GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hereiam on May 11, 2016, 02:21:28 PM

Title: Foreign Players in the GAA
Post by: Hereiam on May 11, 2016, 02:21:28 PM
Just wondering if anyone is seeing more of our foreign friends taking up Gaelic games. I know in our own club there are none and we would have a good number living in the area.
Title: Re: Foreign Players in the GAA
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 02:29:18 PM
It's something I'm very interested in. I'm involved with development squads in Tipp, and in 4 years I've seen 2 even in for trials. One Polish lad, and one Kenyan lad. Nobody else, and I know there are many new Irish living in the larger towns. It's natural they would play more soccer, as they and their families would be more familiar with that, but I think the GAA is missing a trick here and should do a few more familiarisation/get to know the games type of thing in the bigger towns at least.

In our club we have a couple of kids, polish and chinese, and they seem to be getting on well, but they are young, u6-u8. We have nobody aged 12-16 say. Mind you there isn't a significant number in the village, but I know there are at least a couple more families/kids that we don't seem to have attracted.

I think other counties are doing a bit better in this area, I know Westmeath have had a couple of lads playing with them up along, and they have been very good.
Post by: shark on May 11, 2016, 02:49:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 02:29:18 PM
It's something I'm very interested in. I'm involved with development squads in Tipp, and in 4 years I've seen 2 even in for trials. One Polish lad, and one Kenyan lad. Nobody else, and I know there are many new Irish living in the larger towns. It's natural they would play more soccer, as they and their families would be more familiar with that, but I think the GAA is missing a trick here and should do a few more familiarisation/get to know the games type of thing in the bigger towns at least.

In our club we have a couple of kids, polish and chinese, and they seem to be getting on well, but they are young, u6-u8. We have nobody aged 12-16 say. Mind you there isn't a significant number in the village, but I know there are at least a couple more families/kids that we don't seem to have attracted.

I think other counties are doing a bit better in this area, I know Westmeath have had a couple of lads playing with them up along, and they have been very good.

Yeah there are a few in Westmeath at adult level already, and loads underage. 2/3 of the u21 full back line this year (Illunga and Sayeh) were born in Africa. There is another (Siode) who is good enough to be on the senior team but is only interested in playing club football. 10-20% of the names on team lists for underage teams in my club would have non-Irish surnames. Their natural athletic ability stands out a mile.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 02:51:04 PM
Is that around Mullingar shark? Or around Athlone?
Post by: shark on May 11, 2016, 03:01:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 02:51:04 PM
Is that around Mullingar shark? Or around Athlone?

In my case Mullingar. But Athlone GAA have a few lads of African descent on their underage teams too, and one on their senior team. Illunga and Sayeh are both Rosemount (beside Moate). So it seems to be county-wide. Westmeath as a county is highly urban as a percentage of total population. That has to have a bearing.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 03:12:33 PM
Yeah. Fair play to Westmeath for taking advantage. I really feel we are losing out. Nenagh, Clonmel and  Thurles are all big towns, and then the likes of Cashel and Cahir wouldn't be villages either. We should have a lot more involved. Limerick should be as well.

I know Ian Bradley of Saint Mary's fairly well, and we played them at U14 level about 3 years ago in a challenge. There was a young lad playing full forward for them and he was fantastic. Not sure if he's in with the minors or not.
Post by: shark on May 11, 2016, 03:27:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 03:12:33 PM
Yeah. Fair play to Westmeath for taking advantage. I really feel we are losing out. Nenagh, Clonmel and  Thurles are all big towns, and then the likes of Cashel and Cahir wouldn't be villages either. We should have a lot more involved. Limerick should be as well.

I know Ian Bradley of Saint Mary's fairly well, and we played them at U14 level about 3 years ago in a challenge. There was a young lad playing full forward for them and he was fantastic. Not sure if he's in with the minors or not.

