GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tonto1888 on October 26, 2020, 07:13:26 PM

Title: Armagh v Derry November 1st
Post by: tonto1888 on October 26, 2020, 07:13:26 PM
What we reckon? Hopefully Armagh can continue with the momentum of getting to division one and run out handy winners. More like scenario is it'll be very tight with us giving away a lot of trees and hopefully scraping over the line
Title: Re: Armagh v Derry November 1st
Post by: omochain on October 26, 2020, 07:36:48 PM
Thanks to GAAgo I have been able to see enough games for once to make a reasonable assessment of Armagh's chances in the game against Derry. In fact I watched a fair bit of the Offaly/Derry game last night. Your post is bang on Kemosabe.
Post by: APM on October 26, 2020, 08:27:32 PM
Armagh really struggled against Fermanagh the way they were set up under Rory Gallagher.  I can see next Sunday being the same.  One of the worst Armagh performances and one of the worst games I've ever watched was Armagh Fermanagh in the 2018 league. Armagh really couldn't work out how to get through the blanket that day.  The following year in the league, I thought they had Fermanagh and the Gallagher system figured out, but that will count for nothing on Sunday. 

I presume Gallagher has Derry set up the same way?  He surely has more to work with in Derry so if he has them well organised, then I would expect Armagh to struggle. On the flipside, for a new manager in his first season, the lack of any momentum might mean that Gallagher mightn't get that first season bounce. Derry certainly didn't bounce out of Division 3.  At least Armagh look to be improving, albeit playing in patches.  Long distance scores from the O'Neills plus a couple of 45s could make all the difference. 

Post by: smelmoth on October 26, 2020, 08:50:09 PM
Please, please, please let there be none of Gallagher's normal football. I haven't seen Derry in the league so I have no idea how they are set up. What I do know is that his Fermanagh playing set up was  anti-football. It's a disease on the eyes and corrosive to the soul. I can't see the Derry fans or clubs tolerating it.

To be honest I feel sorry for any squad being drilled that way. Especially with no back door. If they lose  playing that way (and I'm not saying that's a given) they don't get their months of that training back
Post by: JoG2 on October 26, 2020, 09:13:20 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on October 26, 2020, 08:50:09 PM
Please, please, please let there be none of Gallagher's normal football. I haven't seen Derry in the league so I have no idea how they are set up. What I do know is that his Fermanagh playing set up was  anti-football. It's a disease on the eyes and corrosive to the soul. I can't see the Derry fans or clubs tolerating it.

To be honest I feel sorry for any squad being drilled that way. Especially with no back door. If they lose  playing that way (and I'm not saying that's a given) they don't get their months of that training back

Derry are setup like pretty much of every other county in the country.

I think we've improved defensively under Gallagher and have a couple of potent inside forwards. Hopefully a very tight competitive game. Would be some shot in the arm for our men to get over the line on Sunday at this stage of the team's development

Post by: lenny on October 26, 2020, 10:01:23 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 26, 2020, 09:13:20 PM

I think we've improved defensively under Gallagher and have a couple of potent inside forwards. Hopefully a very tight competitive game. Would be some shot in the arm for our men to get over the line on Sunday at this stage of the team's development

Armagh got promoted from division 2, Derry failed to get promoted from division 3. That's where the 2 teams are at. Derry might hold Armagh close for around 50 minutes but you'd expect Armagh to pull away and win by 6 or 7 points. Hope I'm wrong.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 27, 2020, 12:56:37 AM
Armagh should win by at least 5 points.
Post by: Seaney on October 27, 2020, 08:04:11 AM
Is this on GAAGO, my wee lad who is more clued in than me says it's being streamed on BBC, feck knows how he knows that! -

Edit - Just checked armagh twitter and it states it is being streamed on BBC.  ;D
Post by: Seaney on October 27, 2020, 08:06:54 AM
What is the story with Jemar, has he just dropped out of favour, I always thought him and McElroy brought a bit of attacking threat.
Post by: theticklemister on October 27, 2020, 09:14:50 AM
Quote from: Seaney on October 27, 2020, 08:04:11 AM
Is this on GAAGO, my wee lad who is more clued in than me says it's being streamed on BBC, feck knows how he knows that! -

Edit - Just checked armagh twitter and it states it is being streamed on BBC.  ;D

Your son knows more about the GAA than you
Post by: LCohen on October 27, 2020, 12:23:36 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 26, 2020, 09:13:20 PM

I'm no fan of the Fermanagh set up under RG either. In addition to the ultra defensive set up there was not only an aversion to kicking the ball but the attacking game plan was essentially to win frees. Awful to watch and probably the most cynical approach to winning frees I have ever seen. Hopefully Derry football doesn't succumb to that shite
Post by: 5times5times on October 27, 2020, 01:02:59 PM
What we thinking for match-ups?

R.Oneill v McKagiue?
Forker v McGuigan?
Burns v Glass?
Campbell v Rodgers?

Armagh without Donaghy & Murnin are 2 massive misses
Post by: Angelo on October 27, 2020, 03:06:18 PM
Is Danny Heavron back with Derry?
Post by: toby47 on October 27, 2020, 03:30:36 PM
Quote from: Angelo on October 27, 2020, 03:06:18 PM
Is Danny Heavron back with Derry?

