Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on December 26, 2006, 04:52:47 AM

Poll
Question: What is the English Team you follow?
Option 1: Arsenal
Option 2: Aston Villa
Option 3: Chelsea
Option 4: Everton
Option 5: Liverpool
Option 6: Man City
Option 7: Man Utd
Option 8: Newcastle
Option 9: Tottenham
Option 10: West Ham
Option 11: Leeds Utd
Option 12: Sunderland
Option 13: Wolves
Option 14: Sheffield Wed
Option 15: Leicester
Option 16: Notts Forest
Option 17: Other than above
Option 18: Scunthorpe Utd
Option 19: Do not follow or Care!
Title: English team you Follow?
Post by: From the Bunker on December 26, 2006, 04:52:47 AM
Apologies to clubs left out......I am not a Man u fan but expect them to get as many votes as all the rest of the clubs put together.
Title: Re: English team you Follow?
Post by: Spiritof98 on December 26, 2006, 10:16:20 AM
I am a Man U fan but I think Liverpool might give them a run.
Post by: Fluffy Che on December 26, 2006, 11:54:52 AM
Do not support English clubs..
Post by: Bod Mor on December 26, 2006, 11:27:06 PM
There's an awful smell of the Sassanch in here. I have an awful hangover today and threads like this are not helpin' at all. I better go now before I say something awful bad....
Post by: From the Bunker on December 27, 2006, 08:01:09 PM
Apologies Bod Mor, i can undrstand you annoyance, was just curious to see how things would pan out!
Post by: charlie linkbox on December 28, 2006, 10:57:40 AM
I started off supporting Liverpool as I can only remember as far back as the '80s  but changed to Man Utd around '92/'93. I stayed loyal to them but changed my mind agaim in '98 and went with Arsenal coz of Viera, Overmars, Anelka and Henry - sheer class. Arsenal didn't follow on though so I went back to United (a safe bet). Since Abramovich has taken over Chelsea I have switched to them. However this year's title race is too close to call at the minute so I'll hold out until about April to see who I cheer for this season.
Post by: magickingdom on December 28, 2006, 11:19:56 AM
just like you charlie i was born in the winners enclosure, not quite sure yet (despite a soft spot for liverpool) but i think i'm with united this year....
Post by: ziggysego on December 28, 2006, 01:23:58 PM
What about, I don't follow soccer?
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on December 28, 2006, 03:22:00 PM
long suffering villian, since about 1992, when Big paul mcgrath was the star!
Post by: laoislad on December 28, 2006, 06:07:17 PM
LIVERPOOL FOOTBALL CLUB
SINCE 1984!!!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 28, 2006, 08:07:10 PM
Manchester United since 1995.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 28, 2006, 11:45:55 PM
was following liverpool since 1975 but become disillusioned with them and thair anti Irish policy under souness
since then their anti football policy (by not playing my footballing hero Litmaenen and playing useless twats like cisse, sisoko, crouch, mcallister etc etc) has kept me away from really getting back to support them again

Luton town would be the team our family would mostly support
Post by: laoislad on December 29, 2006, 01:47:57 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 28, 2006, 11:45:55 PM
was following liverpool since 1975 but become disillusioned with them and thair anti Irish policy under souness
since then their anti football policy (by not playing my footballing hero Litmaenen and playing useless twats like cisse, sisoko, crouch, mcallister etc etc) has kept me away from really getting back to support them again

Luton town would be the team our family would mostly support

Mcallister? Sissoko? Idon't think so mcallister was the biggest part of the team that won 3 cups in 2000/01 and Sissoko is a class act in the making and Crouchy does his best god love him
As for Cisse i agree and yeah they should have played Litmaenen more too
Post by: From the Bunker on January 02, 2007, 04:32:12 PM
Surprised that there's no-one out there with B/burn allegances from the mid-90's?
Post by: Flameboy on January 02, 2007, 04:33:49 PM
i'd be interested in a thread to see if there are many Serie A fans still out there....

im one anyhow.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on January 02, 2007, 04:37:11 PM
well flameboy, do a poll then, and we will all participate i am sure. AC fan since the early/mid- 90's
baresi, van basten, gullit etc.. some great players at the time.
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 04:40:06 PM
Have a soft spot for Parma don't ask me why
Post by: Flameboy on January 02, 2007, 04:43:59 PM
they had a class team at parma few seans ago including buffon, cannavaro, thuram, veron, ortega, crespo.....dunno how they never won a scudetto...

Im an Inter Milan fan myself though...
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 04:45:18 PM
I rem Asprilla playing for them before he went to Newcastle he was class scoring some great goals
Post by: AZOffaly on January 02, 2007, 04:47:26 PM
I'm a part time fan of the Old Lady since Ian Rush went there.

Visited the Della Alpi two years ago (2004-2005 season) for the Juventus - Real Madrid Second leg. Shite stadium, great atmosphere, but a lunatic way of positioning the away fans. If you are in the Curva (sud?) you are in with the Juve Ultras, which is grand if you are shouting for Juve, but the Away fans are to your left and above left as well. We were pelted with bottles and flares all night. Mind you chanting 'Madrid, Madrid, El Puta Madrid' hardlly helped :D.

I actually got a clatter of a flare that night, jaysus they are hot. It hit me on the shoulder and burnt my jacket and scarf, before melting the seat I was standing behind when it landed.

Post by: From the Bunker on January 03, 2007, 02:15:03 AM
I know not many have voted but Arsenal most have a higher %age!
Post by: lurganblue on January 03, 2007, 12:32:31 PM
very little originality in people choosing the team they support.
Post by: Flameboy on January 03, 2007, 12:35:18 PM
define originality lurganblue?

supporting an african club team?
Post by: lurganblue on January 03, 2007, 12:52:51 PM
over 50% of people are either liverpool or Man Utd supporters. why?

did they make an original choice when they were growing up or did they support the team their friends supported, or their brother supported or their parents supported?

Post by: behind the wire on January 03, 2007, 12:54:52 PM
leeds united sice birth, always have been always will be, even though they are going through very hard times at present. they will probably be relegated this year, but sure, we still have to keep the faith. i don't believe in changing the team you support, but maybe thats just the gaa upbringing coming out in me!
Post by: Flameboy on January 03, 2007, 02:07:09 PM
well, i suppose first choice is Shelbourne FC, my dad supported Chelsea so i like them too, always had a soft spot for Celtic...

like inter milan too.

im not a monogamist
Post by: ludermor on January 03, 2007, 05:37:47 PM
But you like bhoys!! Didnt think you were like that Flameboy
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 03, 2007, 06:09:41 PM
I cannot believe there aren't more Everton fans out there. I mean they're a big club with a good long record in the top division.
Post by: Flameboy on January 04, 2007, 09:32:17 AM
i DO like the bhoys ur right.......

