29, 2015, 11:56:22 PM

Kerry's points difference is 3 better than Tyrone's hence 1 pt Tyrone win keeps Kerry ahead, 2 pt win puts Tyrone ahead.

If Donegal and Mayo draw, 1 pt win will be enough for Tyrone to stay up
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2015, 09:46:22 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 30, 2015, 09:09:57 AM
Have I missed something or why are so many of ye saying MAYBE this is Mickey's last year?
I thought his term is up this year and I can't see him being offered a new contract.
I'm not being harsh or disrespectful but is that not the current view or are we not allowed to actually say it?

I have not seen/read any of the game yesterday but I have been impressed how well Mickey has them playing against Dublin and Cork. I think we've been the third best team in Ulster for a few years now and I really can't see that changing this year. I do however expect a good run in the qualifiers and if we fan avoid Cork/Kerry then a quarterfinal place.

Offered a new contract? Ye have contracts?

I think this is Mickey's last year with Tyrone. Be funny if he went and took over Derry or something and led them to a title.
Post by: 50fiftyball on March 30, 2015, 10:24:00 AM
I hope Mickey can get the boys together to muster up every ounce of football/energy the have in them to give it a good rattle.

Going to be a tasty clash, Kerry undoubtedly the better footballing team, although we've never seen Tyrone try to play good football in this campaign yet.

I really do fear the Donaghy tactic against our defence though, feel Ronan McNamee would struggle against the long ball in from Moran and the likes.
Post by: LeoMc on March 30, 2015, 11:23:23 AM

Maybe they will offer him a new contract.
Maybe he will have a good year
Maybe there will be not better applicants when the time comes.
Post by: yellowcard on March 30, 2015, 02:43:46 PM

So in effect you are saying you think that youse will sack Harte at the end of the season? A triple All Ireland winning manager. That would indicate that youse believe that Tyrone are underachieving. How about the fact that the players simply are not there any more.
Post by: illdecide on March 30, 2015, 03:42:16 PM
Yellowcard I've been saying that for a while now (not winding up this time), If Tyrone supporters think by sacking Micky and bring in another manager will turn things around for them then they're crazy...Tyrone were a great team and won 3 All Irelands with a top manager but the quality of player is just not there compared to the players you have had. You'll just have to re-build like the rest of us...deal with it.

Sacking Micky will actually weaken you further (my opinion)
Post by: stew on March 30, 2015, 03:56:14 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 30, 2015, 03:42:16 PM
Yellowcard I've been saying that for a while now (not winding up this time), If Tyrone supporters think by sacking Micky and bring in another manager will turn things around for them then they're crazy...Tyrone were a great team and won 3 All Irelands with a top manager but the quality of player is just not there compared to the players you have had. You'll just have to re-build like the rest of us...deal with it.

100% agree, that would be madness!

Sadly I think Tyrone will keep him.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 30, 2015, 04:34:20 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 30, 2015, 03:42:16 PM

Surely there comes a time when the need to freshen things up though?
Post by: rrhf on March 30, 2015, 06:15:05 PM
If Tyrone manage to stay up it will be a very decent spring. If they manage to bate done gal in may. The managerial debate should be filed under not for the foreseeable. 
Post by: Fuzzman on March 30, 2015, 07:20:53 PM
Well said rrhf. I shouldn't have brought it up on this thread.
His current term ends this year though so it's hardly sacking.

Yeah Donaghy would love to send us down I think.
Justy would probably pick him up.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 30, 2015, 10:23:00 PM
Are there any Tyrone players that Kerry people might consider decent ?
Post by: cadhlancian on March 31, 2015, 05:27:53 AM
Wum
Post by: 50fiftyball on March 31, 2015, 10:39:26 AM
Mammoth task, I fear the long ball in to Donaghy. Beating Kerry by 2 points on any occasion is tough, but knowing that they also need the points adds to it all.

It's certainly one not to miss on Sunday!
Post by: Fuzzman on March 31, 2015, 04:25:58 PM
There has been a good few years where these two have played each other in the last round of league matches with one or the other team needing to win to stay up.
Is this the first time both need to win to stay up? I think so.
You could certainly see this get a bit feisty, especially after they hammered us last year down in Killarney

(http://gaeliclife.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Tyrone-v-Kerry-killarney-1.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on April 02, 2015, 08:45:56 PM
(https://scontent-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/v/t1.0-9/s720x720/11080920_792698920809890_2645931390483760560_n.jpg?oh=5a937ebfbbf6d23ec7ca305be02b0b16&oe=55B9E02E)
Post by: ONeill on April 02, 2015, 08:47:21 PM
The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Tyrone in Round 7 of the Allianz Football League in Omagh on Sunday shows three changes from the side defeated by Monaghan on Sunday last. Brendan Kealy returns in goal in place of Brian Kelly, Paul Murphy returns after injury at corner back  in place of Pa Kilkenny  and Bryan Sheehan also comes back after injury in place of Paul Geaney who has a hamstring strain.

Colm Cooper returns to the match day panel following injury for the first time since the 2013 All Ireland semi final against Dublin and Paul Galvin, who rejoined the panel recently having come out of retirement, is also included in the substitutes list.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 02, 2015, 08:50:44 PM
Strong Kerry squad.
As our sponsors say...
Make a clear and Rush
Post by: twohands!!! on April 02, 2015, 08:53:09 PM
1.      Brendan Kealy                      Kilcummin

2.      Paul Murphy             Rathmore

3.      Mark Griffin                          St Michaels/Foilmore

4.      Shane Enright                        Tarbert

5.      Jonathan Lyne                       Killarney Legion

6.      Peter Crowley                       Laune Rangers

7.      Killian Young                        Renard

8.      Anthony Maher                     Duagh

9.      David Moran                        Kerins O'Rahillys

10.  Alan Fitzgerald                      Castlegregory

11.  Bryan Sheehan                      St Marys

12.  Johnny Buckley                     Dr Crokes

13.  Stephen O'Brien                   Kenmare

14.  Kieran Donaghy        (C)       Austin Stacks

15.  Barry John Keane                 Kerins O'Rahillys

Fir Ionaid:

16.  Brian Kelly                            Killarney Legion

17.  Pa Kilkenny                          Glenbeigh/Glencar

18.  Tommy Walsh                       Kerins O'Rahillys

19.  Fionn Fitzgerald                    Dr Crokes

20.  Marc Ó Sé                           An Ghaeltacht

21.  Darran O'Sullivan                 Glenbeigh-Glencar

22.  Kieran O'Leary                    Dr Crokes

23.  Padraig O'Connor                Killarney Legion

24.  Philip O'Connor                    Cordal

25.  Paul Galvin                            Finuge

26.  Colm Cooper                        Dr Crokes
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 02, 2015, 10:01:44 PM
That's a keen interest in this game for a Cork man dhá lámh..eagerly checking Kerrygaa.ie for updates on the team announcement were we?? ;D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 03, 2015, 12:13:18 AM
I've noticed a fair few Tyrone lads bemoaning the state of football recently. It is almost as if they are trying to distance themselves from the monster they created. I think if you lads are honest you will accept that you owe Pat Spillane an apology. He called it right a long time ago. Fellas like Brolly are only waking up to the truth now...12 years later... ::)

Anyway, are there any Tyrone lads that can actually play football as opposed to playing to a system that we should look out for ?

Post by: ONeill on April 03, 2015, 12:28:22 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 03, 2015, 12:13:18 AM
I've noticed a fair few Tyrone lads bemoaning the state of football recently. It is almost as if they are trying to distance themselves from the monster they created. I think if you lads are honest you will accept that you owe Pat Spillane an apology. He called it right a long time ago. Fellas like Brolly are only waking up to the truth now...12 years later... ::)

Anyway, are there any Tyrone lads that can actually play football as opposed to playing to a system that we should look out for ?

