All Ireland club football championships 2023/24

Started by Blowitupref, January 06, 2023, 09:18:03 PM

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on January 07, 2024, 06:02:28 PMLet's hope Glen finish the job now.

Theres never many neutrals that support the Rassies. Very unlikeable fans.

Glen will be a popular champion you would think.
Foxtrot Oscar

A lot of people seem to have handed the trophy to Glen already. It's a dangerous game for them though as St Brigids produced enough against Corofin and in the first today to indicate that they have the footballers to win it. They probably have more scoring threat up front than Glen but equally they could get overpowered around the middle third where most of Glens players are positioned.

Both Malachy O'Rourke and Derry teams don't traditionally have a great record in Croke Park which will also sow a bit of doubt in their minds.

I expect Glen to win it now but I don't think it will be as easy as some people expect.

Quote from: Armagh18 on January 07, 2024, 06:53:38 PM
Quote from: LC on January 07, 2024, 06:32:51 PMIf Glen win the AI would I be correct in asssuming that it will be the 3rd successive year that the team who has won it were the team who were runners up the year before?
Kilcoo beat by Corofin won it next year beating KC, KC won it the following year beating Glen who are now in final so yes.

The you've gotta lose one to win brigade will have a field day if so 😜😜

If doherty and Dougan out for final that's 2 big players for Glen...

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on January 07, 2024, 06:02:28 PMLet's hope Glen finish the job now.

Rassie. You must be listening too much to Ah Ref on X.
The one thing about Brigids, the Kiltoom club always do their talking on the pitch. Young team but they have football in them.

Sportacus

Quote from: SHEEDY on January 07, 2024, 06:24:52 PMAbsolute farce of a match, from the terrace you could only see half the pitch, you could only tell that anyone was sitting in the stand opposite by the noise after a score. Obviously was the same for the players. Player and spectator welfare went out the window in order to get the match played. 20euro in to see very little.
Good grief. The GAA is obsessed with games going ahead. 

Saffrongael

Quote from: Sportacus on January 07, 2024, 07:27:57 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on January 07, 2024, 06:24:52 PMAbsolute farce of a match, from the terrace you could only see half the pitch, you could only tell that anyone was sitting in the stand opposite by the noise after a score. Obviously was the same for the players. Player and spectator welfare went out the window in order to get the match played. 20euro in to see very little.
Good grief. The GAA is obsessed with games going ahead. 

Warnock said in his post match interview that Walsh said to him he couldn't see the ball. Farcical and shouldn't have went ahead
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

It was a hell of a game for a "farce".

Give me that football in 65% visibility over nearly any club game I watched this summer, every time.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 07, 2024, 06:13:56 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on January 07, 2024, 06:05:57 PM
Quote from: pjm on January 07, 2024, 06:01:12 PM
Quote from: Estimator on January 07, 2024, 05:44:51 PMAfaik Warnock has turned down 3 different  Derry managers regarding a call up to county football

Unusual name, is it common up there?

Probably a former planter name from back in the day if I was to hazard a guess.

Most teams have one or two.

Alot more unusual names than that across the country

Mac Giolla Mhearnóg. Probably has planter origins, if you're allowed to say use that terms.
A few Warnock families about Maghera.

Didn't mean it in a derogatory sense. I like to see people of all origins play GAA.

Just find it an interesting topic: most teams across the country have some sort of surname of planter or British origin.

There was a Seymour togged out for Castlehaven and a Trundle for St Brigid's today that are two other examples so it's not just a north of the country thing.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: weareros on January 07, 2024, 07:19:46 PM

The one thing about Brigids, the Kiltoom club always do their talking on the pitch. Young team but they have football in them.

My apologies. Great young team your right. But the Rossies as a rule tend to do a lot of talking off the pitch generally in the stands.

Nothing against the players though. They deserve a better following.

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on January 07, 2024, 08:11:58 PM

My apologies. Great young team your right. But the Rossies as a rule tend to do a lot of talking off the pitch generally in the stands.

This is ridiculous.

Quote from: yellowcard on January 07, 2024, 07:07:33 PMA lot of people seem to have handed the trophy to Glen already. It's a dangerous game for them though as St Brigids produced enough against Corofin and in the first today to indicate that they have the footballers to win it. They probably have more scoring threat up front than Glen but equally they could get overpowered around the middle third where most of Glens players are positioned.

Both Malachy O'Rourke and Derry teams don't traditionally have a great record in Croke Park which will also sow a bit of doubt in their minds.

I expect Glen to win it now but I don't think it will be as easy as some people expect.

Don't think that'll matter a jot. St Brigids are a very very good side (wouldn't be where they are if not lol) I think it could genuinely go either way, would have Glen slight favourites and would love to see them get it over the line.

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 07, 2024, 08:17:07 PM

This is ridiculous.

No point biting jaysus lads that was an easy wind up!

Foxtrotting Foxtrot Oscar

Was behind the goals at the changing room end. One thing i did notice at the end, even though the fans invaded invaded the pitch, was how focused they players were.
They weren't even smiling. Just walked off as if it was the end of a club league game.
Men on a mission if ever I saw it.

Never mind that, how far up the pitch could you see?