Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: StGallsGAA on June 03, 2015, 08:55:42 PM

Title: Casting from Kodi / xmbc query
Post by: StGallsGAA on June 03, 2015, 08:55:42 PM
If anyone uses Kodi/xmbc to cast to chromecast, Roku  or Firestick are you able to cast live sports?   I can play the sports channels on the tablet but they won't cast to chromecast.  Movies etc cast fine. 
Title: Re: Casting from Kodi / xmbc query
Post by: BenDover on June 03, 2015, 09:17:17 PM
Don't believe this is possible. Did a good bit of looking into this a while ago and it's quite a bit of week for the Kodi devs to implement casting
Post by: StGallsGAA on June 03, 2015, 09:29:42 PM
Cheers Ben.  Thought the Firestick might have been able to do it, but maybe not.
Post by: Boycey on June 03, 2015, 10:06:16 PM
I'm pretty sure the Firestick can, hope so anyways I'm awaiting delivery of one which was bought for that exact purpose..
Post by: JohnDenver on June 03, 2015, 10:20:02 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on June 03, 2015, 09:29:42 PM
Cheers Ben.  Thought the Firestick might have been able to do it, but maybe not.

Don't know if you can cast as such to firestick from your tablet, but you can sideload Kodi / XBMC directly onto the firestick, and run directly from there.
Post by: Boycey on June 03, 2015, 10:32:19 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on June 03, 2015, 10:20:02 PM

Don't know if you can cast as such to firestick from your tablet, but you can sideload Kodi / XBMC directly onto the firestick, and run directly from there.

That's what I meant too  ;D
Post by: nrico2006 on June 05, 2015, 08:44:26 AM
How do you stream Kodi to chromecast?
Post by: StGallsGAA on June 06, 2015, 05:35:00 PM
QuoteHow do you stream Kodi to chromecast?

http://youtu.be/3GdSsMmDCb8

Works a treat
Post by: laoislad on June 06, 2015, 05:38:13 PM
Just get a android TV box and feck all that casting nonsense.
Post by: Over the Bar on June 06, 2015, 05:50:34 PM
Must say casting can really get on the nads when it doesn't work.  What type of box do you recommend LL and does it give you a stable stream?
Post by: laoislad on June 06, 2015, 06:01:38 PM
There's loads out there.
Get something quad core and preloaded with Kodi already.
€100 should get you a decent one. Try eBay.

The one I have is only dual core and works a treat.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 08, 2015, 08:49:34 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on June 06, 2015, 05:35:00 PM

Works a treat

Thanks.
Post by: WeeDonns on June 08, 2015, 09:09:38 AM
May have mentioned this before, but this guy vdubt25 does good tutorials on different apps to install etc and is now also doing reviews on different boxes;
https://www.youtube.com/user/vdubt25

The Amiko A3 (http://amiko-a3.com/) sounds great but a bit pricey compared to my £25 RPi

What boxes/devices are you guys all using? I have it on a samsung tablet, laptop & raspberry pi, but find it most reliable on the laptop. (sometimes have buffering/cache issues on the RP0
Post by: Boycey on June 08, 2015, 12:11:49 PM
Quote from: WeeDonns on June 08, 2015, 09:09:38 AM
May have mentioned this before, but this guy vdubt25 does good tutorials on different apps to install etc and is now also doing reviews on different boxes;
https://www.youtube.com/user/vdubt25

The Amiko A3 (http://amiko-a3.com/) sounds great but a bit pricey compared to my £25 RPi

What boxes/devices are you guys all using? I have it on a samsung tablet, laptop & raspberry pi, but find it most reliable on the laptop. (sometimes have buffering/cache issues on the RP0

I currently have it on a laptop, where it works top class, waiting on delivery of a Firestick which I was attracted to because of cost (£25) and portability I'll report back on its success..

