Leinster Senior, u20 & Minor Football Championship 2019

Started by Dinny Breen, April 10, 2018, 11:01:34 AM

kerryforsam19

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2019, 04:32:47 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 06, 2019, 04:21:07 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 06, 2019, 04:16:08 PM
Congrats Kildare. U18 Leinster titles won in  2013,2015,2016 and todays U17 title.

Kildare rumour need a proper senior manager as have completely under achieved. Cian O'Neill completely out of his depth. Hearing Jack O'Connor and Glen Ryan taking over next year.

Would ever just f*ck off! No one is interested in your nonsense.

?? Are you ok Dennis?

Congrats Kildare. U18 Leinster titles won in  2013,2015,2016 and todays U17 title.

Cracking game, didn't make it across unfortunately but fair play to TG4 for streaming it live. What a fantastic service that station provides.

Kildare were the better team for large periods, Dublin might have had more success if they went more direct but I thought our full back line were tenacious in the tackle and bottled up the Dublin attack pretty well.

4 minors in 7 years is nice and I am sure some Dub will point to funding and Dublin not winning but it's the resources that go into the next 4/5 years of development that really set Dublin apart from all. Look at how Kerry are struggling to transition their all conquering minors into AI Senior contenders.

Anyhow, our reward is a date with Galway I believe. Double header in Tullamore no doubt.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2019, 04:39:46 PM

4 minors in 7 years is nice and I am sure some Dub will point to funding and Dublin not winning but it's the resources that go into the next 4/5 years of development that really set Dublin apart from all. Look at how Kerry are struggling to transition their all conquering minors into AI Senior contenders.

Exactly,  nothing to do with Games Development Funding. 

It's the AFL1 and 2 experience in Dublin club football that turns the boys into men. Of course we monitor the lads at county level, but I doubt we do a whole lot different than Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone.

Takes a while to turn good minors into good seniors, and helps hugely if they're just a cog in the wheel rather than being depended on.

No matter how good they are there are many players lost between minor and U20. Dublin can absorb those losses better than most due to numbers.

Didn't get to see the game, but congrats Kildare. To win that convincingly in extra time should mean the team has a lot of fortitude. Added to wins in recent years means more and more lads won't be afraid of the Dubs, certainly the Dubs at their own age

Under 16 Gerry Reilly tournament. Our first game was last night which went well. Hope to retain the title again.

Meath 7-14 Westmeath 0-8

Quote from: thejuice on July 08, 2019, 11:07:39 AM
Under 16 Gerry Reilly tournament. Our first game was last night which went well. Hope to retain the title again.

Meath 7-14 Westmeath 0-8

2nd game, you beat Laois in a low scoring affair 4-18 to 3-12 in the 1st round.

U20s results

Dublin 1 17 Wex 0 6
Laois 1 13 Meath 0 7

Interesting to see how Laois will go in the final, this group lost to Kildare 2 years ago by 5 points but reversed that this year and turn a 1 pt victory  two years ago into 9 tonight over Meath. That is quality progress, Dublin though turn boys into men better than anyone else.

Disappointing from our perspective considering how good some of these players were at U17. But I think they still have time at this grade to develop a bit more but perhaps we're not coaching them to the same level as our competitors as we've struggled at this grade for too long.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2019, 09:09:45 PM
U20s results

Dublin 1 17 Wex 0 6
Laois 1 13 Meath 0 7

Interesting to see how Laois will go in the final, this group lost to Kildare 2 years ago by 5 points but reversed that this year and turn a 1 pt victory  two years ago into 9 tonight over Meath. That is quality progress, Dublin though turn boys into men better than anyone else.

What would you put that down too?

Heshs Umpire

Quote from: thejuice on July 10, 2019, 09:24:37 AM
Disappointing from our perspective considering how good some of these players were at U17. But I think they still have time at this grade to develop a bit more but perhaps we're not coaching them to the same level as our competitors as we've struggled at this grade for too long.
We were amazed last night at how poor the Meath team was. Ye usually have a decent team.
The word is a lot of your team is underage again next year but I think Laois might well be the same.
Well I could keep it above
But then it wouldn't be sky anymore

Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 10, 2019, 09:49:44 AM
U20s results

Dublin 1 17 Wex 0 6
Laois 1 13 Meath 0 7

Hard to weight, you have your organic factor, The Dublin Club scene is really good for development.

Then you have the Capital City factor, any number of scholarships available in the 4 Universities, so a talented footballer won't be moving to Galway, Limerick, Cork etc. So essentially his lifestyle will revolve around football. Add in the best of care that comes from being on the Dublin pathway, top class medical care , S&C access, performance & lifestyle coaches, dieticians and so forth. Even when it comes to getting a summer gig, a Dublin player will be well looked after. 

kerryforsam19

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2019, 10:43:49 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 10, 2019, 09:49:44 AM
U20s results

Dublin 1 17 Wex 0 6
Laois 1 13 Meath 0 7

Hard to weight, you have your organic factor, The Dublin Club scene is really good for development.

Then you have the Capital City factor, any number of scholarships available in the 4 Universities, so a talented footballer won't be moving to Galway, Limerick, Cork etc. So essentially his lifestyle will revolve around football. Add in the best of care that comes from being on the Dublin pathway, top class medical care , S&C access, performance & lifestyle coaches, dieticians and so forth. Even when it comes to getting a summer gig, a Dublin player will be well looked after.

What a lifestyle coach? We never had any of them in Kerry. Peter Keane just has backroom team of 7

It's the role that Bernard Dunne has done for them.

Not sure that either team the Dubs U20s beat were in the top 5 in Leinster this year, so completely unknown how good they are. Haven't seen them play, but reviews are a bit mixed. Still, they've done all that's been asked of them, so could well have another gear if pushed

I wonder do Laois have any players from the senior panel they can add to the U20s, now they are out of senior?