GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 10:19:34 AM

Title: Donegal vs. Cavan - Ulster SFC 2022 Semi Final, Sunday 8th May
Post by: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 10:19:34 AM
Don't see a thread for this so starting one. A redo of the 2020 Final, and Donegal should well have revenge on their mind. Match set for Clones at 4pm on Sunday 8th, so should get a big crowd for this one. Cavan show that their Championship form is nothing like their League placing, so should be tight and interesting. Thoughts?
Title: Re: Donegal vs. Cavan - Ulster SFC 2022 Semi Final, Sunday 8th May
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2022, 10:26:46 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 10:19:34 AM
Don't see a thread for this so starting one. A redo of the 2020 Final, and Donegal should well have revenge on their mind. Match set for Clones at 4pm on Sunday 8th, so should get a big crowd for this one. Cavan show that their Championship form is nothing like their League placing, so should be tight and interesting. Thoughts?

Hard to assess considering we were shite lol...

But certainly could throw up a surprise, Cavan play with confidence and plenty of skill on show on Sat. A few bad misses earlier on in the first half would be worrying but that will be no doubt worked on in the coming days.
Post by: Cavan19 on April 27, 2022, 10:58:36 AM
It's hard to know where Cavan are at going by league performances which were not good but last week was a vast improvement against a weak Antrim side though.

It's a big ask to go up against a Divsion 1 side after playing Division 4 football all year the pace and intensity is a massive step up.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2022, 11:01:14 AM
Quote from: Cavan19 on April 27, 2022, 10:58:36 AM
It's hard to know where Cavan are at going by league performances which were not good but last week was a vast improvement against a weak Antrim side though.

It's a big ask to go up against a Divsion 1 side after playing Division 4 football all year the pace and intensity is a massive step up.

Well it was well about div 3 standard on Saturday... So with the weather hopefully keeping the pitches dry that should help
Post by: Cavan19 on April 27, 2022, 11:25:32 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2022, 11:01:14 AM
Quote from: Cavan19 on April 27, 2022, 10:58:36 AM

Well it was well about div 3 standard on Saturday... So with the weather hopefully keeping the pitches dry that should help

True it was Cavan's biggest win in the Championship for decades i believe. Its not often Cavan give a good beating to a team in either league or championship.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 27, 2022, 11:26:35 AM
You have had much tighter games with much worse antrim teams. I think maybe you saw antrim as more of a threat this time which unfortunately didn't turn out to be an issue!!
Post by: J70 on April 27, 2022, 12:23:56 PM
I'm nervous about this as I honestly don't have a clue what to expect from Cavan or where they are in terms of overall Ulster standard.

One thing is for certain though, Donegal will not be caught on the hop like they were 18 months ago.

If Cavan beat us on ability and tactics, so be it, but intensity and effort is unforgiveable.

I think it was a four or five point margin that day thanks to a late goal, but on the overall game a ten point win would not have flattered the Cavan men.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 27, 2022, 01:54:38 PM
Antrim offered nothing in midfield.  Tipperary in the league final were on top for long periods in the middle.
Jason McGee was very good against Armagh,  Cavan need to get a big performance from Galligan,McKiernan or whoever will start there
Post by: Itchy on April 27, 2022, 02:11:57 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 27, 2022, 01:54:38 PM
Antrim offered nothing in midfield.  Tipperary in the league final were on top for long periods in the middle.
Jason McGee was very good against Armagh,  Cavan need to get a big performance from Galligan,McKiernan or whoever will start there

Its a fascinating game I think. Its also hard to know how good Donegal are at midfield either so poor were armagh. I cant see them doing a full press against Cavan as we do have the men to compete in the air. The last time we played Michael Murphy was struggling but he looks to be motoring well now so thats a big plus for Donegal. Have Cavan improved since that final? Its hard to say as the form can be so erratic. I think a kick off the ball either way when all is said and done.
Post by: J70 on April 27, 2022, 02:16:21 PM
McGee has been impressive this year, now that he has got over the injuries and filled out his frame.

All going well we might finally have a replacement for Neil Gallagher for the coming years.

McGonagle will be another two weeks into his comeback as well.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2022, 04:11:14 PM
Listening to the RTÉ podcast Kevin McStay has more or less wrote Cavan off, saying Donegals win against Armagh was their passport to the Ulster final.  Yes they lost a "pandemic final" to Cavan but unfinished business for Donegal and will be no over confidence going into this match with Cavan he said.
Post by: Westside on April 27, 2022, 04:40:33 PM
Cavan have a few passengers in the starting 15. We need Gearoid to find a big performance and we get need Martin, Holla and Oisin Kiernan back in the team. Looking forward to see what Lynch can provide against Division 1 opposition. 5 points is the handicap and seems about right.

I don't get the 'unfinished business'. Cavan should have won the 2020 final comfortably and that was with a referee who gave multiple poor decisions against them. Donegal weren't robbed, they just faced a hungrier side on the night and couldn't find a performance to match ours. Cavan were a side full of U21 and Minor winning players that were in their second consecutive final. I don't believe Donegal are stupid enough to have taken Cavan for granted.

They're heavy favourites and rightly so, but if they win it won't be because they took us seriously this year and not in 2020.
Post by: Gael80 on April 27, 2022, 04:50:36 PM

I don't see it being tight, a lot of talk that Cavan didn't belong in Division 4 but they were there for a reason. They deserved to win an Ulster title but it was a strange year and hadn't won it since 1997, so I don't see them as this 'championship team' they're being referred to. Donegal won't have the Ballybofey factor but they'll be motivated and I can see a 10 point win for Donegal as they're a much stronger panel. Ulster Final will be a different challenge but Donegal will comfortably qualify for it.
Post by: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 05:28:35 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2022, 04:11:14 PM
Listening to the RTÉ podcast Kevin McStay has more or less wrote Cavan off, saying Donegals win against Armagh was their passport to the Ulster final.  Yes they lost a "pandemic final" to Cavan but unfinished business for Donegal and will be no over confidence going into this match with Cavan he said.

This the McStay who went for Antrim to beat Cavan last week? Lad hasn't a clue...
Post by: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 05:29:26 PM
Quote from: Westside on April 27, 2022, 04:40:33 PM
Cavan have a few passengers in the starting 15. We need Gearoid to find a big performance and we get need Martin, Holla and Oisin Kiernan back in the team. Looking forward to see what Lynch can provide against Division 1 opposition. 5 points is the handicap and seems about right.

