Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Olly on May 04, 2022, 04:50:38 PM

Title: Mass
Post by: Olly on May 04, 2022, 04:50:38 PM
Dose anyone go to the mass any more? When I was small my mother would have beaten the life out of me even if I was sick and couldn't go or you'd think you were going tto hell. I remember having bad diahorrea one night and because I was a big family I crapped all over my brothers legs as we were in the same bed. She hosed us down and still made us go to mass.

Is mass dying out and who still goes to it or is it as popular as ever? ANd do confessions still happen?
Title: Re: Mass
Post by: Armagh18 on May 04, 2022, 04:54:01 PM
Mass and tay the two hot topics on here at the min!
Post by: J70 on May 04, 2022, 05:00:34 PM
Stopped going the second I was away from home for college. Weddings and funerals of those who value the churches involvement in such things are the only time I'm ever near one now. My own wedding was secular. Neither child is baptized or being brought up with any religious belief.
Post by: thewobbler on May 04, 2022, 05:24:36 PM
Eldest lad had confirmation on Friday past.

Arrived at the chapel for 5.45pm as requested. Service lasted from 6-7.45pm then there were a few group photos.

So because the priest wanted to ensure that everyone got the full ultra-repetitive mass experience as well as the full confirmation experience, all our young families and elderly grandparents were forced to  sit, bored out of their f**king minds, for over two hours.

When someone reviews the demise of the Catholic Church in 50 years time, they'll have an easy synopsis to "reveal": once the Information Age wiped out all the bad eggs in the priest hood, the only ones left behind were those so utterly committed to the catholic mass, that they were unable see its very make up was driving people people away in masses.
Post by: Eire90 on May 04, 2022, 05:25:02 PM
Quote from: Olly on May 04, 2022, 04:50:38 PM
Dose anyone go to the mass any more? When I was small my mother would have beaten the life out of me even if I was sick and couldn't go or you'd think you were going tto hell. I remember having bad diahorrea one night and because I was a big family I crapped all over my brothers legs as we were in the same bed. She hosed us down and still made us go to mass.

Is mass dying out and who still goes to it or is it as popular as ever? ANd do confessions still happen?

The people that use to be the mass police have transform into other types of zealotry
Post by: Eire90 on May 04, 2022, 05:28:07 PM
i wonder if willl ever die out completely within 50 years or is there too many culture religious types who love a big day out just so they can have facebook photos and be nosy and eat a big meal.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 04, 2022, 05:40:43 PM
Only go for funerals and weddings.

"Why did you ever bother going to mass? Was it fear of God, to find a wife, or just buying shares in the afterlife?"

Same Oul Town, Saw Doctors.
Post by: whitey on May 04, 2022, 05:49:16 PM
In the states, Mass lasts an hour at a minimum so trying to keep kids occupied is an absolute nightmare

Attendance was light before Covid, but post Covid there has been a huge decline even from that low point.

One of my guys made his confirmation last week and the  priest was actually calling around checking up on the sponsors....he essentially accused my wife's aunt of lying on her  form which led to a big hullabaloo.

We said that once confirmation was over-we're done

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 04, 2022, 06:10:45 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 04, 2022, 05:24:36 PM

Arrived at the chapel for 5.45pm as requested. Service lasted from 6-7.45pm then there were a few group photos.

So because the priest wanted to ensure that everyone got the full ultra-repetitive mass experience as well as the full confirmation experience, all our young families and elderly grandparents were forced to  sit, bored out of their f**king minds, for over two hours.

When someone reviews the demise of the Catholic Church in 50 years time, they'll have an easy synopsis to "reveal": once the Information Age wiped out all the bad eggs in the priest hood, the only ones left behind were those so utterly committed to the catholic mass, that they were unable see its very make up was driving people people away in masses.

Why get your wain confirmed. Mini wedding ?
Post by: thewobbler on May 04, 2022, 06:21:10 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 04, 2022, 06:10:45 PM

To be honest with you, if I thought the wife would eventually forgive me, I'd excuse the rest of the litter from this ordeal.
Post by: weareros on May 04, 2022, 06:45:49 PM
Went when young to please parents and to see the hot townie girls. Unfortunately that changed when old man learned of a priest in a neighbouring rural parish who was saying mass in 15 minutes and we were packed in car to go there. It was fast but lacked the views. Don't go now or require my own kids.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 04, 2022, 07:00:49 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 04, 2022, 06:21:10 PM

To be honest with you, if I thought the wife would eventually forgive me, I'd excuse the rest of the litter from this ordeal.

