Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Boycey on August 10, 2017, 09:09:09 AM

Title: Learning to drive
Post by: Boycey on August 10, 2017, 09:09:09 AM
Incredibly I've gotten myself to the age of almost 50 without learning to drive  :-[.
Circumstances have now dictated to me that I must learn so I've taken 3 lessons this week. I've been shocked at the level or aggression other drivers have shown to an obvious learner driver in a fully marked up instructors car.

Any tips for me??
Title: Re: Learning to drive
Post by: gallsman on August 10, 2017, 09:13:46 AM
Assume every other driver on the road is completely incompetent.

As for aggression towards learner drivers, just try and ignore it and don't let yourself get rushed when doing anything. Everyone was in the same boat once.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 10, 2017, 09:18:12 AM
Go slow if you feel in any way compromised or in trouble. You are very unlikely to do significant damage to anything if you are going slowly if there is something you don't like or feel comfortable with. Of course I'll be cursing you and trying to pass you out, but on the whole, if you are learning, I'd prefer to see a learner going slowly and carefully, rather than panicking and trying to do something they are not comfortable with.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2017, 09:21:02 AM
Quote from: Boycey on August 10, 2017, 09:09:09 AM
Incredibly I've gotten myself to the age of almost 50 without learning to drive  :-[.
Circumstances have now dictated to me that I must learn so I've taken 3 lessons this week. I've been shocked at the level or aggression other drivers have shown to an obvious learner driver in a fully marked up instructors car.

Any tips for me??

Christ!! you must have lived in the city! in fairness i was nearly 30, never needed to drive or have a want for it, taking my daughter out soon and not looking forward to it at all.... Be keen to hear from the petrol heads on how they are nice to other drivers.

I'd say once you get your distances right and confidence in steering you'll be fine, I remember my test as if it was yesterday, rotten!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 10, 2017, 09:52:21 AM
Driverless cars aren't to far away Boycey..hold out till then...
Post by: Taylor on August 10, 2017, 10:15:38 AM
Avoid cyclists at all costs.

They will make your driving life hell - I understand you are nervous on the road - just imagine if they are out cycling 5 or 6 abreast so you cant pass or they could be hopping up and down off footpaths and weaving in between cars.

Best of luck Boycey
Post by: PW Nally on August 10, 2017, 10:29:49 AM
Yoga pants. Biggest danger to male drivers.
Post by: JohnDenver on August 10, 2017, 10:42:22 AM
Quote from: PW Nally on August 10, 2017, 10:29:49 AM

https://youtu.be/CYRENWT8lz8 (https://youtu.be/CYRENWT8lz8)
Post by: screenexile on August 10, 2017, 11:15:38 AM
Quote from: JohnDenver on August 10, 2017, 10:42:22 AM

https://youtu.be/CYRENWT8lz8 (https://youtu.be/CYRENWT8lz8)

The most relevant video of our time!!!
Post by: punt kick on August 10, 2017, 11:25:07 AM

Any tips for me??

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBxloSkObYc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBxloSkObYc)
Post by: RedHand88 on August 10, 2017, 11:35:23 AM
Agree on cyclists. Always remember, they are better than us pollution spewing car drivers and you should ALWAYS give them right of way regardless of situation. A cyclist scrapes your car whilst overtaking you in traffic? Smile and wave!  ;D
Are 4 of them riding abreast on a busy road? Well sir, just you stay back and toodle along behind them at 10mph round blind corners, to hell with cars coming behind you!
With regards other cars beeping at you, honestly the best response is to beep back, laugh and wave at them. Its the thing that will annoy them most. People behave in cars in a way they would never behave in public.
Post by: T Fearon on August 10, 2017, 12:43:49 PM
Best tip is to keep her between the hedges.
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2017, 12:49:07 PM
Before you learn how to start the car, learn how to stop the car.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2017, 01:36:45 PM
Only on the right body.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2017, 01:38:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2017, 09:21:02 AM

Any tips for me??

Christ!! you must have lived in the city! in fairness i was nearly 30, never needed to drive or have a want for it, taking my daughter out soon and not looking forward to it at all.... Be keen to hear from the petrol heads on how they are nice to other drivers.

I'd say once you get your distances right and confidence in steering you'll be fine, I remember my test as if it was yesterday, rotten!
Whilst I wouldn't call myself a petrol head and I have no patience for inconsiderate cyclists I would have a lot of patience for L drivers as I was one myself once.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 10, 2017, 01:41:48 PM
Do you have to do a set number of lessons with a driving school?

Best of luck and don't feel presurised into speeding and listen to your instructor.
Post by: Fat Angry Motorist on August 10, 2017, 04:25:31 PM
Contrary to what some of the grumpy, self entitled pricks on the board would have you think, there aren't tens of thousands of cyclists on the roads every day.  Watch out for the hundreds of joggers who push people in front of cars.  It happens all the time.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 10, 2017, 05:12:26 PM
Quote from: Fat Angry Motorist on August 10, 2017, 04:25:31 PM
Contrary to what some of the grumpy, self entitled pricks on the board would have you think, there aren't tens of thousands of cyclists on the roads every day.  Watch out for the hundreds of joggers who push people in front of cars.  It happens all the time.

Really?
Post by: Boycey on August 10, 2017, 05:21:29 PM
Thanks guys!

Not really sure why I never learned, I was a townie growing up so never really entered my head. Went to college and then London where I didn't need one and when I came back in my mid 20s it was always on my to do list and as I got older and I didn't do it I think I got embarrassed about it but now I have to and must do is a great master..

Had another lesson this morning and this absolute weapon insisted on overtaking me on a small road just before a bad bend, he had been trying for several hundred yards. The instructor said I wasn't even going slow but I think he just couldn't bear to be behind a learner. It bothered the instructor more than me, I'm a mellow enough person...

No bother with cyclists yet  ;D
Post by: Denn Forever on August 10, 2017, 05:29:39 PM
Really.  Fortuneately driver had good reactions.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/putney-bridge-jogger-arrest-man-woman-push-london-bus-metropolitan-police-a7886171.html
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 11, 2017, 02:01:10 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 10, 2017, 05:21:29 PM
Thanks guys!