As Kurt Angle would say "It's True , It's true"
Post by: lurganblue on January 04, 2007, 09:42:22 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 03, 2007, 06:09:41 PM
I cannot believe there aren't more Everton fans out there. I mean they're a big club with a good long record in the top division.

very true, but they dont win enough
Post by: Flameboy on January 04, 2007, 09:52:27 AM
everton are a bag of rancid shite.....consistently hire bad managers and garbage players..........

As Bill Shankly said "There are 2 great teams on Merseyside, Liverpool FC and Liverpool FC Reserves........."
Post by: Hound on January 04, 2007, 10:45:31 AM

Its gas how some myths continue to perpetuate no matter how ridiculous they are.

In Souness's first year in charge he did a big clear-out and sold David Speedie, Peter Beardsley, Steve Staunton, Gary Gillespie, Jimmy Carter, Steve McMahon, Gary Ablett, Glenn Hysen, Ray Houghton and Barry Venison.

Yet because there was two Irishmen in there, and he used to manage Rangers, he's anti-Irish.   ;D

Utter nonsense.

If you want to go into specifics about the Irishmen who left, Souness preferred David Burrows over Stan because he was more a Souness type player, and he got over £1m for Staunton. And Houghton had lost his place on the right to Steve McManamon and so was happy to move on for first team football.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 01:06:55 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 04, 2007, 10:45:31 AM

Its gas how some myths continue to perpetuate no matter how ridiculous they are.

In Souness's first year in charge he did a big clear-out and sold David Speedie, Peter Beardsley, Steve Staunton, Gary Gillespie, Jimmy Carter, Steve McMahon, Gary Ablett, Glenn Hysen, Ray Houghton and Barry Venison.

Yet because there was two Irishmen in there, and he used to manage Rangers, he's anti-Irish.   ;D

Utter nonsense.

If you want to go into specifics about the Irishmen who left, Souness preferred David Burrows over Stan because he was more a Souness type player, and he got over £1m for Staunton. And Houghton had lost his place on the right to Steve McManamon and so was happy to move on for first team football.

so he sold the other Irish and wouldnt play the two remainining ones so he def wasnt an Irish lover

yeah that makes as much sense.

if you are a liverpool fan, you dont remember his selection policies around that time then...

the man made me disillusioned with lfc to the point where I dont really care about them at all

and I started supporting them as a child in 1975 and listened to all their 1996/1997 European cup games live on the radio.
Post by: trueblue on January 04, 2007, 01:34:34 PM
supported man utd as a cub but as i became older i started to support celtic. celtic would be my numb 1 team now tho ive started to take an interest in sunderland since quinn became chairman and keane manager.

i like to see most of the irish lads doing well so when they are im happy enough
Post by: Hound on January 04, 2007, 02:39:00 PM
Please elaborate lynchbhoy.
What other Irish did Graeme Souness not play?

Let me guess - Ronnie Whelan?
Can you remember why Ronnie didnt play all games under Souness?
I'll tell you why - its because he was always injured.

Ronnie was almost always in the team when fit, especially at first. He was in the team for most of Souness's first season. Scored a very important last minute equalizer v Pompey in the FA Cup semi-final, but went off injured in the replay. He recovered in time for the last league game and Souness put him straight into the team to give him every chance of making the cup final - but he only lasted an hour. Souness couldnt risk him for the final. Whelan realised there was no way he could start the final, but he was naturally very disappointed not to be on the bench. But in those days with limited subs, it was too big a risk for Souness and Ronnie Moran (who was making a lot of the decisions then as Souey had just undergone heart surgery) to take.

Season two though and Ronnie Whelan was back starting in central midfield. Souness started him in the first 10 games of the season, before he got injured again - an injury which sadly ruled him out for the rest of the season.

Season three saw an early injury to Jamie Redknapp which brought Ronnie back into the first team early in the season.  For 6 games in a row it was Molby and Whelan back in the middle of the field, both picked ahead of Don Hutchison who'd played most of the previous season alongside Redknapp. When Redknapp came back who was dropped? Whelan? No. It was Molby - I'm sure this was to the outrage of many conspiratorial perseuction complex holding Danes who said Souness was anti-Denmark. 

However after 4 defeats in 5 games, Whelan was eventually dropped for the first time since Souness took over (quarter-way through his third season in charge). Rising star Robbie Fowler was given his first league start and recent signing Nigel Clough was pushed back into midfield. Whelan got no more starts under Souness. When Souness was sacked he got a few games towards the end of the season, but didnt get a look in the following season as Evans went for Redknapp and Barnes in central midfield - perhaps he was anti-Irish also? 

So for his first two seasons Souness started Whelan every time he was 100% fit - only dropping him in year 3 when results were going from bad to worse and his job was on the line. I can see the definite bias alright   ::)

Remind me of the other Irishman he didnt play who so deserved to be in the team?

As you will note, I did indeed follow Liverpool at that time and strongly believe that anyone who accuses Souness of anti-Irish basis is doing so with no basis whatsoever. I don't remember him doing anything regarding Irish players that I did not agree with at the time. Staunton was never impressive for Liverpool. Not a patch on the previous Irish left back Jim Beglin. Not that Burrows was any better but he did get stuck in more - but it was a toss of a coin. Certainly £1.1m for Staunton made sense at the time when it funded the purchase of a badly needed centre back - Mark Wright.

Ray Houghton played under Souness for most of his first season in charge but didnt have a great season and while still a decent player, at 30 had lost a yard of pace and was past his best. Steve McManamon had just emerged in that season, and finished it with a man of the match performance in the FA Cup final. Clearly McManamon was going to be first choice for the right side of midfield for the following season, so I was not overly surprised when Villa's offer was accepted for Houghton.  I don't think that anyone would argue that Houghton should start ahead of McManaman at that stage in their careers. Certainly Houghton could have done a job as a squad member (as could some of the other guys he sold), but I doubt Ray would have been happy with that.

So I repeat that saying Souness had an anti-Irish policy while at Liverpool because two of the 10 sales he made during his first year in charge were Irishmen is pure nonsense.  A myth probably started by some idiot like Cathal Dervan and perpetuated by sheep who dont know the actual facts.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 03:17:15 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 04, 2007, 02:39:00 PM
Please elaborate lynchbhoy.
What other Irish did Graeme Souness not play?

Let me guess - Ronnie Whelan?
Can you remember why Ronnie didnt play all games under Souness?
I'll tell you why - its because he was always injured.

Ronnie was almost always in the team when fit, especially at first. He was in the team for most of Souness's first season. Scored a very important last minute equalizer v Pompey in the FA Cup semi-final, but went off injured in the replay. He recovered in time for the last league game and Souness put him straight into the team to give him every chance of making the cup final - but he only lasted an hour. Souness couldnt risk him for the final. Whelan realised there was no way he could start the final, but he was naturally very disappointed not to be on the bench. But in those days with limited subs, it was too big a risk for Souness and Ronnie Moran (who was making a lot of the decisions then as Souey had just undergone heart surgery) to take.

Season two though and Ronnie Whelan was back starting in central midfield. Souness started him in the first 10 games of the season, before he got injured again - an injury which sadly ruled him out for the rest of the season.

