GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on April 22, 2022, 04:39:18 PM

Title: All Ireland u17 & u20 2022
Post by: omagh_gael on April 22, 2022, 04:39:18 PM
Does the all Ireland follow the senior draws for both u17 and u20?

Ulster v Con

Mun v Leinster

Any thoughts on favourites from both age groups? Tyrone beat in u20 warm up competition final by Donegal but beat the in ulster Semi. Our minors won the warm up comp and should be there or thereabouts at all Ireland level too.
Title: Re: All Ireland u17 & u20 2022
Post by: Dire Ear on April 22, 2022, 05:06:27 PM
U-20's definitely in with a shout I'd say;  v strong up the middle
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 22, 2022, 05:44:00 PM
U20 AI semi finals are

Connacht (Sligo) v Leinster (Dublin or Kildare)
Ulster (Tyrone or Cavan) v Munster (Kerry or Cork)

Not sure about U17 only see provincial fixtures.
Post by: delgany on April 22, 2022, 09:13:16 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 22, 2022, 05:44:00 PM
U20 AI semi finals are

U 17   semi finals  are
Ulster V Connacht
Munster v Leinster
Post by: omagh_gael on April 26, 2022, 01:49:59 PM
U20 All Ireland semis

Tyrone v Kerry

Sligo v Dublin/Kildale (28th)
Post by: Blowitupref on April 26, 2022, 04:04:04 PM
Quote from: delgany on April 22, 2022, 09:13:16 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 22, 2022, 05:44:00 PM
U20 AI semi finals are

U 17   semi finals  are
Ulster V Connacht
Munster v Leinster
There is All-Ireland quarter finals at U17 this year
Post by: rodney trotter on April 28, 2022, 07:50:56 PM
Kildare leading by 2 , 20 , minutes gone   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lL-D0ulxLCY
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2022, 08:04:35 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 28, 2022, 07:50:56 PM
Kildare leading by 2 , 20 , minutes gone   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lL-D0ulxLCY
Enjoyable contest Kildare 0-8 Dublin 0-8 at half time.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 28, 2022, 08:11:08 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2022, 08:04:35 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 28, 2022, 07:50:56 PM
Enjoyable contest Kildare 0-8 Dublin 0-8 at half time.

Good pace to it - Dublin happier to be level at the half.

Dublin's shooting much more efficient than Kildare.

Would favour Dublin to win it.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2022, 08:48:51 PM
Congratulations to Kildare 0-17 to 0-15 winners. Dublin very wasteful late on.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 28, 2022, 08:49:39 PM
Very good game. Dublin lacked composure in the last few minutes, some terrible misses to go level.  Kildare a bit more composed and deserved winners
Post by: twohands!!! on April 28, 2022, 08:50:27 PM
Delighted to be wrong on that one.

Kildare found their shooting boots and Dublin lost theirs in the 2nd half.

A right good game of football.

Post by: Gael85 on April 28, 2022, 08:54:16 PM
Well done to Kildare.  Better team won.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 28, 2022, 09:56:07 PM
Kildare could been well clear early on, missed a couoje of half goal chances first half.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 29, 2022, 09:26:56 PM
U20 semi finals.

Saturday May 7

Sligo v Kildare, Breffni Park, 4pm

Sunday May 8

Kerry v Tyrone, O'Moore Park, 1pm
Post by: Blowitupref on May 07, 2022, 01:17:09 PM
The first of the two semi finals coming up at 4pm live on TG4.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FSJxaQrXEAEWpvQ?format=jpg&name=small)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FSBlbN0XMAExqC4?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: twohands!!! on May 07, 2022, 04:28:48 PM
Kildare 0-5 Sligo 0-2

Kildare on top but some very poor shooting.Kildare with 8 wides and 4 dropped shorts on 24 minutes.

Sligo with some wides as well but struggling to create shooting chances.

Kildare looking very like they will win this but still only a 3 point gap.

Sligo will probably need at least 2 goals
Post by: Blowitupref on May 07, 2022, 04:40:33 PM
HT Kildare 0-8 Sligo 0-3. Kildare good value for that lead. Sligo will need goals but don't look like creating any against a solid Kildare defence
Post by: twohands!!! on May 07, 2022, 04:45:17 PM
Kildare 0-8 Sligo 0-3

Kildare probably could have the game won with the amount of chances they have had.

Very wasteful with their shooting.

Sligo struggling to create scoring chances.
Post by: Itchy on May 07, 2022, 04:51:47 PM
A very poor game of football so far
Post by: twohands!!! on May 07, 2022, 05:06:08 PM
Kildare 0-9 Sligo 0-7

9 minutes left.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 07, 2022, 05:20:41 PM
Kildare 0-12 Sligo 0-7

Poor enough fare.

Kildare get the win despite turning in a very poor shooting performance.

Not the worst way to be heading into a final though - will really need to have a better shooting day in the final to a have a chance - can't see a repeat of this shooting performance being enough to win the final.

Sligo never really looked like getting the win.

Post by: Blowitupref on May 07, 2022, 05:22:06 PM
Five point margin at half time and that's how it finished. Best team certainly won thanks mostly to a solid defensive. showing. FT Kildare 0-12 Sligo 0-7
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2022, 01:35:43 PM
HT Kerry 0-6 Tyrone 0-5. As even as the scoreline suggests. Tyrone was down to 14 men earlier in the game with the full back getting a black. Full forward for Tyrone crashed a shot off the crossbar.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 08, 2022, 02:00:01 PM
Was that a black then red or just a black? Very even game this.  Bit more in Kerry I think but extra man may swing it.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2022, 02:04:59 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 08, 2022, 02:00:01 PM
Was that a black then red or just a black? Very even game this.  Bit more in Kerry I think but extra man may swing it.
A black. Ref thought he was already booked.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 08, 2022, 02:07:34 PM
Cheers.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 08, 2022, 02:10:46 PM
I was thinking that but I also think you interpret that as an arm round the neck or a drag down so close enough call.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 08, 2022, 02:11:30 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on May 08, 2022, 02:08:04 PM
It shouldn't have been a black. It was a yellow card offence.
Not before time that we go back to yellow and red cards only.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2022, 02:23:23 PM
FT Tyrone 1-14 Kerry 1-12 . Ciaran Bogue goal in the last 3 minutes of normal time was key in a contest between two well matched sides. Tyrone the first ever Ulster team into the U20 All-Ireland final
Post by: cadhlancian on May 08, 2022, 02:38:20 PM
an absolute exhibition from Canavan Og .....
Post by: delgany on May 08, 2022, 02:39:12 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on May 08, 2022, 02:38:20 PM
an absolute exhibition from Canavan Og .....
Unbelievable ability
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 08, 2022, 02:41:28 PM
Would it be Breffni again the next day?
Post by: yellowcard on May 08, 2022, 02:54:21 PM
Canavan looks a very good player. Are U20 players allowed to play senior championship in the same season once the competition is over cos he looks equipped to play senior at some stage in the future anyway. The Tyrone hoodoo over Kerry continues.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 08, 2022, 03:03:57 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 08, 2022, 02:54:21 PM
...The Tyrone hoodoo over Kerry continues.

It's not a "hoodoo", they just haven't beaten us at any grade in this decade,the 20s!  ;)
Post by: weareros on May 08, 2022, 03:17:27 PM
Very enjoyable game. Tyrone were the better team. Some terrific points. It was there for Kerry too but on too many occasions took too much out of ball and soloed into trouble.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 08, 2022, 08:56:28 PM
Fantastic game game, great advertisement for this age grade. Some of the defending in the first half was unreal, the commitment of both teams was admirable.

