GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 09:29:04 AM

Title: U14 Féile
Post by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 09:29:04 AM

Heading down tomorrow to Tipperary, wee lad playing in his first hurling Féile, and my first also as a spectator football or hurling, just looking at the fixtures cannot wait.  The lads have been training 4 days a week since winning the county championship and last night got their new kit, half zips, jerseys, trackies and togs, it was like Christmas for them all.  From speaking to others these are meant to amazing occasions for all involved, with the weather predicted to be good all weekend, roll on Friday.   

http://www.gaa.ie/my-gaa/getting-involved/feile-na-ngael (http://www.gaa.ie/my-gaa/getting-involved/feile-na-ngael)
Title: Re: U14 Féile
Post by: johnneycool on June 16, 2016, 09:36:28 AM
Our U14 girls are heading off to Newport for the Camogie Féile and taking the whole feckin club with them to the extent that we had to pull the U14 boys out of a regional blitz and possibly a few go games blitzes this Saturday!

Whilst the Féiles are good I think that there can be far too much emphasis put on them and then what happens next year when they're into U16's?

Post by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:07:06 AM
We are just basking at getting to the Féile, U16 can wait.  :)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 10:08:59 AM
Jaysus Johnney are you coming down? I always thought you were Antrim for some reason.  We're hosting Ballygalget in camogie, and a team from Carlow, Burren Rangers, for the hurling. We've been killing cattle for weeks for the barbeque!

Feile is a great weekend, but I do agree there is an awful lot of emphasis being put on for what should essentially be a friendly competition displaying the love of hurling (and football in the Feile Peil) across all the counties and getting the kids to mix. As always, it's the kids who show us what it's all about, while the adults get too wrapped up in sponsorship, gear, travel, diet and winning matches. The kids just play together and normally get on like a house on fire.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 10:10:16 AM
Where are you heading for No Wides?
Post by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:22:00 AM
Tipperary we are in division three of the hurling, all based in and around Cashel.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 10:25:31 AM
For those interested, the Feile hurling fixtures and groups are here

http://www.gaa.ie/mm//Document/MyGAA/Gettinginvolved/12/95/31/JohnWestF%C3%A9ilenanGaelHurlingFixturesFinal_English.pdf (http://www.gaa.ie/mm//Document/MyGAA/Gettinginvolved/12/95/31/JohnWestF%C3%A9ilenanGaelHurlingFixturesFinal_English.pdf)

And the camogie fixtures are here..

http://www.gaa.ie/mm//Document/MyGAA/Gettinginvolved/12/95/32/JohnWestF%C3%A9ilenanGaelCamogieFixturesFinal_English.pdf (http://www.gaa.ie/mm//Document/MyGAA/Gettinginvolved/12/95/32/JohnWestF%C3%A9ilenanGaelCamogieFixturesFinal_English.pdf)
Post by: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 10:42:21 AM
Quote from: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:22:00 AM
Tipperary we are in division three of the hurling, all based in and around Cashel.

No Antrim side in Div 3 no wides? Clooney in Div 4. Theyd have a good chance at that Id say. Some nice hurlers with mobility

We're in Div 2 Camogie. I can see where Johnny's coming from and think his 'curmudgeons' perspective needs to be considered a bit more. But theres something great about kids and supporters travelling away for a big weekends hurling and savoring what it is to be a Gael. It stays with you.

Post by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:42:56 AM
We are not from Antrim.  :)
Post by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:45:47 AM
O'Donovan Rossa from Antrim are division two, I like that every team gets a quarter final be it the shield or the cup.
Post by: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 10:49:42 AM
Quote from: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:42:56 AM

:o Doh .. dunno why I assumed that.

A good Cuchullain then?
Post by: Canalman on June 16, 2016, 10:52:59 AM
Thought national Feile was done away with and replaced with regional blitzes . Anyway best of luck to all involved. Hope weather is good............. alot depends on it obviously.

Frenzy of baking and sandwich making in Tipperary shortly.

Nice to see Naas in division 1.
Post by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:53:30 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 10:49:42 AM
Quote from: No wides on June 16, 2016, 10:42:56 AM

:o Doh .. dunno why I assumed that.

A good Cuchullain then?

;) defo.
Post by: heffo on June 16, 2016, 10:58:54 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 16, 2016, 10:52:59 AM

That Naas team were very strong in Dublin competitions and won U12 Group 1 Camaint in Dublin two years ago
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 10:59:49 AM
Thought national Feile was done away with and replaced with regional blitzes . Anyway best of luck to all involved. Hope weather is good............. alot depends on it obviously.

