Derry v Monaghan

Started by tbrick18, February 29, 2012, 12:43:04 PM

Derry v Monaghan this weekend. Will Derry stop the rot and win at home or will Monaghan carry on from their victory over Kildare?

Derry should have a few more personnel available than they did in their last game but will it be enough?

real food, real people

Derry +3. easier than the scoreline will suggest too.

Quote from: tbrick18 on February 29, 2012, 12:43:04 PM
Derry v Monaghan this weekend. Will Derry stop the rot and win at home
How dare you call us 'the rot'.

Quote from: Main Street on February 29, 2012, 07:18:50 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 29, 2012, 12:43:04 PM
Derry v Monaghan this weekend. Will Derry stop the rot and win at home
How dare you call us 'the rot'.

I've called yous a lot worse in recent times!
Especially that Dick in midfield  ;)

I haven't seen Derry play in ages and probably you have not seen Monaghan unless you caught their display against Kildare on TG4.
By all accounts Monaghan were very wasteful in the opening game against Meath, however against Kildare they couldn't hit a wide in the first half, I think it was 10 points from 10 shots at one stage. If Monaghan can maintain something close to that level of accuracy, they will be hard to beat. The squad look to have a good spring in their step. The full forward position (previously one of our weakest) is now occupied by yet another Scotstown Hughes (Kieran), who looks the part. Kildare cleaned out midfield but either couldn't get past our defence or just hit wide after wide. Dick Clerkin played his first game against Kildare after his return from his honeymoon. no small task for his testosterone levels to be thrown in against the wild Kildare men, but he does have that tranquil, self-satisfied and confident sheen about himself these days

Make or break game for Monaghan in terms of a measure of their improvement. Was Kildare a one off or are they making waves? Derry in Celtic Park has always been a poor ground for Monaghan but its not as if it will be packed with locals, Monaghan would expect to have a fair % of the crowd.

Hughes at FF is a big improvement based on his club form but county is a big step up and be interesting to see how he does. On his day he seems a real find. Good news that Tommy Freeman is back but unlikely to feature yet. I'd expect Lennon and Clerkin to be paired together and hopefully Darren Hughes will play at CB where he can influence the game.

Could be a close one and not be much in it either way. If its a tight game, I can see Derry shading it.

Keane

How is Derry's injury situation looking after the three week break?

Quote from: Keane on March 01, 2012, 01:18:27 PM

Haven't heard anything for certain. I'd imagine McBride will be back but outside of that I dont know.
Derry have had two really bad games so far and have been particularly poor in the middle 3rd.
Hopefully the break will have allowed them to get some of the players returning from long term injury a bit more fitness and with the return of Enda Gormley to the panel we're bound to be in better shape than we were prior to the Tyrone game.
I'd go into this game hopeful as opposed to expectant.

Keane

What was Gerrard O'Kane's prognosis when he got injured?

Quote from: Keane on March 01, 2012, 03:25:57 PM
What was Gerrard O'Kane's prognosis when he got injured?

A knee injury of some sort afaik.
Someone on the Derry thread said he had just returned to training so that it would be unlikely for him to feature this weekend.

camanchero

Quote from: tbrick18 on March 01, 2012, 02:36:33 PM

Haven't heard anything for certain. I'd imagine McBride will be back but outside of that I dont know.
Derry have had two really bad games so far and have been particularly poor in the middle 3rd.
Hopefully the break will have allowed them to get some of the players returning from long term injury a bit more fitness and with the return of Enda Gormley to the panel we're bound to be in better shape than we were prior to the Tyrone game.
I thought it was a bit daft calling for the return to action by Fergal Doc and Kevin McGuck - but yer really stretching it here.
Maybe Wee Johnny could come back for his specialised game winning scores from wing half back ...
Tohills knee problems could preclude him from taking frees off the deck...

think you meant Enda Muldoon !!  ;)

shawshank

WFT, typing error, I assume he means Muldoon, a freudian slip perhaps wanting the glory days of the past to return, certainly not with this group of players. A long time since we had a group of quality players, the last endned about 2001.

Can't see a win at the weekend, the Derry players have shown over the past ten yrs that when the chips are down, few have the charcater to battle through. It would be a great lift and no doubt we'll go with hope, but at this stage I would take a gutsy performance more than anything else, especially after the gutless one in Omagh, our worst showing in a long long time.

Quote from: Bingo on March 01, 2012, 12:37:03 PM
Good news that Tommy Freeman is back but unlikely to feature yet.
I'd be surprised if he didn't get a bit of a run at some stage.

The Derry posters are lot more humble these days.
Where's Max gone to?

Quote from: camanchero on March 01, 2012, 04:22:22 PM

I thought it was a bit daft calling for the return to action by Fergal Doc and Kevin McGuck - but yer really stretching it here.
Maybe Wee Johnny could come back for his specialised game winning scores from wing half back ...
Tohills knee problems could preclude him from taking frees off the deck...

think you meant Enda Muldoon !!  ;)

:D ;D

Talk about a typo! I had been reading through a few pages about glen and minors etc and it must have still been in my head!
He'd maybe get a game though.......
Long week lads...loooooonnnnng week.