No - despite Gallagher's best efforts
Post by: tbrick18 on October 27, 2020, 03:43:52 PM
Armagh are rightly favourites for this.
But, Derry just missed out on Div 2 by the skin of their teeth with Down getting 2 points handed to them in a walkover and going up on the head to head.
Derry have a solid defence and a young athletic side with a couple of dangerous forwards.
We will probably struggle physically though.
I think it will be tighter than most think, but unfortunately I expect Armagh to go through.
But, it championship and it's knock out, so we can always dream.
Post by: illdecide on October 28, 2020, 10:52:47 AM
I think this game could be a lot closer than most people think, I hope (more than expect)Armagh to win by 2-3 pts but as we all know anything could happen. Celtic Pk is a hard place to go and win in no matter the form of Derry, as someone stated there Derry could easily have went up in the place of Down and are not that for off it. What about a draw and extra time? I really feel this could be that tight TBH.
Don't know anything about Derry as they've been under the radar lately so it's hard to know what to expect from them but what i do know is they've some exceptional footballers there and i for one am not expecting an easy ride here...Looking forward to it all the same.

Armagh to win by 4pts (after extra time)
Post by: theticklemister on October 28, 2020, 11:14:22 AM
I remember in 1999 when Armagh won their Ulster  in 17 years. The sheer joy on Jarlath Burns' face when he lifted the Anglo -Celt has been forever etched in my mind. Armagh danced in Clones that day and fair dues to them.

Now it's been 22 years since Derry lifted Ulster and I can't remember a time that we have been so far away. I'm just thinking if we win Ulster would there be the same outpouring of emotion - likely not.
Post by: screenexile on October 28, 2020, 11:27:27 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 28, 2020, 11:14:22 AM
I remember in 1999 when Armagh won their Ulster  in 17 years. The sheer joy on Jarlath Burns' face when he lifted the Anglo -Celt has been forever etched in my mind. Armagh danced in Clones that day and fair dues to them.

Now it's been 22 years since Derry lifted Ulster and I can't remember a time that we have been so far away. I'm just thinking if we win Ulster would there be the same outpouring of emotion - likely not.

That one stings... Missed a penalty and Downey getting nailed by the ref for a perfectly timed shoulder that resulted in the winning free for McConville.

Thems the breaks!
Post by: theticklemister on October 28, 2020, 11:45:46 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 28, 2020, 11:27:27 AM

That one stings... Missed a penalty and Downey getting nailed by the ref for a perfectly timed shoulder that resulted in the winning free for McConville.

Thems the breaks!

Jesus lad. I was behind the goals at the townside, right in line with that shoulder. To be fair, I was about 100 metres away, but to this day, I remember Downey hitting square on the shoulder with his shoulder. No bodies were blocking my viewpoint. I caused the referee for years on an end. Little did I know, we would never be as closer to an Ulster title in the next 20 years.
Post by: Estimator on October 28, 2020, 01:34:04 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 28, 2020, 11:45:46 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 28, 2020, 11:27:27 AM

Thems the breaks!

Jesus lad. I was behind the goals at the townside, right in line with that shoulder. To be fair, I was about 100 metres away, but to this day, I remember Downey hitting square on  the shoulder with his shoulder. No bodies were blocking my viewpoint. I caused the referee for years on an end. Little did I know, we would never be as closer to an Ulster title in the next 20 years.

In fairness we got the the final the year after (2000) and lost by a point.
Post by: Angelo on October 28, 2020, 02:02:00 PM
The behind closed door nature should suit Derry as they are used to playing with no fans there.
Post by: lurganblue on October 28, 2020, 02:24:33 PM
Armagh will likely put up between 15 and 20 points.  They'll also give away 8/10 scoreable frees.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 28, 2020, 02:59:44 PM
Hard to know where Derry are at, only lost by 1 score to Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh and drew at home to Leitrim. The knock out championship might bring out the best in them and in Rory Gallagher they have a manager that led Fermanagh to the Ulster final two years ago with wins over Armagh and Monaghan.

The last time Armagh gained promotion to Division 1 was 2010, first championship match that year was against Derry which they won by 3 points, history to repeat itself?
Post by: twohands!!! on October 28, 2020, 04:47:03 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 28, 2020, 02:24:33 PM
Armagh will likely put up between 15 and 20 points.  They'll also give away 8/10 scoreable frees.

I don't think it will be a weekend for big scorelines looking at the weather forecast.

On the frees side of things, I'd love to see the stats on the amount of frees, penalties given away, yellows, blacks and reds Armagh have picked up under McGeeney.

I'd be absolutely shocked if Armagh weren't among the worst perfoming counties on this front.

Post by: theticklemister on October 28, 2020, 06:06:49 PM
Quote from: Angelo on October 28, 2020, 02:02:00 PM
The behind closed door nature should suit Derry as they are used to playing with no fans there.

I would argue with you but you are correct
Post by: bennydorano on October 28, 2020, 09:31:46 PM
Armagh best priced at 11/20 with Unibet and Derry widely available at 2/1.

