GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fuzzman on May 09, 2017, 03:31:42 PM

Title: Lee Keegan - Player of the year or spoiler of the year?
Post by: Fuzzman on May 09, 2017, 03:31:42 PM
Now that the leagues are finished and the championship is about to get under way I thought would this be a good time to discuss the Lee Keegan v Diarmuid Connolly saga again as we can't be accused of influencing the referee before a big game?

Of course the Mayo lads won't be pleased that I'm focusing on one of their players and no doubt many will come back at me saying Tyrone have had several players who behaved the same over the years but I think it is still well worth the debate as this seems to rumble on every year now.

If you watch the video below from last year's replay, some people will argue that Keegan didn't do much wrong and that Connolly felt his arms on him and so he dived to the ground to get a black card.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fI_bzJyj0tA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fI_bzJyj0tA)
If you pause it on 9 seconds you will see Keegan's hands grabbing the front of Connolly's shirt and then he puts his arm around his shoulders and finally his hand goes onto Connolly's mouth. Connolly goes to ground then quite easily as he knew he was fouled but it's not until you go to ground that the ref will definitely make a decision.

Now that is the last incident between these two players but as we all know there were several more incidents before that one and also Keegan was playing a similar way against Sean Cavanagh in the quarterfinal.

Firstly I think the application of the rules regarding these two players have been a total disgrace.
Of course it's not an easy decision for the refs but I think because this has been an ongoing battle between the two players now for several years that something needs to be done about it. It is just too easy to say "Ah calm down, let them at it and they'll sort it out themselves" as Tomas O'Se said below
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-sums-up-the-diarmuid-connollylee-keegan-saga-perfectly-35095414.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-sums-up-the-diarmuid-connollylee-keegan-saga-perfectly-35095414.html)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUYDFZxNQdw

Tom said "Jesus, there's nothing malicious going on there other than two fellas trying to get the better of each other."
Maybe it's because Tomás played as a defender and had to mark lots of top quality forwards over the years or maybe it's his anti Dublin bias but to me there is nothing fair about how Keegan tries to stop Connolly from playing.
Basically he pulls and drags his man, off the ball, for most of the game to prevent him from making runs into dangerous places to receive a pass with him often dragging him to the ground and the two players getting into a wrestling match. I think the rules needs to be changed so that there is not this silly punishment of booking the two players involved EVERY time one player gets involved with another player which ends up with this holding their shirt or worse their neck etc.

For many people Connolly has a bad history of getting sent off and over reacting but to me the rules of GAA should be there to promote fair play and be there to protect the player who wants to play the game fairly. As many manager has said before it is usually the forward who wants to get the ball and to attack and it's the job of the defender to stop his man from doing that. Of course we've seen times where the forward will try to cheat the referee by diving or feigning injury but if you look back over the incidents between these two players, 9 times out of 10 you see Connolly trying to make a run away from his man and Keegan getting in his way or dragging him down to the ground.
I am amazed how often the ref, linesmen and umpires see this happening but do very little to stop it. So then naturally the player himself then reacts and often both players end up getting a yellow card or sent off.
Ask yourself is this what we want? Do we think it's OK for the defender to antagonise the forward by various means to get a reaction and to see him being sent off? If Connolly played for Mayo and was their best forward would you feel the same way and just say "ah he's a big lad, he can look after himself".

To be honest with you, I am no big fan of Connolly but I do think we need to be trying to protect our best players to be allowed to play football rather than seeing "a job" being done on them and so they end up being sent off along with the player who started the whole thing. I just think the rules don't seem to protect the forward (or any player) who wants to play the ball rather than the man and too often the desired intention of the fouling player is achieved in that he is stopping the forward from playing well and getting scores in an unfair manner.

In fairness to Keegan, any time he's been black or red carded he just walks off and accepts it as he knows he's bending the rules and so living on the edge whereas lots of other players will claim their innocence.
I also know that Keegan is not the only player who uses this type of tactic to put players off and Connolly has shown he too can play him at his own game but I suppose I just am amazed how the CCCC are happy to let this ongoing battle happen year after year and nothing be done about it. The more he gets away with it the more it will be copied by other players.

Title: Re: Lee Keegan - Player of the year or spoiler of the year?
Post by: whitey on May 09, 2017, 04:10:09 PM
I'd actually be more concerned about dangerous play from the likes Johnny Cooper who blatantly shoved  Darren OSullivan into the post after he had scored a goal in the semi final last year. Same player did a 2 footed high challenge in Diarmuid O Connor the year before which was a stonewall red, but of course her got the benefit of the doubt.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 04:16:08 PM
What even is this thread? Keegan is a better footballer with a better head on his shoulders than Connolly. That's why he always beats him. Fin.
Post by: Beffs on May 09, 2017, 04:30:02 PM
Hurray.

More Lee V Diarmuid hoopla.

Coz we didn't have nearly enough of it last year.  ::)
Post by: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 05:06:44 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 09, 2017, 03:31:42 PM
To be honest with you, I am no big fan of Connolly but I do think we need to be trying to protect our best players to be allowed to play football rather than seeing "a job" being done on them and so they end up being sent off along with the player who started the whole thing. I just think the rules don't seem to protect the forward (or any player) who wants to play the ball rather than the man and too often the desired intention of the fouling player is achieved in that he is stopping the forward from playing well and getting scores in an unfair manner.

In fairness to Keegan, any time he's been black or red carded he just walks off and accepts it as he knows he's bending the rules and so living on the edge whereas lots of other players will claim their innocence.
I also know that Keegan is not the only player who uses this type of tactic to put players off and Connolly has shown he too can play him at his own game but I suppose I just am amazed how the CCCC are happy to let this ongoing battle happen year after year and nothing be done about it. The more he gets away with it the more it will be copied by other players.

(https://m0.sportsjoe.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/29160108/inpho_00300663.jpg)
(https://img.rasset.ie/000c8fcd-800.jpg)
(http://www.breakingnews.ie/remote/media.central.ie/media/images/c/ConorGormleyTyrone_large.jpg?width=600&s=bn-603579)(http://www.irishnews.com/picturesarchive/irishnews/irishnews/2016/08/26/152858565-ac4d15bb-ce8e-4f6d-92b8-224c36ffb430.jpg)

Post by: Fuzzman on May 09, 2017, 05:17:23 PM
So I guess that's that problem fixed then. Thanks Jinxy, glad you got to use those pics you stored away so carefully.

Hopefully we'll get to see some decent football being played now by Connolly and he will finally get his player of the year award rather than giving it to the man who stopped him.

Post by: east down gael on May 09, 2017, 05:50:12 PM
Do you feel the same way when Justin McMahon goes out and takes the lee keegan tactic to its maximum every time tyrone play Donegal?in fairness to keegan he also provides a huge attacking threat for Mayo,McMahon is nothing short of a disgrace every time he plays Donegal,adding nothing to the game and using every trampish act he can to stop Murphy playing.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 09, 2017, 07:05:40 PM
Great Player, wish we had him in our team!
Post by: Crete Boom on May 09, 2017, 07:18:08 PM
Now that the leagues are finished and the championship is about to get under way I thought would this be a good time to discuss the Lee Keegan v Diarmuid Connolly saga again as we can't be accused of influencing the referee before a big game?

Of course the Mayo lads won't be pleased that I'm focusing on one of their players and no doubt many will come back at me saying Tyrone have had several players who behaved the same over the years but I think it is still well worth the debate as this seems to rumble on every year now.

If you watch the video below from last year's replay, some people will argue that Keegan didn't do much wrong and that Connolly felt his arms on him and so he dived to the ground to get a black card.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fI_bzJyj0tA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fI_bzJyj0tA)
If you pause it on 9 seconds you will see Keegan's hands grabbing the front of Connolly's shirt and then he puts his arm around his shoulders and finally his hand goes onto Connolly's mouth. Connolly goes to ground then quite easily as he knew he was fouled but it's not until you go to ground that the ref will definitely make a decision.

Now that is the last incident between these two players but as we all know there were several more incidents before that one and also Keegan was playing a similar way against Sean Cavanagh in the quarterfinal.

Firstly I think the application of the rules regarding these two players have been a total disgrace.
Of course it's not an easy decision for the refs but I think because this has been an ongoing battle between the two players now for several years that something needs to be done about it. It is just too easy to say "Ah calm down, let them at it and they'll sort it out themselves" as Tomas O'Se said below
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-sums-up-the-diarmuid-connollylee-keegan-saga-perfectly-35095414.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-sums-up-the-diarmuid-connollylee-keegan-saga-perfectly-35095414.html)

Tom said "Jesus, there's nothing malicious going on there other than two fellas trying to get the better of each other."
Maybe it's because Tomás played as a defender and had to mark lots of top quality forwards over the years or maybe it's his anti Dublin bias but to me there is nothing fair about how Keegan tries to stop Connolly from playing.
Basically he pulls and drags his man, off the ball, for most of the game to prevent him from making runs into dangerous places to receive a pass with him often dragging him to the ground and the two players getting into a wrestling match. I think the rules needs to be changed so that there is not this silly punishment of booking the two players involved EVERY time one player gets involved with another player which ends up with this holding their shirt or worse their neck etc.

For many people Connolly has a bad history of getting sent off and over reacting but to me the rules of GAA should be there to promote fair play and be there to protect the player who wants to play the game fairly. As many manager has said before it is usually the forward who wants to get the ball and to attack and it's the job of the defender to stop his man from doing that. Of course we've seen times where the forward will try to cheat the referee by diving or feigning injury but if you look back over the incidents between these two players, 9 times out of 10 you see Connolly trying to make a run away from his man and Keegan getting in his way or dragging him down to the ground.
I am amazed how often the ref, linesmen and umpires see this happening but do very little to stop it. So then naturally the player himself then reacts and often both players end up getting a yellow card or sent off.
Ask yourself is this what we want? Do we think it's OK for the defender to antagonise the forward by various means to get a reaction and to see him being sent off? If Connolly played for Mayo and was their best forward would you feel the same way and just say "ah he's a big lad, he can look after himself".

If Tyrone hadn't blown that quarter final against Mayo and got all the way to the All Ireland final instead of Mayo would you care about how physical Keegan gets on or off the ball with a player?? Now I know you are going to say that shouldn't stop you from debating whether or not Keegan deserves his player of the year award but it might have a blinding influence on how you are framing your argument against Keegan.
I don't remember too many Donegal lads on here making a similar argument in 2015 after we had beaten them in the quarter final and Keegan was getting stuck in that day to??
It just is too similar to the McHale 1996 Meath are tramps/cheats that is why we lost argument from my own county which has been shown to have a flimsy basis when watching the two games again removed from all the excitement.
Put it this way in the winter of 1997 my personal take would have been strong on the Meath cheated their way to winning that final whereas now I would be more of the Mayo lost it on the first day with poor shooting and trying to defend a big lead too early.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 09, 2017, 07:33:09 PM
Have to say I enjoyed the physical tactics Tyrone employed for the last 5 minutes of the league game up in Omagh. I enjoyed it because when the opposition resort to those tactics, you know they know (deep down) they can't win playing football and have to use other methods. Not nice to watch, but makes victory even more sweeter.

