Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

ClubScene13

God14

I dont think we can make any judgement really, he has had no club football and little training this long while.

We got absolutely zero kick from our bench on Sunday though. McGeary did ok i suppose

O'Neill Park was a fortress back in the day due to the atmosphere generated by the crowd who were close to the pitch which isn't the case in Healy Park. County games have been played continuously in Healy Park since 2004 (except on very rare occasions when the pitch was unplayable) pretty much to justify the cost of the new stand. They've had 20 years use out of that stand now so it would be nice to have at least one of the NFL games somewhere else. I'd say if O'Neill Park were to host an NFL game under lights at some stage in the future the place would be absolutely buzzing.

tiempo

Agree that Tyrone should play in different venues around the county. Beating Kerry in Edendork was enjoyable, I'm sure it was an amazing buzz for McCurry. Omagh is void of atmosphere and lends to a shite game a lot of the time. Tyrone played McKenna Cup in Coalisland around 2006, was a disgrace Coalisland didn't get to play their Ulster Club game at Fr Campbell Park. Open the fecking thing up, variety is the spice of life. Remember Tyrone v Cork in Dungannon 2003, felt Mickey sent Ricey over to mark Colin Corkery so he'd get a good roasting and justify benching him, Ricey came out on top  and was easily one of Tyrones best and most consistent players but still didn't start the first Championship game in 03.

statto

Quote from: NotedObserver on February 20, 2024, 09:57:45 AMWhat changes will make if any?

Morgan
cormac Quinn
Hampsey
Clarke/devlin
odonnell
Mckernan
Cullen
Conn
Kennedy
Oguz
Harte
Canavan
McCurry
Canavan
Daly

Will they give mcglennon mcgeary a game?
If McGlennon wasn't a McGlennon would he be on the panel? 

Truthsayer

Not much point in Tiarnan Quinn being in the match day panels if he can't get five minutes football. If he's not up to that level let's find out and he can go back to his club. All that flaffing about the last few minutes players afraid to have a shot for a point he would at least have had a go...

Quote from: Truthsayer on February 20, 2024, 01:38:52 PMNot much point in Tiarnan Quinn being in the match day panels if he can't get five minutes football. If he's not up to that level let's find out and he can go back to his club. All that fluffing about the last few minutes players afraid to have a shot for a point he would at least have had a go...

Ok Tiarnan. Not sure Dooher reads GAA Board though.

Truthsayer

Quote from: trailer on February 20, 2024, 02:00:15 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 20, 2024, 01:38:52 PMNot much point in Tiarnan Quinn being in the match day panels if he can't get five minutes football. If he's not up to that level let's find out and he can go back to his club. All that fluffing about the last few minutes players afraid to have a shot for a point he would at least have had a go...

Ok Tiarnan. Not sure Dooher reads GAA Board though.
I certainly ain't Tiarnan. Not a great arguement to why he shouldn't get game time...

Goals_Will_Come

In my opinion the big issue Tyrone face is in their half back and half forward lines. You take the top teams currently in contention for the All Ireland - Kerry, Dublin, Derry, Mayo, Armagh. These teams have middle 8s who are full of pace, power, energy and line breaking ability as well as scores.
If you compare just with Derry our likely Ulster Semi Final opponents - they have Gareth McKinless, Conor Doherty, Padraig McGroogan, Ethan Doherty, Ciaran McFaul as well as Rodger and Glass. Tyrone on the other hand haven't the same level of player to go alongside Kennedy and Kilpatrick. Meyler is a massive loss in this area. The jury is out on how much legs Peter Harte has left. Seanie O'Donnell would bring some of what I mention into this area. After that it is hard to see where Tyrone can get the injection or impetus from - a return of form of McGeary would help, Oguz at club level has shown capabilities, there has been glimpses so far from Ben Cullen. I don't think the other options - Michael O'Neill, Frank Burns, Michael McGleenan, Cormac Quinn, Niall Devlin, Tarlach Quinn, Aodhan Donaghy - can bring to the table what we need to push towards those top teams again. Ultimately the best players for this are not on the panel - Tiernan McCann and Rory Brennan.
I think unless Tyrone resolve their issues in these lines of the field, they will stay behind in the chasing pack on the Div1/2 boundary.

What I would want For Mayo:
Morgan
Devlin Hampsey Clarke
O'Donnell McKernan Cullen
Kennedy Kilpatrick
K McGeary Harte Oguz
McCurry D Canavan Daly

tyrone86

Alternative venues aren't an option as health and safety has moved on from the early 2000s. There were more in attendance in Healy Park for both games than MUDC or FODC would allow as the capacity for Dungannon/ Carrickmore/ Coalisland/ Pomeroy now and then you're into the issue of u16s needing tickets. McKenna Cup games on tour might be more realistic.