Not known for my optimism, unsurprisingly I fancy Derry, they're never a team I like to play, so much natural talent and now with a fiercely well organised manager like Gallagher I think they'll be very hard beat at home. If Brendan Donaghy is not playing that will be a huge blow, you could drive a bus through our central defensive areas.
Post by: illdecide on October 29, 2020, 01:17:27 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 28, 2020, 09:31:46 PM

Not known for my optimism, unsurprisingly I fancy Derry, they're never a team I like to play, so much natural talent and now with a fiercely well organised manager like Gallagher I think they'll be very hard beat at home. If Brendan Donaghy is not playing that will be a huge blow, you could drive a bus through our central defensive areas.

You're not far off the money there Benny...I don't think there's a big pile between the two teams...Armagh a slight bit ahead of Derry but whatever small advantage that has is taken away with home venue for Derry. Will be tight
Post by: JoG2 on October 29, 2020, 01:24:16 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 29, 2020, 01:17:27 PM

You're not far off the money there Benny...I don't think there's a big pile between the two teams...Armagh a slight bit ahead of Derry but whatever small advantage that has is taken away with home venue for Derry. Will be tight

+ the weather. Very wet the last wee while up here and there doesn't look to much let up until throw in. A hardy battle with very little champagne football on show, goals will be crucial
Post by: tbrick18 on October 29, 2020, 03:16:08 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 29, 2020, 01:24:16 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 29, 2020, 01:17:27 PM

+ the weather. Very wet the last wee while up here and there doesn't look to much let up until throw in. A hardy battle with very little champagne football on show, goals will be crucial

Weather will be important alright. I dont think there's much between the 2 teams but Armagh are just a bit further down the road in their development and have the bit more physicality which I think will see them through.
I hope I'm wrong.
I remember us playing Armagh in Clones and expecting to get beat out the gate but we won with a point from an ecstatic Colly Devlin. Hopefully we can pull it out of the bag. Derry desperately need some good fortune.
Post by: Ed Ricketts on October 29, 2020, 04:13:48 PM
Armagh have a freakishly unbalanced side at the minute. Superb attack, dreadful defence. This adds up to making every match a lottery.

If things click on the day their forward quality could easily carry them to a 10+ points victory, but equally their defence could go walkabout in a 5 or 6 point defeat.

Their discipline is suspect too. It wouldn't be at all surprising to see one of their more influential player not last the full 70.

It should make for an exciting game.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 29, 2020, 04:25:14 PM
Have to say great to see these games as knockout again - like the good old days.

On paper Armagh should win but it will be tight. Looking forward to this.
Post by: LCohen on October 29, 2020, 05:19:20 PM

I still find it weird that prematch analysis includes betting odds. As a complete aside do many have a bet on matches involving their own side or routinely to bigger games?
Post by: LCohen on October 29, 2020, 05:24:22 PM
Quote from: Ed Ricketts on October 29, 2020, 04:13:48 PM
Armagh have a freakishly unbalanced side at the minute. Superb attack, dreadful defence. This adds up to making every match a lottery.

If things click on the day their forward quality could easily carry them to a 10+ points victory, but equally their defence could go walkabout in a 5 or 6 point defeat.

Their discipline is suspect too. It wouldn't be at all surprising to see one of their more influential player not last the full 70.

It should make for an exciting game.
. I think your second point goes a long way to addressing your first point. I thinks or defensive frailties is largely explained by indiscipline in the tackle. That is across the team. It's not that we are a physical or dirty team it's that we have a habit of putting a hand on the back when tackling with the other hand. It's not forceful but creates a bad picture in the ref's mind
Post by: bennydorano on October 29, 2020, 09:03:51 PM
Quote from: LCohen on October 29, 2020, 05:19:20 PM

I still find it weird that prematch analysis includes betting odds. As a complete aside do many have a bet on matches involving their own side or routinely to bigger games?
Primarily it's always a good general indicator of independent views of the matches. I wouldn't go mad on short odds at anytime, some times you see a price and you just know its way off base, they're the ones you want, few and far between tho. Wouldn't touch Armagh at 1/2. If I'd a spare wad of cash I'd do Derry plus the handicap+2 @ Evens. I'll probably just do a handicap accumulator this weekend.
Post by: LCohen on October 29, 2020, 09:18:53 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 29, 2020, 09:03:51 PM

Primarily it's always a good general indicator of independent views of the matches. I wouldn't go mad on short odds at anytime, some times you see a price and you just know its way off base, they're the ones you want, few and far between tho. Wouldn't touch Armagh at 1/2. If I'd a spare wad of cash I'd do Derry plus the handicap+2 @ Evens. I'll probably just do a handicap accumulator this weekend.

I have no idea what any of that means.

I'll watch the football though
Post by: theticklemister on October 29, 2020, 09:31:12 PM
Quote from: LCohen on October 29, 2020, 09:18:53 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 29, 2020, 09:03:51 PM

I have no idea what any of that means.

I'll watch the football though

It means if you dont spend any money you'll be up money
Post by: bennydorano on October 30, 2020, 09:06:34 AM
That's about the height of it ok!

On dirty weekends weather wise generally better to go with the team with the plus handicap too - imo anyway.

Cavan +4 @ 5/4
Carlow +3 @ 1/1
Louth +4 @ 8/11
Clare +1 @ 1/1

£10 on those 4 would return £155.45
Post by: armaghniac on October 30, 2020, 01:08:26 PM
Orange weather warning, surely the wind is behind Armagh on this one.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 31, 2020, 01:13:21 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 30, 2020, 09:06:34 AM
That's about the height of it ok!