Brilliant point. Feel so ashamed. That 05 final was a sign. Total football is a curse.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 03, 2015, 12:36:22 AM
03 was puke
05 was sneaky.....we were prepared for a different game
08 was a tossup
Post by: ziggysego on April 03, 2015, 02:16:10 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 03, 2015, 12:36:22 AM
03 was puke
05 was sneaky.....we were prepared for a different game
08 was a tossup

Shame on us for not giving you our gameplan
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 03, 2015, 03:12:14 AM
Mike, if you're trying to be funny..it ain't working. If you're being serious, stop posting nonsense.

I sense you aren't a bona fide Kerry fan in either case and I hope I'm right.

Meanwhile back on terra firma..that's a strong enough Kerry team to win IMO. Be interesting to see how things pan out. Meant to be a fine day for it Sunday. Looking forward to my first trip to Omagh since..well, I can't remember when it was. 2004 or so? 1-8 to 1-7 or something was the score. Man-mountain Micheál Quirke was full forward for Kerry.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 03, 2015, 03:49:37 AM
I think Kerry circa 2002-2008 had better players than Tyrone. Seamus Moynihan, Darragh O'Se, Mike FranK Russell...etc I honestly cant think of any players on the Tyrone side that were their equal.Tyrone won mainly because of the system they played to.

What do you think  Ciarrai_thuaidh ? which players would you trade ?
Post by: BennyHarp on April 03, 2015, 06:52:34 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 03, 2015, 03:49:37 AM
I think Kerry circa 2002-2008 had better players than Tyrone. Seamus Moynihan, Darragh O'Se, Mike FranK Russell...etc I honestly cant think of any players on the Tyrone side that were their equal.Tyrone won mainly because of the system they played to.

Mike Frank Russell wouldn't have gotten within an asses roar of the Tyrone full forward line in 2005. I certainly wouldn't have been giving up Stephen O'Neill, Peter Canavan or Mugsy for him. Tyrone won mainly because firstly, they had better players. Secondly, that Kerry team had balls the size of peanuts when the pressure was cranked up in big games. And thirdly 3 different Kerry managers and the players didn't have the intelligence to work out Tyrone's tactics over a 5-6 year period. That's the reality Mikey boy!
Post by: ose 14 on April 03, 2015, 07:20:16 AM
when you look at both teams you have to say like the cork game when the fat is in the fire the only player we can bring on to change a game is ronan o neill, the rest are as weak a squad as ive ever seen. the kerry bench by the other hand wow(minus o donohue and the geaneys) that will be the difference in this game unfortunately. mickey harte cannot be blamed for the paucity of talent currently within the county, there are very few not in the panel. dropping down next year into div 2 whilst unwelcome will not be a disaster. winning u21s on wed night is more important than beating kerry on sunday in my humble view. i think we are three years away from challenging again and harte is the right man for the job to get us to that point. however what devlin brings to the party is beyond me and as yet peter donnelly has not proved the revolutionary he was touted as. tyrone still dont have the upper body strength required as evidenced by last sunday or are they able to transition from all out defence to supporting the attack for 70 mins despite undergoing the most stringent and intensive fitness training allegedly that they have ever done (now 6 months)??????.
Post by: rrhf on April 03, 2015, 08:22:00 AM
Great to see the Gooch back and the galvinator too. Looking forward to this.. get behind mix key and the lads for 1 last push.  If we go to 2 it's because we deserve it.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 03, 2015, 08:45:39 AM
Quote from: ose 14 on April 03, 2015, 07:20:16 AM
when you look at both teams you have to say like the cork game when the fat is in the fire the only player we can bring on to change a game is ronan o neill, the rest are as weak a squad as ive ever seen. the kerry bench by the other hand wow(minus o donohue and the geaneys) that will be the difference in this game unfortunately. mickey harte cannot be blamed for the paucity of talent currently within the county, there are very few not in the panel. dropping down next year into div 2 whilst unwelcome will not be a disaster. winning u21s on wed night is more important than beating kerry on sunday in my humble view. i think we are three years away from challenging again and harte is the right man for the job to get us to that point. however what devlin brings to the party is beyond me and as yet peter donnelly has not proved the revolutionary he was touted as. tyrone still dont have the upper body strength required as evidenced by last sunday or are they able to transition from all out defence to supporting the attack for 70 mins despite undergoing the most stringent and intensive fitness training allegedly that they have ever done (now 6 months)??????.

I don't think you are going to see the benefit of Peter Donnelly's work for a while yet, the man has only been in the post a lock of months.  I don't think Harte is the right man though, but I do agree with you that the u-21s is important.
Post by: Up The Middle on April 03, 2015, 09:05:28 AM

Tyrone have been 3 years away from challanging for this past 6 years. Seriously, you are going to blame Peter Donnelly, imo you wont notice the benefis of his work for maybe another year. Everyone is too blame only Mickey. When exactly will Mickey have questions to answer for the teams performances over this past number of years. He is the one who comes up with the gameplans i assume. Is horse not a trainer, fitness doesnt look like the problem, its a total lack of tactical awareness in the big games, constantly out thought over this past few years and i dont see it being any different this season.
Post by: Man Marker on April 03, 2015, 09:36:14 AM

The naivety in this post just goes to show, if needed that any imbecile can make a contribution. The reason why Tyrone are physically behind Donegal is because our manager fell asleep at the wheel, and whilst counties like Donegal were implementing modern S & C training plans, our manager hadn't a clue about it, and what's worst hadn't the modesty to acknowledge he didn't know. Queue, a number of years latter when it became so obvious, even the dogs on the street could see that physically we were been out muscled. Also if you knew anything about S&C development, it takes times time, unless of course your advocating that our players take steroids, Are you ? But in your absolute ignorance, blame Donnelly. On a side note, big week for Tyrone football, a massive week infact, well our manager hasn't been at one training session this week. I have no idea why, nor do I need to know. I am going to conclude there is a very good reason for it, as I wouldn't for one minute question his commitment.
Post by: clarshack on April 03, 2015, 09:41:46 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 03, 2015, 06:52:34 AM

Mike Frank Russell wouldn't have gotten within an asses roar of the Tyrone full forward line in 2005. I certainly wouldn't have been giving up Stephen O'Neill, Peter Canavan or Mugsy for him. Tyrone won mainly because firstly, they had better players. Secondly, that Kerry team had balls the size of peanuts when the pressure was cranked up in big games. And thirdly 3 different Kerry managers and the players didn't have the intelligence to work out Tyrone's tactics over a 5-6 year period. That's the reality Mikey boy!

in 2003 and 2005 tyrone had better players all round, however in 2008 from positions 8-15 only enda mcginley, brian dooher & sean cavanagh would have made the kerry team imo, yet tyrone still won as the whole was greater than the sum of its parts that particular year.
Post by: Mikhailov on April 03, 2015, 09:46:29 AM

