Jimmy McGuinness mind games

Started by ck, August 19, 2014, 01:16:17 PM

It would appear that the annual mind games of Jimmy McGuinness have been set free once again. Jimmy is now saying that Dublin have an unfair advantage over other teams. This coming from the man who takes his team away to a 5 star hotel every second weekend and goes to Portugal to train. Jimmys mind games are getting a little tired.

http://www1.skysports.com/gaelic-football/news/30543/9429526/gaa-donegal-manager-jim-mcguinness-says-dublins-resources-gives-them-an-advantage

Assuming you've read the article, could you point out which bit it was you disagreed with?

Yeah, that's controversial stuff there all right... ::)

The Tanned One took us to Portagal for training. It's a bit over-rated.

Quote from: haranguerer on August 19, 2014, 01:19:15 PM
Assuming you've read the article, could you point out which bit it was you disagreed with?

"Abramovich going into the premiership" Pot kettle black Jimmy!. Donegal have a funder in London who privately funds the senior team and pays for all their weekend trips away. The county board have nothing to do with it apparently. I say fair play to Donegal for spending big but it's a bit rich for McGuinness to point the finger at Dublin when he has exactly the same resources himself. It's more of Jimmy using the media to play games.

It's still entirely true though, CK.

Ah where's Don't Matter when you need him most. . . he's been banging this drum for a while now!!!!

Our Jimmy has a point!!

How does his statement qualify as "mind games"(ignoring of course the part where he says everyone should be striving to match Dublin's underage work)?

Are his words supposed to motivate Donegal players? Are they supposed to affect Dublin? Mind games are all about gaining some psychological edge: what is McGuinness ' supposed angle here CK? Were Donegal players unaware that Dublin have certain advantages in terms of the logistics and resources involved in running a county team? "All this time I've been making a 300 mile round trip home for training,  and it turns out those f**kers only have to drive across the city. I'll show them next week!" ;D

Quote from: ck on August 19, 2014, 01:49:49 PM

"Abramovich going into the premiership" Pot kettle black Jimmy!. Donegal have a funder in London who privately funds the senior team and pays for all their weekend trips away. The county board have nothing to do with it apparently. I say fair play to Donegal for spending big but it's a bit rich for McGuinness to point the finger at Dublin when he has exactly the same resources himself. It's more of Jimmy using the media to play games.

He doesnt, noone does. And thats pointing out fact, it isn't criticism of dublin - fair play to them for beginning to utilise their advantages properly. It isn't their fault they're in that position, and being in that position, it would be negligent not to take advantage of it.

He also didn't point fingers that I read. He was asked if the rest of the country should worry about how to keep pace with dublin, and he gave an honest and fair answer. You still havent came up with anything he said that you disagreed with.

Why does this even need a new thread? The Laceygate mind games were discussed in the match thread.

Ah lads, y'er missing the point here.
McGuinness is a subtle operator. He throws out little one liners every so often to send people down a path. (One that he knows most of the country will travel easily) You boys are already agreeing with the article instead of looking at Jimmys intentions. Abramovich is an intentionally used word to send the media off in a tizzy about Dublin holding all the aces and can't be beaten. This insinuates that Donegal are a poor cousin (which they aren't) and can't compete against the mass riches. Jimmy is at it again and y'er all falling for it, he's playing the media like a puppet (yet again). You don't hear Jim Gavin at this sort of craic, in fairness his talking is only on the pitch.

Quote from: ck on August 19, 2014, 02:29:15 PM
Ah lads, y'er missing the point here.
McGuinness is a subtle operator. He throws out little one liners every so often to send people down a path. (One that he knows most of the country will travel easily) You boys are already agreeing with the article instead of looking at Jimmys intentions. Abramovich is an intentionally used word to send the media off in a tizzy about Dublin holding all the aces and can't be beaten. This insinuates that Donegal are a poor cousin (which they aren't) and can't compete against the mass riches. Jimmy is at it again and y'er all falling for it, he's playing the media like a puppet (yet again). You don't hear Jim Gavin at this sort of craic, in fairness his talking is only on the pitch.

Jim fecking Gavin is hardly the paragon of humble words.

Quote from: haranguerer on August 19, 2014, 02:23:44 PM
Quote from: ck on August 19, 2014, 01:49:49 PM

He doesnt, noone does. And thats pointing out fact, it isn't criticism of dublin - fair play to them for beginning to utilise their advantages properly. It isn't their fault they're in that position, and being in that position, it would be negligent not to take advantage of it.

He also didn't point fingers that I read. He was asked if the rest of the country should worry about how to keep pace with dublin, and he gave an honest and fair answer. You still havent came up with anything he said that you disagreed with.

I disagree with the fact that Dublin have more resources and Jimmys attempts to further push that myth!
Donegal have been away on 15 weekend trips this year according to radio recently. A funder in England footing the bill. So don't try and flog the myth that Dublin have more resources.

15 weekend trips? Does that include matches?  ;D

They trained in Mullingar Shamrocks a few weeks ago.
Does that count as a weekend away?