On dirty weekends weather wise generally better to go with the team with the plus handicap too - imo anyway.

Cavan +4 @ 5/4
Carlow +3 @ 1/1
Louth +4 @ 8/11
Clare +1 @ 1/1

£10 on those 4 would return £155.45

Whoever wins the toss is a big factor!!
Post by: illdecide on October 31, 2020, 03:43:18 PM
1 (GK)      Blaine Hughes   Blaine Ó hAodha   Naomh Padraig Carraig Chropain
2      Paddy Burns   Pádraig Ó Broin   Peadar O'Doirnin Foirceal
3      Ryan Kennedy   Rian Ó Cinnéide   Na Cloigthithe Baile Mhic an Aba
4      James Morgan   Séamus Ó Muireagáin   Raonaithe Na Croise
5      Conor O'Neill   Conchúr O'Niell   Naomh Moinna Cill Sleibhe
6      Aidan Forker   Aodhán Mac Fearchair   An Machaire
7      Mark Shields   Marcas Ó Siail   An Chrois Bhán
8      Oisin O'Neill   Oisín Ó Néill   Raonaithe Na Croise
9      Stephen Sheridan   Stiofán Ó Síreadáin   Peadar O'Doirnin Foirceal
10      Rory Grugan   Ruairí Ó Gruagáin   Na Cloigthithe Baile Mhic an Aba
11      Callum Cumiskey   Colm Mac Cumascaigh   Raonaithe Na Croise
12      Stefan Campbell   Stefan Mac Cathmhaoil   An Lorgáin Clan na Gael
13      Jamie Clarke   Séimí Mac Cléirigh   Gaeil Neasden
14      Rian O'Neill   Rian Ó Néill   Raonaithe Na Croise
15      Niall Grimley   Niall ó Garmaile   Na Ropari Na Madain
Post by: illdecide on October 31, 2020, 03:48:26 PM
I'll assume N Grimley will play out around the middle as a 3rd midfielder...I'll also assume M Shields will pick up a specific Derry player but where will Callum Cumiskey play (if he even starts)
Post by: restorepride on October 31, 2020, 05:25:53 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 28, 2020, 06:06:49 PM

Rest assured that the South Doire lads will not roll over as easy for tickling as tickle!   A cheap shot from Doctor Angelo - is he not busy making a balls of a pandemic?
Ard Mhacha are rightly favourites and it will take a huge effort from Doire to win.  They will struggle with physicality, especially if they take the ball into the tackle too often, however they do have a bit of pace on the counter.  Grugan for me is the one to absolutely man-mark - Doire might just sacrifice someone to that job - maybe Glass, if he doesn't pick up one of the O'Neills.   Overall I think that Ard Mhacha have more scoring options and have been playing consistently at a higher level than Doire.  Free taking will be crucial and Ard Mhacha again hold the advantage there although with Niall Loughlin back, Doire should be more balanced in that department.  If Ard Mhacha push up, as I expect them to do, on Doire's kickouts, then Doire could struggle to gain primary possession.  Anyhow, here's to a good game! 
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 31, 2020, 05:46:53 PM
You'd expect Ard Macha to win right enough, but today's result shows there should be no complacency anymore.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 31, 2020, 07:45:52 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ElqBHR4XgAcWDUZ?format=jpg&name=medium)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ElqBGOCW0AAiCMT?format=jpg&name=900x900)
Post by: Armamike on October 31, 2020, 08:03:28 PM
50 50 game.
Post by: JoG2 on October 31, 2020, 08:14:31 PM
Quote from: restorepride on October 31, 2020, 05:25:53 PM

Rest assured that the South Doire lads will not roll over as easy for tickling as tickle!   A cheap shot from Doctor Angelo - is he not busy making a balls of a pandemic?
Ard Mhacha are rightly favourites and it will take a huge effort from Doire to win.  They will struggle with physicality, especially if they take the ball into the tackle too often, however they do have a bit of pace on the counter.  Grugan for me is the one to absolutely man-mark - Doire might just sacrifice someone to that job - maybe Glass, if he doesn't pick up one of the O'Neills.   Overall I think that Ard Mhacha have more scoring options and have been playing consistently at a higher level than Doire.  Free taking will be crucial and Ard Mhacha again hold the advantage there although with Niall Loughlin back, Doire should be more balanced in that department.  If Ard Mhacha push up, as I expect them to do, on Doire's kickouts, then Doire could struggle to gain primary possession.  Anyhow, here's to a good game!

Emmmm, pointing out other poster's cheap shots??
Post by: BennyCake on October 31, 2020, 08:15:10 PM
It's going to be a hard watch. Derry will have 74 players behind the ball.

Derry 0-8 Armagh 0-11
Post by: Blowitupref on October 31, 2020, 08:19:27 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 31, 2020, 08:15:10 PM
It's going to be a hard watch. Derry will have 74 players behind the ball.

Derry 0-8 Armagh 0-11

Should win by a bit to spare if they have that many players on the field.
Post by: restorepride on October 31, 2020, 10:48:56 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 31, 2020, 08:14:31 PM

Yes.  Why not? 
Post by: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 10:04:43 AM
Quote from: restorepride on October 31, 2020, 10:48:56 PM

Yes.  Why not?