Peter Donnelly is only in the door so how anyone can blame his work is beyond belief. It will take minimum 2 years to see full benefits but IMO it is obvious from the U'21 performances in last 2 games that he is having a positive effect. They look strong, have upper body strength, well conditioned and able to take and give hits for 60 minutes allied with a strong running game so there is clear evidence that Donnelly is doing good work. However, we have been that far behind the big teams in this area at senior level that he has a lot of ground to make up and it will take a few seasons to get there. We have been poor for 5 seasons now so ultimately the blame lies with MH, no one else!!!. No apparent game plan, chopping and changing from attacking to defending style of play with no end results. Yes, we need to have Plan A and Plan B and possibly Plan C but we seem to jump from one to the other and still no positive impact - players seem lost, short of ideas and most importantly and worryingly show a lack of interest and desire which are basic requirements. Sunday will tell a tale and I hope sincerely we come out the right side of the result or it could be a short summer
Post by: cuconnacht on April 03, 2015, 09:47:34 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 29, 2015, 07:01:12 PM
Setanta had the rights to the league again this year but nothing listed for sunday .Gaa beo have as you predicted  a live game and a defferred1 but of course don't say which ones!Given theres only one show in town this weekend , youd imagine its TY v KY ,can any one confirm this;also anthing of the Ulster under21being shown ala bbc2ni etc,(cant get their listins atall)looks a good game as well.
Post by: Tubberman on April 03, 2015, 09:52:04 AM
Quote from: cuconnacht on April 03, 2015, 09:47:34 AM
Setanta had the rights to the league again this year but nothing listed for sunday .Gaa beo have as you predicted  a live game and a defferred1 but of course don't say which ones!Given theres only one show in town this weekend , youd imagine its TY v KY ,can any one confirm this;also anthing of the Ulster under21being shown ala bbc2ni etc,(cant get their listins atall)looks a good game as well.

I think I saw on twitter that the TG4 live game is Maigh Eo v Dún na nGall
Post by: ose 14 on April 03, 2015, 09:53:02 AM
re p donnelly im not blaming him just questioning the hubris and hullabaloo that surrounds him, what im saying is hes training a county team ffs. all fit to start with majority of them u25 and hes progressed them about 0.1 of an inch. no pace anywhere and no strength you tell me, hes been in place 6 months, collective training started on the ist of october whispers abound they had programmes before that. not impressed especially when its a  paid post. donegal pushed us about like ragdolls. do you lads see any difference in terms of conditioning i dont. any muppet could condition an u 21 team feel mr donnelly seriously over hyped interesting that terry hyland wasnt screaming to keep him. jobs for the boys doesent mean best man for the job. we have been seriously leggy in the second half of every game this season which is surprising with all this training going on. specificity or quantity.
Post by: StephenC on April 03, 2015, 10:01:03 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 03, 2015, 09:52:04 AM

Thought I saw that it was the deferred game??
Post by: Maguire01 on April 03, 2015, 10:06:09 AM
Even if that was true (and it isn't), it's totally irrelevant. Football is a team sport. It's about the sum of the parts.
Post by: rrhf on April 03, 2015, 02:11:05 PM
Man marker can you consider removing the last part of your post. Thanks
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 03, 2015, 02:19:10 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on April 03, 2015, 09:36:14 AM

The naivety in this post just goes to show, if needed that any imbecile can make a contribution. The reason why Tyrone are physically behind Donegal is because our manager fell asleep at the wheel, and whilst counties like Donegal were implementing modern S & C training plans, our manager hadn't a clue about it, and what's worst hadn't the modesty to acknowledge he didn't know. Queue, a number of years latter when it became so obvious, even the dogs on the street could see that physically we were been out muscled. Also if you knew anything about S&C development, it takes times time, unless of course your advocating that our players take steroids, Are you ? But in your absolute ignorance, blame Donnelly. On a side note, big week for Tyrone football, a massive week infact, well our manager hasn't been at one training session this week. I have no idea why, nor do I need to know. I am going to conclude there is a very good reason for it, as I wouldn't for one minute question his commitment.

Hasn't been at training..at all?? What's the story there?
Title: Arís
Post by: drici on April 03, 2015, 02:47:23 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=177.180
Post by: Tubberman on April 03, 2015, 04:19:46 PM
Quote from: StephenC on April 03, 2015, 10:01:03 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 03, 2015, 09:52:04 AM

Thought I saw that it was the deferred game??

Yep, think you're right actually. Tyrone v Kerry the live game.
Post by: easytiger95 on April 03, 2015, 06:42:28 PM
Setanta have rights to Saturday night games in the league - final round games always take place on the Sunday with all matches throwing in the same time so they are not allowed show any.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2015, 06:45:27 PM
http://m.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2015/0403/691935-harte_tyrone/

Manmarker you'd be wise to edit your comment earlier.
Post by: heffo on April 03, 2015, 07:02:32 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 03, 2015, 06:45:27 PM

Strange the Tyrone PRO hasn't clarified what the issue is or at least made something up
Post by: ONeill on April 03, 2015, 07:22:52 PM
Tyrone and RTE are divorced
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 03, 2015, 08:03:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 03, 2015, 07:22:52 PM
Tyrone and RTE are divorced

Nah, 'tis only a trial separation, a very trying separation! ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2015, 08:46:21 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 03, 2015, 07:02:32 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 03, 2015, 06:45:27 PM

Strange the Tyrone PRO hasn't clarified what the issue is or at least made something up

They have now on ----> http://tyronegaa.ie
Post by: 5 Sams on April 03, 2015, 09:08:37 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 03, 2015, 02:11:05 PM

Why would you want him to do that?
Post by: Man Marker on April 03, 2015, 09:24:54 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 03, 2015, 02:11:05 PM

Why? I stated a fact that he hadn't been to training, I also concluded that there had to be very good reason, and I was right, there was, and as a result of concluding their was a good reason, I wouldn't for one minute have questioned his commitment, which he has demonstrated over many years and unfortunate events. Now what in under earth is wrong with that post.
Post by: redzone on April 03, 2015, 09:44:27 PM
Man marker could u consider removing ureself from the forum.thanks :o
Post by: redzone on April 03, 2015, 09:59:26 PM
I would like to see ronan o neill ger another chance on sunday. Im expecting a big game  from tyrone on sunday and hopefully a big year ahead. It would take very little to get things to click into place.cant wait to see kerry, some great players and it would be nice to see the gooch back. I wouldnt get to hung up on s+c. They look to be alright to me. If we can get the shooting sorted we will win any game. Bring it on
Post by: 5 Sams on April 03, 2015, 11:39:19 PM
If Down wasn't playing I'd be at this...tasty, tasty fixture...no way Fitzy will risk the Gooch...but you will see Galvin.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2015, 11:19:20 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 03, 2015, 11:39:19 PM
If Down wasn't playing I'd be at this...tasty, tasty fixture...no way Fitzy will risk the Gooch...but you will see Galvin.

We're as likely to see one as the other I'd say. I don't think either of them are ready for that yet..If I'm wrong, fair enough, but don't think I am.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 04, 2015, 11:50:52 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2015, 11:19:20 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 03, 2015, 11:39:19 PM

We're as likely to see one as the other I'd say. I don't think either of them are ready for that yet..If I'm wrong, fair enough, but don't think I am.

If Cooper and Galvin aren't ready to feature, surely they wouldnt be named in the 26.

Has to be remembered that with the two of them back in the squad, that's 2 other lads dropped out of the match day squad.
Post by: CD on April 04, 2015, 12:22:53 PM
So predictions anyone?

I genuinely haven't seen much of Kerry other than the highlights programmes this national league. Seen Tyrone in the flesh twice (Monaghan and Cork) and on the box a couple of times and they've been disappointing. Kerry will be coming to Omagh confident that they can save themselves I'd imagine. Another Tyrone defeat certainly wouldn't surprise me.
Maybe the inclusion of Gooch and Galvin will help to really focus and raise the games of a couple of other players in that Kerry forward line even if they don't play. They'd also be a big influence in the dressing room and on the training pitch this week. I'd love to have that kind of experience on the Tyrone bench tomorrow! (Gormley, Big joe, Dermy Carlin)

Kerry by a couple I think but I hope not!
Post by: twohands!!! on April 04, 2015, 01:36:19 PM
Kerry's form in the league has been inconsistent, whereas Tyrone's just seems to have been pretty much uniformly poor to average, so for that reason I'd be favouring Kerry.

