Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on April 07, 2007, 09:10:28 AM

Title: Backing Nags
Post by: Bud Wiser on April 07, 2007, 09:10:28 AM
Has anyone any idea how to get around this problem?  If one of us has a cert posting it here seems to be a problem and last week a nag tumbled from 16/1 down to 6/1.  An eejit down the road went around all the pubs telling everyone like he owned the horse, not that I am sorry for the bookies or anything but it kinda slashed the odds.

Posting at the last hour is no use either because the odds can be slashed on the course. Hiding a tip in an unassociated thread means punters like O'Neill with loads of money might not get to see it unless he is interested in that particular thread.

Is it acceptable to mail tips to those who backed last weeks nag or is this seen as spam?

Is anyone from the DB going to the Punchestown Festival?
Title: Re: Backing Nags
Post by: Square Ball on April 07, 2007, 09:53:42 AM
E-mail would be the way to go Bud, do think it would be seen as spam if it was sent to say 10-15 people at a time, I am in a distribution list of 50 for my club and all these are let in by my provider.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 07, 2007, 11:28:25 AM
Have ye got another tip Bud??  :o
Post by: Bogball XV on April 07, 2007, 11:49:03 AM
tbh bud, (i forgot all about last weeks tip btw - heard the result on the radio and silently swore repeatedly to myself)
I don't think that the post on here are what makes the price move, as you no doubt know - there's a pile more money going on those horses than will ever be coming from the likes of us small punters - additionally, many people (if they've any sense) pay little or no heed to tips, because as you know if search long enough, every horse in a race will be tipped somewhere, so if somebody comes along and tells me "yer man on the gaa board reckons x will win today at 20/1", I'll say "right, how does he know, has he a record of giving decent tips.....", basically, unless I'll have a look at the horse too and if you've got a decent track record (as you undoubtedly have now), i'll think about it.
So what's this tip today??
Post by: Hardy on April 07, 2007, 11:56:16 AM
It's not spam if you opt in. And Bud, if you're going to email me another Controvento, I DEFINITELY OPT IN!

Hardyarse at hotmail dot com.

PM would be easier.

Anyway Bud, get on yourself first and let the rest of us take our chances. 6/1 is a good alternative to nothing, even if it could have been 16/1.
Post by: Smokin Joe on April 07, 2007, 11:58:57 AM
Bud,
I don't think the fact the horse was put up here caused the price to shorten so much.  I wouldn't think this board would have the critical mass of punter here to move the price like that.

As Hardy says, you place your bet (get your price) and stick it up here.  If it shortens then, so what.  The rest of us will be thankful for a winner no matter what the price is.
Post by: Bud Wiser on April 07, 2007, 12:42:20 PM
Ther's one going today at Kempton, 3.20 and it is worth a small each way bet.  By that I mean it is not as sure a thing as the last one.  Have a small flutter, say a few pound each way on "All The Good" and hopefully Mike Channon and the English will have a long face at the end of the race.  It is not in the betting so should be around 12/1 as it is 12/1 the rest at the moment.  Go easy on it.
Post by: Square Ball on April 07, 2007, 01:08:47 PM
cheers Bud

I will have a few quid each way.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 07, 2007, 01:19:44 PM
Not a horse tip but i thought i just tell ye about the accumulator  i put on for the weekend a 10euro bet will return around 130euro with paddypower

Laois to beat Kildare
Liverpool to beat Reading
Dublin to beat Kerry
Sunderland to beat Wolves

Post by: Uladh on April 07, 2007, 02:58:33 PM

Didn't get last weeks bud but took piece of this one.

while you're on it LL... why are the dubs so overwhelming favourites to beat kerry this sunday, even with the bookies?
Post by: The Gs Man on April 07, 2007, 03:21:46 PM
Go on ALL THE GOOD!!!!  And they're off....
Post by: Hardy on April 07, 2007, 03:26:15 PM
No luck in running. Reared up at the start and found himself well back in the field, and then was taken wide on the first turn. Eventually settled and came strongly in the last two furlongs, but had to negotiate a lot of horses going backwards. Finished about fifth, five or six lengths back, gaining all the time.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 07, 2007, 05:26:04 PM
Quote from: Uladh on April 07, 2007, 02:58:33 PM

Didn't get last weeks bud but took piece of this one.

while you're on it LL... why are the dubs so overwhelming favourites to beat kerry this sunday, even with the bookies

Not sure Uladh maybe because the Jackeens are at home?
Anyway for anyone who took the bet
Liverpool won
Sunderland won
so two down two to go :-X
Post by: ONeill on April 07, 2007, 08:39:37 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on April 07, 2007, 09:10:28 AM
Has anyone any idea how to get around this problem?  If one of us has a cert posting it here seems to be a problem and last week a nag tumbled from 16/1 down to 6/1.  An eejit down the road went around all the pubs telling everyone like he owned the horse, not that I am sorry for the bookies or anything but it kinda slashed the odds.