The reason we have f**k all supporters at games is down to youse boys in south Derry who don't travel.

Anyway, good luck to all the north Derry men today.
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 01, 2020, 10:13:59 AM
Safe travelling to all.   
Post by: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 11:10:00 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 10:04:43 AM

Yes.  Why not?

The reason we have f**k all supporters at games is down to youse boys in south Derry who don't travel.

You agreed with Dr Death Angelo on this board that Derry have 'no fans'.  Spineless and untrue. 
Post by: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 03:22:13 PM
Getting really nervous about this game now. Weather is bad and could suit Derry better TBH, this is gonna be tight.
Post by: Estimator on November 01, 2020, 04:04:27 PM
No pressure on Grugan at all when he took that shot.
Post by: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 04:12:10 PM
Quote from: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 11:10:00 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 10:04:43 AM

Yes.  Why not?

You agreed with Dr Death Angelo on this board that Derry have 'no fans'.  Spineless and untrue.
f**k lad, every man and his dog knows we have shite support.
Post by: screenexile on November 01, 2020, 04:17:48 PM
Derry in bother here!!
Post by: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 04:19:46 PM
Conditions look better than in Ballybofey earlier, but me dad stuck his head out the windy and rung me to tell me the wind is wile.
Post by: armaghniac on November 01, 2020, 04:20:12 PM
Jamie Clarke more like the Jamie of old.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 01, 2020, 04:21:10 PM
Armagh in control thus far. Grugan, Clarke and Og Burns showing well.
Post by: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 04:27:47 PM
I expected our defense to be more packed
Post by: Estimator on November 01, 2020, 04:30:12 PM
Need to run at the Armagh defence a lot more. Draw a few fouls/cards. Management clearly didn't watch the Armagh/Roscommon game.
Post by: Rudi on November 01, 2020, 04:39:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 01, 2020, 04:32:18 PM
Too busy spitting on his hands. Odd behaviour.

Tis rare behaviour, a habit he could do with dropping particularly in the era we're living in.
Post by: BennyCake on November 01, 2020, 04:41:09 PM
Quote from: Rudi on November 01, 2020, 04:39:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 01, 2020, 04:32:18 PM
Too busy spitting on his hands. Odd behaviour.

Tis rare behaviour, a habit he could do with dropping particularly in the era we're living in.

Every time I see him do that I think he's going to grab a spade afterwards.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 01, 2020, 04:41:20 PM
So far so good for Armagh however Derry have the wind now and Armagh are known for taking naps during games.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 01, 2020, 05:09:31 PM
Soft frees keeping Derry in it.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 01, 2020, 05:16:23 PM
Armagh on nap mode. If they don't wake up soon Derry will be in front.
Post by: screenexile on November 01, 2020, 05:21:20 PM
Too many bad decisions from Derry this game is there for us if we're patient and take the right option!!

Donegal will hardly be too worried either way though.
Post by: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 05:23:15 PM
Both sides in last ten minutes can't hit a barn door
Post by: Seaney on November 01, 2020, 05:27:54 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 05:23:15 PM

Understatement, if Derry could shoot it would be over.
Post by: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 05:31:10 PM
Quote from: Seaney on November 01, 2020, 05:27:54 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 01, 2020, 05:23:15 PM

Understatement, if Derry could shoot it would be over.

There will be accurate shots a few streets away likely than there has been by that Derry forward line
Post by: Seaney on November 01, 2020, 05:36:43 PM
Donegal will be planning for the final.
Post by: Rudi on November 01, 2020, 05:38:28 PM
Armagh make hard work of a game they should have won comfortably. Some fine players but dont seem to push on.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 01, 2020, 05:38:41 PM
Best team won the 6 point lead at half time was key. On the evidence of today Armagh will be lucky to get within 6 points of Donegal.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 01, 2020, 05:39:13 PM
We like to make things hard for ourselves
Post by: lenny on November 01, 2020, 05:39:23 PM
Quote from: Seaney on November 01, 2020, 05:36:43 PM
Donegal will be planning for the final.

Well done to Armagh, slightly better on the day.
Post by: currychip on November 01, 2020, 05:39:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 01, 2020, 05:09:31 PM

You can't be serious.  That last free for Armagh was for what?  Killed any chance Derry could go up the field and get an equalising score. 
Post by: Estimator on November 01, 2020, 05:44:02 PM
Armagh tackling was poor throughout. Playing the man rather than the ball. Derry should have made more of that. Direct running would've put them under more pressure. Unfortunately Derry missed a few chances when Clarke was in the bin.
Post by: JoG2 on November 01, 2020, 05:44:27 PM
Quote from: currychip on November 01, 2020, 05:39:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 01, 2020, 05:09:31 PM

You can't be serious.  That last free for Armagh was for what?  Killed any chance Derry could go up the field and get an equalising score.