With Tyrone struggling to get scores, it's just very hard to see them winning.

Wonder what sort of impact the whole Harte not being present will have on matters.

Fingers crossed for a hum-dinger.
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2015, 02:58:12 PM
On the face of it this match looks like being absolute trench warfare. Kerry more akin to Tyrone's great teams than their own nowadays.
Post by: tiempo on April 05, 2015, 09:12:01 AM
Any TV coverage confirmed?
Post by: dlgael on April 05, 2015, 09:20:02 AM
Tyrone v Kerry is live on TG4. Coverage starts at 2:30. Delayed coverage of Mayo v Donegal.
Post by: Bo Man on April 05, 2015, 10:08:05 AM
Quote from: dlgael on April 05, 2015, 09:20:02 AM
Tyrone v Kerry is live on TG4. Coverage starts at 2:30. Delayed coverage of Mayo v Donegal.

hows about going to the match? hoping its going to be a clinker
Post by: An Watcher on April 05, 2015, 10:40:56 AM
Hate to admit it but think Tyrone are in for another stuffing today
Post by: dlgael on April 05, 2015, 10:54:44 AM
Would love to be going to this game myself but can't unfortunately with the day that's in it.  I think Tyrone could win it. I expect a very different Tyrone performance from last week much more like what they intend to serve up in May. I expect ourselves to get a hiding in Castlebar but have done enough to stay up barring a freakish set of results.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 05, 2015, 11:49:10 AM
Very rare event for a team to be relegated on 6 points but could happen today. History says Tyrone will stay on 4.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 02:56:24 PM
Johnny Curran in for Morgan in goals and Peter Hughes in for Conor McAliskey

Dermot Carlin and Joe McMahon on the Tyrone bench
Post by: CD on April 05, 2015, 03:03:05 PM
Are picture issues just mine??
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:04:52 PM
Clear picture here

Awful free given away by Brian Sheehan

0-1 apiece
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:06:33 PM
Tyrone free to go a point up
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:07:15 PM
McCurry with a peach from 45 out to put Tyrone 03 to 0-1 up.
Post by: CD on April 05, 2015, 03:09:14 PM
Quote from: CD on April 05, 2015, 03:03:05 PM
Are picture issues just mine??
Had a usb plugged in and it upset things! Great McCurry point- a corner back and midfielder inside the 21 when he hit it! Attacking intent?
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:09:37 PM
Buckley with a yellow - a tad harsh maybe
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:10:59 PM
David Moran with a fine point from distance

Tyrone 0-3 Kerry 0-2
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:12:04 PM
High ball into Donaghy not really working
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:13:18 PM
Peter harte with a curler  to put Tyrone's lead back to 2
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:16:39 PM
Ref seeming to give the benefit to to defenders over the man in possession in all cases.

3 wides to Kerry 0 for Tyrone
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:18:08 PM
Sheehan from play to narrow the gap to one

Paul Geaney on for Barry John Keane.

Looks to be tactical as opposed to injury.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:24:59 PM
Still Tyrone 0-5 Kerry 0-3 - lots of very scrappy poor play the last while.

Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:28:08 PM
Oof Cavanagh hits Murphy with an elbow/shoulder and sent him literally flying

Free from 45 for Sheehan right over the black spot

Tyrone 0-5 Kerry 0-4

Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:31:43 PM
Cavanagh with a yellow - I think part of that was related to the fact that the foul was in the same place as the foul on Murphy

Sheehan puts in wide - if he's not kicking those you really have to question his place on the team imo

Murphy kicks a tasty point from a good distance out to level it.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:32:34 PM
Donelly to put Tyrone a point ahead again.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:34:40 PM
Buckley from a good distance out to narrow it to a point again.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:36:16 PM
Ref's interpretation of the tackle has been all over the place - Tyrone lose out on this occasion.

Sheehan levels it up at 0-7 apiece.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:38:28 PM
Tyrone with a free to go 1 up with HT closing in.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:39:44 PM
Sheehan with another daft foul to give Tyrone a free when they were going backwards

Cavanagh drops it short

Tyrone 0-8 Kerry 0-7 HT
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 05, 2015, 03:42:27 PM
Mcquillian very inconsistent here.
missed one of the most obvious black card offenses you're ever likely to see.kerry taking out the supporting player.
Post by: joemamas on April 05, 2015, 03:43:31 PM
is it me, or are Kerry an incredibly cynical team.??
Blocking the runner on a regular basis, then the flop when tackled.
Purists my hole.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:48:44 PM
McQuillian interpretation's of what's a legitimate tackle looks to be complete guess-work - swings

If it stays like this (Tyrone up by a point) Kerry stay up by a single point - balanced on a knife-edge at the moment
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:04:38 PM
O'Brien with a black card.

Ref surprisingly gets it spot on.

McCurry point to make it 09 -08

Tommy Walsh on to replace O'Brien
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:05:54 PM
Paul Geaney point and a Paul Murphy point in quick succession puts Kerry a point up.

43 minutes
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:06:40 PM
Ooh Geaney rushes a chance there and puts a very kickable one wide.

Bad miss after a good fetch.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:08:20 PM
Geaney goal after a Donaghy fetch laid over to Darran O'Sullivan

Kerry putting Tyrone under pressure with a few power play minutes

Kerry 1-10 Tyrone 0-9
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:09:10 PM
McCurry point to stop the bleeding

Sean Kavanagh blasts wide with a one-on-one with a keeper

Huge miss.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:10:09 PM
Game kicked up by about 3 gears now

Geaney with a point after another fetch  by Donaghy

Schmozzle Alert
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:11:14 PM
Geaney ended up on the ground; Ref consulting with linesman and umpires
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:12:17 PM
Yellows for McNamee, Sheehan and another Tyrone player
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:13:06 PM
Donnelly with the 3rd yellow
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:13:37 PM
Yellow for Lyne
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:14:08 PM
McCurry free  to make it

Kerry 1-11 Tyrone 0-11
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:15:44 PM
Darran O'Sullivan point to make it

Kerry 1-12 Tyrone 0-11

Tommy Walsh kicks a pootish wide and O'se on for Crowley

Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:18:10 PM
Wide by McCurry

Beginning to feel like the clock is against Tyrone. Really looks like they will need at least one goal here

Tyrone look to have thrown in the blanket in terms of defending in depth with numbers
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:19:58 PM
Curran saves a goal from Paul Murphy - he can kick poin

Joe McMahon got the ball in the Kerry square after great play by Harte but blazes over with the goal chance on.