Final down for next weekend, looking forward to it.
Post by: clarshack on May 08, 2022, 09:31:08 PM
McGleenan's cub is a brute.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 08, 2022, 09:34:07 PM
It was his sheer size that created the goal. (Tbf to him too he lost a free just before it which looked like it might swing the game in Kerry's favour but worked his ass off to get it back)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 08, 2022, 09:55:36 PM
Tyrone lads, ye hardly fancy Croker on Sunday...
Joking aside would that be an option?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 08, 2022, 09:57:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 08, 2022, 09:55:36 PM

Already pencilled in for Breffni Park on Saturday next at 5pm, I believe.
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2022, 10:26:48 PM
That was as enjoyable a game I've watched in yonks. To the point that you wouldn't have begrudged Kerry the win either. Both went toe-to-toe. Potter's palm down for the goal was the moment of the match.
Post by: Orior on May 08, 2022, 11:31:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 08, 2022, 10:26:48 PM
That was as enjoyable a game I've watched in yonks. To the point that you wouldn't have begrudged Kerry the win either. Both went toe-to-toe. Potter's palm down for the goal was the moment of the match.

I hate to say it, but I enjoyed watching Tyrone today. The future looks bright for the Red Hands.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2022, 02:35:31 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 08, 2022, 09:57:55 PM

It will be played in páirc Seán Mac Diarmada in Carrick-on-Shannon at 5pm.
Post by: Main Street on May 09, 2022, 10:33:43 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2022, 02:35:31 PM

Why not Croker?  the u20 AI final is a showpiece game, deserves the full royal treatment, not to be shafted to the sidelines. Last year's game was superb.
Post by: full moon on May 09, 2022, 10:40:56 PM
They've given the U20s championship the two fingers, much like they ruined the minor championship putting it to u17. No curtain raisers to senior matches either anymore it seems.

I'm not surprised they didn't do the double header in Croke Park with Kildare seniors. Would love justification from Central committee on these decisions but GAA don't do transparency.
Post by: full moon on May 09, 2022, 10:44:39 PM
They've shafted so much of the football and hurling competitions with awful scheduling, promotion, and formats.

Imagine how bad it's going to get when they merge with the LGFA and Camoige associations and they have to be accommodated. They'll demand peak scheduling times and equality treatment.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2022, 11:04:57 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 09, 2022, 10:33:43 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2022, 02:35:31 PM

Why not Croker?  the u20 AI final is a showpiece game, deserves the full royal treatment, not to be shafted to the sidelines. Last year's game was superb.
Don't know and it never seemed to be in the running to host it. 
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 10, 2022, 08:18:45 AM
You would have to say the people currently running the gaa are either incredibly clueless or want to ruin inter county gaa.

Change after change in recent years and none of them for the better. Messing about with minors by changing the age and then removing it as curtain raisers to the senior games. There is no logic in this and takes away the prestige of playing underage football for your county. Instead of being watched by thousands the games are now played out in front of a few hundred people maximum with little or no coverage.

Then you have the scheduling of this u20 final. A great opportunity to put the final in croke park and get a decent Kildare support in. Instead they seem to be trying to get the lowest attendance possible. Scheduling it for 5pm on a Saturday and then charging 25 euro in to a game on tv is a crazy call. Never mind picking Leitrim as the venue which is handy for no one.

At senior level next years format is the most ridiculous they could have came up with. Currently there are too many warm up games in the calendar. Currently you have pre season games which are a warm up for the league which itself is a warm up for the championship. None of the games mean anything in the grand scheme of the season. Instead of trying to link the league to the championship they have come up with this crazy format of keeping it and then playing a provincial championship which will become redundant as you will get to the same place in the championship anyway. Then after that you have group stages with only 1 team out of 4 getting elimated.
Post by: Onthe40 on May 10, 2022, 09:26:00 AM
agree on the youth piece at least..shambolic decision to play that game in Leitrim..
Post by: full moon on May 10, 2022, 10:22:55 AM
Another absurd decision by the mysterious Central Competition Control Commitee. Where nobody knows who is on the commitee and we can only guess from newspaper reports.

Democracy GAA style.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 10, 2022, 12:12:18 PM
What wrong with playing it in Navan?
Post by: Rossfan on May 10, 2022, 12:34:24 PM
I'd imagine neither team wanted to play in the other's Province?
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 10, 2022, 12:36:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 10, 2022, 12:34:24 PM

Isn't a factor at senior level and Kildare already played a semi final in Cavan so presumably would have been happy to go back there for a final.
Post by: Rossfan on May 10, 2022, 12:37:19 PM
They played a Connacht team at an Ulster venue.
Post by: Cavan19 on May 10, 2022, 02:55:50 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 10, 2022, 12:34:24 PM

Aw here that's hardly an issue.
Post by: trailer on May 10, 2022, 03:13:36 PM
Finals should be played in Croke park. Double or triple them up with ladies or other underage fixtures in other codes. This isn't difficult the GAA just make it so.
Post by: God14 on May 10, 2022, 04:10:01 PM
Quote from: trailer on May 10, 2022, 03:13:36 PM
Finals should be played in Croke park. Double or triple them up with ladies or other underage fixtures in other codes. This isn't difficult the GAA just make it so.

Exactly

It wouldnt have done any harm spacing it out another week either
Post by: Main Street on May 10, 2022, 08:05:54 PM
Tyrone GAA should protest against this insult, Croke Park or No Park.
Post by: Hound on May 10, 2022, 08:49:44 PM
Needed both teams to request Croke Park for it even to be considered. Tyrone did not make the request as I understand it. Ticket prices for fans would presumably be more expensive as part of the triple bill.

But it's rare for the U20/21 final to be played in Croker.
Post by: 5times5times on May 10, 2022, 09:48:00 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 10, 2022, 08:49:44 PM
Needed both teams to request Croke Park for it even to be considered. Tyrone did not make the request as I understand it. Ticket prices for fans would presumably be more expensive as part of the triple bill.

What, like the u20 final last year??
Post by: Blowitupref on May 10, 2022, 10:17:58 PM

But it’s rare for the U20/21 final to be played in Croker.

It was rare for U21. 3 of the 4 U20 All-Ireland finals was played in Croke Park. On ticket prices Kildare supporters will have to fork out an extra 25€ on tickets now if they are to attend both Saturdays final and the senior semi final on Sunday.
Post by: Main Street on May 11, 2022, 02:34:34 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2022, 10:17:58 PM

It was rare for U21. 3 of the 4 U20 All-Ireland finals was played in Croke Park. On ticket prices Kildare supporters will have to fork out an extra 25€ on tickets now if they are to attend both Saturdays final and the senior semi final on Sunday.
And add in the high cost of fueling them Range Rovers ::)  Hound, on occasion offers common sense but he's experienced a memory lapse of sorts, maybe due to Dublin not reaching the final.
Last year's final was unforgettable for those who watched it.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 11, 2022, 08:04:26 AM

Given they've set the price at €25 for Saturday (it's €30 euro on Sunday with option of cheaper hill tickets) I don't think this was much of a factor. The only difficulty on Sunday was a relatively early start but it definitely made more sense to play it in Croke Park with Kildare already there and would have led to a healthy Kildare attendance.
Post by: Mikhailov on May 11, 2022, 11:01:16 AM
I see the Hurling U20 final (Cats v Limerick) will be in Thurles before the Tipp v Cork Senior Hurling Championship game - some difference of prestige in that fixture in comparison to the football final.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 11, 2022, 01:19:17 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on May 11, 2022, 11:01:16 AM
I see the Hurling U20 final (Cats v Limerick) will be in Thurles before the Tipp v Cork Senior Hurling Championship game - some difference of prestige in that fixture in comparison to the football final.