Lol. Fair enough. I stopped going to mass bar maybe Easter and Xmas, love it Xmas Eve.

I wuold pick bits and pieces of morals and ethics from different religions and none
Post by: delgany on May 04, 2022, 07:32:48 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 04, 2022, 07:00:49 PM

Quote from: thewobbler on May 04, 2022, 06:21:10 PM

Lol. Fair enough. I stopped going to mass bar maybe Easter and Xmas, love it Xmas Eve.

I wuold pick bits and pieces of morals and ethics from different religions and none

Local primary school in Belfast , 600 kids , about 65% of RC faith background , 25 % other faiths, 10% no faith background .of the 65 % , less than 5% go to the chapel on Sunday.
The church is bucked.
Confession is generally by appointment ! Like ...what a way to put people off !
If sacraments werent in school, it would be all over !
Post by: bennydorano on May 04, 2022, 07:55:15 PM
There's no Religion in me but I'd consider myself spiritual and open minded to faith in it's multiple forms, but the act of Mass itself is just awful. The rote rhyming off, stand up, sit down, kneel... designed for a people who were used to being told what to do, we aren't those people anymore.

My wife is real old school Catholic and I actually admire her faith & if I'm honest im probably a wee bit jealous, I've always thought having a real genuine faith would just make life that bit easier. I've 3 kids in their later teens, no Religion in any of them, RC Church is doomed.
Post by: whitey on May 04, 2022, 08:01:16 PM
https://www.dotnews.com/2022/st-brendan-parishioner-asks-cardinal-keep-beacon-our-faith-gallivan

One of the highest profile parishes in Boston area shutting its doors at the end of the month

Sounds like the "new" parish priest is a real piece of work
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 04, 2022, 08:24:44 PM
Ah the old don't go to mass, don't believe in it but then want buried in the local graveyard at the end, go figure.!
Post by: Hound on May 04, 2022, 08:40:42 PM

Surprised to hear that. 

My kids are 18/19 so it's a while since their communions and confos, but they were far more modern affairs than mine and what you outlined. Very interactive, all about the kids and just a nice mix of entertainment and the holy stuff. Each ceremony over an hour but below 1.5 hours, but time flew.
Not that any of us go to mass since, bar Christmas.
Post by: Rois on May 04, 2022, 09:21:31 PM
I go to mass, but miss stretches at a time. I never feel bad coming out of mass. If the sermon gets too boring or the repetition annoys me, I just retreat into my own thoughts. I love a good choir, but not when they sing every response.

I think the Catholic Church is definitely missing a trick not having a separate children's Sunday School equivalent. I'd also love a "crying chapel" as part of my local church.

Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2022, 09:27:52 PM
Don't go to mass, don't miss it and I'm glad I've an hour on Sunday to do something useful rather than confess all my sins and watch my little kids do the same.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 04, 2022, 09:29:34 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 04, 2022, 09:21:31 PM
I go to mass, but miss stretches at a time. I never feel bad coming out of mass. If the sermon gets too boring or the repetition annoys me, I just retreat into my own thoughts. I love a good choir, but not when they sing every response.

I think the Catholic Church is definitely missing a trick not having a separate children's Sunday School equivalent. I'd also love a "crying chapel" as part of my local church.

Same as that Rois - well was until Covid. Our priest used to have all wrapped up in 40 minutes. He even gave a good practical sermon too.