I followed that vdubt25 too when I was beginning, excellent easy to follow tutorials. A wee note of warning, his own Kodi addon is currently offline but I'm sure it'll be back before long. He's one of the best for sky/livesport
Post by: JoG2 on June 08, 2015, 12:21:24 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 08, 2015, 08:49:34 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on June 06, 2015, 05:35:00 PM

Works a treat

thanks also, but I've tried it a good few times and when I hit play I don't get the option to select an external source, it only plays internally

Maybe handy for people starting out using Kodi: download the TVMC app for Android ( tvaddons.ag ). It comes preloaded with the main zips like IceFilms & Genesis for movies. Saves a bit of hassle researching and individually loading the addons

Thanks.
Post by: Over the Bar on June 08, 2015, 12:58:32 PM
I also didnt have option to select an external source but the I downloaded the 3 files from the links in the video.  If you place the playercorefactory file in the correct place as per instruction the internal player is disabled and it allows you to select Allcast. 
Post by: JoG2 on June 08, 2015, 02:04:13 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 08, 2015, 12:58:32 PM
I also didnt have option to select an external source but the I downloaded the 3 files from the links in the video.  If you place the playercorefactory file in the correct place as per instruction the internal player is disabled and it allows you to select Allcast.

good man. Ive copied it into the userdata folder, but will give it another rattle tonight
Post by: Over the Bar on June 08, 2015, 02:27:16 PM
Also once you copy it across remember to delete the original as that can throw a spanner as well. 
Post by: JoG2 on June 08, 2015, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 08, 2015, 02:27:16 PM
Also once you copy it across remember to delete the original as that can throw a spanner as well.

10-4 thanks

Post by: JoG2 on June 09, 2015, 01:46:45 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 08, 2015, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 08, 2015, 02:27:16 PM

10-4 thanks

got her rockin last night OTB. Great job
Post by: Over the Bar on June 10, 2015, 04:58:02 PM
Good man.  Have you had any joy with casting Popcorn Time?  Can't get it to work.
Post by: JoG2 on June 10, 2015, 05:25:29 PM
Just using Genesis which alot of folk online reckon is the best. It casts all tv shows and movies no bother

I downloaded TVMC app which has a load of addons pre loaded OTB. Saves a load of scurrying about for individual downloads . The xml file will need to be copy and pasted into the tvmc userdata folder. (I might be teaching you how to suck eggs there )
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 10, 2015, 06:30:27 PM
Is the TV content Geoblocked?
Post by: JoG2 on June 10, 2015, 08:23:20 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 10, 2015, 06:30:27 PM

Wouldnt think so, it's not subscription based or the like. I've watched a couple of The Americans and GOT on it these last 2 nights without any bother
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 10, 2015, 09:10:47 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 10, 2015, 08:23:20 PM

Wouldnt think so, it's not subscription based or the like. I've watched a couple of The Americans and GOT on it these last 2 nights without any bother

So if I set it up in the States I should be able to get RTE BBC etc. I might give it a try :)
Post by: JoG2 on June 10, 2015, 10:12:49 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 10, 2015, 09:10:47 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 10, 2015, 08:23:20 PM

So if I set it up in the States I should be able to get RTE BBC etc. I might give it a try :)

Oh aye. All the Sky sports Etc. Setanta Ireland is there as well for next year's league matches etc
Post by: Over the Bar on June 18, 2015, 11:13:13 PM
I got one of those android/xmbc/kodi TV boxes.  Great for movies & TV shows but the live streaming channels for the most part don't work coming up with error messages.  Any suggestions?
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 24, 2015, 11:25:56 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 03, 2015, 10:32:19 PM

Did the Firestick method work to cast live TV?
Post by: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 12:00:57 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 24, 2015, 11:25:56 PM

It's not really casting as I've said above as you load Kodi onto the stick itself and plug it into the TV.. Once I mastered the sorcery of putting Kodi onto the stick it's the most incredible piece of kit I've ever used at the price it cost (£25). I've watched sky sports regularly on it and watched the U.S. Golf on an absolute cracking full HD Fox Sports stream a couple of times last weekend.

Very happy with it to date...
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 25, 2015, 01:42:43 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 12:00:57 PM

It's not really casting as I've said above as you load Kodi onto the stick itself and plug it into the TV.. Once I mastered the sorcery of putting Kodi onto the stick it's the most incredible piece of kit I've ever used at the price it cost (£25). I've watched sky sports regularly on it and watched the U.S. Golf on an absolute cracking full HD Fox Sports stream a couple of times last weekend.

