Division 2 2024

Started by Captain Scarlet, January 16, 2023, 02:11:30 PM

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Itchy on March 16, 2024, 05:42:33 PMJoke shop stuff from Cavan. These terrible 1st halves are a pattern at this stage but now when they face a decent team they get a thrashing.

Armagh with a lot of big names on the bench too so things could get worse. Hopefully not.

They seem to be building depth in their panel.

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on March 16, 2024, 05:22:50 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 16, 2024, 03:34:31 PMAny Fermanagh poster in attendance to explain how it went so wrong for them today? Result Louth 6-17 Fermanagh 0-11.   
I wonder will Fermanagh get the same abuse as Antrim U20s did for a similar scoreline.

Fermanagh has a much smaller population.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Thanks for the context. Here's some more - Antrim were playing the favourites for the All Ireland. Fermanagh were playing Louth.

Quote from: FermGael on March 16, 2024, 05:30:51 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 16, 2024, 03:34:31 PMAny Fermanagh poster in attendance to explain how it went so wrong for them today? Result Louth 6-17 Fermanagh 0-11. 

Also FT Meath 1-11 Cork 1-15

The worst Fermanagh display I have ever witnessed.

Have no idea what to say.
All Louth had to do was wait for Fermanagh to cough the ball up when we were attacking and then they just cut through us.
We had no defensive set up at all.
Niave isn't the word

Bad day. only lost by one point to Cork and conceded 0-12 to Meath and Kildare.

Listened to Northern sound radio for the Cavan v Armagh game. The two Cavan fellas on the mic as expected sounded fairly depressed with what they seen with Cavan but have made a good point that Kieran McGeeney is getting the very best out of Armagh when you consider they haven't got much underage success in recent years and club football especially Crossmaglen not as strong as they use to be.

Armagh and Donegal promoted with a game to spare and Kildare relegated.

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on March 16, 2024, 04:58:16 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 16, 2024, 04:20:04 PMMeath are one of those teams that you don't know what you're going to get from one game to the next. Cork after a very poor start have now won their last 3 matches and have turned it around at the right time. Is that them guaranteed to be in the Sam Maguire cup now?

Can't ever be guaranteed to be in Sam whilst your in Division 2 as there's so many variables with the provincials.

But I reckon to be 90% sure you'll need to top 4 in Division 2.

Top 5 once Meath finish above you as they are guaranteed Sam Maguire Football regardless of their league position.

It really is a mine field. For example I really think Down would like Fermanagh relegated and Louth to stay up because of the Leinster draw.

Looking at you probably have to think it's going to be one Munster finalist from outside the top 16 in the league 0 in Connacht or Ulster and then potentially 1 or 0 in Leinster. So if it's that then staying in Div 2 will probably be good enough and who ever tops Div 3 or wins Div 3 final (not sure which is seeded higher) probably gets the last spot.

Cavan19

Quote from: David McKeown on March 16, 2024, 07:22:48 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 16, 2024, 04:20:04 PMMeath are one of those teams that you don't know what you're going to get from one game to the next. Cork after a very poor start have now won their last 3 matches and have turned it around at the right time. Is that them guaranteed to be in the Sam Maguire cup now?

Can't ever be guaranteed to be in Sam whilst your in Division 2 as there's so many variables with the provincials.

Top 5 once Meath finish above you as they are guaranteed Sam Maguire Football regardless of their league position.

It really is a mine field. For example I really think Down would like Fermanagh relegated and Louth to stay up because of the Leinster draw.

Looking at you probably have to think it's going to be one Munster finalist from outside the top 16 in the league 0 in Connacht or Ulster and then potentially 1 or 0 in Leinster. So if it's that then staying in Div 2 will probably be good enough and who ever tops Div 3 or wins Div 3 final (not sure which is seeded higher) probably gets the last spot.

Not sure about that I worked it out a few weeks ago I think you need to be at least 5th in Division 2 to be sure.

Quote from: Cavan19 on March 16, 2024, 07:32:10 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 16, 2024, 07:22:48 PM

Not sure about that I worked it out a few weeks ago I think you need to be at least 5th in Division 2 to be sure.

Well Munster is going to be Kerry/Cork/Limerick v Clare/Tipp/Waterford so that's likely to produce a top 16 team v a team that's at highest 15th

Connacht is Mayo/New York/Roscommon v Galway/Leitrim/Sligo/London. For me that's going to be two top 16's teams.