Since Covid I have only been to family anniversaries and the likes however.
Post by: An Watcher on May 04, 2022, 09:37:02 PM
I go to mass but don't beat myself up if I miss it now and again.  Maybe my view is different but I see mass as part n parcel of being an irishman.  It didn't do me any harm and it won't do my kids any harm either.  Each to their own though
Post by: Olly on May 04, 2022, 09:44:21 PM
Well it did do me harm. I was an altarboy and used to hold the candle for stations of the cross and during boring bits I'd lick the candle wax off the candle when it was lit because it was dripping all over my hands. I now have no feeling in my hands and my tongue is permanently burnt and I can't tell if the tea on the other thread is too warm and have scalded my mouth at least twice a day since. There's no acknowledgement of the dangers altarboys encountered.
Post by: restorepride on May 04, 2022, 11:07:43 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 04, 2022, 09:37:02 PM
I go to mass but don't beat myself up if I miss it now and again.  Maybe my view is different but I see mass as part n parcel of being an irishman.  It didn't do me any harm and it won't do my kids any harm either.  Each to their own though
Not sure that the United Irishmen would agree with your parcel! It is possible to detach nationality from religion - just takes a bit of courage.
Post by: PMG1 on May 05, 2022, 01:42:28 AM
Like to go every week, miss an odd one for football reasons but normally there every Sunday, leave my children to their own choice, they stopped for a while but all back at it now. Attendance has actually picked back up to pre-covid levels
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 05, 2022, 02:09:25 AM
I never miss Mass and really enjoy going. Starting to get more active in volunteering and once a month or so I would help to organize gaeilge Mass's Which always brings a good crowd. My wife is a teacher and is a good speaker so she would do readings occasionally. My oldest is an Altar boy. Our Priests are very traditional and do some of the Mass in Latin pre Vatican two.

Post by: gallsman on May 05, 2022, 08:06:06 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 04, 2022, 09:37:02 PMI see mass as part n parcel of being an irishman.

Yeah, you can shove that bit up your hole.

As the youngest of five, we all used to go to mass every week. The da never went to communion as long as I can remember. When all the abuse stories came out he stopped going altogether. As people left home or we had training/matches that clashed we'd make our own way to mass and would inevitably start bunking off.

Stopped going altogether around 17/18 but would have gone with the mother on Christmas Day to keep her happy. My father stopped going completely 15/20 years ago.

Only go now for weddings, funerals and christenings. Don't know any of the "new" responses.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 05, 2022, 08:31:11 AM
I went until I was about 30 then one day there were american preachers over asking anyone who could feel the holy spirit to go to the altar and there was an uncomfortable 10 or 15 minutes. It honestly put me off a bit. I kept going at christmas with my folks till it has now ended up they come to me rather than I come to them at christmas so I haven't seen the inside of a church in a while. I'm not averse to it but I'm married to a, complete, atheist so there's just never any great desire to go to mass.
Post by: Itchy on May 05, 2022, 08:42:03 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 05, 2022, 08:06:06 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 04, 2022, 09:37:02 PMI see mass as part n parcel of being an irishman.

Yeah, you can shove that bit up your hole.

As the youngest of five, we all used to go to mass every week. The da never went to communion as long as I can remember. When all the abuse stories came out he stopped going altogether. As people left home or we had training/matches that clashed we'd make our own way to mass and would inevitably start bunking off.

Stopped going altogether around 17/18 but would have gone with the mother on Christmas Day to keep her happy. My father stopped going completely 15/20 years ago.

Only go now for weddings, funerals and christenings. Don't know any of the "new" responses.

Thats the population of Ireland halved with one foul swoop. De Valera is long dead An Watcher and thankfully that legacy is slowly crumbling too.
Post by: johnnycool on May 05, 2022, 09:05:27 AM
Quote from: restorepride on May 04, 2022, 11:07:43 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 04, 2022, 09:37:02 PM
Not sure that the United Irishmen would agree with your parcel! It is possible to detach nationality from religion - just takes a bit of courage.

There's certainly an "identity" aspect of going to mass as being intrinsically Irish, but that is certainly on the wane if not all but gone in large parts of the country.

If you get a benefit out of going to Mass then fair play to you, I never got that so never really go and neither do the kids which would be the exception rather than the rule with a lot of my peers and their families around here.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 09:12:53 AM
I haven't been regularly since I was mid teens, lapsed catholic and not really bothered with religion to be honest, each to their own and I have no issues with people who feel that religion is their way of getting through life and if it comforts them and helps with what life throws at them then brilliant.

As for the actual Mass service, when I'm at either weddings/funerals or the odd christening the same routine more or less has been the same for decades, unless they can change or modernise it, it will continue to lose it's flock, when I went, the mass was packed from 7am through to the las mass at 1pm on a Sunday, the Sat mass was also packed.

Factor in what's happened these last 40 years and the church in all that time never moved with the times and views of a modern world, it was never ever going to maintain the numbers or attraction.