Have Tipp or Cork anything to play for? I don't think Tipperary do and if Cork don't they should be the curtain-raiser.
Post by: rrhf on May 11, 2022, 01:21:16 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2022, 10:17:58 PM

Can they use the Croker or nowhere cry!!!!
Post by: Blowitupref on May 11, 2022, 09:03:21 PM
Kildare and Dublin into the Leinster U17 final and All-Ireland quarter finals with their comfortable semi final wins against Wicklow, Offaly tonight.

Post by: Redhand Santa on May 12, 2022, 08:03:44 AM
Venue aside I'm looking forward to this u20 final on Saturday. Kildare were very impressive against Dublin and based on that should probably be favourites. But either way there shouldn't be much in it. From a Tyrone point of view it's nice to see so many familiar names involved - Canavan, Cush, McGleenan, Donaghy. Kildare will be better defensively which will make it difficult for Canavan to be as dominant as against Kerry. Hopefully the venue doesn't put too many off as the players deserve to a decent crowd for such a big game.
Post by: rrhf on May 12, 2022, 09:42:50 AM
It will be a great day if the sons some day take a Celtic Cross medal back home. 
Post by: rodney trotter on May 12, 2022, 07:00:58 PM
Kerry V Cork in the Munster Minor Championship   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHk-qgqioVA
Post by: Hound on May 12, 2022, 08:34:58 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 12, 2022, 08:03:44 AM
Venue aside I'm looking forward to this u20 final on Saturday. Kildare were very impressive against Dublin and based on that should probably be favourites. But either way there shouldn't be much in it. From a Tyrone point of view it's nice to see so many familiar names involved - Canavan, Cush, McGleenan, Donaghy. Kildare will be better defensively which will make it difficult for Canavan to be as dominant as against Kerry. Hopefully the venue doesn't put too many off as the players deserve to a decent crowd for such a big game.
Of course Tyrone are favourites after beating Kerry. 8/11 on with Boyles.
Post by: An Watcher on May 14, 2022, 08:00:11 AM
I see today's final is clashing with the FA cup final.  Could there not have been a wee bit of forward thinking on this eg play it at 3 or play it at 7?
Post by: Tubberman on May 14, 2022, 08:21:53 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 14, 2022, 08:00:11 AM
I see today's final is clashing with the FA cup final.  Could there not have been a wee bit of forward thinking on this eg play it at 3 or play it at 7?

Who gives a shite about the FA Cup final? The teams involved hardly care let alone GAA supporters
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2022, 08:41:41 AM

Agree. FA Cup should be brought forward to 3pm.
Post by: galwayman on May 14, 2022, 08:52:49 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 14, 2022, 08:21:53 AM

Who gives a shite about the FA Cup final? The teams involved hardly care let alone GAA supporters
100% I doubt too many involved will spare a thought for the FA cup final to be fair.
Post by: An Watcher on May 14, 2022, 11:23:14 AM
Irrespective of your views on either it shouldn't clash like this.  They're meant to be promoting big gaa events.  Nit putting them on at the same time as other big events.  If it couldn't be helped then fair enough but really
Post by: full moon on May 14, 2022, 12:13:24 PM
Not sure the FA Cup final is as big as it used to be. Don't think many will care about it outside Liverpool fans and even then they're in the Champions League final and title race.

I'll have the U20s game on instead. English soccer is gone stale for me too much money.
Post by: full moon on May 14, 2022, 12:20:08 PM
On to the game itself. I actually fancy Kildare to win this. Cavan should have beaten Tyrone. Kildare had several decent  wins including against Offaly the reigning champions and Dublin and Sligo.

I note Kildare have drifted out to 2/1 which is a big price. I consider this at best a 50/50 match up. Perhaps some are swayed by Canavan and the names in Tyrone line up. Good players no doubt but it's a 15 man game.
Post by: fearsiuil on May 14, 2022, 01:00:29 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 14, 2022, 12:20:08 PM
On to the game itself. I actually fancy Kildare to win this. Cavan should have beaten Tyrone. Kildare had several decent  wins including against Offaly the reigning champions and Dublin and Sligo.

I note Kildare have drifted out to 2/1 which is a big price. I consider this at best a 50/50 match up. Perhaps some are swayed by Canavan and the names in Tyrone line up. Good players no doubt but it's a 15 man game.

How much you putting on the 2/1??
Post by: Blowitupref on May 14, 2022, 02:25:50 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 14, 2022, 12:20:08 PM

Usually a lot of teams that reaches these underage final gets a big scare on route. Tyrone got that against Cavan and needed extra time to overcome Donegal and Kerry game could have gone either way.

For Kildare their quarter-final tie stands out.

With two points between the sides, in the last action of the game, a slack pass by Kildare full back Dean O’Donoghue presented Oisin Hooney with a glorious chance to score a match winning goal but agonisingly for Laois his shot with the last kick of the match went inches past the post.

Post by: Captain Obvious on May 14, 2022, 05:17:39 PM
Lively contest 1-3 after 16 Minutes with a good atmosphere that would probably be lost in Croke park?
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 14, 2022, 05:31:37 PM
Tyrone well on top have better forwards leading 1  8 to 1. 4. Seem to struggle at midfield but it seems they got it sorted. Kildare free makes it a 3 point game. Canavan outstanding.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 14, 2022, 05:33:48 PM
Half time

Tyrone 1  09
Kildare 1  05
Post by: Blowitupref on May 14, 2022, 05:34:41 PM
 A good quality final.
Post by: Tatler Jack on May 14, 2022, 05:37:27 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 14, 2022, 05:34:41 PM
A good quality final.

Tyrone have some quality players with good basic skills
Post by: omagh_gael on May 14, 2022, 05:54:35 PM
You have to wonder what goes through referee's heads at times...how the hell was that not a black for the foot trip??

Ruairi Canavan is a special, special talent.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 14, 2022, 05:57:46 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 14, 2022, 05:54:35 PM

Stand out player in this U20 championship. 1-30 i think he's scored and counting
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 14, 2022, 06:16:41 PM
Wee Harry Potter makes it 7 point lead still two more years at this grade Ruiri one more. All Tyrone. Ruiri man of match.
Post by: red hander on May 14, 2022, 06:17:05 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 14, 2022, 05:57:46 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 14, 2022, 05:54:35 PM

Stand out player in this U20 championship. 1-30 i think he's scored and counting

The oul apple doesn't fall too far from the tree. Brilliant footballer.
Post by: marty34 on May 14, 2022, 06:24:31 PM
Canavan unreal - so nice to watch as a player.

Great balance, control and accurate shooting off both feet.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 14, 2022, 06:24:50 PM
Unreal performance. Defence strong and disciplined. Potent in attack. Canavan had an unreal game as did young Devlin.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 14, 2022, 06:25:26 PM
Congratulations to Tyrone they simply attacked and defended better than Kildare.
Post by: full moon on May 14, 2022, 06:26:21 PM
Well Tyrone proved me wrong there, some outstanding scores kicked by Tyrone from all angles. Ruari Canavan is a special talent, I'm not one to hype youth players coming through but he will be surely a stalwart for Tyrone seniors in future. Few others there also Kush, and number 10 and 7 kicked serious scores. And McGleenan junior is a bear of a man in midfield. Definitely a few lads there can add to Tyrone seniors.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 14, 2022, 06:26:52 PM
Is Mrs Canavans biological clock still ticking lol must be one proud mum.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 14, 2022, 06:30:47 PM
The quality of ball going into the forwards was key to winning. Lovely low balls ideal for running on to. Backs were teak tough and well organized. I think there's a brave whean of that team available next year to. I fancy Tyrone to win minors as well.
Post by: full moon on May 14, 2022, 06:33:17 PM
Kildare had an off day really, some very poor wides throughout. The difference in finishing scores was huge.
Post by: Main Street on May 14, 2022, 06:33:46 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 14, 2022, 05:17:39 PM
Lively contest 1-3 after 16 Minutes with a good atmosphere that would probably be lost in Croke park?
The CP atmosphere for an underage final before a senior game is usually very good and more so if the youngsters put on a show.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 14, 2022, 07:16:14 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FSvGKh0XoAQw1Lz?format=jpg&name=360x360)

From https://twitter.com/gaa_statsman
Post by: Itchy on May 14, 2022, 07:47:22 PM
Congrats Tyrone, deserved the win. Can't help but think how a ref, didn't need the Donegal ref today
Post by: twohands!!! on May 14, 2022, 08:14:40 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 14, 2022, 06:33:17 PM
Kildare had an off day really, some very poor wides throughout. The difference in finishing scores was huge.

