Good beer/drink and wheres best to get it??

Started by HiMucker, April 22, 2011, 11:45:12 AM

HiMucker

Apologies if a thread has already been started for this but i wasnt for trawling through to find it!
I was in Manchester last weeknd for the fight, and stumbled (literally) across a beer that i want to add to my locker.  Its called Desperado, its a french beer 330ml bottles and is 6%.  I tell ye it is rocket juice and nice also.  Refreshing like Sol or Corona.  I have def seen it about in Ireland and im looking to purchase a few for the BBQ this weekend.  Were would be best value to get them?

Overthebar!

not sure where in terms of off sales though the union in belfast does them 2 for £5 if you are ever about....

Its Good Friday so no Drinking today. And no fecking hang sangwighes or breakfast rolls either !

whiskeysteve

Coincidence city, mucker. Happened to call into a fancy dan offy on the Ormeau road and tried some Desperado a couple weeks back. Thought i'd sing the Eagles hit as I schlonked her.

Its rocket juice cos it has a wee dose of Tequila in it.

I thought it was great after the first couple sips, but then you realise how feckin sweet it is. They must bung the sugar in - far too sweet lad.

The fancy dan offy is the Vinyard on Ormeau Road, was on BBC a while back for CCTV footage of a piss poor attempt at a robbery.

Corona is like Tennants in there, full of fancy dan brew and eclectic clientele
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

HiMucker

Id say your right on the sweetness Steve, but ihad them on my day two rip last week, and they went down a treat.  I would never drink magners on a night out but great for day two scenarios also.  Takes the edge of a bit.  Im dying for a drink now!!

Quote from: HiMucker on April 22, 2011, 12:14:10 PM
Id say your right on the sweetness Steve, but ihad them on my day two rip last week, and they went down a treat.  I would never drink magners on a night out but great for day two scenarios also.  Takes the edge of a bit.  Im dying for a drink now!!

My favourite subject ;D ;D

Had a couple of these last weekend and intend to have another rattle at it this weekend....lovely stuff...discovered it in Sainsburys

http://eng.baltika.ru/brand/2/3/14/7_export.html

Might also be worth checking out this thread....

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10247.0

Ulick

Quote from: Kerry Mike on April 22, 2011, 12:00:00 PM
Its Good Friday so no Drinking today. And no fecking hang sangwighes or breakfast rolls either !

Opps, being in work like a normal day, I forgot...

Quote from: Kerry Mike on April 22, 2011, 12:00:00 PM

You can hardly classify a friday without beer and red meat as a good friday, sounds more like a shite friday, BBQ anyone, nature has sent us a glorious day.

HiMucker

Quote from: 5 Sams on April 22, 2011, 12:28:17 PM

Had a couple of these last weekend and intend to have another rattle at it this weekend....lovely stuff...discovered it in Sainsburys

Good stuff 5sams il be trying that baltika  :)

Saw some of that Baltika stuff at a very good price in a good offy in Finglas (Ice Box in Charlestown Centre) last week but thought cos it was so cheap that it might be muck. Must keep an eye out for it. Tried some 7.2% Okocim instead. It was nice enough when it was cold but disimproved as I went on - not a good sign. Normally go for some Budvar/1795/Spaten there at 5 for €10 which is good value. Feck it I love beer.

I always thought of Desperado as a cross between beer and an alcopop and a bit girlie...

I drink it in France and def love it but it tastes more of lime than tequila.

HiMucker

Tried the Baltika at the weekend.  Good shout