Two lads on team that beat Longford with non-Irish surnames and they were Shamrocks (Eastern Europe) and Lomans (Africa) players. Only lad from Mary's was midfield, but his surname is Cully so I guess it's not the lad you are referring to!

I don't believe it's a conscious effort to encourage young lads, and girls, from different backgrounds. They are just part of the fabric of society now so it seems to have followed naturally. As I said above, they want to do what their friends are doing. But as you say it doesn't seem to happen everywhere for whatever reason.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 03:38:05 PM
No, I meant Ian was with Westmeath. This lad I'm talking about wasn't Marys himself. I think he was Lomans.
Post by: Hereiam on May 11, 2016, 03:45:57 PM
I really think the GAA needs to try and encourage these people into the sport. Nothing better than your local club to help you get involved in the community.
Anyone know if Dungannon Clarkes have many as the town is nearly 90% foreign nationals 
Post by: shark on May 11, 2016, 03:50:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 11, 2016, 03:38:05 PM
No, I meant Ian was with Westmeath. This lad I'm talking about wasn't Marys himself. I think he was Lomans.

Ah right, probably the Lomans lad so. He's very good alright and has another year.
Post by: laceer on May 11, 2016, 04:02:47 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on May 11, 2016, 03:45:57 PM
I really think the GAA needs to try and encourage these people into the sport. Nothing better than your local club to help you get involved in the community.
Anyone know if Dungannon Clarkes have many as the town is nearly 90% foreign nationals

Think it's closer to 10%
Post by: LeoMc on May 11, 2016, 04:30:14 PM
Quote from: shark on May 11, 2016, 02:49:31 PM

Yeah there are a few in Westmeath at adult level already, and loads underage. 2/3 of the u21 full back line this year (Illunga and Sayeh) were born in Africa. There is another (Siode) who is good enough to be on the senior team but is only interested in playing club football. 10-20% of the names on team lists for underage teams in my club would have non-Irish surnames. Their natural athletic ability stands out a mile.
Picking up the attitude, not just the skills!
Post by: shark on May 11, 2016, 04:37:57 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 11, 2016, 04:30:14 PM
Quote from: shark on May 11, 2016, 02:49:31 PM

Picking up the attitude, not just the skills!

Ha, very true.
Post by: AQMP on May 11, 2016, 04:48:35 PM
We've spent a fair bit of time here in the North trying to get local British guys interested in the GAA.  Not much success so far even thought they're 50% of the population.  Some of them even have Irish surnames so you'd think that would be a start.
Post by: rosnarun on May 11, 2016, 05:01:22 PM
best  thing you can do is ban them blacks, bristishers , german ,czech and Jew.
clubs will be over run with them in a few weeks
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on May 11, 2016, 05:59:37 PM
Stefan Okunbar is on the Kerry minor panel this year. First guy of non-Irish heritage to make grade as far as I'm aware.

Dingle  have a kid of Lithuanian origin Devidas Uosis, who is a brilliant keeper but also very good outfield. He should wear the county jersey soon as he's around 16 and at the same age I think there's another lad in John Mitchels in Tralee of African origin (I think), Kevin Williams who is absolutely superb.
There's a (tremendously named) lad of African origin who plays under 16s with Austin Stacks called Joe Looby Lugandu and he's a decent player too.

Down in Cork, there was a tremendous underage prospect that Nemo had, lad called Chiedozie Ogbene. Was MOM in a county u21 final last year at only 19, but unfortunately he has signed for Cork City so is lost to GAA for now. Caused some hilarity hearing attempts by PA men to pronounce his name!
Post by: comeysfield on May 11, 2016, 06:10:58 PM
No such thing as a foreign lad once he or she touches a ball they are  a part of the Parish! 8)
Post by: Syferus on May 11, 2016, 06:21:08 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 11, 2016, 04:48:35 PM
We've spent a fair bit of time here in the North trying to get local British guys interested in the GAA.  Not much success so far even thought they're 50% of the population.  Some of them even have Irish surnames so you'd think that would be a start.