Season three saw an early injury to Jamie Redknapp which brought Ronnie back into the first team early in the season.  For 6 games in a row it was Molby and Whelan back in the middle of the field, both picked ahead of Don Hutchison who'd played most of the previous season alongside Redknapp. When Redknapp came back who was dropped? Whelan? No. It was Molby - I'm sure this was to the outrage of many conspiratorial perseuction complex holding Danes who said Souness was anti-Denmark. 

However after 4 defeats in 5 games, Whelan was eventually dropped for the first time since Souness took over (quarter-way through his third season in charge). Rising star Robbie Fowler was given his first league start and recent signing Nigel Clough was pushed back into midfield. Whelan got no more starts under Souness. When Souness was sacked he got a few games towards the end of the season, but didnt get a look in the following season as Evans went for Redknapp and Barnes in central midfield - perhaps he was anti-Irish also? 

So for his first two seasons Souness started Whelan every time he was 100% fit - only dropping him in year 3 when results were going from bad to worse and his job was on the line. I can see the definite bias alright   ::)

Remind me of the other Irishman he didnt play who so deserved to be in the team?

As you will note, I did indeed follow Liverpool at that time and strongly believe that anyone who accuses Souness of anti-Irish basis is doing so with no basis whatsoever. I don't remember him doing anything regarding Irish players that I did not agree with at the time. Staunton was never impressive for Liverpool. Not a patch on the previous Irish left back Jim Beglin. Not that Burrows was any better but he did get stuck in more - but it was a toss of a coin. Certainly £1.1m for Staunton made sense at the time when it funded the purchase of a badly needed centre back - Mark Wright.

Ray Houghton played under Souness for most of his first season in charge but didnt have a great season and while still a decent player, at 30 had lost a yard of pace and was past his best. Steve McManamon had just emerged in that season, and finished it with a man of the match performance in the FA Cup final. Clearly McManamon was going to be first choice for the right side of midfield for the following season, so I was not overly surprised when Villa's offer was accepted for Houghton.  I don't think that anyone would argue that Houghton should start ahead of McManaman at that stage in their careers. Certainly Houghton could have done a job as a squad member (as could some of the other guys he sold), but I doubt Ray would have been happy with that.

So I repeat that saying Souness had an anti-Irish policy while at Liverpool because two of the 10 sales he made during his first year in charge were Irishmen is pure nonsense.  A myth probably started by some idiot like Cathal Dervan and perpetuated by sheep who dont know the actual facts.
nope guess again hound.
I cannot reme any other Irish players who souness did not play
but with an unbiased opinion at the time I personally recall his getting rid of all Irish - while I may not remember the names and stats , I certainly did not become disgusted and disillusioned for now reason. that he came from rangers mattered not to me, souness was one of my fave liverpool players and I was delighted to see him arrive.
Then after he started to destroy the team and imo what looked like a crusade against playing Irish players on the liverpool side - I soon took a huge dislike.
you can rationalise all you like now - so many years after the event.
At the time this is what it at least looked like and amidst all the crap sides he picked and rubbish players he bought in comparison with some of the albeit older players he let go
I am not a bit biased or in any way makeing it up.
Its no myth.
Only souness knows his motives. But whatever the motives were, he was rubbish and either got rid of or didnt play the Irish lads.
burrows better than staunton - you are having a real laugh. Stan wasnt the best in the world, but burrows wasnt even a div 3 footballer.

if you dont like my opinion, well thats that. neither you or I have the inside line on what went on in sounesses mind.
Post by: Hound on January 04, 2007, 04:47:51 PM
Thats unbelievable lynchbhoy.

"I cannot remeber any other Irish players who souness did not play"

You can't remember because there werent any!

"but with an unbiased opinion at the time I personally recall his getting rid of all Irish "

Thats great recall you have - he got rid of 2 Irish - Staunton immediately and Houghton after one season. Two out of 10 people he got rid of in one year - and certainly not all the Irish seeing as he did not get rid of Whelan. So you're talking shíte.

Whether either was a mistake or not is open for debate (as with other sales he made), but there were football reasons for both as I mentioned. To say that means it was anti-Irish is total crap.

"I am not a bit biased or in any way makeing it up.
Its no myth."

I'm afraid you are making it up - but you're not the only one. It is one of the myths that those who have no idea about the facts go on about.

Admit you're amazed that he only sold two Irish - because you didnt know the facts.

Admit you're amazed he played Houghton and Whelan almost all the time he was there while they were fit - because you didnt know the facts.

Admit you're amazed there was no other Irishman who he dropped or sold - because you didnt know the facts.

Its certainly a valid opinion to hold that Souness did a poor job as manager of Liverpool.
However, there isnt a shred of evidence to suggest he had an anti-Irish policy while at Liverpool.

Post by: Billys Boots on January 04, 2007, 04:56:44 PM
C'mon lynchbhoy you've been caught (again  :P) - take it like a man.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 04:57:05 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 04, 2007, 04:47:51 PM
Thats unbelievable lynchbhoy.

"I cannot remeber any other Irish players who souness did not play"

You can't remember because there werent any!

"but with an unbiased opinion at the time I personally recall his getting rid of all Irish "

Thats great recall you have - he got rid of 2 Irish - Staunton immediately and Houghton after one season. Two out of 10 people he got rid of in one year - and certainly not all the Irish seeing as he did not get rid of Whelan. So you're talking shíte.

Whether either was a mistake or not is open for debate (as with other sales he made), but there were football reasons for both as I mentioned. To say that means it was anti-Irish is total crap.

"I am not a bit biased or in any way makeing it up.
Its no myth."

I'm afraid you are making it up - but you're not the only one. It is one of the myths that those who have no idea about the facts go on about.

Admit you're amazed that he only sold two Irish - because you didnt know the facts.

Admit you're amazed he played Houghton and Whelan almost all the time he was there while they were fit - because you didnt know the facts.

Admit you're amazed there was no other Irishman who he dropped or sold - because you didnt know the facts.

Its certainly a valid opinion to hold that Souness did a poor job as manager of Liverpool.
However, there isnt a shred of evidence to suggest he had an anti-Irish policy while at Liverpool.

nope
while you can hold your opinion all you like as I hold mine
it was based on events at the time and not with any view a dozen years later

can you say for definite that souness did or did not have either a pro or anti Irish bias?
if so please prove this.
what you have said so far makes sense, but on the other hand the argument for dropping staunton at least destroys that
other than you can say that burrows in your opinion was a better player
thats a laugh

also
just because I have not dwelt on the matter , have not bothered remembering names and consigned it all to the past - does not mean a whole lot

I have moved on
and your rantings about where there was an agenda or not cannot be proven any more than my opinion from that point in time that he had.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 05:00:03 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 04, 2007, 04:56:44 PM
C'mon lynchbhoy you've been caught (again  :P) - take it like a man.

caught at what though Billy
it was my opinion at the time and I was a massive liverpool fan (having graduated from my fathers team  - leeds - at the age of 4 or 5)

this time I am not joking...or 'winding up' as they say !