RIP

Post by: Rois on May 05, 2022, 10:36:40 AM
A bit off topic - but do you have to buy presents for a first communion, or is money still ok? It is for my OH's godchild. Dress was about 80% of the cost of my wedding dress 🙈
Post by: Saffrongael on May 05, 2022, 10:42:32 AM
Quote from: Rois on May 05, 2022, 10:36:40 AM
A bit off topic - but do you have to buy presents for a first communion, or is money still ok? It is for my OH's godchild. Dress was about 80% of the cost of my wedding dress 🙈

Straight cash acceptable
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 05, 2022, 10:42:51 AM
Money still ok. I wouldn't bother with any wee memento that you used to get. If it's not digital, they don't want it imo.
Post by: johnnycool on May 05, 2022, 11:10:11 AM
Quote from: Rois on May 05, 2022, 10:36:40 AM

Your OH's godchilds parents need a boot up the hole.

"Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these."

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 05, 2022, 11:36:36 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 05, 2022, 10:42:51 AM
Money still ok. I wouldn't bother with any wee memento that you used to get. If it's not digital, they don't want it imo.

This. All about the money unfortunately
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 05, 2022, 11:48:50 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 05, 2022, 10:42:51 AM

Money, all about the money and the sesh.
Mas and Das  go mental when their non denominational SF run Irish language  school suggest that they wont be providing any  prep for 1st communion, lol you couldn't make it up. Missing the post communion pish up

"Oh we need another Irish language school that is non CCMS, even though we dont have the numbers to be approved for a  permanent build as a result"
Translation
"Feck you, this is the Ra and we want to run that school our way, we dont care if we end up with 3 schools all pissing in buckets"
Post by: Rois on May 05, 2022, 12:59:13 PM
Eh? Strangely enough, the communion is for a child at an Irish language school! Money it is so.

Yes, there's a family meal (won't be a piss up) so I see it as a nice occasion to get family together. Will be followed two days later by my son's baptism. We'll be Catholic'd out by the end of the weekend!
Post by: imtommygunn on May 05, 2022, 01:01:52 PM
Very relevant as we have a nephew's communion next week. I haven't been in a chapel in years either  ;D

Money it is.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 05, 2022, 01:03:13 PM
Asked the wife how much we had to give our nephew for his confirmation. She reckoned £50.
I said he's not getting married you know
Post by: imtommygunn on May 05, 2022, 01:05:53 PM
50 quid - jaysus. 25 max lol.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 01:06:38 PM
When did the Christening/communion/confirmation parties start becoming a thing? Christ its a proper piss up, makes a bitta money for the club but I can't remember Jesus saying god be with you and enjoy the sesh at the club!!
Post by: general_lee on May 05, 2022, 02:14:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 01:06:38 PM
When did the Christening/communion/confirmation parties start becoming a thing? Christ its a proper piss up, makes a bitta money for the club but I can't remember Jesus saying god be with you and enjoy the sesh at the club!!
Is it a Belfast thing? There's wetting the baby's head and then there's 20 smicks looking like their fresh out of Laganside court skulling pints in the Cathedral quarter
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 02:34:58 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 05, 2022, 02:14:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 01:06:38 PM
Is it a Belfast thing? There's wetting the baby's head and then there's 20 smicks looking like their fresh out of Laganside court skulling pints in the Cathedral quarter

Could well be, I never did it, back in the day you went to the auties and uncles houses and had loads of tea (Nambarie) and took money out of their purse ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2022, 03:17:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 09:12:53 AM
I haven't been regularly since I was mid teens, lapsed catholic and not really bothered with religion to be honest, each to their own and I have no issues with people who feel that religion is their way of getting through life and if it comforts them and helps with what life throws at them then brilliant.

As for the actual Mass service, when I'm at either weddings/funerals or the odd christening the same routine more or less has been the same for decades, unless they can change or modernise it, it will continue to lose it's flock, when I went, the mass was packed from 7am through to the las mass at 1pm on a Sunday, the Sat mass was also packed.

Factor in what's happened these last 40 years and the church in all that time never moved with the times and views of a modern world, it was never ever going to maintain the numbers or attraction.

RIP

What can be done to modernise Mass?
Post by: Tubberman on May 05, 2022, 03:23:36 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2022, 03:17:41 PM

RIP

You know those concerts with a hologram of Elvis or Joe Dolan "performing"?
Well they could do the same, but with Jesus.
So Jesus would give the sermon himself, or St Paul or whoever.
Then at Easter you get to watch the crucifixion, rising from the dead etc
At Christmas, you get to see him being born like "one born every minute" or "the rotunda" TV shows.