Tyrone 0-12 Kerry 1-12
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:21:08 PM
Ronan O'neill on for Justin McMahon
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:22:34 PM
McCurry free narrows it to 2

Kerry mess up a kickout badly but recover.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:24:14 PM
Another free

Tyrone 0-14 Kerry 1-12

Tyrone have rallied

Colm Cooper back in action - 8 minutes left
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:27:03 PM
Cavanagh free to level it  - 6 minutes left

Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:29:20 PM
Maher point

Tyrone 0-15 Kerry 1-13
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:30:17 PM
Another Tyrone free to level it  67 minutes gone
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:31:31 PM
Donaghy point Kerry a point up 69th minute
Post by: heganboy on April 05, 2015, 04:32:41 PM
Anyone else think the ref has been absolutely brutal today?
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:33:27 PM
Tyrone shot at goal - save by KEaly  into injury time
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:34:00 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 05, 2015, 04:32:41 PM

Terrible performance - some very very questionable decisions against Kerry
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:34:38 PM
McCurry to level it

Almost 2 minutes of injury time played
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:35:05 PM
Honours even FT
Post by: Agent Orange on April 05, 2015, 04:40:25 PM
The shine is well worn off that McKenna Cup now  :D
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:43:32 PM
Tyrone were far far better in my opinion when they abandoned the blanket, especially in terms of creating goal chances.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 05, 2015, 04:46:13 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 05, 2015, 04:32:41 PM
Terrible.
So inconsistent. Surely Morans late body check on colm cavanagh was a black card as well?not to mention the constant blocking of the runner he let them away with.
Aside from that he give a few dubious calls in both directions.
Post by: heganboy on April 05, 2015, 04:51:33 PM
That was not an enjoyable watch by any means. Kerry's handling of the ball was poor by any standard. Kerry's taking down of the runner went unpunished the whole game. The flopping by both teams was horrible. The number of times fouls and cards were given on a no foul flop made for a very frustrating neutral observer. (Inasmuch as an Armagh man watching Tyrone can be neutral) you couldn't even say the ref was biased one way or another, just that he was very poor.
Also a question when did the number of steps rise to 15, and when did it become legal to lift the ball straight off the ground?
Brutal watching

Hopefully donegal and Mayo can save the day

Tyrone had the winning of that game and will not be happy with that result at all
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 04:58:07 PM
It was a ding dong, end to end game in the last 20 minutes, dare I say, even exciting. Not much in it at the end, maybe Tyrone paying a price for the ineffectual (all at sea) defending against Donaghy's aerial ability.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 05, 2015, 04:58:28 PM
Kerry held the ball very well last 10 mins and the points from Maher/ Donaghy crucial. Tyrone go down drawing 3 games and beating Mayo.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 05, 2015, 05:01:51 PM
Division 2 for Tyrone.  But thats ok because they played decent for last 20 mins today.  ;D
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 05:04:04 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 05, 2015, 05:01:51 PM
Division 2 for Tyrone.  But thats ok because they played decent for last 20 mins today.  ;D

Divison 2 next year - Tyrone, Derry, Fermanagh, Armagh, Cavan, Galway, Meath and Laois
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 05, 2015, 05:05:34 PM
hopefully they play like they did in last 20 mins. Division 3 just around the corner
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 05:12:31 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 05, 2015, 05:05:34 PM
hopefully they play like they did in last 20 mins. Division 3 just around the corner

Can see Division 2 being very similar to this year with lots of tight games in there.
Post by: theticklemister on April 05, 2015, 05:24:49 PM
Hard lines Tyronies.
Post by: God14 on April 05, 2015, 06:40:28 PM
Can anyone tell me what's the story with Mickey O'Neill? Is he injured or what? I was suprised to see Jonny Curran back in nets today. However he had a good game.

Tyrone have the bare bones of a very good side, but definitely a few players short. Very little to come from the bench. We will need to keep all out best players fit.
Good spirited performance today, but the manner of the defeats to Monaghan and Donegal still haunts us. Still lack a killer instinct, and the dropped points v Dublin and Cork is what has relegated us.
Post by: tyroneman on April 05, 2015, 06:48:33 PM
Mystified as to why mcCurry pointed with us needing a goal. Crazy decision making.

Could at least have lobbed it into the square.
Post by: Conallach on April 05, 2015, 06:53:13 PM
Surprised by a couple of the comments above, I thought this was a really entertaining game. Some excellent scores kicked, plenty of excitement and tough play. Really enjoyed it.

Relegation's no disaster, Tyrone showed real signs of life today and this match will bring them on a lot, and was great preparation for the summer.

Lyne looks good for Kerry in the half-backs.
Post by: redzone on April 05, 2015, 07:19:32 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 05, 2015, 05:05:34 PM
Bit lost by that comment. Want to explain
Post by: omagh_gael on April 05, 2015, 08:06:04 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 05, 2015, 06:48:33 PM
Mystified as to why mcCurry pointed with us needing a goal. Crazy decision making.

We were a point down at that stage, so needed to score 4 to stay up. I am thinking McCurry took the easy point thinking about one last chance for goal afterwards.

Two evenly matched teams today, Kerry were ruthless when presented with a goal chance, we were toothless in front of goal. You'd have hoped for better with the two most experienced men on the park at the end of the move. Ah well, focus on Ballybofey now.

Well done Kerry.
Post by: An Watcher on April 05, 2015, 08:12:56 PM
Just seen the goal which was a bit fortuitous after such a fantastic block. Ah well div two it is
Post by: tyroneman on April 05, 2015, 08:13:49 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 05, 2015, 08:06:04 PM

We were a point down at that stage, so needed to score 4 to stay up. I am thinking McCurry took the easy point thinking about one last chance for goal afterwards.

Two evenly matched teams today, Kerry were ruthless when presented with a goal chance, we were toothless in front of goal. You'd have hoped for better with the two most experienced men on the park at the end of the move. Ah well, focus on Ballybofey now.

Well done Kerry.

We were a point down and needed 3 to stay up........goal would have done it
Post by: Rodman on April 05, 2015, 08:47:55 PM
Quote from: God14 on April 05, 2015, 06:40:28 PM
Can anyone tell me what's the story with Mickey O'Neill? Is he injured or what? I was suprised to see Jonny Curran back in nets today. However he had a good game.

Tyrone have the bare bones of a very good side, but definitely a few players short. Very little to come from the bench. We will need to keep all out best players fit.
Good spirited performance today, but the manner of the defeats to Monaghan and Donegal still haunts us. Still lack a killer instinct, and the dropped points v Dublin and Cork is what has relegated us.

His kick outs were brutal. Continually put the full back line under pressure by chipping the ball to the corner back position. Absolute madness.
Post by: redzone on April 05, 2015, 09:11:07 PM
I take it micky has left the panel. if he has then so be it, pj did well enough though, hes game. yes curran looked rusty but that's to be expected, tara what a diff a week makes. another game we should have won if the shooting boots were on. colly immense as was mcarron, justy, mcnamme, petey, mcnabb, matty, mccurry and sean. thought we should have pushed up on there kickouts but I suppose when u have maher and moran in midfield then ure caught between a rock and a hard place. Tony Donnelly back on the line mighten be a bad thing.
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 09:59:54 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 05, 2015, 08:13:49 PM

Well done Kerry.

I think there was only one tyrone player in there to aim at.  But judging  by the way McCurry looked at the ref after he kicked the point, he probably  thought there was another play left in the game.
The chance that went a begging was the one for McMahon a bit earlier, that was the one, but I would be a bit shy to call him toothless.
Post by: Up The Middle on April 05, 2015, 10:05:31 PM
Quote from: redzone on April 05, 2015, 09:11:07 PM
I take it micky has left the panel. if he has then so be it, pj did well enough though, hes game. yes curran looked rusty but that's to be expected, tara what a diff a week makes. another game we should have won if the shooting boots were on. colly immense as was mcarron, justy, mcnamme, petey, mcnabb, matty, mccurry and sean. thought we should have pushed up on there kickouts but I suppose when u have maher and moran in midfield then ure caught between a rock and a hard place. Tony Donnelly back on the line mighten be a bad thing.

As far as I'm aware micky is on holidays and has not left the panel.
Post by: redzone on April 05, 2015, 10:24:21 PM
picked a bad time to go on holidays. with morgan out injured he would have got his chance. maybe he still will. its not  something ud hear to often a player heading of on holidays 6 weeks before the championship.
Post by: Gaffer on April 05, 2015, 10:55:51 PM
He s in Las Vegas. That's why young Fox was brought on last week.