Not really sure why I never learned, I was a townie growing up so never really entered my head. Went to college and then London where I didn't need one and when I came back in my mid 20s it was always on my to do list and as I got older and I didn't do it I think I got embarrassed about it but now I have to and must do is a great master..

Had another lesson this morning and this absolute weapon insisted on overtaking me on a small road just before a bad bend, he had been trying for several hundred yards. The instructor said I wasn't even going slow but I think he just couldn't bear to be behind a learner. It bothered the instructor more than me, I'm a mellow enough person...

No bother with cyclists yet  ;D
It happens a lot with people especially if they grew up in a town and didn't need to have a car. Just push on and get it done. Even if you fail it first time get back on the horse straight away and re-book it asap.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2017, 03:39:13 PM
Did about 6 lessons when i was 17, never bothered as i lived in Belfast and everything was walking distance, private taxi was £1.00! black hacks 0.25p

I failed first time on test, the fella that was taking me for lessons was great until he found out I was a hurler, fecking bluenose fecker!! week before the test he went missing and never took me for the final lessons, I ended up going alone to the bloody centre
Post by: punt kick on August 11, 2017, 04:20:22 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2017, 03:39:13 PM
Did about 6 lessons when i was 17, never bothered as i lived in Belfast and everything was walking distance, private taxi was £1.00! black hacks 0.25p

I failed first time on test, the fella that was taking me for lessons was great until he found out I was a hurler, fecking bluenose fecker!! week before the test he went missing and never took me for the final lessons, I ended up going alone to the bloody centre

::) ::) ::) ::)
Post by: Boycey on August 17, 2017, 10:39:13 AM
I've another 3 lessons under my belt and nobody killed yet  8). I'm now over halfway through the mandatory 12 lessons I must take and am starting to think about getting on the road myself. What is my best route with insurance? Get on my partners policy? Can she put a second car on her policy or should I just go on my own policy?

I know there's probably another thread that covers insurance but I've started this one now and am staying with it  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 17, 2017, 10:19:02 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 17, 2017, 10:39:13 AM
I've another 3 lessons under my belt and nobody killed yet  8). I'm now over halfway through the mandatory 12 lessons I must take and am starting to think about getting on the road myself. What is my best route with insurance? Get on my partners policy? Can she put a second car on her policy or should I just go on my own policy?

I know there's probably another thread that covers insurance but I've started this one now and am staying with it  :D
Price up both options. As you're not 17  ;) you may be quoted something reasonable under your own policy.
Post by: Boycey on August 30, 2017, 05:43:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 17, 2017, 10:19:02 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 17, 2017, 10:39:13 AM

Price up both options. As you're not 17  ;) you may be quoted something reasonable under your own policy.

Priced insurance up on my own policy, €5200  :o
Post by: gallsman on August 30, 2017, 05:51:07 PM
To drive what?!
Post by: Boycey on August 30, 2017, 05:52:53 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 30, 2017, 05:51:07 PM
To drive what?!
A circa 2010 run of the mill golf
Post by: whitey on August 30, 2017, 05:53:22 PM

Any tips for me??

Make your life easy and drive an automatic car.....youre way too old to learn how to drive
a stick shift
Post by: Boycey on August 30, 2017, 06:19:05 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 30, 2017, 05:53:22 PM

Any tips for me??

Make your life easy and drive an automatic car.....youre way too old to learn how to drive
a stick shift

Thanks for the vote of confidence  :D I'm going ok (I think) I have wondered a couple of times though why everyone doesn't drive an automatic..

Post by: Rois on August 30, 2017, 08:50:14 PM
Try one of those telematics policies where they track your driving.

I got an automatic last yr, will never buy a manual again.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2017, 08:57:23 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 30, 2017, 06:19:05 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 30, 2017, 05:53:22 PM

Any tips for me??

a stick shift

Thanks for the vote of confidence  :D I'm going ok (I think) I have wondered a couple of times though why everyone doesn't drive an automatic..
Old auto boxes were pish unless in top of the range yokes and cost a fortune to replace. Have never driven one at home but I can see why they are increasingly popular.
Post by: bennydorano on August 30, 2017, 09:12:35 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 30, 2017, 08:50:14 PM
Try one of those telematics policies where they track your driving.

I got an automatic last yr, will never buy a manual again.
Drove an automatic on holidays and after a no instruction figuring it out session it was class. Would defo consider it when we change.
Post by: Boycey on July 30, 2019, 05:05:50 PM
I started this thread almost two years ago and today finally sat my driving test which I passed I'm glad to say  :)

Any other oldies, it's never too late...
Post by: Geoff Tipps on July 30, 2019, 05:13:33 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 30, 2019, 05:05:50 PM
I started this thread almost two years ago and today finally sat my driving test which I passed I'm glad to say  :)

Well done!
Post by: Kidder81 on July 30, 2019, 06:23:58 PM

Well done Boycey
Post by: BennyCake on July 30, 2019, 06:47:19 PM
Well done Boycey.

Marlene will be looking chauffeured around the place now! :D
Post by: David McKeown on July 30, 2019, 06:50:38 PM
Great news. I've recently started teaching my wife's sister and it's put years on me.
Post by: gallsman on July 30, 2019, 07:08:13 PM
Great work Boycey, now you can get to work with the rest of us driving those bastarding cyclists off the roads.

How's the insurance looking now?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 30, 2019, 07:11:34 PM
Good lad Boycey.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 30, 2019, 07:12:56 PM

Congratulations Boycey
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 05:23:02 PM
(https://scontent-sjc3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/10256475_10152273620214064_1203984363263311781_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&_nc_oc=AQn5MS84amTxPj-CGGNd-X2YpClaIH2tSaRmLs6vy4GSYXB58l3p0kd6gFoLSquemCU&_nc_ht=scontent-sjc3-1.xx&oh=d162828f8850f77e1b2cdb7965ed019c&oe=5DA85B29)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 05:28:57 PM
It's harder to overtake cyclists when they're single file. It's easier to overtake cyclists when they're riding abreast. It's not the width of the group that slows you down, it's the length.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJiixtKuVq8& (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJiixtKuVq8&)
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2019, 08:28:43 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 05:28:57 PM
It's harder to overtake cyclists when they're single file. It's easier to overtake cyclists when they're riding abreast. It's not the width of the group that slows you down, it's the length.