Kildare's finishing against Sligo in the semi-final was way worse than today.
Their finishing in the Leinster final was very average as well.
Don't think you can put today's finishing down to an off day, when they performed much worse in their previous game and about the same in the game prior to that.

Tyrone well deserving winners.

Lots of good games in this year's championship for the most part.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 15, 2022, 12:52:16 AM
Can Canavan play senior this year and still play under 20 next year?
Post by: Gael85 on May 15, 2022, 04:23:59 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 15, 2022, 12:52:16 AM
Can Canavan play senior this year and still play under 20 next year?

Yes
Post by: HokeyPokey on May 15, 2022, 01:07:39 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on May 14, 2022, 06:26:52 PM
Is Mrs Canavans biological clock still ticking lol must be one proud mum.

Tyrone should set up a sperm bank in Garvaghy exclusively to distribute out the seed of god, so we can keep Tyrone's forward line stocked for years to come.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 18, 2022, 08:24:43 PM
Dublin leading the U17 Leinster final 1-6 to 0-6 against Kildare 37 mins played

On TV or online https://www.tg4.ie/en/player/watch-live/home/
Post by: Hound on May 18, 2022, 08:58:04 PM
Poor enough from Kildare in the second half. Dubs weren't great but won very comfortably. Windy conditions contributed of course.
Post by: Gael85 on May 18, 2022, 09:08:59 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 18, 2022, 08:58:04 PM
Poor enough from Kildare in the second half. Dubs weren't great but won very comfortably. Windy conditions contributed of course.

Jesus Dublin made hard work of that. Totally dominant in second half.  Kildare could have got a penalty when keeper came out.
Post by: Rossfan on May 18, 2022, 09:35:58 PM
Should have.
Post by: onefineday on May 22, 2022, 12:55:40 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on May 21, 2022, 10:00:26 PM
All-Ireland MFC 2022...

Quarter Finals

Saturday 11th June
(A) Galway/Mayo/Sligo (Connacht Winners) vs. Kildare (Leinster Runner's Up)
(B) Derry/Tyrone (Ulster Winners) vs. Cork/Kerry (Munster Runner's Up)
(C) Dublin (Leinster Winners) vs. Galway/Mayo/Sligo (Connacht Runner's Up)
(D) Cork/Kerry (Munster Winners) vs. Derry/Tyrone (Ulster Runner's Up)

Semi Finals

Saturday 25th June
Winners of (A) vs. Winners of (B)
Winners of (C) vs. Winners of (D)

Final

Saturday 9th July
So what is the curtain raiser to the all Ireland football final?
It doesn't seem to be the u17 final, it's not tailteann, any ideas? College football game?
Post by: GlenMan on May 22, 2022, 01:30:33 AM
Quote from: onefineday on May 22, 2022, 12:55:40 AM
All-Ireland MFC 2022...

Quarter Finals

Saturday 11th June

Semi Finals

Saturday 25th June

Final

Saturday 9th July
It doesn't seem to be the u17 final, it's not tailteann, any ideas? College football game?

Has there been a curtain raiser the last few years?

They don't really need one - it would mean a few more thousand tickets for the counties in the senior final.
Post by: onefineday on May 22, 2022, 08:56:57 AM
Quote from: GlenMan on May 22, 2022, 01:30:33 AM
All-Ireland MFC 2022...

Quarter Finals

Saturday 11th June

Semi Finals

Saturday 25th June

Final

Saturday 9th July

Has there been a curtain raiser the last few years?

They don't really need one - it would mean a few more thousand tickets for the counties in the senior final.
Much better name off with an early game, should be tailteann, but minor final works too. If nothing else won't it give the dubs a chance to filter in on time. Mad rush for entrance at the same time now, carnage. I'd imagine they'll have something, we haven't had full capacity the last 2 years.
The ticket thing is overblown imo, how many instances are there where genuine fans don't get tickets from some source?
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 22, 2022, 12:51:43 PM
Was watching Tyrone/Donegal u17 game yesterday on YouTube and I felt bad for the penalty takers it looked fierce mucky.

There was over 5500 people watching it at one point.

Has Tyrone lost many players from last years u17 team?
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 22, 2022, 02:49:00 PM
All-Ireland MFC 2022...

Quarter Finals

Saturday 11th June

Semi Finals

Saturday 25th June

Final

Saturday 9th July

Senior AI final will be stand alone fixture.
Post by: God14 on May 22, 2022, 03:26:51 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on May 22, 2022, 12:51:43 PM
Was watching Tyrone/Donegal u17 game yesterday on YouTube and I felt bad for the penalty takers it looked fierce mucky.

There was over 5500 people watching it at one point.

Has Tyrone lost many players from last years u17 team?

Yes, completely different side

Last years u17 sides was one of the best Tyrone minor sides I'd seen
Post by: Blowitupref on June 01, 2022, 06:05:57 PM
Top 20 players of the U20 championship

Cormac Barker (Kildare)
Harry O'Neill (Kildare)
Tommy Gill (Kildare)
Niall Devlin (Tyrone)
Brian Conway (Tyrone)
Eoin Corry (Tyrone)
Jack Lavin (Sligo)
Sam Callinan (Mayo)
Cian Reilly (Cavan)
Adam Waddick (Dublin)
Joseph Keaney (Sligo)
Canice Mulligan (Sligo)
Sean O'Donnell (Tyrone)
Ruairi Canavan (Tyrone)
Adam Fanning (Kildare)
Darragh Lovett (Cavan)
Dylan Geaney (Kerry)
Evan Looney (Kerry)
Cillian Burke (Kerry)
Luke Breathnach (Dublin)

County Breakdown:

Tyrone 5
Kildare 4
Kerry 3
Sligo 3
Dublin 2
Cavan 2
Mayo 1
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 01, 2022, 08:04:09 PM
Munster U17 final half time

Cork 1- 09
Kerry 0 - 05

Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 01, 2022, 08:25:41 PM
Big Cork No.9 slaps Kerry No.8 on the face, would been send off if the Kerry man went down. 2/3mins later Kerry No. 6 taps him (think is the same lad) in the stomach as the big bollacks was throwing his weight round and he down like he shot and the Kerry lad off. These cubs watch too much soccer these days.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 01, 2022, 08:29:06 PM
Ref hasn't a clue, Kerry lad was charging, should been a free out, booked the Cork lad for standing his ground too.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 01, 2022, 08:41:28 PM
As i said on the Munster thread, Kerry Minors defeated Cork 1-16 to 0-5 in Tralee a few weeks ago. Some turnaround which shows the unpredictable nature of underage football sometimes.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 01, 2022, 08:46:00 PM
Very big Cork minor team though
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 01, 2022, 08:47:01 PM
Sin e

Cork.3-10

Kerry 0-08
Post by: Estimator on June 01, 2022, 10:16:32 PM
So next week in the quarter finals it's:
Derry v Cork
Tyrone v Kerry
Post by: Blowitupref on June 06, 2022, 02:43:29 PM
Details on U17s All Ireland Quarter finals (Connacht final on tonight)

Saturday in O'Moore Park

Kerry v Tyrone 4pm
Cork v Derry 6pm

Sunday in O'Connor Park throw in times TBC

Connacht winner v Kildare
Dublin v Connacht runner up

Post by: Ranty on June 08, 2022, 06:09:52 PM
Are these U17 games on Saturday being streamed by TG4 or anywhere else?    Looks like the wimmin have taken over TG4s main channel.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 08, 2022, 07:13:21 PM
Quote from: Ranty on June 08, 2022, 06:09:52 PM
Are these U17 games on Saturday being streamed by TG4 or anywhere else?    Looks like the wimmin have taken over TG4s main channel.