He was not available today due to the U21 final on Wednesday night.

Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on April 05, 2015, 11:48:15 PM
Quote from: redzone on April 05, 2015, 10:24:21 PM
picked a bad time to go on holidays. with morgan out injured he would have got his chance. maybe he still will. its not  something ud hear to often a player heading of on holidays 6 weeks before the championship.

Get his chance, sitting on the bench for a year and a half waiting, meanwhile Morgan has been poor imo for a while. Free kicks r what have been keeping him there and that has cost us our place in this division, Hartes reluctance to acknowledge Morgans free kicking is not reliable enough for this level has had its consequence. O Neiil is as good a shot stopper as you will get, superb under a high ball and his kickouts are more accurate. Morgan was not missed today, infact his absence  it helped Tyrone.
Post by: redcard on April 06, 2015, 12:13:31 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 09:59:54 PM

Well done Kerry.

I think there was only one tyrone player in there to aim at.  But judging  by the way McCurry looked at the ref after he kicked the point, he probably  thought there was another play left in the game.
The chance that went a begging was the one for McMahon a bit earlier, that was the one, but I would be a bit shy to call him toothless.

The keeper made a good save from Mcmahon so I wouldn't be too sore on him. In fact it was very like a foot block
Post by: BennyHarp on April 06, 2015, 12:51:35 AM
Fair play to Kerry, I got the impression they were playing in third gear today while Tyrone actually played reasonably well in patches. With all the recent talk of blanket defences, anyone studying how to break down a defensive system should have a look at how Kerry are going about it. Firstly, they have players hugging the sidelines and get the ball to them as quickly as possible, forcing defenders to push out of position. Secondly, they move the ball quickly from wide, back inside to on running players in the middle to utilise the space vacated by defenders and kick points from 35-40 yards out. Kerry have the players to do this with Maher, Moran, Sheenan and seemingly Murphy able to kick from distance. Thirdly, if the ball back inside isn't on, they play a long diagonal ball into Donaghy, Geaney (and possibly in the near future Walsh) again keeping the ball wide drags the defenders out of position so less are around for the breaking ball. It's simple but effective and shows that scores can be created against a defensive system. Come the summer, I expect this to be perfected. Throw in the returning genius of Gooch and a very intelligent manager who can get the team playing a few different styles and I can't see past them regaining Sam.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 06, 2015, 02:56:08 AM
Bennyharp, mostly a great post, but for the rest - take a hike for yourself sir! Kerry knew exactly what blatant fouling they could get away with, and routinely blocking the Tyrone runner off the ball went equally unpunished.

3rd gear - get a grip, clutching for dear Division 1 life at the end does most definitely not betoken such! :)

Hello Division 2 :)
Post by: Ball Hopper on April 06, 2015, 03:57:04 AM

Well done Kerry.

As it was a draw between Donegal and Mayo, a one-point Tyrone win would have relegated Kerry on the head-to-head rule.  Would the benches/management be aware of what was happening in Castlebar? 
Post by: BennyHarp on April 06, 2015, 07:32:35 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 06, 2015, 02:56:08 AM
Bennyharp, mostly a great post, but for the rest - take a hike for yourself sir! Kerry knew exactly what blatant fouling they could get away with, and routinely blocking the Tyrone runner off the ball went equally unpunished.

3rd gear - get a grip, clutching for dear Division 1 life at the end does most definitely not betoken such! :)

It was getting on a bit last night and a few beers had been consumed so maybe I didn't phrase that correctly, so let me clarify what I meant by Kerry playing in 3rd gear. I just felt that due to the ridiculously lop sided AI championship we have, Tyrone and Kerry are at very different stages of their preparation. Kerry know that regardless of what happens when they eventually play Cork in Munster that they will be in Croke Park on AI quarter final day and are training to peak then, 4 months down the line. Tyrone need to peak in a few weeks time for an away trip to Ballybofey followed by (hopefully) a clash with Armagh etc. As a result I felt that Kerry looked a bit leggy and Tyrone seemed a bit sharper and fitter, especially in the last 15 mins. My comment about 3rd gear related to the relative ease at which they generated scores and kept the ball while Tyrone seemed to work much harder for scores. If Kerry were flat out for this would they have started without O'Sullivan or Geaney? Would they have waited so long to bring on Gooch? Don't fool yourself, this wasn't a Kerry team anywhere near full tilt yesterday, they never are in April. Put it this way, I would be worried if the two sides met in August.

With regards to Kerry's fouling - of course they knew what they were doing, they've been doing that for years. But I was only focusing my post on one element of the game that I thought had been the biggest talking point this past week, as many people felt this ultra defensive system was ruining the game and no attacking tactics could overcome it. Kerry showed (like they did late on, in the AI final against Donegal) how redundant the tactic can be when you fall behind on the scoreboard, by playing the ball around the 45m line, spreading it wide, keeping possession as the blanket looks on waiting for you to attack them. They kept the ball for nearly 3 mins yesterday from the 65th minute as Tyrone were chasing the game. This eventually led to a well worked point as they spread the defence from one side of the pitch to another until an opening was found. I for one enjoyed watching how the tactics unfolded!

As for Tyrone, I think in patches we showed what we are capable of when let of the leash and when 4 down, like the Derry game, we were able to score relatively quickly but once we did we retreated to form. I must say, Tyrones tackling is actually very good and is often over looked. Yesterday we only gave away 10 frees to Kerry's 34. Against Dublin it was something like 5 or 6. If only we could cope with the high ball and work a bit of pace into our attacks!  :)

Also, for 3 mins towards the end of the first half we pumped a few long balls in on top of Sean Cavanagh and he was winning them all and a few scoring chances resulted. We barely kicked one in during the second half - strange!
Post by: CD on April 06, 2015, 08:07:40 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 06, 2015, 07:32:35 AM

It was getting on a bit last night and a few beers had been consumed so maybe I didn't phrase that correctly, so let me clarify what I meant by Kerry playing in 3rd gear. I just felt that due to the ridiculously lop sided AI championship we have, Tyrone and Kerry are at very different stages of their preparation. Kerry know that regardless of what happens when they eventually play Cork in Munster that they will be in Croke Park on AI quarter final day and are training to peak then, 4 months down the line. Tyrone need to peak in a few weeks time for an away trip to Ballybofey followed by (hopefully) a clash with Armagh etc. As a result I felt that Kerry looked a bit leggy and Tyrone seemed a bit sharper and fitter, especially in the last 15 mins. My comment about 3rd gear related to the relative ease at which they generated scores and kept the ball while Tyrone had to work much harder for scores.

With regards to Kerry's fouling - of course they knew what they were doing, they've been doing that for years. But I was only focusing my post on one element of the game that I thought had been the biggest talking point this past week, as many people felt this ultra defensive system was ruining the game and no attacking tactics could overcome it. Kerry showed (like they did in the AI final against Donegal) how redundant the tactic can be when you fall behind, by playing the ball around the 45m line, spreading it wide, keeping possession as the blanket looks on waiting for you to attack them. They kept the ball for nearly 3 mins yesterday from the 65th minute as Tyrone were chasing the game. This eventually led to a well worked point as they spread the defence from one side of the pitch to another until an opening was found. I for one enjoyed watching how the tactics unfolded!