It is the fact they are blocking the road that slows you down.
Post by: majestic on July 31, 2019, 10:42:06 PM
Not to get into the cycling debate, but do drivers feel the same about single cyclists riding to work or just out for some fitness? It concerns me when people talk about how they are a nuisance! I cycle to work by myself everyday and never cycled in a group, but yet I still feel like drivers give me very little respect eg pulling out of junctions infront of me etc! Anyone experience the same?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 11:02:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2019, 08:28:43 PM

No it isn't. "Blocking the road" would mean stopped. If they're moving then they're "using the road," not blocking it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 11:07:32 PM
Quote from: majestic on July 31, 2019, 10:42:06 PM
Not to get into the cycling debate, but do drivers feel the same about single cyclists riding to work or just out for some fitness? It concerns me when people talk about how they are a nuisance! I cycle to work by myself everyday and never cycled in a group, but yet I still feel like drivers give me very little respect eg pulling out of junctions infront of me etc! Anyone experience the same?

Only occasionally. Most drivers give plenty of room and are fairly patient about waiting for a safe place to pass. Mind you it could be because I automatically move over to block them if I think it's unsafe for them to overtake and then wave them through when it is safe. If I feel like they've been waiting a while, or if it's a lorry behind, I'll usually pull over at the first opportunity or do something to help them get away. That's on country roads though. On city streets none of this is an issue since the bike is faster and there's usually bike lanes anyway. The biggest problem there is keeping cars out of bike lanes.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 31, 2019, 11:12:23 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 11:02:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 31, 2019, 08:28:43 PM

No it isn't. "Blocking the road" would mean stopped. If they're moving then they're "using the road," not blocking it.

No end to the cyclist delusion.....Riding a breast doesnt slow down traffic  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

A friend of mine been off the bike numerous times hurt himself bad enough a few times too.....Never his fault
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 11:34:32 PM
Not my fault if drivers can't get it into their heads that a shorter group takes less time to pass than a longer group.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2019, 08:40:53 AM
Country road bikers never annoy me, it is what it is and I'll generally pass them at some point and be held up by a fecking tractor further down the road!

Its the city bikers that really piss me off, there are no rules for them it seems, no lights, as they mount the pavement to suit themselves and no indication of moving lanes. Turn left or right there is no hand signal, maybe just maybe if they were pulled and given three points for careless driving that could improve the city driving for all concerened.
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2019, 11:23:47 AM
Its been a hot topic, quite a political one, here in NYC for a few years now, and is back in the news recently with an uptick in cyclist fatalities after a decline last year. Been a couple involving cyclists getting knocked off their bike into the path of oncoming vehicles through careless car occupants opening their doors without looking.

Then there's the city's efforts to install bike lanes as well as expanding the citibike service throughout the city. With that comes a backlash from some due to the loss of parking spaces and, in some case, lanes. The backlash, of course, tries to paint cyclists as an extremely dangerous menace, utterly ignoring the overall appalling knowledge, skill and behaviour of drivers in NYC. I'm a car driver, but my sympathies are with the effort to expand and protect cycling.
Post by: Taylor on August 01, 2019, 11:27:20 AM
While no lover of cyclists it seems to be many of the one in cities that really tarnish the majority.

Like MR it seriously pisses me off when they hop footpaths when there is a red light, ignore signs, one way systems etc etc.

By all means use the road but follow the feckin laws of the road if you so chose - the same as the ones in the countryside
Post by: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 11:31:58 AM
Quote from: Taylor on August 01, 2019, 11:27:20 AM
While no lover of cyclists it seems to be many of the one in cities that really tarnish the majority.

Like MR it seriously pisses me off when they hop footpaths when there is a red light, ignore signs, one way systems etc etc.

By all means use the road but follow the feckin laws of the road if you so chose - the same as the ones in the countryside

Came to roadworks the other day, temporary traffic lights, left side closed as well as footpath, cyclist took to other side of road and cycled down the other footpath rather than wait, it's amazing if they are in that big of a hurry to get somewhere you would think it would be quicker by car!
Post by: Hound on August 01, 2019, 02:21:14 PM
I'm a driver and can get uptight when bikes slow me down, but I use Dublin bikes very occasionally to get across the city, usually to a pub on a Friday evening.

When I'm walking and I'm waiting at a pedestrian crossing and there's a "red man" on the sign, I will still cross the road if it's safe to do so. I treat cycling the same way. If I'm at a red light and it's completely safe to move on, I will do so. I can't understand why anyone would get annoyed at that. It's completely different to breaking lights in a car and it's ridiculous to compare.

Similarly I often go up a small section of Nassau Street either on the footpath or the wrong way on the road (it's one way), if I can do so without impeding pedestrians or oncoming traffic. I'm not causing anyone any hassle and saving myself a big detour. No problem.
Post by: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 02:40:48 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 01, 2019, 02:21:14 PM
I'm a driver and can get uptight when bikes slow me down, but I use Dublin bikes very occasionally to get across the city, usually to a pub on a Friday evening.

When I'm walking and I'm waiting at a pedestrian crossing and there's a "red man" on the sign, I will still cross the road if it's safe to do so. I treat cycling the same way. If I'm at a red light and it's completely safe to move on, I will do so. I can't understand why anyone would get annoyed at that. It's completely different to breaking lights in a car and it's ridiculous to compare.

Similarly I often go up a small section of Nassau Street either on the footpath or the wrong way on the road (it's one way), if I can do so without impeding pedestrians or oncoming traffic. I'm not causing anyone any hassle and saving myself a big detour. No problem.

Maybe it is because it's the law.

Highway code.

Section 71
A red traffic light applies to all road users. Cyclists must not cross the stop line if the traffic lights are red. Use the separate stop line for cyclists when practical.
Post by: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 02:44:25 PM
And in the Republic.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driving_offences/cycling_offences.html (https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driving_offences/cycling_offences.html)

Like other road users, cyclists must obey the rules applying to traffic lights, pedestrian crossings, zebra crossings and cycle traffic lights. You must stop at stop signs and yield right of way at yield signs.