Thanks Boycey, looks like a great option. I see Amazon have removed Kodi form their app store due to piracy concerns. Can Kodi still be sideloaded onto the device?
https://torrentfreak.com/amazon-bans-kodi-app-over-piracy-concerns-150616/
Post by: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 03:00:11 PM
I didn't get it from the App Store I got it from Kodis website that's what I was on about the sorcery involved in putting it on... Look on youtube or the like there are loads of tutorials.

Any questions fire away I'm far from an expert but was able to do it myself...
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 25, 2015, 03:19:49 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 03:00:11 PM
I didn't get it from the App Store I got it from Kodis website that's what I was on about the sorcery involved in putting it on... Look on youtube or the like there are loads of tutorials.

Any questions fire away I'm far from an expert but was able to do it myself...

Thanks Boycey!  Just want to make sure that Kodi is not blocked and can still be loaded onto the firestick. I have cast a few movies to the TV via my phone, its unreal the amount of  content available.
Post by: annapr on June 25, 2015, 04:16:37 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 12:00:57 PM

Where are you finding these streams?
I can access the movies and TV shows ok but anytime I try to connect to a live sports stream it just won't connect or comes up with link can't be found or something to that effect.
Post by: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 04:23:57 PM
What addons u using annapr?

Vdubt25
Iptvstalker
Pak hind

Are usually the most reliable working ones
Post by: annapr on June 25, 2015, 05:34:26 PM
Well you see this is what I'm not sure of.
I downloaded a version that came with a 'hub wizard' that suppose to load all the best addons automatically.
I'm not sure if those you mentioned are on it though.
If I add them addons where do I look for the channels they provide or are they all going to be mixed in with what's there already?
Maybe I should download a fresh clean version of Kodi first.
Post by: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 06:07:33 PM
No need for a fresh install I wouldn't think..

Just download any/all of them, plenty of tutorials on where to get them and how to install them if you google search. Once installed and enabled you should find them in your list of video-add ons. Click into them to see the range of channels in each.

I've just checked iptvstalker and vdubt25, both working fine
Post by: laoislad on June 26, 2015, 09:27:28 AM
Quote from: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 04:23:57 PM
What addons u using annapr?

Vdubt25
Iptvstalker
Pak hind

Are usually the most reliable working ones
You're an awful bollix but fair play to you that Pak hind addon is amazing.
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 26, 2015, 09:06:28 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 25, 2015, 06:07:33 PM
No need for a fresh install I wouldn't think..

Just download any/all of them, plenty of tutorials on where to get them and how to install them if you google search. Once installed and enabled you should find them in your list of video-add ons. Click into them to see the range of channels in each.

I've just checked iptvstalker and vdubt25, both working fine

I am up and running :)Looks like IPTV Stalker has all the Sky channels, which one shows the GAA?

Some of the other addons you boys recommend are Geoblocked.....Thanks for help!
Post by: Boycey on July 15, 2015, 09:34:33 AM
Today is Amazon Prime day (Amazons equivalent of Black Friday) and those FireSticks we've been talking about are on offer for £19... Some deal for anyone interested.

You may have to register for Amazon Prime but if so it can be cancelled before the free trial runs out
Post by: Over the Bar on July 15, 2015, 08:42:24 PM
Once you've installed Kodi on the firestick can you play live sports streams?
Post by: Boycey on July 16, 2015, 01:39:37 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 15, 2015, 08:42:24 PM
Once you've installed Kodi on the firestick can you play live sports streams?

Yes
Post by: laoislad on July 16, 2015, 01:56:21 PM
Loads of links broken in IPTV and Pak Hind.
UK Turk live TV is pretty good though as is VDub
Post by: Boycey on July 16, 2015, 02:31:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 16, 2015, 01:56:21 PM
Loads of links broken in IPTV and Pak Hind.
UK Turk live TV is pretty good though as is VDub

Streams are pretty hit and miss on them all in my experience but IPTV has by far the best picture on his Sports TV channels. VDub25 is fairly decent but that TurkLive is off as often as not?
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2015, 02:49:40 PM
Turk live has been ok for me anytime I tried.

http://shadowsrepo.info/shadows

The repo above is pretty good.
Once enabled choose the Robinhood addon in video add ons and once added the Money Sports section has reliable streams and a section that has all the live matches on at a particular time with the stream link beside it. It's handy rather than having to search through different stations for a match you want.
Watched an excellent stream of Tevez making his debut for Boca Juniors last night on it.
Post by: BenDover on July 29, 2015, 11:41:42 AM
Guy in work pointed me in the direction of this website https://seo-michael.co.uk/tag/xbmc/ lots of how to guides on here
Post by: pullhard on August 04, 2015, 11:34:45 AM
talking to folk in work saying about the firestick kodi. Very temped what speed internet is require, have normal broadband, would it be enough?
Post by: JoG2 on August 04, 2015, 11:54:12 AM
Quote from: pullhard on August 04, 2015, 11:34:45 AM
talking to folk in work saying about the firestick kodi. Very temped what speed internet is require, have normal broadband, would it be enough?