Playing the national anthem for the Republic before matches is a good way to make unionists feel not welcome. A lot of hard work will need to go into targeting the unionist population and engaging them meaningfully in the GAA. Minorities there's a lower barrier to entry and hopefully more and more players with diverse background take part.

I know that for a lot of the older crowd when a lad is good at sport they transcend the colour of their skin even if that is otherwise an issue, a lot see the talented athlete and not a person of colour. That's what sport can do, bring communities together. In Ballagh the Muslim community is pretty well integrated and it's generally been very good for the town with the local cricket team being set up and thriving as well as Akram leading the way for other Muslim kids in the area to take part in the GAA.
Post by: Gael85 on May 11, 2016, 07:43:27 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on May 11, 2016, 05:59:37 PM
Stefan Okunbar is on the Kerry minor panel this year. First guy of non-Irish heritage to make grade as far as I'm aware.

Dingle  have a kid of Lithuanian origin Devidas Uosis, who is a brilliant keeper but also very good outfield. He should wear the county jersey soon as he's around 16 and at the same age I think there's another lad in John Mitchels in Tralee of African origin (I think), Kevin Williams who is absolutely superb.
There's a (tremendously named) lad of African origin who plays under 16s with Austin Stacks called Joe Looby Lugandu and he's a decent player too.

Down in Cork, there was a tremendous underage prospect that Nemo had, lad called Chiedozie Ogbene. Was MOM in a county u21 final last year at only 19, but unfortunately he has signed for Cork City so is lost to GAA for now. Caused some hilarity hearing attempts by PA men to pronounce his name!

Is that Paddy Okunbar son? He was a great footballer in his day  ;D

Wasnt there a German lad Max Thiemann that played with Kerry minors a few years ago? I remember him playing school final. Was on same team as Jack O'Connor son
Post by: rrhf on May 11, 2016, 07:57:28 PM
There used to be a Brazilian lad who was on a winning sigerson team. Don't think he progressed onto his county senior team though. Handy at the free kicks.
Post by: muppet on May 11, 2016, 08:25:52 PM

I'd say putting his name on the team sheet, as gaeilge, would have been fun too.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 11, 2016, 08:30:58 PM
Naas Junior C's had Brazilian keeper a few years back, kickouts were better than Cluxton's
Post by: omagh_gael on May 11, 2016, 08:38:17 PM
There's a lad from my (adopted) club, Loughmacrory, from Eastern Europe who captained the Tyrone u-17 team that won the Ulster league recently. His name is Arnoldos Macidulkus.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 11, 2016, 08:40:38 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on May 11, 2016, 03:45:57 PM

Our lads played Clarkes in the Feile AI finals in Kildare last year and they had 3 or 4 young black lads playing. They were brilliant...superb athletes and great ball skills. Our boys couldn't touch them for speed etc. Pleasure to watch.
Post by: ashman on May 11, 2016, 10:15:17 PM
A chap I know who is involved in a Dublin club reckons they all play for the school but getting them to the clubs is more difficult .  Would this be the case in general.

Post by: general_lee on May 11, 2016, 10:24:09 PM
I *think* Armagh minors may have one or two "new" Irish playing on the panel. A young Portuguese/Brazilian from Portadown is definitely on the panel.
Post by: Jinxy on May 11, 2016, 10:27:23 PM
Surprised Galway don't have a few fancy dans from Gort playing by now.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 11, 2016, 10:42:24 PM
I remember an Eastern European lad playing a schools game for St Josephs Crossmaglen a few years ago in our field. He scored something like 4-04. Amazing performance. Any updates BCB1
Post by: armaghniac on May 11, 2016, 11:20:53 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 11, 2016, 10:42:24 PM
I remember an Eastern European lad playing a schools game for St Josephs Crossmaglen a few years ago in our field. He scored something like 4-04. Amazing performance. Any updates BCB1

Discussed in our previous thread on this topic, a chap called Arnus Dzinkevicius.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15546.15
I don't think he is from Cross' proper though, or he'd have a few medals at this stage. Mullaghbawn maybe?
Post by: DuffleKing on May 11, 2016, 11:31:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 11, 2016, 11:20:53 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 11, 2016, 10:42:24 PM

Discussed in our previous thread on this topic, a chap called Arnus Dzinkevicius.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15546.15
I don't think he is from Cross' proper though, or he'd have a few medals at this stage. Mullaghbawn maybe?