Posting at the last hour is no use either because the odds can be slashed on the course. Hiding a tip in an unassociated thread means punters like O'Neill with loads of money might not get to see it unless he is interested in that particular thread.

Is it acceptable to mail tips to those who backed last weeks nag or is this seen as spam?

Is anyone from the DB going to the Punchestown Festival?

No, you're right. Hide it in an associated thread. All we have to do is look at your recent posts now and again, And we'd all feel like Annica Rice. Or the Crystal Maze.
Post by: Bud Wiser on April 10, 2007, 01:03:25 PM
He said he got blocked in !  Anyway, I didn't have that much faith in the nag so I hope a lot of money wasn't lost.

Manilou was supposed to do a trot out today in Fairyhouse (4.30) but refuses to come out of his stable claiming he has a boil on his foot.  He will be going directly into his first outing at Punchestown Festival so I don't know what is happening.
Post by: Lecale2 on April 11, 2007, 04:03:12 PM
Got word for Kayf Aramis at Bath.
Post by: Square Ball on April 11, 2007, 04:06:03 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on April 11, 2007, 04:03:12 PM
Got word for Kayf Aramis at Bath.

sitting at 11/4
Post by: Square Ball on April 11, 2007, 04:42:33 PM
BATH 4:30 
1st   5   Dark Parade (ARG)   4/1  Winning jockey J P Spencer
Trainer P D Evans
Owner Mr N J Jones

2nd   3   Cantabilly (IRE)   4/1 
6 Ran 

Post by: Longfordian on April 20, 2007, 11:53:56 AM
Thought Id post these tips from Late night live on Newstalk on Thurs nights ...2 different sets of tips from Mr Patrick Power and some other head....text them your address and they'll mail them to you .....

1st Set
Friday Ayre                                   
2.20 Otto des Pictons
2.50 Ange de Billez
4.35 Locksmith

Limerick
2.40 Crazy Volume
3.50 Laragh Hill

Newbury
2.10 Escape Route
2.40 Green Manilishi

Saturday Ayre
2.25 L'antatique
2.55 Arkayla
2.35 Nine sivola

Newbury
2.40 Plumb Pudding
3.50 Silca Shaiave

2nd Set

Fri Newbury
2.10 – escape route
4.15 – Spanish ace

Fri Limerick
3.15 – out of the red
4.20 – Apollo run

Sat Ayr
3.35 (scotish grand national)  1st ninedesivola,
                                Parcels legacy
                                (outsider) new story
2.25 Ayr – my way desoltzen
2.55 Ayr – fleet street
4.40 Ayr – pearl king

Sat Newbury                                   
3..15 – boscabell

Sun GAA treble
Donegal, Monaghan, Cavan

For the Snooker – Ken Doherty 20/1
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2007, 05:16:20 PM
Liverpool
Chelsea
Laois U/21's
Sunderland

10euro bet will get you 125euro
Post by: harps2002champs on April 23, 2007, 03:27:23 PM
harps counsel 5.30 at hexton must be a sure thing with a name like that  ;)
Post by: Candyman on April 23, 2007, 03:34:49 PM
its an outsider with only 2 runs... :-\
Armagh South should have been a good thing but its declared as a non-runner???? any1 confirm this... >:(
Post by: SlimShady on April 23, 2007, 03:35:43 PM
if its been declared a non-runner why do you need confirmation?
Post by: Candyman on April 23, 2007, 03:36:57 PM
word of mouth, not exactly a reliable source... good enough reason???? ::)
Post by: SlimShady on April 23, 2007, 03:38:26 PM
then see if theres a price available for it and hey presto!!

if it does run it will probably kick the other horses into submission and then piss all round the winners enclosure.
Post by: Candyman on April 23, 2007, 03:40:30 PM
ur some craic hi... obviously if i could check it out i would have done so already!!!! hence the fact im asking for confirmation, cant get on2 betting sites at the moment... :-\
Post by: full back on April 23, 2007, 03:46:11 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 23, 2007, 03:38:26 PM
then see if theres a price available for it and hey presto!!

if it does run it will probably kick the other horses into submission and then piss all round the winners enclosure.