I'm running kodi through a chromecast on 6-8mb without much bother (dead or non working links being the only bother)
Post by: pullhard on August 04, 2015, 12:04:07 PM
hmm, i'll have to run speed checker when i get home, suspect i'll be around 2/3mb, iplayer sometimes lags
Post by: StGallsGAA on August 04, 2015, 12:14:36 PM
Get BT Infinity or Sky's alternative if you want to run stuff through Kodi.   Before I had it I needed to pause any film for 30 mins or so to let it buffer before watching otherwise it kept freezing.  Plenty of 1 year half price infinity offers or similar about.  Sky have a free first year high speed offer as well. 
Post by: WeeDonns on August 04, 2015, 12:23:06 PM
Quote from: pullhard on August 04, 2015, 11:34:45 AM
Got one last week and very happy with it. Especially for streaming movies etc.
Watched the football on Sunday on it via PremierSports on the vdubt25 addon and it was a bit jumpy

Does anyone use an EPG add on to view all their live tv Streams? I just use the live tv sections on addons like vdubt25 & iStream but I like the look of the iVue epg, makes it more like Sky

Also; the MX RTE Player addon has stopped working. Can anyone suggest a good addon for RTE ?

(https://s3.amazonaws.com/files.websitetoolbox.com/178874/2259886)
Post by: pullhard on August 04, 2015, 12:25:05 PM
Just checked BT/SKY there is fibre in the area, but no capacity left in the cabinet, nightmare, have to wait until they upgrade i guess
Post by: andoireabu on August 08, 2015, 02:03:22 PM
Trying to cast phoenix to my chromecast but when i click the link for any of the sky sports channels the tv goes blank and it just plays on the phone. Any ideas? I tried to cast a movie from another add on and it worked ok
Post by: JoG2 on August 08, 2015, 02:23:30 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on August 08, 2015, 02:03:22 PM
Trying to cast phoenix to my chromecast but when i click the link for any of the sky sports channels the tv goes blank and it just plays on the phone. Any ideas? I tried to cast a movie from another add on and it worked ok

A bit odd that 1 played on the phone and 1 casted.  Should either cast all or play all on the phone I'd have thought.  Have you the correct player core factory.xml pasted into the userdata folder? (assuming your casting through localcast)
Post by: andoireabu on August 08, 2015, 03:30:23 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 08, 2015, 02:23:30 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on August 08, 2015, 02:03:22 PM

A bit odd that 1 played on the phone and 1 casted.  Should either cast all or play all on the phone I'd have thought.  Have you the correct player core factory.xml pasted into the userdata folder? (assuming your casting through localcast)
Aye im using the one you told me about and I have it in the correct folder.
Post by: BenDover on August 08, 2015, 08:41:26 PM
Lads I was getting a format/codec not supported error earlier when trying to stream the gaa. Is there anything I can do to bypass this? I was trying to use Phoneix TV and vdubt25. Also can ye cast from within Navi-x?
Post by: JoG2 on August 08, 2015, 10:11:58 PM
Kodi is a bit of a lottery with the live streaming.  I had sky and BBC Wales working fine in the morning using Phoenix and localcast.  Couldn't for the GAA or the rugby in the afternoon / evening.  They say clearing the cache in kodi (go to options on your Android,  'more',  then 'application manager'... Find kodi app and delete cache  / data.  Didn't work for me this time.  Annoying but sure that's par for the course

Damn Rupert Murdoch and those soul selling non gael accountants now running the GAA.  I suppose Dessie and Donal Og's 6 figure salarys needy be financed from somewhere! 
Post by: andoireabu on August 08, 2015, 10:33:35 PM
Got the same error message for local cast when I tried the Sky Sports on Phoenix but when I tried to load a tv show on genisis it cast fine.  Then when I tried to watch Sky Sports without casting it worked fine.  But it just wouldn't cast Sky Sports.  Said to "press ok when playback ended" on the kodi app.  Ended up having to go to the bar to watch it. Ah well!!
Post by: BenDover on August 10, 2015, 08:23:18 AM
If the stream won't cast what do I need to do to just watch it on the phone then? Every time I select a stream localcast opens up by default, tried holding the stream link in and using the play from here option but still no good.