Frenzy of baking and sandwich making in Tipperary shortly.

It's hosted by Tipperary and Waterford. Next year is Kilkenny, Carlow and Wexford I think. I had heard about Regional Feile's myself, don't know if there's been a uTurn on them.

As for the Sandwich making, never mind that. The world stock of aluminum will be depleted with all the tinfoil being used.

We're having a Barbeque for the 2 visiting teams on Saturday evening. Hope it stays dry!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 11:00:30 AM
Quote from: heffo on June 16, 2016, 10:58:54 AM

That Naas team were very strong in Dublin competitions and won U12 Group 1 Camaint in Dublin two years ago

They played Kilruane McDonaghs from Tipp in a challenge on Saturday and murdered them. I only know this because one of the Kilruane lads training with me was in shock.
Post by: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 11:02:28 AM
Shame Naas (and I'm sure a few more) couldn't keep them hurling beyond minor.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 16, 2016, 11:03:41 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 11:00:30 AM
Quote from: heffo on June 16, 2016, 10:58:54 AM

They played Kilruane McDonaghs from Tipp in a challenge on Saturday and murdered them. I only know this because one of the Kilruane lads training with me was in shock.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/naas-nurturing-a-generation-of-hurling-trailblazers-34138486.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/naas-nurturing-a-generation-of-hurling-trailblazers-34138486.html)

Great work going on at underage in Naas at present after years of underachievement at senior level in both codes.
Post by: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 11:18:34 AM
They stayed with us last year and got beat in the Div1 (minus the strong county winners) final. Had a better squad the year before who cantered Div2.

Lots of lamenting during the pinting about the fall off come senior. Pints were nice though (and cheap)  :)
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 16, 2016, 11:20:00 AM
2 years ago Naas won a division 2 hurling feile and a division 1 football feile with the same group of lads. Phenomenal achievement.
Post by: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 11:24:15 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 16, 2016, 11:20:00 AM
2 years ago Naas won a division 2 hurling feile and a division 1 football feile with the same group of lads. Phenomenal achievement.

Not sure about the word phenomenal, when you consider the catchment area? Certainly shows the adult coaching interest is there, but I'm sure many fall by the way side from U6-U14 due to the large population funnelling into one club. No?
Post by: johnneycool on June 16, 2016, 11:32:16 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 10:08:59 AM
Jaysus Johnney are you coming down? I always thought you were Antrim for some reason.  We're hosting Ballygalget in camogie, and a team from Carlow, Burren Rangers, for the hurling. We've been killing cattle for weeks for the barbeque!

Feile is a great weekend, but I do agree there is an awful lot of emphasis being put on for what should essentially be a friendly competition displaying the love of hurling (and football in the Feile Peil) across all the counties and getting the kids to mix. As always, it's the kids who show us what it's all about, while the adults get too wrapped up in sponsorship, gear, travel, diet and winning matches. The kids just play together and normally get on like a house on fire.

Afraid not AZ, I'm in the minority it seems, someone has to keep the home fires burning.
Post by: johnneycool on June 16, 2016, 11:53:49 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 11:18:34 AM
They stayed with us last year and got beat in the Div1 (minus the strong county winners) final. Had a better squad the year before who cantered Div2.

Lots of lamenting during the pinting about the fall off come senior. Pints were nice though (and cheap)  :)

Not wanting to go off topic, but this up until recently was never an issue for us and it was discussed at length and the general belief was that there was a disconnect between juvenile hurling and the adults.

Back in the day once you were out of U14 you trained with the seniors and that was that, no one thought any different. You still played U16 and minor games, but you also got a game with the thirds or reserves on the Sunday if you were up for it. The reserves played before the senior game and you stayed and watched the game and even at that we'd maybe take an U14 team up the country and they'd get a game with the days opponents U14's as well, so they'd have witnessed the senior game between packets of crisps and playing hide and seek and so forth, but there was a natural progression all the way up for them to see.

With the advent of rules prohibiting U16's, now U17's playing adult hurling and our training now staggered slightly. The U17's and minors still train with the seniors though there seems to be 'inputs' from parents not wanting their youngsters playing with the adults even though some are bigger than a lot of our senior hurlers and we're finding the kids are dropping off a lot more and we'd be struggling for numbers for a reserve team.
The new rules were introduced for a good reason and that's fine, but we're going to have to come up with a way of fixing that disconnect for both parents and the children to see what its all about.

