GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fishead_Sam on July 27, 2007, 05:15:18 PM

Poll
Question: Who are Irelands most demanding fans?
Option 1: Kerry Football votes: 38
Option 2: Mayo Football votes: 11
Option 3: Dublin Football votes: 23
Option 4: Kilkenny Hurling votes: 11
Option 5: Cork Hurling votes: 0
Option 6: Wexford Hurling votes: 0
Option 7: Tyrone Football votes: 6
Option 8: Armagh Football votes: 6
Option 9: Meath Football votes: 2
Option 10: Tipperary Hurling votes: 3
Option 11: Galway Hurling votes: 0
Option 12: Waterford Hurling votes: 0
Option 13: Offaly Hurling votes: 1
Option 14: Other Hurling votes: 0
Option 15: Other Football votes: 2
Title: Who are Irelands most demanding fans?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 27, 2007, 05:15:18 PM
Just wondering who are the most demanding set of GAA fans?
Title: Re: Who are Irelands most demanding fans?
Post by: T Fearon on July 27, 2007, 05:18:04 PM
Armagh, we demand

All Championship matches at Clones (though we will consider Long Kesh when it is built)

That Tyrone is obliterated off the face of the earth.

Managers who deliver more than one All Ireland title in five years

The forced shaving of Mickey Harte
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 27, 2007, 05:20:26 PM
Just realised I should have put this on the GAA side, how do I move it across?
Post by: ziggysego on July 27, 2007, 05:25:27 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 27, 2007, 05:20:26 PM
Just realised I should have put this on the GAA side, how do I move it across?

Ask the admin nicely to do it for you.

Failing that....... demand them to!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 27, 2007, 05:29:44 PM
Might do that later Ziggy, leave it on here until monday, Im not for do much when its friday evening. I suppose this poll might be useful for a prospective manager, ie which miserable crowd of fckrs to avoid, Im expecting Mayo, Dublin, Kerry, Armagh, Tyrone from the football to shoot ahead, Im not sure who is the worst among the hurling, so I might have choose the wrong Counties to go with.
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2007, 06:15:15 PM
The Kerry men ! Followed by Dublin.
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2007, 06:15:47 PM
Then Cork and Kilkenny in hurling
Post by: The Claw on July 27, 2007, 07:00:22 PM
Kilkenny men fierce demanding, their discussion board constantly talks about who is going well in training.
Post by: Elias on July 27, 2007, 08:50:32 PM
Of course it has to be the Dubs.

Sure don't most of the media demand that they must win the AI, as it will be good for the GAA, and so thier supporters follow suit

Yawn....  ::)
Post by: Redgreenery on July 27, 2007, 09:17:20 PM
Dublin and Kerry fans are the most demanding, the difference is though, that Kerry provide more, but Kerry fans expect Sam every year while in Dublin it has to do with the numbers, the GAA keeping them happyand of course the hype. Dubs seem to be led to think they are Super or the best, therefore demanding first a leinster title (which they have plenty of so I dont know why) secondly, an AIF appearence and third, Sam, making the Dubs the most demanding.
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2007, 09:21:21 PM
Mayo must be up there somewhere - they ran Moran/Morrison because they lost an All Ireland Final in 2006. :D
They were about to run Maughan( >:() until he jumped because they lost an All Ireland Final in 2004. :D
Didnt they also push O'Mahony out in 1990 because they lost the final in 1989. :D

Very high standards indeed.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 27, 2007, 09:51:38 PM
Without a shadow of a doubt its Kilkenny hurling fans,They are like no other fans in the country they demand and in fairness reguarly get perfection
No other topic is discussed in the local pubs of Kilkenny once the championship starts it is pure and utter religion to them,I grew up only a few hundred yards from the Kilkenny/Laois border and know what im talking about.It really is unreal the expectation thats in that county.
Post by: thewingedlady on July 27, 2007, 10:43:42 PM
Fearon, would armagh fans not like to demand a few championship matches in Armagh eventually? Tis a shame we have to use another county's grounds all the time.
Post by: mc_grens on July 27, 2007, 11:30:49 PM
Just to save Kerry Mike the trouble...

QuoteThe Kerry men ! Followed by Dublin.