If I formulated an opinion at that point in time it was for a very good reason.

Logic of it is whay would I do so when I was a fan of the club, a fan of success and fan of souness.

There were Irish players throughout the years that were rubbish, and while I like them , some are not good enough.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 04, 2007, 05:03:36 PM
Lynchbhoy, in fairness you are the one who said that Souness had an anti Irish agenda. It's up to you to prove the allegation true, especially considering that the facts and stats obviously imply otherwise.

In fairness I think you might be getting your clubs mixed up. I remember a 'Souness is anti-Irish' storm at Blackburn a few years ago. I think he basically sold or dropped 3 or 4 paddies (McAteer, Kenna, Duff, etc) but that was fairly much refuted along similar lines.

I remember Souness as a fella who came in and tried to impose a certain culture on LFC, and failed miserably because he tried to do it all in one fell swoop. A phased approach with an aging team might have been better. He also brought in players who were patently not LFC type players. That was his failing at LFC. I don't recall any anti-Irish bias there whatsoever.
Post by: laoislad on January 04, 2007, 05:05:16 PM
Im going to have to agree with Hound on this one
I think it was more of him being a bad manageer and making silly decisions in the transfer market that led him to selling players he did,i for one don't thnik he is Anti Irish,Jesus sure he fought tooth and nail to keep Duff at Blackburn..he didn't sell Given at Newcastle he played Andy O'Brien at Newcastle for feck sake
Plus after meeting the man himself in Dublin Airport he was a very nice genuine man who had plenty of time for a fella wearing a Ireland soccer jersey that being me of course and he even signed Robbie Fowlers book which i happend to be reading at the time,a book i might add that Fowler slated him in
Did selling Peter Beardsly make him Anti English orselling  Glenn Hysen make him Anti Swedish i dont think so..
The man made a few f**k ups like appering on front page of The Sun on anniversary of Hillsborough,and he definatly made a few f**k ups in transfer market like Julian Dicks ::) but Anti Irish i don't think so..
Plus i actually though David Burrows was a decent player
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 05:09:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 04, 2007, 05:03:36 PM
Lynchbhoy, in fairness you are the one who said that Souness had an anti Irish agenda. It's up to you to prove the allegation true, especially considering that the facts and stats obviously imply otherwise.

In fairness I think you might be getting your clubs mixed up. I remember a 'Souness is anti-Irish' storm at Blackburn a few years ago. I think he basically sold or dropped 3 or 4 paddies (McAteer, Kenna, Duff, etc) but that was fairly much refuted along similar lines.

I remember Souness as a fella who came in and tried to impose a certain culture on LFC, and failed miserably because he tried to do it all in one fell swoop. A phased approach with an aging team might have been better. He also brought in players who were patently not LFC type players. That was his failing at LFC. I don't recall any anti-Irish bias there whatsoever.

maybe so
and I dont recall any anti Irish agenda at blackburn but I suppose I didnt care
my impression was made when following liverpool at that time.
co-incidence - maybe
but I believe so at the time

I believe he had an anti Irish agenda
or just happened to dislike those players who were playing well from the club , dropped or sold them and they happened to be Irish

but overall , yes he was a disaster of a manager and the start of the ruination of livepool - from which they have yet to recover from
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 04, 2007, 06:17:57 PM
QuoteI believe he had an anti Irish agenda

To be honest LB you'll have to back it up with more than just conjecture and heresay. Just because you say it doesn't make it so.

Hound has at least presented actual facts refuting the claim which make his argument much more concrete.

For the record as a Liverpool fan I don't believe Souness was or is anti-Irish. He did however make a staggering amount of bad decisions at the club.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 07:31:51 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 04, 2007, 06:17:57 PM
QuoteI believe he had an anti Irish agenda

To be honest LB you'll have to back it up with more than just conjecture and heresay. Just because you say it doesn't make it so.

Hound has at least presented actual facts refuting the claim which make his argument much more concrete.

For the record as a Liverpool fan I don't believe Souness was or is anti-Irish. He did however make a staggering amount of bad decisions at the club.

I cannot rem back then regarding the details
but I was hardly looking to dislike them
so there must have been a reason- or reasons

prob the selling of houhton the best in the game at that position to be replaced by the inneffectual mcmanaman
and the sidelining of staunton for the rubbish burrows

I dont have to prove why I thought that
if you cant trust your own opinion what can you trust

I know what you lads are saying and respect that- including hound
but it cannot be proven either way unless you get souness to admit to that - which is highly unlikely

but you cannot rubbish my opinion with what has been said.

sorry lads, the opinion was formed at the time and I fully believe what I thought then.

to make matters worse I hated beardsley and barnes playing for liverpool.
I was a fan of barnsey at watford but he and many others were not 'liverpool players' imo

Post by: laoislad on January 04, 2007, 07:36:53 PM
Maybe you were just going through your moody teenager years when the whole world seemed against you and things were akward and your body was changing and maybe it's a bad time and you'd rather not remember it???
Or maybe your right who knows ;D ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 08:08:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 04, 2007, 07:36:53 PM
Maybe you were just going through your moody teenager years when the whole world seemed against you and things were akward and your body was changing and maybe it's a bad time and you'd rather not remember it???
Or maybe your right who knows ;D ;D

I was too square to be moody !

more awkward these days ...obviously...

who was the boss at liverpool when they refused to play my fave world player litmaenen?
Was it Evans or houllier?
Post by: laoislad on January 04, 2007, 08:57:11 PM
Houllier >:(
Post by: J70 on January 04, 2007, 09:56:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 04, 2007, 08:57:11 PM
Houllier >:(

Houllier lost the plot in the end, but he did bring in a few trophies and did beat United five times in a row, so it wasn't all bad under him. The climax to that treble season was amazing! The two exciting cup wins, the last minute win over Everton courtesy of McAllister's 40 yeard free, hammering Charlton (a decent side at the time) away on the last day to secure Champions League football for the first time...

Much of the football was brutal though!
Post by: laoislad on January 04, 2007, 10:01:30 PM
Argeed J70 Agreed
Post by: Hound on January 05, 2007, 08:02:29 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 07:31:51 PM

prob the selling of houhton the best in the game at that position to be replaced by the inneffectual mcmanaman

but it cannot be proven either way unless you get souness to admit to that - which is highly unlikely

sorry lads, the opinion was formed at the time and I fully believe what I thought then.

I was a fan of barnsey at watford but he and many others were not 'liverpool players' imo
I was only dealing in facts not opinion. Nowhere did I state that Burrows was better than Staunton.  but previous, but you clearly have no clue that Kenny Dalglish bought Burrows because he wasnt happy with Stan at left back. There are no facts to back up an anti-Irish agenda on behalf on Souness. Whether they were the right decisions or not there were football reasons for selling Houghton and Staunton. If he was anti-Irish why did he continue to play Whelan when he was available? Your earlier post said you remember there were other Irish players he didnt play, and yet they were no other Irish players in the first team squad at that time!