I've heard the term that for a lot of families its just another sport to dip in and out of and there's a certain level of truth in that as well.
Post by: Helix on June 16, 2016, 01:26:57 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 11:24:15 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 16, 2016, 11:20:00 AM

Didn't St Brigids of Dublin win Division 1 both football and hurling in the same year with same bunch. Now that's some achievement
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 01:30:16 PM
That was a massive achievement, but I believe they were two completely separate squads.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 16, 2016, 02:49:01 PM
Heading down myself.
Our lads will be completely out if their depth, but sure the hurling is only one part if it
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 02:52:00 PM
Where are you heading to? Tipp or Waterford?
Post by: No wides on June 16, 2016, 03:20:19 PM
Our lads are having a reception with the Mayor tonight before the off, all very exciting.
Post by: ashman on June 16, 2016, 03:31:14 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 01:30:16 PM
That was a massive achievement, but I believe they were two completely separate squads.

Not so there was a considerable overlap .  Amazing achievement as brigids had gone back at underage due to numbers.  They have been surrounded by newer clubs with younger "quarries " .
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 16, 2016, 04:20:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 02:52:00 PM
Where are you heading to? Tipp or Waterford?
Waterford.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 17, 2016, 08:12:38 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 16, 2016, 11:53:49 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 11:18:34 AM

Not wanting to go off topic, but this up until recently was never an issue for us and it was discussed at length and the general belief was that there was a disconnect between juvenile hurling and the adults.

Back in the day once you were out of U14 you trained with the seniors and that was that, no one thought any different. You still played U16 and minor games, but you also got a game with the thirds or reserves on the Sunday if you were up for it. The reserves played before the senior game and you stayed and watched the game and even at that we'd maybe take an U14 team up the country and they'd get a game with the days opponents U14's as well, so they'd have witnessed the senior game between packets of crisps and playing hide and seek and so forth, but there was a natural progression all the way up for them to see.

With the advent of rules prohibiting U16's, now U17's playing adult hurling and our training now staggered slightly. The U17's and minors still train with the seniors though there seems to be 'inputs' from parents not wanting their youngsters playing with the adults even though some are bigger than a lot of our senior hurlers and we're finding the kids are dropping off a lot more and we'd be struggling for numbers for a reserve team.
The new rules were introduced for a good reason and that's fine, but we're going to have to come up with a way of fixing that disconnect for both parents and the children to see what its all about.

I've heard the term that for a lot of families its just another sport to dip in and out of and there's a certain level of truth in that as well.

That's very true Johnney..... Which makes the transition from minor to senior harder
Post by: theskull1 on June 17, 2016, 11:16:03 AM
With lads in lower and upper 6th and all the focus that has in households, dual clubs can be seen in a poor light if they flog minors up senior as well.

There is an issue here all the same. How class would it be for all clubs to have 2 or 3 senior teams in each grade. Why stop playing a game you enjoy playing? The reasons need to be understood and addressed
Post by: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 07:58:20 PM
Great evening of hurling in Newport. The kids love it and there's a really competitive but friendly spirit.
Post by: No wides on June 17, 2016, 08:16:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 07:58:20 PM
Great evening of hurling in Newport. The kids love it and there's a really competitive but friendly spirit.

Brillant to hesr AZ Cashel has been amazing kids all packed off and enjoiying a pint.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 08:27:02 PM
The kids are all off enjoying pints?? Ye Ulster lads are savages 😃 BBQ in the park tomorrow evening. Looking forward to it.
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2016, 08:39:51 PM
Quote from: No wides on June 17, 2016, 08:16:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 07:58:20 PM

Brillant to hesr AZ Cashel has been amazing kids all packed off and enjoiying a pint.

Feck sake, what are the Dads on? Whiskey???
Post by: johnneycool on June 17, 2016, 10:05:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 08:27:02 PM
The kids are all off enjoying pints?? Ye Ulster lads are savages 😃 BBQ in the park tomorrow evening. Looking forward to it.