Kerry fans are actually NOT demanding at all. All they want is a trip to Dublin once every September, and an excuse to go on the porter for a couple of weeks when they come back...
Post by: Donagh on July 27, 2007, 11:36:37 PM
No Kildare or Roscommon. The most obvious I would have thought.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2007, 12:02:38 AM
QuoteKerry fans are actually NOT demanding at all. All they want is a trip to Dublin once every September, and an excuse to go on the porter for a couple of weeks when they come back...

It is our devine right. I think its in the bible somewhere.
Post by: Onlooker on July 28, 2007, 11:13:41 AM
Is'nt The RealLaoislad lucky that he is on the Laois side of the Kilkenny/Laois border. He is able to follow Hurling and Football like the rest of us outside Kilkenny.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 28, 2007, 12:25:58 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2007, 12:02:38 AM
QuoteKerry fans are actually NOT demanding at all. All they want is a trip to Dublin once every September, and an excuse to go on the porter for a couple of weeks when they come back...

Its there just after "Thy Kingdom come"

Obvious innit?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 28, 2007, 05:28:52 PM

Its there just after "Thy Kingdom come"

Obvious innit?

Yea as in Thy Wiil Be Done, the class act that was AI final day of '05
Post by: Rossfan on July 28, 2007, 09:24:55 PM
Quote from: Donagh on July 27, 2007, 11:36:37 PM

We'd be happy to have a manager and some players . :'(
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 28, 2007, 09:30:48 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 28, 2007, 05:28:52 PM

Yea as in Thy Wiil Be Done, the class act that was AI final day of '05

Yes, and that was truly divine!  ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 29, 2007, 07:40:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 27, 2007, 09:21:21 PM
Mayo must be up there somewhere - they ran Moran/Morrison because they lost an All Ireland Final in 2006. :D
They were about to run Maughan( >:() until he jumped because they lost an All Ireland Final in 2004. :D
Didnt they also push O'Mahony out in 1990 because they lost the final in 1989. :D

Very high standards indeed.

Its the Noble blood Rossfan
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2007, 08:54:43 PM
All Ireland's and Connacht's Kings lived in Rathcroghan Co Roscommon - or are ye trying to do a Ballagh on that too?
I hear ye're losing one of ye're stolen players -Pearse Hanley going to Brisbane Lions. It's a drastic step to take to avoid having to play for ye lot   ;D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 29, 2007, 11:56:13 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2007, 08:54:43 PM
I hear ye're losing one of ye're stolen players -Pearse Hanley going to Brisbane Lions. It's a drastic step to take to avoid having to play for ye lot   ;D

I seriously hope your pulling the piss Rossfan, because if its true I have decied that not alone should the GAA sever all links with the AFL, but I would call for Ireland to end diplomatic relations with Australia & both the E.U. & U.N. to impose an entire political, military & economic embargo on Australia.
Post by: Bod Mor on July 30, 2007, 04:31:16 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 29, 2007, 11:56:13 PM

I seriously hope your pulling the piss Rossfan, because if its true I have decied that not alone should the GAA sever all links with the AFL, but I would call for Ireland to end diplomatic relations with Australia & both the E.U. & U.N. to impose an entire political, military & economic embargo on Australia.

Wouldn't surprise me at all. I've seen in the papers over here how they describe Ireland as a "breeding" ground for potential future AFL stars. Something needs to be done fairly fast or there'll be a lot of Hanley's leaving every county for the AFL!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 30, 2007, 09:09:53 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 28, 2007, 09:24:55 PM

Amen to that.....

Although Donagh has a point about Kildare, our local rags, The Voice, The Leader, The Nationalist and The Post are full of letters, editorals and journalistic debate demading Crofton's head (they got their wish), not to mention the discussion forums.

Kildare the only county in Leinster that failed to win a minor, u/21 or senior Leinster championship match.  >:(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 30, 2007, 11:42:33 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 30, 2007, 09:09:53 AM

Amen to that.....

Although Donagh has a point about Kildare, our local rags, The Voice, The Leader, The Nationalist and The Post are full of letters, editorals and journalistic debate demading Crofton's head (they got their wish), not to mention the discussion forums.

Kildare the only county in Leinster that failed to win a minor, u/21 or senior Leinster championship match.  >:(

But ye might win the Christy Ring Final and be playing the likes of Kilkenny next year!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 30, 2007, 11:46:11 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 30, 2007, 11:42:33 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 30, 2007, 09:09:53 AM

Amen to that.....