Now don't be worrying your good self about Lee Keegan and some made up mickey mouse award. An award that will never go to a player from at least up to 25 counties in Ireland.
Post by: MayoBuck on May 09, 2017, 07:39:24 PM
Love how Tyrone lads are so bitter. What's your take on this Fuzzman?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=C3WN4TkcXRE&feature=youtu.be

I believe Connolly did something similar to Ryan McHugh in the quarters as well but got away with the auld yellow a piece. Don't mean to be slating connolly btw, in fairness he said he doesn't think there should be a black card.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 09, 2017, 07:51:44 PM
It's strange how so many counties are happy enough to employ and defend the dark arts they publicly chastise Tyrone for.

If Keegan had been from Tyrone then his card would have been marked a long time ago. One rule for one and another for another.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 09, 2017, 07:54:03 PM
I'd imagine he powers that be reckon that it adds to the spectacle, rightly or wrongly, and when you have the likes of sky involved and the money that goes with that they don't mind it as much as with other players.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 09, 2017, 07:55:12 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 05:06:44 PM

(https://m0.sportsjoe.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/29160108/inpho_00300663.jpg)
(https://img.rasset.ie/000c8fcd-800.jpg)
(http://www.breakingnews.ie/remote/media.central.ie/media/images/c/ConorGormleyTyrone_large.jpg?width=600&s=bn-603579)(http://www.irishnews.com/picturesarchive/irishnews/irishnews/2016/08/26/152858565-ac4d15bb-ce8e-4f6d-92b8-224c36ffb430.jpg)

What was it Graham Geraghty said to that aboriginal lad?
Post by: Crete Boom on May 09, 2017, 08:01:17 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 09, 2017, 07:51:44 PM
It's strange how so many counties are happy enough to employ and defend the dark arts they publicly chastise Tyrone for.

If Keegan had been from Tyrone then his card would have been marked a long time ago. One rule for one and another for another.

Yeah I know if he was playing for Tyrone against Dublin in an All Ireland Final and a poor kickouts led to him pulling on Connollys jersey and even allowing for how easily Connolly hit the turf (probably from watching Aidan O'Shea ;D ;D) he would 100% be black carded but because he had a Mayo shirt on he got away Scot fr.. ?? Insert fake news fact here!!! ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 09, 2017, 08:23:01 PM
It won't be happening this year. Mayo will bow out before the last 8 in my opinion.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 09:29:30 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 09, 2017, 08:23:01 PM
It won't be happening this year. Mayo will bow out before the last 8 in my opinion.

Loss to Ros.
Post by: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 11:56:00 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 09, 2017, 07:55:12 PM
What was it Graham Geraghty said to that aboriginal lad?

Vote Fine Gael.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 10, 2017, 12:11:09 AM

Perhaps an interesting question but if you really want to discuss it, you need to take the personalities out of it. I suspect you may already know that though  ;)

As a matter of interest, is it only backs who foul AND get the better of their man we should take action against or all backs who foul??

I had a chuckle at the "more it will be copied by other players"  ;D ;D Unbelievable that nobody thought to try this until Lee came along
Post by: Fuzzman on May 10, 2017, 12:52:15 PM
Naturally when I thought about starting this new thread I thought to myself is it worth the hassle as no doubt I'll get loads of shit thrown back in my face about Tyrone and players like Ricey, Gormley and more recently Justin McMahon.

I did say Tyrone have their fair share of players who do things that are illegal and very hard to watch in the game and I agree that Justin McMahon has changed his game to become a spoiler sometimes, especially on players like Murphy from Donegal. I can not condemn it but what I'm saying is too many of us accept it and you can see on here not one person has agreed and said yes something should be done about it.

This is the point I'm trying to make. Too many, including the officials just think Ah sure it's fair enough. Nobody is getting badly injured and as there is a pair of them at it then let them sort it out themselves.
There are rules there that are not being applied and if the ref was to black or yellow card every time he saw it then it would soon stop. The linesmen and umpires are probably more to blame actually as most of it happens off the ball as the forward is making a run into space.

For those who questioned do I think it's just defenders who use this tactic. To be honest yes I think it is as it is their job to stop the forward from playing well and scoring. Forwards want to get the ball in their hands and so often try to make a run into space to get a score, however, they will sometimes react in the same way if their man is doing it to them and getting away with it then they will no doubt try to do the same in retaliation and so we saw Connolly pulling Keegan and others down as well.

What's disappointing for me is most people's response here has been sure he's not the only one doing it and he didn't invent it and you can't judge as Tyrone are the same etc etc

Lee Keegan might not have invented it but he's taken it to another level and for the most part getting away with it, as did Justy McMahon on Murphy a few years ago. Keegan seems to be doing it all the time now yet nothing seems to be done about it as far as I can see.

A simple question for those who are defending it.
Do you think what he's doing is fair enough?
Do you think it is legal?
Do you think that it is usually Keegan who starts it or have you saw Connolly start it first?
How would you feel if AOS was dragged down like that every time he made a run?

Macdanger, you ask is it just backs who foul and get the better of their man or all backs that foul.
Yet another silly question to try to defend his actions. We all know full well what we're talking about here. Players who have no intention of trying to defend legitimately and just focus all their attention on stopping their man from making runs off the ball when the ref isn't maybe watching him.

As someone said maybe it's about the personalities involved here. Connolly is seen by many as a non very likeable character who was charged with CBH or something to that affect. He's a Dub and so most neutrals want to see Mayo beat them and taking Connolly "out of the game" certainly will help them win the All Ireland.

As Il Bomber Destro said, it's amazing how many people defend the dark arts for some counties yet for others it his highlighted on national media. The furore over the Sean Cavanagh rugby tackle which was a once off event yet here is something that has been going on over several matches that most seem to say "Ah it's not that bad".

Post by: macdanger2 on May 10, 2017, 01:33:01 PM
Fuzzman, it's only a silly question if you misunderstand it - it was not a defence of Keegan. What percentage of Keegan's play would you say is cynical spoiling? And what percent is footballing ability?

Post by: Hound on May 10, 2017, 01:54:42 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 10, 2017, 01:33:01 PM
Fuzzman, it's only a silly question if you misunderstand it - it was not a defence of Keegan. What percentage of Keegan's play would you say is cynical spoiling? And what percent is footballing ability?
Depends on who Mayo are playing!

The first final last year, he had no interest in the ball at all (when Mayo had it). And neither player ended up contributing a whole heap other than cancelling each other out.

For the replay, he'd clearly got different instructions and was contributing a lot more until his black card offence, although this maybe gave Connolly a little bit more room.   

Nothing wrong with being a spoiler. Up to the manager what role a player has. If he was a Dub, his role in our team would be completely different to what we saw him do against Tipp, Tyrone and Dublin last year. But maybe we have more spoilers available for the task than Mayo do.
Post by: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 02:04:23 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 10, 2017, 01:54:42 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 10, 2017, 01:33:01 PM
Depends on who Mayo are playing!

The first final last year, he had no interest in the ball at all (when Mayo had it). And neither player ended up contributing a whole heap other than cancelling each other out.

For the replay, he'd clearly got different instructions and was contributing a lot more until his black card offence, although this maybe gave Connolly a little bit more room.   

Nothing wrong with being a spoiler. Up to the manager what role a player has. If he was a Dub, his role in our team would be completely different to what we saw him do against Tipp, Tyrone and Dublin last year. But maybe we have more spoilers available for the task than Mayo do.

What Keegan does is cute. What Philly does is scummy..
Post by: Blowitupref on May 10, 2017, 02:48:31 PM
To be realistic Mayo should reach the last 4 at least again for for the 7th year in a row.

As for the topic of this thread.. Today's modern championship football is based on solid defensive systems and it's only natural that the current footballer of the year is a defender. It's a spoiler for the lovers of offensive football I suppose but the game will be like this for many years to come.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 10, 2017, 04:21:21 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 10, 2017, 12:52:15 PM
Naturally when I thought about starting this new thread I thought to myself is it worth the hassle as no doubt I'll get loads of shit thrown back in my face about Tyrone and players like Ricey, Gormley and more recently Justin McMahon.

I did say Tyrone have their fair share of players who do things that are illegal and very hard to watch in the game and I agree that Justin McMahon has changed his game to become a spoiler sometimes, especially on players like Murphy from Donegal. I can not condemn it but what I'm saying is too many of us accept it and you can see on here not one person has agreed and said yes something should be done about it.

This is the point I'm trying to make. Too many, including the officials just think Ah sure it's fair enough. Nobody is getting badly injured and as there is a pair of them at it then let them sort it out themselves.
There are rules there that are not being applied and if the ref was to black or yellow card every time he saw it then it would soon stop. The linesmen and umpires are probably more to blame actually as most of it happens off the ball as the forward is making a run into space.

For those who questioned do I think it's just defenders who use this tactic. To be honest yes I think it is as it is their job to stop the forward from playing well and scoring. Forwards want to get the ball in their hands and so often try to make a run into space to get a score, however, they will sometimes react in the same way if their man is doing it to them and getting away with it then they will no doubt try to do the same in retaliation and so we saw Connolly pulling Keegan and others down as well.

What's disappointing for me is most people's response here has been sure he's not the only one doing it and he didn't invent it and you can't judge as Tyrone are the same etc etc

Lee Keegan might not have invented it but he's taken it to another level and for the most part getting away with it, as did Justy McMahon on Murphy a few years ago. Keegan seems to be doing it all the time now yet nothing seems to be done about it as far as I can see.

A simple question for those who are defending it.
Do you think what he's doing is fair enough?
Do you think it is legal?
Do you think that it is usually Keegan who starts it or have you saw Connolly start it first?
How would you feel if AOS was dragged down like that every time he made a run?

Macdanger, you ask is it just backs who foul and get the better of their man or all backs that foul.
Yet another silly question to try to defend his actions. We all know full well what we're talking about here. Players who have no intention of trying to defend legitimately and just focus all their attention on stopping their man from making runs off the ball when the ref isn't maybe watching him.

As someone said maybe it's about the personalities involved here. Connolly is seen by many as a non very likeable character who was charged with CBH or something to that affect. He's a Dub and so most neutrals want to see Mayo beat them and taking Connolly "out of the game" certainly will help them win the All Ireland.