I hope they're on the Magners, rehydration and all that
Post by: theskull1 on June 17, 2016, 10:57:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 17, 2016, 10:05:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 08:27:02 PM

I hope they're on the Magners, rehydration and all that

Hope the first aiders have plenty rennies in the bag for tomorrow mornings matches  ;D
Post by: No wides on June 18, 2016, 04:48:51 PM
Ye are all a gas lads lmao, we put in some solid performances, but ultimately we were punching above our weight in division 3 and went out of the shield in the quarter final, great weekend and great experience for all the young lads, congrats to all for a brilliantly organised tournament.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 18, 2016, 06:12:56 PM
I saw a team from Laois playing in Division 9 and they'd beat most teams in Division 2 or 3
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 18, 2016, 10:02:12 PM
Dungannon in a feile hurling final 2 years in a row not bad for a crowd of footballers.
Post by: johnneycool on June 18, 2016, 10:31:58 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 18, 2016, 10:02:12 PM
Dungannon in a feile hurling final 2 years in a row not bad for a crowd of footballers.

Are Eoghan Rua the hurling wing of the Clarkes?

There's a serious effort hurling wise going into these youngsters, fair play to the lads behind it. We're meeting their U10's and U12's everywhere we go

Post by: SkillfulBill on June 18, 2016, 10:39:45 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 18, 2016, 10:31:58 PM

There's a serious effort hurling wise going into these youngsters, fair play to the lads behind it. We're meeting their U10's and U12's everywhere we go

I waiting with great anticipation for someone within either Eoghan Ruadh or the Clarkes to answer this one........
Post by: omagh_gael on June 21, 2016, 11:14:16 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 18, 2016, 10:39:45 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 18, 2016, 10:31:58 PM

I waiting with great anticipation for someone within either Eoghan Ruadh or the Clarkes to answer this one........

I'm under the impression they're separate entities. Eoghan Ruadh's are building a new pitch just off the Donaghmore roundabout at the minute.

On a separate note, my eldest lad (5yo) attended a recent hurling academy for last 12 weeks with the Eire Ogs in Carrickmore. On the warm evenings there were 180+ kids at it (from u6 to u10). Great to see it in full flow, their new pitch in the town is an absolutey fantastic set up. Fair play to them all.
Post by: Dualta Duane on June 22, 2016, 03:14:52 PM
180+ kids from u6 - u10... thats huge!
keep them all at it! assuming there was boys and girls both? what odds have Paddy Power on yous for Feile in 2020/2022??? ;D
Post by: No wides on February 18, 2017, 10:42:29 AM
Kikenny this year, have wee lad hoping to qualify again with the hurling and wee girl with the camogie, having been last year really hope they make it, such a great event.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 19, 2017, 02:28:49 PM
Quote from: No wides on February 18, 2017, 10:42:29 AM
Kikenny this year, have wee lad hoping to qualify again with the hurling and wee girl with the camogie, having been last year really hope they make it, such a great event.
we've a good team this year.
hope we'll qualify out of the county, though the games are very early in the year
Post by: No wides on February 19, 2017, 03:10:50 PM
Our's are wrapped up by end of April, which is a bummer as last year everywhere was booked when we found out we had qualified - may preempt it this year.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 19, 2017, 03:18:32 PM
Quote from: No wides on February 19, 2017, 03:10:50 PM
Our's are wrapped up by end of April, which is a bummer as last year everywhere was booked when we found out we had qualified - may preempt it this year.
the host clubs are always very good to travelling parents
its amazing the amount of B&Bs that spring up!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on March 11, 2017, 12:54:45 PM
Draws were done during the week

http://www.leinstergaa.ie/games-development/feile-na-ngael-2017-.8290.html (http://www.leinstergaa.ie/games-development/feile-na-ngael-2017-.8290.html)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 01, 2017, 12:35:14 AM
Any clubs travelling down to Kilkenny/Wexford?
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on May 01, 2017, 09:36:58 AM
Cúchulainns Armagh being hosted by Tullaroan
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 19, 2017, 03:48:57 PM
Looking forward to this, my daughter's team, Derrynoose, being hosted by Clara.
Post by: johnneycool on May 22, 2017, 10:30:06 AM
Our camogs are away to Rathnure.

Post by: Kilkevan on May 29, 2017, 04:28:22 PM
Anyone know who Gowran and/or Piltown are hosting?

Also, is there anywhere I can get my hands on the list of teams which have qualified?
Post by: johnneycool on May 31, 2017, 04:12:57 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on May 29, 2017, 04:28:22 PM

Also, is there anywhere I can get my hands on the list of teams which have qualified?