Poor call by the ref at the end to be fair. Hurson done rightly today imo. Poor shot choice cost us in the end. Definite signs of improvement. Thanks to the Derry players and management and good luck to Armagh in the semi
Post by: screenexile on November 01, 2020, 05:48:44 PM
One that got away Derry definitely had chances to win that game. Not to say we were the better side Armagh were probably slightly better in the first half but you'd have to be disappointed with our decision making up front interns of balls given away and poor shot selection.
Post by: Mario on November 01, 2020, 06:07:07 PM
Quote from: Estimator on November 01, 2020, 05:44:02 PM
Armagh tackling was poor throughout. Playing the man rather than the ball. Derry should have made more of that. Direct running would've put them under more pressure. Unfortunately Derry missed a few chances when Clarke was in the bin.
This is were the game was lost unfortunately. Nothing between the teams really.
Post by: Main Street on November 01, 2020, 06:14:59 PM
No team deserved the win but Derry will rue throwing it away.
Post by: omochain on November 01, 2020, 06:17:47 PM
We never make it easy. In truth 1 to 15 we are not good enough to win easy. This game fell into the familiar pattern for us.. Good going forward, steady enough round the middle but very average in defense. We can score enough but our poor tackling and our propensity to give away cheap frees in the score zone will make every game a nail biter.
I think Grugan deservedly Man of the Match; he is maturing into a great player. He has added strength to his technique, football IQ and vision. Like the rest of them he could do a bit of work on his tackling.
If we work harder to keep the game in the opposing half, we can give anybody a game.
Post by: Solo_run on November 01, 2020, 06:29:20 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 01, 2020, 06:14:59 PM
No team deserved the win but Derry will rue throwing it away.

What?!
Post by: bennydorano on November 01, 2020, 06:29:44 PM
Armagh have to be happy enough with that win, I thought we looked composed in possession when the chips were down, Derry missed scores but thems the breaks. I was impressed with Ryan kennedy today, thought he'd a very good game and it was late on before I'd even realised Brendan Donaghy wasn't gonna feature, with Donaghy & Murnin hopefully to come in we can push on and give Donegal a rattle. Grugan had a great first half, but my MOTM would have been Jamie Clarke, looked brutal in the 2 league games but really turned it on today (stupid black card aside). The 2 O'Neills were hugely influential throughout, Jarly Og had a good steady game as well. Good steady performance overall I thought.
Post by: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 06:34:02 PM

More or less as expected and as stated above (yesterday).  Until Doire get real about Strength and Conditioning we have no chance of making headway in the Ulster Championship.  Has been a problem for a number of years and very evident again today.  At least they made a fight of it, but Ard Mhacha should have out of sight at halftime.  The Ard Mhacha goal chance was a carbon copy of a league goal in the last 2 weeks - as some poster pointed out - obviously not enough homework done.  Fail to prepare and all that ....  Imagine what Dún na nGall would do to Doire at present - 25 points?  Or just send out the better-conditioned and strengthened U21 team?
Post by: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 06:39:58 PM
So the game kinda panned out as most expected...Close game with Armagh pulling through with not much to spare...Derry have some good footballers and are 3-4 short of a real decent outfit, def have good players in core positions. Armagh are decent but are poor in their tackling and Donegal will punish them if they tackle like that...Have we a half a chance against Donegal? How good are they?
Post by: JoG2 on November 01, 2020, 06:44:45 PM
Quote from: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 06:34:02 PM

More or less as expected and as stated above (yesterday).  Until Doire get real about Strength and Conditioning we have no chance of making headway in the Ulster Championship.  Has been a problem for a number of years and very evident again today.  At least they made a fight of it, but Ard Mhacha should have out of sight at halftime.  The Ard Mhacha goal chance was a carbon copy of a league goal in the last 2 weeks - as some poster pointed out - obviously not enough homework done.  Fail to prepare and all that ....  Imagine what Dún na nGall would do to Doire at present - 25 points?  Or just send out the better-conditioned and strengthened U21 team?

What do you suggest those Derry players do S&C wise that they aren't doing? Who isn't in serious condition? Name a few.
That result was down to shot selection, shot execution and maybe a little bit of inexperience, not down to gym work
Post by: Solo_run on November 01, 2020, 06:48:06 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 06:39:58 PM
So the game kinda panned out as most expected...Close game with Armagh pulling through with not much to spare...Derry have some good footballers and are 3-4 short of a real decent outfit, def have good players in core positions. Armagh are decent but are poor in their tackling and Donegal will punish them if they tackle like that...Have we a half a chance against Donegal? How good are they?

I don't think we do but nothing to lose either.
Post by: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 06:53:24 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 01, 2020, 06:44:45 PM
Quote from: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 06:34:02 PM

What do you suggest those Derry players do S&C wise that they aren't doing? Who isn't in serious condition? Name a few.
That result was down to shot selection, shot execution and maybe a little bit of inexperience, not down to gym work
It has been an issue within the squad for a numbers of years and cost us both last year and today, although I do agree with your points re shot execution and selection.  Ard Mhacha should have been out of sight at halftime.  No power to break through tackles - exactly why Lynn and Tallon had no real impact.  It will be a 3-4 year project if we want to win an Ulster Championship match. 
Post by: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 07:03:20 PM
It's not all about S&C...Jamie Clarke is not bursting out of his top with weights. For me players that are a bit limited tend to put more into the gym to compensate but if you're worth your salt at all and can put the ball over the bar with ease then you don't need to be bench pressing 100kg.
I know they all need to have the core fitness and need to have the strength to fend off your opponent but they don't need to be running around like you're carrying two TV's
Post by: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 07:08:58 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 07:03:20 PM
It's not all about S&C...Jamie Clarke is not bursting out of his top with weights. For me players that are a bit limited tend to put more into the gym to compensate but if you're worth your salt at all and can put the ball over the bar with ease then you don't need to be bench pressing 100kg.
I know they all need to have the core fitness and need to have the strength to fend off your opponent but they don't need to be running around like you're carrying two TV's
Did you think Doire were a physical match for Ard Mhacha today?
Post by: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 07:10:42 PM
Yes...Derry weren't bullied out of it. Derry had chances and didn't take them, that's why they lost not because they weren't pumping iron
Post by: lurganblue on November 01, 2020, 07:12:24 PM

As expected then.