As for Tyrone, I think in patches we showed what we are capable of when let of the leash and when 4 down, like the Derry game, we were able to score relatively quickly but once we did we retreated to form. I must say, Tyrones tackling is actually very good and is often over looked. Yesterday we only gave away 10 frees to Kerry's 34. Against Dublin it was something like 5 or 6. If only we could cope with the high ball and work a bit of pace into our attacks!  :)

Also, for 3 mins towards the end of the first half we pumped a few long balls in on top of Sean Cavanagh and he was winning them all and a few scoring chances resulted. We barely kicked one in during the second half - strange!
Agree with your comment re. How to overcome the blanket. When Kerry had possession the wing backs and forwards hugged the touch line dragging the Tyrone blanket so wide that there were inevitable holes and Sheehan, Maher and Buckley all scored long range points from space as a result.
In terms of third gear - the talent on their bench probably meant that was as high as they could go! Tyrone played well in patches. McCurry is still too far away from goals on too many occasions in my opinion. Tyrone had success when they mixed their game a little but didn't do it often enough.
A team never gets relegated on the back of one game so no complaints - a poor league campaign literally from the first game and we deserved to go down. Last eight in AI series will be a triumph.
Post by: ONeill on April 06, 2015, 10:38:21 AM
Beat Mayo, drew with Dubs and Kerry and should have beaten Cork....weird relegation.
Post by: SuperHo on April 06, 2015, 11:22:59 AM
Took a look at div 2 for next season.  We'll be there for a while.
Post by: Mikhailov on April 06, 2015, 11:43:40 AM

It was getting on a bit last night and a few beers had been consumed so maybe I didn't phrase that correctly, so let me clarify what I meant by Kerry playing in 3rd gear. I just felt that due to the ridiculously lop sided AI championship we have, Tyrone and Kerry are at very different stages of their preparation. Kerry know that regardless of what happens when they eventually play Cork in Munster that they will be in Croke Park on AI quarter final day and are training to peak then, 4 months down the line. Tyrone need to peak in a few weeks time for an away trip to Ballybofey followed by (hopefully) a clash with Armagh etc. As a result I felt that Kerry looked a bit leggy and Tyrone seemed a bit sharper and fitter, especially in the last 15 mins. My comment about 3rd gear related to the relative ease at which they generated scores and kept the ball while Tyrone seemed to work much harder for scores. If Kerry were flat out for this would they have started without O'Sullivan or Geaney? Would they have waited so long to bring on Gooch? Don't fool yourself, this wasn't a Kerry team anywhere near full tilt yesterday, they never are in April. Put it this way, I would be worried if the two sides met in August.

With regards to Kerry's fouling - of course they knew what they were doing, they've been doing that for years. But I was only focusing my post on one element of the game that I thought had been the biggest talking point this past week, as many people felt this ultra defensive system was ruining the game and no attacking tactics could overcome it. Kerry showed (like they did late on, in the AI final against Donegal) how redundant the tactic can be when you fall behind on the scoreboard, by playing the ball around the 45m line, spreading it wide, keeping possession as the blanket looks on waiting for you to attack them. They kept the ball for nearly 3 mins yesterday from the 65th minute as Tyrone were chasing the game. This eventually led to a well worked point as they spread the defence from one side of the pitch to another until an opening was found. I for one enjoyed watching how the tactics unfolded!

Have to agree with a lot of what Benny is saying here - Kerry looked in control for a lot of the game and every player knew what they were at regarding specific game plans and their individual role within the plan. As Benny says they held on to the ball at ease in last 10 minutes toying with Tyrone and then when they realise it was 1v1 or 2v2 inside they would hit great diagonal ball to the inside 2 of Donaghy or Geaney and get a shot away. I felt Tyrone were good in patches and seemed much better when the defensive mindset is forgot about and we attacked at will but there is no plan. Looked sharper but that is to be expected - we have to peak in 5 weeks, kerry have to peak in late July or early August at the earliest

Why is McCurry so far away from goals whilst in 1st half he was inside 45 on his own..?

Several times in 2nd half when game had opened up we turned ball over successfully in middle 3rd but instead of early ball inside where there was room we delayed and this allowed Kerry to filter back. Ronie O Neill came on and we never hit him with early ball once. Don't  tell me that there was no room, there was and loads of it if ball was hit early. If there was no room, then why did we not do what we done in last 5 minutes of 1st half and put Cavanagh inside on his own and hit him long and high which was successful also. We don't seem to know what plan to play at different stages of the game - Kerry never deviated from their plan. They attack with width (players nearly on sideline), bring it back into middle onto the runners shoulder and shoot from 35-45 yards. They always pass diagonally, never in straight lines therefore always dragging players out of position. They have some fine players and no.2 Paul Murphy had exceptional game, scored 2 points from play, had goal chance saved and was always available. Kerry could have scored 2 more goals - Murphys chance which was great save and Donaghys fisted effort towards the end could have been a goal if required.

However, all is not lost from Tyrone perspective. Yes, we are up against it in few weeks time but surely we cannot beat Donegal at their own game - maybe yesterday has highlighted that we are an attacking team but need to be more defensively smarter when we lose possession. As someone said earlier, Kerry always had 2 extra men back inside their own half but the key element to their game is how they delay their opponents build up be it by fouling, pulling, dragging, blocking or whatever is needed. Our lads are novices at this defensive mind set and you cant expect to compete with the Donegal of this world after 3 months working at it when they have mastered it over 5 seasons.

I hope I am wrong but sincerely doubt it. Wednesday night will be taster for what to expect in few weeks time but I think our U-21's are tuned in better to the defensive and attacking set up and have played it well to date so expect a victory but it will be close.
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 12:06:03 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on April 06, 2015, 11:43:40 AM

Have to agree with a lot of what Benny is saying here - Kerry looked in control for a lot of the game and every player knew what they were at regarding specific game plans and their individual role within the plan. As Benny says they held on to the ball at ease in last 10 minutes toying with Tyrone and then when they realise it was 1v1 or 2v2 inside they would hit great diagonal ball to the inside 2 of Donaghy or Geaney and get a shot away. I felt Tyrone were good in patches and seemed much better when the defensive mindset is forgot about and we attacked at will but there is no plan. Looked sharper but that is to be expected - we have to peak in 5 weeks, kerry have to peak in late July or early August at the earliest

Why is McCurry so far away from goals whilst in 1st half he was inside 45 on his own..?

Several times in 2nd half when game had opened up we turned ball over successfully in middle 3rd but instead of early ball inside where there was room we delayed and this allowed Kerry to filter back. Ronie O Neill came on and we never hit him with early ball once. Don't  tell me that there was no room, there was and loads of it if ball was hit early. If there was no room, then why did we not do what we done in last 5 minutes of 1st half and put Cavanagh inside on his own and hit him long and high which was successful also. We don't seem to know what plan to play at different stages of the game - Kerry never deviated from their plan. They attack with width (players nearly on sideline), bring it back into middle onto the runners shoulder and shoot from 35-45 yards. They always pass diagonally, never in straight lines therefore always dragging players out of position. They have some fine players and no.2 Paul Murphy had exceptional game, scored 2 points from play, had goal chance saved and was always available. Kerry could have scored 2 more goals - Murphys chance which was great save and Donaghys fisted effort towards the end could have been a goal if required.

However, all is not lost from Tyrone perspective. Yes, we are up against it in few weeks time but surely we cannot beat Donegal at their own game - maybe yesterday has highlighted that we are an attacking team but need to be more defensively smarter when we lose possession. As someone said earlier, Kerry always had 2 extra men back inside their own half but the key element to their game is how they delay their opponents build up be it by fouling, pulling, dragging, blocking or whatever is needed. Our lads are novices at this defensive mind set and you cant expect to compete with the Donegal of this world after 3 months working at it when they have mastered it over 5 seasons.

