A United Ireland. Opening up the discussion.

Started by winghalfback, May 27, 2015, 03:16:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

winghalfback

Hi all just something I have been thinking about since the most recent elections. A United Ireland, Eire Nua, Independent Peoples Republic of Ireland how ever you want to call it.
How would it look?
What way would it work?
How do we make it inclusive of all the people of the island as set out by the men of 1916 through the proclamation?
How do we entice the unionist people to want to be part of an independent republic?
Do the majority of Irish people want to be part of a 32 county independent Republic?
So many questions to so many to all these questions even. So many opinions on this subject. Coming up to 100 years from the Easter Rising I feel it's a discussion worth having.
What are your Views?

Farrandeelin

Good topic whb. To be honest I'm no economic expert so I won't pretend to know how it woould function if it were to happen. I honestly don't know how to entice unionists either, just look at Tom Elliot, he won't even go to a GAA match ffs. I would like to see a united Ireland in my lifetime, but people's attitudes have to change. That includes people from the 26 who exist in an 'I'm alright Jack' type lifestyle. I know I haven't answered any of your.questions, but it's my tippence worth anyway.
Inaugural Football Championship Prediction Winner.

dec

How do we entice the unionist people to want to be part of an independent republic?

The Brits have spent 800+ years trying to persuade us that we are British and that we should be happy being part of the UK.

It hasn't worked.

What makes you think that there is any chance of us persuading the Unionists that they are not British and that they should leave the UK.

deiseach

Quote from: dec on May 27, 2015, 04:24:27 PM

The Brits have spent 800+ years trying to persuade us that we are British and that we should be happy being part of the UK.

It hasn't worked.