In fairness, saying you hated Beardsley and Barnes when they were at Liverpool and they were not "Liverpool players" shows what a low level of knowledge you have about Liverpool FC (both players played a huge part in Liverpool winning 2 titles in 3 years and both were wonderful attacking players during those years). So its no surprise you're ignorant re the selection and transfer policies of Souness.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 09:31:00 AM
Quote from: Hound on January 05, 2007, 08:02:29 AM

I was only dealing in facts not opinion. Nowhere did I state that Burrows was better than Staunton.  but previous, but you clearly have no clue that Kenny Dalglish bought Burrows because he wasnt happy with Stan at left back. There are no facts to back up an anti-Irish agenda on behalf on Souness. Whether they were the right decisions or not there were football reasons for selling Houghton and Staunton. If he was anti-Irish why did he continue to play Whelan when he was available? Your earlier post said you remember there were other Irish players he didnt play, and yet they were no other Irish players in the first team squad at that time!

In fairness, saying you hated Beardsley and Barnes when they were at Liverpool and they were not "Liverpool players" shows what a low level of knowledge you have about Liverpool FC (both players played a huge part in Liverpool winning 2 titles in 3 years and both were wonderful attacking players during those years). So its no surprise you're ignorant re the selection and transfer policies of Souness.

and you have no 'facts' to back up your opinion that souness was not anti Irish

thats it in a nutshell
my opinions are down to the fact I cannot recall transfers at the time in or out.
Also that you rubbish my knowledge of liverpool FC by castigating my opinions on barnes and beardsley
the crux here is that I have a 'low level of knowledge you have about Liverpool FC '  ...
did you actually watch Liverpool from 1975 up until the introduction of barnes and beardsley?
they stuck out like a sore thumb at the time and again I recall discussing with a few liverpool fans at the time who agreed that they did not fit into the then traditional liverpool style (although everyone was happy when they were bought as they were good players elsewhere).
Shows you dont know hee-haw about liverpool or did not understand the club and its football prior to that Barnes and beardsley era.
Yer just a bandwagon jumper!
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 05, 2007, 09:49:15 AM
Lads, Lynchbhoy is a stubborn bollox, he'll never back down...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 05, 2007, 12:14:24 PM
Come on now LB the bigger man isn't afraid to admit when he's got it terribly wrong. ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 12:18:20 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 05, 2007, 12:14:24 PM
Come on now LB the bigger man isn't afraid to admit when he's got it terribly wrong. ;)

I'm a petty little fcuker with chips on both shoulders and am never wrong im my opinions ! :o
Post by: J70 on January 05, 2007, 01:28:50 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 09:31:00 AM
Quote from: Hound on January 05, 2007, 08:02:29 AM

thats it in a nutshell
my opinions are down to the fact I cannot recall transfers at the time in or out.
Also that you rubbish my knowledge of liverpool FC by castigating my opinions on barnes and beardsley
the crux here is that I have a 'low level of knowledge you have about Liverpool FC '  ...
did you actually watch Liverpool from 1975 up until the introduction of barnes and beardsley?
they stuck out like a sore thumb at the time and again I recall discussing with a few liverpool fans at the time who agreed that they did not fit into the then traditional liverpool style (although everyone was happy when they were bought as they were good players elsewhere).
Shows you dont know hee-haw about liverpool or did not understand the club and its football prior to that Barnes and beardsley era.

Barnes and Beardesley "stuck out like a sore thumb"? Did you happen to watch Liverpool in the late eighties? That was probably the most entertaining and one of the best Liverpools team ever, and had they not been out of Europe because of Heysel, they would very probably have added another European Cup to the list.Things went arseways in the aftermath of Hillsborough, but I never heard any Liverpool supporter complaining before that. Dalglish changed the style of play when Rush left, allowing him to buy Aldridge, Beardsley and Barnes, and most people loved it. Their dismantling of a very strong Forest team in a 5-0 win at Anfield is still talked about as one of the most complete peformances in an English league game.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 01:34:21 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 05, 2007, 01:28:50 PM

Barnes and Beardesley "stuck out like a sore thumb"? Did you happen to watch Liverpool in the late eighties? That was probably the most entertaining and one of the best Liverpools team ever, and had they not been out of Europe because of Heysel, they would very probably have added another European Cup to the list.Things went arseways in the aftermath of Hillsborough, but I never heard any Liverpool supporter complaining before that. Dalglish changed the style of play when Rush left, allowing him to buy Aldridge, Beardsley and Barnes, and most people loved it. Their dismantling of a very strong Forest team in a 5-0 win at Anfield is still talked about as one of the most complete peformances in an English league game.

I know - I dont mean to be controversial
myself and a few lads in engerland shared this opinion though.
the team went from a machine with all parts equal and working well toghether - to being a decent side with a few outstanding individual talents, but overall the team were not as tight or good as before.
I suppose nothing lasts and it was just obv that the likes of barnes and Beardsley were more individualistic than the men that preceeded them - inc Dalglish

was this team as good as prev...thats up to everyone for opinion
but the newer side were prob more spectacular.

I still preferred the old model though !

Post by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2007, 01:45:47 PM
Lynchboy is wrong about Souness but he is right about Beardsley and Barnes. The change to playing attractive attacking football just was not Liverpool.
Post by: Hound on January 05, 2007, 01:59:34 PM

thats it in a nutshell
I have totally backed up with facts that he was not anti-Irish while he managed Liverpool. He played Houghton for a whole season and didnt sell him until McManaman had established himself. Why would someone who was anti-Irish play an Irishman? Why did he play Whelan so much if he was anti-Irish?

In any event you are the one who alleged he was racist with no facts or evidence to back it up, and you have been beaten to a pulp in this argument!

Loser!

I don't for one minute believe you were a real Liverpool supporter. Perhaps a glory-hunting follower at one stage. But no true supporter would believe that Souness was anti-Irish, because they'd have the knowledge to know otherwise. And certainly no true supporter would give up being a fan just because they'd a crap manager for 2 and a half seasons.

The "sore thumb" bit is hilarious. I wish they'd a few more "sore thumbs" now.

Beardsley was the perfect successor to Dalglish. Obviously not quite as good, but the best around in that position at that time - created buckets of goals for Aldo just as Kenny had for Rushie. And Barnsey was a similar player to Steve Heighway, bombing down the left wing. Except Barnes was better at beating players and scored more goals. And funnily both only rarely produced their club form at international level.

Post by: laoislad on January 05, 2007, 02:01:46 PM
Now Now Hound there is such a thing as a good winner ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 02:27:15 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 05, 2007, 01:59:34 PM

thats it in a nutshell
I have totally backed up with facts that he was not anti-Irish while he managed Liverpool. He played Houghton for a whole season and didnt sell him until McManaman had established himself. Why would someone who was anti-Irish play an Irishman? Why did he play Whelan so much if he was anti-Irish?

In any event you are the one who alleged he was racist with no facts or evidence to back it up, and you have been beaten to a pulp in this argument!

