Glasgow!

Started by Long time dead, June 05, 2007, 11:02:14 AM

Long time dead

Anyone been?  A crowd of us are heading over next Friday for a stag, any recommended places to go, things to do?

Get a taxi to the Louden Tavern...deadly spot altogether ;) ;)

The Real SlimShady

Yes, The Louden is a great spot-as seen on Britains Hardest Pubs.

Glasgow=shithole. Total kip, you wont get in anywhere with a crowd and even then its up to whether or not the bouncers decide to let you in-apparently they dont need an excuse, they just say-not tonight lads or regulars only tonight.

Go to legs 'n' co, highlight of the weekend by far. Make sure you get a taxi to it and get them to phone you a taxi out of it, that area is brutal!!

oh, and watch out for a Portadown girl named Farrelly in Legs & Co, blonde hair and... well, you know the rest!!!  :)

Stay in the Jurys Inn, its central and £25 each!

Head to Merchant City, an area with a good few pubs and clubs in the city centre.

Do the tour of Celtic Park (1o minutes in the bus from Argyl Street, Bus Nos 61 and 62). There you will see the folloiwing

Directors Box ; Including seats for life allocated to Rod Stewart and Billy Connolly

Sky Box (suspended from the roof of the stand, the best Corporate Box in Parkhead)

A Video of the Club's History, narrated by Neil Lennon

Pitchside, dugouts etc

The postmatch interview room

Boardroom and Trophy Cabinet

Whitehair

Yeh merchant citys nice, stay around that general area, i wouldn't advise going up sauchiehall street, some dodgy spots lik Archaos at the bottom and some cheesy joints like ABC, Campus and The garage up at the Charing Cross end although the sports cafe's up there which would be ok for during the day. If your looking to go clubbing go to the arches down on Argyle st or the subclub on jamaica st(which is at the bottom on buchanan st), both amazing !

the colonel

you cant really go wrong with sauchiehall street. plenty of bars and clubs all in one street but one thing about glasgow is that they dont like stag partys so when your trying to get in to a place, go early and split into groups of about 4. the garage is prob best place but they are strict on the door,

the irish bars are grand, there are a couple of o neills and molly malones (i think thats it) not far from sauchiehall street
the difference between success and failure is energy

girt_giggler

lively city but just keep your wits about ye at end of a night when everyone piles out onto the streets.  they don't call it 'stab city' for no reason! they even put bouncers in some of the chippes etc at closing time.

molly malones is a grand spot indeed. also enjoyed 'walkabout' on reinfield street, few doors up from the burger king which. then head to the arches(argyle st i think), altho alot of w**ks about it but if your pissed by that stage u wont mind!

Louis the Red

Was over last summer on a stag myself.  Seventh Heaven lap dancing club, think its down by Charing Cross station, is definately not to be missed. £5 entry and £10 for 3 minute dance. All the women are top notch, and the drink isn't too expensive.  They will even put on a show for the stag.