Lapland - Anyone been?

Started by Boycey, October 26, 2010, 11:33:33 AM

We've always intended taking the wee boy to see Santa at the North Pole but for one reason or other its always been put off til "next year". Hes now 9 going on 10 and starting to ask awkward questions so its probably this year or never. Any of you good folk been, is it a rip-off/waste of time or a real good experience for kids??  If you did go who'd you go with as there seems to be a wide variation of options and prices. Thinking of just a one day trip probably.

Ive had two brothers go who both reckoned it was really professional and good fun but a tad on the expensive side.  They also said their kids around 6-8 enjoyed it most, more than the youngest (3-4) or eldest (10)

GUy from work sent the wife and 2 childer a few years ago, there was no snow :o

tyrone girl

Jaysus our ones must be very gullible then cos both eldest pair still believed til the summer they were ready to go into 1st year until they had to be told cos they wud have been laughed at at school. Was same with neighbours   :o

DirtyDozen12

Quote from: tyrone girl on October 26, 2010, 02:15:36 PM
Jaysus our ones must be very gullible then cos both eldest pair still believed til the summer they were ready to go into 1st year until they had to be told cos they wud have been laughed at at school. Was same with neighbours   :o

Can you please write this in some form of readable English?
Beer, now there's a temporary solution!!!

tyrone girl

Sorry i forgot u had the mind of a 5 year old. Just dont bother reading the bits u dont understand and if u dont understand any then im sorry for your trouble.

Quote from: Zapatista on October 26, 2010, 02:10:06 PM

That'd be a serious bummer alright.

Found one crowd who cost €2000 for the 3 of us but most of them seem to be dearer. Its ridiculous money but it'd be a once in a lifetime thing. Hard to feckin know.

Capt Pat

Quote from: Boycey on October 26, 2010, 03:04:02 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 26, 2010, 02:10:06 PM

That'd be a serious bummer alright.

Found one crowd who cost €2000 for the 3 of us but most of them seem to be dearer. Its ridiculous money but it'd be a once in a lifetime thing. Hard to feckin know.

Its 2,000 to see the real Santa Claus???????? That is too expensive, get him presents indtead and tell him Santa doesn't exist and his wonderful parents paid for this.

Ask Laoislad.

I am sure there was a nightclub up near Barry's Hotel on Da Nortsoide called Lapland.

Go to the one in Inishowen, outside Buncrana. Same difference

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 26, 2010, 10:53:20 PM
Go to the one in Inishowen, outside Buncrana. Same difference

Have been and it's not

We did it when our kids were 6 & 4, at the age ye are talking about i would say dont do it,it is too late and it is like tombstone, it has historical implications but ht w absoluteshie has been commercialized out of it.