I don't get the 'unfinished business'. Cavan should have won the 2020 final comfortably and that was with a referee who gave multiple poor decisions against them. Donegal weren't robbed, they just faced a hungrier side on the night and couldn't find a performance to match ours. Cavan were a side full of U21 and Minor winning players that were in their second consecutive final. I don't believe Donegal are stupid enough to have taken Cavan for granted.

They're heavy favourites and rightly so, but if they win it won't be because they took us seriously this year and not in 2020.

Who do you think are the passengers if you don't mind me asking?
Post by: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 05:37:22 PM
Quote from: Gael80 on April 27, 2022, 04:50:36 PM

I don't see it being tight, a lot of talk that Cavan didn't belong in Division 4 but they were there for a reason. They deserved to win an Ulster title but it was a strange year and hadn't won it since 1997, so I don't see them as this 'championship team' they're being referred to. Donegal won't have the Ballybofey factor but they'll be motivated and I can see a 10 point win for Donegal as they're a much stronger panel. Ulster Final will be a different challenge but Donegal will comfortably qualify for it.

I think it will be. League isn't everything, and while Cavan did indeed end up in Division 4, it was on the back of 2 very odd disrupted and curtailed seasons. And with a manager who clearly did not value League, then you can see a little beyond it. Just have a look at his Championship win record. He was the same as a club manager. Look I was as disappointed as the next Cavan man with our League form, but he sets out the season to be ready for Championship, and overall that works. Sure don't we see teams who go balls out for League and don't do anything in League recently? Needs to be a balance, and for some reason this seems to be our. Like on paper, a Division 4 team should not be thrashing a Division 3 promotion chaser at home. But Cavan did. So you need to look past it a little bit.

Donegal are rightfully favourites, and will likely will win. All I'm saying is it'll be tighter than some think, as Donegal will be wary of getting caught again, as they should have been thrashed in that final only for the ref. Graham beat Bonner on the line with tactics and setup. Crowd will be back too. These players have met many times underage and Senior with wins on both sides. And the underdog always has nothing to lose here. Think it'll be a cracker
Post by: Westside on April 27, 2022, 05:41:31 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 05:29:26 PM

I don't think it's fair to single lads out by name. But I think some of the younger players on the team aren't doing enough to hold a definite starting position. If Holla, Kiernan and Martin get back, it's easy to see who drops to the bench for two of those positions at least.
Post by: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 07:03:29 PM
Quote from: Westside on April 27, 2022, 05:41:31 PM

I don't think it's fair to single lads out by name. But I think some of the younger players on the team aren't doing enough to hold a definite starting position. If Holla, Kiernan and Martin get back, it's easy to see who drops to the bench for two of those positions at least.

I do think it was a case of trying things out in the League, which is the point of it, and some of those lads are not there just yet. But thought with the team we started Saturday, and with some of the subs you named, we're very close to full strength as we can be, and really don't think we've any passengers at all in that case.
Post by: Westside on April 27, 2022, 07:41:23 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 07:03:29 PM

I do think it was a case of trying things out in the League, which is the point of it, and some of those lads are not there just yet. But thought with the team we started Saturday, and with some of the subs you named, we're very close to full strength as we can be, and really don't think we've any passengers at all in that case.

Maybe passengers is a harsh term. When Oisin Kiernan first came into the side he was drifting around the edges of games. Doing some good things but not imposing himself on the game or making big plays. In time he improved to the point where he was a big player on the team. I think there's a couple of lads on the team doing what he was doing back then, no doubt they will improve with time. But to beat Donegal I think we need every one of our best 15 playing at their best.
Post by: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 09:18:22 PM
Quote from: Westside on April 27, 2022, 07:41:23 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 07:03:29 PM

Maybe passengers is a harsh term. When Oisin Kiernan first came into the side he was drifting around the edges of games. Doing some good things but not imposing himself on the game or making big plays. In time he improved to the point where he was a big player on the team. I think there's a couple of lads on the team doing what he was doing back then, no doubt they will improve with time. But to beat Donegal I think we need every one of our best 15 playing at their best.

You're always going to have a few players on each day who don't win their battle and look like that. On really good days you still have a few, and overall you need 10 players or more to win their individual battles to win a game (generally). Some player looks a passenger one day, looks like the winning of the game the next. Don't think we have any like that. We've a strong 15 when fit (and we do need those 3 lads to come back in for this) and while they might be beat in games, it would be our strongest and don't see passengers on it (though know you don't mean it that way).
Post by: greatpoint on April 28, 2022, 07:49:27 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 05:37:22 PM

I think it will be. League isn't everything, and while Cavan did indeed end up in Division 4, it was on the back of 2 very odd disrupted and curtailed seasons. And with a manager who clearly did not value League, then you can see a little beyond it. Just have a look at his Championship win record. He was the same as a club manager. Look I was as disappointed as the next Cavan man with our League form, but he sets out the season to be ready for Championship, and overall that works. Sure don't we see teams who go balls out for League and don't do anything in League recently? Needs to be a balance, and for some reason this seems to be our. Like on paper, a Division 4 team should not be thrashing a Division 3 promotion chaser at home. But Cavan did. So you need to look past it a little bit.

Donegal are rightfully favourites, and will likely will win. All I'm saying is it'll be tighter than some think, as Donegal will be wary of getting caught again, as they should have been thrashed in that final only for the ref. Graham beat Bonner on the line with tactics and setup. Crowd will be back too. These players have met many times underage and Senior with wins on both sides. And the underdog always has nothing to lose here. Think it'll be a cracker

Hypotheticals like how much Cavan might have beaten Donegal by had the ref been nicer aren’t as relevant as the actual thrashing Cavan got from Donegal in the Ulster final the year previous.
Post by: Itchy on April 28, 2022, 08:36:45 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on April 28, 2022, 07:49:27 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on April 27, 2022, 05:37:22 PM

Hypotheticals like how much Cavan might have beaten Donegal by had the ref been nicer aren't as relevant as the actual thrashing Cavan got from Donegal in the Ulster final the year previous.

I'd say that was Grshams 1st season in charge so he was only getting things in shape and was ahead of plan making that final. But I'll bow to your superior knowledge of trashings from your time following Carlow
Post by: Westside on April 28, 2022, 09:18:23 PM
It's a fair point. Donegal manhandled us in the 2019 Final. And that's the main question hanging over this meeting, did Cavan bridge the gap in 2020 and if so, can they do it again, or was it a once off performance.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 28, 2022, 09:22:25 PM
The game was over at half time in 2019. 2020 was obviously a lot different, and played in the Winter time.