But ye might win the Christy Ring Final and be playing the likes of Kilkenny next year!

Even if they do win (very doubtful  :P), they won't be playing "the likes of Kilkenny next year" as there's no promotion/relegation between Liam McCarthy/Christy Ring!!!
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 30, 2007, 01:31:33 PM
The question asked about the most demanding, not the most delusional (only referring to the Rossies here Kildare people)
Post by: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 01:54:20 PM
I'm afraid to say it but in my opinion it has to be the Dubs cause everytime the progress further in the competition they demand that their game be the only game be played at Croke Park that day.  They feel that tehir day should'nt be shared with some second rate compeition like an All Ireland Hurling Semi Final.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 02:04:11 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 01:54:20 PM
I'm afraid to say it but in my opinion it has to be the Dubs cause everytime the progress further in the competition they demand that their game be the only game be played at Croke Park that day.  They feel that tehir day should'nt be shared with some second rate compeition like an All Ireland Hurling Semi Final.

Which fans demanded this Boozehell?  :-\
This was a decision by the GAA to maximise income.
What a stupid post  :o

Post by: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 02:11:46 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 30, 2007, 04:31:16 AM

Wouldn't surprise me at all. I've seen in the papers over here how they describe Ireland as a "breeding" ground for potential future AFL stars. Something needs to be done fairly fast or there'll be a lot of Hanley's leaving every county for the AFL!

Unfortunately I have to disagree with you both the AFL do not steal our players.  Like my own county Down Martin Clarke an up and coming star of the future was given an opportunity to play in another country.  They didn't just walk into it they had to go through trials and then rigorous training to prove they are fit to play the game.  I'm afraidpeople who bad mouth things like this just proves that they are jealous and bitter because they never got the opportunity or were never good enough to play the game in the first place.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 02:14:42 PM
Care to answer my last question re the Dublin fans "demands" ?
Post by: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 02:16:49 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 02:04:11 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 01:54:20 PM

Which fans demanded this Boozehell?  :-\
This was a decision by the GAA to maximise income.
What a stupid post  :o

It has happened three times this year when Dublin was playing in the championship that the Dublin fans said they wanted to have the match in Croke Park as a stand alone game otherwise not as many Dublin supporters could not get to go to the pub or I mean game.
Post by: blanketattack on July 30, 2007, 02:18:39 PM
For success on the field, the most demanding are Kilkenny and Kerry.
For demanding that games start 15 minutes late so they can have an extra pint in the pub, Dublin.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 02:20:41 PM
Are you for real?
Obviously the Dublin fans would prefer one off matches as they would get tickets easier, but thats hardly a "demand" that the GAA couldnt refuse?  ::)

And re it happening 3 times this year, Dublin have played 4 games so far, 3 of which had games on before them.  :-X
Post by: Rossfan on July 30, 2007, 02:21:29 PM

I seriously hope your pulling the piss Rossfan,

I saw it on Stolensheep from one of the Ballagh people who support their own County ::
I suppose there's not much chance he'd reconsider and  move to Frenchpark instead.
Post by: Hound on July 30, 2007, 02:24:56 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 30, 2007, 02:18:39 PM
For demanding that games start 15 minutes late so they can have an extra pint in the pub, Dublin.
Think you'll find that its the Gardai, not the Dublin fans who demand this.

Last time v Laois, they finally made the sensible decision and started it 5 or 6 minutes late, as always happens in Irish soccer and rugby internationals. In that way almost everyone is in when it starts and most of the rest are in within 5 minutes of the start. I did enjoy some of the late-heads coming in and looking bemused as the game had already started.
Post by: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 02:32:18 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 02:20:41 PM
Are you for real?
Obviously the Dublin fans would prefer one off matches as they would get tickets easier, but thats hardly a "demand" that the GAA couldnt refuse?  ::)

And re it happening 3 times this year, Dublin have played 4 games so far, 3 of which had games on before them.  :-X

Anyway how would a Dublin supporter knows what goes on before a football match they are always in the pub till about 5.00 and anyway tiddlywinks doesn't count.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 02:37:11 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 02:32:18 PM
Anyway how would a Dublin supporter knows what goes on before a football match they are always in the pub till about 5.00 and anyway tiddlywinks doesn't count.