Yes thank God.

https://youtu.be/5XER7jsCo2c
Post by: Halfquarter on June 08, 2022, 08:06:25 PM

Mayo Kildare senior qualifier in Croke Park on Saturday.
Mayo Kildare minor quarter-final in Tullamore on Sunday.

Tough ask given the price of diesel.
Post by: Ranty on June 08, 2022, 09:19:18 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on June 08, 2022, 07:13:21 PM
Quote from: Ranty on June 08, 2022, 06:09:52 PM

Yes thank God.

https://youtu.be/5XER7jsCo2c

Thank you
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2022, 04:20:00 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on June 08, 2022, 08:06:25 PM

How hard was it to fix the Mayo v Kildare senior and minor games in one venue on the same day? These same grey haired men in suits at HQ haven't a clue and are responsible for chopping and changing the rules of the game and formats of its competitions is it any wonder we are left with worse than what we began with.

U17 and U20 grade is not improvement on the former U18 and U21 grades and now they think all will be solved with U19 grade.
Post by: rrhf on June 09, 2022, 04:23:25 PM
aftermath of newbridge or nowhere
Post by: Rossfan on June 09, 2022, 07:16:07 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2022, 04:20:00 PM

How hard was it to fix the Mayo v Kildare senior and minor games in one venue on the same day? These same grey haired men in suits at HQ haven't a clue and are responsible for chopping and changing the rules of the game and formats of its competitions is it any wonder we are left with worse than what we began with.

U17 and U20 grade is not improvement on the former U18 and U21 grades and now they think all will be solved with U19 grade.
Should never have moved from 21 aside and the point posts ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 09, 2022, 09:56:56 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 09, 2022, 07:16:07 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2022, 04:20:00 PM

Should never have moved from 21 aside and the point posts ::)

Do you honestly think it's an improvement?
Post by: Rossfan on June 10, 2022, 09:37:51 AM
I was responding to yer man's blunderbuss attack on everything new ;D
Now that you ask u20 and u17 were brought in for burn out reasons.
The u20 Championships have given some great games of football every bit as good as u21 did.
Seems a feeling out there now that u17 is too young to be having fully fledged inter Co Championships. Also seems an ongoing view in some section of HQ/CC for years that there should be u19 competition.
I wouldn't be in favour of abolishing u17 and u20 for a single u19.
Post by: johnnycool on June 10, 2022, 10:55:38 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 10, 2022, 09:37:51 AM
I was responding to yer man's blunderbuss attack on everything new ;D
Now that you ask u20 and u17 were brought in for burn out reasons.
The u20 Championships have given some great games of football every bit as good as u21 did.
Seems a feeling out there now that u17 is too young to be having fully fledged inter Co Championships. Also seems an ongoing view in some section of HQ/CC for years that there should be u19 competition.
I wouldn't be in favour of abolishing u17 and u20 for a single u19.

Burn out...

Much was made of Cathal O'Neill of Limerick not able to play for the U20's after he'd made an appearance for their senior hurlers and TBH I think the current ruling is correct and should be stuck with.
That is the only proper rule within the GAA that addresses burn out in a meaningful way, moving minor to U17 has done nothing but cause lads to leave the game a year earlier as U19 at club level as getting U19 club fixtures a slot has proved to be an issue in most counties.
Post by: rrhf on June 10, 2022, 01:28:35 PM
The young lads should be allowed to play, but only if they train and play with the 20s. There should be a maximum no. of training sessions per week collectively.
Post by: An Watcher on June 11, 2022, 04:30:14 PM
Kerry looking the better outfit here.  Tyrone can't get their forwards into it at all
Post by: Hound on June 11, 2022, 04:32:09 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on June 11, 2022, 04:30:14 PM
Kerry looking the better outfit here.  Tyrone can't get their forwards into it at all
Score?
Post by: An Watcher on June 11, 2022, 04:35:05 PM
Point to kerry at half time
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 11, 2022, 05:34:46 PM
Tyrone are been held bck by their managers style of play, they plenty of good Forwards there. They go 40mins and score only 2 points
Post by: Hound on June 11, 2022, 05:36:51 PM
What's the score lads?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 11, 2022, 05:41:29 PM
Kerry 0:08 Tyrone 1:04,  very poor given they be 2 fairly good teams.
Post by: An Watcher on June 11, 2022, 05:51:25 PM
Don't think Tyrone can have any complaints.  Kerrylooked the better team.  Defences on top
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 11, 2022, 06:14:28 PM
Kerry took their second chance. Tyrone don't get the opportunity of one. 
Post by: Hound on June 11, 2022, 06:22:25 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 11, 2022, 06:14:28 PM
Provincial finalists all get one chance to win their province and then one chance to win the All Ireland.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 11, 2022, 06:27:51 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 11, 2022, 06:22:25 PM
Provincial finalists all get one chance to win their province and then one chance to win the All Ireland.

Kerry got a second chance though, Tyrone don't.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 11, 2022, 06:57:05 PM
Unfortunately for Tyrone we had our worst performance of the year on the knock out day. Didn't get going at all, surprised they didn't go for more long range shots in second half with the wind. Derry going well against Cork, rubs salt in the wound when you've just beat them well in ulster.
Post by: screenexile on June 11, 2022, 07:12:04 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 11, 2022, 06:57:05 PM
Unfortunately for Tyrone we had our worst performance of the year on the knock out day. Didn't get going at all, surprised they didn't go for more long range shots in second half with the wind. Derry going well against Cork, rubs salt in the wound when you've just beat them well in ulster.

I thought Derry were the better team in that last match but for some unfortunate goals. We seem to have shorn that up now so bodes well!!

Good performance today against a fancied Cork side.
Post by: Hound on June 11, 2022, 07:16:45 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 11, 2022, 06:27:51 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 11, 2022, 06:22:25 PM

Kerry got a second chance though, Tyrone don't.
Nobody who makes the AI series gets another chance. How they get to the QF is totally irrelevant.
Post by: bennydorano on June 11, 2022, 07:49:07 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 11, 2022, 07:12:04 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 11, 2022, 06:57:05 PM

I thought Derry were the better team in that last match but for some unfortunate goals. We seem to have shorn that up now so bodes well!!

Good performance today against a fancied Cork side.

Derry will be sick after that, terrible naivety and game management throughout, they played like a team that thought their natural talent would get them over the line eventually. Tyrone well organised and very efficient with no shortage of talent. I don't know how strong the other teams round the country are but you could see one or both back in the AIF.