As Il Bomber Destro said, it's amazing how many people defend the dark arts for some counties yet for others it his highlighted on national media. The furore over the Sean Cavanagh rugby tackle which was a once off event yet here is something that has been going on over several matches that most seem to say "Ah it's not that bad".
I have seen Connolly launch s preemptive strike, if you follow me. Just don't have the video to hand so I| can't give you the exact details but in the AI final in 2012, there was a stoppage somewhere and the camera switched to Connolly and Keegan, isolated from the rest. Clear as day, Connolly was standing behind his man and jabbing him with fingers in the back of the neck.  Keegan was attempting to drive him away by jabbing backwards with his elbow. All the while, Connolly was saying something to his man and I don't think he was asking him to come for a few pints after the game.
That's the only time I saw Connolly getting his retaliation in first but I can't say I saw much of what Keegan has done either. All dark arts practitioners seem to be expert at their job and they have to be when there is tv coverage with action replays and the likes.
I think Aidan O'Shea gets at least as much stick as Connolly does and he has both Cooper and McMahon hanging out of him all the time. That doesn't excuse Keegan but it does put the issue in perspective.
Tyrone are nowhere near as dirty as Kerry or Dublin. Mickey's men are only amateurs where it comes to sneaky fouling. After the league final this year, Dublin spent a lot of time moaning about the referee and the amount of Kerry transgressions he ignored. Last time they met, it was Eamonn Fitzmaurice who was doing the howling. He spoke of Doheny being 'pillaged and raped' repeatedly while the ref did sweet FA about it.
Bottom line is that any team that wants to go anywhere won't be too fussed with the rules if they can get by through fair or foul means.
Post by: Jinxy on May 10, 2017, 05:13:13 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2017, 02:48:31 PM
To be realistic Mayo should reach the last 4 at least again for for the 7th year in a row.

As for the topic of this thread.. Today's modern championship football is based on solid defensive systems and it's only natural that the current footballer of the year is a defender. It's a spoiler for the lovers of offensive football I suppose but the game will be like this for many years to come.

Keegan is one of the most offensive defenders in the game.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 10, 2017, 05:41:04 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 10, 2017, 05:13:13 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2017, 02:48:31 PM

Keegan is one of the most offensive defenders in the game.
Yes and solid defenders that can outscore their markers from play are worth their weigh in gold.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 10, 2017, 07:51:03 PM
Fuzz.
Is it fair enough? As long as he refs let him away with it then yeah. It's not legal in my eyes but if the refs aren't blowing then crack on. If the refs do their job right he may stop doing it. Same for the likes of Cooper, McMahon, J McMahon etc
Post by: rrhf on May 11, 2017, 06:39:41 AM
When do they release Meath 96 greatest hits collection.
The problem is nowadays many of us forget what real dirt is. This dirt hurt.
Post by: Jinxy on May 11, 2017, 10:27:15 AM
Manly dirt.
Post by: rosnarun on May 11, 2017, 10:40:35 AM
isn't that what you said last year and the year before and the year before........
cheer up championship is about to start you can at least be excited for another 10 days or so
if sligo win ill join you in the depression
Post by: Kickham csc on May 11, 2017, 03:01:34 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 11, 2017, 06:39:41 AM

The problem is that over the past 20 years, the GAA has implemented a program of cleaning up the game and removing any physically out of the game. But they have been doing it by implementing a half pregnant strategy, i.e creating the environment for dark arts to exist and not fully punishing it 

The unintended result of this is the establishment of a more subtle "dirty play", holding, blocking, pulling and trash talking.

In my mind, if the refs don't  punish the holding and pulling, then it's unfair to punish players who react.

The incident where Connelly and Keegan ripped their jerseys apart, and the umpires, linesmen, and ref saw it and didn't punish any of them was a disgrace. If players are allowed to apply negative tactics  then we have to allow players to defend themselves without fear of red cards.

In other words, start reffing football like hurling games. That would cut out a load of crap.

Post by: criostlinn on May 11, 2017, 05:05:58 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on May 11, 2017, 03:01:34 PM

The problem is that over the past 20 years, the GAA has implemented a program of cleaning up the game and removing any physically out of the game. But they have been doing it by implementing a half pregnant strategy, i.e creating the environment for dark arts to exist and not fully punishing it 

The unintended result of this is the establishment of a more subtle "dirty play", holding, blocking, pulling and trash talking.

In my mind, if the refs don't  punish the holding and pulling, then it's unfair to punish players who react.

The incident where Connelly and Keegan ripped their jerseys apart, and the umpires, linesmen, and ref saw it and didn't punish any of them was a disgrace. If players are allowed to apply negative tactics  then we have to allow players to defend themselves without fear of red cards.

In other words, start reffing football like hurling games. That would cut out a load of crap.

Did he not give them both a yellow card ?
Post by: Kickham csc on May 12, 2017, 01:11:05 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 11, 2017, 05:05:58 PM

He did, but the proper punishment should have been a red or black, pulling holding off the ball, somebody started it and should have got a black, but when they started ripping the jersey off each other, their should have been a red.

Neither happened, and frustration starts to rise
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 01:27:52 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on May 12, 2017, 01:11:05 PM

He did, but the proper punishment should have been a red or black, pulling holding off the ball, somebody started it and should have got a black, but when they started ripping the jersey off each other, their should have been a red.

So you reckon the ref should have ruined the game?

Frontier justice, Marty Duffy style.

Matchups like JOD-Higgins and Connolly-Keegan are why neutrals bother to tune in in the first place. It's when you get to the Philly McMahon, Star and Ricey style stuff that it becomes an unwatchable mess.
Post by: Kickham csc on May 12, 2017, 02:27:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 01:27:52 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on May 12, 2017, 01:11:05 PM

So you reckon the ref should have ruined the game?

Frontier justice, Marty Duffy style.

Matchups like JOD-Higgins and Connolly-Keegan are why neutrals bother to tune in in the first place. It's when you get to the Philly McMahon, Star and Ricey style stuff that it becomes an unwatchable mess.

No, but if a player is being pulled and dragged and then reacts, then he shouldn't walk either.

In my original post my position is clear, start applying the hurling approach for referring football, let the players sort it out.

At the moment, a player can not stand up for himself as he will more than likely get sent off, and the refs aren't protecting them. something got to give
Post by: Fuzzman on May 12, 2017, 02:40:27 PM
Can I just check here what some people are saying?

Are you condoning that it's OK to drag a man down to the ground or continually be pulling at him and not letting him make runs off the ball to reduce his impact on the game? You think this is fair enough and doesn't deserve a yellow or black card?

Do you in turn then think the player being fouled should stand back and let it happen and not react in case it ends up as a scuffle on the ground or pulling the jerseys off each other like we've seen before.

To me it's pretty damn simple, in that there are rules already there to deal with this sort of stuff but the refs and other officials are not using them, maybe cos they don't want to spoil the game.

If I was a ref I'd be telling my linesmen and umpires before the game to be watching out for that sort of stuff and if it's spotted they will be yellow and black cards issued right away like what happened in the final replay last year.
Post by: Kickham csc on May 12, 2017, 03:57:46 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 12, 2017, 02:40:27 PM
Can I just check here what some people are saying?

Are you condoning that it's OK to drag a man down to the ground or continually be pulling at him and not letting him make runs off the ball to reduce his impact on the game? You think this is fair enough and doesn't deserve a yellow or black card?

I think that it is not fair enough, but it happens in every game and is being let go. Current rules should either be fully applied, i.e. hand out the black / yellow / red cards consistently

Do you in turn then think the player being fouled should stand back and let it happen and not react in case it ends up as a scuffle on the ground or pulling the jerseys off each other like we've seen before.

I think that if the rules are not being applied, then the player being fouled should be allowed to react, and not be punished

To me it's pretty damn simple, in that there are rules already there to deal with this sort of stuff but the refs and other officials are not using them, maybe cos they don't want to spoil the game. Agreed

If I was a ref I'd be telling my linesmen and umpires before the game to be watching out for that sort of stuff and if it's spotted they will be yellow and black cards issued right away like what happened in the final replay last year. Agreed

Was at the D3 /4 finals this year in Croke Park. Watched a half back running through to get forward, who was jumped on and pulled to the ground, right in front of the linesman and the group I was with.

He let the f@#king thing go. I started screaming at him, telling him to do his job, and he turned around to me and shrugged and said he didn't want to ruin the game..... WTHolyF#$K!!!!!

I was frustrated watching it and I was a neutral, imagine how the player being dragged down felt.  The player hit out and landed a punch and the linesman put up his flag.  We told him in pretty direct terms to put the flag down since he was letting the pulling go, and he did.....again WTHolyF$%K!!!!!!

Post by: Fuzzman on May 12, 2017, 04:57:49 PM
Unreal Kickham, just unreal.
That explains the problem in a nutshell that the officials are happy to stand by and let our best players be prevented from playing the game just because they won't apply the rules properly.

Yet so many on here don't want to seem to address the problem or even admit there is a problem.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 12, 2017, 09:31:43 PM
I don't think anyone had said it's not a problem Fuzzman, the problem is not simply lee Keegan as you seem to think - that's why I said earlier that to discuss it properly, you need to remove the personalities
Post by: MayoBuck on May 13, 2017, 02:35:44 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 12, 2017, 04:57:49 PM
That explains the problem in a nutshell that the officials are happy to stand by and let our best players be prevented from playing the game just because they won't apply the rules properly.

Yet so many on here don't want to seem to address the problem or even admit there is a problem.

If you really wanted an objective debate on cleaning up our game, you wouldn't have titled the thread as you did.

Why don't we also talk about the verbal sledging that certain players/teams are very proficient in. The aim of that is to get a reaction from your marker so it's no different. Referees never punish sledging. Keegan doesn't get involved in this.

There are also several players out there very fond of the closed fist tackle or have been involved in other nasty late hits and have never been punished accordingly. Keegan has never been involved in any act of serious foul play. 
Post by: Fuzzman on May 14, 2017, 09:51:40 AM
I said there are a few other players who do what Keegan does but my initial point was to discuss him and Connolly's ongoing battle which I can't quite believe has been allowed to develop as it has.
As expected nobody from Mayo has admitted that Keegan is doing this pre-mediated and that most people are just turning a blind eye to it. To get away with it is bad enough but to win player of the year on top of that says a lot about how we view things.

There is no doubt he is an excellent player as well and I think Mayo are not using him properly as he showed he can be a very effective attacker as well.

Post by: PW Nally on May 14, 2017, 01:29:31 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 14, 2017, 09:51:40 AM
I said there are a few other players who do what Keegan does but my initial point was to discuss him and Connolly's ongoing battle which I can't quite believe has been allowed to develop as it has.
As expected nobody from Mayo has admitted that Keegan is doing this pre-mediated and that most people are just turning a blind eye to it. To get away with it is bad enough but to win player of the year on top of that says a lot about how we view things.

