GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on February 11, 2017, 04:46:28 PM

Title: Ah look you know and well I suppose - interview standard lines
Post by: sligoman2 on February 11, 2017, 04:46:28 PM
Just watching the Tipp hurling manager Michael Ryan giving an interview and sure enough "shur ah look you know" and "well I suppose" both surfaced in the first twenty seconds.

What other interview standards are out there - massive underdogs is one I hear in Sligo a lot...
Title: Re: Ah look you know and well I suppose - interview standard lines
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 11, 2017, 07:53:16 PM
There's no easy matches.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 11, 2017, 08:04:39 PM
That performance today wont be enough the next day out

Yawn
Post by: Hardy on February 11, 2017, 08:51:19 PM
We knew coming down here that it was going to be tough.
Post by: SHEEDY on February 11, 2017, 08:51:37 PM
'aah shur look it' is standard in every gaa interview.
Post by: RedHandTom on February 11, 2017, 08:55:04 PM
"Listen" or "Look"... Is usually followed by dull mundane nothingness dribal by GAA players. I blame the interviewers as they rarely probe and just accept these so called answers as answers. 
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 11, 2017, 09:21:46 PM
Every sentence must end in "you know". Slightly more prevalent down in Munster.
Post by: The Subbie on February 12, 2017, 08:23:57 AM
Does empty the tank count ??
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 09:42:57 AM
Modesty in Kilkenny

So how does it feel to have won four in a row
-Sure we  were fierce lucky

Cody will talk up anybody

Eg Laois will be a tough match
Post by: Asal Mor on February 12, 2017, 11:54:34 AM
We'll be up against it.
Post by: Puckoon on February 12, 2017, 12:10:00 PM
Thank God
Post by: Beffs on February 12, 2017, 03:02:47 PM
They bring a lot to the table.

When a big county is about to face a relative minnow.
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 03:58:48 PM
Davy Fitz is great for saying "so it was". The match was tough so it was.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 12, 2017, 10:22:54 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 03:58:48 PM

"I know what they're saying about me, so I do"
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 10:49:58 PM
It worked out for us
I'm glad for the players
They were brillant (Munster)
you wouldn't get a more honest bunch of lads
I'll tell you what
Post by: Orior on February 12, 2017, 10:50:42 PM
Donegal players always finish sentences with "and stuff like dat der"
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 11:05:53 PM
Lookit Marty
Shur lookit
Dhera
Post by: omaghjoe on February 12, 2017, 11:32:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 12, 2017, 10:22:54 PM

I thought "so it was"/ "so it is" is ulster scots grammar?
Post by: seafoid on February 13, 2017, 07:57:30 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 12, 2017, 11:32:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 12, 2017, 10:22:54 PM

I thought "so it was"/ "so it is" is ulster scots grammar?

I think it comes from Irish so it does.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 13, 2017, 08:13:54 AM
'Put in a good shift'.  Cringe.

Might be a North West thing but everytime you ever hear Shay Given or Stephen O'Neill giving an interview you hear 'you know' about 20 times.
Post by: seafoid on February 13, 2017, 08:54:20 AM
am
ah
Intinsity am I suppose
Post by: sligoman2 on February 13, 2017, 12:51:52 PM
I think Rochford just described mayos victory as a workmanlike performance.  I'd love to know what that means..
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 13, 2017, 01:04:54 PM
"Coming to Aughrim is always a difficult task"
Post by: didlyi on February 13, 2017, 01:50:52 PM
I s'pose we knew coming up here today it wouldnt be easy but thank god it worked out for us and now we are just looking forward to the next day..... repeat!!
Post by: TheOptimist on February 13, 2017, 01:57:10 PM
"not many teams come away from Celtic Park with something".....

....Which is of course total BS.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 13, 2017, 02:11:19 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on February 13, 2017, 01:57:10 PM
"not many teams come away from Celtic Park with something".....

....Which is of course total BS.

This
Post by: inexile on February 13, 2017, 11:07:14 PM
The lads dug deep.
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on February 13, 2017, 11:41:13 PM
We knew they'd come back at us . . .
Post by: omaghjoe on February 14, 2017, 05:12:18 AM
Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on February 13, 2017, 11:41:13 PM
We knew they'd come back at us . . .

That one annoys my shite,.... no you f**king didnt know they'd come back at ye, how did you know that as opposed to you going on to stretch your lead and win by 13pts????? Hmmmmm? WELL? How ye f**king know?
Post by: Avondhu star on February 14, 2017, 06:39:18 PM
"We have massive respect for ...."
"These are a very genuine bunch of lads and deserve better "