NotedObserver

Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on February 20, 2024, 02:37:10 PMIn my opinion the big issue Tyrone face is in their half back and half forward lines. You take the top teams currently in contention for the All Ireland - Kerry, Dublin, Derry, Mayo, Armagh. These teams have middle 8s who are full of pace, power, energy and line breaking ability as well as scores.
If you compare just with Derry our likely Ulster Semi Final opponents - they have Gareth McKinless, Conor Doherty, Padraig McGroogan, Ethan Doherty, Ciaran McFaul as well as Rodger and Glass. Tyrone on the other hand haven't the same level of player to go alongside Kennedy and Kilpatrick. Meyler is a massive loss in this area. The jury is out on how much legs Peter Harte has left. Seanie O'Donnell would bring some of what I mention into this area. After that it is hard to see where Tyrone can get the injection or impetus from - a return of form of McGeary would help, Oguz at club level has shown capabilities, there has been glimpses so far from Ben Cullen. I don't think the other options - Michael O'Neill, Frank Burns, Michael McGleenan, Cormac Quinn, Niall Devlin, Tarlach Quinn, Aodhan Donaghy - can bring to the table what we need to push towards those top teams again. Ultimately the best players for this are not on the panel - Tiernan McCann and Rory Brennan.
I think unless Tyrone resolve their issues in these lines of the field, they will stay behind in the chasing pack on the Div1/2 boundary.

What I would want For Mayo:
Morgan
Devlin Hampsey Clarke
O'Donnell McKernan Cullen
Kennedy Kilpatrick
K McGeary Harte Oguz
McCurry D Canavan Daly

To me this is spot on. Other teams like Derry like 3 power runners like Mckernan in their half back line. M Donnelly runs saved them last year. Out of the list named burns might add a bit of strength around the middle.

Tmac at 32 would still be a great asset but understand if he's not a regular it's hard to commit. Monaghan and dubs early 30 players still key.
Donaghy and Devlin had great times with under 20s so hope they have the belief to make the step up. Brennan be straight in at 6 as well and a fully fit Peter teague would be useful

southtyronegael

Lean times for us for a while  I feel but things will improve  as the year goes on. Agree with  taking few league games to Dungannon. No atmosphere in omagh but style of play doesn't help.

tiempo

Quote from: tyrone86 on February 20, 2024, 04:59:00 PMAlternative venues aren't an option as health and safety has moved on from the early 2000s. There were more in attendance in Healy Park for both games than MUDC or FODC would allow as the capacity for Dungannon/ Carrickmore/ Coalisland/ Pomeroy now and then you're into the issue of u16s needing tickets. McKenna Cup games on tour might be more realistic.

Out of interest, what was the attendance for the games against Roscommon and Galway? 8,000?

Healy Park capacity is what 18,000?

Would a 10,000 capacity venue packed not be far better than half empty soulless alternative

If you put those games on in Cmore, Dungannon, etc there would likely be an attendance uplift, due to novelty alone, maybe the game would need to be ticketed just to be on the safe side

And logistics in and around those grounds would be an issue, but not beyond the wit of man

Bit of a joke Dublin won't play games at Parnell Park, I'm sure plenty of Dubs feel the same

GlenMan

Quote from: tiempo on February 21, 2024, 11:18:01 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on February 20, 2024, 04:59:00 PMAlternative venues aren't an option as health and safety has moved on from the early 2000s. There were more in attendance in Healy Park for both games than MUDC or FODC would allow as the capacity for Dungannon/ Carrickmore/ Coalisland/ Pomeroy now and then you're into the issue of u16s needing tickets. McKenna Cup games on tour might be more realistic.

Out of interest, what was the attendance for the games against Roscommon and Galway? 8,000?

Would a 10,000 capacity venue packed not be far better than half empty soulless alternative

If you put those games on in Cmore, Dungannon, etc there would likely be an attendance uplift, due to novelty alone, maybe the game would need to be ticketed just to be on the safe side

And logistics in and around those grounds would be an issue, but not beyond the wit of man

Bit of a joke Dublin won't play games at Parnell Park, I'm sure plenty of Dubs feel the same

If they were to use smaller grounds, which would likely be near capacity, then u16's would be charged into the games as it'd be all ticket. Would this help? Honestly not sure.

tiempo

Quote from: GlenMan on February 21, 2024, 11:28:20 AM
Quote from: tiempo on February 21, 2024, 11:18:01 AM

If they were to use smaller grounds, which would likely be near capacity, then u16's would be charged into the games as it'd be all ticket. Would this help? Honestly not sure.

Any charge for U16s would be fairly nominal I'm sure, allocation might be more of an issue but not insurmountable, a smaller ground that is higher proportion full makes for a better atmosphere, I'd even go as far as to say a better game

With the majority of games being televised and a lack of feel in Omagh due to large swathes of empty terrace its got to be worth looking elsewhere for a bit of novelty

Wasn't there major pitch works scheduled at Omagh anyway that was going to take it out of action for a year or so, alternatives will have to be in place for that in due course