So yes it would annoy people that cyclists think they can flaunt the law.
Post by: laoislad on August 01, 2019, 02:45:00 PM
The thing with cyclists is they are never in the wrong, its always someone else's fault.
Only this morning at the roundabout at the end of my estate I narrowly missed a cyclist by a matter of millimeters. He came straight through from a road to the left without stopping and actually overtook 2 cars who had stopped to let me around the roundabout, he came out of nowhere really as I didn't see him because he must have been at the far side of one the cars as I was entering the roundabout.
I caught up with him at traffic lights (couldn't believe he actually stopped at a red light) and asked him did he ever hear of Yield right of way. Told me to f**k off and started ranting about how I should be more careful of cyclists.
f**king knob.
Post by: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 02:49:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 01, 2019, 02:45:00 PM
The thing with cyclists is they are never in the wrong, its always someone else's fault.
Only this morning at the roundabout at the end of my estate I narrowly missed a cyclist by a matter of millimeters. He came straight through from a road to the left without stopping and actually overtook 2 cars who had stopped to let me around the roundabout, he came out of nowhere really as I didn't see him because he must have been at the far side of one the cars as I was entering the roundabout.
I caught up with him at traffic lights (couldn't believe he actually stopped at a red light) and asked him did he ever hear of Yield right of way. Told me to f**k off and started ranting about how I should be more careful of cyclists.
f**king knob.

Nail on head, arrogance in abundance and to hell with the rules of the road.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on August 01, 2019, 02:58:19 PM
Had an incident this morning with a bicyclist.  Crossing a road in Belfast City Centre, green man was on and everything, aforementioned dickhead coming flying past through a red light and nearly knocks the coffee out of my paws. 

It like the wild west with them doing what they want.  No longer do I feel safe on the streets of Belfast... 
Post by: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 03:13:30 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2019, 11:34:32 PM
Not my fault if drivers can't get it into their heads that a shorter group takes less time to pass than a longer group.

Section 66
This section explains what cyclists should and should not do when riding on the road.

You should:
Keep both hands on the handlebars except when signalling or changing gear.
Keep both feet on the pedals.
Be considerate of other road users, taking extra care around blind and partially sighted pedestrians. Use your bell when necessary to signal you are nearby.
Ride single file on narrow or busy roads and when riding round bends

You should not:
Ride more than two abreast.

Ride close behind another vehicle.
Carry anything that will affect your balance or get tangled up in your wheels or chain.
Post by: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 03:15:13 PM

And in Republic

Under Article 47 of the 1997 Regulations (as substituted by the 2012 Regulations), you must not cycle more than 2 abreast, except when overtaking and it does not endanger or obstruct other traffic. You can overtake a vehicle on the left where the vehicles to your right are stationary or are moving slower than you, except when the vehicle to be overtaken:

Has signalled an intention to turn to the left and will execute the movement to the left before you overtake it
Is stationary for the purpose of allowing a passenger to alight or board the vehicle
Is stationary for the purposes of loading or unloading

Good man keep everyone safe as you know better, most roads around my area on a Saturday or Sunday are 4 or 5 deep.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 05:38:01 PM
I was driving from Yerba Buena Island to Oakland a couple of weeks ago on the Bay Bridge. I drove at the speed limit. By the time I got to the other end of the bridge I'd been overtaken by 67 cars. That's in the space of about two miles.

The day when motorists start obeying the traffic laws will be the day when I start listening to their sanctimonious lectures about the rules of the road. Slow down to the speed limit for a change. Put the phone down. Stop applying make-up in the rear view mirror. Indicate before you change lanes. Stop when the light turns red, it doesn't mean "three more cars can go on through." Go when the light turns green, it doesn't mean "keep playing with your phone until you hear the horn from behind." Stop encroaching on the bike lanes. Stop parking in bike lanes. Come to an actual stop at stop signs. Yield when you're supposed to. Learn the rules about who has right of way at traffic lights.

Above all, stop killing more people than wars, and get your own houses in order first, you whingeing shower of apes!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 05:52:33 PM
65 was the speed limit. Just about every other driver on the road seems to think speed limits are a suggestion. I feel like a snail driving at the speed limit.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 07:35:02 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 03:15:13 PM

And in Republic

Under Article 47 of the 1997 Regulations (as substituted by the 2012 Regulations), you must not cycle more than 2 abreast, except when overtaking and it does not endanger or obstruct other traffic. You can overtake a vehicle on the left where the vehicles to your right are stationary or are moving slower than you, except when the vehicle to be overtaken:

Has signalled an intention to turn to the left and will execute the movement to the left before you overtake it
Is stationary for the purpose of allowing a passenger to alight or board the vehicle
Is stationary for the purposes of loading or unloading

Good man keep everyone safe as you know better, most roads around my area on a Saturday or Sunday are 4 or 5 deep.

Indeed. Car drivers get bent out of shape about cyclists cutting through traffic when they're legally allowed to do so.
Post by: Puckoon on August 01, 2019, 07:43:43 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 05:52:33 PM
65 was the speed limit. Just about every other driver on the road seems to think speed limits are a suggestion. I feel like a snail driving at the speed limit.

You're using the Californian freeway speed limit to make a point? That's a cracker!

Fair play to you being able to get it up to 65 on the Bay Bridge. Must have been 1am.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 01, 2019, 09:06:51 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 05:38:01 PM
I was driving from Yerba Buena Island to Oakland a couple of weeks ago on the Bay Bridge. I drove at the speed limit. By the time I got to the other end of the bridge I'd been overtaken by 67 cars. That's in the space of about two miles.

The day when motorists start obeying the traffic laws will be the day when I start listening to their sanctimonious lectures about the rules of the road. Slow down to the speed limit for a change. Put the phone down. Stop applying make-up in the rear view mirror. Indicate before you change lanes. Stop when the light turns red, it doesn't mean "three more cars can go on through." Go when the light turns green, it doesn't mean "keep playing with your phone until you hear the horn from behind." Stop encroaching on the bike lanes. Stop parking in bike lanes. Come to an actual stop at stop signs. Yield when you're supposed to. Learn the rules about who has right of way at traffic lights.

Above all, stop killing more people than wars, and get your own houses in order first, you whingeing shower of apes!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D You count the cars that overtake you ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Nice to have time on your hands Eammon

For whats its worth I obey all enforced speed limits in California...