Cavan have to be in the game this time around.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 03, 2022, 09:42:57 AM
Build up starts properly now. With Derry winning the other day, we can see that anything can happen in Ulster football when one team turns up with the right attitude and plan, and executing it well. As big favourites, Donegal will be wary and forewarned for this now. Up to Cavan to be in the right place for this in order to make a challenge. If so, we'll have a cracker
Post by: Westside on May 05, 2022, 08:04:25 PM
Declan Bonnar gave a good insight into just how little respect he has for this Cavan team in an interview with donegaldaily. It takes untold levels of confidence/arrogance/stupidity to pat Cavan on the head and talk about how much we love our football. I would have thought that after 2020 he might have gained some level of respect for this Cavan team but he clearly sees the 2020 final as a complete aberration. I sincerely hope that Cavan aren't as bad as Bonnar thinks we are. If he's right, this will be a 15+ point hammering.

"Cavan are really strong, passionate and traditional football county, they love their GAA down there, they've built a bit of momentum winning the Division 4 title against Tipperary. They really dismantled a decent Antrim team in the first round two weeks ago."
Post by: twohands!!! on May 05, 2022, 08:11:42 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 05, 2022, 08:04:25 PM
Declan Bonnar gave a good insight into just how little respect he has for this Cavan team in an interview with donegaldaily. It takes untold levels of confidence/arrogance/stupidity to pat Cavan on the head and talk about how much we love our football. I would have thought that after 2020 he might have gained some level of respect for this Cavan team but he clearly sees the 2020 final as a complete aberration. I sincerely hope that Cavan aren't as bad as Bonnar thinks we are. If he's right, this will be a 15+ point hammering.

"Cavan are really strong, passionate and traditional football county, they love their GAA down there, they've built a bit of momentum winning the Division 4 title against Tipperary. They really dismantled a decent Antrim team in the first round two weeks ago."

The absolute bastard - these insults will never stand.
Utter cheek of him to come out spouting true facts all over the place.
Post by: Westside on May 05, 2022, 08:29:23 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 05, 2022, 08:11:42 PM

The absolute bastard - these insults will never stand.
Utter cheek of him to come out spouting true facts all over the place.

You managed to spell all those words correctly! You obviously found the post button all by yourself too. I see this isn't the first time you've managed this feat and that's really commendable.

Facts.
Post by: bannside on May 05, 2022, 08:47:39 PM
Struggling to see what Bonnar said out of place tbh. Am I missing something??
Post by: Westside on May 05, 2022, 09:01:47 PM
Quote from: bannside on May 05, 2022, 08:47:39 PM

There's nothing overtly wrong with what he said. It's the same type of interview many Division 1 managers give when they are facing into a walkover game.

Bonnar might be right, maybe Cavan are as poor as he clearly thinks we are, genuinely. We'll find out Sunday.
Post by: Itchy on May 05, 2022, 09:50:19 PM
I'm confident Cavan can win on Sunday and I very confident the odds on offer are miles of the reality of this game. But in fairness Westside not sure what else Bonner could say in his situation. Everyone is telling Donegal they only have to turn up to win and Cavans league form was a bit all over the place while Antrim were brutal. I wouldnt like to be Bonner trying to put a lid on that expectation.

I prefer to look at these facts

1- Cavan have beaten Monaghan x2, Armagh and Donegal in the last 3 Ulster Campaigns
2- Cavan have pretty much the same panel as they had in 2020 with the addition of Paddy Lynch and the return of Conor Moynagh. I would also add Killian Clarke was a late starter to the championship in 2020 and wasn't in the best shape of his life.
3- Cavan have zero fear of Donegal, we've beaten them in a senior final and in U21s when these same lads met, Cavan mostly came out on top. Cavan played half that senior final with 14 men and were also playing against Cassidy too.
4- Graham is a man that has shown he is excellent at getting his teams peaking for championship.

Could have egg on face Sunday but for me Cavan will pip Donegal on Sunday by a point or two.

Post by: rodney trotter on May 05, 2022, 09:56:50 PM
There wasn't anything wrong with what Bonner said. Cavan were playing a low level , they weren't playing that well either.

He won't have Donegal as complacent as 2 years ago. Derry thumping Tyrone last weekend a further reminder that Donegal have to be up for it.
Post by: Itchy on May 05, 2022, 10:01:58 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on May 05, 2022, 09:56:50 PM
There wasn't anything wrong with what Bonner said. Cavan were playing a low level , they weren't playing that well either.

He won't have Donegal as complacent as 2 years ago. Derry thumping Tyrone last weekend a further reminder that Donegal have to be up for it.

The thing is how complacent were they really, no one really knows. Cavan were 6/7 points a better team than them that day. We will soon know the truth of it on Sunday.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2022, 10:19:40 PM
If Cavan win, will there be a preliminary round in the Qualifiers?
Post by: greatpoint on May 05, 2022, 10:49:21 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 05, 2022, 09:01:47 PM

There's nothing overtly wrong with what he said. It's the same type of interview many Division 1 managers give when they are facing into a walkover game.

Bonnar might be right, maybe Cavan are as poor as he clearly thinks we are, genuinely. We'll find out Sunday.

Come on now, don't back down so quickly. Have the courage of your convictions.

By the way, Bonnar's the Tipperary hurling manager as far as I'm aware.
Post by: greatpoint on May 05, 2022, 10:58:34 PM

Outside of some fairly desperate projecting, you're not missing anything.

The spread looks to be 5 points from what I can see.
Post by: Westside on May 05, 2022, 11:01:15 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on May 05, 2022, 09:56:50 PM

It was extremely condescending. Would he have complimented the people of Monaghan or Armagh on how much they love their football? Would he have talked about their tradition? Not a chance. Because you don't talk that sort of nonsense when you take a team seriously.

What's happened since November 2020 would suggest that he's right not to think Cavan are anything other than opposition that you need to keep an eye on but not get overly concerned about. It's up to Cavan to repeat the trick and prove him wrong.
Post by: Westside on May 05, 2022, 11:15:52 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 05, 2022, 10:49:21 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 05, 2022, 09:01:47 PM

Come on now, don't back down so quickly. Have the courage of your convictions.

By the way, Bonnar's the Tipperary hurling manager as far as I'm aware.