If he was any good he'd have transferred to cross by now though  ;D
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 11, 2016, 11:36:10 PM
Anyone know the situation in Dublin?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 12, 2016, 12:01:04 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 11, 2016, 10:27:23 PM

There was a Brazillian lad from Gort who by all accounts was a cracking hurler and would have been on the Galway minor team last year (who won the All-Ireland in the end) but his family moved back to Brazil. I only know this as he came back to go to the All-Ireland hurling final last September. It was in a couple of the papers at the time.

Actually found it. http://connachttribune.ie/brazilian-back-home-for-the-hurling-in-galway-909/ (http://connachttribune.ie/brazilian-back-home-for-the-hurling-in-galway-909/)

And more here http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/gort-still-reverberating-to-the-samba-beat-1.1855994 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/gort-still-reverberating-to-the-samba-beat-1.1855994)
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 08:05:05 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 12, 2016, 12:01:04 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 11, 2016, 10:27:23 PM

There was a Brazillian lad from Gort who by all accounts was a cracking hurler and would have been on the Galway minor team last year (who won the All-Ireland in the end) but his family moved back to Brazil. I only know this as he came back to go to the All-Ireland hurling final last September. It was in a couple of the papers at the time.

Actually found it. http://connachttribune.ie/brazilian-back-home-for-the-hurling-in-galway-909/ (http://connachttribune.ie/brazilian-back-home-for-the-hurling-in-galway-909/)

And more here http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/gort-still-reverberating-to-the-samba-beat-1.1855994 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/gort-still-reverberating-to-the-samba-beat-1.1855994)
you would think the family could be fixed up with something so he could stay and emulate Keady...
Post by: mrhardyannual on May 12, 2016, 11:45:52 PM
Many clubs in Mayo have newcomer members on underage teams. Kids are gradually being integrated through their schools. It was difficult for kids who came into the country to pick up the skills and soccer clubs were better placed to facilitate them. But as families settle you will see a big increase in participation. Sad to say that it is still easier to accommodate people coming from all over the world than to accommodate Travellers.
Post by: stephenite on May 13, 2016, 12:01:09 PM
There was a Cork family with strong Fijian origins that had a couple of handy hurlers and footballers a few years back, might have even won a few Senior All Ireland's.

Think the father was from Fermanagh. Can't remember their names though.....
Post by: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 12:08:03 PM
That's right. I remember neither parent came from a hurling stronghold, as such.
Post by: rosnarun on May 13, 2016, 02:29:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 11, 2016, 06:21:08 PM

Playing the national anthem for the Republic before matches is a good way to make unionists feel not welcome. A lot of hard work will need to go into targeting the unionist population and engaging them meaningfully in the GAA. Minorities there's a lower barrier to entry and hopefully more and more players with diverse background take part.

I know that for a lot of the older crowd when a lad is good at sport they transcend the colour of their skin even if that is otherwise an issue, a lot see the talented athlete and not a person of colour. That's what sport can do, bring communities together. In Ballagh the Muslim community is pretty well integrated and it's generally been very good for the town with the local cricket team being set up and thriving as well as Akram leading the way for other Muslim kids in the area to take part in the GAA.
now if only we could integrate the roscommonites in the town it would be a major step forward. maybe if we added a yellow streak to the flag?
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2016, 02:54:54 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 13, 2016, 02:29:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 11, 2016, 06:21:08 PM

now if only we could integrate the roscommonites in the town it would be a major step forward. maybe if we added a yellow streak to the flag?