Would this codec/format issue be a problem with the Amazon Fire stick or any of the other android sticks/boxes?
Post by: laoislad on August 10, 2015, 08:43:34 AM
Quote from: BenDover on August 10, 2015, 08:23:18 AM
If the stream won't cast what do I need to do to just watch it on the phone then? Every time I select a stream localcast opens up by default, tried holding the stream link in and using the play from here option but still no good.

Would this codec/format issue be a problem with the Amazon Fire stick or any of the other android sticks/boxes?
Shouldn't be as Kodi plays with the internal player on the tv boxes.
You wouldn't need the casting option.
I watched Liverpool game yesterday and the Golf last night via Kodi and an android tv box with a near perfect stream for both.
Post by: StGallsGAA on August 11, 2015, 10:52:02 PM
You can't cast Skysports via Kodi to chromecast.   Get an android box or a firestick.
Post by: NAG1 on August 17, 2015, 10:37:48 AM
Got a question for the tech experts on here!

I have a 32inch Logik TV in one of the rooms and I am trying to get it to connect to my wireless bluetooth headphones, problem being there is no headphones jack on the TV?

Any ideas, or just forget about it and buy a new TV?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 19, 2015, 09:04:33 AM
Hmmm.  You might want something like this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stereo-Y-Cable-TRSF-Dual-RCA/dp/B00EOGJQRO/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1439971330&sr=8-13&keywords=Dual+RCA+Stereo+Breakout

Plug your headphones into the jack and the red and black boyos into the video socket things in your TV.

Worth a try if you can buy a cheap connector somewhere.
Post by: ludermor on August 20, 2015, 09:15:29 AM
Bought a Fire TV stick in the last Amazon sale but only got around to setting it up last night. Getting kodi installed is not the easiest despite all the helpful tutorials but i got there in the end.
I have added some of the add-ons noted here ( Vdubt25 ,Iptvstalker,Pak hind) but none of the channells are workign on Pak Hind and the Irish channels don't work on Vdub25. Do they automatic update or do you have to look for new add-ons?
Got the Mutts Nuts and it worked brilliantly.
Post by: FL/MAYO on August 20, 2015, 08:02:16 PM
Quote from: ludermor on August 20, 2015, 09:15:29 AM
Bought a Fire TV stick in the last Amazon sale but only got around to setting it up last night. Getting kodi installed is not the easiest despite all the helpful tutorials but i got there in the end.
I have added some of the add-ons noted here ( Vdubt25 ,Iptvstalker,Pak hind) but none of the channells are workign on Pak Hind and the Irish channels don't work on Vdub25. Do they automatic update or do you have to look for new add-ons?
Got the Mutts Nuts and it worked brilliantly.

I have limited knowledge of the subject having just set it up recently as well. I read somewhere that Vdubt25 usually works better during the weekends, it's not on 24/7 as far as I know. You can follow him on Twitter.
Post by: ludermor on August 20, 2015, 08:58:40 PM
Cheers, I'm sure it will be a learning curve!
Post by: nrico2006 on August 26, 2015, 08:30:14 AM
I had to do a factory reset on my phone yesterday and was re-installing everything and ran into problems when trying to put KODI back on.  I was getting the message 'there was a problem parsing the package'.  KODIs website was saying that the new version of KODI has left any phones with android versions less than 4.2 behind (mines is 4.1.2).  Does anybody know where I can get the last version of KODI that works with 4.1.2? 
Post by: JoG2 on August 26, 2015, 09:10:17 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 26, 2015, 08:30:14 AM
I had to do a factory reset on my phone yesterday and was re-installing everything and ran into problems when trying to put KODI back on.  I was getting the message 'there was a problem parsing the package'.  KODIs website was saying that the new version of KODI has left any phones with android versions less than 4.2 behind (mines is 4.1.2).  Does anybody know where I can get the last version of KODI that works with 4.1.2?