Portaferry hurlers are going to Gowran, Young Irelands AFAIK.
Post by: Kilkevan on June 02, 2017, 10:52:17 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 31, 2017, 04:12:57 PM

Portaferry hurlers are going to Gowran, Young Irelands AFAIK.

Thanks
Post by: clonadmad on June 02, 2017, 11:54:17 AM

Div 2 Group B

go to hurling fixtures

http://leinstergaa.ie/feile (http://leinstergaa.ie/feile)
Post by: Kilkevan on June 03, 2017, 11:35:30 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on June 02, 2017, 11:54:17 AM

Div 2 Group B

go to hurling fixtures

http://leinstergaa.ie/feile (http://leinstergaa.ie/feile)

Thanks. Only one game in Gowran. That's a bit of a let down what with the new field.
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on June 15, 2017, 11:19:36 PM
Well one night to go.

Looking forward to our 4th Feile Weekend in a row with our hosts Tullaroan, Co Kilkenny.
Playing in Div 6 and grouped with Rower Inistioge and Cúchulainns Kanturk Co Cork.

Our lads had their final session last night and all got their new gear, grips with hurls to follow - a great build-up for the club.
Looking forward to another fantastic weekend...
Post by: Kilkevan on June 16, 2017, 07:06:09 PM
Some great camogie in Gowran this evening. Two good wins for Young Irelands and some great skill by players on all teams. Looking forward to the rest of the weekend.
Post by: Kilkevan on June 16, 2017, 07:14:41 PM
How come Kenmare/Kilgarvan were allowed to enter an under 16 team in an under 14 competition?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 16, 2017, 09:52:48 PM
Very warm in Clara today and some good camogie on show. Our girls battled hard but unfortunately lost their opening two games. Realistically they are not Division 2 standard, I've no idea why they were placed there. Enjoying a well earned pint now.
Post by: Kilkevan on June 17, 2017, 11:22:12 AM
Gowran won very well in their last hurling match. Portaferry didn't look like a bad team but Gowran had way too much for them. I wouldn't be surprised to see them do very well in the knock out rounds.

BTW, how is it decided whether you play division 1, 2, 3 etc?
Post by: Kilkevan on June 17, 2017, 12:13:16 PM
Gowran camogie won again to top group.
Post by: theskull1 on June 17, 2017, 12:29:59 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on June 16, 2017, 07:14:41 PM
How come Kenmare/Kilgarvan were allowed to enter an under 16 team in an under 14 competition?
:o thats not true is it?
Post by: Kilkevan on June 17, 2017, 02:20:28 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 17, 2017, 12:29:59 PM

Look at div 2 grp b, clearly listed as an u16 team.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 17, 2017, 10:27:34 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on June 17, 2017, 02:20:28 PM

I saw them play
they were definitely under 14. I don't know why that was on the fixtures. Must be a typo
Gowran beat Glynn-Barntown in Ferns this afternoon. daylight robbery with the referee totally out of his depth and the gowarn sideline (charlie carter & co) dictating frees and refereeing decisions

standard of Kilkenny and Wexford club teams in the competition is very high, even down in Division 4, 5, 6 etc
Post by: Kilkevan on June 18, 2017, 08:21:09 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 17, 2017, 10:27:34 PM

I saw them play
they were definitely under 14. I don't know why that was on the fixtures. Must be a typo
Gowran beat Glynn-Barntown in Ferns this afternoon. daylight robbery with the referee totally out of his depth and the gowarn sideline (charlie carter & co) dictating frees and refereeing decisions

standard of Kilkenny and Wexford club teams in the competition is very high, even down in Division 4, 5, 6 etc

Charlie wasn't even on the sideline   ???.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 18, 2017, 09:23:10 AM
Quote from: Kilkevan on June 18, 2017, 08:21:09 AM

I saw them play

strange
was talking to him afterwards
he was carrying bottles

but you'll admit that they were influencing the referee all game? your number 11 was a bully and was let away with fouling his player the whole game and got away with it. same for your big midfielder.

anyway, semi finals today
Post by: Kilkevan on June 18, 2017, 10:19:58 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 18, 2017, 09:23:10 AM

I saw them play

strange
he was carrying bottles

but you'll admit that they were influencing the referee all game? your number 11 was a bully and was let away with fouling his player the whole game and got away with it. same for your big midfielder.

