Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Connacht senior football c...
Last post by Hound - Today at 09:03:21 PM
Very much enjoyed the game. Both teams had great attitude and tried to do it the right way. Best team on the day won, imo. Galway keeper is a disaster waiting to happen when soloing up the field, but in fairness, he did cop on to that, eventually. And the ball he won in midfield followed by the massive free winner was great,so fair play to him.

As a Dub, I have to say I really fear Comer!  Monster player, really hope he stays fit for the business end.

I think most of the criticism of football refs is biased nonsense, often in ignorance of the rules. But Gough was terrible today.
Last post by Hound - Today at 08:55:01 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on Today at 05:48:04 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on Today at 05:41:45 PMCillian O'Choker does it again!

That's your take on a man who has the balls to take the shot on with the rest of the Mayo team playing the ball laterally a minute over added time

You're some clown
And just in case there's some posters who don't know: "SouthDublinBr" is a Cavan man. Why he chooses to abandon his normal moniker when slagging off Monaghan, Tyrone, and now Mayo, I do not know, and it's not a surface I want to scratch, people should just put him on ignore as he never posts genuine posts under this handle.
He's getting it straight from the rule book.
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by illdecide - Today at 08:43:52 PM
I think a lot of you need to think more carefully about calling these so called people "Fans". I'm from Lurgan and it pisses me off a bit when people come on here and just post up "Lurgan people are scumbags". These people you are talking about come from everywhere and don't care what the attraction is, they're there for the party and couldn't name you 3 players. The real fans are there for majority of the games home and away through thick and thin and thousands come from Lurgan to support Armagh.
I see drunken fans at every game from every County so no crap about being far away to travel/size of town nonsense or whatever else was posted, the fact is the further in the Championship you go the more idiots you get unfortunately. The All Ireland final will sort that out as tickets are so hard to get and there'll be no Lurgan ones drunk at that either.
GAA Discussion / Re: Munster Football Champions...
Last post by Gael85 - Today at 08:39:54 PM
Quote from: Rebel84 on Today at 05:52:55 PMIf it wasn't for Cork's fluke win in 2020 Kerry would have been looking at 12 in a row today.

Is 2012 Cork last Munster title? Kerry could win the next 7/8.
Last post by Gael85 - Today at 08:36:47 PM
Quote from: galwayman on Today at 08:19:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on Today at 07:53:01 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on Today at 07:45:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on Today at 07:08:12 PMBit of a joke near the end. Galway got the charity frees that helped them cross the line. Gough made so many bad calls earlier, that he did not know his arse from his elbow in how to even it up. A complete meltdown, Joyce got into his head from the sideline and he succumbed. Can happen to the best of us.

Embarrassing post. Mayo got absolutely ridiculous decisions from minute 20 to minute 70. Even the Mayo clowns around us were saying it

You honestly believe a couple of soft frees at the end made up for complete ridiculous one-sidedness for most of a game? Take your beating pal

To be fair I only seen the game from the 58th minute on. And during that short stint - Galway got a ridiculous call against them. After that there was a procession of soft frees to Galway who were chasing the game. I take my beating - Galway won. And I cyberly shake your hand in congratulations. But I can still say Gough really lost the run of himself at a very important juncture.
Watch the full game back!
This myth of Gough being the best referee around I just don't get.
He was terrible

Gough is the best of a bad lot. He was poor for both teams today especially the last 15 minutes.
GAA Discussion / Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & ...
Last post by JoG2 - Today at 08:27:31 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on Today at 07:13:46 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on Today at 05:41:36 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on Today at 05:24:51 PMDuring the advantage period of 5 seconds, I thought any technical fouls by the attacking player was a free against them. i.e you can't just stand there or overcarry to claim the free.

Eamonn Fitzmaurice said the ref came back for the advantage after Conroy overcarried in the 1st half.

I thought you could. Otherwise what's the point of the advantage it would actually at times be a disadvantage
No a technical foul during the advantage should result in reversal of the original decision

Eh? Where you getting this from? It's literally an advantage, not 'might be an advantage'! Have you ever seen advantage reversed in any game due to a technical foul, ever?
Last post by Main Street - Today at 08:26:28 PM
Gough was fortunate that Galway won, If they hadn't won, he would've been melted on the spot by the extent of Joyce's ire post game. Considering the 2 shocking decisions when Galway were trying to claw back the 3 point deficit, the two soft frees they did get just balanced things out.
But that's not how a game should be reffed.
Overall I thought Galway were well worth the margin of victory.
Last post by galwayman - Today at 08:19:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on Today at 07:53:01 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on Today at 07:45:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on Today at 07:08:12 PMBit of a joke near the end. Galway got the charity frees that helped them cross the line. Gough made so many bad calls earlier, that he did not know his arse from his elbow in how to even it up. A complete meltdown, Joyce got into his head from the sideline and he succumbed. Can happen to the best of us.

Embarrassing post. Mayo got absolutely ridiculous decisions from minute 20 to minute 70. Even the Mayo clowns around us were saying it

You honestly believe a couple of soft frees at the end made up for complete ridiculous one-sidedness for most of a game? Take your beating pal

To be fair I only seen the game from the 58th minute on. And during that short stint - Galway got a ridiculous call against them. After that there was a procession of soft frees to Galway who were chasing the game. I take my beating - Galway won. And I cyberly shake your hand in congratulations. But I can still say Gough really lost the run of himself at a very important juncture.
Watch the full game back!
This myth of Gough being the best referee around I just don't get.
He was terrible
Last post by joemamas - Today at 08:16:14 PM
Just went back and rewatched the last 5 mins.
Firstly Gough, did favor Mayo with a lot of decisions in regular time, However he totally lost the plot in the last five minutes.

70 mins Mayo 0-15 Galway 0-13
72 .30 Phantom free against  Tommy Conroy as he pulled on loose ball. 
just watched it back four times, no way was it a free. That was the game right there as O donohue had the ball and was breaking away down the field
Result Galway point.
Mayo 0-15 Galway 0-14
73.13 fairly easy on Coyne Galway free Galway point 0-15 Galway 0-15
74.25 Dodgy overcarry free on Loftus, easily could have been a free to Mayo (you could blame Reape or Mchugh the latter punched passed it to Loftus, who had two galway men in close proximity) he could have blasted it down the field.
Anyway just thought i would point that out.
Gough did not cost Mayo the game but has a shit last five minutes.