Loser!

I don't for one minute believe you were a real Liverpool supporter. Perhaps a glory-hunting follower at one stage. But no true supporter would believe that Souness was anti-Irish, because they'd have the knowledge to know otherwise. And certainly no true supporter would give up being a fan just because they'd a crap manager for 2 and a half seasons.

Beardsley was the perfect successor to Dalglish. Obviously not quite as good, but the best around in that position at that time - created buckets of goals for Aldo just as Kenny had for Rushie. And Barnsey was a similar player to Steve Heighway, bombing down the left wing. Except Barnes was better at beating players and scored more goals. And funnily both only rarely produced their club form at international level.

mope sorry
cant accept that
I have no problem with you disagreeing on the barnes and beardsley thing but to say I wasnt a true supporter
well to wax lyrically about the liverpool team after that shows you were just a bandwagon jumper with no real clue about Livepool in the days when they were a real TEAM.

How can I pull out documented evidence on an opinion that was built up week by week wathing that idiot demolish all that was good about Lfc
you have given NO 'evidence' only circumstancial opinion - though with more names and so on that I have I'll grant you
but you have proved nothing.

I think theres a thread looking for your attention on the GAA discussion part - its looking for know alls  ::)
Title: Ferguson anti- Irish
Post by: From the Bunker on January 05, 2007, 06:44:48 PM
The same was said of Ferguson when he let go of Moran, Stapleton and McGrath on his arrival in old Trafford.......Seems that the Irish Media clung to this kinda Sh1t at the time!
Post by: Long time dead on July 01, 2007, 05:44:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 30, 2007, 09:36:07 PM
Any new sunderland fans ??? ??? ???

Surely all soccer fans only become a fan when the team has won / is about to win something - they they have been fans for decades.  :D :D :D :D
Post by: Orior on July 01, 2007, 06:05:28 PM
I watch soccer, and listen to the results, and monitor the tables. But as for uttering "we beat youse" no, that is kept for my county.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2007, 06:54:03 PM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 01, 2007, 05:44:37 PM
]
Any new sunderland fans ??? ??? ???

Something like 25,000 between last August and May of this year  :D
Post by: GweylTah on July 01, 2007, 09:36:36 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 01, 2007, 06:05:28 PM
I watch soccer, and listen to the results, and monitor the tables. But as for uttering "we beat youse" no, that is kept for my county.

Ah, the great Irish county - there's nothing like a great British invention.
Post by: Orior on July 01, 2007, 10:31:32 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 01, 2007, 09:36:36 PM

Surely you mean an english invention?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 02, 2007, 06:30:06 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 01, 2007, 10:31:32 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 01, 2007, 09:36:36 PM

Surely you mean an english invention?

Best damn thing the Brits ever did create Mayo, then there was, no thats the only good thing I can think of.  ;)

Smells of Monty Python Spirit
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 02, 2007, 07:19:23 PM
Notts County - we are going up this year.
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2007, 08:59:31 PM
Surely you should be following Ross County PH ?  ;D
Post by: mooncatiii on July 03, 2007, 07:22:42 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 02:27:15 PM

thats it in a nutshell

Loser!

mope sorry
cant accept that
I have no problem with you disagreeing on the barnes and beardsley thing but to say I wasnt a true supporter
well to wax lyrically about the liverpool team after that shows you were just a bandwagon jumper with no real clue about Livepool in the days when they were a real TEAM.

How can I pull out documented evidence on an opinion that was built up week by week wathing that idiot demolish all that was good about Lfc
you have given NO 'evidence' only circumstancial opinion - though with more names and so on that I have I'll grant you

I think theres a thread looking for your attention on the GAA discussion part - its looking for know alls  ::)

have to agree with lynch on this one, souness an absolute legend on the pitch but single destroyed liverpool as a mangager.  he inherited a team that was playing the best football seen in england for a long time who arguably would have picked up another euro cup had it not been for the ban.  And he more or less took the winning mentality out of the club during the 90's which we r only beginning to recliam now!  the 90's was th most important period in modern football it was when big money was ther to be made look at man utd, had kenny stayed on alot of the the glory united achieved in the 90's might have been liverpools, a bold statement i know and a case of shuda woulda coulda but the douness and evans era fucked us up and we r still recovering
Post by: From the Bunker on August 15, 2007, 11:23:33 PM
Any new Sunder-Ireland fans out there or are ye afraid of the Wife/Girlfriend?
Post by: sligeach on August 15, 2007, 11:36:05 PM
Wheres the option for none ?
Post by: J70 on August 16, 2007, 12:14:05 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 03, 2007, 07:22:42 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2007, 02:27:15 PM

thats it in a nutshell

Loser!

mope sorry
cant accept that

have to agree with lynch on this one, souness an absolute legend on the pitch but single destroyed liverpool as a mangager.  he inherited a team that was playing the best football seen in england for a long time who arguably would have picked up another euro cup had it not been for the ban.  And he more or less took the winning mentality out of the club during the 90's which we r only beginning to recliam now!  the 90's was th most important period in modern football it was when big money was ther to be made look at man utd, had kenny stayed on alot of the the glory united achieved in the 90's might have been liverpools, a bold statement i know and a case of shuda woulda coulda but the douness and evans era fucked us up and we r still recovering

Just saw this post now!

Can't agree with this at all. Souness did poorly, no question, but the rot had well and truly set in before Dalglish left. The squad was aging, while Dalglish's signings in his last year or two left a lot to be desired (David Speedie, Jimmy Carter, Glen Hysen etc.). Alan Hansen said years ago that the Liverpool team that won the 1990 league was far inferior to any of the earlier teams he had played in. Maybe it was Hillsborough that changed things, but the club was slipping way before Souness came in. Dalglish jumped after several months of awful league form when Liverpool allowed a relatively average Arsenal team to come from well back to go top of the league, eventually winning it with a bit to spare. The defence in particular at that time was a complete disaster, as anyone who sat through the 1990 cup semi, heavy defeats at the likes of Arsenal and United, the cup tie with Everton before Dalglish's resignation and various other toothless, demoralizing defeats will remember. Souness made big changes to the ways things were run, but he didn't back them up with quality signings and so failed. However, to say that he single-handedly destroyed Liverpool as a top-class English side is nonsense.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 07, 2007, 05:39:41 PM
Looks like the Sunder-ireland fan base is a Myth, built on the back bone of bored Man u fans and Eamon Dunphy reteric. The irony of this season is that if Keane gets relegated, he will have the same promotion/relegation success as his nemisis McCarthy. Except McCarthy had no money to spend! I know this does not sound like it but i am a Keane Fan and i am weary of his stock weakening.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 23, 2007, 09:59:29 PM
Does the one Chelsea fan who voted want to get out now while the going is good?  ;D
Post by: David McKeown on September 23, 2007, 11:58:16 PM
Been a Utd fan since about 1990 when my friends dad brought us to see them but Gillingham are my true love.  16 goals in the last two games ive been over at, you just dont get that with a premiership side
Post by: From the Bunker on September 24, 2007, 12:29:07 AM
London did not give a good accont of themselves in the Womens Soccer World cup with England with nearly all Arsenal players going down 3-0 to the USA.
Post by: Gnevin on September 24, 2007, 09:39:43 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 24, 2007, 12:29:07 AM
London did not give a good accont of themselves in the Womens Soccer World cup with England with nearly all Arsenal players going down 3-0 to the USA.
:o
Post by: his holiness nb on September 24, 2007, 06:30:13 PM
I wouldnt really say I "follow" any team anymore, when I was younger I loved Sheffield Wednesday.
The more I got into the GAA the less interest I had in the soccer.I still look out for their results though, rock bottom of the championship but won their first match at the weekend courtesy of Frannie Jeffers against JJ Okochas Hull!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 24, 2007, 07:48:32 PM
QuoteDoes the one Chelsea fan who voted want to get out now while the going is good? 