This guy is fast becoming my favourite poster  :-* :-* :-*
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 30, 2007, 02:56:42 PM
i'd say kerry football.
kilkenny hurlers obviously too but their demands are more often than not met.
Post by: MR JMP on July 30, 2007, 03:03:42 PM
Obviously the Dublin fans would prefer one off matches as they would get tickets easier, but thats hardly a "demand" that the GAA couldnt refuse?

Please explain this quote as I cannot understand why you would put a post like this.  This is unfair to any other county who has to play their games as a double header.
Post by: Hound on July 30, 2007, 03:08:03 PM
Quote from: MR JMP on July 30, 2007, 03:03:42 PM
Obviously the Dublin fans would prefer one off matches as they would get tickets easier, but thats hardly a "demand" that the GAA couldnt refuse?

Please explain this quote as I cannot understand why you would put a post like this.  This is unfair to any other county who has to play their games as a double header.
Cop on for chrissakes.

If Sligo v Cork or Tyrone v Meath was guaranteed to sell out Croker, then they would be standalone fixtures also.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 03:10:49 PM

Quite straightforward, this was in reference to a previous post saying Dublin fans DEMAND that they play in one off matches.
I said this was untrue but obviously from a Dublin fans point of view they would prefer this situation for the big games so tickets would be easier to come by.
Especially given the huge demand due to the million odd people in Dublin.

Now how this is "unfair" to the other teams who have to play in double headers is unclear to me, I never once said that they should be forced into a double header, nor have I ever complained when Dublin are put into double headers as has already happened this year.

What exactly was unfair about what I said???  :-\
Post by: blanketattack on July 30, 2007, 03:11:10 PM
Cork fans are very demanding in the bedroom.
Post by: MR JMP on July 30, 2007, 03:15:24 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 30, 2007, 03:08:03 PM

Cop on for chrissakes.

If Sligo v Cork or Tyrone v Meath was guaranteed to sell out Croker, then they would be standalone fixtures also.

If the Tyrone and Meath game had the option of being a single game at Croke Park I know that it would be a sell out as Tyrone v Meath would be a big hit with both sets of supporters and neutrals alike.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 03:17:17 PM
Seriously though, exactly what was unfair in my post?

I think maybe you took it up wrong?  :-\
Post by: MR JMP on July 30, 2007, 03:39:53 PM
I would be shocked and dissapointed to find out that I took it up the wrong way
Post by: Boozehell on July 30, 2007, 03:51:42 PM
Quote from: MR JMP on July 30, 2007, 03:15:24 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 30, 2007, 03:08:03 PM

Cop on for chrissakes.

If the Tyrone and Meath game had the option of being a single game at Croke Park I know that it would be a sell out as Tyrone v Meath would be a big hit with both sets of supporters and neutrals alike.

My god man quit whinging and get a life. You are as bad as those Dublin ones who can't get their own way.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 09:14:23 AM
Quote from: MR JMP on July 30, 2007, 03:39:53 PM

Well then explain what you meant?  :-\
Othewise stop talking shite  ;)
Post by: Boozehell on July 31, 2007, 12:53:21 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 09:14:23 AM
Quote from: MR JMP on July 30, 2007, 03:39:53 PM

Well then explain what you meant?  :-\
Othewise stop talking shite  ;)

For once I'm having to agree with you.  This person is just waisting his own time with stupid posts that nobody considers funny.  It is nothing but crude. 
Post by: Maguire01 on July 31, 2007, 11:03:41 PM

As it's only a quarter final, it probably won't even sell out as a double-header.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 11:08:38 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 31, 2007, 11:03:41 PM

As it's only a quarter final, it probably won't even sell out as a double-header.

Ya but alot of Cork people will make a weekend of it, Sligo fans will come up in their droves, Tyrone bring good crowds, & Meath bring good crowds when they think they have a good team (& you couldn't blame them for thinking so @ the moment).
Post by: SuperSub on July 31, 2007, 11:15:26 PM
So expensive being a Corkonian these days...Its tough being top Hurlers and Footballers ;)
Would rather we won the Hurling though.. but both would be nice
Post by: his holiness nb on August 01, 2007, 02:21:28 PM
The signature is pure class Supersub, pure class  :D :D :D :D
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2007, 02:23:40 PM
We'll see over the ext two weekends -