The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

She wouldn't be alone with that view.  There's a fundamentalist Christian segment of the Republican party whose support of Israel is premised on the idea that Jesus will only return if there is a state of Israel.  New Yorker magazine did a feature on it a few years back.

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on April 18, 2015, 05:55:45 PM
She wouldn't be alone with that view.  There's a fundamentalist Christian segment of the Republican party whose support of Israel is premised on the idea that Jesus will only return if there is a state of Israel. New Yorker magazine did a feature on it a few years back.

Wow!

A fanatical religious right-wing political ideology. That is all the world needs.

How does it work? Will Jesus return as a Jew? Or as a Christian?? Or as Republican???

Imagine the craic if he came back as a Palestinian.

Haven't managed to find the article I was thinking of, but there are a few snippets in these:

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2012/06/18/bully-pulpit

A recent survey by the Pew Research Center showed that a majority of white evangelicals believe that Jesus will return by 2050. Such ideas drive the foreign-policy views of evangelicals who believe that Jewish control of the Holy Lands must coincide with the Second Coming. Many offices at the A.F.A.'s headquarters are decorated with miniature Israeli flags. "Evangelical Christians now rival the American Jewish community in their support for Israel," Ralph Reed says.

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2008/09/08/party-faithful

To many fundamentalists, God's vow to Abraham in Genesis, "Unto thy seed I have given this land," meant that a real, political state of Israel would come into existence and that, with Christ's return, human history would culminate there. These fundamentalists are thus inclined toward a muscular Zionism, and Hagee is among the fiercest of the lot; he is the founder of Christians United for Israel, and McCain's friend and colleague Senator Joseph Lieberman has publicly supported the organization.

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2010/06/28/prodigal-son
Huckabee stood in back and talked to me about the End of Days. This is a big topic among evangelicals. The "Left Behind" novels, which dramatize the Rapture, when believers are lifted up to Heaven and everyone else is stuck on a very violent Earth, have sold sixty-three million copies. (The books' co-authors, Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins, endorsed Huckabee for President in 2008. ) Many people on the trip were insistently pro-Israel, at least in part because they believe that Jewish control of the territory between the River Jordan and the Mediterranean is a Biblically ordained condition for the Second Coming of Christ.

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on April 18, 2015, 06:45:19 PM
Haven't managed to find the article I was thinking of, but there are a few snippets in these:

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2012/06/18/bully-pulpit

A recent survey by the Pew Research Center showed that a majority of white evangelicals believe that Jesus will return by 2050. Such ideas drive the foreign-policy views of evangelicals who believe that Jewish control of the Holy Lands must coincide with the Second Coming. Many offices at the A.F.A.'s headquarters are decorated with miniature Israeli flags. "Evangelical Christians now rival the American Jewish community in their support for Israel," Ralph Reed says.

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2008/09/08/party-faithful

To many fundamentalists, God's vow to Abraham in Genesis, "Unto thy seed I have given this land," meant that a real, political state of Israel would come into existence and that, with Christ's return, human history would culminate there. These fundamentalists are thus inclined toward a muscular Zionism, and Hagee is among the fiercest of the lot; he is the founder of Christians United for Israel, and McCain's friend and colleague Senator Joseph Lieberman has publicly supported the organization.

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2010/06/28/prodigal-son
Huckabee stood in back and talked to me about the End of Days. This is a big topic among evangelicals. The "Left Behind" novels, which dramatize the Rapture, when believers are lifted up to Heaven and everyone else is stuck on a very violent Earth, have sold sixty-three million copies. (The books' co-authors, Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins, endorsed Huckabee for President in 2008. ) Many people on the trip were insistently pro-Israel, at least in part because they believe that Jewish control of the territory between the River Jordan and the Mediterranean is a Biblically ordained condition for the Second Coming of Christ.

Thanks for that.

Those clowns are dangerous lunatics: "I have to be careful saying this, because people get really upset—there's really no such thing as a Palestinian," 

Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2015, 06:21:14 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on April 18, 2015, 05:55:45 PM
She wouldn't be alone with that view.  There's a fundamentalist Christian segment of the Republican party whose support of Israel is premised on the idea that Jesus will only return if there is a state of Israel. New Yorker magazine did a feature on it a few years back.

Wow!

A fanatical religious right-wing political ideology. That is all the world needs.