It's an absolute winner. The churches would be packed every week, people would be going to mass to see the really good sermons several times, like when Titanic came out.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 03:35:34 PM

RIP

Not just Mass, but the catholic church in general.

These are just 6 issues:
Sexual scandal. I'll give ya that one  ;)
Celibacy. This needs to be looked at
Birth control. seriously?
Homosexuality. Why not?
Female priests. They'd be better and what is it that a man does better in their roles?
Premarital sex. come on?
Post by: Itchy on May 05, 2022, 05:48:31 PM

RIP

I don't tbink people stay away from mass because its not modern. I think its because many have evolved to see religion for the irrelevant bullshit it is. Modernise away, it won't bring me or my likes back.
Post by: Olly on May 05, 2022, 07:50:57 PM

RIP

Sexy nuns bring out the sacrements etc for straight people or gay women. Good looking men giving out communion for the wives or gay men.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 05, 2022, 08:22:16 PM
Am sure they bring you back Itchy when they are burying you or you gona go the cremated route and give some die hard you grave spot?.
Post by: restorepride on May 05, 2022, 08:38:43 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 05, 2022, 05:48:31 PM

RIP

I don't tbink people stay away from mass because its not modern. I think its because many have evolved to see religion for the irrelevant bullshit it is. Modernise away, it won't bring me or my likes back.
Couldn't agree more. One of the biggest cons in the history of the human race and still the wee ones are indoctrinated daily in our schools. No wonder some grow up with guilt and a lack of self-esteem - "weeping and mourning in this valley if tears".
Post by: Eire90 on May 05, 2022, 08:58:23 PM
you could says its an extortion racket
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 05, 2022, 09:52:55 PM
Always hated it with a passion. As soon as I was old enough to ride a bike on the road I'd tell the old pair I was away to mass on a Sunday morning (they went on Saturday night) and I'd spend the time exploring all the highways and byways of Lurgan and Portadown for an hour before heading home. Got a lot of miles in in those days and became quite fit.

Never let on to myself until I went to England for uni. My dad anxiously grabbed the phone one night eager to speak to me, which wasn't like him at all. He didn't ask how I was doing or how I was settling in or how the course was going. He just asked "are you getting to mass okay over there?"

I thought a question like that deserved a brutal honest answer, so that's when I told him I hadn't been for years and I don't believe in any of it.

My American wife had no religious upbringing so I find myself explaining a lot of it to her. She finds it all very interesting if a bit strange.

Our little ones will never see the inside of a church as long as I have anything to do with it. There is religion here in California if you know where to look for it, but people here don't generally bring the subject up and they treat it as the personal matter it is. It's certainly not the default position like it is in Ireland. Nobody here will even care if you're religious or not, to say nothing of thinking any less of you if you happen to disagree with them on it.
Post by: trileacman on May 05, 2022, 10:22:50 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 03:35:34 PM

RIP

These are just 6 issues:
Homosexuality. Why not?
Female priests. They'd be better and what is it that a man does better in their roles?
Premarital sex. come on?

The Anglican church has pretty much accepted all of the above and are in no better shape than the catholic church.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 05, 2022, 10:27:38 PM
I ditched Mass when I got out of sight from my Granny! Never believed a word of it but attendance was compulsory! However, it does bring a lot of comfort to the older generation but it is fcuked as an institution in Ireland if they don't find a way of keeping and retaining priests. For me that has to start with letting them marry.
Post by: armaghniac on May 05, 2022, 10:59:25 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 05, 2022, 09:52:55 PM
Our little ones will never see the inside of a church as long as I have anything to do with it.

Perhaps they'll have the same respect for your views as you had for your parents.
Post by: restorepride on May 05, 2022, 11:16:25 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 05, 2022, 10:59:25 PM
Our little ones will never see the inside of a church as long as I have anything to do with it.

Perhaps they'll have the same respect for your views as you had for your parents.
Our parents, grandparents, priests and nuns were all conned and indoctrinated. The Catholic church had us by the balls (literally in terms of reproduction!) from conception to death. Scared the wits out of us from knee height with threats of hell and took superstitious advantage. By the way, if you don't believe but want to be buried in full or in ashes with your own people or clann,  it is not hypocritical to be buried in your  local Catholic graveyard - it is your ancestral and cultural right.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 06, 2022, 12:19:22 AM
Quote from: restorepride on May 05, 2022, 11:16:25 PM

Our parents, grandparents, priests and nuns were all conned and indoctrinated. The Catholic church had us by the balls (literally in terms of reproduction!) from conception to death. Scared the wits out of us from knee height with threats of hell and took superstitious advantage. By the way, if you don't believe but want to be buried in full or in ashes with your own people or clann,  it is not hypocritical to be buried in your  local Catholic graveyard - it is your ancestral and cultural right.