Pay tax and you might have a point that someone might take seriously.... otherwise your health and life are your responsibility.. even in that scenario I dont play chicken with tax paying lorries

Cycling tax could pay for your very own cycle path network..... imagine instead of stealing lanes that motor vehicle owners have paid for you could get your very own path!
Post by: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 10:01:48 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 05:38:01 PM

Laughed out loud at this one, stop mounting the kerbs when you can't be bothered waiting to pass an obstruction, stop just turning without any signalling whatsoever and then blame the poor sod who has to slam on the breaks or worse, stop taking up more road than a HGV so you call all have a good chat, stop chatting, stop riding with no hands to have a nice stretch or drink pull over for a drink, stop being the victim when you are mostly the aggressor, stop acting like a wab because you decided to push the fat into some Lycra and  own the roads, stop doing all off the above without the fear or penalty points, fines or the loss of your licence.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 10:29:19 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 01, 2019, 09:06:51 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D You count the cars that overtake you ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Nice to have time on your hands Eammon

For whats its worth I obey all enforced speed limits in California...

Pay tax and you might have a point that someone might take seriously.... otherwise your health and life are your responsibility.. even in that scenario I dont play chicken with tax paying lorries

Cycling tax could pay for your very own cycle path network..... imagine instead of stealing lanes that motor vehicle owners have paid for you could get your very own path!

Good man, Joe! I was hoping somebody would bring up that old chestnut!

There's a myth going around that car drivers fund the roads for everyone else. If petrol taxes and vehicle registration fees covered the cost of motoring you'd be paying over $8/gallon at the pump like they are in Europe. Car travel in the US is heavily subsidised by the federal income tax, which is paid by people on bikes.

More here (It's for Oregon, but the numbers for CA are probably similar):

(https://bikeportland.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Road_Cost_Infographic_Corrected.png)

Keep her lit!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 10:31:37 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 10:01:48 PM

Laughed out loud at this one, stop mounting the kerbs when you can't be bothered waiting to pass an obstruction, stop just turning without any signalling whatsoever and then blame the poor sod who has to slam on the breaks or worse, stop taking up more road than a HGV so you call all have a good chat, stop chatting, stop riding with no hands to have a nice stretch or drink pull over for a drink, stop being the victim when you are mostly the aggressor, stop acting like a wab because you decided to push the fat into some Lycra and  own the roads, stop doing all off the above without the fear or penalty points, fines or the loss of your licence.

Oh and I forgot to mention: Cut out the drunk driving.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 01, 2019, 11:20:33 PM
Who said that vehicle registration only pays for the road network Eammon?....thanks for the perfect straw man example

Roads are funded in multiple ways but they partly pay for themselves as they fuel (if you pardon the pun) commerce, hence create jobs and pay wages, further removed but you'd also have to factor in the increased opportunity they create also.

Try seeing how the economy does if there was no roads, it makes sense that income/corporate tax pays their share.

But when all is said and done income/corporation/sales/property tax all contribute infinitly more than cyclists who pay nawhin... but it is your right to be there and above all it is never your fault.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2019, 11:31:51 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 10:31:37 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 01, 2019, 10:01:48 PM

Oh and I forgot to mention: Cut out the drunk driving.

Eamon have a f**king cop on. Everything you've said about drivers can be said about cyclists, if you don't think so then you've lost the argument.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 11:40:41 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 01, 2019, 11:20:33 PM
Who said that vehicle registration only pays for the road network Eammon?....thanks for the perfect straw man example

Roads are funded in multiple ways but they partly pay for themselves as they fuel (if you pardon the pun) commerce, hence create jobs and pay wages, further removed but you'd also have to factor in the increased opportunity they create also.

Try seeing how the economy does if there was no roads, it makes sense that income/corporate tax pays their share.

But when all is said and done income/corporation/sales/property tax all contribute infinitly more than cyclists who pay nawhin... but it is your right to be there and above all it is never your fault.

Cyclists pay income tax. Roads would not exist without income tax. My conscience is clear. Which is more than I can say for the bimbo behind the wheel who nearly knocked me and my daughter down at a crosswalk this morning because she was more interested in her phone than what she was doing.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 11:42:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2019, 11:31:51 PM
Eamon have a f**king cop on. Everything you've said about drivers can be said about cyclists, if you don't think so then you've lost the argument.

Motorists turn cities into congested hell holes, spew greenhouse gases and all sorts of poison into the atmosphere, kill millions of people, and mow down innocent pedestrians in vast numbers every year.

Try saying that about cyclists and I'll have a good laugh.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2019, 11:43:29 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 11:42:38 PM

Motorists turn cities into congested hell holes, spew greenhouse gases and all sorts of poison into the atmosphere, kill millions of people, and mow down innocent pedestrians in vast numbers every year.

Been home lately?
Post by: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 12:13:10 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 11:40:41 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 01, 2019, 11:20:33 PM

Cyclists pay income tax. Roads would not exist without income tax. My conscience is clear. Which is more than I can say for the bimbo behind the wheel who nearly knocked me and my daughter down at a crosswalk this morning because she was more interested in her phone than what she was doing.

Yes you pay income tax the same as everyone else who are not cyclists, so why should you be allowed special treatment and allowed to use the road without paying additional tax like other road users.

Also theres a healthy percentage of cyclists around SoCal who dont pay any type of income tax at all, dont imagine its any different around you.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 12:57:03 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 12:13:10 AM

Yes you pay income tax the same as everyone else who are not cyclists, so why should you be allowed special treatment and allowed to use the road without paying additional tax like other road users.

Excellent question. Thanks for asking.

Next question.
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 07:49:27 AM

From the moment I wanted to drive 25 years ago, I sat 12 lessons with a qualified instructor, passed a theory test about the rules of the road, then passed a driving test, it probably was 6 months from start to finish, I then got a wee R sticker for my car as having just qualified I was restricted to 45 miles an hour maximum, this is to allow me to get used to driving and the rules of the road, apart from tucking the fat into the lycra and buying a 3 grand bike what do cyclists do before using public roads.  Also when I got my wee car I paid road tax to use the roads and had to get insurance to ensure if I had an accident no one involved was out of pocket, when my wee car got a bit older I also had to get a wee certificate to say it was road worthy - again do cyclists do any of this, or do they just not give a shite? 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 07:53:33 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 12:57:03 AM

• Less noise than if I took the car.
  • Less danger to pedestrians.
  • Less congestion, which helps other people to get there.
  • Less infrastructure used up getting from A to B, lowering the tax bill.
  • Less infrastructure used up storing the vehicle, lowering the tax bill and lowering my employer's expenses.
  • Less damage to the road surface.
  • Fewer greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Fewer toxic NOx emissions.
  • Fewer cancer-causing particulate emissions.
  • Greater health benefits for myself, which contributes to greater public health and less stress on the health care system (smaller premiums for everyone, in American parlance).
  • Making the city a more pleasant place for everyone.

