Joe Brolly

Started by randomtask, July 31, 2011, 05:28:31 PM

And soccer clearly is yours.

A dive is when you hit the turf when you don't need to just as Canavan did. A dive isn't simply when you go to ground though nobody touched you, so o'mahoney dived when slapped by Donnacha O'Connor and the Donegal lad dived when Connolly hit out at him last August. So too did Peter when he ran into a Kerry man looking the other way but he made it even worse by coming back onto the field wearing a turban. But sure as long as he's a Tyrone man you'll justify that shite to yourself somehow and we'll see more of that kind of rubbish in the future.

Quote from: Zulu on May 11, 2012, 12:31:55 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 10, 2012, 11:19:02 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 10, 2012, 01:57:41 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 10, 2012, 01:20:35 PM
Quote from: sheamy on May 10, 2012, 11:51:15 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on May 07, 2012, 08:50:30 PM
Can anyone post the Irish Mail story? Cheers.

Seen it in Gaelic Life today...sum craic!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwmErywscOc

Thats not a dive. If anything, its a free out, and if there was gonna be a card it should be to Canavan, but he didnt dive, he just tried to hit mccarthy and came off worse. Cavanagh, now thats different...

Jesus you wouldn't see that kind of denial in a John Grisham novel..

He didn't dive. He went in to bump yer man and got an unintentional wallop to the temple. A few seconds later you saw the blood  from it and he went off to get bandaged up. Wasn't a yellow but wasn't a dive.

Here's the full clip. Happens 6:10 til 9:52 when he comes back on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3-2VB-bIKo

Of course it's a dive. He went to give a cowardly, sly and entirely unnecessary dig and as he did he hit the ground as if he was bottled. I don't see any blood and even if he did manage to injure himself it wasn't enough to cause him to fall to the ground. To add to the shameful episode the Tyrone medical staff decided to bandage him up as if he fell from the top of the hogan and landed on his head.

As others have said, that type of shite is becoming all too common and if we want to eradicate that type of embarrassing rubbish from our game we all need to demand more from our players. Let's stop justifying this nonsense irrespective of who does it or what they've achieved as footballers.

Classic Tyrone.

With due respect to Tacadoir ArdMhacha for finding this quote, it has to be the starting point for anyone preparing to discuss Tyrone in an unfavourable light.

Quote from: corn02 on November 28, 2008, 03:01:34 PM
there are a lot of Tyrone people on here that would defend a Tyrone player if [he/she] went on a murdering spree

Quote from: Zulu on May 11, 2012, 01:14:38 AM
A dive is when you hit the turf when you don't need to just as Canavan did.

Zulu, I've no agenda, and certainly no desire to defend tyrone men. Philly Jordan after the coming together with Marsden was a disgrace. But if its to be governed right we need to be able to say what is and isnt a dive. A dive is when you go down unnecessarily. Look at the incident, Canavan comes in low and tries to come up through mccarthy. At the same time mccarthy turns, canavan bounces off him and theres connection with mccarthys arm. Its all canavans doing, and it certainly shouldnt have been a yellow card but he didnt dive. He clearly was unable to keep his balance. He probably could have got up quicker, but the rap to the head must have been severe enough if it opened him I suppose.

Thats not a dive. If anything, its a free out, and if there was gonna be a card it should be to Canavan, but he didnt dive, he just tried to hit mccarthy and came off worse. Cavanagh, now thats different...

He didn't dive. He went in to bump yer man and got an unintentional wallop to the temple. A few seconds later you saw the blood  from it and he went off to get bandaged up. Wasn't a yellow but wasn't a dive.

Beat me to it O'Neill.

A dive is feigning injury. Canavan had to go off to get patched up so it could hardly be described as a dive. It was no yellow card. Canavan tried to be sneaky, came off worse off and went down having gotten a blood wound. To quote the commentary... "to be fair Peter Canavan DID take a blow to the face even though it was completely unintentional, and now requires some attention to the cut".

Quote from: Nally Stand on May 11, 2012, 10:49:55 AM

Beat me to it O'Neill.

A dive is feigning injury. Canavan had to go off to get patched up so it could hardly be described as a dive. It was no yellow card. Canavan tried to be sneaky, came off worse off and went down having gotten a blood wound. To quote the commentary... "to be fair Peter Canavan DID take a blow to the face even though it was completely unintentional, and now requires some attention to the cut".

Bollix, if you bang your head at home in the kitchen, you don't throw yourself on the floor and roll around screaming..ffs it was a dive.

It looked like a dive alright. Video killed the throne star. 

Think this should be put up on the GAA traditions thread under "blind loyalty" and "eternal bitterness". The Tyrone lads are on shaky ground defending Canavan, it's hardly so false and damaging to his reputation that it demands such die-hard defence, if it was any other county player or even a lesser known tyrone player you'd say "ahh yeah, twas a bit of a dive all-right".

And for those who are so quick to label Canavan a "cheat/ diver/ coward", you wouldn't be as quick but for the fact Canavan is one of the most successful FF's or the modern game and put your beloved teams on yer hole on more than one occasion. Success breeds contempt lads but no need to display it so clearly. McCarthy got a yellow, didn't get sent off from what I remember so what's the big f**king deal in a match that happened 10 years ago? You think the kerry lads didn't bend the rules, engineer a free or have some off the ball digs over the course of the match? Get a grip.

Typically GAA can't see the wood for the f**king trees. Whilst we should be discussing Jordan's actions, O'Mahoney's and McGuigan's all the focus is on a debatable issue that didn't make 1 f**king difference. But then, it is a easy way to wind some-one up, Raison d'être for the board I suppose.  ::)

Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 11, 2012, 11:06:50 AM
Bollix, if you bang your head at home in the kitchen, you don't throw yourself on the floor and roll around screaming..ffs it was a dive.

Bollix, if you ran towards a cupboard in your kitchen and it suddenly opened and hit you on the head, and you had a grass floor in your kitchen, you might very well feel like lying down and having a roll or two!  :P ;)

Feckitt

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Legendary Post.  Fear on Strath Ban, take a bow!

shawshank

As Brolly says, and he is correct, if he was a hurling man, whether you think it was a dive or not against Kerry, he would lost all credibility

:D Very good Dinny, spot on assessment. Hard to believe blood was drawn from that "coming together".

2003 was the turning point for me. Left Casement after the Derry Tyrone game, annoyed at the result obviously, but disgusted by the constant diving and throwing themselves to the ground looking handy frees from Tyrone...half a dozen Id say in the 1st half alone. Slightest touch, down. They got away with it and continued it throughout the championship, it worked and still works. Time to call a spade a spade and stop defending this carry on. A Derry man dives, he's a cheat, simple. Cork men, Carlow etc...needs to be eradicated from the game now.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 11, 2012, 11:23:10 AM

Bollix, if you ran towards a cupboard in your kitchen and it suddenly opened and hit you on the head, and you had a grass floor in your kitchen, you might very well feel like lying down and having a roll or two!  :P ;)

Damn right!!

Quote from: J OGorman on May 11, 2012, 12:18:22 PM
2003 was the turning point for me. Left Casement after the Derry Tyrone game, annoyed at the result obviously, but disgusted by the constant diving and throwing themselves to the ground looking handy frees from Tyrone...half a dozen Id say in the 1st half alone. Slightest touch, down. They got away with it and continued it throughout the championship, it worked and still works. Time to call a spade a spade and stop defending this carry on. A Derry man dives, he's a cheat, simple. Cork men, Carlow etc...needs to be eradicated from the game now.

Mulligan's display against Antrim in 2003 with regard to diving was also pretty special...