Install tvmc would be a good bet.  Has movie and sports preloaded.  Think the website is tvaddons.org. It's the one I use.  Added vdubt25 for the sky sports... Good job
Post by: Boycey on August 26, 2015, 10:48:16 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 26, 2015, 09:10:17 AM

Install tvmc would be a good bet.  Has movie and sports preloaded.  Think the website is tvaddons.org. It's the one I use.  Added vdubt25 for the sky sports... Good job

Don't think that'll solve his problem as tvmc will be based around new version of Kodi? If I'm understanding it right its a phone issue rather than a kodi issue?

Heres a link to versions back as far as Kodi 14.0, hopefully that version  supports your phone

http://www.videohelp.com/software/XBMC/old-versions
Post by: JoG2 on August 26, 2015, 10:51:06 AM
Quote from: Boycey on August 26, 2015, 10:48:16 AM

Don't think that'll solve his problem as tvmc will be based around new version of Kodi? If I'm understanding it right its a phone issue rather than a kodi issue?

Heres a link to versions back as far as Kodi 14.0, hopefully that version  supports your phone

alrighty..ignore so nrico
Post by: nrico2006 on August 26, 2015, 11:22:28 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 26, 2015, 10:51:06 AM
Quote from: Boycey on August 26, 2015, 10:48:16 AM

alrighty..ignore so nrico

Thanks lads.
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 16, 2015, 04:13:03 PM
I assume to install Kodi onto Firestick I need to insert the Fire Stick into my laptop's HDMI port?

And then when Kodi and the add ons are loaded I can move back to my TV?

And for any future add ons I assume that I need to install from the laptop again?
Post by: Boycey on September 16, 2015, 04:28:04 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 16, 2015, 04:13:03 PM
I assume to install Kodi onto Firestick I need to insert the Fire Stick into my laptop's HDMI port?

And for any future add ons I assume that I need to install from the laptop again?

No you do it wirelessly with firestick in tv... Theres an app that does most of the work for you, its name is adbfire I think. There are loads of youtube videos detailing the procedure..
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 16, 2015, 04:30:18 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 16, 2015, 04:28:04 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 16, 2015, 04:13:03 PM

No you do it wirelessly with firestick in tv... Theres an app that does most of the work for you, its name is adbfire I think. There are loads of youtube videos detailing the procedure..

Cheers.  Yeah, I seen this one (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vg4I1D98C0c) but he was silent about what to physically do with the stick.  I guess because he thought it was obvious!!!
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 17, 2015, 08:52:02 AM
What add ons are recommended for the Saturday 3pm soccer?

I have got Pak India, but I assume it would be good to have a few options (like having access to the Bein sports channels)?
Post by: laoislad on September 17, 2015, 09:26:33 AM
Sports Devil has been working the best for me the last few weeks.
Pak Hind not working for me at all.
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2015, 10:43:29 AM
This Firestick interests me;

So I buy Amazon firestick; (are other version available?)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amazon-W87CUN-Fire-TV-Stick/dp/B00KAKUN3E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442482296&sr=8-1&keywords=firestick (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amazon-W87CUN-Fire-TV-Stick/dp/B00KAKUN3E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442482296&sr=8-1&keywords=firestick)

Any basic TV specs I need to look out for as well as the TV having a HDMI port? Does it need to be a smart TV?

Once I get it up and running, do I use the web browser on my TV to install these other apps you talk about or can I use the app with the firestick to set them up?

My broadband is pretty shit, 1.6M so I'd expect a bit of buffering no matter what I use, but is it worthwhile to have a go at it?

Post by: Smokin Joe on September 17, 2015, 11:04:38 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 17, 2015, 10:43:29 AM

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amazon-W87CUN-Fire-TV-Stick/dp/B00KAKUN3E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442482296&sr=8-1&keywords=firestick (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amazon-W87CUN-Fire-TV-Stick/dp/B00KAKUN3E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442482296&sr=8-1&keywords=firestick)

Any basic TV specs I need to look out for as well as the TV having a HDMI port? Does it need to be a smart TV?

Once I get it up and running, do I use the web browser on my TV to install these other apps you talk about or can I use the app with the firestick to set them up?