Just don't expect a priest to oversee it
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 06, 2022, 12:32:57 AM
It ain't u right, were you get that from? , to start with, you buy your plot, so you gonna get buried in ground against a religion you don't really believe in. Personally I think it is hypocritical.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 06, 2022, 06:23:03 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 06, 2022, 12:32:57 AM
It ain't u right, were you get that from? , to start with, you buy your plot, so you gonna get buried in ground against a religion you don't really believe in. Personally I think it is hypocritical.

We don't have Catholic cemetery in Derry anyhow , it's council property and non denominational
Post by: Armagh18 on May 06, 2022, 08:38:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 03:35:34 PM

RIP

These are just 6 issues:
Homosexuality. Why not?
Premarital sex. come on?
Agreed. Probably the fact that the top dogs are all pension age doesnt help either. If they dont wise up and modernise the 5 issues you mentioned then they wont have a church by the end of this century .
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 06, 2022, 09:16:22 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 05, 2022, 10:27:38 PM
I ditched Mass when I got out of sight from my Granny! Never believed a word of it but attendance was compulsory! However, it does bring a lot of comfort to the older generation but it is fcuked as an institution in Ireland if they don't find a way of keeping and retaining priests. For me that has to start with letting them marry.

A huuuge +1 on that front for me.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2022, 09:17:59 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 06, 2022, 09:16:22 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 05, 2022, 10:27:38 PM

A huuuge +1 on that front for me.

And pay them ! They'd be lining up to join
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 06, 2022, 06:20:34 PM

I have nothing but respect for my parents. I just never agreed with them on religion. Never will. They're cool with that and so am I.
Post by: ONeill on May 06, 2022, 06:53:07 PM
Wait til the Will.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 06, 2022, 06:56:19 PM

(https://i.ibb.co/2Sv4fBd/Screenshot-20220506-185345-2.png) (https://ibb.co/Mfc03L7)
Post by: Itchy on May 06, 2022, 09:20:29 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 05, 2022, 08:22:16 PM
Am sure they bring you back Itchy when they are burying you or you gona go the cremated route and give some die hard you grave spot?.

Neither, I am going to go be laid out like a viking on a boat pushed out to sea and a flaming arrow set me and the boat on fire. What a way to go! But there will be no f**king priest anywhere near me lad, I can tell you that for certain.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on May 06, 2022, 09:50:45 PM
Quote from: restorepride on May 05, 2022, 08:38:43 PM
Couldn't agree more. One of the biggest cons in the history of the human race and still the wee ones are indoctrinated daily in our schools. No wonder some grow up with guilt and a lack of self-esteem - "weeping and mourning in this valley if tears".

Indeed.

A load of superstitious nonsense - Christianity probably being based on a rake of wee stories told to kids in the back of the carts in Roman Italy or something ffs.

If it weren't for the indoctrination program ran through schools then it'd have disintegrated centuries ago (probably to be replaced with something similar though up until the age of information!).

Missus is very much opposite of me. So I've little choice but to play along to keep the peace.
Post by: thewobbler on May 06, 2022, 11:36:12 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on May 06, 2022, 09:50:45 PM
Quote from: restorepride on May 05, 2022, 08:38:43 PM

Indeed.

A load of superstitious nonsense - Christianity probably being based on a rake of wee stories told to kids in the back of the carts in Roman Italy or something ffs.

If it weren't for the indoctrination program ran through schools then it'd have disintegrated centuries ago (probably to be replaced with something similar though up until the age of information!).

Missus is very much opposite of me. So I've little choice but to play along to keep the peace.

In my very humble opinion on this, religion still offers a more satisfying (and I daresay, every bit as conclusive) solution for the "what the f**k is it all about?" question as science has ever come close to delivering.

I can't buy into religion myself. But I can fully comprehend why a human mind that can't help focusing on "is this really it?", will settle on a God.

The bit that has disturbed me from i was a young teenager surrounds the sheer and unrepentant steadfastness, that going through the same mindnumbingly repetitive  ritual every week, could be interpreted as a satisfying expression of faith.