There is no doubt he is an excellent player as well and I think Mayo are not using him properly as he showed he can be a very effective attacker as well.
Jaysus Fuzzman you and your Dublin buddies love doing the media job on Keegan!
Post by: criostlinn on May 14, 2017, 08:12:16 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 14, 2017, 09:51:40 AM

Funny thing about it is even the rte cameras are ignoring Keegans carry on. Don't remember any footage over the last few years showing the behaviour you say Keegan is at. Connolly on the other hand....

This just seems to be picked by the Dublin ex players and social media warriors and a couple of Tymoans who swear Sean Kavanagh was provoked by Lee Keegan into clothelslining Aiden O'Shea
Post by: imtommygunn on May 14, 2017, 09:39:59 PM
This is a very odd thread. 

Keegan is a victim of the press and this thread illustrates it. Is keegan worse than philly mcmahon or johnny cooper? I wouldn't have thought so. He's definitely not as bad as justin mcmahon or the donegal full back mcgee (he is not even in that ball park). Kerry have a few boys in that league too. So why keegan? Mainly because he is so good i would have thought.

I am not from mayo or even near it either but the ridicule the fella takes is ridiculous. He's the best half back about. He clashed with connolly - who hasn't. He clashed with sean cavanagh - so have plenty. Cavanagh isn't massively dirty but he is a very clumsy tackler.

Post by: maigheo on May 14, 2017, 09:49:52 PM
Well said Tommygunn.An absolutely stupid thread with only one agenda
Post by: Beffs on May 14, 2017, 11:46:31 PM
LOL

Keegan won Footballer of The Year.

That hardly makes him a "victim".

Ok, so he got a black card in the AI final. That bellend Connolly has dozens of black cards. And red cards. And yellow cards. At least that's what it seems like sometimes. Is he a victim too?
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2017, 01:11:52 AM
I don't usually buy the conspiracy stuff but it was blindingly obvious that Dublin as a county used their media connections to target Keegan and try to influence the ref before the AI final replay.

For a county with every advantage under the Sun to be so unconfident in their own ability to win that they'd do that reflects very poorly on them. It should be very easy to be the bigger man when you're from Dublin in this era of money doping.
Post by: Buttofthehill on May 15, 2017, 08:54:02 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 15, 2017, 01:11:52 AM
I don't usually buy the conspiracy stuff but it was blindly obvious that Dublin as  a county used their media connections to target Keegan and try to influence the ref before the AI final replay.

For a county with every advantage under the Sun to be so unconfident in their own ability to win that they'd do that reflects very poorly on them. It should be very easy to be the bigger man when you're from Dublin in this era of money doping.

But sure if that's the case Kerry constantly do it and Horan did it in 2012. There's plenty of other examples too. I'm surprised it took Jim Gavin so long to join the crowd.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 09:51:59 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 14, 2017, 08:12:16 PM
Funny thing about it is even the rte cameras are ignoring Keegans carry on. Don't remember any footage over the last few years showing the behaviour you say Keegan is at. Connolly on the other hand....

Very interesting. So you say you've saw the Connolly's stuff but nothing on Keegan.
Are you saying this is all made up then and Keegan has done nothing wrong?

My reason for "picking" on Keegan as opposed to either of the McMahons or J.Cooper was that they are not winning player of the year and Lee Keegan did. Philly McMahon was close to winning player of the year a few years back but most people thought he wouldn't get it because of his dirty play.

Sean Cavanagh did ONE tackle on McManus a few years ago and thanks to Brolly it will probably be the main thing Sean will be remembered for. If Keegan played for Tyrone Brolly would give him a much harder time. Look how much flack Justin McMahon took for similar tactics on Michael Murphy in one game.

Yet Lee Keegan seems to continually foul Connolly and others in this way for years now and everyone seems to be turning a blind eye to it. I just can't really understand it but hey, sure it gives us all something to look forward to I suppose this year again.  ;D
Post by: mayoaremagic on May 15, 2017, 11:09:35 AM
Keegan plays football the right way. Good old honest man marking and can take a score or two. He was harshly treated. The Dublin County board should have issued a apology to Keegan and Mayo for their media campaign. Cost us an All Ireland but sure we wont complain and just get on with things!
Post by: mayoaremagic on May 15, 2017, 11:10:55 AM
Quote from: Buttofthehill on May 15, 2017, 08:54:02 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 15, 2017, 01:11:52 AM
I don't usually buy the conspiracy stuff but it was blindly obvious that Dublin as  a county used their media connections to target Keegan and try to influence the ref before the AI final replay.

But sure if that's the case Kerry constantly do it and Horan did it in 2012. There's plenty of other examples too. I'm surprised it took Jim Gavin so long to join the crowd.

??

Horan spoke the truth
Post by: mayoaremagic on May 15, 2017, 11:11:43 AM
Quote from: MayoBuck on May 13, 2017, 02:35:44 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 12, 2017, 04:57:49 PM

If you really wanted an objective debate on cleaning up our game, you wouldn't have titled the thread as you did.

Why don't we also talk about the verbal sledging that certain players/teams are very proficient in. The aim of that is to get a reaction from your marker so it's no different. Referees never punish sledging. Keegan doesn't get involved in this.

There are also several players out there very fond of the closed fist tackle or have been involved in other nasty late hits and have never been punished accordingly. Keegan has never been involved in any act of serious foul play.

Post by: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 12:45:21 PM
Mayomagic, watch the video below and tell me if this is good old fashioned man marking

Pause it at exactly 6 seconds in and look right in the centre of your screen at Keegan's arms around Connolly to stop joining in on the attack. He then throws him down to the ground with the ref looking towards that direction.
on 9 seconds you can see Connolly gets up quickly and is looking for a pass into the space ahead of him but again Keegan has his arms around him so Connolly reacts by pushing him down to the ground.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=seybUwCI1u0

I will be very impressed if any of ye Mayo lads can admit that was an example of what Keegan does at times to stop his man and that it's not in the spirit of the game.
Dublin's Cooper and McMahon do loads of worse things at times I agree but I'm not talking about that on this thread I'm discussing Keegan and what he gets up to and how it tends to go unpunished.

Why would the Dublin panel and ex players not discuss it before the panel if they can see it going on. If some player is using unfair methods then he's leaving himself open to criticism is he not?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 15, 2017, 12:55:30 PM
Fuzzman has a gripe with Mayo and rightly so. Their have curtailed passages in the Championship for Tyrone in 2013 and 2016. Last years defeat really hurt as Tyrone went in with a lot of hype especially from Uncle Peter. A Tyrone team with 3 weeks preparation to the Quarter finals as opposed to a declining  Mayo having a week, told it's own story. Mayo in 2013 and 2015 played Donegal with a similar preparation time scale and on both occasions Donegal were well below Par.

Post by: mayoaremagic on May 15, 2017, 01:00:07 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 12:45:21 PM
Mayomagic, watch the video below and tell me if this is good old fashioned man marking

Pause it at exactly 6 seconds in and look right in the centre of your screen at Keegan's arms around Connolly to stop joining in on the attack. He then throws him down to the ground with the ref looking towards that direction.
on 9 seconds you can see Connolly gets up quickly and is looking for a pass into the space ahead of him but again Keegan has his arms around him so Connolly reacts by pushing him down to the ground.

I will be very impressed if any of ye Mayo lads can admit that was an example of what Keegan does at times to stop his man and that it's not in the spirit of the game.
Dublin's Cooper and McMahon do loads of worse things at times I agree but I'm not talking about that on this thread I'm discussing Keegan and what he gets up to and how it tends to go unpunished.

Why would the Dublin panel and ex players not discuss it before the panel if they can see it going on. If some player is using unfair methods then he's leaving himself open to criticism is he not?

Connolly dived. Simple as
Post by: whitey on May 15, 2017, 01:02:21 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 12:45:21 PM

Fair enough, but following that logic ex Mayo players should be given equal airtime to  highlight eye gouging, biting and other dangerous and unsportsmanlike behavior from certain Dublin players
Post by: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 01:40:41 PM
Totally agree Whitey and as a Tyrone man living in Dublin I know exactly how the bias can be.
At least your lot are doing interviews with RTE but Tyrone won't engage with RTE at all and so Brolly and Co can say what they like with no-one to pick them up.
I like Whelan on TSG as he's one of the few who is able to stand up to Brolly but he's also awfully biased and won't say too much to hurt the Dubs.

Philly McMahon is the one that bothers me the most on the Dublin team with the antics he has done and got away with. The eye gouge he did on Donaghy was amazing he didn't get a lengthy ban for that.

From the Bunker has nailed it on the head that I've got an axe to grind with Mayo after they used foul methods to deny my beloved Tyrone a day in the limelight v Dublin in the final. Had Keegan played in his usual half back role and not been holding Cavanagh all first half then we would have won.
So to see him then get  away with it again v poor Dublin, who we know are the new saviours of football  :o was too much for me to take.
I've been around long enough to know that every successful team needs a tough/dirty spoiler type player or two but what comes with that is a bad reputation and a lot of people disliking you see Ricey and McGee threads, NOT player of the year awards.
I've no problem with Lee Keegan doing what he does as long as he gets his punishment when he's caught. For me that is not happening and so we'll see more of it again this year no doubt.
Post by: whitey on May 15, 2017, 01:55:11 PM
I spoke to three people who were sitting behind the goal where the wrestling occurred at the beginning of the second half....all three said that the incident started when Cavanagh shouldered Keegan in the back and sent him flying....did that actually happen? If it did, then imho he deserved the first black....they both did

If you're on a yellow (for an incident you possibly instigated yourself), and then decide to clothesline someone in front of the referee you have no business going crying to the newspapers about how you were man marked.
Post by: JoG2 on May 15, 2017, 02:02:35 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 01:40:41 PM

From the Bunker has nailed it on the head that I've got an axe to grind with Mayo after they used foul methods to deny my beloved Tyrone a day in the limelight v Dublin in the final. Had Keegan played in his usual half back role and not been holding Cavanagh all first half then we would have won.
So to see him then get  away with it again v poor Dublin, who we know are the new saviours of football  :o was too much for me to take.
I've been around long enough to know that every successful team needs a tough/dirty spoiler type player or two but what comes with that is a bad reputation and a lot of people disliking you see Ricey and McGee threads, NOT player of the year awards.
I've no problem with Lee Keegan doing what he does as long as he gets his punishment when he's caught. For me that is not happening and so we'll see more of it again this year no doubt.

You've been round long enough to predict the outcome of games depending on what a certain player will bring to the game on a given day? Impressive

Coulda woulda shoulda
Post by: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 02:44:09 PM
Of course I don't know for sure Whitey but what I would imagine what happened is that Sean was very frustrated going in at half time that Keegan was blocking his runs and holding him off the ball etc the way he does sometimes.

So he was possibly told at half time that he needs to get Keegan booked so that he's walking a tightrope so Sean came out and even before the 2nd half started Sean shouldered him to the ground and then both of them starting the handbags stuff which ended in both getting YELLOW cards.
Sean was probably thinking this would put an end to the nonsense which in a way it did but then Sean made that silly high tackle near the end

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCK3muWZcoU
49 secs in shows the best angle. It was hardly a clothes line tackle but it was high and silly and as soon as he made it he tries to pull his arm back out again quickly but too late. It was correctly a yellow.