Post by: tonto1888 on November 01, 2020, 07:12:51 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 06:39:58 PM

I don't think we have a chance against them but you never know. It's a free hit so hopefully we just go out and play
Post by: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 07:27:35 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 07:10:42 PM
Yes...Derry weren't bullied out of it. Derry had chances and didn't take them, that's why they lost not because they weren't pumping iron
Pumping iron is very different from strength and conditioning. I'll maybe just park it there.  Well done to Ard Mhacha, deserved the victory and good luck v Dún na nGall, Ard Mhacha physically much more prepared for that battle than Doire. 
Post by: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 07:32:03 PM
Quote from: restorepride on November 01, 2020, 07:27:35 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 01, 2020, 07:10:42 PM
Pumping iron is very different from strength and conditioning. I'll maybe just park it there.  Well done to Ard Mhacha, deserved the victory and good luck v Dún na nGall, Ard Mhacha physically much more prepared for that battle than Doire.

Yes, i know it is and didn't mean sarcastically...Maybe Armagh were a bit stronger but genuinely thought Derry weren't bullied nor brushed aside. A few bad wides and few bad decisions at crucial times lost them the game, a game i knew would be close. Good honest game with no dirt and some good long range scores from both sides...I think Derry will go up next year to Div 2 and are going in the right direction.
Post by: twohands!!! on November 01, 2020, 07:40:01 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 01, 2020, 07:12:24 PM

As expected then.

Derry got 10 points from frees - the highest of any of the 18 teams that played this weekend.
Armagh got 5 points from frees.
Post by: balladmaker on November 01, 2020, 07:40:19 PM
As expected, Armagh gave away cheap frees.  As expected they racked up a decent tally of 17 points.  As expected, they could have thrown it away, but all credit to Derry for pushing them to the end.  Donegal a different proposition, but we're there and should just give it one hell of a go, leave it all on the field and that's the best we can do.

The most concerning aspect watching the game today ... during a pandemic ... was Rory Gallagher's continuous spitting into his hands ... WTF.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 01, 2020, 07:50:29 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 01, 2020, 07:40:19 PM
As expected, Armagh gave away cheap frees.  As expected they racked up a decent tally of 17 points.  As expected, they could have thrown it away, but all credit to Derry for pushing them to the end.  Donegal a different proposition, but we're there and should just give it one hell of a go, leave it all on the field and that's the best we can do.

The most concerning aspect watching the game today ... during a pandemic ... was Rory Gallagher's continuous spitting into his hands ... WTF.

He always does that
Post by: marty34 on November 01, 2020, 10:21:11 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 01, 2020, 07:40:19 PM

Derry never looked like winning that game. Very defensive when behind and even in last 10 mins never pushed on and have a go at it.

Armagh, as someone said, are a Div. 1 team and Derry are a Div. 3 team.  Confidence is a big thing.

Where is Jamie Clarke playing his football now?
Post by: tbrick18 on November 02, 2020, 10:39:14 AM

I'd agree with this.
I think it's important, but the difference IMO is the physical size of Derry. We are generally shorter and smaller in stature than a lot of county teams.
That's not to take away from the S&C of those players or their ability....it's just difficult for a player at 5'10" to complete with one at 6'2".
Some of our better players are small(ish). Lynn, McGuigan....the subs we brought on all looked like kids compared to the Armagh subs.
I do think we struggle on the physical size side and that makes it more difficult for us to win primary possession.
Post by: JoG2 on November 02, 2020, 10:56:37 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 02, 2020, 10:39:14 AM

I'd agree with this.
I think it's important, but the difference IMO is the physical size of Derry. We are generally shorter and smaller in stature than a lot of county teams.
That's not to take away from the S&C of those players or their ability....it's just difficult for a player at 5'10" to complete with one at 6'2".
Some of our better players are small(ish). Lynn, McGuigan....the subs we brought on all looked like kids compared to the Armagh subs.
I do think we struggle on the physical size side and that makes it more difficult for us to win primary possession.

Shane McGuigan? Wouldn't describe him as smallish in stature in the slightest . Lynn yes, but yesterday aside he's been our most consistent player for years imo. For his size he can fairly ride a tackle and not cough up possession. Sean Leo had the same knack
Post by: tooolonggg on November 02, 2020, 11:23:43 AM
Shane McGuigan is not small, he is a big unit of a man who was well marked yesterday.
Post by: tbrick18 on November 02, 2020, 11:26:25 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 02, 2020, 10:56:37 AM

I'd agree with this.