This seems to have your hackles raised, why? Clearly nothing wrong with the interview on the face of it but it doesn't take a genius to see how little respect he has for Cavan. It was an interview you give before you take on cannon fodder. The condescending Jim Gavin v Carlow style of interview.
Cavan have done very little since 2020 to suggest he's wrong but I still find it a little surprising. We'll know better on Sunday if he's right or not.
Post by: full moon on May 05, 2022, 11:45:36 PM
Cavan aren't a team that's easy to predict. We could win, we could get beaten comfortably. Donegal are a fairly dour outfit, fairly defensive and not great for neutrals. Cavan aren't playing great football either.

It's most likely going to be handpass fest. Cavan are going to have to go direct and start converting scores when the chance presents itself otherwise Donegal will get a few points up and ease to victory.

One thing is we know what to expect from Donegal, we've played them in 2 of the last 3 Ulster finals. And this knockout for us no qualifiers after. So I expect us to make a competitive game of it.
Post by: Cavan19 on May 06, 2022, 09:05:38 AM

Are you just looking for something to get annoyed about?
Post by: Westside on May 06, 2022, 09:46:37 AM
Who said I was annoyed? It was an observation, noting the condescending tone and giving my thoughts on what that meant on his opinion of Cavan. I've also said repeatedly that he could be right. We are too well used to these dismissals in Cavan to get annoyed about it as i'm sure you know.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 06, 2022, 09:50:46 AM
I thought you were on the wind up 🙊
Post by: Cavan19 on May 06, 2022, 10:42:38 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 06, 2022, 09:50:46 AM
I thought you were on the wind up 🙊

Hard to know if he is on something alright..
Post by: J70 on May 06, 2022, 11:58:15 AM

Offensive stuff all right. ::)

You want a wee bit of ketchup with that chip on your shoulder? ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on May 06, 2022, 12:10:52 PM
Quote"Cavan are really strong, passionate and traditional football county, they love their GAA down there, they've built a bit of momentum winning the Division 4 title against Tipperary. They really dismantled a decent Antrim team in the first round two weeks ago."

I don't understand  ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 06, 2022, 12:53:40 PM
Yer mans went full Karen
Post by: Westside on May 06, 2022, 01:00:45 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 06, 2022, 11:58:15 AM

Who said I was offended? You're all very tetchy about this. I'm pointing out that Bonnar clearly sees Cavan as no threat. His choice of words in that interview show how he views Cavan, he probably didn't even realise it. Love their football, proud county with a great tradition. That's what you say about Sligo, Carlow, Leitrim before you run up 15 points on them. Would he say the same if he was playing Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan? Not a chance.

If you disagree then say why, tell me why i'm mistaken not the psychology behind my mistake.
Post by: Westside on May 06, 2022, 01:02:39 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 06, 2022, 12:53:40 PM
Yer mans went full Karen

I've yet to be told why i'm wrong, just people trying to convince me I'm offended.
Post by: J70 on May 06, 2022, 01:37:56 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 06, 2022, 01:00:45 PM

Who said I was offended? You're all very tetchy about this. I'm pointing out that Bonnar clearly sees Cavan as no threat. His choice of words in that interview show how he views Cavan, he probably didn't even realise it. Love their football, proud county with a great tradition. That's what you say about Sligo, Carlow, Leitrim before you run up 15 points on them. Would he say the same if he was playing Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan? Not a chance.

If you disagree then say why, tell me why i'm mistaken not the psychology behind my mistake.

1. How could anyone in their right mind say or believe that Bonner doesn't see Cavan as a threat given that he got his arse handed to him 18 months ago and he faced these players multiple times when he was in charge of Donegal underage teams?

2. I think you're the tetchy one. Bonner reeled off a list of vacuous, say-nothing, clichés (including the "they love their football in Cavan" one). I would be pretty certain that Mickey Graham has given similar, information-free interviews this week, talking about the stern challenge facing Cavan against a Div 1 Donegal side who should have beaten Armagh by more. As if he's telling his team behind the scenes that they're raging underdogs! Why would anyone EVER get offended by this stuff? They have to say something while trying to say nothing.
Post by: Cavan19 on May 06, 2022, 01:39:10 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 06, 2022, 12:53:40 PM
Yer mans went full Karen

Unbelievable Jeff
Post by: Westside on May 06, 2022, 01:57:19 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 06, 2022, 01:37:56 PM

1. How could anyone in their right mind say or believe that Bonner doesn't see Cavan as a threat given that he got his arse handed to him 18 months ago and he faced these players multiple times when he was in charge of Donegal underage teams?

2. I think you're the tetchy one. Bonner reeled off a list of vacuous, say-nothing, clichés (including the "they love their football in Cavan" one). I would be pretty certain that Mickey Graham has given similar, information-free interviews this week, talking about the stern challenge facing Cavan against a Div 1 Donegal side who should have beaten Armagh by more. As if he's telling his team behind the scenes that they're raging underdogs! Why would anyone EVER get offended by this stuff? They have to say something while trying to say nothing.

1. When was the last time you heard a manager give the "proud footballing county, love their football" line about a team they had any actual respect for? Honestly, it's what you say about basement division 4 teams. I'd genuinely like to see an example of where a manager has said this about serious opposition. He clearly doesn't see Cavan as serious opposition (and he could be right)

2. For the umpteenth time, i'm not offended. I can see clearly that Bonner was giving the 'say nothing while saying something' interview but there's several types of that interview and he unconsciously reached for the superpower v minnows version. I think that's noteworthy and gives an insight into his mentality going into Sundays game. If Graham came out and said "we expect a tough test from Donegal, they're a proud footballing county and we're looking no further than Sunday's game, you don't get anything easy against Donegal" it would be equally noteworthy.
Post by: Cavan19 on May 06, 2022, 02:02:13 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 06, 2022, 01:57:19 PM

1. When was the last time you heard a manager give the "proud footballing county, love their football" line about a team they had any actual respect for? Honestly, it's what you say about basement division 4 teams. I'd genuinely like to see an example of where a manager has said this about serious opposition. He clearly doesn't see Cavan as serious opposition (and he could be right)

2. For the umpteenth time, i'm not offended. I can see clearly that Bonner was giving the 'say nothing while saying something' interview but there's several types of that interview and he unconsciously reached for the superpower v minnows version. I think that's noteworthy and gives an insight into his mentality going into Sundays game. If Graham came out and said "we expect a tough test from Donegal, they're a proud footballing county and we're looking no further than Sunday's game, you don't get anything easy against Donegal" it would be equally noteworthy.