Post by: trueblue1234 on May 15, 2017, 03:44:08 PM
Quote from: whitey on May 15, 2017, 01:55:11 PM
I spoke to three people who were sitting behind the goal where the wrestling occurred at the beginning of the second half....all three said that the incident started when Cavanagh shouldered Keegan in the back and sent him flying....did that actually happen? If it did, then imho he deserved the first black....they both did

If you're on a black (for an incident you possibly instigated yourself), and then decide to clothesline someone in front of the referee you have no business going crying to the newspapers about how you were man marked.

If your on a black then I'd like to think you wouldn't be able to to clothline anyone apart from someone in the subs bench.
Post by: criostlinn on May 15, 2017, 04:23:33 PM
The problem here fuzzman is you're hanging the Dubs to long. You've decided that there is no way Lee Keegan could mark Sean Kavanagh unless he spent the whole game pulling and dragging out of him. The Dub's feel the same about Diarmuid Connolly. Ye have based this on absolutely nothing. Its a phrase commonly used. Lee Keegan spent the game pulling and dragging out of him. It seems any kind of marking on these two gods is not allowed. Sure let him make his run, stand back and let him through. Connolly and Keegan have had some of the most anticipated battles over the last few years. How many lenses is on them on this big occasions in Croke Park and yet the only example of this pulling and dragging is the clip you put up.

Yo use that clip from the All Ireland final to in some way prove your point. The clip could be interpreted any way. Lee Keegan stood his ground and Connolly ran into him. Connolly then took Keegan out of it to stop him getting back into defence enabling Dublin to score the goal. Granted that's looking at it through green and red glasses but what you've put up is no way conclusive. Why not put up something like Mayo's last attack of the game when Connolly blatantly dragged Keegan to the ground. You could spend the night trawling youtube for cynical play and find many examples of it and funnily enough feck all of them involve Lee Keegan dishng it out. (quite a few involve Connolly)

And to come on here comparing Keegan to the antics of others who spit, headbutt, eye gouge etc and spend the game sledging their opponent is crazy. Keegan never indulges in this carry on. His only problem is he had the audacity to mark Sean Kavanagh and Diarmuid Connolly out of it. Some of the commentary you read on Dublin fan pages and in the media from so called experts is bordering on the ridiculous and now the Tymoans are jumping on the bandwagon.  Keegan is now public enemy number one and for what. Its frustrating to read this thread put up by a usually reasonable poster. Mayo bet Tyrone last year and Sean Kavanagh played shite. Get over it. He has won plenty in his day and is more then entitled to have an off day.  We are into a new season and Tyrone could end up winning an All Ireland. Look to the future and stop dwelling on the past. Its a pity some wouldn't use the example set by Keegan after he got his black card in the Final. Shrug your shoulders and move on. It a tough game. Sometimes you get breaks, sometimes you don't  At times I wonder did Donald Trump base his whole election campaign and presidency to date on the Dublin media strategy last year
Post by: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 05:00:57 PM
Lee Keegan is a lot younger & faster than Sean Cavanagh these days and so he shouldn't have to be resorting to pulling and dragging.
Let me ask you a few very simple questions. I presume you go to games and have watched Keegan in the flesh.
Have you saw how SOMETIMES when the ball is down the other side of the pitch that he wraps his arms around his man and holds onto him and then lets him go at the last moment when the ball is being hit in their direction?
Do you consider that to be fair enough marking?
Is that what you mean by "It seems any kind of marking on these two gods is not allowed". So do you think that should be allowed?
I've saw him do that loads of times and of course it is not caught by tv coverage as it's off the ball. The same way Cooper and Philly McMahon do stuff off the ball at times.

Your interpretation of Keegan stood his ground and Connolly ran into him is best described by your own sentence thru green and red glasses. I would agree he marked Sean Cavanagh out of it last year and sadly Sean isn't up the level of previous years.

Lets be clear, I have not said Keegan does other stuff like spit, sledging, eye gouge or headbutt so why are you making that up. Is it an attempt to discredit my story.

I was at the Donegal v Tyrone match in Ballybofey 2 years ago where Justin McMahon played a similar way when marking Michael Murphy. I can understand it is difficult to admit it when one of your players bends the rules in a manner to prevent the other team's best player from having a big impact on the game. You tend to make exceptions for the rule bending and choose not to see some incidents or at least admit you saw them.

Your last few sentences sum up for me the truth in where you say stop looking backwards at what Keegan done and brush it under the carpet. Sean has had plenty of days where players go out to stop him playing his usual game.
Your line that says shrug your shoulders and move on.
Does this mean Keegan accepted he done wrong and got punished correctly and so he shrugged his shoulder and moved on. I think he did that and I said before that was admirable of him. However, not one Mayo fan on here seems to agree that he did anything wrong? Go figure
Post by: whitey on May 15, 2017, 05:06:50 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 05:00:57 PM
Lee Keegan is a lot younger & faster than Sean Cavanagh these days and so he shouldn't have to be resorting to pulling and dragging.
Let me ask you a few very simple questions. I presume you go to games and have watched Keegan in the flesh.
Have you saw how SOMETIMES when the ball is down the other side of the pitch that he wraps his arms around his man and holds onto him and then lets him go at the last moment when the ball is being hit in their direction?
Is that what you mean by "It seems any kind of marking on these two gods is not allowed". So do you think that should be allowed?
I've saw him do that loads of times and of course it is not caught by tv coverage as it's off the ball. The same way Cooper and Philly McMahon do stuff off the ball at times.

Your interpretation of Keegan stood his ground and Connolly ran into him is best described by your own sentence thru green and red glasses. I would agree he marked Sean Cavanagh out of it last year and sadly Sean isn't up the level of previous years.

Lets be clear, I have not said Keegan does other stuff like spit, sledging, eye gouge or headbutt so why are you making that up. Is it an attempt to discredit my story.

I was at the Donegal v Tyrone match in Ballybofey 2 years ago where Justin McMahon played a similar way when marking Michael Murphy. I can understand it is difficult to admit it when one of your players bends the rules in a manner to prevent the other team's best player from having a big impact on the game. You tend to make exceptions for the rule bending and choose not to see some incidents or at least admit you saw them.

Your last few sentences sum up for me the truth in where you say stop looking backwards at what Keegan done and brush it under the carpet. Sean has had plenty of days where players go out to stop him playing his usual game.
Does this mean Keegan accepted he done wrong and got punished correctly and so he shrugged his shoulder and moved on. I think he did that and I said before that was admirable of him. However, not one Mayo fan on here seems to agree that he did anything wrong? Go figure

So when Mickey Harte starts benching his sledgers, spitters and pinchers for unsportsmanlike conduct (like rugby managers do to their own players) come back on and ask the Mayo supporters how we feel about Lee Keegan's tactics.  From what I saw in the league game this year you guys don't have too much to be proud of
Post by: criostlinn on May 15, 2017, 06:30:37 PM
Sorry Fuzzman but that is a ridiculous question. You are asking me "Have you saw how SOMETIMES when the ball is down the other side of the pitch that he wraps his arms around his man and holds onto him and then lets him go at the last moment when the ball is being hit in their direction"  Off the top of my head I cant give you an example but Id be surprised if he has never done it. Like every f**king defender that has ever played the game. But to say this is a common trait in Keegans games is pure nonsense. Keegan is one of the most attacking half backs in the game and to be honest it is him who receives this treatment a lot more then he dishes it out. One thing for sure he certainly wasn't at this against Tyrone as the behavior you describe would involve having the forward actually in front of the ball to receive the pass. But of course you've seen it loads of times. Cameras, umpires, linesmen, referees all miss it but Fuzzman is haunted by this behavior from Keegan.

As regards my last few sentences. When I say look forward. Maybe I should have been clearer. What I really meant was stop making shit up and stop making excuses as to why ye got bet last year. Its over. Its done. When Keegan shrugged his shoulders he knew he couldn't change anything. No point in complaining. It wasn't going to change anything. Of course no Mayo fan will agree he deserved a black card because he simply didn't but complaining on the internet 10 months later wont change that.

Even your description of what Keegan is at has changed over the last few pages. You don't seem to be quite sure what the problem is. Is he the spoiler of the year or does he sometimes hold a player and then let him go before the ball comes in. To listen to some of the Dubs you'd swear he'd ate your children. All I can recommend to you Fuzzman is stop listening to Anto and Deco down in the club house. Them boys only see what their mate on the hill told them happened.

Or you know what. Maybe this is Mickey Harte's new strategy for the year. It worked for the Dubs, why not Tyrone.  Send out the social media warriors. Keep repeating the same lines. It doesn't have to be true but say it often enough and it will stick. But Fuzzman you need to be more subtle about it and at least wait until a little later in the year. And a word of warning, if ye do play Mayo l there is no guarantee ye will get a ref like Maurice Deegan to fall for this shite
Post by: From the Bunker on May 15, 2017, 06:38:31 PM
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/d1/dc/3a/d1dc3a192b10948bd9b1b7997745053f.gif)
Post by: MayoBuck on May 15, 2017, 09:10:13 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 09:51:59 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 14, 2017, 08:12:16 PM

Very interesting. So you say you've saw the Connolly's stuff but nothing on Keegan.
Are you saying this is all made up then and Keegan has done nothing wrong?

My reason for "picking" on Keegan as opposed to either of the McMahons or J.Cooper was that they are not winning player of the year and Lee Keegan did. Philly McMahon was close to winning player of the year a few years back but most people thought he wouldn't get it because of his dirty play.

Sean Cavanagh did ONE tackle on McManus a few years ago and thanks to Brolly it will probably be the main thing Sean will be remembered for. If Keegan played for Tyrone Brolly would give him a much harder time. Look how much flack Justin McMahon took for similar tactics on Michael Murphy in one game.

Yet Lee Keegan seems to continually foul Connolly and others in this way for years now and everyone seems to be turning a blind eye to it. I just can't really understand it but hey, sure it gives us all something to look forward to I suppose this year again.  ;D

Did you happen to miss every single national newspaper in the lead up to the replay last year? Or Mickey Harte whinging after Sean Cavanagh being sent off?
Post by: MayoBuck on May 15, 2017, 09:27:07 PM
Quote from: whitey on May 15, 2017, 01:55:11 PM

If you're on a yellow (for an incident you possibly instigated yourself), and then decide to clothesline someone in front of the referee you have no business going crying to the newspapers about how you were man marked.