How does it work? Will Jesus return as a Jew? Or as a Christian?? Or as Republican???

Imagine the craic if he came back as a Palestinian.
Coming back Black would be interesting.

Luke 13:35 has Jesus saying to Jerusalem that "Behold, your house is left unto you desolate: and verily I say unto you, Ye shall not see me, until the time come when ye shall say, Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord." In short, the Second Coming ain't happening until the Jews convert to Christianity. The likes of Bachmann are not going to wait indefinitely for that to happen.

Quote from: deiseach on April 19, 2015, 08:33:12 AM
Luke 13:35 has Jesus saying to Jerusalem that "Behold, your house is left unto you desolate: and verily I say unto you, Ye shall not see me, until the time come when ye shall say, Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord." In short, the Second Coming ain't happening until the Jews convert to Christianity. The likes of Bachmann are not going to wait indefinitely for that to happen.
Fundi Christians don't care about Judaism. They just want the Rapture.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azxxbWy4fAY

give her dixie

There has been a big push over the past few years by Fundamentalist Christians to plant trees in the Negev desert in order
to fertilize the land for the 2nd coming of Christ. This is led by "God TV".........

Watch this short video and check out Rory Alec, the channel's co-founder. He had begun fundraising for the forest after receiving
"an instruction from God" a few years ago. He said God had told him: "Prepare the land for the return of my Son."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dg8Y5y73M18
next stop, September 10, for number 4......

I see the Donald has thrown his wig into the ring to become next President

https://instagram.com/p/3_5AVjmhfw/

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2015, 06:32:11 PM

That clown car is really filling up again!

Trump made a holy show of himself last time out, but I suppose when you are as shameless as him, no publicity is bad publicity.

Quote from: J70 on June 16, 2015, 07:44:33 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2015, 06:32:11 PM

That clown car is really filling up again!

Trump made a holy show of himself last time out, but I suppose when you are as shameless as him, no publicity is bad publicity.

There's some amount of eejits in politics but he goes way beyond

Here's his announcement speech

http://time.com/3923128/donald-trump-announcement-speech/

I should warn NSFW I was chuckling along but when I got to the bit where he says that America's GDP is zero I burst out laughing... had to stop back to work

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/06/16/neil-young-donald-trump_n_7599596.html

NEW YORK (AP) — It didn't take long for Donald Trump to hit the first bump of what's sure to be a long road to reach the White House.

The New York real estate mogul arrived on stage at his campaign kickoff announcement Tuesday as the sounds of Neil Young's "Rockin' In The Free World" blared through the atrium at Trump Tower in midtown Manhattan.

The only problem? Young says Trump, a Republican, didn't have permission to use the music. The two-time inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame says he's backing Bernie Sanders in the race for president.

While the endorsement might help Sanders, the Vermont independent who is running for the Democratic nomination, it won't do him much good at the ballot box. Young is a Canadian citizen.

Do these Republican clowns do any homework? This happened with Springsteen's Born in the USA as well.

If they listened to the lyrics they might realise the songs are written precisely because of people like them, and they are not complimentary.

Trump can make a few shillings of that there's no doubt but put him in charge of running the Country/World and we're all fucked!!

I haven't really gotten into the detail of it yet but are there any decent/impressive people from either Party putting their hands up or are we stuck with another Dubya gombeen!!!!

It amazes me how some people still stick up for him after he presided over the worst terror attack in history, a totally unjustified war/occupation and the Economic collapse of the world.

Quote from: screenexile on June 17, 2015, 03:07:40 PM
Trump can make a few shillings of that there's no doubt but put him in charge of running the Country/World and we're all fucked!!

I haven't really gotten into the detail of it yet but are there any decent/impressive people from either Party putting their hands up or are we stuck with another Dubya gombeen!!!!

It amazes me how some people still stick up for him after he presided over the worst terror attack in history, a totally unjustified war/occupation and the Economic collapse of the world.

I make the same mistake as you do and assume that people think. They don't.

Quote from: screenexile on June 17, 2015, 03:07:40 PM

Hilary will win over the democrats. Just because they don't have anyone else and she is a woman. She will be their candidate.
Republicans I'm not sure - there are some gifted speakers out there but they're still politicians..... I always liked Chris Christie but he hasn't lost enough weight and I don't think the White House is ready to put forward an obese man as their President....