My comments above after the UMF, not hugely surprised at today's scores, Derry beat themselves in Clones, were clearly the better side but played as individuals. Had both minor games on on the tablet today while watching Croke Park today but Derry were clearly were more team focused today rather than on individual glory hunts. The Tyrone v Kerry game was a hard watch.
Post by: An Watcher on June 11, 2022, 07:51:29 PM
Tyrone mightnt have won the All Ireland but nice to have a but of silverware in the back pocket.  Good luck to the Derry TEAM going forward
Post by: marty34 on June 11, 2022, 09:04:46 PM
Both minor games today were very low scoring.

Is it the pressure of not losing?
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2022, 09:15:04 PM
Thought that side overachieved winning Ulster and half expected this today. I hope Derry go on to win it. Coupled with the MacRory success, the future is bright for them as well as ourselves.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 11, 2022, 09:29:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2022, 09:15:04 PM
Thought that side overachieved winning Ulster and half expected this today. I hope Derry go on to win it. Coupled with the MacRory success, the future is bright for them as well as ourselves.
I didn't see the Tyrone game but was surprised that they were kept to such a low score today , I saw them against  Donegal in the  semi final as well as the Ulster Final and they had  some serious quality in the forward line in McElohm  and Grimes amongst others.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 11, 2022, 10:48:31 PM
Derry should clocked 18pts, a few lads keep trying to work for goals instead just taking the points on offer.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 12, 2022, 01:53:53 PM
Galway 0-10 Dublin 0-7. That's three of the provincial winners out at the Quarter final stage. Good recovery win for Galway having lost the Connacht final on Sunday.
Post by: marty34 on June 12, 2022, 02:09:53 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 12, 2022, 01:53:53 PM
Galway 0-10 Dublin 0-7. That three of the provincial winners out at the Quarter final stage. Good recovery win for Galway having lost the Connacht final on Sunday.

Another very low scoring minor game.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 12, 2022, 04:00:13 PM
Quote from: marty34 on June 12, 2022, 02:09:53 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 12, 2022, 01:53:53 PM
Galway 0-10 Dublin 0-7. That three of the provincial winners out at the Quarter final stage. Good recovery win for Galway having lost the Connacht final on Sunday.

Another very low scoring minor game.

After 4 attempts the last Quarter final wasn't Mayo 3-18 Kildare 3-12.

Semi final line up

Mayo v Kerry
Derry v Galway

Post by: Maroon Manc on June 13, 2022, 11:25:01 AM
Galway much the better team against Dublin especially after the opening 15 mins. Galway missed a pen and butchered plenty of other goal opportunities, they did well to recover after only last losing to Mayo 6 days previously.

Post by: marty34 on June 13, 2022, 11:34:57 AM
Good south Derry man playing mid-field for Galway.

I hear he's a great talent - young lad too.

Should be a good game.

Any venue or date yet?
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 13, 2022, 12:29:12 PM
Quote from: marty34 on June 13, 2022, 11:34:57 AM
Good south Derry man playing mid-field for Galway.

I hear he's a great talent - young lad too.

Should be a good game.

Any venue or date yet?

Don't think you'll see too many 15 year olds his size, certainly looks a talent.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 15, 2022, 03:32:03 PM
U17 Semi finals set for Saturday 25th of June. Anyone's guess why they couldn't be on the build with the senior quarter finals in Croke Park.

Galway v Derry 1pm in Parnell park
Mayo v Kerry 2:45pm O'Conner park

Post by: marty34 on June 15, 2022, 04:57:34 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 15, 2022, 03:32:03 PM
U17 Semi finals set for Saturday 25th of June. Anyone's guess why they couldn't be on the build with the senior quarter finals in Croke Park.

Gaa, at the top level, is out of touch, especially these days.

Do Derry supporters have to buy another ticket for this game ?
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on June 15, 2022, 05:13:36 PM
Quote from: marty34 on June 15, 2022, 04:57:34 PM

Looking like it unless they can come to some arrangement where your ticket for Croke Park gains you entry into this game. But this is the GAA we are talking about so Christ only knows. Expect to have to pay again to get into this one.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 15, 2022, 05:14:43 PM

Galway supporters expected to travel up to Dublin twice in 2 days, an absolute joke. They caused themselves a problem when they put Galway & Derry on different days.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on June 15, 2022, 05:23:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 15, 2022, 05:14:43 PM

Do Derry supporters have to buy another ticket for this game?

Galway supporters expected to travel up to Dublin twice in 2 days, an absolute joke. They caused themselves a problem when they put Galway & Derry on different days.

That would have meant Dublin and Kerry/Mayo being the curtain-raiser to one of the other games and god forbid that would happen. If Kerry or Dublin were in the first game of the day would their supporters stay on for the second game? Or am I being unfair?
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 15, 2022, 05:30:20 PM

Yes charging 10€ for adults and 5€ for students for the minor games.
Post by: iorras on June 15, 2022, 05:50:43 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 15, 2022, 05:14:43 PM

Sure they Galway supporters will all be in the one car, one lad drives one day and another the next and it'll be grand.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 15, 2022, 05:53:05 PM
No reason game shouldn't been in Croke Park, Derry supporters not attend due to the tightness of getting to both games in traffic, and Galway, its too far, plus if in Croke Park they wouldn't attended due to price of ticket. So they picked the worst choice of both cases. At least the players could got to play in front of a big crowd like the ulster final if in Croke Park.
Post by: galwayman on June 21, 2022, 03:09:49 PM
Hi lads. Does anyone know what bus route(s) from the city centre go out near Parnell Park? Cheers
Post by: clonadmad on June 21, 2022, 05:43:56 PM
Gaa policy is not to have u17 finals ahead of senior games

Minor Hurling all ireland in Nowlan park July 2nd

Will be close to a sell out

€15 for adults

U16's free
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 21, 2022, 05:45:49 PM
Quote from: galwayman on June 21, 2022, 03:09:49 PM
Hi lads. Does anyone know what bus route(s) from the city centre go out near Parnell Park? Cheers

From Eden Quay regular buses leave.  Numbers 14,15, 27,27a,27b. Get off at Donnycarney church roughly a 5 minute walk to Parnell Park from there.
Post by: Sean3 on June 21, 2022, 06:16:16 PM
42 bus will also get you there. They all stop at the bus stop across the road from Connolly Station as well. Eden Quay or Talbot St also good places to leave from.
Post by: galwayman on June 21, 2022, 06:16:35 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 21, 2022, 05:45:49 PM
Quote from: galwayman on June 21, 2022, 03:09:49 PM

From Eden Quay regular buses leave.  Numbers 14,15, 27,27a,27b. Get off at Donnycarney church roughly a 5 minute walk to Parnell Park from there.
Thanks a million
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2022, 01:20:45 PM
Galway looking good
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2022, 01:35:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2022, 01:20:45 PM
Galway looking good

HT Galway 1-4 Derry 1-1. Should be further than 3 ahead at the break. The Derry goal two minutes before half time a real lifeline.
Post by: onefineday on June 25, 2022, 01:41:29 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 25, 2022, 01:35:01 PM
Galway looking good

HT Galway 1-4 Derry 1-1. Should be further than 3 ahead at the break. The Derry goal two minutes before half time a real lifeline.
Who has the wind? Extremely blowy here in Dublin today.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2022, 01:44:17 PM
Quote from: onefineday on June 25, 2022, 01:41:29 PM
Galway looking good

No advantage with that wind, looks all over the show
Post by: onefineday on June 25, 2022, 01:47:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 25, 2022, 01:44:17 PM
Quote from: onefineday on June 25, 2022, 01:41:29 PM
Galway looking good