Yes that's what happened, I was directly in line with it. Mayo were out first for the 2nd half and Keegan was standing in the full back position. Cavanagh barged straight into Lee's back. Also, while Cavanagh's 2nd yellow was slightly harsh, he should have been sent off a few minutes previously when he grabbed Lee's arm and pulled him to ground trying to engineer a free. The ref didn't fall for it and gave Mayo the free but surely when you're caught doing some thing as cynical as that you should be given a card?

FYI, Keegan didn't commit a single foul during the Tyrone game. Over the course of the 2 All Ireland finals, he committed 1 foul and was black carded for it. Maybe refs should be more lenient on him when you see what certain players on other teams get away with? Of course when people continually try to blacken his name referees are bound to be influenced when he does commit the odd foul.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 16, 2017, 11:50:23 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 05:00:57 PM

Jayusus, Fuzzy, you got 5 pages out of this topic and no sign of a let up either. Dunno what the fuss is about really. Leroy got the gong because he was the player of the year. Period. What about his black card?  If you've been reading the same papers that I have, youk'll have found that just about every sportswriter that commented on THAT incident, felt Keegan was harshly treated. He deserved a yellow- no doubt about that but you can replay the DVD until Tyrone cleans up their act or the Shannon ruins dry- whichever is the sooner and you won't see anything to deserve a black card..  I've no problem accepting that Keegan does practice the dark arts but is he spoiler of the year?
Hah? well he is on me arse!
To even get a look in for that he'd need to be wearing a Dubs jersey or at the very least a Kerry one.
Remember the League final last year when Eamonn Fitz was moaning that Donaghy was "raped and pillaged" throughout the game and the referees did nothing about it. Just by coincidence, it happened that Kerry lost that one.
This year Kerry scraped home and it was Dublin's turn to moan and bitch about the referee. Teams, officials and supporters see what they want to see and nothing more. While Keego was giving Dermo a few well-deserved clatters about the lugs, Philly and Jonny were doing far worse to Aido at the other end and Mayo were men enough to get on with it and no go bawling for sympathy wherever they could find it.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 16, 2017, 12:40:17 PM
Good man Lar, at least you're man enough to admit that Keegan does practice the dark arts and I agree he's far from the worst of them. I suppose I just wish he'd stick to playing the ball rather than the man so much.
Did you see him in the league game v Dublin with him holding on to O'Gara so much?
Yes of course Tyrone and other teams done the same but that doesn't make it right. When Cavanagh did the rugby tackle that year Brolly was amazed that Martin Carney gave the man of the match award to Sean. So was I.

He's one of your best attacking defenders and if he wasn't getting involved so much with man handling his man he could be kicking more scores for Mayo. How would he fare in the half forward line?

As you can imagine living in Dublin, I'm keen to see the Dubs get beaten like many others from outside the capital and I've no love for Connolly but I just think Mayo/Keegan are a bit too obsessed with trying to stop Connolly to the detriment of Keegan's own game. You've got plenty other good defenders who could mark Connolly.

Post by: mup on May 16, 2017, 12:43:25 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 01:40:41 PM
Totally agree Whitey and as a Tyrone man living in Dublin I know exactly how the bias can be.
At least your lot are doing interviews with RTE but Tyrone won't engage with RTE at all and so Brolly and Co can say what they like with no-one to pick them up.
I like Whelan on TSG as he's one of the few who is able to stand up to Brolly but he's also awfully biased and won't say too much to hurt the Dubs.

Philly McMahon is the one that bothers me the most on the Dublin team with the antics he has done and got away with. The eye gouge he did on Donaghy was amazing he didn't get a lengthy ban for that.

At last. We have a reason for the thread.
Post by: blast05 on May 16, 2017, 01:50:21 PM
QuoteIs it an attempt to discredit my story.

At least we're now clear its all a story Fuzzman.

So, you have an issue with players pushing the letter of the law a bit far .... some a lot more than others.
At one extreme you have the likes of Mayos Ger Cafferkey who is a bit too nice for his own good.
In the middle you have Lee Keegan who will do a bit of pulling and dragging in line what his opponent will as often do to him when he bounds forward. Vast majority of players fit into this middle category.
And then you have the real dark arts, dirty guys.... i won't bother naming names here but yes, we can all name 1 or 2 straight off.

So, why is your focus on one of the mid-rank guys like Lee Keegan?
If you have such a philosophical issue with foul play in the game then be fair about and focus on the real perpetrators rather than being tabloidesque about it focusing on Keegan

PS .... focusing on Keegan won't change the result of the All-Ireland quarter final last year.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 16, 2017, 02:58:12 PM
Quote from: blast05 on May 16, 2017, 01:50:21 PM
So, why is your focus on one of the mid-rank guys like Lee Keegan?

I presume you've not read the whole thread Blast05 as that has been answered already.
I chose to focus on Keegan as I don't believe he should have won player of the year as his main job in most matches is to be the spoiler. He is quite good at that job but he's also quite a good footballer as I've said numerous times.

I can understand there is a place for spoiling tactics in our game but I just don't believe that this should be rewarded with a prize at the end of the year.
Post by: mup on May 16, 2017, 03:44:08 PM
You also have a wet one for Connolly. The same player who has driven his knees in to the back of the head of a player who was lying face down on the ground.

If that's what you call 'trying to play the game fairly' then you are seriously deluded.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 16, 2017, 03:48:46 PM
Who then fuzzman should have been awarded the prize?
Post by: Crete Boom on May 16, 2017, 05:33:33 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 16, 2017, 12:40:17 PM
Good man Lar, at least you're man enough to admit that Keegan does practice the dark arts and I agree he's far from the worst of them. I suppose I just wish he'd stick to playing the ball rather than the man so much.
Did you see him in the league game v Dublin with him holding on to O'Gara so much?
Yes of course Tyrone and other teams done the same but that doesn't make it right. When Cavanagh did the rugby tackle that year Brolly was amazed that Martin Carney gave the man of the match award to Sean. So was I.

He's one of your best attacking defenders and if he wasn't getting involved so much with man handling his man he could be kicking more scores for Mayo. How would he fare in the half forward line?

As you can imagine living in Dublin, I'm keen to see the Dubs get beaten like many others from outside the capital and I've no love for Connolly but I just think Mayo/Keegan are a bit too obsessed with trying to stop Connolly to the detriment of Keegan's own game. You've got plenty other good defenders who could mark Connolly.

What is the point of this thread Fuzzman?? You start off with a fairly black & white stance on Keegan , chief spoiler/cynical/dark arts expert/blight on the game (albeit a talented attacker) who is crushing the beauty of the game and in this case the undoubted brilliant natural attacking flair of Diarmuid Connolly. Then you throw in the odd, there is worse out there than him or he is far from the worst etc....
So what is it?? Is Keegan the evil chief spoiler who was a questionable player of the year winner on moral grounds as the title suggests , or miss used brilliant attacking asset (or arguably redeployed through lack of other defensive options) who plays on the edge physically while defending??

I would like to point out on the miss used attacking threat ala Keegan, that last year Ger Caff (our best man marker) was out injured and our other main man markers Chris Barrett and Stephen Coen were struggling with injuries. With only Brendan Harrison fit as a traditional man marker Keegan was the only other option we had to deploy against the top teams. Higgins and Boyle are brilliant defenders and readers of the game but neither are sticky man markers. Durcan or Vaughan are not specific man markers either.

Some come on Fuzzman stick to your guns or admit this thread, while based on a valid argument, was wrongly focused on Keegan due to sour grapes over the quarter final and the general dislike you and the majority of GAA fans have developed for this Mayo team!!

(or you could be just shit stirring for the fun of it and I would then say to you , job well done ;D )
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 31, 2017, 01:19:35 PM
Quote from: Bart McQueen on July 31, 2017, 12:25:23 PM
Yet again great man marking from Leroy yesterday. Out played and out scored Enda Smith
if by 'man marking' you mean pulling the shirt off him, then yes.

If I did that in a club game the umpires would alert the referee, I'd be given a yellow card and if I repeated it I'd be off
Post by: twohands!!! on July 31, 2017, 02:26:03 PM
Quote from: Bart McQueen on July 31, 2017, 12:25:23 PM
Yet again great man marking from Leroy yesterday. Out played and out scored Enda Smith

I think the handling of Keegan yesterday is a damming indictment of McStay and McHale - giving the current POTY and 4 time All-Star the freedom of the park  is just reckless beyond belief.

Imagine for a second what McStay would have said if he was still a pundit and some other manager had done this?

Post by: AZOffaly on July 31, 2017, 02:29:47 PM
However I thought it was quite smart of them to move Smith in full forward, knowing that Keegan would follow him in there. It really took him out of the game for quite a while.
Post by: Rudi on July 31, 2017, 02:33:43 PM
In fairness we would love if Keggan played for us. I like him he is the best half back I have ever seen. Regarding the booing of Moran where I was in the Cusack their was none at all. I would never boo a player myself, Moran comes across as a Mother Theresa character however his classless antics in Kiltoom proved otherwise. If you live by the sword you die by the sword.  In my area of Cusack the Ros and Mayo supporters got on with supporting their teams not a bad word between any of us. Think social media has a lot to answer for it gives faceless egits free reign to fabricate or exaggerate stuff. I mean reading the Mayo gaa blog or worse the banter page would make you want to go on a rampage. Very little actual analysis on any of these gaa sites other than petty shite. Think I will find better more productive things to do with my time.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 31, 2017, 02:36:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 31, 2017, 02:29:47 PM
However I thought it was quite smart of them to move Smith in full forward, knowing that Keegan would follow him in there. It really took him out of the game for quite a while.

Yeah and I thought Rochford was utterly daft for having Keegan follow him in there.

Putting your main scoring threat that far from the opposition's goals  ::)

It was just typical of the game with both sides mistakes balancing one another out.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 31, 2017, 02:39:17 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 31, 2017, 02:36:33 PM

Yeah and I thought Rochford was utterly daft for having Keegan follow him in there.

It was just typical of the game with both sides mistakes balancing one another out.

I made reference to that last week. Keegan seems damned to be allocated the oppositions best/most dangerous player as identified by SR. It's an understandable ploy given his effectiveness at it, but it really does seem to be a Hobson's choice because he's so dynamic a player himself. Would Boyle or Barrett or even Higgins not be an effective man marker as well?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 31, 2017, 02:48:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 31, 2017, 02:39:17 PM

I made reference to that last week. Keegan seems damned to be allocated the oppositions best/most dangerous player as identified by SR. It's an understandable ploy given his effectiveness at it, but it really does seem to be a Hobson's choice because he's so dynamic a player himself. Would Boyle or Barrett or even Higgins not be an effective man marker as well?