Seriously who gives a fcuk what he said or could/should have said instead.
Post by: Westside on May 06, 2022, 02:06:38 PM
Quote from: Cavan19 on May 06, 2022, 02:02:13 PM

You're following this conversation very closely for someone who doesn't care.
Post by: Cavan19 on May 06, 2022, 02:30:58 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 06, 2022, 02:06:38 PM
Quote from: Cavan19 on May 06, 2022, 02:02:13 PM

You're following this conversation very closely for someone who doesn't care.
I'm only following to have a laugh at yourself.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 06, 2022, 02:40:09 PM

There is absolutely no chance anyone from Donegal are underestimating Cavan after they played them off the pitch in 2020 especially given what Derry did to Tyrone last week. I do think you're reading too much into what Bonner said although you do have a point in that it was an unusual choice of words.
Post by: J70 on May 06, 2022, 02:44:24 PM

I'm sorry, but it is simply not believable that an experienced manager like Bonner wouldn't take Cavan as a serious threat.

If you want to parse a garbage interview to convince yourself otherwise for whatever reason, knock yourself out.
Post by: Westside on May 06, 2022, 02:58:54 PM
It was either a bizzare choice of words or it was a telling choice of words. Occam's Razor - I believe it was the latter. Perhaps borne out of confidence in his team's ability but if anyone trusts Bonner's judgement I'd be loading on Donegal -5.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 06, 2022, 03:14:07 PM
Westside on the on the wind up? Either way he's got an extra two pages on a slow moving thread.
Post by: StephenC on May 06, 2022, 04:39:37 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 06, 2022, 03:14:07 PM
Westside on the on the wind up? Either way he's got an extra two pages on a slow moving thread.

Exactly! Good man Karen ... keep her lit.
Post by: JoG2 on May 06, 2022, 07:06:53 PM
Quote from: StephenC on May 06, 2022, 04:39:37 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 06, 2022, 03:14:07 PM

Exactly! Good man Karen ... keep her lit.

Post by: Throw ball on May 07, 2022, 11:22:28 AM
Not sure who I want to win this one. If Cavan win I think it makes it more likely that Armagh will have a preliminary qualifier to play. On the otherhand Donegal do have Bonnar in charge. Come on Cavan!
Post by: Westside on May 07, 2022, 11:31:35 AM
I just want to know what Bonnar knows that we don't? He's either a genius or a madman.

Graham, unsurprisingly, struck the right tone in his comments on Donegal.

"We are coming up against team who have played their league football in Division One while we have been in Division Four,

We are under no illusions. We might have got the better of Antrim but, no matter how you look at it, Donegal will be a different proposition altogether this time out"
Post by: StephenC on May 08, 2022, 01:03:05 PM
Looking forward to this game. Always enjoyed the craic with the Cavan fans; they are a really strong, passionate and traditional football county, and they really love their football.
Saying that, I'll be disappointed if we don't beat Cavan today. We have been operating at a higher level for the last few years and it's critical that we build on the Armagh win. There should be no shortage of motivation within the squad given the lesson that they were taught by Cavan in the Ulster final. We have essentially a full squad to pick from so there are no excuses. Donegal by 4.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 08, 2022, 04:09:09 PM
Need see a replay again of the Cavan chance bearing down on goal, thought it might been a penalty.
Post by: CK_Redhand on May 08, 2022, 04:11:39 PM
Kevin McStay didn't want to call it and said he'll leave it to the lads at half time. What's the point of him being on commentary?
Post by: David McKeown on May 08, 2022, 04:13:21 PM
Can see why it wasnt given but the same foul out the field has been blown twice so far.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2022, 04:19:59 PM
18 minutes played competitive contest so far Cavan 0-6 Donegal 0-4
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 08, 2022, 04:22:50 PM
How many times does Thomas niblock have to say football
Post by: yellowcard on May 08, 2022, 04:23:31 PM
Contrast in styles. Cavan playing physical all action football that is energisingbthe crowd. Donegal with the usual slow possession based robotic stuff. Makes for a great game.
Post by: yellowcard on May 08, 2022, 04:24:49 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 08, 2022, 04:22:50 PM
How many times does Thomas niblock have to say football

Lang an kicked the ball wide by metres earlier which he described as a lovely kick. He's a good commentator but tries a bit too hard to be ultra positive.
Post by: Schkite on May 08, 2022, 04:25:04 PM
Cavan doing well, playing very fast and direct typically which is needed against Donegal.
Post by: J70 on May 08, 2022, 04:26:03 PM
Everything Cavan are hitting is going over the bar, whereas Donegal with three or four poor misses from central locations.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 08, 2022, 04:27:03 PM
Cavan must have had Bonners words plastered all over the changing room walls. Proud gaa county me arse, we'll show him 😄

Good game, Cavan good to watch
Post by: Schkite on May 08, 2022, 04:34:50 PM
Some chance for Galligan there, needed to keep it low
Post by: J70 on May 08, 2022, 04:35:14 PM
Langan has been brutal so far.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2022, 04:39:32 PM
0-9 each at half time.
Post by: yellowcard on May 08, 2022, 04:40:56 PM
Cavan getting plenty of joy from kicking long ball inside, they might regret that missed goal chance before half time. You wonder if they can maintain that pace but it's one of the best games I've watched in a while.
Post by: Schkite on May 08, 2022, 04:45:34 PM
Cavan much more up for it, but you'd wonder if they keep up that intensity for the 70+ minutes. If they can, then this will probably go to the wire.

Donegal getting turned over an awful lot and are making some poor mistakes like the overcarrying, but you do get the sense they can up the gears more than Cavan. Not a given that they can just switch it on like that, so they'll need to get a bit sharper and tighten up in defence a bit - Cavan are getting alot of joy by kicking the ball in quick.
Post by: Main Street on May 08, 2022, 04:51:52 PM
Canavan remembers Conor Lane flashed a red card for exactly the same type of foul on McBrearty years ago agin Tyrone, "no consistency"  he says.
Tyrone grudges are timeless.
Post by: Nanderson on May 08, 2022, 04:55:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 08, 2022, 04:51:52 PM
Canavan remembers Conor Lane flashed a red card for exactly the same type of foul on McBrearty years ago agin Tyrone, "no consistency"  he says.
Caolan Mooney got sent off against armagh 3 years for the same thing shoulder into the jaw when trying to shoulder someone
Post by: thewobbler on May 08, 2022, 04:57:04 PM
Pat Spillane basically advocating that every tackle is a guilty tackle.