Next question.

You never answered my question Eamon, I'll ask again, have you been home lately?
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 08:02:16 AM

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968)
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968) - Also mounting the path to get pass obstructions isn't that safe for the pedestrian.
Is it Eastenders now everyone working beside their house?
Love you to explain this - are you redesigning the whole country?
  • Less infrastructure used up storing the vehicle, lowering the tax bill and lowering my employer's expenses.
See above
Surely just need footpaths and bike lanes  ;D
Except for those on here flying all over the place to ride their bikes in foreign clims!
Except for those on here flying all over the place to ride their bikes in foreign clims! Or strapping the bikes to the 4X4 to go on hols!
See above
  • Greater health benefits for myself, which contributes to greater public health and less stress on the health care system (smaller premiums for everyone, in American parlance).
I'd wager to guess your mental health will be your major premium.
Yip everyone doing what they want on a bike obeying no rules whatsoever.
[/list]

Next question.
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 08:50:26 AM

And yet you are one.

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 01, 2019, 05:52:33 PM

Why not lead the charge and pack your 4x4 in.  ;)
Post by: RedHand88 on August 02, 2019, 11:37:03 AM
Never understood the "They don't pay road tax so they shouldn't be on the road" argument. Alot of newer cars are £0 road tax.
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 02:07:30 PM
They should be insured, if a cyclist causes damage to my car, who pays for it, my insurance?  They should also not be allowed on the road without some training just today two lycra chicks struggling to pedal on a country road all over the shop, veering in and out from edge to middle, the mind boggles!
Post by: thewobbler on August 02, 2019, 02:35:36 PM
The problem isn't with road tax, it's with insurance and licensing.

The reason why the overwhelming majority of drivers "stay legal" is not because it's the law or because it's dangerous, but because of the deterrents  a) their insurance premiums will escalate quickly if making driving mistakes, and b) if caught, they can lose their licence, and eventually end up behind bars.

The reason why a hefty percentage of cyclists (from the lycra clad, right down to Johnny casual) will happily break, bend and ignore rules - even ones designed for their own safety - is because the only deterrent is a ticking off. Technology will eventually bring answers to this problem. But in the short term, it would be much better if pedestrians were entitled to push them off their bikes when cycling on paths, and that helmet cam footage is only admissible as evidence, if provided alongside say 8-10 hours of recent, unedited  footage of same cyclist's road behaviour.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 04:05:52 PM

Are you pumping out the rave music in your car or what? its way quieter in a car.
But sticking to the point noise level doesnt pay your way

Yeah if you stick to the road which cyclists dont, some twit nearly ran me over the other day while I was standing waiting to the cross the road.

No, you actually create congestion by interupting the flow of traffic.

Less infrastructure? huh ??? The point is you want to use the existing infrastructure that is paid for by other road users.

Ok so you reduce your employers overheads thanks for making the rich richer, now could you get them to pass it on to Caltrans? Beside as I point out a lot of cyclists dont work and dont even pay tax

You got me there... the saving here should cover the $200 or so a year you dont pay

But then EV pay registeration fees should they pay nothing also.... what about if all road users had EV who would make up the shortfall?

Your actually breathing in more toxins than car drivers and putting yourself at greater risk of being in an accident so your actually putting health and motor insurance premiums up

• Making the city a more pleasant place for everyone me.
I hate to break it to ye but your an irritant to most people

Next question.

Answer this one first and try to keep it on point and not congest the debate (like you do the roads) with irrelevant point about making a more pleasant place. We've established that you increase congestion, engage in a high risk activity thereby increasing health insurance premiums and vehicle insurance premiums which you dont pay but it should all be evened out because the monsterous savings to road maintenance
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:37:10 PM
(https://stephenrees.files.wordpress.com/2018/01/canberra-bsu-car-walk.jpg?w=700)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:38:54 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 07:49:27 AM

From the moment I wanted to drive 25 years ago, I sat 12 lessons with a qualified instructor, passed a theory test about the rules of the road, then passed a driving test, it probably was 6 months from start to finish, I then got a wee R sticker for my car as having just qualified I was restricted to 45 miles an hour maximum, this is to allow me to get used to driving and the rules of the road, apart from tucking the fat into the lycra and buying a 3 grand bike what do cyclists do before using public roads.  Also when I got my wee car I paid road tax to use the roads and had to get insurance to ensure if I had an accident no one involved was out of pocket, when my wee car got a bit older I also had to get a wee certificate to say it was road worthy - again do cyclists do any of this, or do they just not give a shite?

Cyclists have a common law right to use the road, unlike drivers who have to apply for a special permit and meet strict criteria. And rightly so. A motor vehicle is a big heavy steel box on wheels that can kill someone, and they frequently do. It's entirely appropriate that they be strictly regulated.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:39:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 07:53:33 AM

You never answered my question Eamon, I'll ask again, have you been home lately?

I was home last year. Why do you ask?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:40:38 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 02:07:30 PM
They should be insured, if a cyclist causes damage to my car, who pays for it, my insurance?  They should also not be allowed on the road without some training just today two lycra chicks struggling to pedal on a country road all over the shop, veering in and out from edge to middle, the mind boggles!

So a 10-year old girl on a Barbie bike should pay tax, insurance, and have a number plate? Catch yourself on.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:42:23 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 08:50:26 AM
Why not lead the charge and pack your 4x4 in.  ;)

Haven't got one. Front wheel drive is good enough for me. We have a station wagon (estate car to you) which we only ever use for a bit of grocery shopping or trips to see relatives. Most of the time it sits in our garage from one day to the next.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:44:12 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 02, 2019, 02:35:36 PM
The problem isn't with road tax, it's with insurance and licensing.

The reason why the overwhelming majority of drivers "stay legal" is not because it's the law or because it's dangerous, but because of the deterrents  a) their insurance premiums will escalate quickly if making driving mistakes, and b) if caught, they can lose their licence, and eventually end up behind bars.