The thing is that its one thing when the opposition player is out around the middle of the park as there will be opportunities for Keegan to break forward and threaten scores, it's a hell of a different kettle of fish when the opposition player goes to hang around the Mayo goal and Keegan is miles from the opposition's posts. When you think of how consistent a score-taker Keegan is (and how Mayo have struggles in that area) it seems madness to me, especially as I think there are others in the Mayo squad who could do a reasonable job on the defending side of things. I'd love to see some side put a sticky corner back man-maker on Keegan and see how this affects his and Mayo's overall game (I'd love to see someone do the same to Peter Harte for Tyrone and Ciaran Kilkenny for the Dubs)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2017, 03:13:04 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 31, 2017, 02:48:56 PM

The thing is that its one thing when the opposition player is out around the middle of the park as there will be opportunities for Keegan to break forward and threaten scores, it's a hell of a different kettle of fish when the opposition player goes to hang around the Mayo goal and Keegan is miles from the opposition's posts. When you think of how consistent a score-taker Keegan is (and how Mayo have struggles in that area) it seems madness to me, especially as I think there are others in the Mayo squad who could do a reasonable job on the defending side of things. I'd love to see some side put a sticky corner back man-maker on Keegan and see how this affects his and Mayo's overall game (I'd love to see someone do the same to Peter Harte for Tyrone and Ciaran Kilkenny for the Dubs)

Horan tried Keegan as a half forward in the League a few years ago.......it flopped! Done the same with Boyle as a corner back.....Serious flop!
Post by: twohands!!! on July 31, 2017, 03:22:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2017, 03:13:04 PM

Horan tried Keegan as a half forward in the League a few years ago.......it flopped! Done the same with Boyle as a corner back.....Serious flop!

I'm not saying Keegan moves to half-forward - just keep him where he is most valuable to the team - in the half-back line with licence to get forward.

Post by: macdanger2 on July 31, 2017, 09:41:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2017, 03:13:04 PM

Just because it didn't work once when tried briefly a couple of years ago doesn't mean it should never be tried again. We have decent options in the HB line so I think it'd be worth a go. What we're doing might be good enough to beat roscommon but it won't be enough to beat kerry/Dublin
Post by: Gold on July 31, 2017, 11:33:49 PM
Keegan ripped the Jersey clean off his man time and again ;D

Im convinced the umpires are statues
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2017, 12:09:19 AM
Lee Keegan is the best man marker on the Mayo team and nearly always marks the opposition best player out of the game. This has been the case for Mayos last 3 managements and not just a thing that Rochford found out about Keegan. A man marker follows his marker wherever he goes. The last 15 minutes Rochford moved Keegan off Smith but Keegan didn't get the same space for scores as he got in the 1st half and Enda Smith was more involved in the game when Keegan was off him.
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2017, 01:52:07 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2017, 12:09:19 AM
Lee Keegan is the best man marker on the Mayo team and nearly always marks the opposition best player out of the game. This has been the case for Mayos last 3 managements and not just a thing that Rochford found out about Keegan. A man marker follows his marker wherever he goes. The last 15 minutes Rochford moved Keegan off Smith but Keegan didn't get the same space for scores as he got in the 1st half and Enda Smith was more involved in the game when Keegan was off him.

Smith was more involved in the second half regardless of who was on him. He set up more than a few scores.
Post by: Blowitupref on November 22, 2017, 01:46:53 AM
Lee Keegan pours cold water on 'false rumour' he has been diagnosed with serious illness
But the Mayo defender will miss the majority of the 2018 league campaign after undergoing two hip operations

THE 2016 FOOTBALLER of the Year Lee Keegan looks set to miss most of next season’s National League campaign after recent hip surgery, but the Mayo defender has scotched ‘a false rumour’ that he has been diagnosed with a serious illness.

Keegan underwent two separate surgical procedures on each of his hips to correct ‘wear and tear’ damage earlier this month, and is likely to be out of action for between four and five months as he rehabilitates from those operations.

However, he said he felt the need to ‘clarify the situation’ after his family had been ‘upset’ by recent rumours in GAA circles that the 28 year-old had been diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, a condition that affects the central nervous system.

“I’m feeling great, body wise and health wise I’m brilliant, and the operations on my hips went really well,” explained the four-time All Star winner.

“I definitely can confirm that I don’t have MS, which is a very serious condition and something that really shouldn’t be discussed in the manner that it has been.

“Just in terms of my family being asked about my health, I felt it was important to clarify the situation. I’m 100% fine and healthy, and thankfully have no illness like that.

“I was disappointed to see my family upset by the rumours,” he added.

“And it’s not nice for people who do have MS, for my name to be thrown around in conversations like that, with false rumours.

“I was disappointed that a false story like that went around so quick, and I just wanted people to know that it wasn’t true.”

Keegan’s two keyhole surgeries on his right and left hips come after a season where he was also struck down by cellulitis in his foot before Mayo’s All-Ireland SFC quarter-final against Roscommon.

This latest injury issue means that the Westport clubman is to miss the majority of Mayo’s National League matches next spring as the recovery period is expected to rule him out of action for at least the first four rounds.

“From chatting to the consultant, it’s quite common now in the GAA,” he admitted.

“You’re looking at around four or five months out, depending on the recovery, but I’m lucky that I’ve got a great medical team around me with Mayo.

“So if it all goes well, I’ll be looking to get back a bit sooner.

“I hate missing games, I love playing for Mayo and putting on the jersey.”

Mayo begin their Division 1 league campaign away to Monaghan in Clones on Sunday, January 28.

This year’s beaten All-Ireland finalists will face Galway in the Connacht SFC on Sunday, May 13 in Castlebar.

http://www.the42.ie/lee-keegan-illness-rumours-3709301-Nov2017/
Post by: Syferus on November 22, 2017, 01:48:36 AM
Your foot and hip have been fecked, like hell are you 100% Lee. Hip injuries are just something you manage, you never get back the same again even in the best case scenario.

The MS stuff is disgusting, though.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on November 22, 2017, 08:09:07 AM
Quote from: Syferus on November 22, 2017, 01:48:36 AM
Your foot and hip have been fecked, like hell are you 100% Lee. Hip injuries are just something you manage, you never get back the same again even in the best case scenario.

Didn't seem to curtail him too much in last year's AI final?
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 22, 2017, 08:31:09 AM
I heard about the hip operations the same time as I heard about the MS shite as an 'either or' rumour so I didn't know what to think. It's a sad indictment of the intercounty game that one of the top players has to have hip surgery before he's 30. You would wonder where these ridiculous rumours come from. Thank God it was only a rumour.
Post by: oakleaflad on November 22, 2017, 09:33:46 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 22, 2017, 08:31:09 AM
I heard about the hip operations the same time as I heard about the MS shite as an 'either or' rumour so I didn't know what to think. It's a sad indictment of the intercounty game that one of the top players has to have hip surgery before he's 30. You would wonder where these ridiculous rumours come from. Thank God it was only a rumour.
Heard a doctor on the radio recently had to operate on both hips on an underage player on a county U15 panel most likely due to overtraining.
Post by: Gael85 on November 22, 2017, 10:54:32 AM
Horrible to see people spreading rumours about Lee Keegan health.
Post by: Orchard park on November 22, 2017, 01:48:19 PM

Pat Carton in Whitfeld making a fair living out of claiming to get lads back 100% from hio surgery
Post by: orangeman on November 23, 2017, 11:33:59 AM
Quote from: Orchard park on November 22, 2017, 01:48:19 PM

Pat Carton in Whitfeld making a fair living out of claiming to get lads back 100% from hio surgery

Some solicitor will make a fortune in future taking a case for these injuries caused by excessive gaa related training.

Post by: macdanger2 on November 23, 2017, 11:35:18 AM
Quote from: orangeman on November 23, 2017, 11:33:59 AM

Some solicitor will make a fortune in future taking a case for these injuries caused by excessive gaa related training.

I'm not so sure - it's all voluntary after all unlike other sports where players have received redress
Post by: Syferus on November 23, 2017, 11:50:39 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on November 23, 2017, 11:35:18 AM
Quote from: orangeman on November 23, 2017, 11:33:59 AM

I'm not so sure - it's all voluntary after all unlike other sports where players have received redress

Being able to sue or not it's utterly disgusting that hardly one at any level tells a player to stop.

Every team's personal interest seems to come first, even at club level where we hear the most bleating about your club being your family. Short-termism is alive and well in the GAA.

The scourge of painkilling injections so injured players can even take the field has never been addressed either.
Post by: Zulu on November 23, 2017, 12:06:23 PM
It's not the managers fault, it's the system. We have people wanting dual players at IC level, complaining about 16/17 year olds now not being able to field at adult level, the new U20 IC level etc. when these are all steps by the GAA to reduce the load on young players.

Every player should only be able to play one level and one code at IC level in a year, simple.
Post by: Syferus on November 23, 2017, 12:20:47 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 23, 2017, 12:06:23 PM
It's not the managers fault, it's the system. We have people wanting dual players at IC level, complaining about 16/17 year olds now not being able to field at adult level, the new U20 IC level etc. when these are all steps by the GAA to reduce the load on young players.

Every player should only be able to play one level and one code at IC level in a year, simple.

Like fûck it isn't the manager's fault too.
Post by: Zulu on November 23, 2017, 12:23:10 PM
Managers are in an impossible situation and many of them are under qualified amateurs trying their best. They are put in an impossible situation, solve the system and managers become a very minor part of the issue.
Post by: Syferus on November 23, 2017, 12:25:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 23, 2017, 12:23:10 PM
Managers are in an impossible situation and many of them are under qualified amateurs trying their best. They are put in an impossible situation, solve the system and managers become a very minor part of the issue.

If a lad is injured or overworked he shouldn't be playing or training. It is that simple, and that easy.

If you care about the players.
Post by: Zulu on November 23, 2017, 12:30:56 PM
Overtraining and minor niggles are difficult to diagnose. The problem is rarely that a seriously injured player is playing, though that still happens. The problem arises out of poor training schedules, lack of proper recovery, travelling large distances for training, poor biomechanics etc. Reducing the number of teams a player plays on won't solve all those issues but will massively help reduce the negative impact of these.
Post by: ballinaman on November 23, 2017, 12:38:20 PM

Agree. Absolute cowboy of the highest order .
Post by: Link on November 23, 2017, 12:57:20 PM
Personally having went through a similar surgery with another orthopedic consultant, I was never promised 100%. I was given a detailed consultation, detailed report of MRI with the pros/cons of surgery and the choice was mine. I think the number was 60% chance of improvement, 15% of making it worse and 25% of the condition staying the same.

It took about 5/6 months for recovery. The result is an improvement but not back to 100%.

I would be surprised if any surgeon promised 100% each and every time. Some guys hips are that bad by the time the consultant gets near them that nothing can be done.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 23, 2017, 01:28:42 PM
I was in a similar situation and choose not to have the surgery. I was able to manage it for another 3/4 years before having to call time in my early 30s.
Post by: Cunny Funt on November 23, 2017, 05:59:40 PM
First off the rumours that was spread about Lee Keegan was disgusting. 