No advantage with that wind, looks all over the show
Croker will be fun with it!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2022, 01:52:03 PM
Am i biased or is this ref ridin Derry
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2022, 01:54:52 PM
There's the odd bad decision but unfortunately I think Galway are just quite a bit better.
Post by: pjm on June 25, 2022, 01:55:08 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2022, 01:52:03 PM
Am i biased or is this ref ridin Derry
Soft free a minute ago but cracking goal
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2022, 01:56:53 PM
That was a black card mind you...
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2022, 01:57:09 PM
Derry made no use of the extra man (black card) out scored 1-2 to 0-2.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2022, 01:57:17 PM
Never seen as much fumbling when in good positions. I rarely give off to the tv but have done so a few times today. Must be gettin old
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2022, 02:07:19 PM
Yeah Galway are a bit better but Derry appear to be having on of those days too and are making a lot of unforced errors.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2022, 02:22:45 PM
Good fight back by Derry. Could have squared it up but wasn't to be unfortunately.
Post by: smort on June 25, 2022, 02:22:49 PM
Fair play to Derry there, nearly pulled it back

Galway stopped playing
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 25, 2022, 02:23:20 PM
Galway fell over the line. Probably win it out now.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 25, 2022, 02:24:03 PM
Great fightback if Derry had played at all first half... ah well
Post by: Rudi on June 25, 2022, 02:24:09 PM
Hard luck on Derry in the end, Galway chit the test.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2022, 02:24:43 PM
FT Galway 2-9 Derry 1-11. Best side won although could easily have allowed Derry grab extra time. Few would have predicted Galway to reach the All-Ireland final after losing 3 games in the Connacht championship.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 25, 2022, 02:25:42 PM
Galway made real hard work of that.
Mayo are the outstanding team at this grade by a distance from what we've seen to date.
Post by: smort on June 25, 2022, 02:26:09 PM
Galway looked dangerous when they played

Been a lot of good Galway youth recently, will it translate to senior? There was a boy hernon who got what looked like a bad injury on the throw-up a few years back, has he kicked on?
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 25, 2022, 02:39:30 PM
7 point gap proved too big for Derry and didn't play their best football until it looked a lost cause. Goals conceded was the first score in each half by Galway and was key in their win.
Post by: galwayman on June 25, 2022, 03:05:22 PM
Played very well until the last 15 mins-ish.
Our kick outs almost cost us the game in that period.
Even with an extra man we lost pretty much every one of our own kick outs.
Still we'll take it. Up to that Galway we're by far the better team.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2022, 03:19:25 PM
HT Mayo 1-5 Kerry 0-6. 20 minutes played Kerry led 5-1. A Mayo goal totally against the run of play has swung this contest.
Post by: onefineday on June 25, 2022, 03:20:35 PM
Quote from: galwayman on June 25, 2022, 03:05:22 PM
Played very well until the last 15 mins-ish.
Our kick outs almost cost us the game in that period.
Even with an extra man we lost pretty much every one of our own kick outs.
Still we'll take it. Up to that Galway we're by far the better team.
Derry kickout strategy in the first 15 mins of 2nd half was not good either.
I'd much prefer this being reverted to u18, that extra year adds a lot in terms of physical development and there's little obvious rationale behind continuing with this experiment imo. Causing huge issues countrywide at club level too.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 25, 2022, 03:23:57 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 25, 2022, 03:19:25 PM
HT Mayo 1-5 Kerry 0-6. 20 minutes played Kerry led 5-1. A Mayo goal totally against the run of play has swung this contest.

Mayo all over the place before the goal. Still anyones game. Minor football is all about momentum.
Post by: Tubberman on June 25, 2022, 03:39:17 PM
Mayo don't look like the same team as they did in Connacht at all. Sloppy passing, getting cleaned in midfield. Still flashes of good play or individual moments but very disjointed in general
Post by: From the Bunker on June 25, 2022, 03:45:52 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 25, 2022, 03:39:17 PM
Mayo don't look like the same team as they did in Connacht at all. Sloppy passing, getting cleaned in midfield. Still flashes of good play or individual moments but very disjointed in general

When they played Galway, they went in as a blank page for their opponents. Kerry will have analysed their play and their key men to nullify .
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2022, 04:08:00 PM
FT Mayo 1-8 Kerry 0-9. Strong finish to the 1st half proved the difference here. Great for Connacht football to have Connacht All-Ireland final.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 25, 2022, 04:13:25 PM
Both Mayo and Kerry poor. Mayo got more their share of calls from the Referee.
We'll take it, better to win a dour game than to lose a classic!
Post by: Loughshore2022 on June 26, 2022, 02:07:54 AM
I never knew I had a distant cousin in the Galway team. McGlinchey is grandson of the well known Dominic McGlinchey. My mother is 2nd cousins with his wife who was killed.
Post by: seafoid on June 26, 2022, 06:03:42 AM
Quote from: Loughshore2022 on June 26, 2022, 02:07:54 AM
I never knew I had a distant cousin in the Galway team. McGlinchey is grandson of the well known Dominic McGlinchey. My mother is 2nd cousins with his wife who was killed.
Mary McGlinchey was from Toomebridge
Post by: TheMistro on June 28, 2022, 09:52:01 AM
Ridiculous Galway getting to final after losing 3 games.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 28, 2022, 09:59:47 AM
Lose 3 games who to, Mayo twice? What way the minor set up in connacht
Post by: galwayman on June 28, 2022, 10:06:43 AM
Quote from: TheMistro on June 28, 2022, 09:52:01 AM
Ridiculous Galway getting to final after losing 3 games.
Sure it's a round robin system in Connacht. Galway were already through to the Connacht semi final and guaranteed home advantage before the final group game because they'd hammered Sligo & Roscommon. So they made 8 changes and lost that game.
Then lost the final. There has been a back door for provincial losers at minor level for years now.
Cork won the minor in 2019 having already lost twice to Kerry in Munster.
This is what can happen when round robin systems are used.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2022, 10:25:09 AM
Quote from: smort on June 25, 2022, 02:26:09 PM
Galway looked dangerous when they played

Been a lot of good Galway youth recently, will it translate to senior? There was a boy hernon who got what looked like a bad injury on the throw-up a few years back, has he kicked on?

This will be Galway's 6th minor or u20/21 final in the last 6 years, won an u21 final in 2013 too but only Comer & Walsh still around from that team. Glynn, Patrick Kelly, & Tierney who started all won an u20 medal in 2020.

Hernon was still u20 this year but was injured, he did his cruciate on holiday. Not sure if that someone this year of last but he was always excellent anytime I've seen him.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2022, 10:27:22 AM
Has there been a venue decided for the final?
Post by: TheMistro on June 28, 2022, 10:29:08 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2022, 10:27:22 AM

Dr Hyde Park?
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2022, 10:32:15 AM
Quote from: TheMistro on June 28, 2022, 10:29:08 AM

Dr Hyde Park?

Down for the same day as the Galway Derry game, surely a bit of common sense and put it back a week.
Post by: galwayman on June 28, 2022, 10:44:33 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2022, 10:32:15 AM

Dr Hyde Park?

Down for the same day as the Galway Derry game, surely a bit of common sense and put it back a week.
It's on the Friday evening in Hyde Park.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2022, 11:09:30 AM
Hyde is the obvious place seeing as a Croke Park triple header isn't in the running.
Still "TBC" per gaa.ie
Post by: Blowitupref on June 28, 2022, 06:36:14 PM
Quote from: galwayman on June 28, 2022, 10:44:33 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2022, 10:32:15 AM

Dr Hyde Park?

It's on the Friday evening in Hyde Park.
Is that confirmed. A first to play All Ireland final on a Friday evening.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 29, 2022, 03:53:25 PM
10 or 11 days away and still no day, time and venue for this All-Ireland final. Shows the lack of respect HQ have for this competition. Of course they are determined to get rid the U17 AI series and bring in provincial only tournaments and scrap U20 they only brought in 4 years ago for the U19 grade.