The reason why a hefty percentage of cyclists (from the lycra clad, right down to Johnny casual) will happily break, bend and ignore rules - even ones designed for their own safety - is because the only deterrent is a ticking off. Technology will eventually bring answers to this problem. But in the short term, it would be much better if pedestrians were entitled to push them off their bikes when cycling on paths, and that helmet cam footage is only admissible as evidence, if provided alongside say 8-10 hours of recent, unedited  footage of same cyclist's road behaviour.

LMAO! Drivers obey the traffic laws? Since when?

If your little theory were correct then the proportion of drivers who obey the traffic laws would be above 1%. But it isn't.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 05:53:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:37:10 PM
(https://stephenrees.files.wordpress.com/2018/01/canberra-bsu-car-walk.jpg?w=700)

Except... pedestrians dont use the road and bus users pay for the privilege and take up less room than cyclists and are much more safe into the bargin.

Cyclists dont pay a bean....why?

BTW I lvoe it how your supposed to give cyclists 1.5m space but then theyre all bunched together in the photo :D :D :D
Post by: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 05:55:28 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:40:38 PM

So a 10-year old girl on a Barbie bike should pay tax, insurance, and have a number plate? Catch yourself on.

Should she be on the road?
Post by: J70 on August 02, 2019, 06:05:45 PM
Both sets of road users ignore the rules and behave badly. Pedestrians too. However, the outcome of this rule breaking and poor behaviour is a hell of a lot more consequential to others when its a driver.
I came literally within inches of cleaning out a cyclist who flew through the red light in Queens a few weeks back. Had I hit him, he was dead and I was down an insurance claim and the psychological effects of having been involved in a fatal accident, even if I was in the right. Had that been a car that blew the light (which happens regularly), myself and my son would probably have been on the receiving end of a side-on collision and very seriously injured, at least, never mind what happened to the other party.
As a cyclist, I've been hit by cars twice, both times the driver's fault. One, they broke the light. Second, a woman doored me. Luckily just cuts and bruises and a slightly damaged bike both times.
Drivers need to lose the sense of entitlement too. The streets and roads don't just revolve around them.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 06:11:09 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 05:53:42 PM

Except... pedestrians dont use the road and bus users pay for the privilege and take up less room than cyclists and are much more safe into the bargin.

Buses damage the road surface and emit particulates, NOx and greenhouse gases. They're also a hazard to pedestrians on busy city streets. Surely you've heard the expression "what if you get hit by a bus?"

Cyclists contribute more than their fair share through the taxes they pay into the general fund. Direct taxes, sales taxes, etc..

BTW I lvoe it how your supposed to give cyclists 1.5m space but then theyre all bunched together in the photo :D :D :D

The 1.5 metre rule applies to motor vehicles passing cyclists. It has nothing to say about cyclists riding in groups or posing for a photograph.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 06:11:46 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 05:55:28 PM

Well if she were on the footpath you'd be griping about it, so yes, she should be on the road.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 06:28:22 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 06:11:09 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 05:53:42 PM

Buses damage the road surface and emit particulates, NOx and greenhouse gases. They're also a hazard to pedestrians on busy city streets. Surely you've heard the expression "what if you get hit by a bus?"

Practically all buses are at least gas in California and a good portion Electric but you still got to pay to go on. Bus travel has been shown to be the safest method of travel and they dont travel on footpaths so they are safer to pedestrians than the 2 wheeled demonic saviours of the world

And quit harping on about damage to a road surface, you are likely correct but its relevance is minuscule, the environment is the biggest factor in road surface wear.  If a road had no one on it, it would need repairs almost as quick as if it had cyclists or motorists.
IN fact now that i think about it if a road had no motor vehicles they wouldnt supress the weeds and would prob destroy the surface faster

Cyclists contribute more than their fair share through the taxes they pay into the general fund. Direct taxes, sales taxes, etc..

No they dont pay their fair share... they pay the same taxes as everyone else and a good portion in urban areas of California dont pay any tax whatsoever

The 1.5 metre rule applies to motor vehicles passing cyclists. It has nothing to say about cyclists riding in groups or posing for a photograph.

The point was they take up less room on the road so you have to include the 1.5m as most cyclists are singular and need as much room as a car... except when they're trying to make points that they take up less room than cars
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 07:08:06 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 05:39:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 07:53:33 AM

I was home last year. Why do you ask?

You take the bike or did you swim?
Post by: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 07:38:57 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 06:11:46 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 05:55:28 PM

Well if she were on the footpath you'd be griping about it, so yes, she should be on the road.

I never said she should not be on the footpath besides there is plently of places she could be in a park in her backyard, on a cycle path.

There is no way a 10 year girl should be on the road IMO, although not sure there is law agin it

The discussion is about road users so all of this is a bit of a red herring
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 08:05:32 PM
In my day the roads were full of 10-year-olds riding around on bikes.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 08:06:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 07:08:06 PM

Flew. I'd love to have taken the bike but it just wasn't practical.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 02, 2019, 08:07:24 PM
I saw a kid who I would say was no more than 3 or 4 years old on the outer ring in Belfast - a 2 lane 50 mph road -  the other week. The parent was on the footpath on a bike waiting on him. I have never seen anything like it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 08:22:10 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 08:06:21 PM

A non fuel type plane obviously.  ::)

As the damage you did/partake with that flight back and fourth was damaging the environment more than that crap ya put on those other posts make you into a hypocrite
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 09:57:37 PM

What is a ten year old doing cycling on the road on a Barbie bike? 
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 10:03:12 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 08:06:21 PM

Bet Lurgan was toasting the town when you left again.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 10:26:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 08:22:10 PM

As the damage you did/partake with that flight back and fourth was damaging the environment more than that crap ya put on those other posts make you into a hypocrite

I'm a hypocrite if I cross the Atlantic on something other than a human-powered plane? The Gossamer Albatross (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MacCready_Gossamer_Albatross) has a limited range. Where it's possible for me to replace fossil-fueled trips with the bike or something more sustainable I'm happy to do it. But then the environment isn't the main reason I cycle anyway. I mainly do it because I enjoy it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 10:29:39 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 10:26:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 08:22:10 PM

I'm a hypocrite if I cross the Atlantic on something other than a human-powered plane? The Gossamer Albatross (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MacCready_Gossamer_Albatross) has a limited range. Where it's possible for me to replace fossil-fueled trips with the bike or something more sustainable I'm happy to do it. But then the environment isn't the main reason I cycle anyway. I mainly do it because I enjoy it.