My broadband is pretty shit, 1.6M so I'd expect a bit of buffering no matter what I use, but is it worthwhile to have a go at it?

I set this up yesterday.  Only took an hour and was pretty straight forward as I followed the youtube tutorial.

Your TV only needs a HDMI port.  Only need a laptop during the installation of the software in the Firestick (which remains plugged in to your TV).  After that you can get channels (add ons) by using the TV remote control.
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2015, 11:14:41 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 17, 2015, 11:04:38 AM

I set this up yesterday.  Only took an hour and was pretty straight forward as I followed the youtube tutorial.

Your TV only needs a HDMI port.  Only need a laptop during the installation of the software in the Firestick (which remains plugged in to your TV).  After that you can get channels (add ons) by using the TV remote control.

I presume the firestick uses wifi to garner itself an IP address from my home hub and my laptop will communicate with the firestick via that private IP link?

Post by: Smokin Joe on September 17, 2015, 11:16:35 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 17, 2015, 11:14:41 AM

I presume the firestick uses wifi to garner itself an IP address from my home hub and my laptop will communicate with the firestick via that private IP link?
Correct, and you obviously know much more about the process than I did!!
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2015, 11:36:14 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 17, 2015, 11:16:35 AM

I know a bit about networks..

Do I have to subscribe to Amazon prime to get it to work, irrespective that I'm using Kodi/iVue?
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 17, 2015, 11:39:46 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 17, 2015, 11:36:14 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 17, 2015, 11:16:35 AM

I know a bit about networks..

Do I have to subscribe to Amazon prime to get it to work, irrespective that I'm using Kodi/iVue?

I wouldn't think so (but I am a Prime member so its hard for me to tell).  There's an official Netflix and Youtube app on it; which is mostly what I use it for - so I don't think you'd need a Prime membership.
Post by: FL/MAYO on September 17, 2015, 03:41:12 PM
Amazon Prime is not needed.
If you have a smart phone download the Amazon Fire TV app. I also have the Yatse remote app on my phone, I believe this is a paid app, but it works well with Kodi. Saves time when entering addressees and navigating Kodi.
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2015, 04:31:48 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on September 17, 2015, 03:41:12 PM
Amazon Prime is not needed.
If you have a smart phone download the Amazon Fire TV app. I also have the Yatse remote app on my phone, I believe this is a paid app, but it works well with Kodi. Saves time when entering addressees and navigating Kodi.

No smart phone here, windows based yolk! Nokia.
Post by: The Iceman on September 19, 2015, 12:59:36 AM
set up Kodi for my Da on the Raspberry Pi 2 when I was home. He is all chuffed with it. Was at a mates house and he had an android box he says he paid 170 quid for and pays 10 a month for updates and maintenance. He seems to be running everything Kodi does for free. Some dell boys out there selling to folks.
Maybe there is more to the android box than I seen but IMO it's a huge rip off.
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 19, 2015, 02:25:19 AM
Quoteset up Kodi for my Da on the Raspberry Pi 2 when I was home. He is all chuffed with it. Was at a mates house and he had an android box he says he paid 170 quid for and pays 10 a month for updates and maintenance. He seems to be running everything Kodi does for free. Some dell boys out there selling to folks.
Maybe there is more to the android box than I seen but IMO it's a huge rip off.

Erm? ..why the fcuk would you pay for someone to maintain Kodi on you android box any more than you'd pay them to maintain on your phone?  It's free for heavens sake!!
Post by: Two Hands FFS on September 19, 2015, 08:41:31 AM
Thinking of getting an android box as a workmate recommended them but I don't know too much about them. Anyone able to give me some advice??
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 19, 2015, 09:57:32 AM
Yes. Read this thread and the android box thread and you'll have all you need to know.
Post by: FL/MAYO on September 19, 2015, 08:44:08 PM
A guy I worked with paid $250 for the firestick with Kodi.
I loaded Mobdro onto the Firestick, a ton of live TV channels on it.
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 19, 2015, 09:02:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 17, 2015, 09:26:33 AM
Sports Devil has been working the best for me the last few weeks.
Pak Hind not working for me at all.

LL, just wanted to let you know that I got Sports Devil today and it was great. Managed to watch a full soccer game with no buffering or messing about.
Cheers