No thanks. Supporting Chelsea has always been a roller coaster...........just have to hang on tight!
Post by: From the Bunker on September 25, 2007, 09:52:58 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on September 24, 2007, 07:48:32 PM
QuoteDoes the one Chelsea fan who voted want to get out now while the going is good? 

No thanks. Supporting Chelsea has always been a roller coaster...........just have to hang on tight!

Good to hear, as they say you have to suffer bad days to really enjoy the good ones!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 25, 2007, 11:46:52 PM
QuoteGood to hear, as they say you have to suffer bad days to really enjoy the good ones!

100% bunker. I have been through some mares, which have made the highs of the last few years higher. I have to admit, a certain bit of me enjoyed it when we were rubbish. There was a lot more excitement going out to watch Chelsea expecting to lose, and gaining a win. As opposed to expecting to win, and winning!
Post by: Balboa on September 25, 2007, 11:53:35 PM
Norf what do you reckon about the rumour Terry "shafted" Mourinho? Is he becoming like Beckham, thinking he is bigger than the club?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 26, 2007, 01:16:36 PM
QuoteNorf what do you reckon about the rumour Terry "shafted" Mourinho? Is he becoming like Beckham, thinking he is bigger than the club?

Think it's bollix. Oliver Holt covers it well in today's mirror. I believe JT is suing those papers that printed the allogation. They did have a row, but people are timing the row and the departure and putting 2 and 2 together.
I remember reading an interview with JT about 6 months back, and he stated that him and José row regularly. It's a football thing, and that he loves him really.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 07, 2007, 12:37:54 PM
Interesting article from last year on the demise of attendances at Cross channel soccer games.

http://libcom.org/news/capitalism-killing-football-100305 (http://libcom.org/news/capitalism-killing-football-100305)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2008, 01:55:43 PM
Could someone explain how they voted for Man City?
Post by: From the Bunker on March 17, 2008, 11:02:08 PM
Any new people out there in Gaaboard land who want to vote?
Post by: BennyHarp on March 18, 2008, 12:45:21 AM
I've been a west ham fan since 1985/86! Ahhh the days of george parris, alan devonshire, ray tonka stewart, alvin martin, frank mcavennie, tony cottee, ,mark ward etc - what a team - brings a tear to my eye!! Jonny methog's ridicuolous goal from 100 yards cost us the league that year - but a hammer was born for life!!
Post by: From the Bunker on March 20, 2008, 11:30:04 AM
There should be more Fans

acknowledging
Tottenham (as they have a cup...all be it a dodgy one)
Liverpool (because they are winning consistently....all be it too late in the league)
Man U (as always)
Everton (despite the blip v Fulham & UEFA Cup)

denying they even know
Arsenal (the draw experts at the moment)
Sunderland (All ye Johnny come latelys)
Newcastle Utd ( Bring back Big Sam.....)
Post by: From the Bunker on October 13, 2008, 12:00:02 AM
Any new entrants who wnat to vote?
Post by: supersub on October 13, 2008, 12:06:08 AM
liverpool since 95 or there abouts, start of "god's" career! goal machine was young fowler!
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 12:09:43 AM
Quote from: supersub on October 13, 2008, 12:06:08 AM
liverpool since 95 or there abouts, start of "god's" career! goal machine was young fowler!

Yeah, his medal haul is amazing.
Post by: supersub on October 13, 2008, 12:13:43 AM
never metioned anything about his medal haul. goal machine is what i said. thats what strikers do! don't see shearer with a whole lot of medals but he was one of the best!
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 12:23:01 AM
Shearer won the title. Single-handedly almost.
Post by: supersub on October 13, 2008, 12:29:40 AM
yes, once and that doesnt stop fowler bein a goal machine! thats all i said originally! and shearer was a comparison because he didnt win a lot the same as fowler!
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2008, 12:49:25 AM
Can't be sure, but I think the great strikers hit more than a goal every 2 games for their major clubs. Rush, Henry, Shearer, Bull, Wright, Owen etc. I think Fowler fell way short of that. His God tag was a bit misleading.
Post by: supersub on October 13, 2008, 12:56:43 AM
well like in his first six seasons with liverpool he did score an average of a goal every two games or more! it was the last 3 seasons that were more dissapointing. he did end up with sumthin like 190 goals in just over 400 appearances, wasnt that far off. i agree he went down hill towards the end of the liverpool career. and he was the second faster player in liverpools history to score 100 goals, only hunt was quicker. one game quicker than rush.
Post by: Aerlik on October 13, 2008, 12:30:55 PM
I keep an eye out for Stenhousemuir and Stranraer.  Dunno why the former but used to watch the latter when I had time waiting for the ferry.

Ipswich Town since 1976

Jubilo Iwata and Nagoya Grampus in the J-League.  Used to live close to both clubs.
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 13, 2008, 02:04:02 PM
Couldn't give one rats arse about any english football club and to be honest have I have no understanding of how any irish person does!
Post by: J70 on October 13, 2008, 02:11:07 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 13, 2008, 02:04:02 PM
Couldn't give one rats arse about any english football club and to be honest have I have no understanding of how any irish person does!