Maybe we should get rid of all defenders and just have a free taking contest.
Post by: tyrone08 on May 08, 2022, 04:58:49 PM

Or he is showing up the inconsistency which every gaa fan knows
Post by: lenny on May 08, 2022, 05:08:28 PM

Lol, no thought at all that refs review their performances and try to learn. So Canavan thinks that the tyrone red was incorrect and he then expects Lane to continue making that incorrect decision and not to learn from it. Pathetic punditry.
Post by: themac_23 on May 08, 2022, 05:13:24 PM
Donegal showing there the reason we need something like basketball when ya get in to the opponents half you can't go back, so bad to watch them turn and actually run back towards their own goals
Post by: David McKeown on May 08, 2022, 05:26:29 PM
I thought there was a push by Murphy on the goal
Post by: Schkite on May 08, 2022, 05:27:53 PM
Jesus what a fortunate goal for Donegal, you'd feel for Cavan but Galligan should have been clearing that ball away out if he was going to go up for it.

Donegal will see this out now straightforward enough you'd imagine. Huge blow for Cavan as Donegal were there for the taking today if Cavan were able to push on a bit more towards the end.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2022, 05:30:37 PM
2nd Donegal goal from a high ball that Cavan dealt with poorly. Cavan 0-15 Donegal 2-16
Post by: joemamas on May 08, 2022, 05:30:45 PM
Marty with his usual condescending shi*e talk.
Post by: yellowcard on May 08, 2022, 05:31:24 PM
Game fizzled out and went flat the second half. It's ironic that Donegal scored both goals from long hopeful miskicked balls into the square.
Post by: lenny on May 08, 2022, 05:37:24 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 08, 2022, 05:31:24 PM
Game fizzled out and went flat the second half. It's ironic that Donegal scored both goals from long hopeful miskicked balls into the square.

Good game though. Cavan were impressive and should do well in the Tailteann Cup. Donegal got a fright in the first half but they are so consistent.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2022, 05:38:46 PM
FT Donegal 2-16 Cavan 0-16. Goals wins games. Cavan was very competitive and now no qualifiers for them but Tailteann Cup instead.
Post by: J70 on May 08, 2022, 05:41:57 PM
Quote from: lenny on May 08, 2022, 05:37:24 PM

Good game though. Cavan were impressive and should do well in the Tailteann Cup. Donegal got a fright in the first half but they are so consistent.

I don't think Derry or Monaghan will be too worried about meeting us.

We've a huge amount of work to do before the final. Far too slow and predictable for much of the game.

But... we hung in there against a ferocious first half effort from Cavan. Brilliant tackling, hard hits and some great scoring.
Post by: tyrone08 on May 08, 2022, 05:42:55 PM

Consistent? It was 2 lucky goals which won it for them. Overall thought Donegal were poor enough.
Post by: Main Street on May 08, 2022, 05:42:58 PM
Quote from: Schkite on May 08, 2022, 05:27:53 PM
Jesus what a fortunate goal for Donegal, you'd feel for Cavan but Galligan should have been clearing that ball away out if he was going to go up for it.

Donegal will see this out now straightforward enough you'd imagine. Huge blow for Cavan as Donegal were there for the taking today if Cavan were able to push on a bit more towards the end.
I thought that Galligan should have stayed on his line, there were defenders and he just left his goal exposed.
Very good effort by Cavan but Donegal were patient, paced themselves well and dominated the finish.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 08, 2022, 05:49:15 PM
Cavan in fairness to them gave a good competitive performance a bit daft they don't go into the qualifiers when they are probably better than a few teams that will play in it

Donegal got over the line thanks to goals. Under Bonner Donegal a good Ulster championship team however have struggled to make any impact under him outside of Ulster, will that change this year?
Post by: Main Street on May 08, 2022, 05:56:33 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on May 08, 2022, 04:55:55 PM
Caolan Mooney got sent off against armagh 3 years for the same thing shoulder into the jaw when trying to shoulder someone
I don't know what happened in that tackle but this another game , probably a different ref? and this time Conor carefully took stock of the situation before making his decision
If Conor's decision was wrong in that Tyrone game from years ago, then should he be consistently wrong or should he learn to make better?
Canavan thought the yellow card was correct.
Post by: greatpoint on May 08, 2022, 06:29:22 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 05, 2022, 10:58:34 PM

6 points in the end and probably should have been more with all the goal chances Donegal had, odds were a bit generous.

Some nasty late and head high challenges from Cavan, they really didn't want to drop down into the Bibi Baskin Cup.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on May 08, 2022, 06:36:26 PM
Donegal only put 2 high balls in and Cavan couldn't deal with either of them. I can see why they were in division 4.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 08, 2022, 06:39:15 PM
Lads, just me or was Conor Lane completely inconsistent in reffing both teams? I'll need to rewatch, but thought Donegal got some right handy frees, and Cavan couldn't buy them if they tried to. Murphy seems to be let do what he pleases around the field too
Post by: J70 on May 08, 2022, 06:40:03 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 08, 2022, 05:42:55 PM

Consistent? It was 2 lucky goals which won it for them. Overall thought Donegal were poor enough.

I presume he is talking about their tenth Ulster Final in 12 years, fourth in last five under Bonner.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 08, 2022, 06:41:06 PM
Thought it a red myself, even if accidental. Cavan should had a penalty to, Donegal got 2 very lucky goals, and both teams hit the cross bar when they should goaled.
Post by: J70 on May 08, 2022, 06:42:50 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on May 08, 2022, 06:39:15 PM
Lads, just me or was Conor Lane completely inconsistent in reffing both teams? I'll need to rewatch, but thought Donegal got some right handy frees, and Cavan couldn't buy them if they tried to. Murphy seems to be let do what he pleases around the field too

Given this place, I'm sure it's not just you, but personally I don't know what you're talking about.

I didn't see any frees Donegal got that shouldn't have been given, nor any obvious ones Cavan missed out on.

Penalty call was debatable based on the limited replays, so far.
Post by: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 06:47:39 PM
so another ulster championship featuring tyrone or donegal in the final yet people think its great
Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 06:48:34 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 08, 2022, 06:29:22 PM

6 points in the end and probably should have been more with all the goal chances Donegal had, odds were a bit generous.

Some nasty late and head high challenges from Cavan, they really didn't want to drop down into the Bibi Baskin Cup.

I'm not sure what match you were watching. Donegal had the referee on  side and had handy frees for any contact. Goal chances? They fluked two goals.
Against a Division 4 side it was poor from Donegal. Talk of All Irelands are a bit of a laugh. I doubt there will even be an Ulster going to Donegal.

Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 06:49:56 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 06:47:39 PM
so another ulster championship featuring tyrone or donegal in the final yet people think its great
What province are you from? At least the Ulster games are competitive. Munster and Leinster aren't worth a f**k, teams lie down before a ball is played. Connacght has 3 teams of any quality.
Post by: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 06:51:08 PM
so your comparing it to other provinces to make it look better than  what it is  not a very high standard to compare it against
Post by: greatpoint on May 08, 2022, 06:53:11 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 08, 2022, 06:48:34 PM

I'm not sure what match you were watching. Donegal had the referee on  side and had handy frees for any contact. Goal chances? They fluked two goals.
Against a Division 4 side it was poor from Donegal. Talk of All Irelands are a bit of a laugh. I doubt there will even be an Ulster going to Donegal.

So now that yiz are done trying to work yourself into fits over innocuous comments it's on to saying the ref was the difference? Laughable.
Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 06:54:04 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 06:51:08 PM
so your comparing it to other provinces to make it look better than  what it is  not a very high standard to compare it against
Eh? What else can you compare Ulster to only other provinces? You aren't making any sense and didn't answer the question about your province.
Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 06:56:04 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 08, 2022, 06:53:11 PM

So now that yiz are done trying to work yourself into fits over innocuous comments it's on to saying the ref was the difference? Laughable.

Very bitter greatpoint. Go on and celebrate, because ye won't be celebrating much more after today. Banty and Rory Gallagher will be licking their lips looking at that.
Post by: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 06:57:01 PM
i am from ulster and what has being from anywhere  got to do with do  with it do you think i should automatically worship the ulster championship because im from it.
Post by: J70 on May 08, 2022, 07:01:34 PM
It's great being from Donegal.

I don't think an Ulster Championship game has gone by during my time here where the referee wasn't biased towards us according to GAA Board membership.
Post by: tyrone08 on May 08, 2022, 07:03:19 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 08, 2022, 06:40:03 PM

I presume he is talking about their tenth Ulster Final in 12 years, fourth in last five under Bonner.

5 ulster titles in that 12 year period. 2 ulster titles in 5 years under bonner and no AI semi final since 2015.

Bonner has a OK record but the only consistent I would say is the lack of progression for them outside of ulster
Post by: greatpoint on May 08, 2022, 07:04:41 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 08, 2022, 06:56:04 PM

Very bitter greatpoint. Go on and celebrate, because ye won't be celebrating much more after today. Banty and Rory Gallagher will be licking their lips looking at that.

Carlow have been out of the Championship for the last two weeks, nice of Cavan to join us ;D

I couldn't give a shite who won that today, the nonsense from some Cavan supporters made the whole thing worth following.
Post by: lenny on May 08, 2022, 07:10:31 PM

Correct. They've got a team which, but for a bit of bad luck v tyrone could've been the team to take advantage of Dublins drop in standards last year. They're still consistently in the top 5 or 6 teams in the country.
Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 07:11:37 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 06:57:01 PM
i am from ulster and what has being from anywhere  got to do with do  with it do you think i should automatically worship the ulster championship because im from it.
What county? Who said you should worship it? You seem to have an agenda against but can't compare it to any other province, why?
Post by: befair on May 08, 2022, 07:12:30 PM
Good game, Donegal flattered by the final margin, could have gone either way, both goals a bit fortuitous.
Cavan probably should have had that penalty, but also should have had a red card; I understand it wasn't deliberate, but it was v reckless, and I'm surprised McBrearty was allowed to play on.
Post by: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 07:13:34 PM
you seem to have an agenda asking questions of where people are from im not  a gaa diehard that gets emotionally attach to were i am from
Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 07:18:36 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 08, 2022, 07:04:41 PM

Carlow have been out of the Championship for the last two weeks, nice of Cavan to join us ;D

I couldn't give a shite who won that today, the nonsense from some Cavan supporters made the whole thing worth following.

Not sure what you're referring to. Carlow are a junior team,. Not sure you can talk much talking about Bibi Baskin Cup? You won't even win a game in it.
Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 07:20:56 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 07:13:34 PM
you seem to have an agenda asking questions of where people are from im not  a gaa diehard that gets emotionally attach to were i am from

What county are you from? Why hide it?
Post by: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 07:22:47 PM
what has that got to do with anything you seem to be putting people in boxes so i cant have an opinion or be judged if i live within a certain fake boundary lol
Post by: full moon on May 08, 2022, 07:35:11 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 08, 2022, 07:22:47 PM
what has that got to do with anything you seem to be putting people in boxes so i cant have an opinion or be judged if i live within a certain fake boundary lol

It's just strange you criticise the Ulster Championship but won't even say what County you're from. Not sure why unless you are a troll?
Post by: greatpoint on May 08, 2022, 07:46:06 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 08, 2022, 07:18:36 PM
Outside of some fairly desperate projecting, you’re not missing anything.

Not sure what you're referring to. Carlow are a junior team,. Not sure you can talk much talking about Bibi Baskin Cup? You won't even win a game in it.

Beating a "junior" team by an entire 4 points at home is very impressive.
Post by: Westside on May 08, 2022, 07:49:37 PM
Very little between the teams performance-wise despite what Bonnar predicted pregame. Then again they beat the handicap so... go figure.

Entertaining game, particularly the first half. Conor Lane so unpredictable. Cavan denied a stonewall penalty, Donegal got several frees for less and that really kept them ticking over in the first half.

Nobody who has ever actually played a game of football thinks that Faulkner should have been sent off, hurlers on the ditch outing themselves calling for a red.
Post by: Westside on May 08, 2022, 07:59:08 PM

You've been had mate.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 08, 2022, 08:36:40 PM
Penalty wasn't stonewall penalty, but I think it was a penalty non the less. I seen players send off for the same hit on McBearty, even if a total mistake, think he sort turned in slightly to the Cavan full back coming at him, but same hit could broke his Jaw.
Post by: JoG2 on May 08, 2022, 10:08:33 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 08, 2022, 07:03:19 PM

5 ulster titles in that 12 year period. 2 ulster titles in 5 years under bonner and no AI semi final since 2015.

Bonner has a OK record but the only consistent I would say is the lack of progression for them outside of ulster

It must like the Tyrone Club championship most years sure, you're punch drunk by the time you navigate Ulster's championship waters, very little left in the tank then
Post by: Itchy on May 08, 2022, 10:12:41 PM
Havent seen anything back yet so can only say what I saw from the hill. I thought there wasnt a lot in it and 6 points flattered Donegal in the end. When you are the underdog you need a bit of luck and we certainly didnt get that. What looked to me a certain penalty waved away and then the very luck goal for Donegal were 2 major incidents where luck deserted Cavan. The 2nd goal was a terrible error but I think the game was gone at that stage anyway. I know the same people that thought that Cavan 5-1 was an accurate reflection on the ability of the Cavan team will now be saying Donegal are crap as they struggled to beat Cavan. The truth is Donegal are a fine team and so are Cavan. I think Monaghan and Derry will both be around the same level. The final will be a tight game and I think any of the 3 could win it. Proud of the Cavan effort today, we have developed one new forward this year in Patrick Lynch who gave the much vaunted McCole a right doing and also thought Smith was excellent. We just need one or two more lads that can score like that, as Donegal had 3/4 top forwards that can get scores vrs maybe 2 for us.