Finally confirmed. Friday July 8th in Dr Hyde Park.
Post by: iorras on July 06, 2022, 08:39:33 PM
How the hell can you lose 3 matches in championship but still make an All Ireland final? Makes no sense
Post by: Blowitupref on July 06, 2022, 08:47:49 PM
Quote from: iorras on July 06, 2022, 08:39:33 PM
How the hell can you lose 3 matches in championship but still make an All Ireland final? Makes no sense

With a round robin system. Was a few years that Galway minors played one Championship game and knocked out after losing. Which is best and fairest format?

Post by: galwayman on July 06, 2022, 09:09:20 PM
When there is a round robin system in place and a back door for losing provincial finalists then yes it does. Galway rested over half their team for the last group game because they were through to the Connacht semi final with home advantage in the bag with a round still to play.
Post by: Derryman forever on July 06, 2022, 10:26:31 PM
Is football and hurling, getting in the way of GAA business in Croke Park?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 06, 2022, 11:05:49 PM
The minor competition has always been unfair, Ulster teams only had 1 life for a long time too. It should be the same in every province, its all part of the same competition.
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2022, 11:34:04 PM
Up to Ulster to stop being silly and do the same as the rest of us.
Post by: Hound on July 07, 2022, 06:18:02 AM
From what I read, the Connacht Council get a lot wrong. But the format for the Connacht  U17 championship is very good in that it gives the young lads a guaranteed 4 games. Thankfully long gone are the days when you could be training for 6 months for one game and then that could be the end of your intercounty experience.

Up to each province to come up with a system that delivers two teams to the AllIreland quarter finals. 3 losses sounds unusual if you have no knowledge of the system, but there was little doubt that Galway were the second best team in Connacht during the Connacht championship.
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2022, 09:12:54 AM
Galway like Mayowestros haven't lost any games in the All Ireland Championship.
All Counties get 5 games in Connacht - 4 round Robin, top team gets to Final, 2nd play 3rd in a semi final while 4th and 5th play a Shield final.
In my opinion the u20 should be the same.
Post by: iorras on July 07, 2022, 07:56:16 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 06, 2022, 08:47:49 PM

With a round robin system. Was a few years that Galway minors played one Championship game and knocked out after losing. Which is best and fairest format?
Any system where Galway get knocked out early is a great system
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 07, 2022, 08:14:51 PM
My only complaint about the current Minor championship system in Connacht is that it's not also in place for the more important developmental grade of U20.
These lads need matches to grow as players.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 07, 2022, 09:35:09 PM
The more matches the better for U17 it is a development grade. Debatable if U20 needs to be the same. At that age its adult football and players are already busy with a number of teams be it college, club. It's a good age for Championship knock out games to be introduced the real do or die matches and it gives a fair idea as to who will make the step up to senior level which i might add is a bigger step up than U21 use to be.

The U20 grade probably needs better organised league competition and all of the championship played in the summer.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2022, 04:26:56 PM
Less than 3 hours away from the U17 All-Ireland final. A 3rd win in one year for Mayo against Galway or 3rd time lucky for Galway?

(https://serving.photos.photobox.com/38595736e5a91ed0823b8aeab4c2afde1fd1c9e6d636e11eda726df48d72a5debabb3aa1.jpg)

(https://serving.photos.photobox.com/828280292536da3db5c4581a901eb9630f638fafa3692b6de77e7d2e0ecf417752b8aade.jpg)
Post by: Manning18 on July 08, 2022, 07:13:00 PM
I wonder will "the best fans in Ireland" resort to booing teenage free takers, yet again. Let's hope some have seen sense in the past year
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2022, 07:28:07 PM
0-2 each after 10 minutes.

Deserved half time lead for Galway. Good half of football 0-8 to 0-6.
Post by: marty34 on July 08, 2022, 08:02:27 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2022, 07:28:07 PM
0-2 each after 10 minutes.

Deserved half time lead for Galway. Good half of football 0-8 to 0-6.

Strong enough breeze it seems.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2022, 08:08:06 PM
Mayo very poor so far. Another All Ireland defeat beckons. :-X
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2022, 08:19:56 PM
15 minutes to play it's a deserved 4 point lead for Galway. Nearly 13,000 the attendance not sure does that count the U16s that got in for free.

0-14 to 0-8 Galway lead. 6 minutes of normal time left.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2022, 08:32:33 PM
Few questionable reffing decisions. They don't explain the poorness of the Mayo display however. Congrats to Galway.
Post by: Chimley on July 08, 2022, 08:37:04 PM
That No 2 Farthing has had some game.
Post by: pbat on July 08, 2022, 08:41:19 PM
No 2 had a super game, old school defending.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2022, 08:41:48 PM
FT Galway 0-15 Mayo 0-9. Congrats to the young tribesmen without doubt the best team on the night.

Mayo unbeaten up to tonight for whatever reason wasn't able to perform to the standard that won them Connacht and reach this AI final.
Post by: Rudi on July 08, 2022, 08:42:26 PM
Quote from: Chimley on July 08, 2022, 08:37:04 PM
That No 2 Farthing has had some game.

He's a huge talent.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2022, 09:26:20 PM
Great Connacht occasion, 2 Connacht teams, the Hyde looking great, great first half of Connacht football.
Galway the better team from start to finish and well deserved their wwin.Excellent crowd - official 12,789.
As said above I don't know if they included u16s....how could they?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 08, 2022, 09:29:50 PM
They had the higher intensity throughout and took their opportunities..

Great to see a team avenge when it matters
Post by: snoopdog on July 08, 2022, 10:50:22 PM
Yep.best team won. Doing it when it matters.
Post by: galwayman on July 08, 2022, 11:10:51 PM
Great win. Definitely the physicality and willingness to put the bodies on the line was there tonight - which wasn't the case certainly in the first meeting between the teams in Tuam.
The difference Farthing has made to them shouldn't be understated either.
He didn't play in that first game but has been man of the match for me anyway in each of the last 3 games. Crucially they got Eanna Monaghan into the game tonight as well.
Mayo were flat tonight. Never really got going.
Post by: onefineday on July 09, 2022, 07:06:32 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2022, 09:26:20 PM
Great Connacht occasion, 2 Connacht teams, the Hyde looking great, great first half of Connacht football.
Galway the better team from start to finish and well deserved their wwin.Excellent crowd - official 12,789.
As said above I don't know if they included u16s....how could they?
Do u16's not need a ticket too?
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2022, 11:59:26 AM
I saw lots of them just walking in without being scanned.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 16, 2022, 03:11:20 PM
Minor Star Football Team of the Year 2022

1 Kyle Gilmore (Galway and Cortoon Shamrocks)
2 Tomás Farthing (Galway and An Spidéal)
3 Ben Hughes (Tyrone and Donaghmore)
4 Rio Mortimer (Mayo and Claremorris)
5 Paul Gilmore (Mayo and Claremorris)
6 Cillian Trayers (Galway and Claregalway)
7 Fionn Murphy (Kerry and Rathmore)
8 Ruairí Forbes (Derry and Ballinderry Shamrocks)
9 Jack Lonergan (Galway and Claregalway)
10 Johnny McGuckian (Derry and Watty Graham's Glen)
11 Éanna Monaghan (Galway and Claregalway)
12 Diarmuid Duffy (Mayo and Ballinrobe)
13 Joe Quigley (Dublin and Kilmacud Crokes)
14 Ronan Clarke (Mayo and Bohola Moy Davitts)
15 Colm Costello (Galway and Dunmore MacHales)

6 Galway
4 Mayo
2 Derry
1 Tyrone
1 Kerry
1 Dublin