Its hardly just an Irish trait. People all over the world follow English soccer, along with the Spanish and Italian leagues and the Champions League. Similarly for multiple other sports. English soccer is a part of Irish culture and has been for many years.
Post by: supersub on October 13, 2008, 03:09:35 PM

some people are very narrow minded!
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 13, 2008, 03:19:24 PM
Quote from: supersub on October 13, 2008, 03:09:35 PM

Your right. I will, with immediate effect, begin to support an English team. Let me see... How about Middlesborough. Now are there any of you f*cking Sunderland ba*tards on here, I hate you - burn in hell. And Newcastle too. Black and white ba*tards. Boro till th day I die.......
Post by: rosnarun on October 13, 2008, 03:57:07 PM
Quote from: supersub on October 13, 2008, 03:09:35 PM

Amazing alright what kind of people that pop up on a Gaaboard
Of course they are all pretending that Hull V Stoke isnt the most important sporting event in Ireland ever , Its as though they dont care about a shower of eastern euopeans and Francophile africans who are Trafficked  to kick a ball around dreary english towns
Wankers
Post by: From the Bunker on January 08, 2009, 11:06:59 PM
Thought i'd pull this from obscurity! Anyway, any Sunder-Ireland supporters left now that savour Roy has departed? Any new top of the table Liverpool Supporters?
Post by: boojangles on January 08, 2009, 11:11:09 PM
Arsenal  10 (5.5%)
Aston Villa  6 (3.3%)
Chelsea  2 (1.1%)
Everton  6 (3.3%)
Somebodys taking the f**king piss man.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 08, 2009, 11:24:04 PM
Quote from: boojangles on January 08, 2009, 11:11:09 PM
Arsenal  10 (5.5%)
Aston Villa  6 (3.3%)
Chelsea  2 (1.1%)
Everton  6 (3.3%)
Somebodys taking the f**king piss man.

Why what's wrong with the above?
Post by: Tankie on January 08, 2009, 11:58:05 PM
Out of 180 posters only 13 posters say that they do not support and English soccer team and this is the board that call the Dublin supports nothing but premiership fans with nothing to do in the summer.

Good one boys, nothing better than supporting and English soccer team to show your Irishness  ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2009, 12:02:10 AM
Quote from: Tankie on January 08, 2009, 11:58:05 PM
Out of 180 posters only 13 posters say that they do not support and English soccer team and this is the board that call the Dublin supports nothing but premiership fans with nothing to do in the summer.

Good one boys, nothing better than supporting and English soccer team to show your Irishness  ;)
Have 167 picked a team then?
Post by: Tankie on January 09, 2009, 12:05:33 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2009, 12:02:10 AM
Quote from: Tankie on January 08, 2009, 11:58:05 PM

Have 167 picked a team then?

168 now
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 09, 2009, 12:46:20 AM
Maybe they saw the thread title and gave it a miss??

Anyway I've followed soccer for years but its a distant second to GAA. Supporting Man United since 1989, when I was seven. All my mates were supporting Liverpool but I decided against that (phew) mainly because of Mark Hughes. He's one of these guys that's always entertaining to watch.

But the fact that whatever soccer club we support is based on some decision, often irrational, that we make as children, is why GAA will always hold a stronger appeal for me. Were there any other decisions you made before you turned 10 that would have such a consequence on your life?
Post by: Aerlik on January 09, 2009, 12:47:12 AM
My first memories are of Celtic and Jimmy Johnstone in particular then Man.Utd and Georgie B.  There followed a short stint as a Spurs fan cos of Pat Jennings and switched over to West Ham after they beat Fulham in the 1975 FA Cup final.  Dithered a bit until my epiphany on a cold,wet Saturday night in 1977 when Ipswich Town walloped WBA 7-0 and have stuck with the blues ever since.  Ahhhhh, the glory years (1978-1981)....ohhhh the painful years (every year thereafter practically).

I went to uni in Preston so keep an eye out for them as I used to watch them in Div.4 take on the might of York, Darlington and Scunthorpe.  God that was eyeball-gouging stuff then.

Someone mentioned a lack of Blackburn fans.  Well, if it wasn't for Jack Walker and his squillions of squids that club would still be even more mediocre than they currently are.  Some Preston fans went across and started following the Rovers and how they got sh*t for it.  A former work colleague and her man were/are season ticket holders and when he couldn't go, I'd go to watch them.  Not overly impressed with them then as now.  I did see them beat Man U., Liverpool, Newcastle, Arsenal and a few others.

I keep an eye out for Nagoya Grampus and Jubilo Iwata in the J-League having been a regular attender at their games while living in Japan (often met Stoikovic in Nagoya - top lad), and go to Perth Glory games.  The Shed is some craic.  The only place I've ever seen Celtic and Rangers fans, Spurs and Millwall fans, Man C and Man U fans all stand together with their club tops on and roar for the same team.
Post by: Canalman on January 09, 2009, 09:26:18 AM
Spurs.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 04, 2009, 10:05:53 PM
Back to haunt u again
Post by: Tankie on March 05, 2009, 12:32:13 AM
Ah the I Love Britain thread is back i see......  ::)
Post by: Medic on March 05, 2009, 06:55:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 26, 2006, 04:52:47 AM
Apologies to clubs left out......I am not a Man u fan but expect them to get as many votes as all the rest of the clubs put together.
so happy to see liverpool leading in this poll thus far at least!! i must admit that was a bit of a shocker but let's hope it stays that way!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 05, 2009, 09:01:23 PM
Lately I've been keeping an eye on the fortunes of Albion Rovers.
Post by: stiffler on March 05, 2009, 09:08:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 05, 2009, 09:01:23 PM

Their scottish
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2009, 10:12:41 PM
Quote from: stiffler on March 05, 2009, 09:08:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 05, 2009, 09:01:23 PM

Their scottish

Yea, I know, but it's just a phase as they'e my 2nd favourite team. Their name alone stands out!
Post by: David McKeown on March 07, 2009, 08:14:37 AM
Im a Gillingham fan and would go to a fair few of their games although I havent made it the last couple of years.  23 goals in the last three of their matches Ive been at, you just dont get that in the premiership
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 06, 2009, 03:20:32 PM
Does the 197 people who voted on this consider themselves west British?
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 06, 2009, 03:28:00 PM
Quote from: Tankie on March 05, 2009, 12:32:13 AM
Ah the I Love Britain thread is back i see......  ::)

I thought you had nothing against the Brits?
Post by: mc_grens on December 06, 2009, 03:35:39 PM
Don't support a Premiership Team. Local soccer is a distant third to Rugby and GAA.

I like NFL. Does that make me an East Yank?
Post by: From the Bunker on January 17, 2019, 09:57:41 PM
Thought I'd give this a Bump again!
Post by: LooseCannon on January 17, 2019, 10:27:21 PM
Liverpool, while I take a bit of interest in Bournemouth.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 17, 2019, 11:23:22 PM
Some blast from the past in those pages. The terrible twosome Gnevin and Tankie, Pintsofguinness, mylsetheslasher, Aerlik, Lynchbhoy...

Post by: Tony Baloney on January 17, 2019, 11:24:45 PM
Anybody change since the original poll?!  :D No recent Man City fans?
Post by: ziggy90 on January 18, 2019, 01:21:17 PM
Birmingham City.
Post by: lurganblue on January 18, 2019, 02:23:02 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2008, 01:55:43 PM
Could someone explain how they voted for Man City?

How long before their success translates into supporters/votes?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 22, 2022, 11:03:50 PM
Just wondering how well this has aged?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 22, 2022, 11:14:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 22, 2022, 11:03:50 PM
Just wondering how well this has aged?

I'm still a Manchester United fan, or am I?

I mean, I only see them on terrestrial television which means I miss their Premier League games and can't comment one way or the other.

I still feel angry when thry lose and happy when they win however. But it lifts after a minute of seeing the result.