As for Lane, on first view I did think a few Donegal frees in the 1st half were softish but bar the penalty call he probably did ok.

Hopefully Cavan can lift the heads and make a charge for the Tailtean cup, a county of our history should be looking to be the 1st county to put their name on that cup.
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2022, 01:06:46 AM
If Cavan go for it they'll more than likely win it.
Post by: tyrone08 on May 09, 2022, 07:06:18 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 08, 2022, 10:08:33 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 08, 2022, 07:03:19 PM

It must like the Tyrone Club championship most years sure, you're punch drunk by the time you navigate Ulster's championship waters, very little left in the tank then

Well lets compare then. In the same 12 year period tyrone won 4 ulster's, got to an 3 xAI semi final and 2x final including winning the AI.

Can't be that punch drunk if their record is far superior t Donegal 😂
Post by: Armagh18 on May 09, 2022, 07:38:48 AM
St Michael can do what he likes
Post by: Dreadnought on May 09, 2022, 08:37:25 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 08, 2022, 06:42:50 PM

Given this place, I'm sure it's not just you, but personally I don't know what you're talking about.

I didn't see any frees Donegal got that shouldn't have been given, nor any obvious ones Cavan missed out on.

Penalty call was debatable based on the limited replays, so far.

Still didn't get a chance to watch it back fully as was late home yesterday and only caught TSG. Should have been a penalty for me, McStay said it in the commentary too. McKiernans was tackled from behind and his arms pulled back as he was attempting to kick the ball. Should have been a penalty. Will need to see some of the other decisions I saw on the day. Even just going by what the Donegal fans (and my outlaws) were saying, they thought they got some handy decisions that kept them in it to half time and we weren't getting the same ones. Like, I'll be ok with some frees if given for certain contact, I just want to see consistency to both. Where there's a difference between what contact is given for a free for both sides is what annoys me. I definitely saw some where the man was tackled, not the ball, his arm pulled back etc. but couldn't buy a free from him. I'll watch it back
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2022, 09:05:08 AM
Initial reaction was a penalty, but with various angles and slow mo's I'm 50/50 on the call, Cavan just ran out of steam at the end, huge tempo and effort put in and Donegal done enough to stay with them and at the business end of things (like the Tipp Limerick game) the final 10 or so minutes is were the real class and conditioning comes through.

On the ref I didn't see a whole lot wrong bar the penalty call, I'd need to give it another look I suppose but seen them given and not given.

Will Cavan dust themselves down and give this other cup some attention? based on yesterdays game they'd be fav's for it
Post by: Rudi on May 09, 2022, 09:17:37 AM
Cavan are a mid table division 2 team, they would have finished just behind the Muckers, if they were in division 2 this year.
Post by: StephenC on May 09, 2022, 09:32:08 AM
Good game of football. When Cavan played direct ball in, our defensive weaknesses were there to be seen. Very quiet day from Langan, Thompson and McGee - thought Ban and Mogan did well, and Jamie Brennan was good in patches.
Wasn't a penalty for me. The major contact happened after he tried to kick the ball. I get that Cavan ones won't agree but there you go. As for soft frees for Donegal, there was one in the first half that I'd put into that category - there was a slight over the shoulder pull on a Donegal player to the left of the D (might have been Paddy McB); other than that I didn't see anything out of the ordinary.

The question that has been going through my mind since the game .... how the f£$% did Cavan end up in Div 4?
Post by: Cavan19 on May 09, 2022, 10:23:36 AM
Quote from: StephenC on May 09, 2022, 09:32:08 AM

The question that has been going through my mind since the game .... how the f£$% did Cavan end up in Div 4?

Graham is a championship man didn't respect the leagues and took Wicklow for granted in a relegation playoff.

The performances in the league this year were no where near what they showed in the two championship games the style of play was totally different and the intensity must have gone up by 50%.

We would give anyone there fill of it apart from the teams who will be knocking around Croke park at semi final stage.
Post by: Westside on May 09, 2022, 11:32:50 AM
Good game of football. When Cavan played direct ball in, our defensive weaknesses were there to be seen. Very quiet day from Langan, Thompson and McGee - thought Ban and Mogan did well, and Jamie Brennan was good in patches.
Wasn't a penalty for me. The major contact happened after he tried to kick the ball. I get that Cavan ones won't agree but there you go. As for soft frees for Donegal, there was one in the first half that I'd put into that category - there was a slight over the shoulder pull on a Donegal player to the left of the D (might have been Paddy McB); other than that I didn't see anything out of the ordinary.

Just on the penalty, why does it matter if it was after he tried to kick the ball that contact was made?
Post by: Dreadnought on May 09, 2022, 11:44:02 AM

Why about the contact after he tried to kick? If anything, the contact was as he was kicking it, therefore he couldn't make contact correctly. This makes it a penalty in any mans language. That's a free out the field, no? You can get done for tackling as they're kicking

Ah we shouldn't have been there. Bulk of this team has spent the most of it's time between Division 1 and 2. Just the odd circumstances of Covid disruption, a reduced league last year combined with an Ulster final hangover. Everything conspired to happen at once to see us drop the way down. But I don't think anyone considered us Division 4 level team in actuality. Our Championship results have consistently been good, and the manager aimed for Championship more, not league. We do need to get back up the divisions though, especially when the Leagues are linked to the Tiered Championship now.
Post by: Itchy on May 09, 2022, 11:54:37 AM
Win the Tailteann cup and you are in Sam the following year I think too. That is what Cavan should be getting their heads around now and giving that a right lash.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 09, 2022, 01:03:35 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 09, 2022, 11:54:37 AM
Win the Tailteann cup and you are in Sam the following year I think too. That is what Cavan should be getting their heads around now and giving that a right lash.

I'd usually agree, but if we're giving Division 3 a go next year (as we should) then it'll be a moot point if we're promoted. Don't think they've fully thought out this Tailteann Cup. Needs changes otherwise it'll be dead on arrival.