If there is a God up there, and he's both omnipresent and omniscient, and also in our image, there is no relatable way that he/she/it could attain fulfilment from a billion catholics standing, sitting, kneeling on repeat for an hour, while mumbling through words they've never paused to think about.
Post by: armaghniac on May 07, 2022, 01:37:02 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 06, 2022, 11:36:12 PM
If there is a God up there, and he's both omnipresent and omniscient, and also in our image, there is no relatable way that he/she/it could attain fulfilment from a billion catholics standing, sitting, kneeling on repeat for an hour, while mumbling through words they've never paused to think about.

Religious services may lack variety, but the motivation for collective activity is not so different as the motivation to go to GAA games and where the whole parish get together to cheer for the one team.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on May 07, 2022, 08:44:47 AM

Yeah, if there is a creator - then they definitely don't give 2 shites for listening to a congregation mumble through an hour in a old stone shed.

I've had it put to me (by someone not in organised religion) that if "God" existed before the universe - they may or may not have had much stimuli - and so created the universe to experience things through life.

Dunno if that makes much sense when considering the experiences accrued by a worm or bacteria or something - but perhaps at least a little bit more sense than a Abrahamic god.
Post by: restorepride on May 07, 2022, 09:47:54 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 07, 2022, 01:37:02 AM

Religious services may lack variety, but the motivation for collective activity is not so different as the motivation to go to GAA games and where the whole parish get together to cheer for the one team.
Is that why Peter Canavan is called God?!! At least Peter is real.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 07, 2022, 11:08:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 06, 2022, 09:20:29 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 05, 2022, 08:22:16 PM

Neither, I am going to go be laid out like a viking on a boat pushed out to sea and a flaming arrow set me and the boat on fire. What a way to go! But there will be no f**king priest anywhere near me lad, I can tell you that for certain.

There'll be no priest anywhere near me too if I have anything to do with it. Will probably donate my body to medical science and be done with it.
Post by: FermGael on May 08, 2022, 09:24:28 AM
Used to attend Mass fairly regularly.
Then they changed the words.
Just couldn't get used to the new responses.
Far too confusing so that was the end of that
Post by: worple on May 08, 2022, 07:14:20 PM
The Church has launched a Synod to determine where it is now and to chart its future.Obviously it has been very bad at explaining the Faith here in Ireland.The comments on this thread show how bad the catechesis has been.The fault must lie with the Church itself,the education system and the weakness inherent in the human condition.It is astonishing to see the degree of ignorance that exists among Catholics and especially the young. To see people dismissing the Mass when they haven't the faintest idea of what it is .All this in a nation which prides itself on its advanced level of education. If people disagree with the Mass they should at least acquaint themselves with what the Mass is.
Padre Pio said that if people understood the significance of the Mass the Churches would have to get bouncers on the door to control the people clamouring to get in!   
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2022, 10:14:06 PM
Quote from: worple on May 08, 2022, 07:14:20 PM
The Church has launched a Synod

That hoor Musk at it again.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 09, 2022, 01:24:13 AM
Quote from: worple on May 08, 2022, 07:14:20 PM
The Church has launched a Synod to determine where it is now and to chart its future.Obviously it has been very bad at explaining the Faith here in Ireland.The comments on this thread show how bad the catechesis has been.The fault must lie with the Church itself,the education system and the weakness inherent in the human condition.It is astonishing to see the degree of ignorance that exists among Catholics and especially the young. To see people dismissing the Mass when they haven't the faintest idea of what it is .All this in a nation which prides itself on its advanced level of education. If people disagree with the Mass they should at least acquaint themselves with what the Mass is.
Padre Pio said that if people understood the significance of the Mass the Churches would have to get bouncers on the door to control the people clamouring to get in!   

The better educated people become, the less religious they become. There's no nice way to say this, but it's true.
Post by: worple on May 09, 2022, 10:39:37 AM
The widely accepted explanation for the origin of the Universe is the Big Bang Theory.
This idea first appeared in a scientific paper by Fr.Lemaitre (d.1966),the Belgian scientist and Catholic priest.
Even Einstein,while accepting the mathematical principle ,did not immediately accept the philosophical interpretation but subsequentially agreed.
In our time we have the philosopher and scientist ,Fr.Robert Spitzer, who has a fascinating slot called "My Universe",Sat.mornings on EWTN at 10a.m.Well worth a look as he lays out the compatibility of Faith and Reason.