Surgery if all possible is avoided, He has said its because of wear and tear and Keegan is player that only had his first full season in the Mayo senior jersey in 2011 and unlike some players he played little underage football for his county matter of fact i don't think he ever played county minor so without looking to play the blame game its more than likely the over the top training that Keegan has been doing in the last 6 years that has resulted in both of his hips requiring surgery.

Post by: mrhardyannual on November 24, 2017, 10:21:43 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on November 23, 2017, 05:59:40 PM

Surgery if all possible is avoided, He has said its because of wear and tear and Keegan is player that only had his first full season in the Mayo senior jersey in 2011 and unlike some players he played little underage football for his county matter of fact i don't think he ever played county minor so without looking to play the blame game its more than likely the over the top training that Keegan has been doing in the last 6 years that has resulted in both of his hips requiring surgery.
On the surface you make a strong case. What you neglect to say is that Keegan played rugby extensively at underage level and it was touch and go as to whether he would take up the pro-rugby route or commit to GAA. His long term injuries could be traced to rugby as easily as "over the top training". The extended season he had last year with Westport didn't help but that's par for the course for players who commit to both club and county.

By all accounts Lee has been a glutton for training and as he ages he may learn like many others before him to train smartly. in this regard there's a good article on Kieran Fitz of Corofin in today's Indo who continues to play well at 37yrs of age. Liked how he described himself as the No 2 full-back in the household as his wife has two All Irelands with Galway Ladies in that position.
Post by: Keyser soze on November 24, 2017, 10:32:45 AM

People that come out with ballacks like this sicken my ****.
Post by: Link on November 24, 2017, 10:56:53 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on November 24, 2017, 10:21:43 AM

On the surface you make a strong case. What you neglect to say is that Keegan played rugby extensively at underage level and it was touch and go as to whether he would take up the pro-rugby route or commit to GAA. His long term injuries could be traced to rugby as easily as "over the top training". The extended season he had last year with Westport didn't help but that's par for the course for players who commit to both club and county.

By all accounts Lee has been a glutton for training and as he ages he may learn like many others before him to train smartly. in this regard there's a good article on Kieran Fitz of Corofin in today's Indo who continues to play well at 37yrs of age. Liked how he described himself as the No 2 full-back in the household as his wife has two All Irelands with Galway Ladies in that position.

Who also has had groin, ankle and hip operations. Possibly only has began to train smartly since these.
Post by: Rossfan on November 24, 2017, 11:17:38 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on November 24, 2017, 10:32:45 AM

So other than using vile language have you any opinion on how he might have ended up needing surgery?
Post by: Orchard park on November 24, 2017, 12:12:54 PM
most leading sports physios and Pat Carton differ greatly about the need for hip surgery.
Post by: Keyser soze on November 24, 2017, 12:21:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 24, 2017, 11:17:38 AM

So other than using vile language have you any opinion on how he might have ended up needing surgery?

No. I have exactly the same level of knowledge of you as to what may have caused his injuries......**** all squared.

Unlike you, I don't come on acting the knob and casting wild accusations without having the first clue what I am talking about. And have the nerve to start off by saying that you're not looking to lay blame.
Post by: Link on November 24, 2017, 12:33:46 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on November 24, 2017, 12:12:54 PM
most leading sports physios and Pat Carton differ greatly about the need for hip surgery.

Of course they do.

Constant physiotherapy to counteract FAI/labral tear problems pays physios a lot of money.
Surgery to potentially fix FAI/labral tear pays surgeons lots of money.

Successful surgery will lead to less trips to the physio. I'm sure Lee and the mayo physio team had a long time to think about getting both hips done. I would guess it is due to the conservative approach with physiotherapy failing over the few seasons.
Post by: Rossfan on November 24, 2017, 12:46:20 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on November 24, 2017, 12:21:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 24, 2017, 11:17:38 AM

No. I have exactly the same level of knowledge of you as to what may have caused his injuries......**** all squared.

Unlike you, I don't come on acting the knob and casting wild accusations without having the first clue what I am talking about. And have the nerve to start off by saying that you're not looking to lay blame.
You're getting fairly mixed up on who said what ::)
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 24, 2017, 05:39:59 PM

In fairness something is not right when a player just 28 and only 6 years playing for his senior county team requires double hip surgery.
Post by: mrhardyannual on November 24, 2017, 10:38:58 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 24, 2017, 05:39:59 PM

In fairness something is not right when a player just 28 and only 6 years playing for his senior county team requires double hip surgery.
Lee made his senior debut in 2011, featuring in all FBD  games, as a sub in NFL and again as sub in All Ireland Quarter and Semi Final. Since then he has been an automatic choice. He played county U21  in 2009 and 2010. He has played senior for his club since 2008 winning county Intermediate titles in 09 and 16. He has played in two Compromise Rules Series. Prior to committing to GAA in 2009 he was involved with Connacht Rugby and on the cusp of a pro-career. All in all he has been constantly on the go for over a decade. His cumulative game count is probably well ahead of average for someone who has played senior intercounty for a dozen years. How he has injured his hips is a matter of conjecture but hardly surprising given the number of games he has played and the mileage he has covers in each game.
Post by: Blowitupref on November 25, 2017, 12:38:14 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on November 24, 2017, 10:38:58 PM
Lee made his senior debut in 2011, featuring in all FBD  games, as a sub in NFL and again as sub in All Ireland Quarter and Semi Final. Since then he has been an automatic choice. He played county U21  in 2009 and 2010. He has played senior for his club since 2008 winning county Intermediate titles in 09 and 16. He has played in two Compromise Rules Series. Prior to committing to GAA in 2009 he was involved with Connacht Rugby and on the cusp of a pro-career. All in all he has been constantly on the go for over a decade. His cumulative game count is probably well ahead of average for someone who has played senior intercounty for a dozen years. How he has injured his hips is a matter of conjecture but hardly surprising given the number of games he has played and the mileage he has covers in each game.

Lee Keegan himself didn't think so in a interview last year.

QuoteI just wasn't big enough for Rugby really, in the end-up. I was looking at the Irish under-20s the other night and I'm like a child compared to them. I would have been grand playing it away for fun but there was no chance really of me coming through the Connacht academy and making it as a professional. I wouldn't have had the physique for it.
Post by: giveballaghback on November 25, 2017, 01:13:40 AM
Any hope Mr. Keegan would have double lip surgery as well? ;D
Post by: Syferus on November 25, 2017, 04:10:22 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on November 25, 2017, 01:13:40 AM
Any hope Mr. Keegan would have double lip surgery as well? ;D

???
Post by: kerryforsam19 on April 02, 2019, 10:17:35 PM
Was pity referee  ignored Lee Keegan off the ball antics on Sean Shea. If Peter Crowley done that to Aidan O'Shea wouldn't hear of that for the year.
Post by: sans pessimism on April 02, 2019, 11:46:31 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on April 02, 2019, 10:17:35 PM
Was pity referee  ignored Lee Keegan off the ball antics on Sean Shea. If Peter Crowley done that to Aidan O'Shea wouldn't hear of that for the year.
learnt from the masters methinks-
Rerence;AISF replay,Limerick 2014 for all the proof you need
"You reap what you sow".
Post by: moysider on April 03, 2019, 12:21:14 AM
Quote from: sans pessimism on April 02, 2019, 11:46:31 PM
learnt from the masters methinks-
Rerence;AISF replay,Limerick 2014 for all the proof you need
"You reap what you sow".

Lol. Unfortunately I'm old enough to remember John O Keeffe doing a number on forwards' jerseys like he was wringing a towel. Not only have Kerry a free run to super8 they will be marking the referees' cards in advance.
Did a great job getting Aidan O Shea sent off too. 
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 03, 2019, 04:10:13 AM

Second post and you're dragging up a thread that hasn't been posted on in eighteen months. You'll need to try harder at your windups.

The key is to make a series of sensible posts before you go for the trolling, that way some people will believe you're serious
Post by: imtommygunn on April 03, 2019, 08:32:47 AM
Peter Crowley is no stranger to the dark arts. O'Shea may be just a big too big to deploy them on.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 10, 2019, 10:49:06 AM
Will Keegan be fit to mark Seanie Shea Sunday?
Post by: Halfquarter on July 10, 2019, 11:08:56 AM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 10, 2019, 10:49:06 AM

Kerryforsam19, you have the board polluted with your drivel, it might as well be closed down.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 10, 2019, 11:32:22 AM
Ignore him. I've done it.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 10, 2019, 12:52:28 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on July 10, 2019, 11:08:56 AM

Kerryforsam19, you have the board polluted with you drivel, it might as well be closed down.

This board has been polluted for years.  Why pick on one poster????
Post by: joemamas on July 10, 2019, 12:55:28 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 10, 2019, 11:32:22 AM

Post by: sans pessimism on July 10, 2019, 01:04:58 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 10, 2019, 12:55:28 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 10, 2019, 11:32:22 AM

+2
Post by: weareros on July 10, 2019, 01:58:37 PM
You know the quality of content will not be strained when a poster follows this naming convention: InsertCountyName-ForSam-InsertCurrentYear
I do have some sympathy for those who adopted this naming convention years ago and stuck with the same year despite the "ForSam" part never materialising.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 10, 2019, 02:18:28 PM
Ignore away folks.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 10, 2019, 04:22:03 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 10, 2019, 12:52:28 PM

Kerryforsam19, you have the board polluted with you drivel, it might as well be closed down.

Why have you not contributed for all these years that you mention?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 10, 2019, 04:52:06 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 10, 2019, 04:22:03 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 10, 2019, 12:52:28 PM

Why have you not contributed for all these years that you mention?

Long time lurker
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 10, 2019, 05:47:28 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 10, 2019, 01:58:37 PM
You know the quality of content will not be strained when a poster follows this naming convention: InsertCountyName-ForSam-InsertCurrentYear
I do have some sympathy for those who adopted this naming convention years ago and stuck with the same year despite the "ForSam" part never materialising.

There used to be poster called Breffni37 on Hogan Stand. Still awaiting the chance to rename himself 38.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 10, 2019, 05:52:16 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 10, 2019, 01:58:37 PM

6th times the charm hopefully  ;D
Post by: Mayo Border on July 10, 2019, 08:47:52 PM
Is Mayoforsam and Kerryforsam one and the same. If you are it's actually fantastic
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 10, 2019, 09:15:37 PM
Quote from: Mayo Border on July 10, 2019, 08:47:52 PM
Is Mayoforsam and Kerryforsam one and the same. If you are it's actually fantastic

Not me you're referring to I hope?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on August 09, 2019, 12:09:53 AM
Who will will leroy be nullifying this weekend. Great defender.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 09, 2019, 11:39:56 PM
Along with James Mccarthy probably the best defender since Thomas O'Se retired.
Post by: reillycavan on February 08, 2021, 05:51:56 PM
Is Lee staying on for another year? Heard he struggling with the injuries.