Ah would you stop, they're an under 14 team for goodness sake. Can we leave the playground "my Daddy's bigger than your Daddy" nonsense where it belongs?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 18, 2017, 02:14:46 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on June 18, 2017, 10:19:58 AM

I saw them play

strange
he was carrying bottles

Ah would you stop, they're an under 14 team for goodness sake. Can we leave the playground "my Daddy's bigger than your Daddy" nonsense where it belongs?
my observation as a neutral.
Post by: Kilkevan on June 18, 2017, 02:17:25 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 18, 2017, 02:14:46 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on June 18, 2017, 10:19:58 AM

I saw them play

strange
he was carrying bottles

my observation as a neutral.

Call me sceptical...
Post by: johnneycool on June 19, 2017, 09:24:12 AM
Our camogs won the Div2 Shield after coming back from being 10 points down against Na Fianna of Meath, well done them and only 4 missing out next year.
Turns out one of our management team done the decent thing after our round robin game with Kilcormac Killoughey after the ref had the game as a draw, but our sideline had it down as a 2 point win for Kilcormac and the Kilcormac management were surrounding the ref as they had it the same. He'd to step in and correct the referee much to Kilcormac's delight.
Kilcormac eventually topped the league thanks to a point less conceded as we were on the same points.
I think they ended up getting beat by Dicksboro in the Div2 camogie final only by a goal.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 19, 2017, 09:51:05 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 19, 2017, 09:24:12 AM
Our camogs won the Div2 Shield after coming back from being 10 points down against Na Fianna of Meath, well done them and only 4 missing out next year.
Turns out one of our management team done the decent thing after our round robin game with Kilcormac Killoughey after the ref had the game as a draw, but our sideline had it down as a 2 point win for Kilcormac and the Kilcormac management were surrounding the ref as they had it the same. He'd to step in and correct the referee much to Kilcormac's delight.
Kilcormac eventually topped the league thanks to a point less conceded as we were on the same points.
I think they ended up getting beat by Dicksboro in the Div2 camogie final only by a goal.
pity a few other teams didn't take that approach to their opponents
I saw both sides of management behaviour over the weekend
Post by: Kilkevan on June 19, 2017, 12:23:29 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 19, 2017, 09:51:05 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 19, 2017, 09:24:12 AM
pity a few other teams didn't take that approach to their opponents
I saw both sides of management behaviour over the weekend

Go on... Tell us about those wicked bogey monsters from Gowran again... Oh please do...
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 19, 2017, 10:48:59 PM
How did Ballygalget end up in the Shield? Did they not win 2 of their games? They beat us well in the shield quarter-final.
Post by: johnneycool on June 20, 2017, 08:36:13 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on June 19, 2017, 10:48:59 PM
How did Ballygalget end up in the Shield? Did they not win 2 of their games? They beat us well in the shield quarter-final.

Kilcormac Killoughey won the group on less scores conceded I was told. Both teams lost a game in their group and the second team ended up in the shield.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 20, 2017, 04:28:56 PM
where is Feile going next year?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 20, 2017, 04:39:03 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 20, 2017, 08:36:13 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on June 19, 2017, 10:48:59 PM

Kilcormac Killoughey won the group on less scores conceded I was told. Both teams lost a game in their group and the second team ended up in the shield.

Less scores conceded, that's a strange one! Congratulations on winning the shield, you have some very talented camogs. Our poor goalie went over on her ankle coming out of the changing rooms prior to their opening game and was in a lot of pain all weekend, that probably contributed to the nightmare start she had against you. My daughter was playing corner back and certainly got through a lot of work all weekend. The experience will stand to her and all the girls in the long run. All in all it was a great weekend's craic  and the weather was fantastic.
Post by: clonadmad on June 20, 2017, 05:14:01 PM
Yep if 2 teams are level on points

It's  the game they played against each other and if that's a draw

It's whomever has the least scores conceded over the course of the 3 group games
Post by: clonadmad on June 20, 2017, 05:15:04 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 20, 2017, 04:28:56 PM
where is Feile going next year?

Heading for the Wesht
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 20, 2017, 10:19:51 PM
will they have enough host hurling clubs out there?
there were 88 in Kilkenny/Carlow/Wexford
Post by: clonadmad on June 20, 2017, 10:48:57 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 20, 2017, 10:19:51 PM
will they have enough host hurling clubs out there?
there were 88 in Kilkenny/Carlow/Wexford

I was wondering that as well,Galway would have max 40 hurling clubs,where will they round up the remainder in the rest of the province?