I hope I am wrong but sincerely doubt it. Wednesday night will be taster for what to expect in few weeks time but I think our U-21's are tuned in better to the defensive and attacking set up and have played it well to date so expect a victory but it will be close.
I thought that was Tyrone's game,.......they just stole that game away from Tyrone.
But I could be mistaken.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 06, 2015, 12:52:52 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on April 06, 2015, 03:57:04 AM

Well done Kerry.

As it was a draw between Donegal and Mayo, a one-point Tyrone win would have relegated Kerry on the head-to-head rule.  Would the benches/management be aware of what was happening in Castlebar?

Are you sure?

Kerry ended up -11 scoring diff and Tyrone -14. Tyrone need to win by 2 to take this to -13 Kerry and -12 Tyrone.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 06, 2015, 03:01:55 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 06, 2015, 12:52:52 PM

Well done Kerry.

Are you sure?

Kerry ended up -11 scoring diff and Tyrone -14. Tyrone need to win by 2 to take this to -13 Kerry and -12 Tyrone.

Because of the draw in the Donegal Mayo game, Kerry and Tyrone would be the only 2 teams on 6 points if Tyrone won by a point. When 2 teams are level on points, the head-to-head is used first which would meant Tyrone would have stayed up; it's only when there is 3 teams or more than scoring difference is used.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 06, 2015, 03:16:10 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 06, 2015, 03:01:55 PM

Well done Kerry.

Are you sure?

Because of the draw in the Donegal Mayo game, Kerry and Tyrone would be the only 2 teams on 6 points if Tyrone won by a point. When 2 teams are level on points, the head-to-head is used first which would meant Tyrone would have stayed up; it's only when there is 3 teams or more than scoring difference is used.

You're right. Apologies.

I had blanked out the potential of Donegal and Mayo drawing as I thought it unlikely. As yo say it would be interesting to know what the bench knew.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 06, 2015, 03:23:10 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 06, 2015, 03:16:10 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 06, 2015, 03:01:55 PM

Well done Kerry.

Are you sure?

You're right. Apologies.

I had blanked out the potential of Donegal and Mayo drawing as I thought it unlikely. As yo say it would be interesting to know what the bench knew.

Yeah I wonder if those involved did the same (discount the possibility of a draw)   For both sides I think it was all about avoiding relegation and letting the results elsewhere fall where they would. I don't think it would have affected Tyrone too much but can't help but think that Kerry might have pushed on a bit more if they knew that Donegal and Mayo were drawing and that a single point would get them a semi-final spot - they played a world of keep ball in the last 10 minutes.
Post by: rrhf on April 06, 2015, 05:55:22 PM
Fair play to kerry they gave us a quare game. Some great supporters with them as well. Great to see Cooper back and mcmahon.  Well pleased with Tyrone hard luck to the team and management and the performance  gives us a bit of hope for the ulster championship.
Post by: trileacman on April 06, 2015, 05:59:52 PM
Quote from: CD on April 06, 2015, 08:07:40 AM

It was getting on a bit last night and a few beers had been consumed so maybe I didn't phrase that correctly, so let me clarify what I meant by Kerry playing in 3rd gear. I just felt that due to the ridiculously lop sided AI championship we have, Tyrone and Kerry are at very different stages of their preparation. Kerry know that regardless of what happens when they eventually play Cork in Munster that they will be in Croke Park on AI quarter final day and are training to peak then, 4 months down the line. Tyrone need to peak in a few weeks time for an away trip to Ballybofey followed by (hopefully) a clash with Armagh etc. As a result I felt that Kerry looked a bit leggy and Tyrone seemed a bit sharper and fitter, especially in the last 15 mins. My comment about 3rd gear related to the relative ease at which they generated scores and kept the ball while Tyrone had to work much harder for scores.

With regards to Kerry's fouling - of course they knew what they were doing, they've been doing that for years. But I was only focusing my post on one element of the game that I thought had been the biggest talking point this past week, as many people felt this ultra defensive system was ruining the game and no attacking tactics could overcome it. Kerry showed (like they did in the AI final against Donegal) how redundant the tactic can be when you fall behind, by playing the ball around the 45m line, spreading it wide, keeping possession as the blanket looks on waiting for you to attack them. They kept the ball for nearly 3 mins yesterday from the 65th minute as Tyrone were chasing the game. This eventually led to a well worked point as they spread the defence from one side of the pitch to another until an opening was found. I for one enjoyed watching how the tactics unfolded!

Agree with your comment re. How to overcome the blanket. When Kerry had possession the wing backs and forwards hugged the touch line dragging the Tyrone blanket so wide that there were inevitable holes and Sheehan, Maher and Buckley all scored long range points from space as a result.
In terms of third gear - the talent on their bench probably meant that was as high as they could go! Tyrone played well in patches. McCurry is still too far away from goals on too many occasions in my opinion. Tyrone had success when they mixed their game a little but didn't do it often enough.
A team never gets relegated on the back of one game so no complaints - a poor league campaign literally from the first game and we deserved to go down. Last eight in AI series will be a triumph.

Dead right.
Post by: Throw ball on April 08, 2015, 12:44:00 AM
Have Tyrone any players left. Hear a few more walked!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2015, 09:28:00 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 08, 2015, 12:44:00 AM
Have Tyrone any players left. Hear a few more walked!
4 reported to have left on monday.
Emmett McKenna, Dwayne Quinn, Shay McGuigan & Paddy McNiece
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 08, 2015, 10:58:31 PM
That's shocking. The true measure of a man is to come back after setbacks. You have to keep going.

Post by: longballin on April 08, 2015, 11:07:09 PM
They didn't quit because of a draw with Kerry... they are winners and don't like being stuck on a bench. Back to their clubs!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 09, 2015, 02:30:01 AM
Quote from: longballin on April 08, 2015, 11:07:09 PM
They didn't quit because of a draw with Kerry... they are winners and don't like being stuck on a bench. Back to their clubs!

Whatever happened to serving your time ?
Post by: BennyHarp on April 09, 2015, 09:56:15 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 09, 2015, 02:30:01 AM

Putting aside your obsession with all things Tyrone for one minute, Mike. Have you anything to add with regards the actual game? Or did you even watch it?
Post by: longballin on April 09, 2015, 10:34:06 AM
Mike you haven't a clue about these players circumstances. Shay McGuigan explained his decision in today's papers. He's a brother of Brian and Tommy, the boys who made youse Kerry lads cry  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on April 09, 2015, 12:01:15 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 09, 2015, 02:30:01 AM

It's football, not a prison sentence.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 09, 2015, 10:57:37 PM
Ah lads, give it a rest. Mike Sheehy is a clown..probably not even from Kerry. Don't feed the troll.
Post by: Throw ball on April 10, 2015, 12:36:36 AM
Has yet another player left?
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2015, 09:36:23 AM
Owen Mulligan has had his say on it -

"I remember the time not so long ago it use to be an honour to play for Tyrone. Now it's a chore #changedtimes."
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 10, 2015, 12:19:27 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 09, 2015, 10:57:37 PM
Ah lads, give it a rest. Mike Sheehy is a clown..probably not even from Kerry. Don't feed the troll.

How long have you been on this board ?
Post by: ziggysego on April 10, 2015, 07:09:51 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 10, 2015, 12:19:27 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 09, 2015, 10:57:37 PM

How long have you been on this board ?

May 2008. Quite a while to recognise your skullduggery.
Post by: longballin on April 11, 2015, 12:56:50 AM
aye trolling about everytime Tyrone is mentioned just because they made youse boys cry  :'(