At least it wont steal anything
Post by: jaykay on April 23, 2007, 03:47:58 PM
Wont be doing anything today, non-runner
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 23, 2007, 08:25:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2007, 05:16:20 PM
Liverpool
Chelsea
Laois U/21's
Sunderland

why even post this rubbish
Post by: Louth Exile on April 23, 2007, 08:44:58 PM
Just sat down to watch the punchsetown preview on rte and are they talking about horses? No...
They are dressing Brian Gleeson like a barbie doll.... What has the world come too!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 23, 2007, 11:28:08 PM
Quote from: Jack Dempsey on April 23, 2007, 08:25:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2007, 05:16:20 PM
Liverpool
Chelsea
Laois U/21's
Sunderland

why even post this rubbish

Whats your f**king problem
Title: Bud Wiser
Post by: maddog on April 24, 2007, 09:00:23 AM
Bud, a good while ago you mentioned these 3 for Punchestown

vershoyles lad
Manilou
Roadmaker

Any news?
Post by: maddog on April 24, 2007, 11:37:24 AM
I see your old friend (the equine version of Gareth Gates) is entered tomorrow Bud, no runs for 2 years.
Post by: SlimShady on April 24, 2007, 11:38:55 AM
Stutter is the name lads for those who cant read Maddogs cryptic clues.

You have some cheek on here asking for tips and then being at that craic.
Post by: ONeill on April 24, 2007, 11:44:33 AM
Gees, you're an awful oul p***k Slim.
Post by: SlimShady on April 24, 2007, 11:47:14 AM
oh aye, its all fun and games when you maddog and bud are sharing yer wee tips and keepin them to yourselves- parasite was it you called me?

FTR,

Ashes today, 3.15.
Post by: maddog on April 24, 2007, 11:50:42 AM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 24, 2007, 11:47:14 AM
oh aye, its all fun and games when you maddog and bud are sharing yer wee tips and keepin them to yourselves- parasite was it you called me?

FTR,

Ashes today, 3.15.

Anyone around the board long enough would know exactly who i was on about, and anyone interested enough with half a brain could soon work it out.
Post by: ONeill on April 24, 2007, 11:51:23 AM
Where's maddog's tip?

Gees, you're an awful oul p***k Slim. (Woke up this morning and decided to let loose for two weeks on written and verbal insults when justified. This is only the beginning)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2007, 11:54:55 AM
Marshall Hall
and Aces Four both in  Punchestown not sure what time either are running
Got these tips off a horse trainer in Newbridge yesterday
Post by: SlimShady on April 24, 2007, 11:57:12 AM
it wasnt a tip, but it was the last time it ran. why not just say 'Stutter'? f**k sake its not difficult.

Gees your an oul p***k? not great at the insults Shane, using the same one twice in 2 posts.

I'm an oul p***k younger than you as well.  ;)

I got a tip for Aces Four at Aintree (and before anyone starts, i gave it to one poster on here who duly backed it as i was at the race and had no PC)
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 24, 2007, 12:03:36 PM
Marshall hall is going against Buds Manilou.

Struggling to pick a fancy few today, why do so many horse run in Irish races. so Im going to the bookies at 1pm, the next 4 four horses tipped here I'll put in a lucky 15, for a bit of crack, go on do your worst.
Post by: SlimShady on April 24, 2007, 12:04:27 PM
Our Ben EW  ;)
Post by: maddog on April 24, 2007, 12:07:40 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 24, 2007, 11:57:12 AM
it wasnt a tip, but it was the last time it ran. why not just say 'Stutter'? f**k sake its not difficult.

Gees your an oul p***k? not great at the insults Shane, using the same one twice in 2 posts.

I'm an oul p***k younger than you as well.  ;)

I got a tip for Aces Four at Aintree (and before anyone starts, i gave it to one poster on here who duly backed it as i was at the race and had no PC)

Take a tablet slim
Post by: SlimShady on April 24, 2007, 12:08:54 PM
go f**k yourself maddog.
Post by: ONeill on April 24, 2007, 12:24:10 PM
Going by the Ulster Club Championship footage it's a case of Fat-Boy Slim.
Post by: Hardy on April 24, 2007, 12:58:39 PM
Emotional Article fancied in the 3:30. Owners confident. Has shortened from 14.5 to 10.5 on Betfair this morning.

(Edit)
Well sorry about that. Owners' confidence badly misplaced, it seems and a lot of their money wasted. Hope nobody here backed it.
Post by: Lecale2 on April 25, 2007, 08:41:20 AM
Quote from: Hardy on April 24, 2007, 12:58:39 PM
Emotional Article fancied in the 3:30. Owners confident. Has shortened from 14.5 to 10.5 on Betfair this morning.

(Edit)
Well sorry about that. Owners' confidence badly misplaced, it seems and a lot of their money wasted. Hope nobody here backed it.

£5 EW. Nothing to cry about. It nver got going at all.
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 25, 2007, 02:41:05 PM
sTUTTER 20/1