Shane McGuigan? Wouldn't describe him as smallish in stature in the slightest . Lynn yes, but yesterday aside he's been our most consistent player for years imo. For his size he can fairly ride a tackle and not cough up possession. Sean Leo had the same knack

I'm not trying to make detrimental comments about any of the players here, and I agree about Lynn and Sean Leo. But if either was marking a man over 6foot they struggle for primary possession and rely more on breaking ball. McGuigan maybe just looked a bit light on TV....
Armagh are physically imposing as are Donegal.

All in all, I'm not too disappointed in the game yesterday. We looked out of it for large parts of the first half but then looked at least on a par for the 2nd half.
Conditions were difficult but both teams have to adjust to that.
Realistically, I don't think either Armagh or Derry will put up a serious challenge to Donegal.

In terms of development, Derry are really at the start. A lot of young players, some championship debuts, probably should have been promoted to Div2 and gave a decent showing in the championship.
We obviously need to work some more on defending but mostly I think we need to work on our MF, half forward areas and that transition between defence and attack. We didnt get enough ball into shooting positions yesterday and that left us shooting from poor positions.
I think that will come given time and the maturing of some of those younger players.
Post by: Rawhide on November 02, 2020, 12:47:24 PM
A decent performance, we could have gotten a draw, we had the chances, but we never looked like we were going to win that game. I didn't expect us to win it before hand. We have made progress on the pitch. We are improved defensively but there is a ceiling with this system. We might get promotion with it but we won't win an Ulster championship with it. Gallagher is correct in that we need to keep a consistent panel together to evolve and develop. The next stage is how do we get the team to move the ball faster with the foot to what is potentially a decent forward line that is emerging. Thats the next part of the puzzle, not staying the same. Loads of young players  being introduced to and getting bulk unto some of them is vital for us to progress against the better teams. No doubt getting that 6:4 ball winning midfielder would be ideal also.
On Lynn, don't rate the guy in championship football at all for us. No doubt he has been consistently good in the league, due to the fitness he has, and as the championship gets closer, you can see his performances drop due to the opposition teams getting fitter towards May. But he has rarely been a significant player for us in championship over along period. However we have very little to push him out over the past 5 years so his place on the team was fair enough.
Post by: Real Talk on November 02, 2020, 04:28:11 PM
Performance was much as expected and we had no errand playing Donegal. 
Why did Grugan get so much freedom on the ball?

Contrast everytime B Rodgers get the ball he does the exact same thing (for Club and County) solo's thirty yards and then gives a 10yrd sideways fist pass ... seldom a penetrating outcome/score,

Ciaran McFall played very well and always wants the ball ... need a few more like him
Post by: theticklemister on November 02, 2020, 04:31:19 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on November 02, 2020, 04:28:11 PM

Contrast everytime B Rodgers get the ball he does the exact same thing (for Club and County) solo's thirty yards and then gives a 10yrd sideways fist pass ... seldom a penetrating outcome/score,

Ciaran McFall played very well and always wants the ball ... need a few more like him

Ideally Rogers would be wingback; but have we someone 6 foot plus to play at full back?
Post by: restorepride on November 02, 2020, 05:28:34 PM
Quote from: Rawhide on November 02, 2020, 12:47:24 PM
A decent performance, we could have gotten a draw, we had the chances, but we never looked like we were going to win that game. I didn't expect us to win it before hand. We have made progress on the pitch. We are improved defensively but there is a ceiling with this system. We might get promotion with it but we won't win an Ulster championship with it. Gallagher is correct in that we need to keep a consistent panel together to evolve and develop. The next stage is how do we get the team to move the ball faster with the foot to what is potentially a decent forward line that is emerging. Thats the next part of the puzzle, not staying the same. Loads of young players  being introduced to and getting bulk unto some of them is vital for us to progress against the better teams. No doubt getting that 6:4 ball winning midfielder would be ideal also.
On Lynn, don't rate the guy in championship football at all for us. No doubt he has been consistently good in the league, due to the fitness he has, and as the championship gets closer, you can see his performances drop due to the opposition teams getting fitter towards May. But he has rarely been a significant player for us in championship over along period. However we have very little to push him out over the past 5 years so his place on the team was fair enough.
Post by: restorepride on November 02, 2020, 05:30:59 PM
Quote from: Rawhide on November 02, 2020, 12:47:24 PM
Would have to unfortunately agree - ultimately seems to lack confidence on the big day, especially in going for scores.
Post by: JoG2 on November 02, 2020, 06:22:04 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 02, 2020, 11:26:25 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 02, 2020, 10:56:37 AM

I'd agree with this.

All in all, I'm not too disappointed in the game yesterday. We looked out of it for large parts of the first half but then looked at least on a par for the 2nd half.
Conditions were difficult but both teams have to adjust to that.
Realistically, I don't think either Armagh or Derry will put up a serious challenge to Donegal.

In terms of development, Derry are really at the start. A lot of young players, some championship debuts, probably should have been promoted to Div2 and gave a decent showing in the championship.
We obviously need to work some more on defending but mostly I think we need to work on our MF, half forward areas and that transition between defence and attack. We didnt get enough ball into shooting positions yesterday and that left us shooting from poor positions.
I think that will come given time and the maturing of some of those younger players.

Agree with all of the above. Almost gaining promotion to the 2nd tier of the league is good base to be starting from.
Post by: restorepride on November 02, 2020, 11:04:33 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on November 02, 2020, 04:28:11 PM

Homework not done.