Ulster is guaranteed 1 team in the final from the top 16 and with a possibility of either Down or Armagh coming through the other side.

Leinster you imagine will have Dublin in the final. So the question is who comes through the other side.

If it's Louth (and they survive) or Westmeath (and they get promoted) then they will both be top 16 teams.

So realistically it's probably between 0 and 3 teams from outside the top 16 that will make provincial finals and at that id be surprised at more than 2.

So I think stay in Division 2 is probably good enough.

Quote from: David McKeown on March 16, 2024, 08:16:24 PMSo I think stay in Division 2 is probably good enough.

Armagh and Donegal are safe for the next 2 years. Clearly a bit ahead of the other Div 2 teams.

SouthOfThe Bann

In my opinion there is two realistic scenarios.

Worst Case Scenario is below

Provincial Finalists & Tailteann Cup winners as follows

1. Derry
2. Down
3. Kerry
4. Tipperary
5. Dublin
6. Kildare (or a lower placed leinster side)
7. Galway
8. Mayo
9. Meath

Remaining 7 Sides

10. Tyrone
11. Donegal
12. Armagh
13. Roscommon
14. Monaghon
15. 3rd in Division 2 - Likely Cavan
16. 4th in Division 2 (or 5th if Meath Finish top 4) - Likely Cork

SouthOfThe Bann

Best Case Scenario is Below

1. Derry
2. Armagh
3. Kerry
4. Clare
5. Dublin
6. Louth
7. Galway
8. Mayo
9. Meath

Remaining 7 Sides

10. Tyrone
11. Donegal
12. Roscommon
13. Monaghan
14. 3rd in Division 2 - Likely Cavan
15. 4th in Division 2 - Likely Cork
16. 5th in Division 2 (or 6th if Meath Finish top 5)  - or Division three winner if Louth make provincial Final - Likely Down

**Winning Division three will actually be enough in this scenario if Louth stay up in division two and get into a provincial final**

Jaysus Cavan men; was expecting a lot more from yous today. Bar a few times in the second half when we struggled with our kickouts although the game was long over we never had any issues at all.

Some credit has to go to geezer as we have breezed through division 2 without looking troubled apart from the opening day fixture against Louth. We have the best defensive record in the country whilst also racking up decent scores in most games. So all in all a very positive League campaign and we've also produced a few new players to make competition for places very competitive. McGrane has been very good in defence whilst Conaty has done well in attack, two good players for the future. While at the other end of the age spectrum McElroy has had a very good League campaign when most people might have written him off.

Outside of Dublin and Kerry I think we are as good as any other side in the country but we still need to go and prove it. Not bothered now about the remaining League fixtures but we need to target the Ulster championship now.

Dreadnought

Quote from: Armagh18 on March 16, 2024, 09:53:03 PMJaysus Cavan men; was expecting a lot more from yous today. Bar a few times in the second half when we struggled with our kickouts although the game was long over we never had any issues at all.
Can't know what happened. We lost a few men before throw in, and some lads with no games since Round 2 came in, but jeez we were still so bad and open.

Quote from: Dreadnought on March 17, 2024, 12:22:55 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 16, 2024, 09:53:03 PMJaysus Cavan men; was expecting a lot more from yous today. Bar a few times in the second half when we struggled with our kickouts although the game was long over we never had any issues at all.
Can't know what happened. We lost a few men before throw in, and some lads with no games since Round 2 came in, but jeez we were still so bad and open.
There was 2 in particular i can remember- Greg McCabe in the first half (no 5 who I thought was excellent) and McQuillan in the second, both seemed to stroll through unchallenged and kick a point.

tintin25

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on March 16, 2024, 09:42:34 PMBest Case Scenario is Below

1. Derry
2. Armagh
3. Kerry
4. Clare
5. Dublin
6. Louth
7. Galway
8. Mayo
9. Meath

Remaining 7 Sides

10. Tyrone
11. Donegal
12. Roscommon
13. Monaghan
14. 3rd in Division 2 - Likely Cavan
15. 4th in Division 2 - Likely Cork
16. 5th in Division 2 (or 6th if Meath Finish top 5)  - or Division three winner if Louth make provincial Final - Likely Down

**Winning Division three will actually be enough in this scenario if Louth stay up in division two and get into a provincial final**

Has entry criteria changed because I don't think winning Division 3 got you in previously?