You'd listed a load of points about the environmental benefits of cycling but manage to leave a carbon footprint far bigger than someone driving 11,000 a year!

So review your posts
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 10:40:10 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 06:28:22 PM
Practically all buses are at least gas in California

Nope.

Quoteand a good portion Electric

Nope.

Quotebut you still got to pay to go on.

Farebox recovery is quite low in America. The local transit agency here has the lowest farebox recovery rate in the nation. Public transport is heavily subsidized, just like driving.

QuoteBus travel has been shown to be the safest method of travel and they dont travel on footpaths so they are safer to pedestrians than the 2 wheeled demonic saviours of the world

It's safe for the people on board, but then again so is a tank. Not so safe for the pedestrians crossing streets.

QuoteAnd quit harping on about damage to a road surface,

What if I refuse?

Quoteyou are likely correct

Now you're catching on, old boy!

Quotebut its relevance is minuscule, the environment is the biggest factor in road surface wear.  If a road had no one on it, it would need repairs almost as quick as if it had cyclists or motorists.
IN fact now that i think about it if a road had no motor vehicles they wouldnt supress the weeds and would prob destroy the surface faster

Vehicles mean less wear on the road than if weeds were allowed to grow? That's a fine set of straws you're clutching at there. But then again bicycle traffic would be enough to keep weeds at bay so I'm not sure why you think you're onto something there.

{cyclists} they dont pay their fair share...

Yes they do

they pay the same taxes as everyone else and a good portion in urban areas of California dont pay any tax whatsoever
Not physically possible. Payroll taxes, income taxes, sales taxes. All but impossible to avoid paying a decent amount of tax whether you ride a bike or not.

The point was they take up less room on the road so you have to include the 1.5m as most cyclists are singular and need as much room as a car... except when they're trying to make points that they take up less room than cars

False. Add in the 3-foot clearance requirement when overtaking and bikes still take up less room. Bikes are not required to keep 3 feet between each other. Cars are by far the least space-efficient mode of transport. Fact.

This is too easy.  ;D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 10:41:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 10:29:39 PM

You'd listed a load of points about the environmental benefits of cycling but manage to leave a carbon footprint far bigger than someone driving 11,000 a year!

So review your posts

Okay, I've reviewed them. What do I do now?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2019, 10:52:19 PM

when you take the plane how loud is it?
greenhouse gas emissions more than a car?
more cancer causing emissions?

Next question.

Just a few
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 10:52:55 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 09:57:37 PM

What is a ten year old doing cycling on the road on a Barbie bike?

?
Post by: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 10:53:56 PM
Quote from: t_mac on August 02, 2019, 08:02:16 AM

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968)
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-48815968) - Also mounting the path to get pass obstructions isn't that safe for the pedestrian.
Is it Eastenders now everyone working beside their house?
Love you to explain this - are you redesigning the whole country?
See above
Surely just need footpaths and bike lanes  ;D
Except for those on here flying all over the place to ride their bikes in foreign clims!
Except for those on here flying all over the place to ride their bikes in foreign clims! Or strapping the bikes to the 4X4 to go on hols!
See above
I'd wager to guess your mental health will be your major premium.
Yip everyone doing what they want on a bike obeying no rules whatsoever.
[/list]

Next question.

?
Post by: omaghjoe on August 03, 2019, 03:50:29 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2019, 10:40:10 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 02, 2019, 06:28:22 PM
Practically all buses are at least gas in California

Nope.

Quoteand a good portion Electric

Nope.

Quotebut you still got to pay to go on.

Farebox recovery is quite low in America. The local transit agency here has the lowest farebox recovery rate in the nation. Public transport is heavily subsidized, just like driving.

QuoteBus travel has been shown to be the safest method of travel and they dont travel on footpaths so they are safer to pedestrians than the 2 wheeled demonic saviours of the world

It's safe for the people on board, but then again so is a tank. Not so safe for the pedestrians crossing streets.

QuoteAnd quit harping on about damage to a road surface,

What if I refuse?

Quoteyou are likely correct

Now you're catching on, old boy!

Quotebut its relevance is minuscule, the environment is the biggest factor in road surface wear.  If a road had no one on it, it would need repairs almost as quick as if it had cyclists or motorists.

Vehicles mean less wear on the road than if weeds were allowed to grow? That's a fine set of straws you're clutching at there. But then again bicycle traffic would be enough to keep weeds at bay so I'm not sure why you think you're onto something there.

{cyclists} they dont pay their fair share...

Yes they do

they pay the same taxes as everyone else and a good portion in urban areas of California dont pay any tax whatsoever
Not physically possible. Payroll taxes, income taxes, sales taxes. All but impossible to avoid paying a decent amount of tax whether you ride a bike or not.

False. Add in the 3-foot clearance requirement when overtaking and bikes still take up less room. Bikes are not required to keep 3 feet between each other. Cars are by far the least space-efficient mode of transport. Fact.

This is too easy.  ;D

Eamon no point in me continuing any further on this since my only goal here was to demonstrate the delusion of cyclists when it comes to their road use. Thanks for providing yourself as a worthy specimen tho  ;)
Post by: t_mac on August 03, 2019, 12:10:40 PM
Poor Eamonn his climate saving efforts is akin to someone being a vegan when they are asleep only. ;D
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2019, 08:37:05 PM
It amazing the number of "responsible" parents who encourage their children in delinquent and illegal behaviour on the footpath. This is when some people's true colours become obvious.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 05, 2019, 06:28:55 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 03, 2019, 03:50:29 AM

Eamon no point in me continuing any further on this since my only goal here was to demonstrate the delusion of cyclists when it comes to their road use. Thanks for providing yourself as a worthy specimen tho  ;)

Thanks for admitting defeat, Joe!  ;D
Post by: t_mac on August 07, 2019, 10:48:58 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 05, 2019, 06:28:55 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 03, 2019, 03:50:29 AM

Thanks for admitting defeat, Joe!  ;D

You really proved Joe's point there.  ;D