There's no need to integrate the native populace.
Post by: Jinxy on May 13, 2016, 03:23:52 PM
I believe Hank Traynor was from Texas originally.
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 03:36:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 12:08:03 PM
That's right. I remember neither parent came from a hurling stronghold, as such.
You don't have to come from a hurling family to excel. It's all about starting at the right age.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 04:24:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 03:36:21 PM
You don't have to come from a hurling family to excel. It's all about starting at the right age.

Jesus Seafoid. Whooosh.
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 05:25:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 04:24:39 PM

Jesus Seafoid. Whooosh.
Sure look at Offaly in 1981.
Not a medal between them

I wish Offaly could get back to.that level of performance
Post by: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 07:19:46 PM
Again whoosh. I was making a reference to Mícheáls famous line.
Post by: Jinxy on May 13, 2016, 08:37:06 PM
Micheál who?
Post by: sans pessimism on May 14, 2016, 10:11:13 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 04:24:39 PM

Jesus Seafoid. Whooosh.
Post by: blanketattack on May 14, 2016, 02:01:13 PM

Darren O'Sullivan was born and raised in England.
Max Thiemann is German... http://www.terracetalk.com/kerry-football/player/900/Max-Thiemann
Post by: blanketattack on July 04, 2016, 09:50:08 AM
There were loads of non-EU nationals playing in the Ulster Championship at the weekend.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 04, 2016, 09:54:16 AM
James Horan is a New Zealander by birth.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2016, 11:14:31 AM
You're right.  Seems to be Sean Og O'hAilpin. The father came from Fermanagh and the mother was Fijian.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2016, 11:35:17 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on May 12, 2016, 11:45:52 PM
Many clubs in Mayo have newcomer members on underage teams. Kids are gradually being integrated through their schools. It was difficult for kids who came into the country to pick up the skills and soccer clubs were better placed to facilitate them. But as families settle you will see a big increase in participation. Sad to say that it is still easier to accommodate people coming from all over the world than to accommodate Travellers.
Did you know that Mayo was the first (and AFAIK the only) county to field a Traveller? His name was Jimmy Maughan. He came from Ballinrobe and he was a handy footballer. I recall him playing in Croke Park one year can't remember the year but I remember Mayo were bet out the gate that day.
Post by: galwayman on July 04, 2016, 11:53:33 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2016, 11:35:17 AM
Did you know that Mayo was the first (and AFAIK the only) county to field a Traveller? His name was Jimmy Maughan. He came from Ballinrobe and he was a handy footballer. I recall him playing in Croke Park one year can't remember the year but I remember Mayo were bet out the gate that day.
His son Shane played minor and u-21 with Galway & was on the senior squad for a while.
Post by: illdecide on August 30, 2016, 11:55:11 AM
Joe Harte...seen here playing for Donegal in the 1992 all ireland final...

(https://www.magee1866.com/Images/Content/timeline-1992.jpg)
Post by: ludermor on August 30, 2016, 12:09:12 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2016, 11:14:31 AM
You're right.  Seems to be Sean Og O'hAilpin. The father came from Fermanagh and the mother was Fijian.
Ah Jasus !
Post by: Harold Disgracey on August 30, 2016, 12:41:34 PM

Bill Doonan who played for Cavan in the 40s was a Traveller.
Post by: shark on August 30, 2016, 02:06:43 PM

There was a traveller, Paddy Joyce, playing wing back for Westmeath u21s a couple of years ago.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on August 30, 2016, 06:50:56 PM
Quote from: illdecide on August 30, 2016, 11:55:11 AM
Joe Harte...seen here playing for Donegal in the 1992 all ireland final...

(https://www.magee1866.com/Images/Content/timeline-1992.jpg)

Clinker  ;D